Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Antivirus & Internet Security > ESET > ESET NOD32 Antivirus 2015 - 3 PCs

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good AV
Pros: It doesn't break, bog down, cause conflicts in my system. The protection is supposed to be pretty good as well, from what I've read. My system runs well with this AV.
Cons: I'd prefer more license management controls via the web.
Other Thoughts: I've regretted installing about 80% of the antivirus programs out on the market. I did not regret installing this one. Eset seems to be doing things right.
Reviewed By:SillyD,5/19/2015 7:52:08 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Antivirus & Internet Security > AVG > AVG AntiVirus 2015 - 3 PCs / 2 Years

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 works well
Pros: Very easy to install, my computer is now running faster and already took off a virus my other software hadn't seen.
Cons: none
Reviewed By:N/A,5/19/2015 9:14:32 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat Low and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Antivirus & Internet Security > Kaspersky Lab > Kaspersky Anti-Virus 2015 - 3 PCs

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1
Pros: none
Cons: was free with $40 rebate. i never got my $40 back and its been 4 months now since i sent the rebate.
Other Thoughts: terrible
wasted $40 because i mostly use malwarbytes
Reviewed By:N/A,5/18/2015 9:57:23 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Antivirus & Internet Security > ESET > ESET NOD32 Antivirus 6 - 3 PCs

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Fantastic Anti-Virus
Pros: ESET's NOD32 has been my go-to for many years - it has an excellent detection rate, is pretty light-weight in terms of resource usage, and is unobtrusive. Install was very straight-forward and it automatically upgraded me from v6 to the latest v8 which was very nice!
Cons: I havent come across anything to nitpick
Other Thoughts: This AV is great for protecting your computer even when going to high-risk websites, like Facebook games.
Reviewed By:Fus,5/18/2015 9:22:03 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Antivirus & Internet Security > AVG > AVG AntiVirus 2015 - 1 PC / 1 Year (Product Key Card)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 It does what it does
Pros: I have used both the Free AVG and the registered version of the AVG antivirus for many years. I have found that it doesn't place tremendous demands on your system like some of the other companies. It simply sits on your toolbar doing it's job of looking for viruses and some malware. It is usually priced well for what you are getting which in my opinion makes it a good buy. There are some issues as I have pointed out in the cons section, but all in all it is a decent package.
Cons: At the top of my list of gripes is the serial number and registration process. What you receive for your purchase is a card with a serial number that you enter to register your software only it isn't the real serial number. It is a marketing serial number and after you register that serial number along with your email address the real serial number is emailed to you. It is also displayed on your screen. I had problems where the AVG package indicated it was registered yet the next time I booted the machine I found that it wasn't. I had to enter the serial number two different times before I was finally covered. I would prefer that they send me a real disk with a real serial number.

The other issue, although it is minor, is the fact that the AVG antivirus program is quick to pop up an alert on those programs that include an app called Installq that, if left at it's default settings, will install a bunch of unwanted programs on your machine. There really isn't an issue with the app as long as you select the custom installation and uncheck everything so that the unwanted programs do not get installed. I would like to see AVG use a different type of notifier for cases like this. If you don't tell AVG that it is ok to ignore your entire file is gone. I consider this behavior to be a false positive. However, it is better to error on the side of caution that to simply ignore the trait.
Other Thoughts: AVG is better than some and worse than some antivirus programs. It has been my experience that you have to obtain an additional malware detection program or two to run periodically (at least monthly) to keep your machine completely clean and working at it's up-most efficiency. It is a trade off though. If you get a antivirus program that handles both viruses and malware then you generally will find that it takes a toll on the performance of your machine. So I would rather have a fast little program that does a good job detecting the malicious stuff and doesn't bog down my machine checking for nuisance items. Some will argue that AVG isn't as good as other virus detection programs, but that has not been my experience. There may be a few programs that are better, but AVG is certainly up there with the best of them. Besides, no one program will catch everything. I think that, aside from the registration issues, you should be happy with the way that AVG functions and the protections it provides.
Reviewed By:SnakeMan,5/17/2015 6:38:06 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Antivirus & Internet Security > ESET > ESET Smart Security 6 - 3 PCs

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Overloads the computer
Pros: Its easy to install. I guess it provides fair protection.
Cons: It slowed my laptop to a crawl. So much so that I had to uninstall it.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/15/2015 2:15:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Antivirus & Internet Security > Kaspersky Lab > Kaspersky Internet Security 2015 - 3 PCs

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Select Another Product than Internet Security 2015
Pros: First, it is an Internet security package. Second, if your hobby is problem solving at length with software settings and Internet connections, this is just the product for you.
Cons: After uninstalling 2014, used the 2015 installation disc with a 3-computer license. Installed OK on one computer, but after two tries on the second computer, the software shows that 2015 is installed but will not reset days to expiration. Neither computer will allow connection with My Kaspersky, giving a proxy server error and then preventing any other action to connect with Kaspersky even after turning off proxy server connection in Settings. Safe Money "insists" that I use it for my banking connections and then blocks any other secure connection through Chrome. A very troublesome product that takes entirely too much time to set up and get operational. Over 10 hours of fiddling with various settings without any success in getting around the many issues. 2014 version worked fine...2015 appears to be simply too difficult for the average user to install and get operational.
Other Thoughts: Sadly, this product has a good reputation in some quarters, but I need a product that installs smoothly, has settings that actually work, and gives me a measure of control instead of check-boxes that apparently do nothing.
Reviewed By:Jim S.,5/14/2015 8:52:13 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Antivirus & Internet Security > McAfee > McAfee AntiVirus Plus 2015 - 1 PC

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 serves it's purpose
Pros: works, is great for notifying me when there is a potential virus.
Cons: kind of annoying with constant pop ups when you are trying to do something.
Reviewed By:cherdman51,5/14/2015 5:37:16 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Antivirus & Internet Security > AVG > AVG AntiVirus 2015 - 1 PC / 1 Year (Product Key Card)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nice antivirus
Pros: AVG is about as good as any of the Antivirus packages available. It really doesn't have much for malware protection but there are other packages available that will take care of that. AVG doesn't put much load on the machine and does a relatively good job.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: If you are looking for a decent antivirus package that is fairly inexpensive then this may be the package for you.
Reviewed By:SnakeMan,5/13/2015 7:57:11 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Antivirus & Internet Security > Kaspersky Lab > Kaspersky Internet Security 2015 - 3 PCs

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2
Pros: Okay product.
Cons: Kaspersky conveniently forgets to send the rebate check unless you go to their web site to check on it, or else it takes forever to be received by the buyer. No rebate yet and I purchased it 4 months ago.
Reviewed By:SW,5/13/2015 9:44:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.