Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Back2School
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Backup & Utilities > NUANCE > NUANCE Dragon NaturallySpeaking 12 - Home w/ Headset

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Not supported with Win 10
Pros: Good program when used with Windows 7
Cons: Beware: Problem opening profiles after you upgrade to Windows 10. Nunace Support is saying they don't support release 12 under Windows 10. Program is useless if you plan on upgrading to Win 10.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/3/2015 7:12:36 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Backup & Utilities > Acronis Inc. > Acronis True Image 2015 w/ 250 GB Cloud Storage

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Acrpmos Truie Image 2015 w/Free 250GB Cloud Storage
Pros: Great piece of software as all the True Image line has been since day one of the 10 year I've been using this product. The self scheduling along with the F11 choice at boot that immediately open True Image without need of a rescue disk or working OS is and always has been oneo of my favorite tools. All the other tools are awesome as well: Disk Clone, And New disk, indispensable for adding drives...especially new SSD's that Windows wont format and sometimes Linux wont either. Validation and backup Synchronizing is awesome! Let's you know without opening True Image whether you backups are running smoothly or not. Oh, and last but not least executive, sequential backups so you can chose from when you last backed up that you want to restore to. It takes Me maybe 15 minutes mas to restore my entire main drive.
Cons: i took off one egg for the "free Cloud Backuup service. It's only good for a month then it gets somewhat expensive to subscribe and that's only for the 250GB option.....the 500 and 1TB option....forget about it unless you'd rather pay what it would cost for you to an external or internal drive to use as another backup (or only backup). Might be good for notepads.
Other Thoughts: The interface is quite different than the previous versions and I almost took off another egg for it....but once you use it a couple times you realized its actually better and simpler than their tradition GUI.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/30/2015 8:37:46 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Backup & Utilities > Acronis Inc. > Acronis True Image 2015 - 1 PC

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Tastey AF
Pros: New layout. Same useful features. Booted off the DVD straight out of the box with zero issues. Great piece of software! Highly recommend. If you have any issues with this product, contact me at zachman690@gmail.com.
Cons: The files on the disc take up almost 2GB. More than I've ever seen with Acronis. But, it's not a big deal!
Reviewed By:iampieman1hd,7/27/2015 6:48:06 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Backup & Utilities > Acronis Inc. > Acronis Disk Director 12 - 1 PC

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Useful Utility
Pros: I found it can perform operations that Windows Disk Management could not.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: It is a good value at this price
Reviewed By:N/A,7/24/2015 4:25:14 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Backup & Utilities > Acronis Inc. > Acronis True Image 2014 - 1 PC

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 A Heads Up
Pros: Makes reliable back ups of files and of the C: hard drive.
Cons: You have to pay for tech support after 30 days.
Downloaded manual not very helpful if a program occurs
or you don't understand some features.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/16/2015 9:58:54 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Backup & Utilities > Piriform Ltd > Piriform CCleaner Professional – Unlimited Home Use

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 One of the BEST
Pros: This software is very thorough. They update it often. It removes all clutter from your system.
The registry cleaner is second to none!

Many use the free version of this program, however if you license it, it does an excellent job of keeping your system in great shape in real time continuously in the background.
Cons: ***ESPECIALLY with the registry cleaner: If you decide to start changing the default settings in this software you need to really know what your doing. This software can damage your system if you unwittingly tell it to do so. It is very efficient at what it does so if you tell it to start erasing things outside the default limits it is going to be final. If the system won't boot.... well pray the backup works. It is relatively safe if left on default settings.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/15/2015 4:26:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Backup & Utilities > Laplink > Laplink PCmover Ultimate - Includes High-Speed Transfer Cable

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Not bad
Pros: Easy to follow directions.
Buy it with the cable and you have everything you need.
Cons: Time comparison....is equal at best. If you know how to load a program, AND HAVE THE PROGRAM FILES IN HAND, then the time saved is really a wash. Microsoft Office is not transferable due to licensing issues. That may not be an issue for you. Products like Adobe suite do not transfer the license, program yes, license no, so you still need to re- license those.
Other Thoughts: AT the end of the day, it does what it says it will do as far as settings, files, folders, etc. But you can do those yourself on a decent thumb drive following articles on the Internet. Assess your skill levels and then decide if you want a clean, new drive with all you programs as you want them and no "hidden extras" or if you absolutely do not want to chance losing anything from your old one, and don't feel comfortable doing it manually, then spend the money, or pay a fifth grader to do it for you....... :)
Reviewed By:N/A,7/12/2015 7:58:56 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Backup & Utilities > Acronis Inc. > Acronis True Image 2014 Premium - 3 PCs

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 TRASH
Pros: Recovery cd makes good backups and recovering from it is easy.
Cons: I have tried this program with 3 different installs. Notice 3 different installs. It never worked. I set up incremental and know what im doing every time I tried all it would say is "failed"
Reviewed By:N/A,6/27/2015 10:29:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Backup & Utilities > Acronis Inc. > Acronis True Image 2015 For PC & Mac - 3 Devices

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 True Image Disappointment
Pros: Easy Installation of the main program
Fast Backup and Restore Operations
Fast Tech Support from Acronis
Cons: Rescue Media was a disappointment. I deducted two stars because the Rescue Media (Build 6520) would not read my USB3 Seagate Backup + external hard disk.

On one of the Acronis forums was a long thread about this particular build and USB 3 compatibility. The recommendation from the forum was to build a WinPE based Rescue Disk and use it instead of the Linux based one that is normally created from within the Acronis application. Doing so requires the installation of the Microsoft AIK which is a large download and may be difficult for beginners.

I successfully created the WinPE version on my 64 bit Windows 8 machine, but it would not run on my 32 bit laptop, so I opened a ticket with Acronis Support.

The next day I received a reply from Support along with a link for an updated build to update the installation with. The technician recommended installing the update, and if that didn't work, build the WinPE version.

After updating to version 6574 and building a new Rescue disk, my Seagate drive was recognized and I was able to successfully backup and restore my laptop.

There is an option to shutdown the PC after the Backup or Restore operations, but it doesn't work on builds 6520 and 6574. The OS hangs and the machine does not power off. I can live with that, but mature software such as Acronis True Image shouldn't introduce new bugs. The whole experience has been frustratingly complex since I was used to everything "just working" on version 11.
Other Thoughts: My laptop is an older Dell Latitude D620 with USB2 ports.
My desktop PC is an Asus/AMD machine with USB2 and 3, running Win8.1 x64.

The prompt, accurate,Tech Support restored my confidence in True Image, but I would advise waiting until Windows 10 is released to upgrade as members of the Acronis Forum repeatedly stated they were told there would be an updated version released after the Windows 10 release.

Technical Experience: 20 years experience supporting Windows products since Windows 95.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/25/2015 8:12:52 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Backup & Utilities > Acronis Inc. > Acronis Disk Director 12 - 1 PC

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 CAN'T CLONE BOOTABLE SYSTEM DRIVES - BEWARE
Pros: -
Cons: This will clone a system drive IF YOU HAVE WINDOWS 98 or earlier. (BASIC DRIVE)

What good is that to me???

The product I NEEDED was "True Image"

Repeat. CANNOT clone dynamic drives, like your Windows 7. UNLESS your hard drive is failing... you can MOVE it. Unlikely.

Dang. I carefully read ALL 80 pages of the Manual. what a pain.

I just wanted to clone my drive for a backup. I didn't want to obtain a degree in computer drive history, nomenclature, architecture and design. I know more about drives now than I ever wanted to know.

Except how to clone my drive with this software. SURE it can be done, but it won't be bootable.
Other Thoughts: this if from product overview:

CLONE AND CONVERT
Clone a disk to a replacement HDD. No need to spend hours installing your old disk's operating system and applications. Disk cloning returns you to action, on the new disk, in just minutes. As your requirements change, you can quickly convert between basic and dynamic disks in just moments.

LIES.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/22/2015 7:00:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.