Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > PC Game Controllers > Saitek > Saitek X52 Pro Flight Control System

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Well....
Pros: As tired as this is:
Looks nice, lots of button. Rubbery-feel grip feels pretty good. Good side stick and throttle.
Cons: The (in comparison) non significant stuff out of the way:

The stick definitely feels way too light. I got used to it after a day or two (trying to set it up, more below) so it was not a big deal. To get 100% throttle, you really need to push the throttle forward so it goes past a "click", again, nothing major, perhaps the stick needs to be worked in.
My biggest problem was with installation...
I can honestly say, I have never plugged anything so horrible into the USB post of my computer. I actually felt bad for constantly restarting the system, restoring...just felt like I was abusing my tower.
First of all the joystick MAY work out of the box, if it decides to in 1/10 times.
No matter what USB ports I tried, 2, 3, front/back of computer. No matter what online instructions I tried, this joystick would seriously mess with my system.
To my partial relief, I saw that I was not the only one having the exact same issues with exact same buttons and exact same installation problems and issues in the exact same games. After 4 days straight of installing/reinstalling/editing registries, trying different drivers and different methods for installing those drivers, I have had enough.
I figured that if it is THIS much problem to install, I am afraid to imagine what it is going to be like when you have to fix an actual problem.
On the other hand, I see that for some it works ok.
I can only assume it is bad manufacturing and horrible quality control. If you like to gamble, get this, if not I would avoid completely.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/28/2015 6:22:31 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > PC Game Controllers > General > SNES USB Wired Controller Nintendo Famicom SF for Windows PC Mac

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 More novelty than practical
Pros: Inexpensive.
Cons: Shipping took over a month to arrive & was shipped without any tracking whatsoever. Seller was less than useful when contacted about package not arriving after 3 weeks.

I opened a ticket around the 3rd week with Newegg and never got any response from neither seller or Newegg with that ticket. (Package arrived around a week to week and half after ticket was opened.)

Product:
Generic reproduction, but using least amount of functionality design possible. All the buttons do work, but only seems to have a 40-60% response rate, making you hit the same button sometimes 2-3 times before it actually activates that button... therefore making playing almost any SNES game impractical. (Sorry, that means no Super Mario :/ )
Reviewed By:Jay,1/27/2015 9:25:37 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > PC Game Controllers > Thrustmaster > THRUSTMASTER 2960720 Hotas Warthog Joystick

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 There is no other
Pros: This HOTAS is flat out amazing. I must have watched a dozen or more HOTAS comparison videos, unboxing videos, and review videos of this combo. Anybody that has spent any amount of time researching these knows that there are 3 or 4 setups that can run between 100 and 200 bucks, and then you go ALL the way up to 400 when you get here. I have to say, even at this high price tag for a piece of PC gaming hardware... I am terribly impressed.

After watching so many videos, I still wasn't prepared for how heavy duty this is. I HEARD them say it was heavy, made from metal, feel very tactile and smooth... but once I got it out of the box, I realize that they were even more than that.

-Almost all metal construction
-They weigh a ton
-They have a bigger footprint than I could tell from pictures and videos
-The joystick movement has a solid but soft snap back to middle, and once you get it from neutral, the joystick has completely linear resistance in all directions with zero stiction
-Almost all the switches feel like industrial quality mechanical switches
-Zero issues downloading the new drivers and software and getting it running. Took just a few minutes
Cons: The only con I can really give this setup, is that there are a couple of switches that don't feel like the same qualty, as the swtich right next to it. For example, the toggle switch on the left side of the throttle. It has some play, and doesn't feel solid. Where as the switches on the bottom of the base, have a loud *SNAP* when you throw them back and forth.

That's it... that's all I got.
Other Thoughts: Buy right, or buy twice. Worth every penny.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/27/2015 8:21:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > PC Game Controllers > Saitek > Saitek SCB432020002/02/1 Pro Flight Combat Rudder Pedals for PC

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Almost Garbage
Pros: I am having a hard time coming up with a "pro" for this set of pedals. Maybe if the price were more reasonable, I could at least say at least you are getting your money's worth
Cons: Where to start? I personally am pretty disappointed in these pedals. I thought I was going to get something pretty good for a $200 price tag (not that it's a LOT of money, but it isn't chump change either), but even if these were $100, I would say they aren't worth it. Right out of the box, almost instantly, i could tell I was going to have a problem with them:

1) They are very very plastic. The build quality is poor.
2) I feel like I am going to crush them with the weight of my feet on them.
3) The rudder pedal action itself is terrible. It feels like plastic scraping against plastic. It is impossible to get accurate or even reasonably sensitive rudder action. I ended up using the toe brakes as my rudder.
4) Even though the toe brakes work much better for rudder, The left pedal has issues with the spring-back mechanism. About 1/8th of the pedal throw is wasted because it can't return back to zero. So my dead zone on the left side has to be set really high, where the right pedal snaps back to 0 very well on it's own.

I honestly can't believe they charge almost $200 bucks for these. Terribly disappointed.
Other Thoughts: Spend your money on something else. What? I don't know. I know of other brands that have top tier quality all metal construction pedals for more than double what these cost, I was just hoping to get away with spending a little less. I guess I may be upgrading sooner than I thought. Two weeks with these, and i'm done.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/27/2015 8:13:58 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > PC Game Controllers > RAZER > Razer Orbweaver Elite Mechanical PC Gaming Keypad

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Worth every pretty penny
Pros: +Satisfying tactile and audible feedback
+Comfortable key layout
+Nice wrist/palm support
+Braided cable
Cons: -Could use RGB lighting; especially at this price point
-Space bar could have better, more ergonomic placement
Other Thoughts: If you have used a mechanical keyboard with cherry mx blues, then you will know how this product feels. It has a Razer proprietary switch but honestly I can't tell a difference from the blues. It could really use RGB lighting like all of the newer Razer peripherals, especially considering the cost.

The main reason why I recommend this over using a full mechanical keyboard is because the key layout is not staggered. Meaning the rows of keys are aligned unlike traditional kbs. It makes a huge difference, even if you don't realize it at first. Trying to go back makes you realize this. Also the wrist and palm support on this thing is a nice touch.

Overall I would highly recommend this product. I rarely/never leave reviews unless a product really is life changing or absolutely terrible. So take that into consideration as well.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/24/2015 10:56:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > PC Game Controllers > Logitech > Logitech 963290-0403 Extreme 3D Pro USB Joystick

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Overall, Nice Solid Feel, with One Glaring Deficiency
Pros: Like I said, it has a solid, smooth feel with a wide stable base. Does a nice job of staying put when the action gets going. Feels good in the hand. Well placed buttons on the stick.
Cons: One annoying manufacturing defect, one that should be easily avoidable: the resolvers, at least on the X and Y axes, are positioned by small slotted plastic nubs which engage a short stalk extending from each resolver body. On the Y axis of my stick, this molded slot is oversized or deformed, so the resolver body is free to move somewhat! The result is unnecessary hysteresis and deadband. I was able to insert a tiny paper shim into the slot to fix my problem. If you want to attempt similar surgery, just remove the eight screws on the underside of the base. This will not be enough to completely disassemble the unit, but you will be able to open a sufficient gap to reach inside.

Truly, a silly mistake in an otherwise precision controller.
Other Thoughts: The downloadable software is needed to customize the response for different applications. Documentation on "sensitivity" setting is lacking. I expected it to control the output level multiplier, but this is set by "Range"; "Sensitivity" seems to control the shape of the response curve. I would characterize it as the local slope of the response curve around the center point--low is flat, high is steep.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/24/2015 4:45:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > PC Game Controllers > MAD CATZ > MADCATZ CCB4330200B2/04/1 Madcatz ccb4330200b2/04/1 pc f L Y 5 stick

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 It just broke.
Pros: The design is nice. It arrived quickly (Thanks Newegg) and was easy to assembly. The base design is unique (in a good way) and the stick attaches to the base with an attached screw nut. It has good adjustability in the, I can actually alter the physical dimensions of the stick. I have large hands and it was a pleasant surprise to be able to increase the size of the grip area. The stick also allows for adjustments at both the stick base and the head.
Cons: Cheap. Feels cheap. Broke after just two months of use. Button two, which is the one that fell off, appears to have been attached by a small section of plastic and a pivot point. That's it. Buttons #3,4 & 5 I can only guess will pop off in the near future as they are the same design.
Other Thoughts: I would not normally equate "inexpensive" with "cheap", however, in this particular case, you get what you pay for. I ordered this unit 28 Nov 2014 and right at the 2 month mark, Button #2 just popped off. Right in the middle of a "battle". Other than breaking, it is a decent entry level joystick. Hope I can get good customer service for a replacement.
Reviewed By:VinRod,1/24/2015 3:49:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > PC Game Controllers > Thrustmaster > THRUSTMASTER T.Flight Hotas X Joystick

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Work right out the box
Pros: Somewhat better then I expected. So win here.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Bought this for Elite Dangerous. I was setting up the keys and what not. Then I realize there was an option that I can just change it straight to THRUSTMASTER T.Flight Hotas X Joystick with preset settings. Then I spent another 20mins customizing it. Now it is perfect!
Reviewed By:N/A,1/23/2015 6:35:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > PC Game Controllers > Saitek > Mad Catz X52 USB Flight Control System

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Great stick, QA problems
Pros: A nice, smooth, easy feel, and it did work, for the most part. Plug and play with many buttons. There is a fast "selector switch" on the joystick, which means you'll be able to store multiple profiles in the software and switch on the fly, making lots of button assignments with no problems.
Cons: The X52 unfortunately has a lot of slop in production that MadCatz *needs* to clean up. I wanted to keep mine, but the lower hat on the joystick wouldn't properly depress left and kept toggling other selections. How hard is it to make a proper button in 2015? I did like most of the other aspects to the setup, but I wasn't a fan of the profiler software (it's not clean or clearly usable, but I was able to figure it out) or complexity of switching modes, either. If all of these issues were fixed, it would be great, but everyone here is right - you're playing X52 lotto here folks!
Other Thoughts: The contour of the stick wasn't comfortable to my hands, strangely, even though it was adjustable. This was surprising to me, as everyone talks about how nice it feels. I also got the Thrustmaster Warthog, and I'm still surprised at how close it and my MS stick are, with this one being quite far behind the other two for ergonomics. For now, I'm going back to my trusty ol' Microsoft Sidewinder Force Feedback 2 (Red Eye edition) that I got used on the bay of electronic-ness.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/23/2015 4:00:18 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > PC Game Controllers > Microsoft > Microsoft JR9-00011 Xbox 360 Wireless Controller for Windows

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Worn in less than a month?
Pros: It matches everything I liked about the wired controller without the hassle of a cord getting in the way,
Cons: I started having similar issues as some others in their reviews with losing the signal and cycling to reconnect on the middle of a game. The lights have always cycled ever few moments since I got it, now the connection gets lost.
Other Thoughts: About two weeks ago the right trigger started squeaking really loud when used. Sounds like the spring in there. Toady the "A" button is getting more annoying to press like it is snagging on something inside. I think I got one with a plastic burr or something inside. Too much of a hassle to RMA. Just won't ever buy again. This is not a fault of Newegg but a manufacturing defect.
Reviewed By:Mercyflush64,1/22/2015 12:34:37 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.