Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Internal SSDs > PNY Technologies, Inc. > PNY SSD7SC120GOPT-RB 2.5" 120GB ATA 6Gb/s (SATA III) NAND Internal / External Solid State Drive (SSD)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Best Bang for Buck!
Pros: Fast
Inexpensive
Cons: You have register for the 3 year warranty
Other Thoughts: This gets 5-eggs because it is the best 120GB drive you can get for the money. Before they lowered their prices, the Kingston 120GB SSD-Now was the winner for this price range (which was out-performed by a 120GB Chronos, AND an ADATA!!! ... in two different machines).

But now that PNY dropped their prices, you can't get any better than this for the price. Solid, consistent performance. These are my CrystalDisk Benchmark scores compared to the 120GB Kingston V300...

Parameters:
9 iteration test with 4GB of data
Tested on ASRock G41C-GS SATA II Interface (yes, SATA III results on my HTPC are a little higher, but I only had the Kingston on my ASRock system)

Kingston 120GB V300 = K
PNY 120GB = P

Seq
K - 150 read ... 90 write
P - 262 read ... 156 write

512K
K - 146 read ... 55 write
P - 221 read ... 143 write

4K
K - 15 read ... 62 write
P - 28 read ... 43 write

4K QD32
K - 16 read ... 71 write
P - 28 read ... 43 write

Kingston did significantly better on the 4K writes... but lost significantly in ever other category.
Reviewed By:RedJamaX,3/3/2015 3:58:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Internal SSDs > Kingston Technology Corp. > Kingston SSDNow V300 Series SV300S37A/240G 2.5" 240GB SATA III Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Pretty Good
Pros: Works as advertised. No hassle to install.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Setup 2 of these as RAID0 array.

CrystalDiskMark Results:
Seq Read: 846.2 MB/s
Seq Write: 340.8 MB/s
Rand Read 512 KB: 632.9 MB/s
Rand Write 512 KB: 322.2 MB/s
Rand Read 4 KB: 21.53 MB/s
Rand Write 4 KB: 65.77 MB/s
Reviewed By:N/A,3/3/2015 3:26:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Internal SSDs > Crucial > Crucial BX100 CT120BX100SSD1 2.5" 120GB SATA 6Gbps (SATA III) Micron 16nm MLC NAND Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great for Macbooks!
Pros: -Price
-It's a Solid State Drive!
-Decently fast
Cons: -Not as fast as a Samsung or Intel
-No included bracket/screws
Other Thoughts: I bought this to upgrade a friend's macbook pro. According to a benchmark I saw online:

Here are the SSD speed results using CrystalDiskMark 64-bit:

- THIS DRIVE: Crucial BX100 250GB SATA 2.5 Inch Internal Solid State Drive - CT250BX100SSD1 : 541 MB/s read and 377 MB/s write
- Samsung 840 EVO 250GB 2.5-Inch SATA III Internal Solid State Drive (MZ-7TE250BW) : 510 MB/s read and 480 MB/s write (with Samsung Magician performance boost turned off, insane speeds with it turned on)
- Crucial MX100 256GB SATA 2.5" 7mm Internal Solid State Drive CT256MX100SSD1 : 484 MB/s read and 460 MB/s write
- AMD Radeon R7 Series 240GB 2.5-Inch SATA III 7mm Ultra Slim SSD RADEON-R7SSD-240G : 468 MB/s read and 506 MB/s write
- OCZ Storage Solutions Arc 100 Series 240GB SATA III Ultra-Slim SSD ARC100-25SAT3-240G : 419 MB/s read and 429 MB/s write
Reviewed By:spare time tech,3/3/2015 2:58:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Internal SSDs > Intel > Intel 730 Series SSDSC2BP240G4R5 2.5" 240GB SATA 6Gb/s MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Intel 730 Series SSD 240gb
Pros: Everything loads so much faster with SSD. It comes with Sata cable and screws. Cool skull logo on the front of the drive if your pc has a window.
Cons: None so far. No errors or reliability issues. If this drive fails in the next year I will update this review.
Reviewed By:JC,3/3/2015 12:38:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Internal SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 840 Pro Series MZ-7PD128BW 2.5" 128GB SATA III MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Best sdd by far
Pros: Fast
Reliable
Decent price
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: For SSD i am now sold to samsung
Reviewed By:pokpok,3/3/2015 12:01:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Internal SSDs > SanDisk > SanDisk SDSSDP-128G-G25 2.5" 128GB SATA III Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works really well
Pros: Good SSD, good price
Cons: Like some people said, the SSD feels a bit flimsy, but mounted inside my desktop, it doesn't matter.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/3/2015 11:45:15 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Internal SSDs > OCZ Storage Solution > OCZ ARC 100 ARC100-25SAT3-240G 2.5" 240GB SATA III MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 All you could want in a SSD
Pros: Easy install, perfect reliability, among fastest in class for the price and capacity.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Works perfect and immediately passes the burn in test in my laptop. Highly recommend OCZ and NewEgg
Reviewed By:Collin,3/3/2015 10:15:58 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Internal SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 840 Pro Series MZ-7PD256BW 2.5" 256GB SATA III MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Died after 4 months with sector failures
Pros: Very fast drive.
Cons: Died after 4 months as the OS drive. Restore from image still ended up with NT loader missing. Same restore image to other drive worked fine. Disk can only be returned for refurbished drive per Samsung's warranty policy.
Other Thoughts: If it would not have died so quickly, this drive would have been great. Very fast, boots Windows 7 Ultimate in less than 20 seconds.
Reviewed By:tachyon2001,3/3/2015 9:55:55 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Internal SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE500BW 2.5" 500GB SATA III TLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 DO NOT Buy this item
Pros: Good price.
Cons: The drive went out on me in less than 4 months. I purchased this in November of 2014. It started acting up 2 weeks ago. I would do a few things and the computer would freeze up. So, I had a spare hard drive and installed Windows and program on it. The freezing up stopped. Besides this, Samsung had no place on their website to ask for an RMA for an SSD drive. Their customer support kept wanting me to call them. I told them that I did NOT like talking on the phone. They sent me to a page that didn't work. Then when I tried a live chat once again, the person told me to wait then they ended the chat.
Other Thoughts: I will never buy a product from Samsung again until they fix this mess.
Reviewed By:Wayne,3/3/2015 9:31:48 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Internal SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 850 Pro Series MZ-7KE128BW 2.5" 128GB SATA III 3-D Vertical Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 No problem
Pros: It worked in a new system with a fresh install of Windows 7 without any problem
Cons: None. Longevity remains to be seen.
Reviewed By:Larry,3/3/2015 9:14:39 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.