Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Operating Systems > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 8.1 Pro - Full Version (32 & 64-bit)

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 windows 8.1
Pros: fast for tablet use
Cons: the metro UI for start menu, no I do not plan to use a tablet style pc for everything. I'll wait for windows 9, just being fast wont replace my current os.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/2/2014 11:21:41 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Operating Systems > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 64-bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great as Always
Pros: Solid operating system, new features are great.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:Venatio,9/1/2014 5:49:28 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Operating Systems > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 32-bit

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 5 build, better than Win 8
Pros: I have 5 builds here and a few for others. To me, it's a much better OS than Win 8 unless you want a touch screen. It's fast, an easy install, Yes, the tags/sticker with the code can be difficult to read. You need just the right lighting and angle, no to mention 20:20 eyesight<:-))
Cons: Built in search feature is not even in the same league as the search in XP. I want the old search back. You will need to purchase, or write a good search if you want to find much. Doesn't even find all shared directories (folders)

It's also expensive for a non current OS

MS service/Help leaves a lot to be desired.
Other Thoughts: I dropped 2 eggs due to the service from MS and the search function.. I have one build that just went flaky. I gave the computer a good cleaning and on boot up it told me I had to activate windows even though I'd been using this build, unaltered for over 2 years. Gotta activate? Have a new 500 GB SSD, so installed on the new, clean SSD. Says I can't activate this copy on this machine. I've had complete OEM builds due to lightening that activated with out a hitch. If you have to call with a "can't install" expect to spend a long time on the phone.

Yet, I'm purchasing another Win 7U, 64 Bit. I haven't yet gone through as many copies as XP Pro.
Reviewed By:Roger,8/31/2014 6:00:37 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Operating Systems > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 8.1 - Full Version (32 & 64-bit)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Windows 8.1
Pros: Windows operating system with all the features to be productive.
Cons: none.
Other Thoughts: many people don't like windows 8 because its not what they're used to but i find it enjoyable to learn new things. Some menus might not be as easy to access and don't look the same but the functionality is still there. If you don't like windows 8, good news, windows 9 will probably be out in a year or two and it appears to be a marriage between windows 8 and windows 7 we'll wait and see.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/31/2014 11:52:36 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Operating Systems > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 7 Professional SP1 64-bit

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Invalidates Itself
Pros: It makes it so my computer can run Windows programs
Cons: Gives error saying it's not genuine Windows... Because of Microsoft update.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/30/2014 4:09:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Operating Systems > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 8.1 Pro - 64-bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 WIN 8.1
Pros: better look faster and i seem to navigate better through this system than most other ones even though i have had win 7 and liked that very much im liking this a lot out of the box a lot better
Cons: none so far pretty new to it
Other Thoughts: have not encountered anything i dont like about it yet and i have been through the setup process not the upgrade and seems this one is better by far than the others to setup from new
Reviewed By:N/A,8/28/2014 9:45:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Operating Systems > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 8.1 Pro - 64-bit

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 I like windows 8
Pros: I wish netflix/hulu are more keyboard friendly, they are mainly touch friendly

I use it as HTPC, like tiles, not amazing but good.
Performance wise, is amazing. no issues, crashes.
Cons: wish tiles can do more, more keyboard friendly
Reviewed By:N/A,8/28/2014 7:18:48 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Operating Systems > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 8.1 Pro - 64-bit

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Win8.1 is a nice upgrade to Win8 or below
Pros: Stable, boots very quickly, customizable now with ver 8.1. I upgraded from Vista to Win8 Pro & then patched to 8.1. Win8.1 is a nice improvement over Win8 because it gives you more options to use the 'look & feel' you want instead of feeling like the Start Screen is being rammed down your throat. Very stable platform for gaming & anything else you want to do.
Cons: New GUI is tailored to touch screen tablets so the features aren't as intuitive for a mouse/keyboard interface. Install takes forever but that's typical for all MS Windows OS's.
Reviewed By:St33lGh0st,8/27/2014 2:56:12 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Operating Systems > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 7 Professional SP1 64-bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 It is a dvd
Pros: dvd disc with no problems. loaded and forgotten.
Cons: none
Reviewed By:ct,8/27/2014 1:56:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Operating Systems > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 7 Professional SP1 64-bit

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Solid
Pros: Well its an OS there not much to say about it. Its a solid clean design. Its definitely a improvement over all the windows OS before it. And as far as ease of use and functionality i still feel like it beats windows 8. I opt for the professional version due to the higher RAM allotment. Also Windows 8 don't have as many comparability issues as Vista or windows 8.

So in short
+Very clean design
+Easy to operate
+High amounts of allotted ram (as much a you would need at least)
+Less updates now that windows has abandoned it.
+Higher amount of program comparability VS other OS
Cons: - Bad installs do happen
-is an outdated OS
Reviewed By:N/A,8/25/2014 5:21:11 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau