Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Graphic & Design > Corel > Corel Paintshop Photo Pro X3 - 1 User for System Builder

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Not as nice as version 7
Pros: Great software program. My favorite photo and graphic image editing software.
Cons: Corel has cluttered up the user interface. I much preferred version 7, back when JASC [original developer of this software] owned it.
Other Thoughts: I only upgraded from version 7, because it doesn't work with Windows 7. That said, I eventually adapted to the newer interface. Still like the old style better, as it was more intuitive.
Reviewed By:N/A,11/23/2014 5:55:45 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Graphic & Design > X-Rite > X-Rite ColorMunki Smile

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 2 years later.. i've rethunk it
Pros: does an ok job if you dont know what your doing but in several trials of various screens and video cards, on avg the results were undesired and I had to revert to defaults.
Cons: everything. For the Price of this unit, your shy of buying a more adv device like Spyder4Pro which will offer much better results. I ended up going with the Xrite i1Display Pro because the new Dell monitors I got require Xrite's calibators to access the Monitor's LUT.
Other Thoughts: I gave this a better rating two years ago when I knew NOTHING really of calibrations. I thought it was just how the monitor was suppose to look like and I figured "well i guess that is why I needed to buy this..."

Since then I've had friends who are in the business stop over to see my setup and both of them felt that my screen was off in color. (they preferred my manual attempt at using the Windows 8 Color Mgmt vs this one. )

The Smile should be sub $50 to make it "somewhat" worth it but in my experience, your better off just saving up for a better tool or using the manual stuff built into Windows (there are various web articles showing how people self calibrate their monitors utilizing this).

As always you can gmail me at evilhomerclone with questions or comments.
Reviewed By:DaveC,11/10/2014 8:51:22 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Graphic & Design > Adobe > Adobe Photoshop Elements 13 for Windows & Mac - Full Version

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Adobe Photoshop os still #1
Pros: Photoshop is great. This is my 2nd copy, which is a complete waste but a terrific money maker for Adobe, I presume. After a PC dies and one moves, software download disks go missing. What a rip off
Cons: must buy a replacement when the software install disk is lost. NOT SO GOOD! No fun paying twice!!!
Other Thoughts: a rip off
Reviewed By:Ripped Off,11/9/2014 11:53:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Graphic & Design > Corel > Corel PaintShop Pro X6 Ultimate

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Contains Spam
Pros: My main reason for purchasing this product was because Adobe Photoshop (all versions) has completely abandoned the ability to crop an image to an exact pixel dimension and still maintain an aspect ratio. My complaint with Photoshop is that it ties the crop function with the re-size function. There is no (easy) way to crop an image without re-sizing.
PaintShop Pro does a reliable job doing this, although it occasionally messes up the aspect ratio. This is the reason I'm giving it a two-star rating. Without this, and because of the cons listed below, I would have giving it a one-star review (or lower if I could).
Cons: Almost every time I start or close the program I receive a pop-up trying to sell me some other products (usually Corel products, but not always). I could maybe understand this behavior from a freeware product, but for a supposedly professional product that I bought at retail price, this is completely unacceptable. I'm probably going to uninstall.
Other Thoughts: It took my well over a month to finally receive this product after purchasing. On Newegg's tracking page it sat in a "Shipped" state for weeks. Newegg stated that shipping could take up to 10 days so I waited the 10 days before contacting them. They took my complaint and said I would hear from an associate within two days. Eight days later I did hear from someone who wanted more information who decided the problem was with product distributor (I got the impression that this product was being shipped from a third party, probably directly from Corel). About 10 days later I finally got another notice that my product had shipped and it finally arrived about 10 days later. But finally it arrived. I don't attribute this problem to Newegg but to the Software company directly.

Note my rating did not take this into account since this was a shipping problem and not an issue with the product. However, I didn't give the product a good rating as explained above.
Reviewed By:Rick,11/7/2014 2:45:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Graphic & Design > Encore Software > Encore Software The Print Shop 3.0

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Stay Away from Encore Software
Pros: Affordable
Cons: Difficult to get some features to work.
Encore provides absolutely no tech support for their products. Once you purchase it, your on your own. If something doesn't work they don't care.
Other Thoughts: I would not recomend buying software from Encore.
Reviewed By:Disgusted with Encor,10/29/2014 12:47:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Graphic & Design > Quark > Quark QuarkXPress 10

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great but...
Pros: Works great, really allows for ease in making up nice looking documents.
Cons: Can't open files saved on older versions.
Other Thoughts: Most program developers have the functionality to open anything created in older versions on the same program. This was the only downfall I've seen using this.
Reviewed By:N/A,10/28/2014 6:16:22 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Graphic & Design > Corel > Corel PaintShop Pro X6 Ultimate

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Prompt shipment. Installed less than twenty-four hours now. No issues as yet.
Cons: None as yet
Reviewed By:LJW,10/27/2014 8:32:25 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat Low and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Graphic & Design > Corel > Corel PaintShop Pro X6

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Corel PaintShop Pro X6 - Reasonable Cost Photo Editing
Pros: - Inexpensive on Sale.
- Has Many Quick Editing Tools.
- Has Many of the Same Tools as Photoshop for Editing.
Cons: - Screen Layout is quirky.
- Can't page through the que'd photos quickly.
- Can't adjust the resolution of the edited images easily.
- Doesn't have lens compensation feature that I can find.
- Doesn't have light type compensation feature that I can find.
Other Thoughts: I had Adobe Photoshop CS that I used for many years but I lost the install disc. When I built a couple new laptops I didn't want to clone the HDD so I installed a new OS and programs. Lost the Photoshop CS.

I needed a photo editing program and this Corel PaintShop Pro X6 was on sale so I decided to try it out for under US$20. I was pleasantly surprised.

The GUI is different than Adobe and the tools are more limited. Things like the number of brushes, the typefaces, the scripts, and the file saving options are not as broad as the Adobe Photoshop suite. I paid less than 10% of what I would have to pay for Adobe Photoshop. I'm willing to accept the more limited tools for that price.

Is this software good enough for professional users who make their living in this field? No, I don't think so. As far as I can tell, there are no special add-ons to allow for image compensation for particular cameras/lenses. There is only a basic tool set for most of the image adjustment features. I could not find an adjustment for lightsource compensation (to take the yellowness out of the image from fluorescent lights). I downloaded all the updates and still couldn't find those features. I am still checking if there are others available for this version of the program.

There is a newer version of this program (Corel PaintShop Pro X7) and a Corel PaintShop Pro Ultimate version. I have not purchased or evaluated either of these programs. The spec sheets indicate there are more features for the Ultimate version.

For most casual users who just want to retouch some photos, reduce redeye, change the image size, or switch out the backgrounds, this program is perfectly adequate. It has all those features readily accessible.

If you get this program on sale at Newegg for under US$20, it is a great deal.
Reviewed By:N/A,10/6/2014 8:21:44 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Graphic & Design > Corel > Corel CorelDRAW Graphics Suite X7 Upgrade

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 You will get virtually no Technical Support
Pros: Works well when it works.
Cons: You have 30 days of technical support. After that you have to buy it. There are known problems with the product and if you reinstall you will not get renewed installation help.
Other Thoughts: This is expensive software. Corel should provide at least minimal support. They do not. They do however send you advertising while running the program.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/30/2014 11:35:39 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Graphic & Design > X-Rite > X-Rite ColorMunki Smile

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Affordable Solution
Pros: easy to use
quick to install
worked fine
Cons: none seen so far
Reviewed By:N/A,9/26/2014 10:22:35 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.