Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Limited Time Only! Newegg Premier is now only $29.99/year. Sign up now.
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > All All-in-One PCs > LG Electronics > LG Chromebase Celeron (Haswell) 2GB DDR3L 16GB SSD (Sandisk) HDD 21.5" All-in-One Google Chrome OS 22CV241-W

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 impressive picture quality
Pros: At first glance, the monitor is very impressive looking. The white gives it that chic classiness. The picture quality has the wow factor, very vibrant and crisp. The monitor has a Reader button, which has predefined brightness modes for reading. It also has a Chrome button for quick access to the Chrome browser. It allows for wired or wireless network connection, as well as bluetooth. Any updates to the operating system are loaded automatically. The Chromebase can also be used as a monitor as it has an HDMI input.

Putting together the stand wasn't difficult, just awkward. The monitor was a bit wobbly when first placed on the stand. I thought at one point the stand would break. Bootup time was incredibly fast. The setup was very simple and quick. I was asked to connect to a wired or wireless network. Once I was connected, I was asked to log in. I had an option of logging on as guest. If logged in as guest, however, some settings and programs are disabled. Shutting down was just as fast as booting up, and can be done either from the menu or by pressing the power button on the monitor. When logged into my google account, gmail, google search, google docs, and youtube icons are placed at the bottom of the screen for easy access. If I'm logged on, my email account is also automatically logged on; however, I can log out if I want to and will be required to log back in next time I access my email or anything else that requires logging in. Other apps such as google play music, books, and movies are also preloaded.
Cons: The biggest limitation is the lack of drive space and Chrome's web store. Everything that's downloaded is actually stored on google drive. Even apps that are "installed" are mainly Chrome browser add-ins and are accessed via their URLs. Some apps, however, do allow offline use. The Chrome web store is limited to whatever Chrome has to offer, and there's not a huge selection. Most apps that I've tried downloading are actually links to other websites and not really apps at all. Their app store is nowhere near the level of the Android or apple stores. The Chromebase also boasted about their virus prevention, but nowhere does it say how exactly it keeps viruses from getting loaded. The speaker, which is located in the back of the monitor, lacks in volume and quality. Music sounds hollow and there is no range to the sound whatsoever. Turning the volume up as high as possible, the sound did not travel very far. This is probably the worst quality speaker I've ever heard from a monitor.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I was mainly impressed by the picture quality. Though I use Chrome browser, I'm not a Chromecast user, which is probably why I was a bit disappointed in the overall functionality but I had to keep in mind that this was meant for web-based operations only. If you just want to surf, you're connected to Chromecast, and you don't intend on writing papers or creating presentations or spreadsheets with it, then it's a pretty decent web-based all-in-one.
Reviewed By:CiCi,7/28/2014 1:46:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All All-in-One PCs > DELL > DELL Inspiron One Intel Core i3 2130 (3.40GHz) 6GB DDR3 1TB HDD 23" All-in-One PC Windows 8 64-Bit IO2330-I361NT

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Dell Inspirion with Windows 8
Pros: all in one is nice
Cons: the system quickly became unusable - not sure why, but the system initiated an automatic windows update that resulted in an unresolvable error message - scoured thru microsoft repair sites, exercising all the suggested options from the MS engineers. Rven with a full reboot of the operating system, I received "partition" errors such that I couldn't do anything with this computer - what a waste
Reviewed By:JoeG,7/27/2014 6:57:39 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All All-in-One PCs > DELL > DELL XPS 2720 Intel Core i7 4770S (3.10GHz) 16GB DDR3 2TB + 32GB SSD HDD 27" All-in-One PC Windows 8 XPSo27T-7143BLK

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nicely designed PC
Pros: This computer has a long of hardware that allows it to run very smooth and provide a lot of multitasking with no slow down. Using Adobe Premiere Pro with a lot of rendering and exporting videos this computer runs very swiftly. Boot up times are pretty quick less than 30 seconds. Nice large screen so you don't need to squint and strain your eyes. The blue-ray player is a nice feature although i don't know how much I will use it personally. The built in sound is pretty decent, of course it won't be anything like a 7.1 surround sound system but for what its worth I would give it a thumbs up. It's heavy but sturdy and the touch screen does well which now with a windows 8 OS makes using the OS more enjoyable. The camera and built in mic are pretty good especially when using skype.
Cons: The wireless signal on the wifi card isn't that impressive but I was always planning on hard-wiring this computer anyhow.
Other Thoughts: Besides that, haven't run into any other problems with this computer and enjoy using this vs my 15.4" laptop which looks like a small toy compared to this with a screen half the size.
Reviewed By:NA,7/25/2014 10:48:28 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All All-in-One PCs > Acer America > Acer DA220HQL (UM.WD0AA.A01) All in One Multi Touch Android Computer ARM Cortex-A9 Dual Core 1.0Ghz 1GB RAM 8GB Internal Storage 21.5” HD 2-Point Multi Touch Display Android 4.0 Ice Cream Sandwich

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 s
Pros: all in one. portable
Cons: ordered 5 and 2 of them are defective. can't get refund because it is refurbished.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/24/2014 8:28:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All All-in-One PCs > LG Electronics > LG Chromebase Celeron (Haswell) 2GB DDR3L 16GB SSD (Sandisk) HDD 21.5" All-in-One Google Chrome OS 22CV241-W

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Big thing; Small package.
Pros: Since this item is a complete PC, there's a lot to cover. I'll break down this review piece by piece.

Packaging/Contents: I'm pleasantly surprised by how much LG managed to squeeze into such a small package. The entire system consists of a monitor (housing the PC itself), mouse, and keyboard, with speakers on the back of the monitor. It also includes a set of screws for the monitor stand, and a plastic cover for the mount.

Monitor: For this price, I wasn't expecting much, but I was pleasantly surprised. The monitor is using an IPS panel, which is known for having some of the best picture quality on the market today. I definitely wasn't expecting to see such a great quality screen included. I already own several IPS Panels, some of which were $350+, and the monitor included with the Chromebase is on-par with those. Very impressed.

Storage: 16 GB SSD. It seems small, but considering what the Chromebase is capable of, it's plenty. I'm glad to see they used an SSD, and SanDisk is a reliable brand with popular SSD's. In this situation, a larger/slower HDD would have been a bad decision.

ChromeOS: A simplistic but usable OS built around the Chrome web browser. The desktop layout is similar to Windows, so most people should already be familiar with it. Aside from web-browser based features, it includes an App list as well as some basic settings features including WiFi, account controls, brightness/volume, a camera, calculator, and other necessities. I will cover the drawbacks of ChromeOS in the "Cons" section.

Usability: It works right out of the box. Setup includes plugging the monitor (PC) into a power outlet, as well as hooking up the USB Keyboard and Mouse. It boots nearly instantly, less than 5 seconds. The OS itself, the UI and its layout, are perfectly responsive.

Value: Here's where it all comes together. It's currently $299 on Newegg (on-sale), which is just amazing. I'd price the monitor itself at nearly $200, which means getting a complete PC for its current price is simply astounding.
Cons: Keyboard/Mouse: The keyboard is slim, full-size, and uses Chiclet keys. It uses low-profile keys so there may not be as much tactile feedback as you're used to. The mouse has a red light on it that glows when it's being moved. It features the standard Left/Right clicks, as well as a scroll-wheel which also works as a middle mouse click. The mouse and keyboard feel a bit flimsy, the mouse in particular. They both work perfectly fine but you can tell where corners are being cut to meet some price limitations. Another small, but noticable problem, is the lack of middle-click scrolling in Chrome. This feature exists in Chrome for standard desktop PC's, why was it left out of the Chromebase? I assume it's an issue with ChromeOS, and a shame to see a quality of life feature being left out.

Apps: This is a bit misleading, since they're not "apps". They're mostly Chrome extensions. Since nearly everything you do in ChromeOS is built into the web browser, the "apps" are just shortcuts to various websites including Google Docs, Google Play, Google Drive, etc. Even the "Games" app just sends you to a flash-based gaming website.

The monitor attaches to the stand with screws, so it can't be tilted or otherwise adjusted in any way. You won't be able to knock it over by bumping into it, which is a potential problem other monitor stands have, so I suppose it was an intentional design choice based on the target audience of the Chromebase.

I also found the speakers to be a bit disappointing, they're incredibly quiet even at max volume. In fact, I would say the speakers are inaudible in noise environments. The monitor has a standard 2.5mm audio jack on the side, so any set of speakers/headphones should work fine. I recommend not using the onboard speakers. If you're planning to listen to a lot of audio with this PC, you should plan to also buy something else to play sound!

And finally, I find ChromeOS to be extremely limited, but it depends entirely on what you want out of your PC. You can't install programs on it, which explains the small 16 GB included storage.
Other Thoughts: For clarity, I need to point out this computer DOES NOT support the Google Play Store or any other kind of Android Apps.

With the ultimate question being, "Is this computer worth buying?" It boils down to what you need from your system. This PC bears a lot of similarities to basic mobile devices like tablets/smartphones, but with a larger screen and with a full keyboard/mouse included. I would argue this PC is slightly less capable than most mobile devices, being that ChromeOS itself is quite limiting.

If you need a basic, web-based family computer or a simple computer for someone who only demands web-browser support, then this is an excellent option at a very competitive price point.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/21/2014 5:26:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All All-in-One PCs > Acer America > Acer DA220HQL (UM.WD0AA.A01) All in One Multi Touch Android Computer ARM Cortex-A9 Dual Core 1.0Ghz 1GB RAM 8GB Internal Storage 21.5” HD 2-Point Multi Touch Display Android 4.0 Ice Cream Sandwich

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Can not plug in the power adaptor.
Pros: Don't know.
Cons: Arrived DOA. I simply cannot plug in the power adaptor into the slot. Going to RMA
Other Thoughts: It looks like a good quality monitor. Unfortunately I can not turn it on. I will have to RMA.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/21/2014 9:41:44 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All All-in-One PCs > Acer America > Acer DA220HQL (UM.WD0AA.A01) All in One Multi Touch Android Computer ARM Cortex-A9 Dual Core 1.0Ghz 1GB RAM 8GB Internal Storage 21.5” HD 2-Point Multi Touch Display Android 4.0 Ice Cream Sandwich

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Unrefurbished
Pros: a pretty nice display at 1080p, I was able to connect by using a wire mouse but not with enclosed mouse and keyboard. The touch features just did not work, tried and tried, why I got it. Android was nice, only no touch. the top of screen was separated from the bezel so physically damaged also. it is not suitable to be sold as Refurbished.
Cons: Out of the box Nothing the touch screen does not work and nothing connects, the Keyboard and mouse. It is useless
Other Thoughts: Android and concept of touch and low price was a dream
Reviewed By:x3nebula,7/19/2014 11:51:56 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All All-in-One PCs > Acer America > Acer DA220HQL (UM.WD0AA.A01) All in One Multi Touch Android Computer ARM Cortex-A9 Dual Core 1.0Ghz 1GB RAM 8GB Internal Storage 21.5” HD 2-Point Multi Touch Display Android 4.0 Ice Cream Sandwich

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Not fit for sale.
Pros: Bright screen. Boots acceptably fast. Video playback on HD is smooth, at least between the unit's spontaneous reboots. Kickstand is sturdy.
Cons: Multitouch under Android is nearly unuseable; you'll have to make due with the mouse, which prevents the touchscree / multitouch. Except you need to touch the screen add odd times, like to switch to hdmi input. No instructions given but you can find a manual online explaining how to get the mouse working.

The unit reboots sontaneously several times a day while it is active, and does not come out of its deep sleep mode without hanging and rebooting.

There is no support for hard resetting the android image. This too, is not acceptable'; once you bought it, you cannot give this away without giving away your personal data.

Ugh.
Other Thoughts: I still havent got the micro HDMI port to work, I'm going to try another cable.
Reviewed By:mr.me,7/19/2014 11:48:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All All-in-One PCs > LG Electronics > LG Chromebase Celeron (Haswell) 2GB DDR3L 16GB SSD (Sandisk) HDD 21.5" All-in-One Google Chrome OS 22CV241-W

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 I ran out of room on my first review
Pros: Same
Cons: Same
Other Thoughts: I'm posting the rest of my review because there is a hardware glitch I wanted to address: Regarding the volume, you can set it using both the screen menu arrows and the keyboard’s dedicated volume keys. I noticed that if I had the volume set to 100% using the screen menu there was an intermittent, high-pitched, quiet but noticeable squeal that sounded like a hardware feedback loop. Interestingly, the noise would occur when I moved the mouse. I found that if I lowered the onscreen volume to about 65% the noise went away (or was so low I couldn’t hear it), even when I maxed out the volume using the keyboard. I experimented with another USB mouse and got the same results. Then I tried two different wireless mice, one Bluetooth and the other RF. Neither produced the squeal and they worked just fine with all volumes set to max. The moral of the story: if you get one of these plan on investing in a wireless mouse. Oh, and don’t expect much from the speakers, they sound like what you would typically get on a laptop, with no bass to speak of. Sound is greatly improved when using headphones or external powered speakers, of course.

I was curious to see if the USB 3.0 port on the side of the monitor (there also are three USB 2.0 ports in the back) could power something bigger than a thumb drive so I hooked up a USB 3.0, 500GB Seagate external drive. It took only a moment to launch, and all of the files stored on it were accessible. In addition to the ones I mentioned earlier I was also able to view .bmp and .jpg image files. By the way, I found a “File” app preinstalled that takes me right to the file tree; very easy to navigate if you need to go there.

I’ve been using the Chromebase exclusively since I got it while my Windows desktop sits idle, and I have to say that all-in-all this is a very nice unit. I’m giving it 4 stars even though it isn’t perfect, simply because you’re getting so much value for the money. I would have given it a perfect score if it hadn’t been for the feedback problem between the monitor and the mouse and the difficulty with printing and handling of some documents. Frankly, I think this computer excels at its intended use and price point.
Reviewed By:Bryan,7/18/2014 5:35:27 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All All-in-One PCs > ASUS > ASUS Intel Core i3 3220T (2.80GHz) 4GB DDR3 500GB HDD 19.5" Desktop PC Windows 7 Professional Preinstalled with Windows 8 PRO DVD ET2020IUKI-01

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Should be recalled
Pros: Asus generally makes a great product. I've been selling their products for over 15 years now and wouldn't put any other motherboard in my computers.
Cons: The 3 yr next business day warranty is a joke. I've purchased 5 of this model, and all 5 have bad motherboards. I have one that has taken over a month to be fixed (going on the forth motherboard, and second DVD player). I've had times where I've called the tech support number and it just rings and rings and no one answers. The on site techs say they will call you back on a botched repair but they don't.
Other Thoughts: If you’re buying a ASUS computer thinking your going to get a good on site warranty think again. If you’re a business you could be without your computer for weeks. Heed the reviews and do not purchase this model YOU"LL BE SORRY!!! I know I am.
Reviewed By:Dano,7/18/2014 11:43:08 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau