Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Gaming Laptops > MSI > MSI GT Series GT80 Titan SLI-009 Gaming Laptop 4th Generation Intel Core i7 4980HQ (2.80GHz) 24GB Memory 1TB HDD 256GB SSD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 980M SLI 16 GB GDDR5 18.4" Windows 8.1 64-Bit

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Be Very Careful When Buying
Pros: The computer is wonderful when it is working. I found that the performance was insanely fast and that the graphics on any game can be turned up to the highest settings without any issues.

giving it a 1 egg because of pretty p^ss poor customer service and troubleshooting.

See cons before buying
Cons: The computer is a little loud with the fans when playing games, and it gets really hot before the fans decide to kick in automatically. Once on they cool the computer to almost ice in just a minute or so.

I have only had the computer for less than 4 months and found that the computer it self starting to having issues. After about 30 mins to 1 hour of doing anything on the computer, even just letting it sit there on the windows start screen, it randomly shuts down without even properly shutting down.

Went through the troubleshooting steps with msi because i figured it might be some type of software issue or something. Used the refresh feature built into the computer and found that it got to 4 percent and shut the computer down without any warning. At this point I thought i should just ask for a new computer because I do not want to continue to have this issues. The msi guys think "key word there" think it is a power management issues. They really don't know what could be causing the issues. They said they would repair it but would not just out right replace it.

Called newegg support and asked them to help me with the computer and explained to them what was happening, without warning they transferred me back to msi technical support. Called back up newegg and told what happened, so how they transferred me to a sales department. At this point I was running out of time and had to get to work. Found that I went almost a month without the computer working and didn't have time to call them when they were open.

Finally got to call them again and they transferred me to a warranty department that said they wouldn't do that for me and said that msi or newegg would have to replace the computer. I am thinking, what they hell did I spend so much money on a computer for if this is the type of service I am going to receive. MSI will repair the computer but does not guarantee the work done on the computer before the warranty is up, and said if it keeps happening after the warranty is over that the customer would have to pay for parts and labor to repair the damaged computer. So think while you have a warranty going and the computer breaks no matter what you have to pay to ship a your computer to them, and you have to wait 1 to 3 months to get the computer back, and your warranty continues to keep on ticking away. No guarantees, no actual customer service other than transferring the person around until they get fed up with it all.

I personally do not think I am going to buy anything from newegg or msi again with this type of service. If one of these companies wants to make it right they know how to get a hold of me with all the d^mn paperwork I was required to fill out for the computer.
Other Thoughts: The backpack is nice to have that comes with the computer, as long as you don't use it to much. within the first week of having the backpack one of the zippers broke and another one had its little metal thing fall off so you can't easily open or close it. msi or newegg do not replace or repair the backpack no warranty on it.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/31/2015 2:19:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Gaming Laptops > ASUS > ASUS ROG GL551 series GL551JM-DH71 Gaming Laptop 4th Generation Intel Core i7 4710HQ (2.50GHz) 16GB Memory 1TB HDD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 860M 2GB 15.6" Windows 8.1 64-Bit

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Huge mistake
Pros: This will run any game you throw at it.
Cons: This is the worst laptop I have ever purchased. Day one when i received my laptop it wouldn't even boot up. So I call Asus support and they tell me I have to factory restore to get my computer to turn on. Really? Right out of the box I have to system restore it? Since then I still have inconsistent boot up problems. Computer randomly freezes and crashing.

Next I would like to talk about the poor casing of this product. If there was a grading to worst d-pad ever made, this laptop would take the cake. Also the keys on the keyboard and poorly put together and very unresponsive if your trying to game on them.

Do yourself a favor if you plan on spending 1k on a laptop, go to in another brand but Asus.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/31/2015 12:41:34 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Gaming Laptops > CyberpowerPC > CyberpowerPC Fangbook III BX6-346 Gaming Laptop 5th Generation Intel Core i7 5700HQ (2.70GHz) 16GB Memory 1TB HDD 120GB SSD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970M 3 GB GDDR5 15.6" Windows 10 Home 64-Bit

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good Computer Great Customer Support
Pros: I am a programmer and gamer. Nice simple design, Like the red backlit keyboard, I was pleased to find I could video capture in Java at 35ms on average. Very good compared to average computers. Best part was customer support. I called two times this month for small things and they were outstanding. This company has it together. Well Done. Light and powerful. Love it.
Cons: The images on the keyboard were a little non-standard symbols and took a minute to get used to. After the learning curve though I like the style.
Other Thoughts: Well worth it. Have a great time. Hope this helps. I do multi-threading programming in Java and this works well for me.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/31/2015 11:13:11 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Gaming Laptops > ASUS > ASUS X550JK-DH71 Gaming Laptop Intel Core i7 4710HQ (2.50GHz) 8GB Memory 1TB HDD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 850M 2GB GDDR3 15.6" Windows 8.1 64-Bit

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Not what I was expecting
Pros: Cheap for the specs it comes with.
Cons: Refurbished and recieved mine broken straight out of the box had to return the day after.. Also only 90 day warrantee which is horrible knowing that the laptop is used and might end up throwing out 950$ within only 3 months.
Reviewed By:Roger,8/31/2015 9:53:40 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Gaming Laptops > ASUS > ASUS ROG GL551 series GL551JW-DS74 Gaming Laptop 4th Generation Intel Core i7 4720HQ (2.60GHz) 16GB Memory 1TB HDD 128GB SSD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960M 2GB 15.6" Windows 8.1 64-Bit

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Caution
Pros: Fast, good battery and ease of setup
Cons: Very capable laptop severely limited because of very dim key brightness
Need to have bright room light to see keyboard

This even with keyboard light set to max. Would not have bought this item had I been aware of this problem
Reviewed By:N/A,8/30/2015 6:07:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Gaming Laptops > MSI > MSI GE Series GE72 Apache-235 Gaming Laptop Intel Core i7 5700HQ (2.70GHz) 16GB Memory 1TB HDD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960M 2 GB GDDR5 17.3" Windows 10 Home

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 MSI Apache
Pros: so far so good.
Cons: none so far.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/30/2015 3:51:08 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Gaming Laptops > ASUS > ASUS ROG G751JL-DS71 Gaming Laptop 4th Generation Intel Core i7 4720HQ (2.60GHz) 16GB Memory 1TB HDD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 965M 2 GB GDDR5 17.3" Windows 8.1 64-Bit

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Worst support ever!!!
Pros: Would be a great piece of equipment if it was built to spec or if I could get Asus to provide support. The whole reason I bought it was for 32GB support with dual drives. It wouldn't support 32GB due to a defective mainboard
Cons: Asus support is awful!!! Contacted them on August 6th to inform them it should have 4 DIMM slots but it only has 2. The support person didn't even know what RAM was. They started asking me questions about USB ports. Really... I have the transcripts. They say they have escalated and I will be contacted in 24 - 48 hours... 3 weeks go by with no contact. I call back on a Sunday and am informed that it should be upgradeable to 32GB (no kidding, really, thats what I'm trying to tell you) but I need to call back Monday when the main office is open. Call back Monday and they say just return it to the retailer. Seriously!!!! Now I'll be without a machine for weeks waiting for ship back, check in, credit card refund and then start the purchase process all over again. Why not just tell me this 3 weeks ago.

This time my purchase will not be Asus. In fact it will never be Asus again. Their products are awesome when built correctly but unfortunately their support is just in the business of making your life difficult. Dell would have advance RMA'ed the unit and had me a replacement in 48 hours.

Asus should be embarrassed by their support policy. I will never buy another piece of Asus equipment again. I don't care how nice it looks or runs. I can't take the risk of having to deal with Asus support anymore.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/30/2015 12:02:30 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Gaming Laptops > ASUS > ASUS ROG G751JY-DB72 G-Sync Gaming Laptop Intel Core i7 4720HQ (2.60GHz) 24GB Memory 1TB HDD 256GB SSD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 980M 4 GB GDDR5 17.3" Windows 8.1 64-Bit

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Great! Except...
Pros: Very fast! Great display and G-Sync for games.
Cons: After 2 weeks of use I had a dead pixel and had to send it back for an RMA. Such a pity for a device that costs over $2,000 when my mom's 4 year old laptop that was purchased at cheap brick-and-mortar store for Black Friday for $400 has never had any issues at all...
Other Thoughts: I'll review my new unit after I give it time to exhibit any other problems but this is unacceptable for a laptop of that price!
Reviewed By:N/A,8/30/2015 11:23:51 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Gaming Laptops > MSI > MSI PE60 2QD-060US Gaming Laptop 4th Generation Intel Core i7 4720HQ (2.60GHz) 12GB Memory 1TB HDD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 950M 2 GB GDDR3 15.6" Windows 8.1 64-Bit

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Very good
Pros: This laptop has great specs for the $799.99 I paid on a sale. In fact, I couldn't find better anywhere. The screen is AMAZING. The graphics card handles battlefield 3 on ultra settings averaging around 40-50 fps. It is probably a good idea to but an ssd inside because as with any system, especially this one, the hd is the bottleneck in the performance. The backlit keyboard works very well. It looks more professional than the G-series laptops, but offers the same performance. I bought these for college and they hold up very well.
Cons: The battery life is pretty weak and as an extra "perk" MSI decided to deny you the removable battery feature that nearly every laptop has. The screen is REALLY flexible. The deck is solid, but the screen flexes with just the slightest pressure. MSI doesn't have the truecolor driver for windows 7 so when I switched to windows 7, I couldn't install truecolor..... now I have a useless button. The sound quality is TERRIBLE. This is the biggest reason why I'm dropping an egg. MSI hyped up the sound on this laptop, and it was all for nothing because the sound is super bright and tinny. There is practically no bass at all. I don't expect much from laptop sound and speakers, but when you hype it up and don't deliver, then IMO it deserves one less egg.
Other Thoughts: All in all, this is a really good buy. The screen quality is unbeatable, the specs are great. If I'm honest, I don't even use the onboard speakers, I have a nice pair of headphones, so if you do too, the sound wont be an issue.

BUY IT!!!
Reviewed By:N/A,8/30/2015 10:18:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Gaming Laptops > ASUS > ASUS ROG G751JL-DS71 Gaming Laptop 4th Generation Intel Core i7 4720HQ (2.60GHz) 16GB Memory 1TB HDD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 965M 2 GB GDDR5 17.3" Windows 8.1 64-Bit

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Doesn't live up to the Spec's
Pros: cooling system. This laptop does not get warm much less hot
Cons: Slow, the display is very hard to calibrate and has a distinct yellow tint
Other Thoughts: The spec's mention a 1 terabit hard drive, when I got mine it actually came equipped with 2 - 500 gigabit hard drives so when I add my new SSD drive, I will lose 50% of the original hard drive space.
Another very annoying quirk about this machine. the number keypad is not turned on by default. you will have to use the "FN" + "num lock" keys to turn it on, There is nothing in the user guide to tell toy this either. I spent over 2 hours on the phone with ASUS tech support and spoke to 4 different tech before one of them found the program and said "did you turn it on".

the cooling fans on the laptop are amazing. This machine NEVER GET'S HOT !!!

All in all, not a bad machine but it does not live up to the spec's. If I had t5o do it all over again I would have bought an MSI laptop
Reviewed By:N/A,8/30/2015 7:53:26 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.