Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Internal SSDs > Silicon Power > Silicon Power Slim S55 2.5" 480GB SATA III TLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) SP480GBSS3S55S25

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great bang for the price
Pros: 480GB SSD for $100.00.
Way faster than a regular HDD.
3 year warranty.
Low power consumption.
Silent.
Shock resistant.
Cons: There was no read/write test I performed on this Silicon Power Slim S55 2.5" 480GB SATA III TLC Internal Solid State Drive that came close the the advertised speeds. I recorded 270-295 MBps both read and write.
Does not come with any migration software.
Not a con for most people, but TLC will wear out sooner. For most people probably not a problem.
Kinda like there are only so many barks in a dog. A SSD only has X amount of read/write til it will begin to fail. MLC will have more read/write than TLC. That's just the way it is.
Other Thoughts: I would recommend this drive for anyone that is not a power user.
Don't let my cons scare you off. This is a very good SSD for the price.
As another reviewer mentioned a SSD is only as good as the controller it uses.
This drive uses a Phison controller, as do others that cost more.
There really isn't a reason to not use a SSD in a new computer build or bring some new life to an older computer.
If you do not have SATA III your gain in performance will be much less. Many older laptop/PC might not be able to get full benefit of what an SSD can do because they don't have the capability to handle the data speed.
Reviewed By:Bradley A.,8/30/2016 2:42:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Internal SSDs > Silicon Power > Silicon Power Slim S60 2.5" 120GB SATA III MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) SP120GBSS3S60S25

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works Great
Pros: Easy to install haven't had any problems.
Works like it should.
I got this as a bundle and can't complain.l
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: I would buy this again and recommend this item for the price.
Reviewed By:Steven M.,8/30/2016 2:03:29 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Internal SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 850 EVO 2.5" 4 TB SATA III 3-D Vertical Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) MZ-75E4T0B/AM

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 4TB: as can be expected from Samsung.
Pros: The below results are for the 4TB drive. Formatted NTFS, it shows 3.63 TiB free.

Benchmarks are below:

4TB 850 Evo over Startech USB 3.1 dock over 3.1 port (with 3.1 cable):
----------------------------
CrystalDiskMark 4.0.3 x64
Seq Read: 498 MB/s
Seq Write: 485 MB/s
Ran Read 4KiB: 38 MB/s
Ran Write 4KiB: 125 MB/s
Seq Read: 508 MB/s
Seq Write: 504 MB/s
Ran Read 4KiB: 34 MB/s
Ran Write 4KiB: 97 MB/s


4TB 850 Evo over SATA connection:
----------------------------
CrystalDiskMark 4.0.3 x64
Seq Read: 538 MB/s
Seq Write: 503 MB/s
Ran Read 4KiB: 291 MB/s
Ran Write 4KiB: 181 MB/s
Seq Read: 500 MB/s
Seq Write: 475 MB/s
Ran Read 4KiB: 36 MB/s
Ran Write 4KiB: 67 MB/s

Samsung Magician gives this a 540/533 read-write rating


And for reference, here is my 1TB 850 Evo version over SATA connection:
----------------------------
CrystalDiskMark 4.0.3 x64
Seq Read: 561 MB/s
Seq Write: 532 MB/s
Ran Read 4KiB: 262 MB/s
Ran Write 4KiB: 240 MB/s
Seq Read: 519 MB/s
Seq Write: 508 MB/s
Ran Read 4KiB: 41 MB/s
Ran Write 4KiB: 97 MB/s

...making the 1TB 850 version a very un-scientific 6% faster, all-around.
(Samsung Magician gives this a 553/532 read-write rating)
Cons: 4TB pricing is not at sweet spot, yet.
Other Thoughts: It should be the higher the GB, the cheaper per byte. The industry has the pricing model favoring 500GB drives. When PCI-e SS drives become cheaper/more popular, the bottlenecked speed of the SATA connection will drop the price of the larger sizes. And it's about time. We need to be able to use SSDs for storage drives.
Reviewed By:Michael B.,8/30/2016 1:41:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Internal SSDs > Mushkin Enhanced > Mushkin Enhanced Reactor 2.5" 1TB SATA III MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) MKNSSDRE1TB

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Had this drive for about two weeks. Ran multiple benchmark tests on it and it constantly outperforms my Samsung Evo 850. Did I get lucky.... I think so.
Cons: N/A
Reviewed By:Craig,8/30/2016 1:00:32 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Internal SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 950 PRO M.2 256GB PCI-Express 3.0 x4 Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) MZ-V5P256BW

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Fast, very fast drive. Worth to upgrade older computers.
Pros: Works even on machines with legacy bios. Do not believe "experts" who over and over again state that older computers cannot boot from 950 pro. According to the Samsung whitepaper write up and proven test cases, the 950 pro is backwards compatible and can be used on Legacy BIOS systems, if your system can initialize IDE devices, which most chipsets can do. The only requirements to run the 950 pro on a system are (1) a modern operating system with an NVMe driver and of course (2) a free PCIe x4 slot .
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: I recommend this drive without reservation.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,8/30/2016 12:57:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Internal SSDs > SanDisk > SanDisk SSD PLUS 2.5" 480GB SATA III MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) SDSSDA-480G-G26

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 OK SSD
Pros: Cost - it was the most economical for it's class IMHO
Cons: - It is made of plastic and came shipped in a small bubble pack envelope.
- SanDisk does not have it's own cloning/migration software - their recommended one does a poor job
Other Thoughts: - If it was to repurchase, I would pay a little more for a Samsung, had 2 previously and migration was easy
- Speed rating was also a little better with Samsung
- Have this drive for about 2 weeks now and seems to be doing well
Reviewed By:Anonymous,8/30/2016 11:49:27 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Internal SSDs > Corsair > Corsair Force Series GT 2.5" 90GB SATA III Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) CSSD-F90GBGT-BK

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Corsair - solid as a rock
Pros: fast and does what it is supposed to do
Cons: No cons
Other Thoughts: Newegg should post a chart suggesting size of SSD vs RAM
Reviewed By:Stephen B.,8/30/2016 10:29:59 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Internal SSDs > Crucial > Crucial BX200 2.5" 240GB SATA III Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) CT240BX200SSD1

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great delivery with shipping product works to standard
Pros: - Its a SSD drive not much to talk about, have not had it for long (we shall see if it gets destroyed by power outages like the Mushkin this replaced)
Cons: - None
Reviewed By:Anonymous,8/30/2016 9:51:17 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Internal SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG SM951 M.2 512GB PCI-Express 3.0 Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) MZHPV512HDGL-00000

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Super Fast
Pros: -small
-blindingly fast
Cons: -none
Other Thoughts: -I threw my OS onto this puppy and my system boots faster than on any other PC I've used. near instantaneous after POST.
Reviewed By:Timothy R.,8/30/2016 9:24:21 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Internal SSDs > Silicon Power > Silicon Power Slim S55 2.5" 480GB SATA III TLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) SP480GBSS3S55S25

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Cheap. fast, but not as fast as it claims in real life
Pros: I didn't bench this, because I feel like benchmarking is pretty useless. I have compared HDD and SSD loading times and whatnot.

Startup: HDD 12-14 seconds; SSD 8-9 seconds
1.4-1.7 X speed
Game load: Dragon Age Inquisition: HDD 1:30 on startup, 0:50-2:10 loadscreens; SSD 0:38 startup, 0:35-1:05 loadscreens
1.5-2 X speed. I have some other games, big and small, all fall in this 30-50% faster.
File transfer: Copy files: 40gb (game folder, has a lot of small files): HDD 13:45 minutes; SSD 4:30
14gb: HHD 5:50; SSD 2:05
2.85-3 X speed

Also, it is silent unlike my HDD, which I can hear it spool up since I have a near silent PC.
Cons: Well, when it says up to 4 times faster than HHD, I hoped that it will apply to game load as well. It seems the speed is just for copy pasting files, even then it hasn't reached the 4X speed yet.
Other Thoughts: Bought the 480gb for $100, can't complain about that.
I do a lot of multitasking, and I would encounter disk at 100% from time to time, and that is annoying because it slows computer down significantly. With SSD, it has only reached about 65%, so I'm happy.
Can't comment on the support or the durability because I only have had it for a few days. 3 years warranty, so it should be fine.
Reviewed By:Yibing H.,8/30/2016 6:16:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.