Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Programming > Microsoft > Microsoft Expression Studio 4 Web Professional

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent for Coders
Pros: Very similar commands as Office products, so Expression feels like an extension of Office (much better than the Script Editor that used to be included in Office). Spellchecker! Validation of HTML and CSS is very good, no faults yet found. Word wrap works correctly. Basically it is like using Word with the added benefits of colored tags, validation, and tools. The skin has the choice of being dark or gray. Of over a dozen different editors that I have used over the years, Expression is the absolute best for my needs. I have enjoyed Expression in XP, Vista Pro, and now Windows 8.
Cons: For those of us who prefer to manually upload files to a server and perform other chores personally we find some of the many additional features to not be useful. My general view is to simply go into options and turn most every feature off, which then allows me to work the old fashioned way. Nevertheless, surely a lot of users will find good use for the automated features.
Other Thoughts: I almost never use a visual editor, but I did test the visual and found that it produced accurate code (I was very impressed). I purchased Expression over a year ago when it was priced lower, but today's price is still reasonable for all of the features and the three additional programs. I would gladly pay the current retail price if I needed an extra copy. In my opinion Expression is the absolute best editor available.
Reviewed By:LarryNG,1/4/2013 1:39:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Programming > Microsoft > Microsoft Expression Studio 4 Web Professional

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent
Pros: A web developer of 15 years. Expression Web is the brother of Visual Studio and the UI is very similar. If you program in .NET / .ASPX pages then Expression Web is a lot better of a tool than Dreamweaver. It works hand in hand with Visual Studio and is just excellent in my opinion.
Cons: No plug-ins, but then I have not found myself missing anything.
Other Thoughts: Try a demo before purtchasing and give it a chance. For MS .NET developers it's hands down the best option out there. It's frankly a secret gem that more people need to hear about.
Reviewed By:N/A,12/31/2012 7:12:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Programming > Microsoft > Microsoft Expression Studio 4 Web Professional

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Not just a great alternative, but even a replacement for "other" web dev
Pros: * Cheap (Compared to more expensive alternative)
* Does good CSS / HTML w/ Standards
* Comes with other useful software
* This program is easier to learn than many others
* Will probably buy another copy
Cons: * Wish it were a bit cheaper and I'd buy it for all my machines right now
* Due to its low user base (as a some-what new kid on the block software), the user content like tutorials for learning it are scarce.
Other Thoughts: * I've tried at least a dozen or more free web editors and as far as GUI editing, I like this. Hard-coding I like my freebie for color-coding only.
* I've been using it on Win XP Pro. No problems there. Considering uninstalling it there to move to Win 7 Pro 64bit, but after reading some reviews here, seems like problems may arise.
* I still code PHP in another free editor (Hapedit). I really only use it for code-highlighting and I've found no other web-dev software on par with its highlighting.
* After making some extra money, I bought (expensive brand) and felt I had wasted my money. I learned (expensive brand) in college, but still prefer the affordability and streamline feel of Expression. I felt I was lacking power in Expression, but came back to (expensive brand) code I consider more heavy and less unique since almost everyone uses it. I don't like cookie-cutter websites (unless they're rare cookies with exotic nuts and colors!)
Reviewed By:Chexed,8/14/2012 8:06:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Programming > MAGIX > MAGIX Xara Web Designer 6

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Intuitive ...Easy to use.
Pros: Easy to use.. Intuitive
Cons: Not as advanced as some other professional Web Designer's but also easier and less expensive.
Other Thoughts: Good Buy..
Reviewed By:Enigma8750,7/24/2012 8:07:32 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Programming > Microsoft > Microsoft Expression Studio 4 Web Professional

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great product - for the right purpose
Pros: I use Dreamweaver and Expression Web fairly interchangably. Expression has deep hooks to Microsoft technology, so works well with LINQ, XAML and .NET based sites.

It is a total rewrite from the antiquated Frontpage and basically handles CSS well and works nicely for me on large sites in my experience.
Cons: I doubt you'd want to do a ton of PHP, JAVA or all that much non-Microsoft based sites, but if you are staying with pure HTML/CSS/Javascript it should be fine.

Expensive, but not as bad as Dreamweaver which it compares favorably to.
Reviewed By:John,6/12/2012 3:12:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Programming > Microsoft > Microsoft Visual Studio Professional 2010

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Professional Tool
Pros: This vernerable program is excellent - for experienced developers. There are free editions of this for those starting out and other tools if you just want to create a web site and do light weight data access (check out Expression Web or Adobe Dreamweaver) - but if you need to do significant database connectivity, create reusable components, work in a team environment - using Microsoft's .NET technology, then this is the tool to get. (If you want to write for the Java world, try Eclipse.)
Cons: - Expensive,
- Needs updating every year or two to take advantage of the latest .NET technologies
- Don't believe this has broad support for most mobile technologies (aside from Windows Phone)
Reviewed By:John,6/12/2012 3:02:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Programming > Microsoft > Microsoft Visual Studio 2010 Premium w/MSDN

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 great opensource product
Pros: Like the other reviewers said, this deal just can't be beat. I have noticed that the frisbee does not like microwaves but its really cool looking after you nuke it for a little bit. Thankfully it still works fine and I think it looks even cooler now (you know, that grunge look from the 90's).
Cons: It really is difficult for me to come up with something here. I mean, nothing is perfect, right? well, there is one thing. The instructions mentioned something about computers but since everybody downloads stuff now and i couldn't imagine why someone would want to download a frisbee I was just confused but to be fair sometimes shiny objects have that effect on me also.
Other Thoughts: I thought it was really cool that the frisbee fits INSIDE of my macbook. i mean, how handy is that? wanna throw a frisbee around? EJECT. BAM. IN BUSINESS.
Reviewed By:Makoto,5/20/2012 3:08:37 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
1 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Programming > Adobe > Adobe Dreamweaver CS5.5 Upgrade from CS5

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3
Pros: When it comes to multimedia content/design, Adobe is king. I like the integration with PhoneGap. I love doing business with NewEgg. Good prices, fast delivery, never had an issue with something I ordered from them.
Cons: I've got this hopping for a free CS6 upgrade (as advertised). Adobe is giving me a hard time. They were not happy with the sale screen printout, so I asked NewEgg for a copy of a sale receipt. I received a pdf from NewEgg, sent it to Adobe, and they were not happy with that either, even if it included all the elements they requested. I chatted with a customer service representative today, and he told me to resend the pdf. Now I am waiting for their response.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/2/2012 8:10:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Programming > MAGIX > MAGIX Xara Web Designer 6

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Affordable Alternative
Pros: -Comprehensive package that is fairly intuitive.

- Well laid out format

- More of a complete package than others in this price range.
Cons: - Documentation is elusive about features on each version.

- Can be bugy when trying to upload to FTP's other than the company's. BUT, is not hard to overcome.
Other Thoughts: The software is a good comprehensive package for rebuilding a website. Its all the basics and a few extras, but some of the features are not present on this version that is eluded to by the webite and software. Still very good packaging and usability, but you still will get what you pay for in the program. Not a substitute for CS5/6, but also not the price. If you ae buying this software to make a site that has the ability to log into it, its not available on this version. You have to upgrade to the next product to get that.
Reviewed By:Bigfut,4/10/2012 11:24:45 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Programming > Microsoft > Microsoft Visual Studio 2010 Premium w/MSDN

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Not too happy with my purchase
Pros: None
Cons: I was programming one day and I decided to buy this. No idea what came of me it wasn't even free. I personally dislike it. I would advise against this program. It is also bloated and enemy of your freedom. I would suggest using emacs to program or perhaps a different language such as lisp, which just happens to be THE most powerful language.
(I also took extra points off because the site would not let me upload this review in HTML or ASCII format)
Reviewed By:Stallman,2/24/2012 6:17:40 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
0 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.