Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Business & Finance - Download > H&R Block > H&R BLOCK 2014 Deluxe + State Windows - Download

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 No import, additional fee for state.
Pros: Can file taxes
Cons: Can not import from H&R Block online
State is an additional fee
Just the online interface ported to a desktop app
Reviewed By:N/A,4/14/2015 11:14:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Business & Finance - Download > Intuit > Intuit TurboTax Premier 2014 For Windows - Download

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Loses eggs for removing previous features
Pros: The software does the job. While it hasn't upgraded capabilities in quite a few years, it does have reasonable tools. It's a solid product I've been using for quite a few years.
Cons: In addition to TTax not truly updating its capabilities, in 2014 several of its products were downgraded of key schedules. Most pertinent to Premier is that Schedule C, in any form, is no longer included. Don't believe the matrix on the Intuit website; when you hit Sch C, you are told, if you try to enter Sch C data, "TurboTax no longer supports your tax situation".

Well, thanks a lot, TurboTax. A product we depend on for years to do a job now no longer does the same job it used to. If you want to hike the price, go ahead. But don't get slimy and try to force us into a new product by trying to catch us with our pants down.
Other Thoughts: I'll be watching TurboTax very closely over this next year. If Schedule C isn't returned to Premier, and if the previous features aren't returned to Deluxe, I will certainly be kissing Intuit goodbye for 2015. Indeed, I may not be a customer next year, anyway. Intuit lost a lost of trust with this latest stunt, and I will be looking around for alternatives this year.
Reviewed By:StarMan,4/13/2015 10:59:29 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Business & Finance - Download > H&R Block > H&R BLOCK 2014 Basic Windows - Download

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 NO WAY to Download without NEWEGG Download manager...
Pros: ?? Who knows; can't get it without Newegg download manager
Cons: All links in e-mail and purchase history DO NOT WORK!
Other Thoughts: no way to get it
Reviewed By:ARVIS H.,4/13/2015 9:41:43 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Business & Finance - Download > H&R Block > H&R BLOCK 2014 Deluxe Windows - Download

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Be careful what you wish for...you get what you pay for...
Pros: Allowed me to file my Federal Return Electronically (after an hour on their chat support line).
Cons: With the snafu that Turbo Tax created for itself by making people buy their more expensive version to account for capital gains/losses with their 2014 returns, many like me opted to go to H&R block instead and save some money on the software. As a result, I suspect H&R block's support line is going to be a long wait for most (took me 45 minutes to get a chat support window on 4/12, and I was on hold with their phone support line that long as well until I hung up). So be careful what you wish for H&R, as you have a lot of converts to take care of now, and into 2015.

I didn't realize that H&R block's software didn't come with the ability to do my state software. Instead you have to pay extra. You should factor that into your purchasing decision.

My activation code from Newegg only allowed me to submit 2 federal returns electronically (it was supposed to allow for 5). I had to do 3, so I had to use a chat support session to get a new activation code from H&R block. Took about 45 minutes to get someone on the chat session, but when I did I got a new code and it worked.
Other Thoughts: Based on my experience this year, I think I am going back to Turbo Tax next year for my 2015 returns. That's too bad as I was looking forward to trying something different, and providing the competition to Turbo Tax some support. I hope H&R Block learns from its mistakes this year and improves its products. Maybe then I'll try them again.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/12/2015 9:45:51 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Business & Finance - Download > Microsoft > Microsoft Office Home & Student 2013 - Download - 1 PC

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 DO NOT BUY
Pros: I cant see any pros since I can not download the software to install it, so I guess the only pro I see is that my PC still works after pounding on the keyboard in frustration of Microsoft B* that you need to create an account to download the software.
Cons: As another member said "Newegg sends you an email w/ the product key, BUT, then you have to go to Microsoft and create a Microsoft account to download it..." the problem is that this Microsoft Account Signup Page is down, so without being able to create a MS Account, you CAN NOT download the software to enter the Product Key Newegg sends you. P.S. I bought a digital copy because I needed to open some work related stuff that required immediate attention, so much for that.
Other Thoughts: People, save yourself a lot of headaches and frustration, either order a Media Disk, or drive to Best Buy and get one as I ended up doing (Sorry Newegg, I love you guys, but not today, although I know this is not your fault).
Reviewed By:Martin,4/11/2015 11:15:52 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Business & Finance - Download > H&R Block > H&R BLOCK 2014 Premium & Business Windows - Download

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 The Wort Tax Software Ever
Pros: None
Cons: I wouldn't recommend this product. I bought it because it was on sale. I usually use Turbotax Business for my Estate tax returns. The PDF it creates is small and it prints so small that you can even read it. There doesn't seem to be a way to change it. I called customer support. The guy was not able to help so he gave me a number. Can you believe it was the Business division of the IRS? He did that because I told him I was using H&R Block Business!
Other Thoughts: Pay the price for a real product. It's well worth it!
Reviewed By:sanrose,4/8/2015 12:31:30 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Business & Finance - Download > Intuit > Intuit QuickBooks Pro 2015 - Download

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Forced to upgrade
Pros: Not sure there are any pros compared to the version we had before which was 2012. QB has changed quite a bit since the 2012 version.
Cons: In certain areas windows pop up that have buttons on the bottom. The problem is that these buttons are under the task bar so you can't click them. VERY ANNOYING!
Other Thoughts: The only reason we upgraded was because were were forced to.
Reviewed By:Drew,4/5/2015 6:30:59 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Business & Finance - Download > H&R Block > H&R BLOCK 2014 Deluxe + State Windows - Download

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Terrible in every way
Pros: You can file your taxes through it.
Cons: Does not import from online verison
State file costs extra even though the name implies that it's included
Clunky software
Other Thoughts: I've used the HRBlock online version through their website for years. I thought this would basically be an extension of that. It's not. It's clunky standalone software that can't sync with any of the data you're previously entered/given to HRBlock, it costs extra to use, etc.

Even offering this for sale, especially with the misleading title, has soured me from purchasing at Newegg.
Reviewed By:Vcize,4/2/2015 2:25:05 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Business & Finance - Download > Microsoft > Microsoft Word 2013 - Download - 1 PC

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Way to expensive for what it is
Pros: It works and does what it's supposed to do. Bought because my companies membership application requires it to compose emails from within itself.
Cons: Why pay for a word processor when open office is free? If open office worked with the software we use I would have never purchased it. For what it is, it's not reasonably priced, and neither is office 365 for that matter when compared to the equivalent google version. Microsoft needs to rethink the way they distribute their office software.
Reviewed By:Nix,4/1/2015 7:13:46 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Business & Finance - Download > H&R Block > H&R BLOCK 2014 Deluxe + State Windows - Download

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Junk
Pros: Not sure yet. It installs fine, but that's about it.
Cons: If you need Schedule F you might as well just get the paper worksheets. Chat support to answer a question did not work. Called the toll-free number for support on a tax question was put on hold for excess of 20 minutes -- I hung up at 20 minutes.
Reviewed By:Jack,3/28/2015 4:12:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.