Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Gaming Laptops > ASUS > ASUS ROG 15.6" G-sync GL502VM-DB71 Intel Core i7-6700HQ, NVIDIA GTX 1060 6 GB, 16 GB Memory, 1 TB HDD, Windows 10 Gaming Laptop VR Ready

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Great Laptop BAD SCREEN
Pros: Plays everything i throw at it
Cons: Screen seems to have white marks on the bottom due to flexing of the screen.
Very annoying on a black screen.
Other Thoughts: I would expect a 1400$ laptop not to have this issue.
Reviewed By:Kurt T.,9/26/2016 9:58:05 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Gaming Laptops > Lenovo > Lenovo 15.6" Y700 (80NV00Q8US) Intel Core i7 6700HQ (2.60 GHz) NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960M 12 GB DDR4 Memory 128 GB SSD 1 TB HDD Windows 10 Home 64-Bit Gaming Laptop

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great product
Pros: designed very beautiful and works well
Cons: Maybe I am not familiar with Windows 10, the computer get blue screen once.
Other Thoughts: good to buy
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/25/2016 11:58:19 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Gaming Laptops > MSI > MSI GE Series GE72 Apache Pro-003 Gaming Laptop 6th Generation Intel Core i7 6700HQ (2.60 GHz) 16 GB Memory 1 TB HDD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960M 2 GB GDDR5 17.3" Windows 10 Home

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome
Pros: good for games
love the steelseries backlit keyboard
the cooling system is great
not a bad gpu for the price
Cons: audio static sometimes may want a headset for games
may have to use steelseries app to begin the process for color change for keyboard
Reviewed By:Erik B.,9/25/2016 7:52:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Gaming Laptops > ASUS > ASUS 15.6" G-sync GL502VS-DB71 Intel Core i7 6700HQ (2.60 GHz) NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 16 GB Memory 256 GB SSD 1 TB HDD Windows 10 Home 64-Bit Gaming Laptop

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 I'm not good with titles as i'm not a marketing person. I would recommend this machine.
Pros: -1070 GPU has exceeded my expectations for performance
-The screen is surprisingly beautiful
-Speakers are pretty decent
-Physical case temp is good
-Fan noise at gaming load is acceptable for this type of power
-I like that the 16gb ram configuration is a single stick for easy and cheaper upgrade to 32gb, even at the small cost of dual channel
-The SSD is quite speedy
-The HDD is a 7200rpm, as opposed to a 5400RPM that the MSI machines have
-Standard 2 year warranty with a 1 year accidental damage warranty for no additional charge is pretty unheard of for gaming laptops.
-1080p non touch display. IPS, colors are amazing, very contrasty, very bright, just an overall great display.
Cons: -Battery life is not great compared to other gaming laptops
-The keyboard is decent, but the travel is a bit long for fast typers
-The trackpad i think is a bit sticky, and i'd rather have 2 physical buttons than have the entire touchpad be the click
-You can't change if the F keys are F keys first or multimedia keys first.
-There is lots and lots of bloatware to uninstall
-Asus has decided to use windows for most of its peripheral configuration, which could be considered a good thing, but does limit the amount of customization, such as keyboard back light time out, touchpad customization, etc
-Would prefer 2 fn keys, especially since you cannot set the F keys to be media keys without the FN key, instead of the content key that i'm not sure anyone has ever used
-The ethernet jack has this little hinge that i think is only there for cosmetic purposes but i think lowers the overall longevity and reliability of the port as the spring becomes worn.
-Because the display is only 60hz, gsync is really not a big deal with the 1070 being more than capable of pushing almost any game at ultra settings at 1080p aboe 60hz, what is negative is that you can't have nvidia optimus, so your battery life is drastically decreased for internet tasks at the trade off of gsync, which you really aren't going to use anyway.
Other Thoughts: I have had this machine for about 2 weeks so i feel i've used it enough to give a good review. The tl;dr is, i would buy it again, i'm not returning it, and i would recommend someone who wants a desktop replacement, fast gaming machine, to buy this laptop.

With that said, i think that as a mobile "laptop", you might be disappointed. The battery life is really quite bad. And this is all because of the lack of optimus. Nvidia currently doesn't support gsync and optimus at the same time, its either one or the other. In this situation where the 1070 is so powerful, you're hardly ever going to take advantage of gsync, and in fact, i have it turned off because even though the input lag compared to Vsync is lower, its still there. i would much rather have a normal 60hz diplay with optimus to get more like 4 or 5 hours of battery, compared to the 2-3 that it gets.

I also have the 2016 razer blade with the 970m, same processor, same ram, and a much higher res screen, and its battery life is at least 2 hours better than the Asus, because it supports optimus and can disable the nvidia gpu when you don't need it. I think this is the biggest complaint i have about the machine. i wish that there was an option that you could disable gsync and enable optimus, or asus to have a 2nd sku that was a non gsync display with optimus.

All that being said for the price, this machine is awesome. i have read some people saying the machine gets too hot and power down, i have not had this issue. The temps internally are pretty warm, 90C on the GPU and it will start to reach "therm" limits, but still stays at least 100mhz above base clock. From my research nvidia has 94C as the tmax for this chip and i never saw it get that high using the internal or an external display.

Another weird thing that i noticed was that when under heavy gaming load, the machine seems to augment its power requirements with the battery, and so for about 1 hour of heavy gaming you lose about 8 to 9% off the battery. You probably won't be gaming for 10 hours straight and so this might not be a big deal, and i have not attempted draining the battery fully, then firing up a heavy gaming load to see what happens, but this did seem a little strange to me.

The charging adapter is large, especially compared to the razer blade even though its the same output, but you're probably expecting that with a gaming machine already.

For the money, you won't find a better deal in a gaming laptop with a 1070 GPU. If you want more GPU horsepower over the thinness of a 1060 GPU machine, you won't find a better one (in my opinion) than this one.
Reviewed By:Rob P.,9/25/2016 5:14:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Gaming Laptops > MSI > MSI 17.3" GT72VR Dominator Pro-015 Intel Core i7 6700HQ (2.60 GHz) NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 16 GB Memory 128 GB SSD 1 TB HDD Windows 10 Home 64-Bit G-Sync Gaming Laptop VR Ready

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Good GFX , buggy software with windows 10. Returned in 15 days. Will do ASUS next time.
Pros: Great for gaming. Runs relatively cool and the fan makes it hardly noticeable. NAHMIC audio and Steel Series keyboard are great. Windows 10 boot is snappy on the SSD. Was super excited about the MSI brand and the 'brand experience' on the laptop is top notch.
Cons: WIFI Adapter, HORRIBLE. It will randomly disappear with windows 10 updates and takes LITERALLY dozens of reinstall / restarts through the windows device manager to get it connected only to "disappear" again later. Whatever MSI is doing with the killer driver software is NOT windows 10 compatible currently. As such I returned this product. DISCLAIMER: I bought this through F-R-Y-s- Electronics, not new egg, since they had it locally for the same price. I have since returned it for a full refund. Posting a review here so that other egg heads can avoid the same pain/disappointment I went through.
Other Thoughts: Personal Preference comment.... For the prices these laptops command I will be spending a few more bucks on an ASUS 1070/1080 laptop instead. Having utilized both companies laptops now I can say with certainty that ASUS feels like a higher quality product and overall are much more stable. I am writing this review on one now with an 870M. Again, personal preference.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/25/2016 4:25:58 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Gaming Laptops > Acer America > Acer 15.6" E5-575G-5341 Intel Core i5 6200U (2.30 GHz) NVIDIA GeForce GTX 950M 8 GB Memory 128 GB SSD 1 TB HDD Windows 10 Home 64-Bit Gaming Laptop

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good inside. Bad outside
Pros: Good specs for the price. Fast.
Cons: Many bloatwares. Gaming reaches ~75 degree celcius. Screen border is thick, making the laptop looks ugly.
Other Thoughts: I ordered around 4pm on Friday. It arrived 3:21 Saturday. Unbelievable. Used shop-runner 2-day delivery. Delivered by Fedex, left at front door under extreme sun heat.
Reviewed By:Vincent,9/25/2016 2:30:28 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Gaming Laptops > MSI > MSI 17.3" GE72VR Apache Pro-009 Intel Core i7 6700HQ (2.60 GHz) NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 16 GB Memory 256 GB SSD 1 TB HDD Windows 10 Home 64-Bit Gaming Laptop VR Ready

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Really, truly awesome VR gaming laptop. MCI + VR + Vive = Excellence.
Pros: Works great with VIVE (previous 980m ASUS machine wouldn't work with Oculus, causing me to return the laptop and sell the Oculus).
No glitches with any of the dozen or so titles I've tried. Haven't tried many normal shooter titles.
Cons: Still don't like add-on stuff. Had to uninstall the audio manager, because it randomly caused all audio to be terribly distorted. Audio worked fine after that.
Other Thoughts: It's wicked!
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/25/2016 12:50:12 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Gaming Laptops > MSI > MSI 17.3" GT72VR Dominator-032 Intel Core i7 6700HQ (2.60 GHz) NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 32 GB Memory 512 GB SSD 1 TB HDD Windows 10 Home 64-Bit G-Sync Gaming Laptop VR Ready

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Powerhouse laptop, but not without flaws.
Pros: This beast seriously screams. I've run every game on Ultra without a hitch and the laptop hasn't even gotten warm yet. I play a lot of Rocket League and Dead by Daylight and this laptop runs it like I'm playing Minesweeper.
Cons: Out of the box it has had odd memory issues on startup. One out of every five times it gets hung up trying to boot Windows 10. Contacted MSI about it and they told me to flash my BIOS. Considering this is the 21st century and I don't have a floppy drive lying around, that's a little difficult. Also, the speakers have already gone bad but I use a headset most of the time so that's minor to me. The screen could be better too.
Reviewed By:Andrew L.,9/25/2016 10:46:34 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Gaming Laptops > MSI > MSI 17.3" GT72VR Dominator-063 Intel Core i7 6700HQ (2.60 GHz) NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 12 GB Memory 128 GB SSD 1 TB HDD Windows 10 Home 64-Bit G-Sync Gaming Laptop VR Ready

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awsome
Pros: Runs pretty much everything i throwat it at max or close to it.
Cons: SDD space could be larger.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/25/2016 10:10:26 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Gaming Laptops > Lenovo > Lenovo 17.3" Y700 (80Q0008XUS) Intel Core i7 6700HQ (2.60 GHz) NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960M 16 GB DDR4 Memory 256 GB SSD 1 TB HDD Windows 10 Home 64-Bit Gaming Laptop

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great package for the Price
Pros: For the price point of this laptop you do get a lot. the laptop Boots in avg 3 to 4 sec, and i'm able to play most games on high and ultra with newer titles on med, high ( totally justifiable for being mobile)
Very happy. would buy again
Cons: A couple of weird driver issues from the start. mouse does its own thing sometimes. did this twice, restarting the laptop fixed the issue. If it happens again I know i can fix it but i'm lazy and hardly use the mouse pad.
Another driver issue was that it did not detect any audio devices after unplugging my gaming headphones (USB) . again I restarted the laptop and the problem was resolved. that audio problem only happen once.
Other Thoughts: Over all this is a great laptop and I am glad i made this purchase. To me this laptop has more refinement over the Msi and Asus laptops that i looked at (and that is saying something cause i'm a MSI fanboy) and the JBL speakers are GREAT!
If it wasn't for the slight hiccups with the drivers I would have given this laptop 5 stars.
Reviewed By:Brandon p.,9/25/2016 8:18:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.