Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Docking Station > Hewlett-Packard > HP A7E38AA#UUF 2012 230W Advanced Docking Station

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Problematic
Pros: cuts down on wear and tear on the laptop ports, expansion bay for hard or optical disk, adds legacy ports such as serial and ps/2 to a modern laptop
Cons: I wasted at least $50 of my time hunting down a sled to use in the expansion bay. All that is included in that area in a plastic filler and the part number was impossible to find. I bought a generic sled from another vendor, we'll see how that goes.

-1 egg-laughable docs with no list of expansion bay sled part #
-1 egg, won't support three monitors at once ( it is said it's the notebook is the issue)

The monitor hookups are dicey. A hanns g-27 inch lcd would simply not be recognized on the DVI port, had to swap it for my AOC 27, which worked fine ( by the way the issue was the hanns-g as my evga video card did not recognize it on dvi either, had to give up my hdmi-tv connection to run the monitor, so be prepared if your monitor is a couple of years old.
Other Thoughts: I'm a Newegg reviewer, but this was a personal purchase.
Reviewed By:Mr.Peter,9/11/2014 6:21:24 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Docking Station > Tek Republic > Tek Republic TUD-3000 USB 3.0 Dual Display Docking Station

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works better than expected
Pros: Connects to Dell XPS Studio 13 USB 3 port. Drives two 23 inch 1080 monitors.

NIC works fine. End user has no complaints.
Cons: none
Reviewed By:mrbostn,9/9/2014 9:01:55 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Docking Station > Kensington > Kensington Black K33972US USB 3.0 Docking Station with Dual DVI/HDMI/VGA Video (sd3500v)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Perfect for Macbook Air
Pros: Easy setup. Great performance.
Cons: included UBS 3 cable is a bit short
Other Thoughts: Regarding the other reviews about poor performance, I'm not sure what they're seeing. I have this connected to my 2013 13" Macbook Air, and two 27" Samsung S27D590 montiors. (Look them up, they're a steal at under $300)

I get occasional flicker. That's it. I can play video, use Photoshop, code, etc. on either monitor with almost no lag. Moving windows from monitor to monitor, with animation is the only lag that I see. (Not an issue)

Anybody who is using this on an Apple computer, don't use the drivers included on the CD. Get them directly from DisplayLink (http://www.displaylink.com/support/mac_downloads.php). I'm running Yosemite beta 2, on my Air, and the drivers work perfectly.

If you're thinking of using this on your Mac, stop thinking, and DO IT!
Reviewed By:Kay Gee,9/4/2014 12:11:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Docking Station > STARTECH > StarTech Black USB3SDOCKHD Universal USB 3.0 Laptop Docking Station - Dual Video HDMI DVI w/ Audio Ethernet

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 A great product with some flaws
Pros: The Startech docking station is probably the best docking station you can get if you own a macbook.

1. It allows you to charge your other USB products even though you are not connected to your laptop/macbook which is a major plus.

2. It has multiple ports for USB

3. Easy to install

4. works with a dual monitor setup (with 2 external monitors).....sometimes... (I'll explain later in the "cons" section).
Cons: If you bought this for the sole purpose of trying to do a dual monitor setup with a macbook pro then you might be slightly disappointed.

The first day I put this dockingstaion together with my macbook and 2 ASUS monitors I had trouble getting both monitors to work at the same time. My Macbook recognized that there were 2 external monitors but only 1 of them would turn on and display an extended desktop. So with some tinkering (turning the Startech docking station on and off, switching the HDMI/DVI connections between each monitor, and disconnecting the USB 3.0 from my macbook) I somehow got both monitors to work. It happened very late at night so I wasn't quite sure which troubleshooting method worked, or if perhaps the whole thing was a dream. I mean both of the monitors were working really well just as I imagined they would. It was beautiful. but then the next day I turned on my macbook and I could only get one of the monitors to turn on just like before. Its quite frustrating, I don't know if its an issue with my monitors or the Startech device. Either way Its best to get the Startech people to help you install the device and make sure you don't have the same issues. FYI, I am running the latest OS on my macbook.
Other Thoughts: This would be the best darn docking staion on the market if it could really pull of the dual monitor setup seamlessly
Reviewed By:Eric,9/1/2014 2:55:37 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Docking Station > HooToo > HooToo® HT-UD01 USB 3.0 Universal Docking Station (VGA, HDMI and DVI to 2048x1152, Gigabit Ethernet, 2 USB 3.0 Ports w/ Tablets/Smartphones Charging, 4 USB 2.0 Ports, Audio, 12V/2A AC Power Adapter)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good price, mac support after all
Pros: All the right ports, works fine. Despite OS X not being officially supported, it seems to work by using the drivers available officially from display link's site. http://www.displaylink.com/support/mac_downloads.php
Cons: None that I can think of. Would be nice if there were some USB ports on the front like the other display link based hubs out there.
Reviewed By:dr4stic,8/26/2014 6:02:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Docking Station > Hewlett-Packard > HP A7E32UT#ABA 90W Docking Station

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 A must have for any mobile and office user!
Pros: This is wonderful to have, the ease of walking in the office and setting the computer down on the dock and getting right to work. I use an HP8470p and it works great. I have my dock connected to a monitor, keyboard, mouse, and speakers - it doesn't feel like i'm working from a small laptop screen anymore when i the office.
Cons: Not really a con for this, but rather windows or the software behind this. it does not save locations of certain icons when docked using the monitor, just kind of throws them around the desktop, some are in a different place each week, enough to drive you bananas at times.
Other Thoughts: Bottom line, its easy to use, I don't have to get my power cord out of the bag and plug it in every morning, etc. the ability to undock and go is wonderful.
Reviewed By:Thomas k.,8/18/2014 4:12:42 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Docking Station > DELL > Dell ACDEPR02X Notebook Docking Station PR02X For Dell E Series Notebooks (AC Adaptor not included)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Misleading item description
Pros: It arrived in one piece.
Cons: Didn't come with an AC adapter. There were cheaper, newer units available that said they didn't come with the adapter, which is why I bought this. They've changed the description now, but not before sending me this lump.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/14/2014 6:39:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Docking Station > Lenovo > lenovo Black 40A20090US ThinkPad Ultra Dock - 90W

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Perfect Fit Docking Station
Pros: Fits the T440
Has always on USB Port
Supports USB 3.0 and 2.0
Has DVI and VGA ports
Doesn't use bluetooth as your connection type
Cons: None
Reviewed By:John,8/13/2014 10:06:30 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Docking Station > Lenovo > ThinkPad 0A33970 USB 3.0 Port Replicator Fru # 03x6059

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1
Pros: it worked for a while
Cons: It dies 1 month after the 1 year warranty!
Reviewed By:N/A,8/7/2014 7:49:54 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Docking Station > Targus > Targus ACP70USZ USB 3.0 SuperSpeed Dual Video Docking Station

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 pass
Pros: Worked for 6 months
Cons: Worked for 6 months
Reviewed By:Bret,8/6/2014 9:11:12 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau