Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Operating Systems - Download > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 8.1 Pro (Full Version) - Download

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Newegg pulled one over on me too.
Pros: n/a
Cons: I was trying to download a legit copy of Windows 8.1 so I could boot camp it on my Mac. Unfortunately, this is not a digital download for Windows 8.1. It is an installer that is only able to be run on Windows 7 or later. I should have read the reviews first. Total waste of money and time.

Note: You don't even get the product key in the email and customer support won't give it to you.
Reviewed By:N/A,10/20/2014 10:03:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Operating Systems - Download > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 8.1 Pro Pack (Win 8.1 to Win 8.1 Pro Upgrade) - Online Code

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Don't use this method
Pros: None
Cons: I had read the previous cons concerning this method of getting an upgrade, and shrugged them off as people just not reading the description well enough. I had read through and knew what I was getting. What I didn't know was that it was going to take 3 DAYS TO GET A FREAKING KEY CODE. Something as simple as getting an email took 3 DAYS TO GET. The ONLY reason that I am giving this two eggs is because the last guy at new egg that I talked to was able to get me the code in seconds (which in reality kind of ticked me off even more; why couldn't the other two people at new egg that I had spoken to previously gotten it to me that fast). Oh well , I'm gonna just chalk this one up as a life-lesson-learned. If I ain't gett'n the media, I ain't payin' for it. I had to go another route to get the computer upgraded since I was under time constraints.
Other Thoughts: I have a bad habit of not rating what I buy normally. So, when I do rate something it is either going to be freaking awesome or a complete waste of time, piece of JUNK!! Unfortunately in this case.........BIG waste of time, and money.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/25/2014 10:02:31 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Operating Systems - Download > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 8.1 (Full Version) - Download

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 BEWARE! This is Windows 8.1 UPDATER NOT 8.1 ITSELF
Pros: None - as delivered by Newegg this is useless if you want to install to a new PC, Mac hardware or virtual machine UNLESS you have a Windows 7 or higher machine handy to supposedly make an ISO.
Cons: Your download will be Windows 8.1 UPDATER and not the full version of Windows.You are supposed to be able to make an ISO IF you have a Win 7+ machine but I have not been able to test making ISO as I do not have a compatible Windows machine. THIS IS NOT A FULL PRODUCT THAT YOU WILL DOWNLOAD,
Other Thoughts: I have complained to Newegg about this. I have paid for a product that I cannot receive. Nowhere on this product listing does it state the conditions for receiving the file and then getting the product. In my opinion it is their responsibility to deliver what I have paid for in good faith - A FULL VERSION OF WINDOWS 8.1. If there is a satisfactory resolution I will update this review.
Reviewed By:Andy J.,8/13/2014 7:08:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Operating Systems - Download > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 8.1 Pro Pack (Win 8.1 to Win 8.1 Pro Upgrade) - Online Code

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Incredibly Dissapointed with Windows 8 in general.
Pros: There is absolutely nothing good I can say about windows 8.
Cons: I have, several times now, made the mistake of buying a laptop, going "Oh It's windows 8.1" then realizing there isn't a domain join option available in it.

Now, reading the reviews, I'm wondering if I've got to start reading EULA's to figure out even if the upgrade would work on a laptop. I have no idea what version of windows I have; OEM, Retail, VLK, something else; by the tag on the bottom. Oh sure, I can use WMIC or Produkey and poke around. Why should I have to?

Win7 and Vista had several versions and they were very specific to what was in each; the time waste with their software is reaching critical mass.
Other Thoughts: There's no guarantee that this will actually update your windows 8 "home" to windows 8 pro.
Reviewed By:Robert F.,7/25/2014 11:03:53 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Operating Systems - Download > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 8.1 Pro (Full Version) - Download

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Win 8.1 Download
Pros: NONE
Cons: WARNING WARNING WARNING
You can only perform the download on a machine running Win 7 or higher!! Since I was building a new system (everything bought through Newegg) I thought you could download the ISO and burn a disk. NO NO NO. Newegg gives you a "link to a lightweight installer/setup bootstrapper" from Microsoft that only runs on Win 7 or higher. Newegg customer support basically laid the blame on Miscrosft. No refund, no media, no help. Would have given a 0-egg if that were possible.
Reviewed By:Don,7/19/2014 1:42:37 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Operating Systems - Download > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 8.1 (Full Version) - Download

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 I am not buying this
Pros: Mostly none, it does have a "classic desktop" but these blocks are stupidly big compared to desktop icons.
Cons: the mouse function of disappearing I have tried on the preview version. Nothing is more annoying as to have the PC's primary operating tool, the mouse, fooled with.
Other Thoughts: Microsoft needs to be nationalized as it is so big it is almost a public utility in that computer users. Product key experations are just planned obsolescence and Microsoft could have fixed that, with a self registry of your motherboard, hardrive IP address and that kind of thing.
Reviewed By:RichaEcke2,7/17/2014 9:01:07 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product less than 1 day.
0 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Operating Systems - Download > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 8.1 (Full Version) - Download

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 UN Necessary
Pros: Boots very fast (that may have something to do with the killer machine I just built for it though...;)
seems responsive. Has a traditional Windows desktop as the default upon boot.
Cons: Everything Windows has ever had is still there, just rearranged and hidden in a bizarre new maze of tricky windows gimmicks.
Other Thoughts: The search bar is your best friend in Windows 8.1, but you need to either go to the tiles start page to see it or know to move your mouse to a super-secret location on the desktop to make it miraculously pop up along with a few other buttons including the very odd version of the start button that does not have right click functionality of the 'actual' start button. The control panel can be accessed several different ways and it's the same old control panel, but even the easiest way to get to it (the super-secret auto-hide button bar on the right side of the desktop) is tedious when you're used to everything being right at the Start button, which now does something completely different. The "settings" are accessed with an icon that looks like a gear but depending on where you find that gear the links within the settings will be scrambled around. i.e. from the super-secret button bar on the desktop, the settings window shows Control Panel at the very top, but if you open settings from the start tiles page, control panel is at the very bottom. The whole redesign seems totally unnecessary and appears to be little more than a failed attempt to mimic an iPad. Sound familiar? It's 1994 all over again, only this time the GUI is a chaotic mess. The only reason to get Windows 8.1 is to take advantage of modern hardware and software that is not supported (deliberately) in Windows 7.
Reviewed By:JeffroNC,7/6/2014 4:23:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Operating Systems - Download > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 8.1 Pro Pack (Win 8.1 to Win 8.1 Pro Upgrade) - Online Code

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Updated review
Pros: Pro version
Cons: Regardless of my reanalysis of the pricing, I still believe it is too expensive to justify purchasing. Not to mention, it is misleading to potential buyers as it doesn't explain it is solely an upgrade from Windows 8.1 to Windows 8.1 Pro.
Other Thoughts: This is an update to my previous review.

I realize the pricing for this item is in reference to retail versions of Windows 8, rather than the OEM versions, as I was referring to. In that regard, the pricing is not outrageously gouged.

It's still a better deal to go for the OEM version, though, unless you plan on upgrading your motherboard/cpu and reinstalling Win8.1 again.
Reviewed By:Riley,6/30/2014 9:06:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Operating Systems - Download > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 8.1 Pro Pack (Win 8.1 to Win 8.1 Pro Upgrade) - Online Code

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Outrageous pricing
Pros: It adds the features of Windows 8.1 Pro to Windows 8.1 Basic
Cons: The price for this is absolutely ridiculous. Windows 8.1 Basic is $100. Windows 8.1 Pro is $140. How Microsoft justifies a $100 price tag for this is beyond me. This is nothing short of highway robbery.
Other Thoughts: The price should be no more than the difference between the costs of Basic and Pro themselves.
Reviewed By:Riley,6/24/2014 7:04:19 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Operating Systems - Download > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 8.1 Pro (Full Version) - Download

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Beware Where You Are Starting From
Pros: The OS is fine, despite the popular backlash.
Cons: By purchasing the download product you will be stuck with the bit version you already have. I.e. if you are running 32 bit and want to go to 64 bit you won't be able to get the 64 bit install image this way. You MUST download from a 64 bit OS to get the 64 bit image. This is a huge hassle, if you are on 32 bit.
Other Thoughts: Newegg should warn people about limitations with the download offering.
Reviewed By:drewarg,6/10/2014 6:12:31 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau