Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • | Wish List
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Utility & Backup > iolo > iolo System Mechanic - Unlimited PCs (install it on all your home PCs)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4
Pros: cleans up OK about the same as Ccleaner which is free . also cleaned up mocrosoft office on all of my computers before i noticed it deleted some part of office that made it not work and then not able to delete it in order reinstall office..done it on four of my computers.had to re do them to reinstall office.
Cons: Bothers the heckout of you to buy next years copy
Other Thoughts: i might re install it to clean up once and then delete it again
Reviewed By:usmc1951,7/7/2014 9:43:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Utility & Backup > Piriform Ltd > Piriform CCleaner Professional – Unlimited Home Use

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Does a great job at cleanup!
Pros: I've used the free version for years and I recently purchased a copy of this Professional - Unlimited Home Use version. I don't find there is much difference. It's great software at doing what is it states it will.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:Ezrway,6/30/2014 1:40:01 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Utility & Backup > Acronis Inc. > Acronis True Image 2014 Premium - 1 PC

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 I love to hate Acronis
Pros: It's like driving twelve miles of bad road, but it will get you there. I owned every version and understand the quirky nature and annoyances.
Cons: Email notification feature (Google it) doesn't seem to work. It works with Gmail, go figure. So I created a Gmail account. Also find a way to test if your using UEFI/GPT disks. You might get lucky.

When it asks a keeping default setting, it really doesn't. If you create scheduled back really look hard at the naming conventions.
Other Thoughts: Didn't find Paragon any better.
Reviewed By:DJS,6/25/2014 11:45:01 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Utility & Backup > Symantec > Symantec Norton Utilities 16.0 - 1 User / 3 PC

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Do not buy this product.
Pros: None
Cons: Symantec will not support this product if you don't buy it from symantec.com. I have the chat with their tech support to prove it. Over all Symantec has horrible product support and these products have numerous bugs and are lacking support. Version 15 of Norton ghost doesn't even support windows 8 and they wont ever make it work. That was the last version of ghost before they went to utilities. Almost everything this can do is now built into microsoft operating systems. Don't buy it.
Other Thoughts: Acronis is a decent imaging software.
Reviewed By:dragon8warrior,6/20/2014 11:20:19 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Utility & Backup > Absolute Software Corp. > Absolute Software LoJack for Laptops Premium KeyCard - 1 Year (Mac / PC)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Buyer beware- No Retail box
Pros: This is a good product and haven't needed to use it, knocking on wood.
Cons: Newegg gave me the card with the activation code and no Retail Box. I don't know if anyone wrote this code down and will use it for later. I'm shocked at the lack of common sense to not send this in a secure Retail Box like I would if I bought this at another store. Hopefully the registration code works and hasn't been compromised. Your rolling the dice on this purchase, even though there is a rebate.
Other Thoughts: I bought the 3 year Lojack Software and got a retail box. Then again it was shipped from a third party and not Newegg directly.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/19/2014 8:25:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Utility & Backup > NUANCE > NUANCE Dragon NaturallySpeaking 12 Home

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Can't Activate
Pros: None
Cons: Evidently this product must be activated by the seller before you can activate it online. When I found out that the store had not activated it at the time of purchase Nuance Refused to allow the product to be activated. They said I had to get the store to activate it or send them a copy of the receipt. Since the receipt was long gone by that time and I was not going to try and get the store to activate the product I threw the junk away.
Other Thoughts: I have never in over 30 years in the software field run into such a stupid activation procedure. The fact that Nuance had no interest in resolving the problem made sure that I will Never use their products in the future, nor will I recommend them.
If they require special handling they should Not sell their product at stores where the employees probably do not have any idea about it.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/17/2014 11:57:32 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Utility & Backup > Acronis Inc. > Acronis True Image 2014 Family Pack - 3 PCs

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Nice and Simple...but
Pros: I've been using Genie9 for a while to backup files on my computer, but I found the interface to be somewhat annoying so I thougt I would give this a shot. It's pretty simple and efficient, the interface is straightforward and not a lot of bills and whistles or fancy graphics to distract from what you need to do. It has a straightforward layout and the menus make most things easy to find. Functionally it works well, you can set what type of backup you want to do, and what the timeframe. you can also create a system image so that if something catastrophic happens you can restore your entire computer for backup (thanks the heavens for BLU-RAYs). I was doing this for Genie9 whenever I built a new computer for a client, but I didn't like the restore process and Genie 9 completely. Acronis takes a simpler approach, and has worked to my satisfaction so far. So why three stars, because Acronis has one potentially infuriating flaw...licensing.
Cons: Yep...licensing, some of the products that have multi-PC licenses has shown to have one. it's hit or miss, but unfortunately it was a hit for client of mine. what compounded this was a Acronis doesn't have good customer service, so I called to find out what the problem was I got nowhere. near asking you to provide information in the serial and acting like I owed them something, the supervisor was no better so I just hung up. absent the licensing issue, this is a pretty good program but I have to say buyer beware because it can be infuriating pain when you don't get what you pay for.
Reviewed By:Maqqobah,6/12/2014 4:04:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Utility & Backup > Piriform Ltd > Piriform CCleaner Professional – Unlimited Home Use

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great software for cleaning up Windows
Pros: I have used CCleaner since the beginning and it has always worked well for me. Choose what you want it to look at, let it run, and clean up the old data files. The unlimited license is great for a family or just someone with lots of systems.
Cons: Haven't found one.
Other Thoughts: When a download option is offered for software, why is it more expensive than the retail box??
Reviewed By:Mike L,6/12/2014 2:56:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Utility & Backup > Piriform Ltd > Piriform Cleaner Pro - 1 PC - OEM

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Justin
Pros: Great product Great Service
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: Newgegg did nothing which is understandable when my product was sent with no license key. However, Piirform did a great job of correcting the problem not only once but twice! My name was misspelled first but they corrected the problem quickly. I now have the key I Payed for. Thanks to Piriiorm and their team. It is unfortunate newegg got caught in this "no license key" fiasco. However, I recommend you contact Piriorm. They are are great!
Reviewed By:Justin,6/7/2014 1:29:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Utility & Backup > Acronis Inc. > Acronis True Image 2014 Premium - 1 PC

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Didn't work for image copy to SSD Raid 0
Pros: None
Cons: I bought this software primarily to move my PC image from a pair of HHDs in RAID 0 to a pair of SSDs in RAID 0. The clone feature didn't work, but this feature is discounted in the instructions and on several blogs. I then spent 8-10 hours trying to use the image copy approach. I kept running in the ghosted out destination problem identified on several blogs. I attempted various approaches at formatting the destination SSDs to no avail. I even tried to copy the image after installing Windows 7, which had no problems recognizing the SSDs RAID 0 config. I gave up on Acronis and continued the rebuild manually, which required less time than I spent using Acronis.
Other Thoughts: In short, this software didn't work as quoted for a non-critical image move. I cannot trust this software to work in critical situation on restoring my system after a crash.
Reviewed By:s,6/5/2014 4:47:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau