Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Gaming Laptops > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE P35Gv2-CF1 Gaming Laptop Intel Core i7 4710HQ (2.50GHz) 8GB Memory 1TB HDD 128GB SSD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 860M 4GB GDDR5 15.6" Windows 8.1 64-Bit

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good laptop. Gigabyte still needs to do some work
Pros: Thin
Specs are good for the price
A lot of storage expandability
Very little keyboard flex
Cons: My number one complaint about this laptop is the noise when gaming. You could not game on this in a library, but in a social setting with other people making noise, it could be done. The laptop doesn't really make much noise when unplugged, or on power-saver mode.

Mouse pad - I typically just use a normal wireless mouse anyways, so this did not effect me all that greatly. I just like dedicated clicky buttons, but this one did not have that.
Finger prints - This thing does get finger-printy. but it does not bother me
Other Thoughts: This is my first "high-end" laptop. Previously, I had a super sketchy Acer laptop.(Acer makes good laptops, mine was just a low-end one)
Reviewed By:Dan,4/20/2015 2:41:01 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Gaming Laptops > ASUS > ASUS X550JK-DH71 Gaming Laptop Intel Core i7 4710HQ (2.50GHz) 8GB Memory 1TB HDD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 850M 2GB GDDR3 15.6" Windows 8.1 64-Bit

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great laptop, great price!!
Pros: the GTX 850 runs current gen games like a dream
the i7 can run at terbo speed 8 core just fine and wont melt itself
Cons: does run a little hot, havent had it overheat yet but so long as its vents arent covered there is nothing to worry about
it does run Windows 8(only mentions cause i know some people prefer 7)
Reviewed By:Ventus,4/20/2015 1:09:29 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Gaming Laptops > Acer America > Acer Aspire V15 Nitro Black Edition VN7-591G-70RT Gaming Laptop Intel Core i7 4720HQ (2.60GHz) 8GB Memory 1TB HDD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960M 4 GB GDDR5 15.6" Windows 8.1 64-Bit

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Not bad if/when you upgrade
Pros: Good hardware for the price. I wouldn't buy it until it goes to $899 again though. Only machine I found with a 4gb 960m.
Cons: The screen looks blurry for some text, The Hard drive is so slow, good luck downloading updates and expecting to get anything else done. A pain to work on, because your disk use will shoot to %100, and make the rest of the machine bog down to unusablilty.
Other Thoughts: If you don't mind spending another couple hundred bucks on 8 more gigs of Ram and an SSD, this is probably a sweet machine. Looks like tear down is a nightmare though, so rather than paying for upgrades, you might want to buy a more expensive machine and save yourself the trouble. I'll update once I install mine, but as it is, the Hard drive speed makes it an absolute dog. Add to that it's full of worthless crapware, PC decrapifier will be your friend.

Newegg's restocking fee is the only thing keeping me from returning it.
Reviewed By:John,4/20/2015 12:33:12 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Gaming Laptops > Acer America > Acer Aspire V15 Nitro Black Edition VN7-591G-70RT Gaming Laptop Intel Core i7 4720HQ (2.60GHz) 8GB Memory 1TB HDD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960M 4 GB GDDR5 15.6" Windows 8.1 64-Bit

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4
Pros: I've owned this laptop for about a week now and feel like I can throw in my early on opinion.

I bought this laptop looking to replace my Asus G73-JW gaming laptop. I wanted something smaller and more light weight than the 17.3" Asus laptop. This laptop fits the bill perfectly. For this price point a 4GB GTX960m is really the best you can find. Paired with the Core i7 4720HQ and you've got a solid foundation to build on which puts this laptop above any others in this price point. (Most have a 2GB GTX860m and the Core i7 4710HQ)

The included 8GB of RAM is enough for gaming on, and you really only need to upgrade if you plan on doing Virtual Machines, heavy Video Editing, heavy Photo Editing, or something else that is really RAM intensive. For gaming, casual use, and in general 8GB is plenty and you would be better off by spending your money on upgrading to an M.2 SSD(See Other thoughts)

The battery life on the laptop seems to be decent for a 3 Cell battery. I haven't pushed it too extreme yet but have seen around 4 hours of light use with the screen brightness dimmed slightly. Obviously you will never get that kind of life while gaming but for internet browsing and such the battery does a good job.

The screen looks gorgeous, the backlit keyboard is very nice, and the finish on the laptop gives it a very clean look.
Cons: The cons on this laptop aren't anything that I would consider huge issues, more so things to be aware of before purchasing and deciding if it's something you can handle.

As a couple reviews has stated, the standard hard drive is a 5400RPM hard drive. This is SLOW. Before upgrading to a SSD this laptop was nothing impressive in terms of general speed and boot up times. This shouldn't be surprising, 5400RPM hard drives are slow. This is a fact with any computer. The one benefit, and the reason I assume this laptop is using a 5400RPM hard drive is that they don't use as much power, which means longer battery life. Really nothing to drop the rating down as it's something you should go into the purchase knowing.

The tech friendliness on this laptop is virtually non-existant. Getting access to the basic components like the hard drive, RAM, and SSD M.2 port require taking off the entire keyboard/palmrest surface and potentially up to removing the motherboard depending on the upgrades you chose. This is my opinion was a bad design by Acer, a bottom mounted access panel would have been a welcome addition to this laptop. With all that being said, when I added my M.2 SSD I didn't even have to detach the ribbon cables for the keyboard/touchpad, you can shift it over slightly and gain access to the M.2 port without taking the cables off.


The port location as stated elsewhere are also kind of a negative. All ports are on the right side of the laptop. I have used it for gaming with a standard setup and in all honesty, it hasn't bothered me personally but it would have been nice to see some of the ports on the left side just so you don't have a mess of stuff plugged in. Again, not really an issue but something to consider.
Other Thoughts: SSD - Get one.
Whether you go with an M.2 SSD (I bought a Crucial MX200 250GB) or if you replace the standard hard drive with a traditional SSD, just do it. The performance boost of going from a 5400RPM HD to a SSD is a no brainer. This is where leaving the RAM as is and putting it to a SSD is worth it. The boot up times on the standard hard drive left something to be desired. As soon as I installed the M.2 SSD and got windows installed, it was a night and day difference. Typical startup time from power button to fully loaded and ready to go is about 10 seconds.

Audio Port - The audio port on this laptop combines both the sound and mic into one jack, be aware of this as it might not work with whatever headset you are currently using. Nothing to lose points on, just something to be aware of before the purchase.

No DVD Drive - This might seem obvious, but this laptop doesn't have any CD/DVD drive. This means if you plan to put in an SSD you will either need an external DVD drive, or install from flash drive. If you chose to install from the flash drive, either you need to have the flash drive formatted to boot as a UEFI device, or you need to enable the legacy boot options in your BIOS(F2).

Intel Vs GTX Card - This laptop takes advantage of the fact that you have both your nVidia GTX video card, but an intel graphics card in the CPU. This is great for saving energy as the intel card takes less power than the nVidia card. The software is supposed to automatically detect when to switch between the intel and the nVidia card, so this shouldn't cause a problem for gaming but it's still newish technology so it could be buggy depending on what runs it. Example. I don't personally own GTA V but a friend with a different laptop and video card has to trick his laptop into switching to the GTX. Again, I haven't seen this as an issue with this laptop but the more you know.

Wireless Issues - Some reviews for different versions of this laptop have reported wireless problems. I have yet to notice any issues. This is after downloading more than 300GB of games and software. I have done some extensive ping tests and just walking around looking at signal strength. I have read that the upgrade to wireless AC that this issue was resolved, and to mean that would appear to be true.

Touchpad Issues - Some reviews on a different site have complained about subpar touchpad. After a reload I did notice that using the stock windows driver, the touchpad isn't that great. This was easily resolved by downloading the drivers from Acer's site, which you should really do anyways. Overall, I am very happy with the touchpad and it easily outperforms my previous laptop.

Quality Issues - One of the reviews has mentioned concerns over quality. This is definitely not something I'm personally concerned about. I have owned a number of different gaming laptops(Gateway, MSI, ASUS) and this one feels on par with any of the ones I've owned before.
Reviewed By:Nick B,4/20/2015 11:40:58 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Gaming Laptops > CyberpowerPC > CyberpowerPC Fangbook III HX6-146 Gaming Laptop Intel Core i7 4710MQ (2.50GHz) 16GB Memory 1TB HDD 120GB SSD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 860M 4 GB GDDR5 15.6" Windows 8.1 64-Bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good choice, great price!
Pros: While searching for a laptop with strong specs, I encountered this CyberpowerPC model. I had never heard of the brand. A few hours later, I was impressed enough by reviews and awards to give it a go. I do not regret that decision. It works flawlessly, and was the best deal for the money at that time.

Pros:

1) Case construction feels solid, and it does not bend or flop around like some cheap models. The keyboard is classy in appearance, and the G1, G2, and G3 function keys are quite useful. (turbo fan, keyboard backlight, and sleep mode)

2) Price. I already mentioned it, but to be plain, competing models from other companies had lesser features, like I5 instead of I7 or magnetic boot HDDs instead of the CyberpowerPC's SSD.

3) Boot time for me is around seven seconds to get to the desktop. The extra one terabyte drive for storage is a nice touch too.

4) It utilises the on-board Intel graphics for regular tasks, and seamlessly begins using the 860M nVidia GPU when tasks, such as games, require it. This is an excellent design feature. It also transmits the screen to an external monitor via HDMI with no problem at all.

5) It includes USB 2.0 & 3.0 ports, each type to its own side of the case. USB 2 for external peripherals like a dedicated mouse, USB 3 for external HDDs. Best of both worlds, amirite?

6) Thermal dissipation is good. The nVidia GPU feels like it is at the lower left corner, as that gets slightly warm during gaming, but not enough to be uncomfortable. Vented air goes out the left side, and you have the turbo fan option too.

7) No crashing. It works no matter what I do with it. That is quite a thing to say for a Windows machine. I have it set up to dual boot to either Win 8.1 or Linux Mint, and there has not been a problem. It has only visually glitched once when the Intel graphics showing the desktop flaked out for around two seconds, and then it recovered itself.

8) Quiet. Even with an Avantek cooling fan unit blowing at it underneath, it is still quiet.

9) Customer service. I have called twice to ask questions, and both times the tech on the other end knew the answer, spoke politely, and did so in excellent English. There is a lot to be said for that combination these days.
Cons: Cons:
1) The sharpness of the screen compared to a high grade ASUS or Samsun LED monitor is not quite as good, but it is not bad either. Serviceable quality, but it could be better. Colour reproduction is good out of the box, though, which is a nice thing, as some companies sell theirs with overly saturated colours by default.
2) Keyboard layout. As others have noted, the Shift keys are small and inconveniently located. Your first few times using the laptop will result in some \ & / instead of Shift actions. You get used to it. <shrug> Other than that, and the arrow keys being squished a bit in the layout, it works fine after a while.
3) The included Matsushita ODD does not work with AnyDVD. Disappointing, really.
Other Thoughts: When you go to do windows updates on this thing DO NOT update the INTEL HD drivers from microsoft on this thing. Go to the intel site instead or simply don't install them at all, you won't need them,trust me. However do keep your nvidia drivers up to date with the built-in software. Activate this machine right away. the key code is on a sticker on the bottom of the machine. I also found it useful to install the IRST intell rapid tech driver in there too off the driver DVD. Other than the incredibly freaking lame SHIFT keys, this laptop rocks! Especially for only $1000
Other Thoughts: I like it well enough that the next time I need a laptop, CyberpowerPC will be one of my top brand preferences.
Reviewed By:Paddy,4/20/2015 5:52:39 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Gaming Laptops > ASUS > ASUS ROG G751 Series G751JT-CH71 Gaming Laptop Intel Core i7 4710HQ (2.50GHz) 16GB Memory 1TB HDD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970M 3GB 17.3" Windows 8.1 64-Bit

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Awful Laptop/awful company
Pros: turned on
Cons: came defective, said it would connect to the internet, but isn't actually connected. IE, not steam, no blizzard, no games. The whole reason I purchased it. Asus support did reach out to me (the dirvers were not correctly installed when I recieved it). They called me a liar in so many words and told me to do a system restore to a working point. Um, it never worked. Fortunately Newegg is taking it back, however, after dealing with asus I will not be replacing it. I encourage anyone considering a gaming laptop to purchase from another company. Or forgo the laptop entirely and build something yourself that you know will work. This is the route I am opting for as I have yet to botch putting together a computer.
Other Thoughts: i had to re-write this as newegg did allow me to return it and my first review reflected that. Since then they have allowed me to return the laptop and are reviewing it for a full refund. At least newegg will stand behind their products even when the manufacturer doesn't.
Reviewed By:neverbuyasus,4/20/2015 1:03:35 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Gaming Laptops > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE P25XV2-CF4 Gaming Laptop Intel Core i7 4810MQ (2.80GHz) 16GB Memory 1TB HDD 256GB SSD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 880M 8 GB GDDR5 15.6" Windows 8.1 64-Bit

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 It's amost good
Pros: Fast CPU, Fast RAM, Very fast SSD's in RAID 0 and a nice 7200rpm Hard Drive + Blu-Ray Drive.
Cons: The GTX 880M constantly runs at 95C at 100% utilization. Trying to play any modern games with force the GPU to throttle due to heat. I'm not sure if it's a faulty GTX 880M chip or if the laptop ventilation is terrible. Even after buying a notebook cooling pad it seems to have done nothing.

Not impressed with the performance, you're better off saving a couple hundred bucks on a "weaker" gpu but still get the same performance due to poor heat management.
Reviewed By:DCS,4/19/2015 6:49:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Gaming Laptops > Acer America > Acer Aspire V15 Nitro Black Edition VN7-591G-70RT Gaming Laptop Intel Core i7 4720HQ (2.60GHz) 8GB Memory 1TB HDD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960M 4 GB GDDR5 15.6" Windows 8.1 64-Bit

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 HOT!
Pros: Decent performance for the price, when it isn't down clocking because of heat.
Cons: HOT! First day of ownership decided to play some planetside 2 to test the gaming capabilities ( ran smoothly until it had to downclock to deal with the heat). Played for 30 minutes with temperature monitors open in the background. Noticed the CPU spiking to 98 degrees Celsius. That is right 2 degrees off of boiling water. The system then down clocks the cpu and ramps up the fans. cools down then goes works its way back to 98c. I live in California, and its not even summer yet. This thing is hitting 98c on an average day. I cant imagine the heat during a hot day.

I bought a cooler master x3 laptop cooler, thinking that might help. Still hit 98c

The keyboard is not the best. The touch pad is awful. The only way I can explain it is to say it feels hollow. it feels like you might press through it into nothing. It also feels a bit sticky in texture. Sliding my fingers over it was a bit of a task.

wireless not the best. lost connection a couple times and slow speeds.

All the usb slots are on the right side with the power plug. everything is on the right side of the keyboard. This is only a problem if you have any usb devices with bigger than normal plugs.
Other Thoughts: The heat is too much, no computer part should be able to boil water.
Reviewed By:mike,4/19/2015 5:05:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Gaming Laptops > Acer America > Acer Aspire V15 Nitro Black Edition VN7-591G-70RT Gaming Laptop Intel Core i7 4720HQ (2.60GHz) 8GB Memory 1TB HDD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960M 4 GB GDDR5 15.6" Windows 8.1 64-Bit

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great value with quirks
Pros: Incredible specs for this price point. The i7 4720hq is pretty much the best processor you can get in a laptop right now unless you jump up to the $2k+ price bracket. Most laptops at $900-$1000 will have a 2gb vram gtx 860m, however this one has a 4gb gtx 960m and it is VERY capable of high-ultra graphics gaming. Beautiful 1080p screen, excellent sound quality and fullness (not a tinny sound at all), pretty thin and lightweight, nice backlit keyboard.
Cons: Sloooow hard drive. I threw in a Samsung 850 Evo m.2 ssd and an extra 8gb stick of ram so it doesn't bother me anymore, but 5200rpm is annoyingly slow. This brings me to my next con: upgrading this laptop was no easy task. You must disconnect and remove the keyboard/touchpad in order to reach the hard drive and m.2 slot. And you must unplug everything and remove the motherboard and cooling fans entirely from the laptop to upgrade the ram since the slots are on the bottom of the mobo. It's very doable, but not for the feint of heart. A removable hatch on the bottom would have been a welcome addition to make upgrades easier. The bloatware is annoying but easily removable and it helps keep the laptops cost down so I'm ok with it.
Reviewed By:Sym,4/19/2015 11:34:23 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Gaming Laptops > Acer America > Acer Aspire V15 Nitro Black Edition VN7-591G-70RT Gaming Laptop Intel Core i7 4720HQ (2.60GHz) 8GB Memory 1TB HDD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960M 4 GB GDDR5 15.6" Windows 8.1 64-Bit

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Disappointed
Pros: This laptop had some good specs, I figured that for the price I couldn't go wrong. I was planning on getting another 8gb stick of RAM and an SSD to put in this thing myself and come out in a real good spot financially.

IPS display is nice, some of the text is a bit blurry and not quite as sharp in games.

Newegg was fantastic in shipping it too me 4-7 day free shipping and I got it in under 40 hours.
Cons: I watched some reviews on opening up the laptop to add more RAM and an SSD and I completely changed my mind. It is a horrible laptop design. The laptop is the chassis itself, so I guess you take off the screws and then pop off the keyboard. You have to disconnect ribbons that are for the keyboard and the touchpad. It looked like way more trouble and potential for breaking something that it was worth so I didn't touch it.

Like the previous comment said the HDD sucks. It is so slow. But they make it a major chore to get the SSD in there.

I read some comments on the old version that said the WiFi in this thing sucks for gaming and I couldn't agree more. I play league of legends quite frequently, on my 3 year old desktop I would be at 65-75 ping on wifi, rock steady no issues. On this I am never below 100 and I spike to 250-300 ALL THE TIME in games. Incredibly annoying. I have played with both machines side by side and will spike on the laptop and will be steady at 75 on the desktop. I had to make sure the drivers were updated and they were. Just seems like a common issue with the hardware Acer chose.

I can deal with the bloatware because I was going to run the windows 10 tech preview and reformat. But it is annoying to HAVE to do that. The bloatware is real. 18 icons were on my desktop on launch, 10 icons were across on the start bar.
Other Thoughts: I love Newegg and was hoping I got a steal on this Laptop. I am extremely disappointed so I will be sending it back. This laptop may be good for single player local games, but I bought it to play games online and all it does is frustrate me.
Reviewed By:Nowiser,4/19/2015 9:23:55 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.