Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • | Wish List
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Chromebooks > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG XE303C12-A01US Chromebook Samsung Exynos 2GB Memory 11.6" Google Chrome OS

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 More useful than I thought
Pros: Very light weight, low price, long battery life, and solid build quality especially for the price. I also prefer matte (non-glare) screens and was surprised to find one in such a low cost device.
Cons: None, as long as you accept limitations of Chrome OS
Other Thoughts: I bought this for my son to use in school, and found it more useful than I thought so I bought one for myself as a secondary laptop. I'm impressed by the number and quality of apps that are web-only (via the Chrome store) and which also allow offline storage. Could cover almost all of my light usage - email, calendaring, browsing, editing docs. You can even edit MS Office docs stored in Dropbox (with the right extensions)
Reviewed By:N/A,4/17/2014 7:56:17 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Chromebooks > Acer America > Acer C720P-2666 Chromebook Intel Celeron 2GB Memory 11.6" Touchscreen Chrome OS

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Very goog so far.
Pros: price, decent build quality, fast (i mean really - fast).
Cons: none so far.
Other Thoughts: Bought this for my parents - just for web brosing, doing research online. The only thing it's missing that they use - skype client.
Intel Haswell based cromebooks just make sense - it's basically an 11 inch notebook, 2-core, 1.4GHz and with 32GB models you can just wipe and install Linux as well.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/17/2014 6:30:12 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Chromebooks > Acer America > Acer C710-2856 11.6” Chromebook Intel Celeron 847 1.1Ghz 2GB RAM 16GB SSD Google Chrome OS Manufacturer Recertified

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent Unit
Pros: Sleek, compact, lightweight, fast, and does what it does best: Help you surf the internet and run internet based apps.
Cons: The Pros itself: It's not an ultrabook; but that's another story
Reviewed By:heelandtoe,4/14/2014 12:08:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Chromebooks > Hewlett-Packard > HP Pavilion 14-q010nr Chromebook Intel Celeron 2GB Memory 14.0" Chrome OS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 HP Chromebook 14
Pros: great design, easy to setup,easy to use, shut down fast and boost in second. Long battery life , fast performances. Inexpensive laptop. WIth 2gb of RAM it still run pretty smooth with multiple tabs at once. Websites load really fast, smooth scrolling.
Cons: screen resolution is ok at 768p. I wish there is a 1080p resolution screen. Speaker is ok, not gonna wow you. Not too low or too loud. If you in a quiet room, you can hear the fans if u pay attention to it.
Other Thoughts: Im using this chromebook more than any other device like a pc or a tablet because I can get things done faster.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/14/2014 10:24:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Chromebooks > Hewlett-Packard > HP Chromebook 14-q070nr - Intel Celeron 2955U(1.4GHz) 14" 4GB Memory 16GB SSD Intel HD Graphics

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Too Many Cons for 2014 & Beyond....
Pros: It's a lower cost notebook with high build quality and Google cloud based. The free Tmobile 4g speed 200meg data is a great marketing concept that is an even better idea IF GIVEN more free data than the limited 200megs/month.

INTERESTINGLY, just starting from Saturday April12th 2014 to end of year you can get ! GIG of data FREE per month IF you are also a Tmobile customer on any phone plan & buy a qualifying notebook/tablet too. See Tmobile website for details... I'm not certain IF you can buy this notebook "here" and also get the free 1GIG of data/month too??? Worth checking out, cause MAYBE you can buy it here too for that same deal????

IF you love Google or hate Windows or want "the cloud", AND you don't care about my Cons & Other thoughts below, then this Google/HP deal is a great deal.
Cons: Considering 2014 and Beyond....

My next small sized notebook will have a touch screen and can be used as a tablet without the base keyboard (removable). It will weigh much less in this tablet mode. This HP/Google notebook fails at these two important criteria for me & can't touch screen or detach apart. Total design fail, imo.
Other Thoughts: I think hybrid tablet/notebooks are the wave of the future & Intel has some awesome CPUs in Notebook/tablet (Haswell) that use a CPU like the 4550U that would be ideal. Some specs....

The integrated HD Graphics 5000 offers 40 Execution Units (EUs) clocked at 200 - 1100 MHz with Turbo Boost, making it significantly faster than the HD Graphics 4000. As a result, the HD 5000 competes with dedicated lower mid-range graphics cards.

The i7-4550U is rated at a TDP of 15 W including the graphics card, memory controller, VRMs and the integrated chipset. Therefore, the CPU is suited for small ultrabooks 11-inches or greater.

An Intel 4550u CPU in a tablet/notebook hybrid look like the ideal combo for 2014... just need to find it. :D
Reviewed By:deVries,4/14/2014 5:08:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
0 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Chromebooks > Toshiba > TOSHIBA CB35-A3120 Chromebook Intel Celeron 2GB Memory 13.3" Chrome OS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 13.3' SCREEN IS THE BOMB!
Pros: screen size, speakers, keyboard, touchpad, everything works properly, value for my $$, availabiltiy, Toshiba reputation for build quality and long life
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: I have an old Toshiba TV which is used every day. Bought it in 1995.
The 13.3" screen is much easier on my eyes and the machine is not that much heavier than the lightest 11.6" Chromebook. Thanks Toshiba, for bringing out the first 13.3" Chromebook.
Reviewed By:ILUVFREEWIFI,4/13/2014 12:30:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Chromebooks > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG Samsung Exynos 2GB Memory 16GB 11.6" Chromebook Google Chrome OS XE303C12-A01US

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Nice
Pros: Fast, Small (or slim I should say) does exactly what I need it to do. I pondered what kind of laptop to get myself for the longest and with so many on the market that are only appealing for the bells and whistles; I had to narrow down exactly what I wanted the laptop for and how much I would be willing to spend on it. All i really wanted was something that could get me on any wifi network I have access to, could handle all my internet based tasks as well as office/offline work, had storage for any other data I needed to transfer and allowed me to have basic productivity at my fingertips on the go. Didn't want a full-blown laptop with power that wouldn't be necessary seeing as how if I need anything intense I can just use the desktops I build. Just wanted to access spreadsheets and emails and autotask with a nice sized screen and a bit of mobile pc power.

So to sum this up, the Chromebook was just a no-brainer buy for me (once my brain wrapped around it's usefulness). I've always loved the chrome browser and I use it on my main PC, my iphone, and both my galaxy tablet and LG phone. So having a laptop that runs strictly off the Chrome OS was really nothing new to me but I did have to explore the actual OS to understand certain features/tricks that chrome had to offer.

Key Qualities: Fast boot, no real lengthy software installs, plenty of apps (although they could be a lot better) no nonsens, works right out the box. All you need is a gmail account. battery life is great on a single charge I can go a full work day with minimal usage. Oh yeah and it has a memory card reader. Definitely a great purcase. Chromebook for the basic usage WIN!!!
Cons: As I mentioned the apps or great but they have the potential to be 100x better but it's a baby OS so we'll see how far google can take it and hopefully the devs (google or otherwise) will create apps with more kick. As far as the design goes, this complaint goes to samsung for their port layout. Having everything in the back kind of sucks I have to move the notebook around to access my USB's or plug in the power cable. As opposed to just having everything accessible on the sides, glad at least the Memory card reader got a side slot. That's my only con, as I said I knew what I wanted and this was exactly what I was looking for at a price that just makes sense.
Other Thoughts: Next I'll be getting a touchscreen one and I'll probably give this one away to someone who needs it just because. Don't misunderstand this though, I love it and will use it until I get the touch one, it absolutely does what's advertised.
Reviewed By:GHK5,4/10/2014 12:44:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Chromebooks > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG XE303C12-A01US Chromebook Samsung Exynos 2GB Memory 11.6" Google Chrome OS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Worth every penny.
Pros: Pros:

This laptop is extremely light and very affordable!

It is worth every penny that you have paid for.

It has a clean/sleek design with a Chiclets styled key board similar to the Mac for you apple lovers like my self.

It has no fan because it doesn't consume a lot of electricity so it is noticeably quiet.

Like I said, this laptop does not require a lot of electricity so it also doesn't get hot.

The battery last roughly 5 to 6 hours constantly with the brightness on high.

This laptop is really great for simple task such as surfing the web and creating documents, power points and spread sheets.

Boots up unbelievably fast because it doesn't have any bloat-ware.

This laptop is very simple and easy to learn.
Cons: Cons:

It does not run Windows 7 and is its own unique operating system.

If your expecting this to be similar to Windows 7 or any apple product, this is not the laptop for you.

If your expecting this to be a high end laptop, this is not the laptop for you.

If your expecting to be able to download most software this laptop is for you.

If your expecting this to be a gaming laptop, this is not the laptop for you!

The keyboard does not glow so it is pretty hard to type in the dark if your not extremely good at typing.

Videos don't run super smoothly at 1080p.

The camera that the computer comes with isn't the most high quality camera.

Some programs that you may use constantly such as Skype and Microsoft office don't run on this laptop.

You can only download apps specific for this laptop.

It isn't an android operating system although it is a Linux based laptop; so it can't run most android apps.
Other Thoughts: Overview:

This laptop is perfect for low budget college students who need to get simple task done.

It is more based of cloud storage which I personally believe is the future.

I am a Google and Samsung enthusiast so most of there products don't surprise me when there high quality even at a low price.

Although this laptop does get some bad reviews sometimes, its pretty much because those people expected so much more for a laptop that cost so little compared to other laptops.

Would I recommend this laptop? YES! This laptop isn't a must buy but it is certainly something to look into if your trying to save money and like products from Google and Samsung.
Reviewed By:Josh Nazareno,4/9/2014 10:10:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Chromebooks > Acer America > Acer Chromebook C720-2848 Intel Celeron 2955U 2GB RAM 16GB SSD 11.6" Chrome OS

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 mixed
Pros: fast, inexpensive, great battery life
Cons: won't autoconnect to wifi unless I broadcast ssid. won't connect to bluetooth mouse. acer tech support does not have any info on mice that will work.
Other Thoughts: bought this because asus chromebox was backordered. my mistake. i wanted the wired lan and extra usb ports on the chromebox. why can't acer just build or recommend a mouse that works. my tablet, win laptop and desktop easily connect to my lan. this chromebook seems like a step backwards.
Reviewed By:Jim,4/9/2014 10:46:25 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Chromebooks > Acer America > Acer Chromebook C720-2848 Intel Celeron 2955U 2GB RAM 16GB SSD 11.6" Chrome OS

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great Laptop Replacement
Pros: Runs incredibly fast (the 7 second boot-up time boast is no joke), nice and light, incredible battery life. This thing lasts me an entire day of classes and work (9:30am to 10:00pm) with no problems. I was also able to install Ubuntu parallel to the chrome OS with no issues whatsoever thanks to the Intel chipset.
Cons: The keyboard is not very good. It takes some getting used to. Not a huge issue, but the only reason I didn't give this machine 5/5.
Other Thoughts: The only reason not to get a chromebook is if you're heavily reliant on Microsoft Office. Even then, google docs is a great alternative.
Reviewed By:Ryan,4/8/2014 6:25:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau