Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Docking Stations > Lenovo > Lenovo 4X10A06687 Thinkpad Essential Usb 3.0 Dock

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Inexpensive Laptop Dock Option
Pros: Works with no issues. One driver to install from Lenovo site
Cons: None so far
Other Thoughts: Currently these are working better than a couple of Targus options we have also tried in past
Reviewed By:Mark R.,2/9/2016 9:39:07 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Docking Stations > Belkin > Belkin Thunderbolt 2 Express Dock HD with 1-Meter Thunderbolt Data Transfer Cable, Designed for Thunderbolt 2 Technology with 4K Resolution (F4U085tt)

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Thunderbolt docking station
Pros: Includes three USB 3.0 ports, two Thunderbolt 2.0 ports, single HDMI, single Gigabit Ethernet, 3.5mm audio output & 3.5mm input ports.
Can run 2160p resolution.
Can output to two displays simultaneously using one Thunderbolt connection and one HDMI.
Cons: The biggest con for me is that it is geared solely towards Mac products.
The only way to use dual displays is with Thunderbolt & HDMI, not DisplayPort.
Docking station is not weighted/balanced correctly. Cables hanging from the back cause it to not lie flat and to bounce around on my desk.
Other Thoughts: Including the Thunderbolt port is a great feature for those with Mac products but this device would be much more appreciated if it was also geared towards Windows systems and offered DP, HDMI, DVI, plus Thunderbolt dual display options.
Manufacturer Response:Hi, Marcus,

Thank you for sharing your insights, and we'll take note of your feedback about the product's features and functionality. Should you have queries, or should you need assistance in the future, reach out to us via email at BelkinCares@belkin.com along with your contact details and the link to this post for reference. We would be more than happy to assist you.

Regards,


Belkin Support
http://www.belkin.com/us/support

Reviewed By:Marcus A.,2/3/2016 6:20:58 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Docking Stations > Belkin > Belkin Thunderbolt 2 Express Dock HD with 1-Meter Thunderbolt Data Transfer Cable, Designed for Thunderbolt 2 Technology with 4K Resolution (F4U085tt)

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 A really nice attempt to use Thunderbolt
Pros: This is very useful to have when switching between various setups on my MacBook pro.
Sitting down for the day and only plugging in my power and thunderbolt cable keeps my whole setup clean and simple.
Cons: The hub seems to fail randomly, not being recognized by the laptop. Eventually it seems to start working again, but it is unclear what triggers this. Belkin support has provided minimal information regarding fixing this. All the peripherals work when plugged directly in, so it is the hub itself failing.

After over a year of ownership it has fallen into a non working state for the Nth time. At this point I am just going to keep it disconnected so I can get work done.
Other Thoughts: When it's recognized and connected, I really enjoy this product.

Unfortunately it is now a silver brick on my desk.
Manufacturer Response:Hi William,

We value the time you spent in sharing your experience with us. We want to look into the details of what happened. Please provide us your case number (if not available, provide us your phone number or email address instead) and send it to BelkinCares@belkin.com with the link to this review for reference.

Regards,

Belkin Support
http://www.belkin.com/us/support

Reviewed By:William A.,1/29/2016 11:07:55 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Docking Stations > DELL > Dell 331-6304 E-Port Plus Advanced Port Replicator w/ USB 3.0 for E Series Latitudes

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Odd that Dell builds its port replicators with DisplayPort out but its monitors with HDMI-in
Pros: This is a solid product, like most most Dell docks. Newegg's price is well below any other source I could find. Works well with our Latitude E6440s.
Cons: I'm baffled at Dell building this with DisplayPort but not HDMI. Bought this and a Dell S2715H monitor with built-in speakers as a prototype for docking E6440s. The monitor has HDMI, but not DisplayPort, so we also had to buy an adapter like Newegg's "StarTech DP2HDMI DisplayPort to HDMI Video Adapter". Dell Support chat agent insisted that a cable that would support video and audio on the same link would be included with the dock, but that was not correct.
Reviewed By:Wallace E.,1/12/2016 12:21:01 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Docking Stations > STARTECH > StarTech USB3SDOCKDD Universal USB 3.0 Laptop Docking Station

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Very Impressed
Pros: I lay my StarTech USB3DockDD flat, and place the back edge of my lap top on it at the far edge of my desk. All the wires are organized, and neatly tucked away. Very easy to use. Once set up (all the wires hooked up) don't even think about it any more. I love the way, I can just pop out the one usb line and the laptop power cord, and off I go, then slip them back in and everything else is hooked up. I run this with two monitors, a wired mouse, wired keyboard, an external hard drive, and a 6 port powered usb connector for flash drives and headphones with a mike. Works flawlessly. This setup has allowed me to replace my desk top system with a lap top.
Cons: Star Tech uses a mike/headphones jack that is combined, It would have been nice if it was on the back and the front. Since my goal was to hide and organize as many wires as possible, it would have been nice if I could have connected out the back as well. This is a small quibble, and does not effect my overall satisfaction with the product.
Other Thoughts: I would suggest this product, although StarTech has a couple different versions, and you should select the one you purchase based on the hook ups you have and what type of monitor hook ups you need. I selected this one specifically for the lay out of the hook ups, and my specific application. You should make those assessments as well before you purchase. I would purchase it again.
Reviewed By:Steve B.,1/2/2016 7:47:32 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Docking Stations > STARTECH > StarTech.com Thunderbolt 2 Docking Station - 4K HDMI or mDP USB Fast-Charge Digital Audio eSATA and Thunderbolt Cable - Thunderbolt 2 Dock(TB2DOCK4KDHC)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Be Aware: Ethernet port disconnected when Mac wakes up from sleep.
Pros: - Very nice sleek aluminum design.
Cons: - When my MacBook Pro Retina 13' wakes up from sleept, the ethernet port on the dock does not connect and my mac is without internet connection. Unplugging and replugging the power supply of the dock will reconnect the port, but this is not an acceptable solution. I am returning the dock for a refund. This is not an isolated incident as other users have reported the same issue on A mazon.
I also experienced some kernel panic crashes when my mac is sleeping since it has been connected to the dock but I cannot say for sure this is caused by the dock.
- Another issue is that if you connect the dock to an external sound system via the audio front jack, once the mac falls asleep the speaker will play a very loud buzzing sound, like when you have an open hot audio input wire that touches a mass/ground (which is exactly what happens with the dock when the mac sleeps).
Reviewed By:Anonymous,12/27/2015 2:01:58 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Docking Stations > STARTECH > StarTech USB3SDOCKDD Universal USB 3.0 Laptop Docking Station

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Highly recommend for laptop users wanting more than 1 external monitor option
Pros: The StarTech USB 3.0 Docing Station (Model USB2SDockDD) is a very simple docking station with 5 USB 3.0 ports (2 up front, 3 in back), 1 Gigabit Ethernet port, 2 DVI connections, and a front headphone jack. I purchased this as my laptop (even the dock that came with it which had 2 different video ports) only supported 1 external monitor. With this dock I am able to continue to utilize my laptop monitor but also have 2 additional monitors running off the dock.

The dock came with a driver disk but I didn't need it with windows 8.1.
Cons: I don't know if this is a con with the dock, my monitors (HP EliteDisplay E24li), or with Windows 8.1. When I lock my machine all the screens go to sleep. When I unlock my machine the HP screens stay asleep until I try to open something on that screen. A little annoying but I don't have any way to point a finger at what is really causing the issue yet.
Other Thoughts: Although I don't have a need to use them I did try out the docks USB 3.0 and Gigabit port and they work well.
Reviewed By:Robert B.,12/23/2015 1:22:32 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Docking Stations > Lenovo > Lenovo 4X10A06687 Thinkpad Essential Usb 3.0 Dock

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Fantastic Performance and Value
Pros: Everything just works, USB 3 ports are very fast, video is crisp, no lag or distortion.

Why pay $250 for a dock when you can buy this for $130?
I've bought about 5 of these for use with Surface Pro 3 and other high end ultra books, not a single issue.

Make sure you install the Lenono driver or it won't work!!
Cons: Install driver for it to work (duh)
Wish it had HDMI, but DVI + Analog audio is same
Reviewed By:N/A,12/15/2015 5:59:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Docking Stations > DELL > Dell ACDEPR03X E-Port Replicator Docking Station PR03X For Dell E Series Notebooks (AC Adaptor not included)

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Small but works OK so far
Pros: This is easy to use and adds a lot of functionality to the laptop I have.
Cons: No power cord included - big minus. The port replicator is so small that the laptop can easily shift out of the connection to it.
Other Thoughts: Good price, adds many more ports which is helpful. Really needs it's own power cord.
Reviewed By:N/A,12/11/2015 11:10:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Docking Stations > DELL > Dell Triple Display USB 3.0 Universal Dock for Ultra HD 4K Resolution Model 452-BBPG

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great product
Pros: Does exactly what it is intended to do. It does work with three monitors which is why I bought it. It maintains full resolution on my 4K monitor. Keep in mind that 4K resolution is only possible over a DisplayPort connection. As this only has one DisplayPort and two HDMI ports only one monitor will be at a UHD resolution. The two HDMI ports support a maximum resolution of 1080.

I see another review here saying this is a "port extender" not a "dock". I suspect he means a"Port Replicatorlb though. Regardless, all "docks" are little more than "port replicators" to being with so don't let that put you off.

Him giving the product a low rating because he didn't/doesn't understand what he was buying is unfortunate.

It is in fact a dock as it provides the ability for permanent connections to be in place allowing you to remove your laptop without removing your cables from the KVM devices.

I suspect this person is griping because the laptop doesn't physically attach to the dock meaning it doesn't have a single connection point. This however is the case with all "universal" docking stations as they are designed to work with any laptop not just one specific type. As it is a universal dock and not brand specific it will naturally require multiple cables to be connected from the laptop or device to the dock so consider this prior to purchasing.
Cons: This dock has one DisplayPort and two HDMI connections. It would be better if it had three DisplayPort connections so you could run three Ultra High Definition (UHD) monitors on it.
Reviewed By:Crazgod,12/9/2015 9:48:24 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.