Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Antivirus & Internet Security > Malwarebytes > Malwarebytes Anti-Malware Pro Lifetime - 1 PC

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: It really works . I run this av on 3 computers with no problems .my os is winnxp sp3
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Really happy to be a life time owner of a product that does what it says One more thought DO NOT LOOSE THE REG NUMBERS ! For a reinstall you can download the free trial verson from the Malwarebites web and use the reg numbers to activate it .
Reviewed By:Keitho,11/24/2014 4:44:27 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Antivirus & Internet Security > Kaspersky Lab > Kaspersky Anti-Virus 2015 - 3 PCs

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 anti-virus
Pros: Best antivirus program that I have used. Have used Kasperski for over 5 years.
Cons: None I know of.
Reviewed By:N/A,11/23/2014 8:12:23 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Antivirus & Internet Security > Symantec > Symantec Norton Security with Backup

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Replaces NIS Perfectly on PCs
Pros: Seems to replace NIS perfectly. Only difference is that it can go on multiple devices (up to either 5 or 10, depending on specific packaging) and is designed to install on smart phones as well as PCs. I am spending less to use on more devices.
Cons: None that I can see.
Other Thoughts: I think Symantec is doing this to get a stronger foothold in the non-PC market, e.g. smart phones. It is their old NIS product for PCs, presumably augmented by a phone version. Haven't tried the phone version yet, but the PC product works exactly like NIS.

The 10-device version includes cloud storage and a backup mechanism, but you don't have to use it - just take the extra 5 devices for $10.
Reviewed By:Steve20A,11/23/2014 7:24:46 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Antivirus & Internet Security > ESET > ESET Smart Security 2014 - 3 PCs

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 as great as it sounds
Pros: eset combined w/ malwarbytes (lifetime subscription) has protected my family from many a trojan horse. I've had it for a few years now on multiple cpus/yr. i've had kids and teens playing virus-laden games the entire time too. we run scans daily. before eset--i averaged easity 100's of $ and a ton of headaches. Virus totally killed one cpu. I'm going to be a life-long customer. thx eset!!!
Cons: none whatsoever.
Other Thoughts: tried Office Max where you call their reps, kasperski, other free ones. eset is the ONLY company I haven't been disappointed with..
Reviewed By:packbuck,11/23/2014 12:45:40 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Antivirus & Internet Security > Symantec > Symantec Norton Internet Security 2014 - 3 PCs

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great
Pros: Works well. Some people do not want to pay for Av/FW,
but this works well and computers with it are in better
shape than others with free.
Cons: -
Reviewed By:Tech Junkie,11/22/2014 2:22:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Antivirus & Internet Security > Malwarebytes > Malwarebytes Anti-Malware Premium - 3 PCs / 1 Year

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 bad
Pros: free scanner is the only good part of this
Cons: TCPIP blue screens when realtime protection turned on. I have seen this on several machines.
Reviewed By:GLaverne Flambeau,11/22/2014 1:42:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Antivirus & Internet Security > Total Defense > Total Defense Premium Internet Security - 5 User

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great value for the buck
Pros: Just upgraded my wife's computer. First thing she did was download a program with malware/virus. Augh!!!! Bought this program and it easily and quickly fixed the problem.

Program cost $40 with a $40 rebate. You cannot beat that!!!!
Cons: Activation required a call to their tech department as product key had to be entered first on their web site before I could activate software. Their tech support was easy to reach and there was no hold time.

Rebate required not only the receipt and the UPC code, but also the product key. Rebate processing had a $4 fee to expedite. Otherwise, it takes 8-10 weeks.
Other Thoughts: Great value
Reviewed By:Bobalouie,11/22/2014 4:18:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Antivirus & Internet Security > Symantec > Symantec Norton Security

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 It's Norton
Pros: If you have been using Norton for your internet security, then this is a no brainer... get it. It has a low footprint on computer resources and has newer SONAR heuristics that provides protection from newer threats if you're connected to the internet. There has been much discussion about how much you're protected if you use your PC while not connected. ie, doing a Power Point presentation, etc and using a USB. This may affect many or few and no definitive answer has been provided by Norton yet (see Norton Forums). I'm always connected so I like the feature and don't consider it a problem.
Cons: Norton's upgrade policy from NIS or 360 to this product has been a big topic on the Norton Forums. Unlike past years where you could automatically upgrade to a newer version when it became available, they consider this a new product and you have to buy it first then they will add your days remaining from your old subscription if you contact them via CHAT. Most people are not happy with this new policy and it seems Norton doesn't really care. They are still supporting the older versions so I'd wait for a sale price to purchase this.
Another big problem seems to be some computers have experienced a long shutdown time. (20-30 minutes or longer). I'm not having this problem and I'm not sure how many are, but it's a big topic again on the Norton Forums. Norton is aware of it and is working on a fix. You might want to download the Trial version and see if it works for you or wait until the fix is released.
Other Thoughts: This is the newest Norton protection, v22 as opposed to the previous v21 version of NIS. I don't understand why this is sold as a boxed version and also a download version. All this box has in it is a card with your new key code on it. You end up downloading the program anyway. And with no disk provided, you have to be sure to make your own "bootable recovery" disk. This function is easy to do as they provide a link to make it.
I downloaded the Trial version from Norton and installed it on top of my older NIS v21 with no problems. All my old settings and Identity Safe passwords transferred flawlessly. When I got my key code from Newegg, I entered it in the program, connected to CHAT and all my unused days were added to my account.
Installing on other devices is a snap. Just email the other PC or phone through your Norton account and click on the link provided. You get 5 covered devices with this program and 10 if you get NSwB (with Backup).
Reviewed By:PhxFlyer,11/20/2014 8:28:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Antivirus & Internet Security > Malwarebytes > Malwarebytes Anti-Malware Premium 2.0 - 3 PCs / 1 Year

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Terrible
Pros: No pros for this paid versiion.
The on-demand scanner is nice but it is free. The real-time scanner that you pay for is worse than useless.
Cons: The realtime scanner/ realtime detection and prevention (the only part that you are paying for) is a disaster.
1. Real time protection turns itsel off.
Real time protection will turn itself off. You get no warning or error unless you happen to check the MWB panel.
2. De-activation problems. The user has to "activate" the software using the key provided in the packaging. This always works but the software "de-activates" itself for no reason and without explanation. User does not get any kind of message warning that realtime is turned off unless he checks the status interface in the lower right hand corner of the screen.
3. When MWB realtime finds a file it will either:
a. Pop up the name of the file with no explanation or options
b. Pup up the file name with no explanation but with the option to "exclude". Most uses think "exclude:" means "don't allow this file to run. In Malwarebytes land it means the opposite.
c. When a file trips Malwarebytes detector the user NEVER gets the interface described in the documentation "Allow Once", "Exclude" or "Quarantine".

Files will be detected, a pop up identifies a file but gives the user no options.
1 De-Activation problems: this software will deactivate itself for no reason..this turns off the real time scanning.
Other Thoughts: I've installed this on a dozen or more computers (and paid for each license). Even if MWB fixes these problems I doubt that I can convince my users to allow it back on their systems.
I've tried these on machines with MS Security essentials and Mcafee thinking MWB might conflict with AV but I get the same problem on both configurations.
Reviewed By:GLaverne Flambeau,11/17/2014 8:55:42 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Antivirus & Internet Security > BitDefender > Bitdefender Total Security 2015 - Standard - 1 PC / 1 YR

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 It is OK
Pros: Easy to install, learns what you do
Cons: Not very user friendly, cannot really "tune" it to an individuals likings
Other Thoughts: If you are looking for a basic, run of the mill security system, then this is for you. If you are looking for something you can really customize (which is what I wanted), then look else where. This is great for people who are not tech savvy or someone looking just to cover the computer without a lot of hassle.
Reviewed By:want297z,11/16/2014 4:14:12 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.