Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Utility & Backup > Acronis Inc. > Acronis Disk Director 12 - 1 PC

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 good software
Pros: It work
Cons: none
Reviewed By:N/A,4/23/2015 7:12:34 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Utility & Backup > Piriform Ltd > Piriform CCleaner Professional – Unlimited Home Use

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Good cleaning features but an annual renewal fee is required
Pros: CCleaner Professional cleaning features while somewhat limited in terms of supported applications, work well with reliable predictable outcomes (i.e., my systems continues to function properly with increased hard drive space).
Cons: The pros and cons of registry cleaners aside, running the CCleaner Professional Registry Cleaner on my computer results is multiple corrupted applications and unstable system performance and the need to recover from a drive image every time I have used it.

The system tools are simply links to existing windows system or applications for which superior alternatives are available free of charge.

The CCleaner Professional license is based on an annual subscription (i.e., as opposed to free within version updates) as I discovered after receiving a renewal notice.
Other Thoughts: The problem that I have with the annual renewal fee is that the Newegg.com description, piriform.com description, piriform.com CCleaner Professional purchase page, software about screen, CDROM sleeve, and CDROM installation and registration card unequivocally fail to identify that CCleaner Professional requires an annual subscription fee.

I personally feel that this is misleading and deceitful. The annual subscription fee should be overtly identified on the first page of the product description page and a day’s remaining or expiration date information should be displayed or accessible from within the software application itself (e.g., on the about page). To add insult to injury, piriform.com does not offer a renewal discount for existing customers.

The annual fee information is buried in the license agreement, which I located using a Google search.

The above noted, if you understand that CCleaner Professional requires an annual renewal fee, are comfortable with misleading and deceitful licensing practices, found the features of the free version helpful, and can purchase the software for a 50% or greater discount, I would recommend the product for the cleaning features only.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/23/2015 3:43:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat Low and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Utility & Backup > AVG > AVG PC TuneUp 2014 - 1 PC - Product Key Card

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 License Expired less than 1-year
Pros: Bought 5 copies of Tune-up 2014 key cards on 09-20-2014 but never install them until 04-10-2015 less than 6-months. The licenses were expired without use, contacted AVG support they told me those key codes were created on 03-31-2014 and will last for 2-years, which will expired on 03-31-2015. But I only bought the product about 6-months.
They told me to contact newegg.com instead AVG.
Cons: Disappointed with AVG Tech Support.
The license number should not expired until customer install on their PC and Activated it and it should last until the license's period.
Other Thoughts: May not buy or use AVG's Product in the futures.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/12/2015 11:33:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Low and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Utility & Backup > Acronis Inc. > Acronis True Image 2014 - 1 PC

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 bad serial number
Pros: came in tight packaging. no overpacking or wasteful materials
Cons: the serial number doesn't work. glad I didn't pay full price. better to download trial from acronis. I just gave up and used Macrium Reflect which works well
Other Thoughts: avoid buying cd
Reviewed By:Jongy,4/12/2015 6:20:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Utility & Backup > Acronis Inc. > Acronis True Image 2014 - 1 PC

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Acronis True Image 2014
Pros: There are no Pros
Cons: It doesn't work at all, I couldn't even get it to install. I contacted them and they said it was a Microsoft issue. I also followed the solution they posted on there web site still didn't work. I am returning and would NOT recommend it at all.
Reviewed By:Eagle,4/10/2015 5:42:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Utility & Backup > Acronis Inc. > Acronis True Image 2015 For PC & Mac - 3 Devices

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 It works great until it doesn't
Pros: If it worked, True Image is by far the most full-featured offline backup program available. I tried a lot of them, and TI was by far the most flexible in terms of backup and versioning options.
Cons: TL;DR: It's buggy, and I'm not even sure they're committed to fixing it.

I should have known that things were not going to go well with this version when messed up the imports of my TI 2013 backups. But I figured I'd only need to do this once, so I started over and things worked well for a while.

Fast forward one month: I see a notification that a file couldn't be backed up, click here to make a decision. Click on the notification, nothing happens. The backup hangs and I need to restart my computer to even stop it.

Reboot and rerun the backup manually: Now I at least get the notification about while file is causing issues. Tell TI to ignore it and go on with my day. An hour later the backup is still hung. Have to reboot to do anything with TI.

Call support: Response is prompt. I let the support agent take control of my computer and he spends about 15 minutes mashing on various things trying to unstick my backup. It doesn't work and we reboot like I've done before. He now goes, excludes the file from the backup, and runs it again. It works, and he proclaims the software bug free.

It's the file that's not supported, he claims. The file that causes TI to cascade into a death spiral that requires a reboot to fix. I protest, and he claims that he'll forward this issue to the developers, but I've received no requests for any debug logs or further information that would actually allow them to fix this, so I'm not sure they care. Maybe they do, but they're just busy fixing all the other bugs you can find reported about TI 2015 on the net.
Other Thoughts: A lot of people are complaining about how they removed features in TI 2015. I'm not one of them. They need to focus on making a product that does what it's supposed to do well, not a product that does many things poorly.
Reviewed By:Rich,4/4/2015 9:42:31 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Utility & Backup > WhiteCanyon Inc. > WhiteCanyon WipeDrive 6

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Wipe Drive Wipe Out
Pros: IF it runs on your system OK, then it will actually multi-wipe 3X as promised. Read the Cons before you buy...
Cons: WD6 would not run on any of my 5Dell PCs (530 Inspiron Desktop [Qty 3] , Vaster Laptop, Inspiron E1505 Laptop) all PCs running Windows XP. Contacted tech support at White Canyon via email and was given easy to use online instructions to download WD7 and authorization code from a nice guy named Zach. WD7 worked OK in the full wipe mode (3X passes) but only on 4 computers and luck of the Irish, I had 5 PCs that needed wiped. I did not need nor try the data only wipe function. Big disappointment is that I had no idea I'd only be able to wipe 4 PCs. Manufacturer really caught me off guard. Having to pay over $7 to wipe one drive is not cost effective. See Other Thoughts below...
Other Thoughts: Nothing within the Newegg online product description and nothing within the WipeDrive 6 packaging and nothing within the WD6 product instructions ever states that you ONLY GET 4 LICENSED USES of the product > This is deliberately misleading and very disappointing. I am going to ask Newegg for a 50% refund and apply that credit towards buying the competitor's product. That way I can wipe my 5th and final PC (for now) and perhaps others with a similar product that has a large number uses (e.g. 20) or unlimited number of uses. Horray for White Canyons tech support (Zach) but Boo for their marketing department. Of course, a manufacturer has a right to limit the number of uses of a product but is it fair to frustrate the consumer and the retail seller by not divulging "Four strikes and your out!"
Reviewed By:Big Bear,4/1/2015 9:20:58 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Utility & Backup > Acronis Inc. > Acronis True Image 2015 Unlimited - 1 Device

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Acronis To The Rescue
Pros: Acronis has a great set of tools to image, clone, or restore boot drives.
Seagate and Western Digital both offer free versions of Acronis with limited features.
That is an excellent endorsement of Acronis True Image.
Cons: Restoring an image or even making a backup will infrequently cause the system to not boot. That happens with all the imaging products I have tried.
Other Thoughts: I have used Acronis since version 11, pre 2009 name, after Norton gave up the Ghost....
Acronis is very reliable, but not perfect. It is essential that you have the os installer disk or make the repair disk to solve unexpected boot issues. Since Windows 8, UEFI, and GPT have become the norm for new systems, all the system imaging programs have been challenged to keep up with all the variables associated with Microsoft's Secure Boot technology. This has made it hard for the OEMs to keep up with the changes to the motherboard, MBR, and Bios. I have had unexpected boot failures while resizing Windows partitions using Windows built in tools.
If you are imaging PCs made for Windows 8 or newer you should be prepared with alternative live CD or USB boot devices and/or the repair disk or installer disk for your OS.
Reviewed By:dleippe,3/31/2015 1:04:54 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Utility & Backup > Acronis Inc. > Acronis True Image 2015 w/ Disk Director 12 Bundle

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 A Bridge TOO FAR!!
Pros: None.
Cons: As mentioned by other users, the 2015 edition is completely non-intuitive and many important feature ( e.g. ability to add a date to the file name) have disappeared. I have been using Acronis TI for years and it has saved me innumerable times, but I uninstalled 2015 and reinstalled 2014. What is wrong with their development team that they put out such drek !?

There are MANY who HATE the WIN 8 GUI and do not even use it. Why emulate it in the new 2015 product?

One other thing: Why, when you start a restore from within the program do they insist on permanently changing your BIOS startup setting? I have to change the entire BIOS startup priority each time I make the mistake of restoring from within the Windows program GUI. To avoid this, place Acronis Recovery Disk in your CD/DVD drive, restart, Press F9 repeatedly immediately when computer begins to reboot, and boot from the drive that contains the Recovery Disk ,then follow onscreen instructions. Makes things a lot easier, especially if you have no idea how to deal with your BIOS. If you call Acronis with the BIOS issue, they will swear that it was not their program that changed everything and offer no help. After a lot of frustrating problem solving, it IS THEIR PROGRAM'S PROBLEM!
Reviewed By:Frustrated,3/31/2015 11:18:16 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Utility & Backup > Acronis Inc. > Acronis True Image 2015 Unlimited - 1 Device

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Acronis booting problems
Pros: Excellent tool for creating image backups
Cons: Not always as easy to restore as you might like
Other Thoughts: This is primarily a response to the one star review from a user who claims they are unable to boot their machine after recovery. I have used Acronis frequently over several years and I agree that this is sometimes an issue. I am aware of certain conditions that create the problem but almost always the fix is quite easy. Simply put in a copy of the OS disk (eg Windows 7 disk) after recovery. Boot from the CD and do a disk repair. You will have to do the disk repair twice but after the second time your image will most likely boot. It is a bit tedious and rather annoying but has worked for me well over 90% of the time when I run into problems.
Reviewed By:pmckenna,3/31/2015 8:34:17 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.