Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Gaming Laptops > Acer America > Acer Aspire V15 Nitro Black Edition VN7-591G-7857 Gaming Laptop Intel Core i7 4720HQ (2.60GHz) 16GB Memory 1TB HDD 256GB SSD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 860M 4 GB GDDR5 15.6" Windows 8.1

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 overall great computer
Pros: Awesome screen
fast processor
nice feel
lit keyboard
Cons: WiFi connectivity
bloat ware
fingerprints
Reviewed By:Tae,3/5/2015 1:28:25 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Gaming Laptops > ASUS > ASUS ROG GL551JK-EH71 Gaming Laptop Intel Core i7 4710HQ (2.50GHz) 12 GB DDR3L Memory 750GB HDD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 850M 2GB 15.6" Windows 8.1 64-Bit

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 HALT! WARNING! WARNING! DANGER! DANGER!
Pros: price
Cons: Screen, wireless
Other Thoughts: Additionally,I paid $879 for this laptop, and even at that price it was a bad buy. I can't believe they upped the price for this.
Reviewed By:rheign,3/5/2015 12:15:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Gaming Laptops > ASUS > ASUS ROG GL551JK-EH71 Gaming Laptop Intel Core i7 4710HQ (2.50GHz) 12 GB DDR3L Memory 750GB HDD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 850M 2GB 15.6" Windows 8.1 64-Bit

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 HALT! WARNING! WARNING! DANGER! DANGER!
Pros: Price
Cons: Wretched screen, horrible wireless card
Other Thoughts: I had high hopes for this laptop. I was shooting for a gaming laptop for under $1000. I was ecstatic when I found this ASUS that met my criteria. Unfortunately it fell quite short. The screen looked faded and washed out; the reds appeared pink and orange. Calibrating did not help.The wireless card was worthless. The speeds were ridiculously slow, to the point of being unusable.

I had no trouble whatsoever with Newegg issuing an RMA, however, the money does get tied up until the refund can be processed. Luckily this was not an issue for me. Do yourself a favor and save a couple hundred more to get a decent machine. I found a nice Gigabyte for a couple hundred more on a competitor's site, with a significantly better CPU and graphics card. As someone else said, I too really wanted to love this laptop, but it's just not a quality product. ASUS should have gone with a better screen and wireless card. Incidentally, I am not one to write reviews, but I realize there will be many people on a tight budget eager to jump at the chance of getting an ASUS gaming laptop for under $1000. Do yourself a favor and keep looking. You'll only be disappointed and your money will be tied up for a week or so if you purchase this one.
Reviewed By:rheign,3/5/2015 12:03:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Gaming Laptops > ASUS > ASUS X550JK-DH71 Gaming Laptop Intel Core i7 4710HQ (2.50GHz) 8GB Memory 1TB HDD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 850M 2GB GDDR3 15.6" Windows 8.1 64-Bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 So far great
Pros: The computer loads fast at start up and when browsing gpu great plays my games on ultra
Cons: I don't like how hot the cpu and gpu gets when plays game that don't need as most graphics
Reviewed By:N/A,3/5/2015 9:01:23 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Gaming Laptops > Lenovo > Lenovo Y50 (59418222) Gaming Laptop Intel Core i5 4200H (2.80GHz) 8GB Memory 1TB HDD 8GB SSD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 860M 2GB 15.6" Windows 8.1 64-Bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Superfish?
Pros: This laptop has top grade hardware.
Cons: This laptop ships with crapware.
Other Thoughts: completely reinstall windoze to a new SSD to make this laptop a gaming monster and NOT be spied upon by le-NO!-vo.
Reviewed By:JeffroNC,3/5/2015 7:42:02 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Gaming Laptops > MSI > MSI GT Series GT70 Dominator-895 Gaming Laptop Intel Core i7 4800MQ (2.70GHz) 8GB Memory 1TB HDD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 870M 3GB 17.3" Windows 8.1 64-Bit

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Upgrade nightmare
Pros: Great keyboard lighting
Powerful CPU
Good GPU
Cons: I was not happy to see that your warranty is void if you open the rear panel to upgrade RAM/HDD etc. Being as this is a performance laptop, I would assume that upgrades would be the norm. Especially that the default hard drive is a 7200rpm mechanical. I do not like the face I have to void a 2 year warranty if I want to install a SSD.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/5/2015 5:08:52 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Gaming Laptops > MSI > MSI GS Series GS60 Ghost Pro 4K-078 Gaming Laptop Intel Core i7 4710HQ (2.50GHz) 16GB Memory 1TB HDD 256GB SSD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970M 6 GB GDDR5 15.6" 4K Windows 8.1 64-Bit

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Love it
Pros: Gold color is nice, not overstated
Games run well at high settings
Full size Keyboard (see cons for compromises they made to do this)
Its nearly as thin as my yoga 13, and light
Cons: Keyboard layout - putting the windows key in an odd location was unnecessary. They could have made left ctrl a bit smaller and put the window key there, or swapped the fn/windows keys.

Having fn for common keys like home/end is a little silly. I'm sure i'll get used to it, but as a programmer those keys are really important. I can't necessarily fault them for this because I don't really see any better place to put them, but keys like "prt scr", "scroll lock", and "pause/break" haven't been used since like 1994. They probably could have made those fn keys instead. I don't think anyone would scream about having to press fn to scroll lock.

There's an extra |/ key next to the spacebar? What would i need two of those for?
Other Thoughts: Even with the keyboard complaints, I can't recommend against this laptop. The build quality is good, its thin, light, and runs games well. What more could you want? If you're on the fence, buy it. You won't be disappointed.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/4/2015 8:58:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Gaming Laptops > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE P35Xv3-CF5 Gaming Laptop Intel Core i7 4710HQ (2.50GHz) 16GB Memory 1TB HDD 128GB SSD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 980M 8 GB GDDR5 15.6" Windows 8.1 64-Bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Overall Fantastic
Pros: Having used this for about 3 hours a night for a little over a week.
Playing all sorts of games at high settings. Perfect mobile laptop you can pack away. Extremely small & unbelievably thin.The 980M can dish out 144hz to a compatible monitor, using the Mini Displayport to Displayport cable.
Cons: A single con would be that whilst under load or playing games, it is loud sounding, like a rocky creek after it just rained moderately. There are literally no other cons. Sure it gets warm, but is to be expected. Gigabyte hit the nail on the head with this one. This model in general destroys the competition and is underrated.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/4/2015 1:56:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Gaming Laptops > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE P35Xv3-CF5 Gaming Laptop Intel Core i7 4710HQ (2.50GHz) 16GB Memory 1TB HDD 128GB SSD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 980M 8 GB GDDR5 15.6" Windows 8.1 64-Bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 I'm so happy I bought this laptop
Pros: This thing has a super solid build. I honestly couldn't believe they could stuff this much awesome in something less than an inch thick, but I was wrong. It looks slick as can be, without a bunch of crazy frills. Just streamlined goodness that makes people stare like weirdos when I whip it out in public. JEALOUS MUCH?!

Once you get all those stickers off the casing, the inside is just as baller. I have no issues with the keyboard, and the two levels of backlit illumination is nice. The touchpad and buttons also track and work well. The display is great. Everything I have run on it is vivid, and multimedia is clear with good color. I did do some adjustment, as I do with all new monitors, but with a little tweaking the display is spot on.

The 128GB SSD boots Windows 8.1 with the quickness. After setup, it fully boots sub 10 seconds easily. The 128GB is perfect for me because I only loaded Windows, and add-ons to Windows, on the SSD that came with the machine. I have a separate 250GB SSD for my games, and store my multimedia and miscellaneous proggies on the 1TB HDD. Access for additional SSDs is convenient and easy, and dat hot swap though... so convenient.

There isn't a lot of bloatware on this laptop, as stated in another review. The programs from the manufacturer are actually relevant and useful. Everything I have installed runs amazing. Gaming on this baby is a dream come true. The GPU is stellar. Everything I toss at it, with the highest settings, looks amazing and plays smooth. GPU just laughs at me and be all like, "And then?". At max load the fans do make noise, but it isn't ridiculous or anything above what you would expect from a gaming laptop this thin. Plus, they effectively cool the GPU even after hours of constant gaming. And even though the GPU stays at a decent temp, the casing can get pretty warm to the touch right above or underneath where the GPU is located. Again, due to the insanely thin build and ALL THAT POWER!!!!

I had no dead pixels after unboxing. All USB, mic in, and audio out ports worked fine. RJ-45 connection, wireless, and bluetooth worked as well. HDMI connection good to go.

- Gorgeous solid and slim build
- Useful included software
- Plenty of room for additional SSDs
- All functionality worked out of the box
- Monster of a GPU plays anything with no hiccups
Cons: None, but see other thoughts...
Other Thoughts: I really haven't found any cons for this laptop. Some people may list the battery life, but I don't expect a gaming rig of this power to have a 10 hour battery life. If you have Ultra settings, hard core gaming going on, you are not going to get much. Maybe 2.5 - 3 hours at the high end. When doing regular computing unplugged, I get several hours no problem.
Reviewed By:Rob P.,3/4/2015 11:46:17 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Gaming Laptops > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE P35Wv2-CF2 Gaming Laptop Intel Core i7 4710HQ (2.50GHz) 16GB Memory 1TB HDD 256GB SSD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 870M 6GB GDDR5 15.6" Windows 8.1 64-Bit

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Very nice (if you don't need support)
Pros: Great performance at an acceptable price. It runs World of Tanks at ~50fps with nearly full graphics settings. Ample connections for USB. I am very happy with this purchase.
Cons: It is rather loud and a little heavy, but it IS a gaming laptop. It does not come with a system restore disc, so if you need to reimage the PC you need to ship it back to Gigabyte. And Gigabyte support is slow and clunky so might be a good idea to create your own system restore disc ASAP.
Other Thoughts: I'd give this review 4 stars if Gigabyte were a little helpful to their end users. My experience with support was very disappointing. They took 2 days to respond to a simple ticket asking how to get the PC reimaged when no recovery disc was included. Then when I tried to create the RMA, their website would constantly time out or tell me that my 4 month old laptop was out of warranty. In fact, I still don't have an RMA 3 days after opening the support ticket, and the site warns me that they try to have a 5 day turn around for repairs. Add in the shipping times and weekends, and I'm out a laptop for a minimum of 2 weeks.
Reviewed By:Tim_Myth,3/4/2015 6:22:12 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.