Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Operating Systems - Download > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 8.1 (Full Version) - Download

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Deceptive title, but good OS
Pros: I realize there are a lot of people that don't, but I quite like windows 8. The desktop mode hasn't changed much and the "Metro" mode is pretty great with a Leap Motion.
Good speed, good stability, and enough customization options under the hood for nerds like me.
Cons: The delivery!
You get two things when you buy this: A key for windows, and a .exe download that installs a secure downloader. The secure downloader will let you install now, save to a flash drive, or save to an ISO.
---That immediately rules out anyone with a Mac or Linux system looking to install windows. (no .exe files on unix, I doubt a secure downloader would work in wine)
The downloader is not compatible with the windows 10 preview, as I just recently discovered. It also states that the program is not meant for users of XP or Vista on the product page, so I guess that leaves... 7 and ME?
I'm half joking, but seriously - don't get this unless you're buying it for another computer, or you're upgrading from windows 7.
Other Thoughts: They really, really need to make it clearer how the download process works on the product page.

The bottom line is, only get this if you're:
--installing it on another computer (AND the one you're running has Windows 7, 8, or 8.1 AND your processors match [x64 or x86])
OR
--Running windows 7 and looking to upgrade
OR
--Not paying attention
Reviewed By:CosmicSlop,5/18/2015 6:28:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Operating Systems - Download > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 8.1 (Full Version) - Download

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Mac users - Be Careful!!
Pros: All the usual ones, whatever they are.
Cons: Mac users wishing to create a virtual machine using Parallels, VmWare Fusion or other virtualization software should be advised that this download process only works if you are upgrading a VM from Windows 7. If you have XP or Vista, it won't work. Buy a version with actual disks.
Reviewed By:Riph,3/17/2015 1:35:10 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Operating Systems - Download > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 8.1 (Full Version) - Download

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Not for Virtual Installation
Pros: Who Knows?
Cons: You see full version, you think, "I am buying the ability to install clean, without a prior Windows installation; that is an upgrade" And you are WRONG.

The program you get (not Windows) only allows you to download if you are already running Windows. HOW IS THAT NOT AN UPGRADE VERSION?

SO, if you are installing on a VM let's say, and you are trying to do the right thing and pay for a legit license, you are hosed.

That's because this version will not allow you to download 64-bit if you are on a 32-bit system. Sure that makes the novice not able to kill their computer, but it keeps me from being able to install anything. I have a license for 32-bit Win7, and access to other 32-bit computers, but I want to install on a 64-bit system. And, you can't do that, not with this. You can't just go download an iso either, WHICH is what YOU SHOULD BE ABLE TO DO.

Only Microsoft would make it so much easier to cut of your own head than install their product.

Oh, and don't try and use Windows 10 as the go between either, platform not supported. You know what platform isn't supported? Windows.

Wasted money.
Other Thoughts: Seriously, use Linux, buy a Mac, just let Windows die.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/30/2015 12:15:40 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

3 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Operating Systems - Download > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 8.1 (Full Version) - Download

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Sweet!!!!
Pros: I'm able to work on my build on a Sunday after having no OS on Saturday. Needless to say, I'm smiling. Everything went smooth as glass. This is the second time I've done this and the ability to download and create your install disk is a blessing, indeed.
Cons: I have none.
Other Thoughts: The only real requirement is to PAY ATTENTION. If you are sloppy or distracted, I can see where problems could pop up. Have your printer on and ready and all the rest of it is just follow the bouncing ball.
Reviewed By:Happy Camper,1/25/2015 11:21:32 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Operating Systems - Download > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 8.1 (Full Version) - Download

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 This is not an .iso
Pros: The Product Key #.
Cons: This requires Windows 7 to run.
Other Thoughts: This points to a download file that is an installer that requires Windows to run. If you are trying to install a virtual machine, then you will need to find someone with a Windows PC running at least Windows 7 to create the installation .iso. So, if you are trying to find a legal way to install Windows on a Mac, buy a installation DVD instead. You are not saving any time doing it this way.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/19/2015 9:11:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Operating Systems - Download > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 8.1 (Full Version) - Download

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Not a good Mac Option
Pros: Windows 8.1 immediately to download
Cons: The installer provided by New Egg and Microsoft don't work on a Mac computer. So you have to have access to a computer already running windows to even be able to download it. This is ridiculous in my opinion and makes the whole thing a big mess and a huge hassle, if you can even do it.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/6/2015 3:07:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Operating Systems - Download > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 8.1 Pro Pack (Win 8.1 to Win 8.1 Pro Upgrade) - Online Code

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Simple, fast.
Pros: Delivered within 30 minutes, worked like a charm.
Cons: None really, unless you don't file the information away.
Other Thoughts: Saves five bucks over ordering physical media.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/6/2015 2:02:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Operating Systems - Download > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 8.1 (Full Version) - Download

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Only Good for Code
Pros: It's Windows 8.1, and I love Windows 8.
Cons: I have ended up having to create an ISO file on a flash drive with the Windows Media Creator, and hopefully that will work. All you really get if you do not have a past OS on a machine is the activation code. It takes a little more time, but it gives you something to do while you are waiting for the parts!
Other Thoughts: Just be aware that you cannot put this on a flash drive and have it work. You have to do additional steps.
Reviewed By:iccowan,12/30/2014 5:53:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Operating Systems - Download > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 8.1 (Full Version) - Download

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Waste of money!
Pros: fast boot up!
Cons: everything works great but unfortunatlly I cant play dvds! Windows media player cant find my optical drive. Then I read the Microsoft reviews and I have to get the Microsoft media center pro package?
Other Thoughts: overall im goin back to windows 7!!
Reviewed By:N/A,11/17/2014 1:21:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
0 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Operating Systems - Download > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 8.1 (Full Version) - Download

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Poor Description - Revised
Pros: Overall good OS, was relatively easy to install once I had an understanding of how the installer would work.
Cons: The OS has a lot of limiting factors, and takes a fair amount of getting used to. The installer is a little confusing. Must be downloaded to a current windows computer, and then it will let you create an ISO, or build a bootable thumb drive.
Other Thoughts: Just to clarify, this is an revised version of my other review. I could not find a way to update my review.

During my initial install, i thought it was going to install windows 8 on the PC that I was downloading to, when the installer said "getting things ready"; but it was getting ready to help me build an ISO or thumb drive. I did both.

I would say overall a good product, I'm happy with my investment.
Reviewed By:ejx64,11/10/2014 9:06:52 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.