Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Back2School
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Operating Systems - Download > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 10 Professional - Full Version 32 & 64-Bit (Download)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Needs to grow up a bit
Pros: Added features that did not exist in the previous version of windows. Built off the same framework of windows 7. Stable release for the most part.
Cons: Still a lot of room for growth and maturity. Most programs work but there can be issues and quirks that have to be worked out. Some annoying things that need to be changed such as an inability to install windows apps on anything other than C drive.

There are some other annoyances. If you use no AV or an AV that does not report to windows that it exists then you constantly get a windows defender nag. Normally you can turn that off in windows 7 but 10 has no option I can see.
Other Thoughts: It is young and it needs to grow up, but there are things to like about it.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/30/2015 7:38:27 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Operating Systems - Download > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 10 Professional - Full Version 32 & 64-Bit (Download)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Best OS 2015
Pros: Fast, reliable, and edge explorer!
Cons: None!
Reviewed By:Ripper man5,7/30/2015 4:06:31 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Operating Systems - Download > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 8.1 Pro Pack (Win 8.1 to Win 8.1 Pro Upgrade) - Online Code

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 does not work at all, was a gift, but they were mistaken in what they purchased
Pros: they need to have a professional tech rating on the meter. there are many pros to upgrading to windows 8.1 pro edition however i received none of them. i currently am in posession of a code that will not work at all, there is some kind of error with my version of windows 8.1 and it willl not allow the upgrade.
Cons: two hours after receiving the gift of the windows 8.1 pro upgrade digital code (approx 95.00 gift) i attempted to receive a refund because of the fact that it would not work on my system. I had no responsibility in the purchase, someone who loves me very much but is not terribly familiar with computers made the purchase for me, and is currently in tears because she felt she wasted 100$ for no gift for me at all. Newegg did send out a 25$ gift card in response but because of the emotional nature and risk for a large loss in customer investment (considering the code hasnt even been used) I would say they dropped the ball. My customer service rep howerver was extremely helpful and friendly as well as apologetic. being a retail manager myself i understand the difficulty that comes with making bad or good calls even when it comes at a loss to you, the number one driving force should be exceeding profit margin and attachment values, however, allowing a customer a poor experience, having them try to console their fiance over something she did not do wrong, and taking up the better portion of the lattter half of my day with this dramatic exchange . I have been shopping here for over 10 years, but I received a gift that was incorrect. Critical overrides exist for this reason. ive had to do at least three this week, and lo and behold, my company is still within the top 100 fortune 500's. I suppose im a little frustrated, but i will keep shopping here, because i support the site. I do not however support the decidions that been made.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/29/2015 4:10:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Operating Systems - Download > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 8.1 (Full Version) - Download

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Cannot download to linux
Pros: Supposedly instant access (although it could take Newegg 48 hours to verify credit card information).
Cons: I have a Windows notebook with a corrupted EFI partition. I do not have recovery media for this notebook. I bought product thinking I could download to my linux computer, create media, and then either recover of fresh install on my notebook. There is no mention that you must already have Windows (or maybe Mac) to download the product.

Very disappointing. Stay away from this product. I would give zero stars if I could.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/25/2015 7:48:00 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Operating Systems - Download > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 8.1 (Full Version) - Download

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Windows 8.1
Pros: Super fast on SSD
Windows
More "snappy" than 7
Free Windows 10 upgrade
Cons: Some may not like Metro UI
Reviewed By:N/A,6/16/2015 8:50:09 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Operating Systems - Download > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 8.1 Pro Pack (Win 8.1 to Win 8.1 Pro Upgrade) - Online Code

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Going Pro
Pros: Worked flawlessly at home and at work. Upgrading from 8.0 to 8.1 took longer than the Pro upgrade. I was finished and up and running in under an hour.
Cons: None.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/2/2015 9:16:39 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Operating Systems - Download > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 8.1 (Full Version) - Download

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Deceptive title, but good OS
Pros: I realize there are a lot of people that don't, but I quite like windows 8. The desktop mode hasn't changed much and the "Metro" mode is pretty great with a Leap Motion.
Good speed, good stability, and enough customization options under the hood for nerds like me.
Cons: The delivery!
You get two things when you buy this: A key for windows, and a .exe download that installs a secure downloader. The secure downloader will let you install now, save to a flash drive, or save to an ISO.
---That immediately rules out anyone with a Mac or Linux system looking to install windows. (no .exe files on unix, I doubt a secure downloader would work in wine)
The downloader is not compatible with the windows 10 preview, as I just recently discovered. It also states that the program is not meant for users of XP or Vista on the product page, so I guess that leaves... 7 and ME?
I'm half joking, but seriously - don't get this unless you're buying it for another computer, or you're upgrading from windows 7.
Other Thoughts: They really, really need to make it clearer how the download process works on the product page.

The bottom line is, only get this if you're:
--installing it on another computer (AND the one you're running has Windows 7, 8, or 8.1 AND your processors match [x64 or x86])
OR
--Running windows 7 and looking to upgrade
OR
--Not paying attention
Reviewed By:CosmicSlop,5/18/2015 6:28:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Operating Systems - Download > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 8.1 (Full Version) - Download

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Mac users - Be Careful!!
Pros: All the usual ones, whatever they are.
Cons: Mac users wishing to create a virtual machine using Parallels, VmWare Fusion or other virtualization software should be advised that this download process only works if you are upgrading a VM from Windows 7. If you have XP or Vista, it won't work. Buy a version with actual disks.
Reviewed By:Riph,3/17/2015 1:35:10 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Operating Systems - Download > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 8.1 (Full Version) - Download

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Not for Virtual Installation
Pros: Who Knows?
Cons: You see full version, you think, "I am buying the ability to install clean, without a prior Windows installation; that is an upgrade" And you are WRONG.

The program you get (not Windows) only allows you to download if you are already running Windows. HOW IS THAT NOT AN UPGRADE VERSION?

SO, if you are installing on a VM let's say, and you are trying to do the right thing and pay for a legit license, you are hosed.

That's because this version will not allow you to download 64-bit if you are on a 32-bit system. Sure that makes the novice not able to kill their computer, but it keeps me from being able to install anything. I have a license for 32-bit Win7, and access to other 32-bit computers, but I want to install on a 64-bit system. And, you can't do that, not with this. You can't just go download an iso either, WHICH is what YOU SHOULD BE ABLE TO DO.

Only Microsoft would make it so much easier to cut of your own head than install their product.

Oh, and don't try and use Windows 10 as the go between either, platform not supported. You know what platform isn't supported? Windows.

Wasted money.
Other Thoughts: Seriously, use Linux, buy a Mac, just let Windows die.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/30/2015 12:15:40 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

4 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Operating Systems - Download > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 8.1 (Full Version) - Download

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Sweet!!!!
Pros: I'm able to work on my build on a Sunday after having no OS on Saturday. Needless to say, I'm smiling. Everything went smooth as glass. This is the second time I've done this and the ability to download and create your install disk is a blessing, indeed.
Cons: I have none.
Other Thoughts: The only real requirement is to PAY ATTENTION. If you are sloppy or distracted, I can see where problems could pop up. Have your printer on and ready and all the rest of it is just follow the bouncing ball.
Reviewed By:Happy Camper,1/25/2015 11:21:32 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.