Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Chromebooks > Acer America > Acer CB3-111-C670 Chromebook Intel Celeron N2830 (2.16GHz) 2GB Memory 16GB SSD 11.6" Chrome OS

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great....... Internet connection required
Pros: Light weight; Portable; Great battery life; Great assortment of Apps + Extensions; Great keyboard; Fast boot time, wake time and shutdown.
Cons: JUst the current limitations of Chrome OS. Very few Apps and Extensions that work offline.
Other Thoughts: This is a great device in Hardware + Software match up. Just be warned that you do need to be connected to the internet most of time to get work done, as very few Apps & Extensions contain an offline capability.
Reviewed By:Ikhan,7/6/2015 8:40:06 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Chromebooks > Acer America > Acer Aspire C720-3605 Chromebook Intel Core i3 4005U (1.7GHz) 4GB Memory 32GB SSD 11.6" Chrome OS

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Good Performance, High Pitched Whine
Pros: Best performing chromebook, aside from the Pixel (which is >$1000).
Cons: High pitched whine coming from unit from the start, which seemed to progress to a noticeably loud "wind-up" noise, 2 months after purchase.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/3/2015 12:29:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Chromebooks > Acer America > Acer C720-2827 Chromebook Intel Celeron 2955U (1.40GHz) 2GB Memory 16GB SSD 11.6" Chrome OS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Love the chrome book
Pros: 144$. the price alone is worth it. I bring this instead of my gaming Laptop when i just want to watch netflix at hotels and such.
Cons: none. id buy another
Reviewed By:Blinc,6/25/2015 4:29:28 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Chromebooks > ASUS > ASUS EeeBook C201PA-DS02 Chromebook Rockchip RK3288 (1.80GHz) 4GB Memory 16GB SSD 11.6" Chrome OS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Incredibly long battery life. I haven't come close to running out of battery in a single day, which makes it hard to estimate how many hours you can get out of it, but it's easily over 10 hours of web browsing. Though the trade off for the battery life is a less powerful processor, I haven't ever found myself wishing it was faster.

I'm not the kind of web browser who opens up several dozen tabs, but with 4GB of RAM I haven't encountered any issues. It can handle 10 tabs open without an issue.

Given the size constraints, the keyboard provides for a decent typing experience even for someone with larger hands. Not as nice as a larger device can offer, but better than expected for an 11" screen.

Slim and lightweight. I can easily hold it with one hand and browse with the other.

Construction feels reasonably study and well made.
Cons: None other than a glossy rather than matte screen, but I knew that when I bought it.
Other Thoughts: It's a Chromebook, so know what you're getting into with it.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/14/2015 9:55:15 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Chromebooks > ASUS > ASUS EeeBook C201PA-DS02 Chromebook Rockchip RK3288 (1.80GHz) 4GB Memory 16GB SSD 11.6" Chrome OS

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great but for the weak speakers
Pros: - Low price (I paid $149.99)
- Very light weight
- Good looks for such a cheap machine
Cons: - Micro HDMI and micro SD ports (more of a minor inconvenience than a con)
- Speakers are very weak
Other Thoughts: I am satisfied with this machine. I bought it to replace a Acer c720 chrmoebook that soiled the bed recently. This little guy is incredibly light, even for a chromebook, relatively attractive, and priced to sell.

I don't detect much difference in performance between my last acer c720 chromebook and this machine, but I am not a chromebook power user (if such a thing exists). I rarely have more than 5 or 6 tabs in chrome open at once.

I am ever so slightly disappointed that it has a micro HDMI port and a micro SD card reader rather than full size, but the slim and light weight design probably necessitated that trade off. My biggest gripe is that the speakers are very weak. I barely hear tv shows if my air conditioner or dishwasher are running in the same room. I took an egg off my rating for this very reason.

If you don't mind plugging earphones in when there is moderate ambient noise, this machine will get the job done.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/13/2015 9:27:37 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Chromebooks > ASUS > ASUS C300MA-DB01 Chromebook Intel Celeron N2830 (2.16GHz) 2GB DDR3 Memory 16GB eMMC SSD 13.3" Chrome OS

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Great Product Poor Shipping
Pros: This is an excellent product for people willing to break away from mainstream Microsoft products. With everything moving to cloud based there is no need for the old standard computer or laptop. This is the fifth Chromebook will have in the home. Cannot speak highly enough of the product.
Cons: Very poor shipping from the vendor. This first four Chromebooks came from a different Newegg vendor and I had them within four days with free shipping. This vendor made me pay for shipping and it still is not here over a week after orderings. I do not like vendors that use FedEx Smartpost. Plus the other vendors shipped from further away then this one. This vendor was the closest to me and it is still taking longer. Not very happy with the vendor in this case.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Randall,

It's great to know that you find the Chromebook as an excellent product. I apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused you. For anyshipping related issues, please contact NewEgg directly. Should you need further assistance with the laptop, please email me at cl-rodel@asus.com and write down service# N150638766 on the subject line.


Thank you for choosing an ASUS product.

Regards,

Rodel
ASUS Customer Loyalty

Reviewed By:N/A,6/11/2015 6:22:26 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Chromebooks > ASUS > ASUS EeeBook C201PA-DS02 Chromebook Rockchip RK3288 (1.80GHz) 4GB Memory 16GB SSD 11.6" Chrome OS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Amazing Product (so Far)
Pros: Was shipped and arrived quickly, Amazing, cheap computer. Does everything I need it to well and without problem, long battery life, small and light
Cons: Nothing so far.
Other Thoughts: Chrome OS is definitely designed as a causal OS. Do not expect to play games on it or get complex programs installed, as it is basically confined to the Google App Store selection.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/10/2015 4:43:29 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Chromebooks > Toshiba > Toshiba CB35-A3120 13.3” Chromebook Celeron 2955U 1.4Ghz, 2GB RAM, 16GB SSD

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Fabulous little machine
Pros: Great little machine. I'm seriously migrating from Windows and the Mac over to the Chrome operating system. There is little bloat. The machine accesses the internet faster than my other computers and there is no hard drive to fail. I like the idea of using the cloud for storage. I'm just sorry the printer I bought last year is not a cloud ready printer. I can still print with it, but I need a host printer, either my apple or windows pc, on in order to print right away. I can send the document to the printer without another computer being on, but nothing will come out until the host computer is on. Very often if I don't need the printed item immediately, so I just go ahead and select print, and then a day or so later when I turn on one of my other computers, out pops the printed material from the Chromebook that I wanted printed a day or so earlier. I think once the word spreads, more and more people will be buy Chromebooks, Chromeboxes, or Chromebases.
Cons: There is a learning curve especially with setting up classic printers which are printers that aren't cloud printers. It works, but it took me a while to understand the principles. I wish there was better printed material out the on the internet explaining how it actually works. I've learned through trial and error, and since I have patience, I finally figured it out. For the novice to print on a classic printer, they may get easily frustrated - enough so that they may just go out and buy a cloud based printer. It would be cheaper than paying someone to set up the printer for them. The plus side is that once you own a cloud based printer, you'll be able to print from your tablet and cell phone.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/7/2015 2:05:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Chromebooks > Lenovo > Lenovo N21 (80MG0001US) Chromebook Intel Celeron N2840 (2.16GHz) 4GB Memory 16GB SSD 11.6" Chrome OS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nicely priced Chromebook
Pros: Compact but not too small, powerful for a Chromebook, simple but perfect for my needs. Runs silently, thanks to the SSD hard drive and no fan.
Cons: Screen isn't the best but that's hardly unexpected from a Chromebook. Speakers aren't the greatest but I didn't purchase it to watch videos.
Other Thoughts: I purchased this Chromebook as a replacement for my previous Toshiba NB240 netbook -- both are my writing machines, purchased for their simplicity and size. This is far faster and far more versatile. I currently have Ubuntu Trusty running via Crouton to access the Linux beta of Scrivener and everything runs smoothly with very few crashes. I'm very pleased with my purchase and hope to write many a novel on this Chromebook in the years to come!
Reviewed By:Ley,6/7/2015 1:03:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Chromebooks > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG Chromebook 2 XE503C32-K01US Chromebook Samsung Exynos 5 Octa 5800 2.00GHz 4GB Memory 16 GB eMMC SSD 13.3" Chrome OS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 My First Chromebook
Pros: Long Battery Life, (8 hours)
Light-weight,
Doesn't get hot
Nicely Made -- nice screen
Good price for what you get.
Cons: To fully enjoy this, I installed Crouton. This requires some tech savvy and disabling the Chrome OS verification check on boot.

In Ubuntu, you cannot run Wine apps on an Arm processor (nor Skype)
Other Thoughts: I love this Chromebook. I bought it specifically because it uses the latest big.LITTLE Arm processor technology and has 4GB of system RAM. Although this is new technology, it is working better than I expected.

Crouton allows me to chroot into Ubuntu at full screen and pop back to Chrome to open a web page in a heartbeat.

I installed Ubuntu Trusty with XFCE 4 desktop with these packages:
- Libre Office Suite
- Sylpheed e-mail reader
- Evince Document Viewer (incl. PDF)
- Remmina rdp client
- Xiphos Bible Study software
- pySol games
- Netsurf browser (not really used much -- prefer using native Chrome)

These packages are all very light and run "zippy" on Ubuntu Arm

I use a cheap 8GB micro SD card to store large files, documents & downloads I still have plenty of room.

For me, this a great notebook computer that I can use anywhere.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/7/2015 7:34:21 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.