Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Operating Systems > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 8.1 - Full Version (32 & 64-bit)

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Windows...
Pros: latest and greatest of Microsoft´s Windows atm, which means you get all the support and updates.
Once installed and have it running, it works very stable and normal users can make use of it for their every day apps.
Cons: Cons are obvious. For every professional user this is somewhat a pain...
Surface isn´t good enough for a pro user, program options are limited by its surface, app screen is terrible, and for me personally the worst thing is its bad handling for a person that does a lot of overclocking.
Other Thoughts: If they would remove this app surface and bring a really smooth program which allows overclockers more easy to tweak their setups and system this would be better.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/22/2014 12:42:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Operating Systems > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 8.1 64-bit

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4
Pros: After installation you go straight to the desktop.
With a little work (and a 3rd party start menu), you can make Windows 8.1 look just like 7.
It's marginally faster then 7, if you need to upgrade from either XP and Vista, it's a perfectly good option.
Cons: During the installation, it makes it very difficult to setup a user which is not connected to a Microsoft Live account.
Some things (such as changing account password) are in the full screen app style.
Reviewed By:DigitalAdapt,8/22/2014 9:28:18 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Operating Systems > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 7 Professional SP1 64-bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Windows 7
Pros: ease of use without a touch screen, less blot ware
Cons: it will not last
Microsoft is dripping support of older operating systems faster and faster :(
Reviewed By:AaronC,8/20/2014 8:24:43 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Operating Systems > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 8.1 64-bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great!
Pros: Super Fast, Basically windows 7 with a much needed OS refresh. Start menu is actually great and easily customized to include everything you use to use on xp/7. Search function is also great as it just starts when you start typing.
Cons: You have to buy it?
Other Thoughts: I just got windows 8 as 8.1 for the first time and I honestly see no reason why you would want 7 over this, (unless you really need that xp mode) Its fast and optimized out of the box for SSDs. I was hesitant to get 8 but im so glade i did, the system boots to the desktop like normal and the new start menu is great, I have the start menu setup with the exact same options as I had on XP/7.

The metro stuff may not be really needed for a desktop but can be ignored easily but for anyone who keeps up with xbox live the xbox one smartglass app on windows 8 is great!.

Its run all my older programs with ease as well, also startup of windows 8 is super fast. 5-8 secs.

Overall I think its a amazing OS and shouldn't be overlooked.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/19/2014 2:28:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Operating Systems > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 64-bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 just as advertised
Pros: Just as advertised and comes with the COA license and Disk
Cons: No conss other than hard to read the license code on sticker if you have bad eyes, but you can't blame anybody but Microsoft for that one.
Reviewed By:RG,8/18/2014 10:32:17 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Operating Systems > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 64-bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Not win8
Pros: Computer OS. (not a tablet/phone OS)
Still supported by Microsoft. (no nag window about being unsupported)
Not Vista. Not Win8.

Seriously, if you're using a mouse and keyboard, use this instead of win8. If you're running a tablet, or have some sort of touch screen display... then 8 might be the better choice.
Cons: Slight differences from XP all over the place. I've been using XP for over a decade, so sometimes I have to search a little to get to the settings screen I'm looking for. Then once you get to them, sometimes it looks like the EXACT same settings program they had used in XP (like when choosing a screen saver.) which just seems out of place.
Other Thoughts: Old components were giving BSOD. Narrowed it down to CPU, MB, or RAM... so replaced all 3, along with HD and OS. (XP kept nagging me about it being unsupported.)
No more BSOD, and even simple tasks like browsing the internet are insanely smooth now.
Reviewed By:Mike H.,8/15/2014 12:17:17 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Operating Systems > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 32-bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Outstanding Service/Speed !!
Pros: Ordered an OEM 32 bit Windows 7. Paid for overnight service but did not expect it until two days latter and it showed up the next day! Wow!
Cons: NONE
Other Thoughts: Newegg or Tiger Direct....my business goes with Newegg......
Reviewed By:HCTU,8/14/2014 2:09:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Operating Systems > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 7 Professional SP1 64-bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Very easy install. Better than windows 8 in my opinion.
Cons: Wish price was a little lower.
Other Thoughts: Many, if not all retail stores stopped selling windows 7. Went to 4 different stores until I figured this out.
Reviewed By:Zatro,8/13/2014 7:48:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Operating Systems > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 8.1 Pro - Full Version (32 & 64-bit)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 This is the "real" deal....
Pros: Having been burned purchasing o/s licenses way more times than I care to remember so I'm gun shy about o/s licenses. I carefully researched/shopped around and purchased this retail (non oem) copy of Windows 8.1 Pro from Newegg. Delivery was made in less than 24 hours (provided your order is placed before 10am the day prior) which once again is a testament to Newegg's well stocked Secaucus warehouse on the east coast. I've used retail copies of Microsoft o/s licenses previously and depending on the situation one must carefully select either oem or retail copies. Oem is cheaper however is tied to the pc once installed and activated. Me, I needed to quickly get a homebuilt Z97 motherboard up and running but only on a temporary basis. Goal was to eventually use the same license on a X99 chipset based pc later this fall. Purchasing from Newegg eliminates the fear of getting stuck with counterfeit copies of o/s software....be especially wary of the one popular auction site in particular. Products when delivered are almost always counterfeited and come time to activate the o/s you will find the license string is bogus. In all the 25+ years I have been a Newegg customer I have never ever had to return a product and this includes disk drives, monitors, motherboards, and desktop memory.
Cons: Microsoft TechNet and Actionpack subscriptions no longer available (even if you are in the trade!) making it more and more difficult keeping skillsets current. Pricing of o/s licensing is "through the roof" making Ubuntu and Redhat more and more appealing, Managed to get pricing down to $180 using a combination of both ebates and Visa checkout
Reviewed By:SWong,8/12/2014 11:15:25 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Operating Systems > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 64-bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Windows 7 rocks!
Pros: This OS works like it should. Rock solid.
Cons: It doesn't install itself.
Other Thoughts: Just did my 15th pc build with Windows 7. Customer wasn't interested in having to use a touch screen, and didn't want to fumble around looking for things in hard to find places. (...cough, cough...Windows 8....cough, cough ) If you're considering a new build or just upgrading your OS from XP or Vista, get this now.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/11/2014 6:35:44 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau