Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Gaming Laptops > ASUS > ASUS ROG G751JT-WH71(WX) Gaming Laptop 4th Generation Intel Core i7 4720HQ (2.60 GHz) 16 GB Memory 1 TB HDD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970M 3 GB GDDR5 17.3" Windows 10 Home 64-Bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Review In Progress
Pros: Windows 10 isn't so bad. I can play BF4 on Ultra at 65 FPS.
Cons: Nothing yet.
Other Thoughts: I wrote this review to make sure that you turn of GSYNC immediately. With this one, my BF4 framerate from low and ultra was like 30-45 FPS, with it off it was 200 FPS on low and 65FPS on ultra.

I also used iobit driver booster to just update all of the drivers.
Reviewed By:Adam P.,2/8/2016 1:27:08 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Gaming Laptops > ASUS > ASUS ROG G751JY-DH71 Gaming Laptop 4th Generation Intel Core i7 4710HQ (2.50 GHz) 24 GB Memory 1 TB HDD 256 GB SSD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 980M 4 GB GDDR5 17.3" Windows 8.1 64-Bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Very happy with the product.
1 year of using and no problems encountered.
I love the look of the laptop.
No heating problems.
Extremely fast boot times with SSD.
Max out my games graphic settings without a problem. (Mostly blizzard games, which aren't demanding I know.)
Cons: Only bad thing I have experienced is you do leave hand prints from resting your hand on the laptop.

Depending on the person the laptops size and weight could be an issue. For me the power is worth the inconvenience.
Reviewed By:N/A,2/8/2016 12:31:28 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Gaming Laptops > ASUS > ASUS ROG G751 Series G751JT-CH71 Gaming Laptop Intel Core i7 4710HQ (2.50 GHz) 16 GB Memory 1 TB HDD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970M 3 GB 17.3" Windows 8.1 64-Bit

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Fast Machine with quality issues
Pros: -Fast for the price
-Has room for a second hard drive
Cons: -Hard to take apart and clean, essential for heavily used machines
-Fans need repair after 9 and 1/2 months
-Hard drive complete failure at 10 months
Other Thoughts: I bought this machine in April 2015 after buying a non-Refurbished ROG G751JT in January 2015. The *new* machine was at the time performing great, and had at that point experienced no issues., so why not get the same model as a gift? I've been a fan of the ASUS brand since the 90's when I used to put together my own gaming machines. For the past several years, I've used their RoG laptops for my my personal use, and when my company ordered a batch of new laptops, I had them buy ASUS branded models that met our business requirements. My words are reaching this page through an ASUS router.

Fast forward three months to August and the fans on the *new* laptop sounded like a dying car with a bad fan belt. The same thing began happening with the refurbish this past week. Time for the new G751 fans to stop working was properly 7 months, the refurbished laptop lasted 9.5 months before it began having the same problem, in addition, a week later the hard drive died. Total data loss.

Due to the design of these laptops you need to remove about 20 screws of varying sizes and use a credit card or something else plastic and hard to carefully pry off the keyboard cover (hopefully without breaking any plastic snaps). The keyboard, trackpad, and other various keyboard controls are attached to the motherboard with thin easily broken cables. You then have to move then keyboard out of the way about 5 inches, finally you can access the fans, and carefully take them out. These fans make horrible noises after a short time within in it's lifespan; because whatever lubrication was used is not "sticking" properly in the fan. You can do a self-repair if by putting a few drops of sewing machine oil or other machine lubricant in the oil well on the fan, but the design of the fan itself will cause this to be a temporary fix because the manufacturing of it was flawed and it wobbles a bit in it's base.

Don't buy this laptop unless you are comfortable taking it apart completely for fan cleaning, and are ok with additionally disassembling the badly designed fans to repair them yourself.

Disclosure: I smoke, and have pets, the laptops in my home are also "desktop replacement" machines, so they are hardly ever turned off. The issues I experience in 6 months may take a year under your methods of usage. ASUS did an RMA for me on the *new* laptop and replaced fans, but having bought this one with a limited refurbish warranty I don't expect they would for this machine. Besides which, if it's being replaced with the same fan model you can expect the same issues...

Bottom line: This particular model is ASUS laptop model is not up to their usual standards, don't buy it. The MSI GE72 I purchased when my my ASUS G751 began having problems has a higher quality better build, and only suffers a bit in expansion capability (no room for an extra drive). It also has a vastly superior keyboard.
Reviewed By:Travis M.,2/8/2016 10:14:52 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Gaming Laptops > DELL > DELL Inspiron i7559-2512BLK Gaming Laptop Intel Core i7 6700HQ (2.60 GHz) 8 GB Memory 1 TB HDD 8 GB SSD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960M 4 GB GDDR5 15.6" Windows 10 Home 64-Bit

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Good Hardware Not fully as described
Pros: -- fast
-- really good specs
Cons: - product did not come with the ssd drive that it was suppose to have which is a disappointment because its not like its a high end ssd i mean it 8 GB but it is a convenient storage
Reviewed By:Jason B.,2/8/2016 10:12:35 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Gaming Laptops > ASUS > ASUS ROG G752VT-DH72 G-Sync Gaming Laptop 6th Generation Intel Core i7 6700HQ (2.60 GHz) 16 GB Memory 1 TB HDD 128 GB SSD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970M 3 GB GDDR5 17.3" Windows 10 Home 64-Bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great upgade from my last ASUS
Pros: ASUS has the best cooling system in any laptop in my opinion.
The design is amazing. It definintely turns heads.
The specs live up to what you would expect from them.
Cons: Speakers are underneath the computer. If you use external speakers then this doesn't matter but it's just different for me.
Other Thoughts: All in all, it's a great upgrade from my previous laptop which is an ASUS G74S.
Reviewed By:Johnathan W.,2/8/2016 9:32:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Gaming Laptops > DELL > DELL Alienware AW17R3-7092SLV Gaming Laptop 6th Generation Intel Core i7 6700HQ (2.60 GHz) 16 GB Memory 1 TB HDD 256 GB SSD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 980M 4 GB GDDR5 17.3" 1920 x 1080 Windows 10 Home 64-Bit

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Very nice specs, bad product
Pros: Newegg got me the laptop after 2 days using the free shipping :)
Cons: The boot time is incredibly sloe for an NVMe SSD, I am averaging 3 minutes per boot. Some people have recommended upgrading the BIOS which I did to the latest A05 build but that did not resolve the issue. Additionally I tried disabling the free fall sensor but that didn't resolve the issue either.

The bigger problem I have is that the system is intermittently recognizing the 1TB hdd in the Bios but never in Windows. THis appears to be a bad hard drive from the factory.
Other Thoughts: I will follow up with more information as I troubleshoot this further, but so far I have to say it is a big disappointment.
Reviewed By:Michael P.,2/8/2016 8:32:12 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Gaming Laptops > Acer America > Acer Aspire V Nitro VN7-571G-50VG Gaming Laptop 5th Generation Intel Core i5 5200U (2.20 GHz) 8 GB Memory 1 TB HDD 128 GB SSD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 950M 4 GB GDDR3 15.6" Windows 10 Home 64-Bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nice Laptop
Pros: Good grouping of Hardware, Nice Screen, Keyboard is great, Battery out the box is exceeding expectations. I have Fallout 4, GTA5, Ryse, and Diablo 3 all running very well on this.
Cons: Bloatware needs to be removed by CCleaner, Windows remove programs isn't enough.
Trackpad takes some getting used to.
Recommend removing bloat, and letting Windows update overnight before really using for games. There was alot going on in the background for the first couple hours
Other Thoughts: Overall very impressed. Great buy for the money
Reviewed By:MICHAEL C.,2/8/2016 4:54:49 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Gaming Laptops > ASUS > ASUS X550JX-DB71 Gaming Laptop Intel 4th Generation Core i7 4720HQ 2.60 GHz 8 GB Memory 1 TB HDD GTX 950M 2 GB Windows 8.1 64-bit

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Shuts down when playing games
Pros: - Fast boot up
- Good specs
- Runs modern games well with medium-high setttings
Cons: - bad viewing angles, but you get used to it
- Had the laptop for about 6 months and only recently started gaming on it. No problems in the beginning. but the computer started shutting off when playing games. It shuts off in less than an of of playing BF4 and Killing floor 2. At first I thought it was a thermal issue, so i bought a cooler that extracted heat from the exhaust resulting in a gpu temp that only stayed around 70C and under during load. As for the cpu, it stayed around 80 and under. However, the computer would still shut off during gameplay. Since I also use this laptop for school, I didn't really have time to send it to ASUS to have a look at it. So as a result, I took the risk of replacing the stock thermal paste with Arctic Silver Ceramique 2 and voiding my warranty. The computer actually got better because I haven't gotten force shutdowns when playing Killing Floor 2, but by the second game of BF4, it would still shut off. When I would boot the laptop back up, it would never display an error message so I never really knew what the actual problem was. I thought it was a thermal problem in which my computer would shut itself off to prevent damage from getting too hot, but my temps weren't really extreme. Pretty sure my laptop is defective as I've seen youtube videos in which people with the same model laptop record their gameplay with no mention of the problem that I have with my laptop. I'm guessing maybe it's a power issue, but I really have no idea. I really wish that ASUS would help me fix or replace my laptop, but replacing the thermal paste voided my warranty as the warranty sticker on the heatsink was ripped. Now I'm just stuck with a gaming laptop that can't play games. I might as well have bought a cheaper laptop just dedicated to school or spent more money on a better gaming laptop that has more reviews.
Other Thoughts: Stuck with a laptop $800 dollar laptop that is really worth less due to it's problems when it comes to gaming. The specs and pricepoint were good for me at the time, but the lack of reviews meant it was a big risk. Now I can't really do anything else to fix the problem. Spend your money somewhere else
Reviewed By:Andrew B.,2/7/2016 9:56:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Gaming Laptops > Acer America > Acer Aspire V15 Nitro Black Edition VN7-592G-71ZL Gaming Laptop 6th Generation Intel Core i7 6700HQ (2.60 GHz) 8 GB Memory 1 TB HDD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960M 4 GB GDDR5 15.6" Windows 10 Home 64-Bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Got on a deal for 775 dollars. Its a sound blaster with 4 speakers
Pros: - good config for moderate gaming
- hd display
- sleek model
- red back lit keyboard looks good although there the brightness of keyboard light is not variable
- USb type C socket
- latest wifi hardware
Cons: - Got trouble with dual booting while installing ubuntu on top of windows
Other Thoughts: Yes go for it its a very good deal if you get it for less prize
Reviewed By:VENKATA D.,2/7/2016 8:58:29 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Gaming Laptops > MSI > MSI GE Series GE62 Apache Pro-413 Gaming Laptop 5th Generation Intel Core i7 5700HQ (2.60 GHz) 16 GB Memory 1 TB HDD 128 GB SSD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970M 3 GB GDDR5 15.6" Windows 10 Home 64-Bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Fantastic!
Pros: I love the multicolor keyboard. Right now its slowly going through the colors of the rainbow. It does bleed a bit of blue and green in the ctrl key, the numpad enter key, and the left third of the spacebar.
As far as graphics go, I can have World of Tanks at max settings and it never drops under 60 fps, It can run Rainbow Six: Siege at the High preset without going under 40 fps (mostly 50's and up) and plays War thunder at max without going under 60 fps, only dropped to 55 when I was going through 100% trees.
Cons: Fans can get fairly loud, as they reach 6000 rpm when you hit the fan button (don't remember the real name)
With some headphones, most of that sound is gone. The laptop has a loose piece or 2 that vibrate with high pitched sounds, when you set the speakers really loud. Not much of a con, but when you set the laptop to shut down, everything seems off a few seconds later, but the keyboard stays lit for another full minute, as well as the fans sometimes, before it truly shuts off. I do not know why.
Other Thoughts: When I got this, it was the cheapest laptop with the 970m in it, at $1200 which I thought was impossible, well, its not!
BUT THIS NOW! YOU WILL LOVE IT!
(I edited this after a few months of having this laptop) I also intend on replacing the DVD drive with a blu-ray version from the ge62 laptop series, and I will update to let you know how it turns out. Both drives connections and form are the exact same, so it should work.
Reviewed By:Samuel B.,2/7/2016 7:17:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.