Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > All Ultrabooks > ASUS > ASUS Zenbook UX303LA-DB51T Intel Core i5 4210U (1.70GHz) 8GB Memory 128GB SSD 13.3" Ultrabook Windows 8.1 64-Bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Review Two
Pros: Light (3.2Lbs.), bright and responsive touch screen, very good keyboard and touchpad, 6hrs websurf, light pwr. adapter, very fast HD performance. Can be opened to muck about inside. Pretty good sound, backlit keyboard. Good looks. Solid feel, long uni-hinge (I've had a hinge break), can be opened with one hand.
Cons: I had a hard time with the wireless...kept disconnecting...did driver and bios updates and it seems to have settled down...wireless ac is very fast. It IS expensive for an i5 ultrabook, but worth it (see below). 128Gb is a pretty small SSD...so heads up on that. You won't be storing tons of stuff or installing tons of software.
Other Thoughts: I'd guess this ultra book is in a class with mac book air and Acer Aspire series - that is, you pay more, but the things it has it does well...keyboard, touch pad, screen, etc....all high quality...
I have not yet tried to install a new, larger, SSD...but it's on the agenda...if anyone has done this...please let me know.
Reviewed By:A2k,8/28/2014 9:40:34 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > All Ultrabooks > ASUS > ASUS Taichi21-DH71 Intel Core i7 3517U (1.90GHz) 4GB Memory 256GB SSD 11.6" Convertible Ultrabook Windows 8 64-Bit

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Bad quality
Pros: sleek design, fast processor, fast hard drive
Cons: the touchscreen goes crazy and start sending touch events by itself making it unusable
Reviewed By:N/A,8/28/2014 7:01:24 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Ultrabooks > ASUS > ASUS Zenbook UX303LA-DB51T Intel Core i5 4210U (1.70GHz) 8GB Memory 128GB SSD 13.3" Ultrabook Windows 8.1 64-Bit

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good so far! Will update once I've had it longer
Pros: Extremely small and lightweight. Very aesthetically pleasing. The keyboard is awesome. SSD boots around 7 seconds from shut down which is typical. I didn't get this computer to be a powerhouse of a machine; it is to be used for portability, and convenience, which it has done extremely well so far. I am getting around 6-7 hours of battery life, not running anything too intensive on it.

Overall, for the time being, I am very please with this machine.
Cons: The power button is located in the top right hand corner, where you would usually be used to the Delete key located. I have yet to fat finger it, but it is a concern of mine. Came with a little more bloatware than I would have preferred, but it is easily removed.

My only real complaint: when I put the computer to sleep, and then wake it back up, occasionally my entire UI is extremely small. I have yet to figure out why it is doing this. The taskbar shrinks along with the scaling sizes of everything on the screen. If I then press restart, it quickly reboots and everything is back to normal.
Other Thoughts: For the few days I have had it, I am very pleased. Very elegant, lightweight, and quite fast. Can't figure out why the UI shrinks after putting it to sleep...

As of now I am happy. I will update again in the future once I've had it longer.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Eric,

I'm glad to know that you are satisfied with the laptop. I certainly understand your concern regarding the UI shrinking when it wakes up from a sleep mode. Please verify the system is running with the most current video driver and all WINDOWS recomended update were installed successfully. Should you need further assistance, please email me at cl-rodel@asus.com and write down service# N140848395 on the subject line.

Thank you for choosing an ASUS product.

Regards,

Rodel
ASUS Customer Loyalty

Reviewed By:Eric,8/27/2014 8:38:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Ultrabooks > Lenovo > Lenovo IdeaPad Flex 15 (59390990) Notebook Intel Core I7 4500U (1.80GHz) 8GB Memory 500GB+8GB Hybrid Storage Intel HD Graphics 4400 15.6" Touchscreen Windows 8 64-Bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Buy
Pros: It doers everything is said it would do and more. Lighting Speed, WOW!
Cons: Could not get a "non powered" USB Hub 3.0 to work. Not a big deal. Would like to have seen all USB's be 3.0.
Other Thoughts: Purchased a Seagate 2 TB external HD and the two are working super fast together. I'm a happy camper! The Seagate HD is as small as my IPhone.
Reviewed By:finsecron,8/27/2014 12:34:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Ultrabooks > ASUS > Asus VivoBook Q200E-BCL0803E Touchscreen Ultrabook Intel Celeron 1007U 1.5Ghz 4GB RAM 320GB HDD Windows 8

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Great price for the portability of this small refurbed ultrabook. I mainly use it for word processing, web browsing, and a bit of music playing. It boots very quickly. Battery life seems good - I can usually have it unplugged for at least 6 hours while I'm continuously working on it.
Cons: I don't use the touch screen much. It seems fine to operate, but it's really only useful if you do most of your computing in the Windows 8 interface with its apps. You can't swipe between programs if you work from the desktop as in past versions of Windows (which is where I work from most of the time). But this is a Windows 8 gripe, not a beef with the laptop construction itself. The mouse trackpad is a little touchy sometimes and I'm still getting used to it after about a month.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/26/2014 1:18:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Ultrabooks > Acer America > Acer TravelMate TMP645-M-6427 Intel Core i5 4200U (1.60GHz) 8GB Memory 256GB SSD 14" Ultrabook Windows 7 Professional 64-bit

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 It was a lemon, Acer refused to refund
Pros: I'm sure it would be a fine product if it ever worked properly.
Cons: It was a lemon and Acer's customer service was horrendous.
Other Thoughts: I purchased this laptop and it never worked properly. When not plugged into the wall it would suddenly and completely shut off without going through the power down process. This would happened at random. I literally owned it for less than 2 weeks before this started happening. I spent 3 months working with their customer service department trying to get it fixed. I finally got fed up and demanded a refund which they refused to give me without the original box (which I used to send back to them when I sent it in for repairs). If I had any proof that they already had the box I would sue. I will never buy another Acer product again.

Newegg has been very helpful throughout the process.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/26/2014 1:10:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Ultrabooks > ASUS > ASUS Taichi31 Dual Screen 2in1 Ultrabook - i5 4GB Memory 128GB SSD 13.3" Touchscreen w/Active Digitizer Windows 8 (Taichi31-NS51T)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great, but..
Pros: Its an awesome product talking about hardware, weight, style...Two IPS monitors in a single ultrabook, you can`t find it everywhere. Great
Cons: I`m a long time Asus customer and this ultrabook disappointed me about the software it comes (not the software to make hardware works). Makes it unusable. Evertyime get stuck in scrool pages, high resources consumption for nothing. I had to uninstall a bunch of them and got solution. Finally after a format I could use it. Asus should stop to do this or people who doesn't have knowledge will think this ultrabook isn't good!
Manufacturer Response:Dear Diego,

It's great to know that you consider the laptop and awesome product. I certainly understand your concern regarding the pre-installed software bundled with the unit may cause possible problem with the system. Should you need further assistance, please email me at cl-rodel@asus.com and write down service# N140848403 on the subject line.

Thank you for choosing an ASUS product.

Regards,

Rodel
ASUS Customer Loyalty

Reviewed By:Diego,8/26/2014 9:16:10 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Ultrabooks > Sony VAIO > SONY VAIO T Series SVT15114CXS Intel Core i5 3337U (1.80GHz) 4GB Memory 750GB HDD 32GB SSD 15.5" Touchscreen Ultrabook Windows 8 64-Bit

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Mediocre at Best
Pros: -Lightweight
-1080p Resolution
Cons: -Mediocre Battery Life
-Mediocre Memory
-Sony Vaio Keyboard Back-lighting software is bugged. Will only light up upon keypress even if you changed settings.
-No Microphone jack even though it's listed in specs
Other Thoughts: I got this laptop because it matched a lot of the preferences I wanted for a college laptop. I'm a computer science major so I wanted something that would allow me to program no problem, had a good resolution, and lightweight. The battery life is pretty standard but for the ultrabook processor, it is very underwhelming. Please note as well that this is the ultrabook i5 processor. Normal mobile i5s will be much faster but also drain battery life faster so you would think this laptop could at least last longer for the deficiency but it doesn't. The keyboard backlighting is also glitched to where it only lights up upon keypress. Changing and updating the Vaio software that controls this has not changed it at all.

Overall, this laptop is slower than most laptops its size, has a standard battery life, ram needs to be upgraded, and keyboard is bugged. Only saving grace is the 1080p resolution and its weight. If I could choose again, I think I would have took a much heavier notebook that was much faster.
Reviewed By:John R,8/25/2014 2:04:52 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Ultrabooks > Lenovo > Lenovo IdeaPad U510 Intel Core i5 8GB RAM 750GB HDD + 24GB SSD DVDRW 15.6" Ultrabook Windows 8 64-Bit (59347423)

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Great for 6 Months
Pros: Fast machine, competitive price. Good feature set.
Cons: Hard drive failed just over 6 months. Will follow up with comments regarding my experience with Lenovo's tech support.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/25/2014 10:39:46 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Ultrabooks > Lenovo > Lenovo Yoga 11s 11.6" Multimode Laptop with Intel Core i5-4210Y 1.50Ghz (1.90Ghz Turbo), 8GB DDR3L RAM, 128GB SSD, HD LED MultiTouch IPS Display, 360 Degrees Hinge, Windows 8

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Refurbished Lenovo Yoga 11s
Pros: Windows 8 instead of Windows 8.1
8GB of RAM
Cons: Small 128GB hard drive
Non-backlit keyboard
Reviewed By:N/A,8/25/2014 10:23:41 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau