Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Limited Time Only! Newegg Premier is now only $29.99/year. Sign up now.
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > All All-in-One PCs > LG Electronics > LG Chromebase Celeron (Haswell) 2GB DDR3L 16GB SSD (Sandisk) HDD 21.5" All-in-One Google Chrome OS 22CV241-W

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Big thing; Small package.
Pros: Since this item is a complete PC, there's a lot to cover. I'll break down this review piece by piece.

Packaging/Contents: I'm pleasantly surprised by how much LG managed to squeeze into such a small package. The entire system consists of a monitor (housing the PC itself), mouse, and keyboard, with speakers on the back of the monitor. It also includes a set of screws for the monitor stand, and a plastic cover for the mount.

Monitor: For this price, I wasn't expecting much, but I was pleasantly surprised. The monitor is using an IPS panel, which is known for having some of the best picture quality on the market today. I definitely wasn't expecting to see such a great quality screen included. I already own several IPS Panels, some of which were $350+, and the monitor included with the Chromebase is on-par with those. Very impressed.

Storage: 16 GB SSD. It seems small, but considering what the Chromebase is capable of, it's plenty. I'm glad to see they used an SSD, and SanDisk is a reliable brand with popular SSD's. In this situation, a larger/slower HDD would have been a bad decision.

ChromeOS: A simplistic but usable OS built around the Chrome web browser. The desktop layout is similar to Windows, so most people should already be familiar with it. Aside from web-browser based features, it includes an App list as well as some basic settings features including WiFi, account controls, brightness/volume, a camera, calculator, and other necessities. I will cover the drawbacks of ChromeOS in the "Cons" section.

Usability: It works right out of the box. Setup includes plugging the monitor (PC) into a power outlet, as well as hooking up the USB Keyboard and Mouse. It boots nearly instantly, less than 5 seconds. The OS itself, the UI and its layout, are perfectly responsive.

Value: Here's where it all comes together. It's currently $299 on Newegg (on-sale), which is just amazing. I'd price the monitor itself at nearly $200, which means getting a complete PC for its current price is simply astounding.
Cons: Keyboard/Mouse: The keyboard is slim, full-size, and uses Chiclet keys. It uses low-profile keys so there may not be as much tactile feedback as you're used to. The mouse has a red light on it that glows when it's being moved. It features the standard Left/Right clicks, as well as a scroll-wheel which also works as a middle mouse click. The mouse and keyboard feel a bit flimsy, the mouse in particular. They both work perfectly fine but you can tell where corners are being cut to meet some price limitations. Another small, but noticable problem, is the lack of middle-click scrolling in Chrome. This feature exists in Chrome for standard desktop PC's, why was it left out of the Chromebase? I assume it's an issue with ChromeOS, and a shame to see a quality of life feature being left out.

Apps: This is a bit misleading, since they're not "apps". They're mostly Chrome extensions. Since nearly everything you do in ChromeOS is built into the web browser, the "apps" are just shortcuts to various websites including Google Docs, Google Play, Google Drive, etc. Even the "Games" app just sends you to a flash-based gaming website.

The monitor attaches to the stand with screws, so it can't be tilted or otherwise adjusted in any way. You won't be able to knock it over by bumping into it, which is a potential problem other monitor stands have, so I suppose it was an intentional design choice based on the target audience of the Chromebase.

I also found the speakers to be a bit disappointing, they're incredibly quiet even at max volume. In fact, I would say the speakers are inaudible in noise environments. The monitor has a standard 2.5mm audio jack on the side, so any set of speakers/headphones should work fine. I recommend not using the onboard speakers. If you're planning to listen to a lot of audio with this PC, you should plan to also buy something else to play sound!

And finally, I find ChromeOS to be extremely limited, but it depends entirely on what you want out of your PC. You can't install programs on it, which explains the small 16 GB included storage.
Other Thoughts: For clarity, I need to point out this computer DOES NOT support the Google Play Store or any other kind of Android Apps.

With the ultimate question being, "Is this computer worth buying?" It boils down to what you need from your system. This PC bears a lot of similarities to basic mobile devices like tablets/smartphones, but with a larger screen and with a full keyboard/mouse included. I would argue this PC is slightly less capable than most mobile devices, being that ChromeOS itself is quite limiting.

If you need a basic, web-based family computer or a simple computer for someone who only demands web-browser support, then this is an excellent option at a very competitive price point.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/21/2014 5:26:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All All-in-One PCs > Acer America > Acer DA220HQL (UM.WD0AA.A01) All in One Multi Touch Android Computer ARM Cortex-A9 Dual Core 1.0Ghz 1GB RAM 8GB Internal Storage 21.5” HD 2-Point Multi Touch Display Android 4.0 Ice Cream Sandwich

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Can not plug in the power adaptor.
Pros: Don't know.
Cons: Arrived DOA. I simply cannot plug in the power adaptor into the slot. Going to RMA
Other Thoughts: It looks like a good quality monitor. Unfortunately I can not turn it on. I will have to RMA.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/21/2014 9:41:44 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All All-in-One PCs > Acer America > Acer DA220HQL (UM.WD0AA.A01) All in One Multi Touch Android Computer ARM Cortex-A9 Dual Core 1.0Ghz 1GB RAM 8GB Internal Storage 21.5” HD 2-Point Multi Touch Display Android 4.0 Ice Cream Sandwich

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Unrefurbished
Pros: a pretty nice display at 1080p, I was able to connect by using a wire mouse but not with enclosed mouse and keyboard. The touch features just did not work, tried and tried, why I got it. Android was nice, only no touch. the top of screen was separated from the bezel so physically damaged also. it is not suitable to be sold as Refurbished.
Cons: Out of the box Nothing the touch screen does not work and nothing connects, the Keyboard and mouse. It is useless
Other Thoughts: Android and concept of touch and low price was a dream
Reviewed By:x3nebula,7/19/2014 11:51:56 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All All-in-One PCs > Acer America > Acer DA220HQL (UM.WD0AA.A01) All in One Multi Touch Android Computer ARM Cortex-A9 Dual Core 1.0Ghz 1GB RAM 8GB Internal Storage 21.5” HD 2-Point Multi Touch Display Android 4.0 Ice Cream Sandwich

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Not fit for sale.
Pros: Bright screen. Boots acceptably fast. Video playback on HD is smooth, at least between the unit's spontaneous reboots. Kickstand is sturdy.
Cons: Multitouch under Android is nearly unuseable; you'll have to make due with the mouse, which prevents the touchscree / multitouch. Except you need to touch the screen add odd times, like to switch to hdmi input. No instructions given but you can find a manual online explaining how to get the mouse working.

The unit reboots sontaneously several times a day while it is active, and does not come out of its deep sleep mode without hanging and rebooting.

There is no support for hard resetting the android image. This too, is not acceptable'; once you bought it, you cannot give this away without giving away your personal data.

Ugh.
Other Thoughts: I still havent got the micro HDMI port to work, I'm going to try another cable.
Reviewed By:mr.me,7/19/2014 11:48:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All All-in-One PCs > LG Electronics > LG Chromebase Celeron (Haswell) 2GB DDR3L 16GB SSD (Sandisk) HDD 21.5" All-in-One Google Chrome OS 22CV241-W

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 I ran out of room on my first review
Pros: Same
Cons: Same
Other Thoughts: I'm posting the rest of my review because there is a hardware glitch I wanted to address: Regarding the volume, you can set it using both the screen menu arrows and the keyboard’s dedicated volume keys. I noticed that if I had the volume set to 100% using the screen menu there was an intermittent, high-pitched, quiet but noticeable squeal that sounded like a hardware feedback loop. Interestingly, the noise would occur when I moved the mouse. I found that if I lowered the onscreen volume to about 65% the noise went away (or was so low I couldn’t hear it), even when I maxed out the volume using the keyboard. I experimented with another USB mouse and got the same results. Then I tried two different wireless mice, one Bluetooth and the other RF. Neither produced the squeal and they worked just fine with all volumes set to max. The moral of the story: if you get one of these plan on investing in a wireless mouse. Oh, and don’t expect much from the speakers, they sound like what you would typically get on a laptop, with no bass to speak of. Sound is greatly improved when using headphones or external powered speakers, of course.

I was curious to see if the USB 3.0 port on the side of the monitor (there also are three USB 2.0 ports in the back) could power something bigger than a thumb drive so I hooked up a USB 3.0, 500GB Seagate external drive. It took only a moment to launch, and all of the files stored on it were accessible. In addition to the ones I mentioned earlier I was also able to view .bmp and .jpg image files. By the way, I found a “File” app preinstalled that takes me right to the file tree; very easy to navigate if you need to go there.

I’ve been using the Chromebase exclusively since I got it while my Windows desktop sits idle, and I have to say that all-in-all this is a very nice unit. I’m giving it 4 stars even though it isn’t perfect, simply because you’re getting so much value for the money. I would have given it a perfect score if it hadn’t been for the feedback problem between the monitor and the mouse and the difficulty with printing and handling of some documents. Frankly, I think this computer excels at its intended use and price point.
Reviewed By:Bryan,7/18/2014 5:35:27 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All All-in-One PCs > ASUS > ASUS Intel Core i3 3220T (2.80GHz) 4GB DDR3 500GB HDD 19.5" Desktop PC Windows 7 Professional Preinstalled with Windows 8 PRO DVD ET2020IUKI-01

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Should be recalled
Pros: Asus generally makes a great product. I've been selling their products for over 15 years now and wouldn't put any other motherboard in my computers.
Cons: The 3 yr next business day warranty is a joke. I've purchased 5 of this model, and all 5 have bad motherboards. I have one that has taken over a month to be fixed (going on the forth motherboard, and second DVD player). I've had times where I've called the tech support number and it just rings and rings and no one answers. The on site techs say they will call you back on a botched repair but they don't.
Other Thoughts: If you’re buying a ASUS computer thinking your going to get a good on site warranty think again. If you’re a business you could be without your computer for weeks. Heed the reviews and do not purchase this model YOU"LL BE SORRY!!! I know I am.
Reviewed By:Dano,7/18/2014 11:43:08 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All All-in-One PCs > LG Electronics > LG Chromebase Celeron (Haswell) 2GB DDR3L 16GB SSD (Sandisk) HDD 21.5" All-in-One Google Chrome OS 22CV241-W

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Very Nice All-in-One
Pros: Terrific IPS screen
Boots from full off to logon screen in seconds
Snappy performance for its specs
Drop dead simple to use
Lots of useful apps
Cons: Low end keyboard and mouse
Tinny speakers
Limited storage
Can’t run Windows x86 programs
Printing documents is a challenge
Feedback between monitor and USB mouse
Other Thoughts: We’re a Windows PC household, with three desktops I built and a couple of portables, so I’m comfortable around computers. I’ve also had Apple computers in the past, starting with the Apple IIe in the 80s and ending with a Mac Mini a few years ago. I have to say the Chromebase is the easiest computer I’ve ever set up.
It is also a very nice looking unit, something of an iMac lookalike due to the stand, although definitely not the same build quality. The Chromebase is all plastic construction, to be expected at this price point, but nicely executed. The keyboard and mouse are budget items but I found typing on the keyboard to be pleasant enough, with good tactile response and key travel; not bad at all for a membrane keyboard. The mouse is a cheap, lightweight thing, but it gets the job done. The money you’re paying is for the monitor. It’s a very nice, full HD IPS screen that looks terrific.
There is some assembly required but it’s well documented and simple, just six screws to mount the computer to the stand. Then all I had to do was connect the mouse, keyboard, Ethernet cable, and power. As soon as I plugged in the power the computer booted to the logon screen in just seconds. There was a brief, optional tutorial on the screen after logging on and then I was up and running.
We network in our house using powerline adapters, and I hooked the Chromebase up to an adapter during setup for internet connectivity, then later went online with wireless to see how well that worked. No problems with either mode, they both worked as they should. After logging on to wireless the first time the system will automatically default to that if the wired Ethernet is disconnected.
I tried all the programs that would be important to me if I didn’t care about AAA gaming or fancy image editing programs. I tested Gmail, Netflix, web searches with Google using Chrome, Outlook.com, Pandora, and a bunch of others, and everything worked just as it was supposed to with no hassle. Netflix movies, for example, stream nicely with no stuttering. I especially liked that I can open the Outlook Web App (OWA) to access my work email. High-end gaming is not an option on this device but performance is surprisingly good considering the specs. I tried a couple of the free games in the app store, like Bejeweled, and they ran fine. I didn’t experience any noticeable lags or slowdowns, but be aware that with only 2GB of RAM you won’t be able to do any serious multitasking.
I also tried multimedia files to see how they would play. I ripped one of my movies to .mp4 format on my Windows desktop and transferred it to a 3.0 USB stick, then launched the movie on the Chromebase. It played flawlessly with adequate volume, as did .mp3 music files.
Speaking of volume, you can set it using both the screen menu arrows and the keyboard’s dedicated volume keys. I noticed that if I had the volume set to 100% using the screen menu there was an intermittent, high-pitched, quie
Reviewed By:Bryan,7/18/2014 10:50:34 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All All-in-One PCs > Acer America > Acer DA220HQL (UM.WD0AA.A01) All in One Multi Touch Android Computer ARM Cortex-A9 Dual Core 1.0Ghz 1GB RAM 8GB Internal Storage 21.5” HD 2-Point Multi Touch Display Android 4.0 Ice Cream Sandwich

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Bought 2
Pros: It's a touch screen over 20 inches. It's hybrid Am Kind le HD and Android 4.04 (Ice Cream Sand)
Cons: It's not a trued Android and uses a Acer home brewed version of Android. It's not as smooth Android 4.2. There is no way to change it to a pure Android Device. As a result Programs won't install Bejeweled, Angry Birds to name a few from the Play Store. However they will install from Am Apps? The speakers are very weak and sound empty. Its Wi-Fi is weak to.
Other Thoughts: It is fun playing some games on a bigger screen. It is not a tablet and doesn't have a battery for mobility. I use it only for its browser to make it so customers can make Karaoke requests from a set location.
Reviewed By:Johnthedj,7/16/2014 2:41:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All All-in-One PCs > Lenovo > Lenovo B550 AIO 23" Intel Core i5 4440 6GB /1TB HDD (1920 x 1080) (57321272)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Love this!
Pros: Display, speed, multi-touchscreen, sound, wireless keyboard/mouse, speed of delivery
Cons: None that I have noticed
Other Thoughts: What a purchase. I am pretty good with tech stuff, but a friend of mine who really knows hardware looked at the specs and thought very highly of it. The rest of my friends - who know very little about tech stuff - all fell in love with it as I did. They all want one.

Also, I picked the free shipping. Ordered Tuesday morning, arrived Thursday morning.
Reviewed By:Primo,7/12/2014 10:37:26 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All All-in-One PCs > DELL > DELL XPS 2720 Intel Core i7 4770S (3.10GHz) 16GB DDR3 2TB + 32GB SSD HDD 27" All-in-One PC Windows 8 XPSo27T-7143BLK

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Really Cool PC
Pros: Beautiful to look at. Incredible screen image. Amazing performance. This machine has it all and is lightning fast. BluRay player is very nice. Touch screen meets all expectations.
Cons: The Killer Wireless card is garbage. I gave up and just use the machine hardwired. If you need to move this around and want wireless you might think twice. I researched the card after purchasing the system and it gets thumbs down from everyone in the business.
Other Thoughts: The system isn't built to be portable so wireless isn't an issue for me but could be for some.
Reviewed By:Uoduckman,7/11/2014 7:08:09 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau