Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Camera Lenses > Canon USA > Canon 2514A002 EF 50mm f/1.8 II Standard & Medium Telephoto Lens Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Great lens, especially considering the price. I've had this for months now and it takes excellent, sharp portraits with good bokeh. The thing that made me come back and write this review is it's awesome low-light performance. I took 100+ photos at a dark wedding reception this weekend with NO flash and the lens performed unbelievably well. Of all the pics being posted to the site the bride has set-up, mine are far and away the best thanks to this little beauty. Get it and keep it in your camera bag. For portraits and low light situations, it cannot be beat for for the price.
Cons: Obvious limitations are obvious, but this is a prime lens, so the only way to zoom in or out is with your feet. 50mm on a crop-sensor like mine can be a bit tight indoors; it is the equivalent to 80mm on a full frame. You'll have to back up from your subject more than you think you will. Standard filters will not fit this little guy either (or I am too stupid to figure out how they fit). The mount is all plastic, but what do you expect for this price.
Other Thoughts: If you are a starting hobby photographer with a new Canon camera, this is the cheapest way you are going to get a prime lens that is super sharp and has great low-light performance.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/14/2014 1:41:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Camera Lenses > Sony > Sony DSLR Alpha SAL50F18 50mm F/1.8 Sam DT Lens + Deluxe Accessory Kit

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Sony A SAL50F18 50mm F/1.8 Sam DT Lens
Pros: IT does great shoots and it's not as loud as some say
Cons: none so far
Other Thoughts: the cleaning package is well worth having around.
Reviewed By:228rod,7/12/2014 9:53:19 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Camera Lenses > eForCity > eForCity 67mm Camera Lens Cap, Black

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Just a lose piece of string
Pros: The cap does fit
Cons: The cap came with just a piece of sting, no instructions on how to tie the string together or anything. VERY POOR.
Reviewed By:mike,7/7/2014 1:28:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Camera Lenses > PENTAX > PENTAX 22087 03 Fish-Eye Lens for Q-Series Cameras

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Mediocre fish eye
Pros: It's a relatively cheap fish eye
Cons: It's not that great of a fish eye
Other Thoughts: This lens is only OK. I mean I didn't expect a seriously convex lens, but I did expect a bit more than this lens has provided
Reviewed By:agpoweredmg,6/10/2014 4:15:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Camera Lenses > eForCity > eForCity 2 x 7.4V 1800mAh EN-EL20 ENEL20 Li-Ion Battery for NIKON 1 J1 Camera+Lens Pen

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Longer lasting and cheaper than the Nikon version
Cons: none
Reviewed By:Shube,5/28/2014 3:49:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Camera Lenses > Canon USA > Canon 1910B002 EF 16-35mm f/2.8L II USM Ultra-Wide Zoom Lens

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great Wide Angle Lens
Pros: Wide angle
High Optical Quality
Fast focus
Cons: Price
Other Thoughts: This is a great wide angle lens. If you're looking at L glass you probably already know you're going to pay an arm and a leg but you also probably already know the quality as well. I bought this lens to go wider than my 24-70 and man does this do a great job! Since buying this lens 2 weeks ago I have not once reached for my 24-70 lens for a landscape. This is my go to landscape lens.

I believe another reviewer said it but it's worth repeating - if you put something in the foreground and have a nice sky and nice light you're going to have a great picture every time. If I took the same picture with my 24-70 it would be just an ok picture - this lens stretches everything so it's beautiful.

The only downside is there is some distortion at 16mm when shooting things relatively close, but you're not buying this lens do shoot anything close so it shouldn't be a problem. If you like landscapes just buy this lens - you will not regret it. I thought 24mm would be enough but this has made my landscape dreams come true!
Reviewed By:Captain Nemo,5/18/2014 11:59:43 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Camera Lenses > Tamron > Tamron SP 24-70mm f/2.8 DI VC USD Lens for Nikon

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nicely built lens
Pros: Nice walk around lens to have on 80 percent of the time. Must have focal length. Went on a trip and severed me well not changing lenses all the time. I was hesitant to order from Newegg but glad I did. I even qualified for the available rebate at the time of purchase through Tamron. Couple stores would not price match with Newegg.
Cons: When I received the lens, I quickly mounted it to my nikon. The lens was a bit heavy. Having the 70-200 Tamron version, I thought it was going to be a lot lighter. Im not a big fan of the VC, but it did save me on a couple pictures I took in low light.
Other Thoughts: The diameter should have been made to match the 70-200. You will have to get new filters if you own any. The price for this item was lower on Newegg than any retail stores in my area (bay area), I called a couple stores to see if they would price match, they did not. Im glad I did. The model was listed was a little different than the ones listed on other well known sites. I did take the risk of the item being different, however, when I got the item. It was identical as the items at my local retailers. I would order my lenses from Newegg any time.
Reviewed By:Gitmesteak,4/28/2014 9:27:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Camera Lenses > Tamron > Tamron SP 70-200mm f/2.8 Di VC USD Telephoto Zoom Lens for Canon Cameras

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Very Surprised. Very Pleased
Pros: Razor Sharp w/ no back or front focusing issues.
Fast Focus
TriPod Collar Mount can be removed without removing the lens.
2.8 throughout the focal range
Vignetting is minimal
VC (or IS) works very well.
Weather sealed.
Cons: CA is a bit more noticeable than I would like.
Reach is about 185 not 200.
As with other Tamron lenses, the color reproduction is a bit on a the cool side, but only enough for a pro to notice.
Other Thoughts: Obviously for Canon bodies the only two viable options in this focal length is the Tamron 70-200 and the much revered Canon 70-200 L. Is the Canon version better? Yes. Is it a $1000 better? No. Do yourself a favor and save a $1000 and try this lens first. You'll be pleasantly surprised. I do like the color reproduction better on the Canon glass, but that's part of what your paying for with L glass. However this lens does not disappoint. It would be nice if Tamron made the barrel white like the Canon version, but I suppose it would only be an issue if you are shooting in the sun for extended periods. When I can afford it I will upgrade to the Canon lens, however I'm certainly not unhappy with this lens and it has quickly become one of my favorites.
Reviewed By:MadRussian,4/27/2014 7:22:52 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Camera Lenses > Nikon Inc > Nikon 2137 AF NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8D Lens Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Nifty Fifty
Pros: Very fast lens

Bokeh is great

Very inexpensive

Works on FX and DX sensors

Fast focus
Cons: No internal AF motor, so you need a camera that has a AF motor or be okay with manual focus

Does not come with lens hood

Focusing is loud
Other Thoughts: Make sure your camera has an AF motor built in (higher end Nikons, such as D7000, D7100, any FX camera) otherwise the lens will be completely manual.

Also remember if you have a DX sensor, your lens won't be f/1.8 @ 50mm, but something like f/2.7 @ 75mm.

I would say this is probably the best starter lens if you want to get into photography. It's very inexpensive, works on FX and DX cameras just fine (and older Nikon film cameras--probably as old as 1960's Nikons), crystal clear and absolutely sharp in all areas of the image, and very small and lightweight. Plus, since it is prime, you cannot zoom and are forced to move around to compose your photograph.
Reviewed By:everycredit,4/21/2014 1:13:25 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Camera Lenses > Nikon Inc > Nikon 2199 AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G Lens Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent!
Pros: Shipping was fast.
Amazing bukeh!
Fast focusing.
Quiet!
Cons: n/a
Other Thoughts: Was shipped in a safe box and arrived in a timely manner! This package arrived just in time for my birthday! The packaging was great. Everything arrived in one piece.
The lens was attached with ease and I was able to use it right away. Came with a sun shade.
Reviewed By:Lenne,4/18/2014 11:53:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau