Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Chromebooks > Toshiba > Toshiba CB35-A3120 13.3" Chromebook with Intel Celeron 2955U Dual Core 1.4Ghz CPU, 2GB DDR3L RAM, 16GB SSD, Bluetooth 4.0, HDMI Out, Google Chrome OS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Watch out!
Pros: great size and feel. just loved it.
Cons: Newegg shipped 2 faulty units in a row. The first one ACTUALLY shipped with the wrong power adapter! Wasn't even close to fitting. The second one had a noisy fan I noticed immediately. Both of these were really the responsibility of Toshiba. Thanks Newegg for doing an excellent job of fixing the problem.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/22/2014 12:42:29 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Chromebooks > Acer America > Acer Chromebook C720-2848 Intel Celeron 2955U 2GB RAM 16GB SSD 11.6" Chrome OS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 A must for college students!
Pros: It has an SSD hard drive, for those who don't know its kind of like the memory in your phones. This allows it to boot in under 3sec from power button to password log in. Then instant after your password is entered. Takes about an hour to charge, holds a good charge while typing papers and will stay in stand by mode in a backpack for a week.

What makes this a must for college students, since there really is no OS that means it is always quick and never bogged down. Also you cannot receive viruses.

The acer chrome books are awesome due to their lack of an OS to bog them down. Its all I want in a college computer, a small laptop that is literally just an internet browser that I can access any files I save on my CB from any school computer by just logging onto my google account. And since it real time saves, the files are always current! Google dox and whatever the excel one is called, just brilliant! And being able to save the file in anyway imaginable is great for turning it into even the most picky of professors! (converts to .docx, richfile, ect.)

I have owned mine for over a year and it works flawlessly! Bought it for $200 too, what a steal. It is much better imo then netbooks because windows runs too slow on them. Also not many schools use Mac's (if you have ever noticed a special set of instructions to assignments if you have a mac) which is where the chrome book excels, it can save in .docx which every school I have been to uses (the format for Microsoft Office) Plus it is $800-1000 cheaper.
Cons: If you are in a computer class I would recommend using Microsoft Office for excel and access on school computers. But for typing papers and using the web it is great.

It also doesn't allow you to download applications and does not have a disc drive. Most applications can be found on the web (pandora for music, netflix/hulu for movies, google dox for word, ect.)

Since it only has 16gb of data it is not practical as your only computer. I believe google gives you 100gb on their cloud when you buy the computer so you have roughly 116gb to deal with.

Also it only works when you are connected to the internet. If you are not then it saves your work to the computer (can still use google dox) but once you connect it automatically syncs the file so it is up to date on your google account too.
Other Thoughts: Most of the time you are on your computer face it, you are on the internet. That is what a chromebook is, an Internet browser. You can do so much with it (besides downloading a lot of music, movies, and games) but that is not what this was meant for. I absolutely love my chrome book for college. The 11inch screen makes it portable and easy to fit into any back pack.

I am also scepticle of HP's chrome book and ones with larger screens. My opinion though. This acer one is solid. HDMI and usb 2/3 port! Like wow, and an SD slot for additional storage.
Reviewed By:rambow70,9/18/2014 7:08:39 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Chromebooks > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG Chromebook 2 XE503C12-K02US Chromebook Samsung Exynos 5 Octa 5420 1.90GHz 4GB Memory 16GB eMMC SSD 11.6" Chrome OS

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 I hate the Chrome book
Pros: Viral protection
Cons: it cannot be used for almost anything, without internet!
Other Thoughts: I really want to return this, but your website will not let me select the item in able to return it.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/17/2014 8:59:58 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Low and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Chromebooks > Toshiba > TOSHIBA CB35-A3120 Chromebook Intel Celeron 2955U (1.40GHz) 2GB Memory 16GB SSD 13.3" Chrome OS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Toshiba Chromebook is a Winner
Pros: This is my first Chromebook and I find myself wondering why I own a tablet now. The battery life is superb, lasting a full day of use, the larger screen and exceptionally light weight make it easy to use anywhere. The performance is excellent and comparable to my i5 windows laptop. This is now my goto device for almost all of my computing. This is a low cost, totally useable device of excellent quality.

It is of course cloud centric which is very convenient. I also keep a lot of files and my music on an SD card in the device. This combination works really well.

If you are concerned about the need for WIFI to use the device, it does a lot of things off-line. That said, who does anything disconnected anymore? WIFI is everywhere.

My most used apps besides straight browser functionality are email, music player, google docs, evernote and kanbanflow.
Cons: My complaints are really more about Chrome O/S than this device. Coming from a standard Windows machine you will miss the delete key and right click functions which are accomplished with two-key combinations like alt-backspace for delete. There is plenty of online help and after a week or so, these have become habit and largely non-issues.
Other Thoughts: Give this a try, I looked at several other Chromebooks and this was by far the nicest. Great performance and build quality. Also most Chromebooks come with free google drive storage. Toshiba provides 100GB.
Reviewed By:theBruce,9/17/2014 7:21:20 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Chromebooks > Acer America > Acer Chromebook C720-2848 Intel Celeron 2955U 2GB RAM 16GB SSD 11.6" Chrome OS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Love this thing!
Pros: Lightweight, fast boot up, very low learning curve, simple to use, flexible storage options (can save to SD card, local drive), good keyboard design, excellent size, self-updating on regular basis so no chasing software updates.
Cons: Some keyboard quirks - ex. no delete key but Acer does give you tutorial on how to simulate the missing key(s) by a tutorial. Excellent otherwise
Other Thoughts: Have had this device since May and I love it! Perfect size, lightweight, FAST boot time, very responsive apps - it's simple computing the way it should be! I had an Asus Transformer (Android) tablet before this and that was fine but THIS is MUCH better! I've no complaints and love how Google automatically applies OS updates on regular basis - with NO degradation of performance whatsoever! The ChromeOS is poised to really take off as most people really only need few unique apps.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/17/2014 2:11:52 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Chromebooks > ASUS > ASUS C300MA-DB01 Chromebook Intel Celeron N2830 (2.16GHz) 2GB DDR3 Memory 16GB eMMC SSD 13.3" Chrome OS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 great for school
Pros: this thing does exactly what I wanted it to do. I am an automotive tech student and out test, textbook and homework are all online so I needed something I could take with me to school and have great battery life. This does both things very well.
Cons: probably not as fast as the other intel based chromebooks out.
Other Thoughts: This is not my sole computer but just my on the go computer. I have my custom built gaming rig for serious computer stuff so all this needed to be was an internet browser I could take anywhere but be easier to type on than a tablet. Also long battery life was important to me as I use this at school and work every day from 8 in the morning to 7 at night and have yet to need to plug it up during a day like that. I find my self using this thing a lot other than for saving big files, playing computer games and things that this thing simply cant do but that is what my gaming pc is for.
Reviewed By:DJ,9/16/2014 7:52:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Chromebooks > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG XE303C12-A01US Chromebook (A Grade Samsung Recertified) Samsung Exynos 1.70GHz 2GB Memory 16GB SSD 11.6" Google Chrome OS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Samsung Chromebook-Refurb
Pros: Simple, Working Unit. Hardware is very nice-case is good. Software OS works perfectly. All is good!
Cons: Rebate tracking
Other Thoughts: Its a very simple Chromebook and if you get a refurb-and get lucky, which I did, it's a great buy. I got this for my father to replace an aging desktop-hope he can figure out the difference between online apps, and apps that run on the machine, etc. Simple machine that should highlight the differences.
Reviewed By:Toastmatt,9/16/2014 8:05:49 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Chromebooks > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG XE303C12-A01US Chromebook (A Grade Samsung Recertified) Samsung Exynos 1.70GHz 2GB Memory 16GB SSD 11.6" Google Chrome OS (Samsung recertified Grade A)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Not bad
Pros: - Well packaged and sealed for a refurbished product -> good first impression
- Product shows no sign of damage or defects
- Very, very light, ergonomic, feels solid
- Practical (quick bootup, easy access to anything even remotely Google related)
Cons: - Is a little underpowered if multiple tabs are open (eg. a YouTube tab and perhaps a programming IDE like Cloud 9 will cause occasional and momentary stuttering)
- Lid is rather tricky to open for no good reason (nitpicking though)
Other Thoughts: It's limited by the OS in the sense that Chrome OS was esigned to be simplistic and fast. It is definitely that on this Chromebook, and as long as you have internet you will have full access to this thing's potential. And I would say there is far more working potential in a Chromebook than an equivalently priced Netbook or Laptop.
Reviewed By:Acorns,9/14/2014 10:13:34 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Chromebooks > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG Chromebook 2 XE503C32-K01US Chromebook Samsung Exynos 5 Octa 5800 2.00GHz 4GB Memory 16GB eMMC SSD 13.3" Chrome OS

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 What A Joke
Pros: I'll let you know when I find one
Cons: Useless! Doesn't even do basic functions needed of a laptop. This thing is a joke if you need to do ANYTHING besides basic web browsing
Other Thoughts: Spend an extra $200 and get something useful
Reviewed By:Eric,9/9/2014 1:04:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Chromebooks > Toshiba > Toshiba CB35-A3120 13.3" Chromebook with Intel Celeron 2955U Dual Core 1.4Ghz CPU, 2GB DDR3L RAM, 16GB SSD, Bluetooth 4.0, HDMI Out, Google Chrome OS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Solid Chromebook But Newegg didn't uphold their deal
Pros: Great Battery Life
Responsive and Large track-pad.
Keys have space between them.
Boots within seconds
Cons: This laptop was suppose to come with +100GB Cloud Storage thru Google Drive. I couldn't access it and now Newegg doesn't even have a record of offering it. Very disappointed in the customer service for this one. I guess there's a first time for everythign.
Other Thoughts: Solid chromebook even for a refurbished unit. I wont give it lower then 5 eggs even tho newegg couldn't follow up on their deal.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/3/2014 7:44:35 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau