Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Operating Systems - Download > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 8.1 (Full Version) - Download

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 This is not an .iso
Pros: The Product Key #.
Cons: This requires Windows 7 to run.
Other Thoughts: This points to a download file that is an installer that requires Windows to run. If you are trying to install a virtual machine, then you will need to find someone with a Windows PC running at least Windows 7 to create the installation .iso. So, if you are trying to find a legal way to install Windows on a Mac, buy a installation DVD instead. You are not saving any time doing it this way.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/19/2015 9:11:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Operating Systems - Download > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 8.1 (Full Version) - Download

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Not a good Mac Option
Pros: Windows 8.1 immediately to download
Cons: The installer provided by New Egg and Microsoft don't work on a Mac computer. So you have to have access to a computer already running windows to even be able to download it. This is ridiculous in my opinion and makes the whole thing a big mess and a huge hassle, if you can even do it.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/6/2015 3:07:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Operating Systems - Download > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 8.1 Pro Pack (Win 8.1 to Win 8.1 Pro Upgrade) - Online Code

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Simple, fast.
Pros: Delivered within 30 minutes, worked like a charm.
Cons: None really, unless you don't file the information away.
Other Thoughts: Saves five bucks over ordering physical media.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/6/2015 2:02:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Operating Systems - Download > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 8.1 (Full Version) - Download

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Only Good for Code
Pros: It's Windows 8.1, and I love Windows 8.
Cons: I have ended up having to create an ISO file on a flash drive with the Windows Media Creator, and hopefully that will work. All you really get if you do not have a past OS on a machine is the activation code. It takes a little more time, but it gives you something to do while you are waiting for the parts!
Other Thoughts: Just be aware that you cannot put this on a flash drive and have it work. You have to do additional steps.
Reviewed By:iccowan,12/30/2014 5:53:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Operating Systems - Download > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 8.1 (Full Version) - Download

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Waste of money!
Pros: fast boot up!
Cons: everything works great but unfortunatlly I cant play dvds! Windows media player cant find my optical drive. Then I read the Microsoft reviews and I have to get the Microsoft media center pro package?
Other Thoughts: overall im goin back to windows 7!!
Reviewed By:N/A,11/17/2014 1:21:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
0 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Operating Systems - Download > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 8.1 (Full Version) - Download

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Poor Description - Revised
Pros: Overall good OS, was relatively easy to install once I had an understanding of how the installer would work.
Cons: The OS has a lot of limiting factors, and takes a fair amount of getting used to. The installer is a little confusing. Must be downloaded to a current windows computer, and then it will let you create an ISO, or build a bootable thumb drive.
Other Thoughts: Just to clarify, this is an revised version of my other review. I could not find a way to update my review.

During my initial install, i thought it was going to install windows 8 on the PC that I was downloading to, when the installer said "getting things ready"; but it was getting ready to help me build an ISO or thumb drive. I did both.

I would say overall a good product, I'm happy with my investment.
Reviewed By:ejx64,11/10/2014 9:06:52 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Operating Systems - Download > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 8.1 (Full Version) - Download

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Poor Description
Pros: latest version of windows
Cons: lots of misleading information on this page. I've tried multiple ways to get an ISO from the download, as many people who 'answered' questions stated, but I have been unable to do so. I'll have to find a way to get windows 7 on my new computer, to be able to load the full version of windows 8.1 on it.
Reviewed By:ejx64,11/3/2014 10:18:23 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Operating Systems - Download > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 8.1 Pro (Full Version) - Download

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Newegg pulled one over on me too.
Pros: n/a
Cons: I was trying to download a legit copy of Windows 8.1 so I could boot camp it on my Mac. Unfortunately, this is not a digital download for Windows 8.1. It is an installer that is only able to be run on Windows 7 or later. I should have read the reviews first. Total waste of money and time.

Note: You don't even get the product key in the email and customer support won't give it to you.
Reviewed By:N/A,10/20/2014 10:03:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Operating Systems - Download > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 8.1 Pro Pack (Win 8.1 to Win 8.1 Pro Upgrade) - Online Code

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Don't use this method
Pros: None
Cons: I had read the previous cons concerning this method of getting an upgrade, and shrugged them off as people just not reading the description well enough. I had read through and knew what I was getting. What I didn't know was that it was going to take 3 DAYS TO GET A FREAKING KEY CODE. Something as simple as getting an email took 3 DAYS TO GET. The ONLY reason that I am giving this two eggs is because the last guy at new egg that I talked to was able to get me the code in seconds (which in reality kind of ticked me off even more; why couldn't the other two people at new egg that I had spoken to previously gotten it to me that fast). Oh well , I'm gonna just chalk this one up as a life-lesson-learned. If I ain't gett'n the media, I ain't payin' for it. I had to go another route to get the computer upgraded since I was under time constraints.
Other Thoughts: I have a bad habit of not rating what I buy normally. So, when I do rate something it is either going to be freaking awesome or a complete waste of time, piece of JUNK!! Unfortunately in this case.........BIG waste of time, and money.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/25/2014 10:02:31 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Operating Systems - Download > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 8.1 (Full Version) - Download

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 BEWARE! This is Windows 8.1 UPDATER NOT 8.1 ITSELF
Pros: None - as delivered by Newegg this is useless if you want to install to a new PC, Mac hardware or virtual machine UNLESS you have a Windows 7 or higher machine handy to supposedly make an ISO.
Cons: Your download will be Windows 8.1 UPDATER and not the full version of Windows.You are supposed to be able to make an ISO IF you have a Win 7+ machine but I have not been able to test making ISO as I do not have a compatible Windows machine. THIS IS NOT A FULL PRODUCT THAT YOU WILL DOWNLOAD,
Other Thoughts: I have complained to Newegg about this. I have paid for a product that I cannot receive. Nowhere on this product listing does it state the conditions for receiving the file and then getting the product. In my opinion it is their responsibility to deliver what I have paid for in good faith - A FULL VERSION OF WINDOWS 8.1. If there is a satisfactory resolution I will update this review.
Reviewed By:Andy J.,8/13/2014 7:08:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

8 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.