Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Gaming Laptops > MSI > MSI GS70 Stealth Pro-096 Gaming Laptop Intel Core i7 4710HQ (2.50GHz) 16GB Memory 1TB HDD 768 GB (256 GB mSATA x 3 RAID 0) SSD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970M 6GB 17.3" Windows 8.1 64-Bit Multi-language

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Great laptop, but got a bad build
Pros: Fast as hell. RAID0 made me incredibly productive as a software developer. Screen is decent though I feel like the resolution could be better. Weight is perfect, body is decent though does not match the MBP for quality.
Cons: The left speaker seemed to be located on the right side of the laptop so there was no discernible left channel. It was pretty frustrating playing games.

The touchpad is great when it works, very configurable, but didn't work all the time for me so I had to attach an external mouse.
Other Thoughts: I returned it because of the above sound and touchpad issues though I do want a replacement. Going back to my MBP feels like a huge step back and my productivity has nosedived.

So generally, the laptop is fan-freaking-tastic but I can't give it 4 or 5 eggs because of the bad build I received.
Reviewed By:cheez,12/17/2014 12:27:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Gaming Laptops > Acer America > Acer Aspire V17 Nitro Black Edition VN7-791G-77JJ Notebook Intel Core i7 4710HQ (2.50GHz) 16 GB DDR3L Memory 1TB HDD 256GB SSD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 860M 2GB 17.3" Windows 8.1 64-Bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 The best gaming notebook
Pros: Perfect screen IPS. Fast had disk SSD, and second hard disk data. That looks great. Excelent keyboard, sound is fantastic! The notebook 17" feels lightweight.I love this computer!
Cons: I would have preferred 4 USB3 than 2 USB2 and 2 USB3 but that does not worry me.
Other Thoughts: The software is cool!
Reviewed By:fgonza,12/17/2014 11:12:55 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Gaming Laptops > MSI > MSI GX Series GX60 Destroyer-280 Gaming Laptop AMD A-Series A10-5750M (2.50GHz) 8GB Memory 1TB HDD AMD Radeon R9 M290X 2GB 15.6" Windows 8.1 64-Bit

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Not Pleased!!
Pros: Nice Keyboard
All AMD
Nice screen
R290x mobile
Cons: Way underpowered CPU for gaming
My 2 year old I7 asus lappy destroys this thing
AMD dropped the ball on CPU
Other Thoughts: I mainly play WOW and it is a CPU intesive game. I figured no way this brand new laptop with a 290x and 3.5 ghz quad core would have trouble with it. It plays fine in some areas at 100 FPS, as soon as u get into a city or raid it drops to 20 to 40. My 3 year old I7 desktop with amd 8670 literally trumps this thing about 4x's over. The a10 cpu is just week. I know its and apu and all but its weak. Why MSI would even put this with a r290x and sell it is beyond me. This is the first MSI product I have bought and it may be the last. The decision by them to even make something like this and call it a gaming laptop is just absurd. Very disappointed. Very disappointed that newegg even sells this.
Reviewed By:dugdremel50,12/17/2014 10:11:24 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Gaming Laptops > Acer America > Acer Aspire V15 Nitro Black Edition VN7-591G-74LK Gaming Laptop Intel Core i7 4710HQ (2.50GHz) 8GB Memory 1TB HDD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 860M 2 GB GDDR5 15.6" Windows 8.1

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3
Pros: -runs fast
-relatively quiet
-slim
-great price
Cons: -short battery life (but that's to be expected for what it's capable of)
-not the best touch pad (definitely need a mouse with this)
-
Other Thoughts: I was disappointed to find that my hard drive was having issues. The computer was also unable to boot windows os on occasion. Now, I have to send my computer in to Acer to get it repaired. This is the only reason why I have given it 3 eggs instead of 4.
Reviewed By:N/A,12/17/2014 7:35:02 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Gaming Laptops > ASUS > ASUS ROG G751 Series G751JT-CH71 Gaming Laptop Intel Core i7 4710HQ (2.50GHz) 16GB Memory 1TB HDD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970M 3GB 17.3" Windows 8.1 64-Bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great
Pros: - Very fast
- Cooling is great and my lap and desk do not get hot because of the positioning of the vents.
- Screen is great with basically no color bleed from different angles.
- Solid battery life
Cons: - Charger is a bit loose and will come out if moved to much but that is not a big enough problem to take off an egg.
Other Thoughts: You should look out for the fact that the hard drive is broken up into two different HDD so at first glance it may look like you only have about a third or a quarter of a Tb.
Reviewed By:Yimbler,12/17/2014 7:14:10 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Gaming Laptops > MSI > MSI GS Series GS60 Ghost Pro 3K-046 Gaming Laptop Intel Core i7 4710HQ (2.50GHz) 16GB Memory 1TB HDD 128GB SSD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970M 3GB 15.6" 3K Windows 8.1 64-Bit Multi-language

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Everything
Cons: None
Reviewed By:N/A,12/17/2014 12:59:00 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Gaming Laptops > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE P25Wv2-SP2 Gaming Laptop Intel Core i7 4710MQ (2.50GHz) 8GB Memory 1TB HDD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 870M 3 GB GDDR5 15.6" Windows 8.1 64-Bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Very Satisfied
Pros: I'm an occasional gamer but like to play high demanding games when I do. I was searching for a laptop that could serve my everyday needs as well as run whatever game I would play.
This laptop was just that, for a great price. I bought it on black friday for $999.
It comes with minimal and essential software, all useful. It needed some software updates out of the box, but the desktop had shortcuts to all of those and after about three reboots it was an all around up to date laptop.
Cons: The yellow top was the only hesitation I had with buying this laptop, but it really isn't bad in person, plus you don't see it when using the laptop.
The fans can get noisy, but no more that my previous laptop that was not a gaming laptop.
Other Thoughts: For $999 it's a steal. I gave myself a $1000 cap on a new laptop, but I feel like I got a laptop worth a few hundred more.
Reviewed By:Justin T,12/16/2014 3:38:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Gaming Laptops > MSI > MSI GT Series GT70 Dominator-2295 Gaming Laptop Intel Core i7 4710MQ (2.50GHz) 16GB Memory 1TB HDD 128GB SSD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970M 3GB 17.3" Windows 8.1 64-Bit Multi-language

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4
Pros: -Plays most games smoothly in ultra. Everything in high.
-Keyboard feels great for gaming.
-Speakers are loud and clear.
-The chasis looks sleek. Loving the brushed metal.
-SSD is amazing. Boots everything in less than 10 seconds
-Strong wireless antenna. Have many dead spots at home but this connects anywhere at full bars.
Cons: -Weak battery life but that's common in gaming laptops I hear.
-Webcam isn't that good. Grainy.
-Low portability. This laptop is huge!
-Wrong model on the product display. Look at MSI Dominator-2293 on the site for the true one.
Other Thoughts: First gaming specific computer I've owned so I'm probably easily impressed.

Frame rates for some of the newer and graphically intense games won't reach >60. Try around (40-50) on ultra but it works well for me. Temperature for these games hover around 65°C. Fans are somewhat quiet and the speakers definitely overpower them.
Reviewed By:Manny,12/16/2014 2:36:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Gaming Laptops > MSI > MSI GT Series GT70 Dominator-892 Gaming Laptop Intel Core i7 4800MQ (2.70GHz) 24GB Memory 1TB HDD 256GB SSD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 870M 6GB 17.3" Windows 8.1 64-Bit

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Dead pixels
Pros: -extremely fast
-great build
-very nice keyboard
-very nice speakers
Cons: Only cons that I have found with this laptop so far is the bloatware (obviously) and the 6-10 dead pixels on my screen. For the money I paid for this laptop I would expect to not have this many (or any) dead pixels. Contacting MSI is an extreme hassle it seems. I am disappointed
Reviewed By:N/A,12/16/2014 11:25:43 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Gaming Laptops > Acer America > Acer Aspire V15 Nitro Black Edition VN7-591G-74LK Gaming Laptop Intel Core i7 4710HQ (2.50GHz) 8GB Memory 1TB HDD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 860M 2 GB GDDR5 15.6" Windows 8.1

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Best one I've had
Pros: very thin and light weight, as a notebook.
very strong and powerful performance, as an gaming laptop.
it's pretty easy to dissemble to upgrade memory and SSD, I did the whole thing only in 15 minutes. Now my Acer boot up windows 8 and shutdown in 2 secs, for ubuntu 10.04 it takes 1 sec to boot up and 0.5 sec to shutdown.
Cons: no cons so far, but for advanced user, I would say only space for one SSD is not enough, I myself feeling lack of storage already, but it's not a big deal if you can spend money on a big capacity SSD :D
Other Thoughts: Would be the thinnest and lightest gaming laptop so far, I guess :))
Reviewed By:Koi,12/16/2014 1:29:19 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.