Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > PS2 Systems > PlayStation > SONY Playstation 2 Lego Batman Limited Edition Bundle

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Think Again !
Pros: Bought this to help entertain my young visitors,,don't ask me any questions about specs & techs,except these systems have come along way since I used to wow my kids with the "kicking the turtle in Mario" was happening....My son has the PS3 and hoards it so I got this PS2 and some games for my grandson &me to play,,now I'm at it again with glee!
Cons: ?
Other Thoughts: I thought I was done playing video games once my children were grown,,But here I go again,,my grand son and I are at it now and I can't believe how well a 6 y/o kid can play these new games and teaching me how it's done..and I'm lovin' this stuff again !
Reviewed By:GOFOYOS,6/18/2009 6:56:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > PS2 Systems > PlayStation > SONY Playstation 2 Console Silver

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 One of the best outdated consoles.
Pros: It's been a few years since I owned an earlier revision of the PS2 (and sold it because I didn't have money for games) but I had to buy the new one when they lowered the price and revised it further to include the ethernet port, the elimination of the sliding drive access, the better optical drive with faster loads, the integrated power supply, and most of all, the wonderful small size. Now I do have money for games, and there are a few specific games that make this console more than worth the cost. They're all listed in the "other thoughts". The rest of the pros are the usual PS2 highlights which we all know about by now: excellent graphics for an older console, most games have support for widescreen, progressive scan, or both, a gigantic library of games to choose from including many exclusives that are still not out on any other console, backward compatibility with about 99.7% of the PS1 library (which means an almost unlimited supply of games to choose from), and much more.
Cons: The optical drive is a bit louder than I remember, but that's probably because it's not encased deep in the console anymore, it's right up on top with a very thin plastic cover that pops up when you release the drive latch, which is itself one of the more annoying aspects of the revision. That latch has to be hit just right or the drive won't pop open and for people with big fingers (like me) we've really got to dig at it sometimes.
Other Thoughts: Just a few top notch titles that make the PS2 worth owning: Final Fantasy X, Tony Hawk 3/4/Underground, GTA3/VC/SA (better on PC tho), Gran Turismo 3/4, Virtua Fighter 4 Evo, Katamari Damacy/We Love Katamari, Burnout 2/3/4 (1 and 5 are just "ok", I own them all), Shadow of the Colossus, Viewtiful Joe 1/2, SSX3/Tricky, Tekken 4/5/TagTourny, WWF Smackdown vs Raw (even if you don't like wrestling this one is awesome), Soul Calibur 3, Twisted Metal Black, Fight Night 3, Hulk - Ultimate Destruction, Satan Hand (actually g*d hand but you can't say that, but satan is fine), Dead or Alive 2 Hardcore, and there's a bunch more I didn't have room to list. Many of these support widescreen/progscan, and some are either ps2 exclusives or special editions of previous series (like DOA2 which was awesome on dreamcast but Hardcore adds a bunch of new stuff to the ps2 version). Just a great console, and it holds up well even in 2009. Buy one if you missed it when it was hot. It's still a blast.
Reviewed By:BigSilverHotdog,5/9/2009 3:00:34 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > PS2 Systems > PlayStation > SONY Playstation 2 Console Silver

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great PS2
Pros: This playstation is great and much better then the old black versions.
Cons: The only reason i gave this a 4 star rating is due to the power supply hookup. It's still the same stupid revision as the black!

My other silver version has the very first style of power supply hook up, of where you just need the one 2 prong cord!

Newegg must have an old batch of ps2's or something??
Other Thoughts: In either case its much better then what my brother has. So the pros out way the cons.
Reviewed By:Vipertwin175,4/29/2009 1:04:48 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > PS2 Systems > PlayStation > SONY Playstation 2 Console Silver

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great system
Pros: Great System, Works Great, Nice and Shiny!
Cons: It doesn't Surve me Drinks when I dance on DDR,
Other Thoughts: GREEEEEEEEEAAAAAAATTT
Reviewed By:Bob Saget,4/20/2009 4:53:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > PS2 Systems > PlayStation > SONY PlayStation 2 SingStar Bundle Crystal White

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4
Pros: compact
Cons: feels flimsy/cheap
Other Thoughts: Works as expected...no more no less...would buy again.
Reviewed By:Nutshell,1/13/2009 8:58:29 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > PS2 Systems > PlayStation > SONY Playstation 2 Console Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 works great
Pros: works great
Cons: none
Reviewed By:N/A,1/7/2009 12:52:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > PS2 Systems > PlayStation > SONY Playstation 2 Console Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Epic Console
Pros: This console is the epitome of a great gaming. I've had my PS2 since launch and went through 3 of them. It has some many great games that there's no way you could play them all unless you have absolutely no life whatsoever. I'm not sure why the specs say the max res. is "1280x1024" because there are actually a few 1080p games for PS2 such as Gran Turismo 4 (of course you must use component cables for anything above 480i). This thing is still kickin with new/good games after 8+ years! Incredible!
Cons: As I stated in the Pros, I went through 3 PS2s, but that was before they redesigned it to the slim, I'm sure these will be a bit more reliable since there's less heat and a better optical drive.
Other Thoughts: Sad to say the PS3 doesn't look like it's going to have the success as the PS2 did. I love my PS3, but I admit my 360 gets more play time. Sony made a really bad choice dropping PS2 compatibility, IMO. Luckily I got the last 80GB model that does software PS2 emulation. The ol'PS2 just retired to the classic console closet with the NES, SNES, PSX, N64, Dreamcast, and various old handhelds. I gave it an honorable burial.
Reviewed By:T4rd,12/20/2008 8:04:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > PS2 Systems > PlayStation > SONY Playstation 2 Console Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 PS2 Works like a PS2
Pros: It plays PS2 games and is a lot smaller than my old first generation one.
Cons: It cost money!
Other Thoughts: PS2 is still a great game console even after all these years.
Reviewed By:AwesomeBot,11/3/2008 11:41:13 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > PS2 Systems > PlayStation > SONY Playstation 2 Console Black

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good
Pros: Great product, much smaller,everything in the interface is the same as original ps2
Cons: much louder, slower proccessing unit
Other Thoughts: its all good
Reviewed By:Sloppy Joe,10/12/2008 5:25:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > PS2 Systems > PlayStation > SONY Playstation 2 Console Charcoal Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 PS2
Pros: The very best system that I still play ever since it launched on the first day, waiting in line. Super excellent in variety of games. It's more affordable now. Games are still being made for this system...wow...getting close to 10 yrs life cycle. Plays PS1 too. Allows Hard drive to be attach to it..if you know how.
Cons: Lesser games are being made on PS2 now a days. Slim version is not as great as fat original version. Laser will die over the years of usage.
Other Thoughts: PS2 still got minor competition in the gaming arena. Good thing PS3 isn't selling well, cause Sony will definetly drop support for PS2 if PS3 sells well. By now PS2 should be no more than $100 maxium. The system has been out for so long that it's a rip off if people buy it for $129.99+tax.
Reviewed By:Super Big,10/9/2008 12:32:18 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.