Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Back2School
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > All 2 in 1 Laptops / Ultrabooks > ASUS > ASUS Zenbook UX305FA-ASM1 Ultra-Slim Aluminum Laptop Intel Core M 5Y10 (0.80GHz) 8GB Memory 256GB SSD Intel HD Graphics 5300 Shared memory 13.3" Windows 8.1 64-Bit

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Great laptop, except....
Pros: Solid little unit, physically. Lightweight and good battery and good performance.
Cons: There is an Intel Kernel bug that keeps the brightness at full at all times in every version of Linux. Which means the battery only lasts an hour or two at best. It works OK in Windows, but obviously Windows itself is pretty weak compared to a modern Linux distro for all but the gamer kid. I'm really bummed, because I ordered it SPECIFICALLY because I read online it had good linux support.
Other Thoughts: This WOULD be a great laptop. But it requires an Intel binary blob in the kernel that is broken.

So... Stupid Intel.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/3/2015 1:02:54 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > All 2 in 1 Laptops / Ultrabooks > ASUS > Asus Transformer Book T100 10.1" 2-in-1 Tablet with Dock, Quad Core Intel Atom Bay Trail Z3775F 1.46Ghz (2.39Ghz Burst), 2GB Memory, 32GB Storage, Windows 8.1

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Defective
Pros: Portable, sleek, light and compact. The touch screen is a nice feature and the tablet to laptop convertible keyboard is a great concept.
Cons: Defective. The wifi adapter is clearly faulty as is the chassis. The button sink into the device when depressed. The refurbs are being liquidated for a reason. AVOID!
Reviewed By:N/A,8/1/2015 7:56:10 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All 2 in 1 Laptops / Ultrabooks > Toshiba > TOSHIBA Satellite Radius P55W-B5318 Intel Core i7 4510U (2.00GHz) 12GB Memory 256GB SSD 15.6" 360° Rotation Touchscreen Ultrabook Windows 8.1

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Great specs but......
Pros: Superior specs for the price. Fast speed/boot time/video processing. Tablet to laptop mode is nice, works fine most of the time. Lightweight and thin.
Cons: Have had 2 keyboards fail in 3 months. Results in return to Toshiba service center, hours on phone waiting to be connected, and loss of my computer for a week at a time.

The first tech I talked to asked me which keys weren't working and I said it would be faster to tell you the ones that are, a whole 6 keys. That was after 2 months of mostly trouble free operation.

I got my computer back July 15, working as expected once again. Now (July 30) I am packing it up again for the same reason. Less keys failed this time, but still very aggravating.
Other Thoughts: I would rather have spent another $200 or $300 on another brand and not had to deal with the terribly inferior keyboard problems. I advise you to take advantage of the opportunity to do so.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/30/2015 10:09:14 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > All 2 in 1 Laptops / Ultrabooks > ASUS > ASUS Zenbook UX305FA-ASM1 Ultra-Slim Aluminum Laptop Intel Core M 5Y10 (0.80GHz) 8GB Memory 256GB SSD Intel HD Graphics 5300 Shared memory 13.3" Windows 8.1 64-Bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Incredible Performance! Underrated!
Pros: -Very long battery life (4+ hours)
-Very nice native 1080p resolution (anti-glare!)
-Low powered
-High performance 2.0GHz CPU
-Auto adjust lighting to environment!
-Plays most games I throw at it (installed Steam)
-No moving parts
-Incredible physical design (solid metal, shuts completely)
Cons: -Runs hot
-Not much support for 1080p native to a 13" (blurry software text)
-Eats up more battery then advertise
-Cannot swap battery without disassemble
-Finger print magnet
-Core M 5Y10 does have it's limits
Other Thoughts: So far this has been the best laptop I have ever own. The anti-glare 1080p 13" screen is incredible. It's pretty light for a solid metal build. And it closes completely, almost a tight rubber seal once you fold the laptop close. I spilled water on top of the closed laptop and none of it got inside. There's a special rubber lining that runs around the top part (screen) so it shuts and seals. The Intel HD 5300 runs most of my installed Steam games pretty well. This laptop was meant to play big budget games like StarCraft 2, Portal, Pillars of Eternity, Skyrim and Tomb Raider 2013 on medium settings with no AA and low/off shadows. I use it everyday to do a little gaming along with some photoshop and video editing. Handles every single process without any lag. When you purchase any laptop, make sure to install your own operating system and anti-virus. I couldn't imagine using a system fresh from the manufacture with lots of processing killing bloatware. As soon as I turned it on I went into the BIOS, changed the boot to Legacy, installed my own Windows 8.1 and a new license for ESET. After that I got full performance from this system. The only issues I have is the IPS 1080p special native resolution isn't compatible with a lot of software. When it isn't compatible, the software will run the text at lower resolutions. So software like Steam has low resolution text with high resolution images. Also the battery requires a disassembly which could be a problem with some users. I've also used much better chargers and the charging port feels fragile. It comes with a special cloth to clean off prints so I usually carry that with me everywhere I take my laptop. Overall the flaws are just minor inconveniences for me and doesn't deserve any less eggs. The heat and less then 5 hours battery life isn't a problem at all.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/30/2015 2:41:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > All 2 in 1 Laptops / Ultrabooks > Acer America > Acer Aspire R7-371T-76P5 Intel Core i7 4510U (2.00GHz) 8GB Memory 512GB SSD 13.3" Touchscreen 2in1 Convertible Windows 8.1

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4
Pros: I love the different ways you can use this laptop. I work on projects that honestly, make the most use out of this, so I can see where it wouldn't be for everyone. I use it on the field a lot of recording audio interviews, making presentations, and collaborating, so this is perfect for me. For the size of the machine, the sound is really impressive, and I'm glad I took a chance on this. I use the ezel design more than I expected, while I'm listening to my interviews or just sitting at home watching Rick and Morty and downing the last half of the wine from last night because what even is my life.

Overall, this is a solid machine, and if you're looking for mobility and flexibility without having to cart around a tablet and laptop, I'd say to give this a go.
Cons: Dear Acer: I really appreciate that you're taking design risks, pushing the envelope of what a laptop can be, but for the sake of the good lord and my poor carpal tunnel syndrome, y'all need to think twice before redesigning a keyboard. What is up with this dagnabbing thing? Sometimes I have to hit a key 2 or 3 times before I can get a response, and I'm a very accurate typist. Y'all. If it ain't broke, don't fix it. You have like, a solid inch of space on either side of the board itself. Come on. I mean, really? What is up with this key travel as well. I think the design can spare a millimeter for us to get a little better key travel. This was almost, legit, a deal breaker for me. The pros of the machine outweigh the cons for what I need to use the laptop for, so I'll keep it, and deduct a star, but lawd'a'mercy y'all need to use the sense y'all's mommas gave you.

Also the fan noise can be loud.
Other Thoughts: If you're looking for a gaming laptop, this probably isn't your bag. If you do a lot of word processing, I'd say maybe go to a computer store and try it out; it might not work for you. I'm still on the fence about it, myself. I really do feel like a few generations down the road, though you'll have a solid machine with most of its design quirks and flaws worked out.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/27/2015 8:31:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All 2 in 1 Laptops / Ultrabooks > ASUS > Asus 2-in-1 Transformer Book T100TA-B2-GR Intel Z3775 Quad Core 2GB RAM, 32GB SSD Storage, 10.1” MultiTouch 2-in1 Notebook/ Tablet with Keyboard/Dock, Windows 8.1 – Gray

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 NOT SSD has Hynix HBG4e flash memory storage
Pros: I have been a NE customer for over 10 years and have ordered a lot of items and really wanted to like this but the fact that the item does not come with an SSD is why it's going back, thankfully NE is covering the return.
Cons: I just received this and it does NOT come with an SSD drive, it comes with a non upgrade able eMMC based flash storage, which shows as Hynix HBG4e . Here is some info on the eMMc; The biggest bottleneck by far is the sluggish eMMC storage, courtesy of Hynix (HBG4e). The 32GB unit does not come close to high-end SSDs, but luckily it is not as slow as one might expect from an embedded eMMC solution. Read speeds easily top 100MB/s, while write performance is limited to about 40MB/s. On phones and low-end tablets this would be great, but we just feel a lot of potential is being wasted due to relatively slow eMMC storage on the T100. I'm sending it back on NE's dime.
Other Thoughts: I just received this and it does NOT come with an SSD drive, it comes with a non upgrade able eMMC based flash storage, which shows as Hynix HBG4e . Here is some info on the eMMc; The biggest bottleneck by far is the sluggish eMMC storage, courtesy of Hynix (HBG4e). The 32GB unit does not come close to high-end SSDs, but luckily it is not as slow as one might expect from an embedded eMMC solution. Read speeds easily top 100MB/s, while write performance is limited to about 40MB/s. On phones and low-end tablets this would be great, but we just feel a lot of potential is being wasted due to relatively slow eMMC storage on the T100. thats from fudzilla*com I'm sending it back on NE's dime.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/27/2015 2:06:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All 2 in 1 Laptops / Ultrabooks > ASUS > ASUS VivoBook S550CM-QW71-CB Ultrabook Intel Core i7 3517U (1.90GHz) 8GB Memory 1.5TB HDD 24GB SSD NVIDIA GeForce GT 635M 2GB 15.6" Windows 8 64-Bit

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Like new without working space key
Pros: It was fast, wonderful display, and the as described physically.
Cons: The space bar was nearly nonfunctional and the DVD reader was extremely sensitive to movement.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/27/2015 8:31:19 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All 2 in 1 Laptops / Ultrabooks > Lenovo > Lenovo Miix 2 11 Detachable 2in1 Tablet- Intel Core i5 4GB Memory 128GB SSD 11.6" Touchscreen Windows 8.1 with Dock (59413201)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Most frustrating piece of hardware I've used in years
Pros: It's cool how it separates, and that's where the line ends
Cons: This is one of the most frustrating pieces of equipment to use. The touch pad is virtually worthless and does not function as a touch pad should. I am wishing I would have gone with an iPad, and I've never been an apple fan. Save yourself the headache, not worth your time
Other Thoughts: Seriously tempted to throw this thing against the wall. unfortunately all of my school work is on the hard drive...
Reviewed By:N/A,7/25/2015 1:34:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All 2 in 1 Laptops / Ultrabooks > ASUS > Asus 2-in-1 Transformer Book T100TA-B2-GR Intel Z3775 Quad Core 2GB RAM, 32GB SSD Storage, 10.1” MultiTouch 2-in1 Notebook/ Tablet with Keyboard/Dock, Windows 8.1 – Gray

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good for Steam Streaming
Pros: This item is lightweight, has great battery life, and excellent display compared to my last net book.

After I installed steam, I booted it up and launched a game using steam home streaming. It worked great.
Cons: It has a small hard drive, which is in the specs, and the display isn't as good as many android devices I've used.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/24/2015 9:53:51 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All 2 in 1 Laptops / Ultrabooks > ASUS > ASUS Taichi21-DH71 Convertible Ultrabook Intel Core i7 3517U (1.90GHz) 4GB Memory 256GB SSD Intel HD Graphics 4000 Shared memory 11.6" Windows 8 64-Bit

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Battery still won't charge
Pros: None
Cons: Received the RMA unit, but the battery still won't charge. I guess I will need to buy my own battery...

I guess Asus refurbished products are not trust worthy....
Reviewed By:N/A,7/23/2015 10:22:14 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.