Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Security Locks & Accessories > Toshiba > TOSHIBA USB 2.0 4-Port Hub PA3627U-1ETC

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 No complaints
Pros: Hub works well and I had no trouble using it.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:N/A,9/13/2014 7:24:44 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Security Locks & Accessories > Microsoft > Microsoft Surface Touch Cover Keyboard | Black

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 touch cover
Pros: Works as advertised.
Cons: If in a noisy environment you can not hear the audio click from the Surface. I have purchased 5 of these so far the last one I got was a French layout kind of confusing to use. Why I got a European French layout keyboard order here in the good o'l USA I don't know.
Other Thoughts: I love these new Surface tablets once you customize the START screen get rid of the crud and pin the apps you actually use and arrange them to your liking WOW what a wonderful thing.
Reviewed By:DMICtech,9/10/2014 2:33:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Security Locks & Accessories > Kensington > Kensington ClickSafe Combination Laptop Lock K64697US

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Wishing won't make it work
Pros: Long and sturdy cable, Product has a "quality feel"
Cons: It did not work. Strange, in my mind, that a Kensington lock would not work in the "Kensington Lock Slot" of my laptop.
Other Thoughts: The lock comes with a small pin that is attached to the Kensington slot. The ClickSafe lock is supposed to attach to this pin to secure the lock to the computer. "Supposed to..."

Some have said that the lock comes off of the pin too easily; that it can be twisted off or pulled at an angle so that it pops off. I had a similar problem but I identified the problem to be, not the lock, but how the lock and the computer work together (at least in my case).

My laptop is a Lenovo Y50. The top and bottom covers of the laptop protrude over the sides of the laptop by design. If you run your hand along the edges of the laptop you can feel that there is an overhang. On the side of the laptop where the Kensington lock slot is, this overhang interferes with the lock's ability to sit flush with the side of the laptop. Since the lock cannot sit up flush against the laptop, the lock cannot get a firm grasp of this pin. It attaches tentatively, but can pop off if you pull it down or up. Actually, it never attaches correctly because the overhang prevents it from doing so.

I have a Lenovo Y510p with the same design - same problem. I have two older Dell laptops. There is no overhang and the lock securely grasps the pin and does not come off, no matter how hard I pull it.

I am a disappointed for two reasons.

First, on the Kensington website forums, people ask if the lock will attach to any laptop and their response is that "The Kensington lock will work with any computer with a Kensington lock slot". Not true. I don't like being misled.

Second, I contacted Kensington Customer Service about my problem. Spoke to a nice gentleman who insisted that the lock must be defective. They sent out a new lock. Very nice, but it does the same thing as the first one. I posted my concern on their web site and got no reply. If the bottom ring of the pin was 1mm or so wider, the lock could grab the pin. I offered my suggestion and got no reply. This in spite that others, like myself, are dissatisfied with the product. The lock is well made; there is just this design flaw and they will not contact me or offer to correct it. I am willing to test a new design, whatever, but no reply.

I bought a Kensington wanting to have the best for my son's pc at college. We wound up going to Staples and buying an off brand lock. It feels loose in the lock slot but it grabs and does not come off. It does not have the nice "quick connect" feature of the Kensington but it works. I was hoping the Kensington product would work. Sadness.

And, I am VERY surprised that Kensington is not working harder to protect the reputation of their brand. I believe the lock is high quality. Just, in this case, poor design. If Kensington recognized the problem and didn't just throw a new lock at it, I could give 3 or 4 eggs even if it did not ultimately work.

Not. Too bad, Kensington. One Egg for you.
Reviewed By:Beej,9/9/2014 10:54:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Security Locks & Accessories > Targus > Targus Laptop Chill Mat (Black)PA248U6

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2
Pros: Does the job cooling laptop.
Cons: One of the fans started clicking and buzzing - out of alignment after about 30 days.
Reviewed By:Berto,9/5/2014 8:33:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat Low and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Security Locks & Accessories > Creative Labs > A250 2.1 Speaker

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Decent
Pros: Loud and clear sound for 2.1.
Cons: Certain lows sound muffled in a very narrow range.
Other Thoughts: $35 dollars and they have not blown up yet. Good deal.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/1/2014 4:47:32 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Security Locks & Accessories > Targus > Targus Single Fan Chill Mat AWE69US-50

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Horrible
Pros: none
Cons: Missing one of four screws and rubber feet
poorly constructed
Other Thoughts: The thing came with out all the pieces and won't come on. I didn't expect much from this $7 gadget that came free with a laptop purchase, but it failed to meet even those.

It was unbelievable how poorly constructed this thing was.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/23/2014 7:16:37 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Security Locks & Accessories > Victsing > Portable Slim 3.5‘’ External USB 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive For Laptop PC Notebook

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 It's Cheap & Works Perfectly
Pros: It works. It is able to read, write, and format diskettes. It has rubber feet on the bottom, an eject button on the front, and an 18" USB cord in the back. All function as they are supposed to.
Cons: It's old, slow technology. But that's really a pro, because we can still get it if we need it.
Other Thoughts: Everybody writing reviews for diskette drives seems to feel the need to tell why they need one. It's like we have to justify ourselves for such a whacky purchase. My girlfriend has a diskette fetish. She's also into parallel ports and cosplay.
Reviewed By:Lee,8/22/2014 6:22:48 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Security Locks & Accessories > Northwest > Northwest Adjustable Tablet Easel Stand for iPad or similar 75-LS10

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: This item is very worth it if you want a firm stand. Stand does not move around, or fall apart when being used. Easy to be adjusted into other positions.
Cons: None so far.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/17/2014 8:27:44 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Security Locks & Accessories > Victsing > Portable Slim 3.5‘’ External USB 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive For Laptop PC Notebook

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works perfectly!
Pros: Instantly recognized as removable media drive on Win 8.1--even assigns it that nostalgic "Drive A" recognizing it as a floppy. Worked wonderfully without even having to install a driver. Used it to read a pile of practically ancient floppies I had around--even managed to read some pretty beat-up looking ones.
Cons: The drive itself can't overcome the limitations of Win 8 in handling floppies--the OS can only reliably read from perfectly intact file systems. And don't plan on being able to format anything! (the OS returns an error saying it can't support formatting this type of disk... the floppy is definitely dead). Not this product's fault though!
Other Thoughts: An excellent value--reliable reading of legacy floppy disks at a great price. Solidly constructed, easy to use. Best fourteen bucks I've spent in a long time!
Reviewed By:N/A,8/14/2014 8:34:05 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Security Locks & Accessories > Cooskin Stationery Co. Ltd. > Ultrathin and High Clear TPU keyboard protector cover skin for HP Pavilion 17 17z / 15 15t 15z / Envy 17 17t 17z / Envy 15 15t 15z

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great
Pros: The product is worth the 11$

does everything it says

-Mutes the clicking noise of the laptop
-Very transparent
-Soft feel to it and it doesn't make it harder to type like other keyboard covers I had in the past
-thin

Something not advertised that was included:
-Also come with 6 strips of 2 inches long double sided tape to fasten it down to the keyboard if needed

It actually make my back lit keyboard look brighter!!!

Explanation:
Since led's tend to focus the light on a particular spot like a spot light, they only shine through the letter on the key and faintly around key instead of giving more of a glow, like a cold cathode would. With the cover, the plastic around the key board works like a median and refracts the previously unseen light making and gradually emits through out the plastic around the keys glow and making it appear brighter.
Cons: none at all
Other Thoughts: I have no idea on regards to the nano silver particles that are expose to be the anti bacteria part of this product since I really don't know exactly how to test it... but it is just another plus since keyboards can carry a lot of germs.

Although I haven't had it for long so it will be interesting to see how long which will really determine the product's worth. If it holds for the 6 months advertised then it is does what it says, if more even better.
Reviewed By:meinkeace,8/14/2014 5:48:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau