Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > All Gaming Notebooks > ASUS > ASUS N550JV-DB72T Notebook Intel Core i7 4700HQ (2.40GHz) 8GB Memory 1TB HDD NVIDIA GeForce GT 750M 2GB GDDR3 15.6" Touchscreen Windows 8 64-Bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Powerful and sleek
Pros: 1. Lots of power
2. Can turn on and off LED on keyboard
3. Graphics is good for anything you would want to through at it.
4. 1080P
5. Not overly heavy or cumbersome
6. Separate number pad
7. Not a bunch of bloat ware on it.
Cons: Easy to hit the track pad when tying on your lap
Other Thoughts: This is a good computer. It has plenty of horse power for gaming or compute functions. I bought this computer for my wife. I am picky about key strike feel (especially return), and liked the way the keys felt. She is much more picky about shape and layout. It pleased both me and her.

The real key is turn turn off the backlighting on the keys during the day and turn it on in low lights. You can see the keys in either case very well then.

By the way, my loves it.
Reviewed By:Pat,7/28/2014 1:30:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Gaming Notebooks > MSI > MSI GT Series GT70 Dominator-895 Gaming Notebook Intel Core i7 4800MQ (2.70GHz) 8GB Memory 1TB HDD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 870M 3GB 17.3" Windows 8.1 64-Bit

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 MSI GT Series GT70 Dominator
Pros: Offers pretty good hardware specs for a decent price.

upgrading to a larger screen was the same price which gives me an over all bigger work space with a full 10 key.

The audio is good for being built in.

Quite unless your fan kicks on, which is a good thing.
also have a quick key to turn it on automatically that I like.
Cons: I don't like windows 8.1 (or 8) and really don't like the software bundles when purchasing any pre build computer.
Other Thoughts: I have not owned a laptop for some number of years but this guy gets the job done. I am overall well pleased with it other than windows 8. I do find that it take FOREVER to boot up. (at least 30 seconds) not sure if its a windows 8 thing or the laptop it self. To get a 5th egg I would have liked to have control over the features that take over your computer initially.

I also have not tried any games on this either. so I cant say if its good for gaming just yet. Right now its for solid modeling and it works great.
Reviewed By:matthewp3d,7/28/2014 11:03:09 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Gaming Notebooks > MSI > MSI GP60 Leopard-010 Gaming Notebook Intel Core i5 4200M (2.5GHz) 8GB Memory 750GB HDD NVIDIA GeForce GT 840M 2GB 15.6" Windows 8.1 Multi-language

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Just what I needed!
Pros: I needed a rig for gaming on the go and for the price, this is the best bang for the buck! I was debating between this and the Lenovo y510p, however after reading reviews, I would rather sacrifice some performance for lower temps. This machine runs everything I throw at it on Med-High settings while temps have not gotten above 60c after hours of gaming. A MUST HAVE!!!
Cons: Windows 8
Other Thoughts: I never used Win8 before, and within 30 minutes my mind was made up... I replaced it with Win7. Downgrading to Win7 was a breeze. The MSI site has all the required drivers and everything is running perfectly.
Reviewed By:LinkSavesTheDay,7/28/2014 9:50:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > All Gaming Notebooks > MSI > MSI GT70 Dominator-894 Notebook Intel Core i7 4800MQ (2.70GHz) 12GB Memory 1TB HDD 128GB SSD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 870M 3GB 17.3" Windows 8.1

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 What he said!
Pros: Powerful
Great battery life
Cons: Heavy
Other Thoughts: It does have the 4810 processor! This thing plays everything with smooth frame rate and is the best value of the Dominator GT70 line.

Other reviews for Dominators are super positive regarding keyboard, sound, etc. In my opinion it's all so-so. My Dominator is replacing a Toshiba Qosmio that's nearly 3 years old. The Toshiba was about this price when new and includes harman kardon sound (amazing!), gorgeous screen, perfectly laid out and feel keyboard and bluray burner. It was good graphics of the day, GTX 560.

The dynaudio speakers are sad. No sub = tiny sound with no low and mid range. Wear headphones!

Touchpad feels great.

Steelseries keyboard is ok, don't know what the hype is about, the Qosmio keyboard is much better. I'm always hitting the spacebar in games instead of left alt. Its just laid out differently than other PC keyboards whereas the Qosmio is more standard like a desktop keyboard.

Screen looks very good but something is off. Qosmio has what I'd consider accurate and vivid colors. Maybe this one is a little washed out?

Battery life in power saver or balanced mode is astonishing! 5 hours is superb. Love it!

Cooling fan is perfectly tolerable sound given the duty it performs. Not exactly quiet but crank it up to turbo cooling and hear how loud it can get! It does a great job keeping the machine running smooth. Keyboard never feels hot.

If you want a great performer this is it for sure but the other features are lacking. I miss the quality of the Qosmio but as soon as I fire up a game I forget all about that and just enjoy the silky game play.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/27/2014 6:26:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Gaming Notebooks > MSI > MSI GP60 Leopard-010 Gaming Notebook Intel Core i5 4200M (2.5GHz) 8GB Memory 750GB HDD NVIDIA GeForce GT 840M 2GB 15.6" Windows 8.1 Multi-language

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Fantastic buy for a student gamer on a budget
Pros: Excellent screen, lightweight for a gaming laptop, solid keyboard, nice speakers, good overall build quality.
Cons: Trackpad is a little cramped, but still usable. Webcam is disappointingly blurry, but I personally will barely use it anyways.
Other Thoughts: I bought this laptop to serve as both a gaming computer and a laptop I can carry to class with me to take notes. I'm extremely pleased with it one week into ownership. It's capable of running Skyrim on High without a single dropped frame, and without getting all that hot. I've carried it around my city in a backpack and it hasn't been excessively heavy. There are better gaming laptops out there that are lighter, but on a college student's budget, this is a godsend.
Reviewed By:Robin H.,7/27/2014 10:38:37 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Gaming Notebooks > ASUS > ASUS N550JK-DS71T Notebook Intel Core i7 4700HQ (2.40GHz) 8GB Memory 1TB HDD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 850M 15.6" Touchscreen Windows 8.1 64-bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Asus Laptop
Pros: Great processor with dedicated video card. Responsive touch screen, very solid case, nice back lit keyboard, great sound that seems to come from a much larger machine.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: I was looking at Lenovos for my grandson who is just entering high school but this caught my eye. I trust Asus components so I hope their quality goes along with their machines.
Reviewed By:Rod,7/26/2014 5:11:11 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Gaming Notebooks > Lenovo > Lenovo IdeaPad Y510p (59406636) Gaming Notebook Intel Core i7 4700MQ (2.40GHz) 8GB Memory 1TB + 8GB SSHD HDD Dual NVIDIA GeForce GT 755M SLI 2GB 15.6" Windows 8.1 64-Bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 I love it.
Pros: +It looks and feels awesome. It doesn't feel cheap or plastic-y to me at all.
+They keyboard feels really nice, and looks awesome with red backlit keys.
+Speakers are, IMO, pretty darn good for a laptop; you can hear the surround sound in effect.
+It's fairly small compared to other gaming laptops; the fact that they got this much power into a 15.6 inch laptop is, IMO, pretty amazing.
+Price is pretty good. I mean, at least compared to Alienware and their whole "hey, would you like to pay an extra five hundred bucks for fancy lights" thing.
+Webcam is a plus, great video quality.

+++And finally: the power. This thing is FAST. Maybe not as good as you could get for a thousand dollar desktop (assuming you built it yourself), but keep in mind that this is a laptop. If you want to be able to take your little gaming paradise with you wherever you go then this does just that. This can play just about any game out there at mid-high settings. Yes, you will have to turn down the settings for some of the newer games. But really, as long as you get to actually play the games, does it actually matter?
Cons: -The track pad is obviously not the best, as many other people have said before me. However, I don't really know of anyone who actually likes to game with a track pad enough to not have a good mouse.
-Windows 8: it isn't as bad as some people make it out to be and I was able to get used to it pretty quickly. However, if you happen to have a spare copy of windows 7 lying around, then use it on this. Windows 8 is meant for devices that use touch and I still don't know what Lenovo was thinking when they decided to put it on a gaming laptop.
-It gets pretty hot when playing stressful games. That's what happens when you have two graphic cards. If you're worried about it then you could consider getting a Y50 instead. It has a single GTX 860 card and would probably be cooler. Or you could be like me and get a laptop cooler; it won't work miracles but it does help.
-You would think this obvious but the battery life isn't the best. Bring your charger wherever you go. Oh and speaking of the charger; it's a brick. A very large, hot, brick. I plan on frying an egg on it one day.
Other Thoughts: [] Two more things about the power:
a) When you don't have it plugged in the computer goes into power saving mode or something and all your games will suddenly lose about 30 fps.
b) In the control panel there is a program to tell your computer how to manage power and battery life. If you select "Optimize Battery Health" under battery then your battery will only charge up to 60%. I checked this option without knowing exactly what it did and then I freaked out when I realized it wasn't charging (it was charged at like 90%).
Reviewed By:Stephen,7/26/2014 2:44:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Gaming Notebooks > MSI > MSI GS Series GS60 Ghost Pro 3K-097 Gaming Notebook Intel Core i7 4710HQ (2.50GHz) 16GB Memory 1TB HDD 128GB SSD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 870M 3GB GDDR5 15.6" Windows 8.1 64-Bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 impressed
Pros: - fantastic display. tiny text excites me
- extensive selection of beautiful colors makes for endless possibilities for the backlit keys
- feels good to type on
- steel construction
- (nearly) flawless gaming performance
Cons: my greasy skin leaves dark marks :( i wipe them off the moment they surface
Other Thoughts: I'm thoroughly pleased with my first purchase with bitcoin.
Reviewed By:ionide,7/25/2014 11:38:58 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Gaming Notebooks > Lenovo > Lenovo IdeaPad Y510p (59406636) Gaming Notebook Intel Core i7 4700MQ (2.40GHz) 8GB Memory 1TB + 8GB SSHD HDD Dual NVIDIA GeForce GT 755M SLI 2GB 15.6" Windows 8.1 64-Bit

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Bad cooling means worthless second GPU
Pros: Core i7, handles day to day computing well. got a 25gb SSD instead of the 8gb listed
Cons: Second GPU insufficiently cooled which leads to it being throttled and all but useless. If you going to have two graphics cards in a laptop both should be usable. over priced for the power it gives. Cannot recommend it for any modern games even on the lowest graphics settings.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/25/2014 8:51:30 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Gaming Notebooks > MSI > MSI GT Series GT70 DominatorPro-890 Gaming Notebook Intel Core i7 4800MQ (2.70GHz) 12GB Memory 1TB HDD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 880M 8GB 17.3" Windows 8.1 64-Bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Big, Quiet Gaming Powerhouse
Pros: Great gaming system. Beautiful 17" display. 2x 2.5" drive bays for future expansion. The installed 1TB drive is 7200 rpm instead of the slower 5400 rpm drives so many manufacturers use. Came with BD-RE drive for creating Blu-ray movies standard. I can now play Company of Heroes 2 on high settings instead of medium without any lag. Fan is relatively quiet, much more so than the GE60 it replaced. $100 rebate was promptly processed and tracking provided.
Cons: As nice as the system is there are a few gotchas you should be aware of. 1.) the included ram is mounted under the keyboard and requires a bit of surgery to get to. 2.) the 2 free ram slots that are available once you remove the bottom access panel are obstructed by the heatpipe for the GPU/CPU. You get one module in without removing the pipe but that's it. 3.) There are no mSATA slots. This was particularly disappointing since I was coming from a MSI GE60 which had 2x mSATA slots in addition to the single 2.5" drive bay. The GT70 only include mSATA if you but it configured with mSATA drives. This lack of easy expansion in such a thick laptop was puzzling.
Other Thoughts: I was able to take my 1TB mSATA drive from the GE60 and install it into a 2.5" adapter and have it boot immediately. Once I used a USB stick to copy over drivers from the different WiFi card and was able to get online to update any other drivers the system was up and running and the original HDD was filed away until I put it back in for eventual sale next year when I upgrade . All in all a nice machine but really wished the various components could be more easily accessed and that mSATA was included as a standard.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/25/2014 11:46:45 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau