Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Operating Systems > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 8.1 64-bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Windows Rules
Pros: Stable
Pretty
Boots to Desktop
Boots to Desktop in about 10 seconds with a SSD (which is so quick I had to disable 'fastboot' to avoid missing windows on each boot)
Windows 10 will be "free"
Self-Repair actually worked
A lil easier to do routine maintenance (like adjusting program boots)
Cons: Not a hekuva lot different from Win 7 unless you use a touch screen
Wasn't free
Windows 10 will be free
MS seems hellbent on losing market share and relevancy
MS allows invasive and ridiculous DRM in the form of UPlay and Steam - guess soon we won't need windows to Game
Other Thoughts: I broke my install by accident by pulling the power cord during a shut down. Then, the repair actually worked. Installation was fast and easy. Running windows on an SSD feels like a revolution. I love it. I don't get the windows hate on the Internet, every version since Vista has been quite stable for me, and pretty attractive. 8.1 is well executed and easy to live with.

Kinda lame to pony up $100 bucks and then find out that Win 10 will be free. I'll DL it, and then even my OEM disc is somewhat useless.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/2/2015 1:16:28 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Operating Systems > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 7 Professional 64-bit 1-Pack for System Builders

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 MS 7 PRO 64 bit
Pros: Better features than the non-Pro Win 7 OS. Worth the upgrade from family, because of networking and file encryption alone.

I would buy the SP1 version now; save your self the download.
Cons: Microsoft (MS) never came out with a Service Pack 2 (SP2), so there is a massive amount of updates if you do a clean install.

MS does not offer any update DVD/ CD so all updates must be made online. ( about 80 -100) Because the updates "stack" you have to apply them in order and can not skip to the most recent updates only. The only exception is the SP1 update, if you buy the older version just install the SP1 update first.
Other Thoughts: Keep the license in a safe place; you may need it in the future to prove your copy is legal if you have to reinstall.

Might be a good path to MS Windows 10
Reviewed By:Cool GTX,3/2/2015 8:04:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Operating Systems > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 64-bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 OEM
Pros: Easy install on new build! No hangups!
Cons: No direct support.
Reviewed By:Jabate,3/1/2015 7:24:10 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Operating Systems > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium English

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 greatest
Pros: its the best windows program
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: windows 7 very user friendly we can only hope that windows 10 is everything plus rite microsoft
Reviewed By:gillie,3/1/2015 5:13:57 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Low and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Operating Systems > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 8.1 64-bit

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 meh...
Pros: Good OS overall, does its job
Cons: No start menu
Slower than windows 7 after boot
Constant CPU utilization
No Start Menu
Other Thoughts: The system boot faster than win7, BUT, even if the desktop appears, for the cpu utilization do drop to near zero takes much longer than windows 7. In win 7 it takes 25 seconds and here almost 40 seconds.
Even after the CPU utilization drops to near zero, almost constantly it will keep using between 10 to 40% of CPU doing something, even when I an not running anything.
Lack of the start menu in the desktop mode is obviously a problem, thanks to 3rd part utilities, you get it back, but there should be an option to do so by default.
Reviewed By:Andy04,2/27/2015 2:03:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Operating Systems > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 8.1 64-bit

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good but...
Pros: Great performance, it boots fast.
It's easy to install.
Cons: Made for a computer or tablet with a touch screen. No start button unless you use a third party program!
Reviewed By:FdeXup,2/26/2015 11:55:00 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Operating Systems > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 8.1 64-bit

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works great, but...
Pros: Installed flawlessly, using the COA (key code) and the USB download tool from Microsoft. Boots very quickly with my SSD.
Cons: It's minor, unless I was reselling: the COA could not be removed from the product sleeve. Using normal effort to remove the sticker resulted in pulling cardboard backing and tearing the sticker itself, rendering it impossible to affix to the side of the PC chassis. I tried to call Microsoft to see if the label could be reprinted and replaced, but was unable to find a representative who knew what an OEM license was, let alone find one who could help me with this issue. If I was to resell this system, this would be a major issue.
Reviewed By:N/A,2/25/2015 6:26:29 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Operating Systems > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 7 Professional SP1 64-bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Solid Product
Pros: Worked right out of the box.
No issues with product codes or anything during installation.
Cons: Wasn't free
Other Thoughts: I got this because I'm not a fan of Windows 8.
Kind of looking forward to seeing what Windows 10 is like.
(Seems like every other version released is good)
Reviewed By:N/A,2/25/2015 6:50:28 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Operating Systems > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 64-bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Windows 7
Pros: Much easier than XP Which I was using for a long time. Of coarse it's a lot better than 98 which I also was using for a long time. Very pleased with Win 7.
Cons: none so far.
Reviewed By:mitchlovin,2/23/2015 9:10:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Operating Systems > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 8.1 - Full Version (32 & 64-bit)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 winders ate point won
Pros: Just kidding with the title. Its actually quite smooth and intuitive after a short learning curve. Did a fresh install on a new 850 EVO SSD and fast is the word . You will love it after you learn its ins and outs.
Cons: .none so far
Other Thoughts: I still look back in fondness to Windows 3.1. Those were the days.
Reviewed By:Hardrail,2/23/2015 8:34:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.