Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Internal SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 850 EVO MZ-75E250B/AM 2.5" 250GB SATA III 3-D Vertical Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Second time seems to be the charm
Pros: Very reasonably priced, Fast.
Cons: First one was DOA. Second one works, but not without significant issues with Samsung's included software.

The Samsung Migration Utility does not recognize the drive on any of my four Windows 10 systems (two notebooks running Home and two HTPC's running Premium).

Further, these drives don't seem to play well with all USB caddys. The first one I used was a BYTECC USB3 caddy. Windows 10 reported that the drive failed to initialize on all four computers.

An old Toshiba USB2 worked and I was able to use Acronis True Image to clone my drive.

I didn't bother with the Samsung Magician software. I'll wait until a version that plays nice with Windows 10 comes along.
Other Thoughts: I have prior experience with an 840 EVO drive in one of my HTPC's. This unit was running Windows 8.1 when I installed the drive and Samsung's software performed like a champ.

Still plays nice now that I have upgraded to Windows 10.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/4/2015 3:30:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Internal SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 850 EVO MZ-75E500B/AM 2.5" 500GB SATA III 3-D Vertical Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Not recommended
Pros: Specs on paper are good, especially the 4k random read (single queue), which is essential for fast desktop performance. 5 years warranty also sound good.
Cons: I bought this 850 EVO to replace an aging 840 EVO SSD, which had horrible drops in performance despite the newest firmware. HDtune read rate on the old 840 was very uneven and maybe as lows as 10% of what it should be, so the new 850 EVO should be much better, right? Yes, it was better, but not as good as other new SSDs. I tested the 850 EVO drive with both AS-SSD and HDtune, once after writing it half full of data, and once after a secure erase. After I had copied over 250GB of data via disk imaging, the performance of the 850 EVO in HDtune was uneven, showing a significant drop (maybe 50%) in read rate when reading the logical blocks with freshly written data, and full speed only on the empty portions of the HDD. Next, I did a secure erase and tested again - this time, the read rate was good across the entire (all empty) disk. Note, however, when I tested a BX100 and some other recent SSDs, they were able to maintain the same full performance read speed in HDtune regardless of whether they were full of data or freshly secure erased. Basically, the EVO will slow down once you write actual data to it. This was a huge problem for the 840 EVO, and while the issue has been improved with the 850 EVO, the slowdown issue is still not completely gone. And this is fresh out of the box! Basically, I don't trust any TLC drives anymore, and I am returning my 850 EVO to NewEgg after this find.
What make matters worse is Samsung's really bad RMA process, which you need to utilize once you are out of exchange privileges with NewEgg. I am trying to have my 840 EVO exchanged through Samsung, but RMA for Samsung SSDs goes through a 3rd party company. Samsung's own RMA website (they call it XRA) is broken when you hit the submit button. Instead, you need to find the 3rd party company totalts.com which is difficult to locate to begin with, and which hasn't responded in a week. NewEgg is very helpful with its support, but Samsung's 5 year warranty is useless if you can't actually reach anyone to exercise it. So now I don't trust Samsung's SSD, TLC memory in general, and Samsung's RMA process in particular. Buyer beware.
Other Thoughts: The serious performance slowdown issue of the 840-nonpro, 840-EVO, and possibly 850-EVO should really be handled with a recall program. They tried to fix it with firmware, but it doesn't work. I wouldn't be surprised to see this issue turn into a class action.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/4/2015 1:29:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Internal SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 850 EVO MZ-75E500B/AM 2.5" 500GB SATA III 3-D Vertical Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Fast / As Advertised
Pros: Write / Read speeds as advertised.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:N/A,9/4/2015 12:52:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Internal SSDs > Mushkin Enhanced > Mushkin Enhanced Chronos MKNSSDCR480GB-7-A 2.5" 480GB SATA III Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great
Pros: Great SSD for the price. Had a drive go back but Mushkin replaced it without an issue.
Cons: Drive went after one year.
Other Thoughts: Overall I am satisfied with this SSD.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/4/2015 12:11:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Internal SSDs > Mushkin Enhanced > Mushkin Enhanced Chronos MKNSSDCR60GB 2.5" 60GB SATA III Asynchronous MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 still working good after 3 years
Pros: its fast and my boot times are under 15-20s. thats with lot of items in startup tray. everything is snappy and responsive. i bought it three years ago and it is still working without any problems..
Cons: they were expensive back then when i bought it. now i can buy a 250GB drive for the same price i paid for a 60 GB back then.
Other Thoughts: i have never bench-marked it . If it works better than my hdd, then i don't really need to confirm benchmarks. they are just numbers anyway.. what matters to me is system is responsive and my pc boots faster than my smartphone.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/4/2015 11:50:27 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Internal SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 830 Series 2.5" 256GB SATA III MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great deal on a great drive but data on them
Pros: Cheap SAMSUNG.
All had decent usage according to SMART (3 months to 18 months). Recognized right away on Asrock motherboards.
They were just going in basic computer so no need to benchmark but they felt quite fast but then again they're SSD so yeah
Cons: Non Samsung "original" firmware so Magician software sees the drive but refuses to work. Appears to be Dell firmware based on research. Seems only hackish methods to put Samsung firmware on so I left them.
WTH 4 out of 6 of them had DATA ON THEM! I get they are refurbished but come on newegg, samsung, whoever refurb'd them. Trying to avoid excessive writing? Too bad Magician doesn't work eh?
Other Thoughts: Despite the cons I just wiped the drives with data on them & lived with the fact Magician doesn't work because they were CHEAP SAMSUNG SSD's. I almost felt guilty they were so cheap. Now let's see how long they last.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/4/2015 11:26:19 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Internal SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 850 EVO MZ-75E250B/AM 2.5" 250GB SATA III 3-D Vertical Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellence in the EVO
Pros: Wanted to get a new SSD for my more often played games. Currently have an OCZ Vertex 3 for my OS, a 5200 rpm storage drive, and now this guy.

All I can say is the drive performs as expected, and I expected a lot. I don't have the numbers, but the load times in the few titles I tested (MGS:PP and Battlefield 4, specifically) have increased astronomically. I don't have numbers in front of me, but a guesstimate on loading a BF4 map from the storage drive probably jumped by 1-2 minutes.

The Magician software is nice, too. Compared to the essentially non-existent OCZ software, Samsung is light years ahead of the curve.

I've read all the negative reviews, and aside from a couple DOAs, early failure, and compatibility issues, the consensus is this is a great upgrade/new build drive.
Cons: None as of yet
Other Thoughts: nothing comes with it but documentation, software cd, and drive... expected, but if you buy on, make sure you get a sata3 cable, too (.50 here on newegg... not a big deal)
Reviewed By:N/A,9/4/2015 10:04:11 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Internal SSDs > Corsair > Manufacturer Recertified Corsair Force Series 3 CSSD-F120GB3/RF2 2.5" 120GB SATA III Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) Manufactured Recertified Factory Refurbished

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 54% failure rate
Pros: None
Cons: With a 54% failure rate during the 1st year among Newegg customers, I can't begin to understand why Newegg is still allowing this junk to be sold in their store.
Other Thoughts: Yugo had a better quality product than these refurbished Corsair drives, and they are no more. The only question left, is whether Newegg will allow junk like this to further erode their reputation.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/4/2015 6:10:25 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Internal SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 850 EVO MZ-75E1T0B/AM 2.5" 1TB SATA III 3-D Vertical Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 This Was A MAJOR Upgrade in Performance
Pros: I am a real estate photographer and my business depends upon producing dozens of very high resolution images a day. I regularly process over 500 38mp RAW files through Adobe Lightroom and an application Enfuse in a day, to produce 60 to 90 production marketing images for my clients. This is after shooting all day - I process the images at night. Before I got my EVO 850 I was regularly working until 1am getting those files ready to give to my clients first thing in the morning. Now I am in bed most nights after Fallon's monologue! This drive enabled me to step up to the next level in production - I can shoot more homes in a day and not be worried about not getting any sleep before I have to get up and do it all over again. In the three weeks since I installed it, I have made easily 25% more than I did in the previous month. I have knocked off that much time from my workflow. I'm going to get another for my desktop computer when I have time to migrate to it. Hopefully the price will drop even more by then!
Cons: The software that came with this drive is totally worthless. I found a free cloning software that took care of my transfer of my hard disk. It was slow but it got the job done when the Samsung software just failed. Acronis failed, too, for that matter, and after researching the problem I found that neither application supports UEFI hard disks.
Other Thoughts: The complaint, in my case, is nothing compared to the incredible performance and stability of the equipment. I cannot recommend it more highly.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/4/2015 4:51:07 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Internal SSDs > Mushkin Enhanced > Mushkin Enhanced ECO2 MKNSSDEC240GB 2.5" 240GB SATA III MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Not Worth It
Pros: It's inexpensive.
Cons: It was only recognized by one of my computers. I tried it on three others and it didn't even show up in the BIOS.
Other Thoughts: I'll continue using it in the older desktop that recognizes it since I don't use that computer that often and make daily backups of all my computers. If it fails I won't be losing much other than time to do a restore and and RMA.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/4/2015 4:49:16 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.