Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • | Wish List
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Audio & Video Editing > Nero > Nero Recode 2014 - Download

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Great, but two eggs deducted for trying to sneak Ask toolbar in
Pros: I have been looking for a stable program to batch 10 years worth of family movies in various formats to h264 for the cloud element of a three-pronged backup strategy.

I have tried numerous others (Any Video, mediacoder, handbrake, etc.) but none would accept a large batch with any reliability. I was hesitant to try a Nero product since they've really gone downhill since around Nero 6. I decided to give Recode 2014 a shot. I've run into a few instances that this edition locks up and has to be closed through task manager (more than 50 1gb+ files in queue), but it has been surprisingly reliable overall, and almost completely reliable if you batch fewer than 20 videos at a time.

Quality-wise it does pretty well, but I haven't delved into any of the deeper encoding settings. I've set the quality slider bar to the highest setting and checked the option to use Intel's Quicksync, and it has churned through a thousand or so 1-10 minute .avis, .movs, etc. in the last week or so with minimal babysitting.

The quicksync option reduces quality at times, but I'm willing to accept that in order to get the videos off-site and online ASAP, especially since the conversion from some formats (.mov comes to mind) reduces the size of the video to about 25% or less of the original while still being very viewable.

Works great for my needs.

For anyone wondering- Windows8 desktop, Ivy bridge i5, 16gb RAM
Cons: Here is where it lost the two eggs.

I paid for this software, Nero. There is no reason for you to put sneak-attack "Recommended Installation" nonsense in so that I'll find the Ask toolbar or some other open-candy installations junking up my system.

I didn't get caught by it, but I'm sure many people will. Yes you'll get a little bit more ad revenue from the tactic, but that is inexcusable for a paid product. Take that out and you'll get four eggs.
Other Thoughts: I was glad to see it is stable, but very disappointed to see the attempt to install third party software. If you purchase it please be cautious during installation and be sure you're unchecking the relevent boxes to avoid 3rd party installs.
Reviewed By:dfor,4/16/2014 9:18:58 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Audio & Video Editing > Nero > Nero Burning Rom 2014 - Download

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Does the job well enough
Pros: It's a CD/DVD/Blu ray burning software and does the job rather well. I was looking for it to be faster than it actually writes but it's adequate enough. However, the speed or lack thereof cost it one egg.
Cons: I gave this three eggs because the software was a bit slower that previous windows versions I have used.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/13/2014 5:26:32 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Audio & Video Editing > Corel > Corel WinDVD Pro 11 EN - Download

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 i regret buying this
Pros: downloadable software
alot of blu-ray drives don't come with software so this will work for that.
Cons: the flix finder option has been deleted in their update and that website is for sale. The 2d to 3d option doesn't work for most things. the upscale converter is horrible and adds a static look to the video.I overpaid for this on newegg since corel website has it for 49.99 normal price and newegg on sale was 69.99.
Other Thoughts: I've never really had to do much price compairing with newegg but since this purchase i will from now on and may decide to shop elsewhere. This is as advertised with flix finder but guess what, it was removed from the software when u update since they shut down that feature. I truely regret this purchase and am not very happy with newegg right now.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/8/2014 11:52:43 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Audio & Video Editing > Nero > Nero Burning Rom 2014 - Download

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Good service
Cons: none
Reviewed By:N/A,2/22/2014 8:25:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Audio & Video Editing > CyberLink > CyberLink PowerDirector 12 Ultra - Download

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Amazing Software
Pros: Amazing software, Really easy to use, great features, great interface!
Cons: None at the moment.
Other Thoughts: Great program for the money, don't miss a chance to buy it.
Reviewed By:Minstedmaz,2/17/2014 10:03:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Audio & Video Editing > CyberLink > PowerDVD 13 Pro - Download

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 would not buy
Pros: it played blurays, thats all that mattered to me
Cons: I used the 10 version when i bought my bluray drive. I had windows 7 at the time and everything worked fine. I had recently upgraded to windows 8, and this thing stopped working.

I contacted customer support and was told powerdvd10 is not supported on windows8 and that I HAVE TO PAY ANOTHER $80 TO UPGRADE TO 13.

while this product works when you get it, they force you to pay again when a new operating system comes out. I would save the money buying this and buy a regular bluray player.
Other Thoughts: I paid $100 for my bluray drive, and now im gonna have to basically rent this product every couple of years.

If they would have gave me a 50% discount, i might still use their services, but its always about that $$$
Manufacturer Response:Hello David,
We are sorry to hear about your situation. PowerDVD 10 is not compatible with Windows 8 because it is using 4 year old software architecture, which needed to be updated significantly to fit the specs of the latest operating system.

PowerDVD 10 was developed and tested with the operating systems and hardware devices available at that time. We released many free patch updates to ensure our customers were fully supported for the intended OS and/or hardware devices. To do so for a whole new operating system was just not feasible as a lot of our resources are dedicated to developing new software versions for the latest technologies and features such as 4K, which is also not available in version 10. In fact there is some hardware that supported Windows 7, which also needs to be upgraded to work with Windows 8 architecture.

We do apologize that you were not aware of this when you paid to upgrade to Windows 8. However, PowerDVD 12 does support Windows 8 and I am sure you can find a lower price for that version on this or one of our other verified retail stores. See the list below:

http://www.cyberlink.com/stat/regional-stores/enu/index.jsp

Regards,
David

Reviewed By:N/A,2/7/2014 10:27:59 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat Low and has owned this product more than 1 year.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Audio & Video Editing > ArcSoft, Inc. > ArcSoft TotalMedia Theatre 6 - Download

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 dont buy this junk
Pros: none total junk. if I could give it zero eggs I would
Cons: total junk. keep getting cannot connect to server error. i'll watch blu rays on my tv from now on
Other Thoughts: I purchased this rubbish 3 days ago and all I am getting is cannot connect to server to activate it after entering the newegg e-mail and the key code I get a cannot connect to server error complete waste of money. and new egg won't offer me a refund junk to that I am not paying 80 bucks for a free trial I will be having my bank go after them and get my money back if it comes to that
Reviewed By:gotto,2/6/2014 1:54:54 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Audio & Video Editing > CyberLink > PowerDVD 13 Pro - Download

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 PowerDVD 13 Pro - Download
Pros: Works great!
Cons: This is an older version. As soon as you download and install, it asks you to update to the latest and greatest. I wouldn't buy this older version unless the price was really good!
Other Thoughts: N/A
Reviewed By:Ynotm8,2/4/2014 6:07:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Audio & Video Editing > Nero > Nero 2014 Platinum - Download

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works great
Pros: Does everything it says it does.Install was easy no problems at all with this software.
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: Great software buy it.
Reviewed By:24oz,2/1/2014 4:04:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Audio & Video Editing > MAGIX > MAGIX Music Maker 2014 Premium - Download

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Is awesome
Pros: You are able to take the pre-loaded sounds and make music with them, or you can record your own and use it to mix and save your songs
Cons: Sometimes when working with things that are multiple tempos, sounds I want at regular speed are auto sped up. It's very frustrating.
Other Thoughts: Maybe just get the regular edition, as there really doesn't seem to be much of a difference other than price
Reviewed By:N/A,1/30/2014 3:19:05 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau