Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > PS3 Systems > PlayStation > Sony Playstation 3 (CECHA01) 60 GB Game Console Backward Compatible with 1 Dual Shock Controller

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 DO NOT BUY THIS SYSTEM FROM NEWEGG
Pros: Good price
Backwards compatible (Plays PS2 Games)
Cons: Refurbished poorly
Low Quality
Defective
Return Process a nightmare
Other Thoughts: I bought this system from Newegg less than a month ago and it has given me nothing but problems.

The first unit I got as soon as I unboxed it and began to set it up it had the Yellow Light of Death. I called NewEgg customer service and after 3 separate calls I found someone who could process the RMA and offer to pay for shipping back (the previous two calls they wanted me to pay for return shipping even though I only had the unit in my possession for less than a few hours and it was defective) after a week and a half (it already took over a week for me to get my first defective unit) I received the replacement unit.

(Note: They took off the time for returning the second unit including days it took to receive the first unit and send back and receive the return so I only had 15 days to return the second unit)

The second unit worked fine out of the box but within about 2 weeks the controller would not work at all. Newegg wanted me to return the whole unit as a warranty exchange and pay for return shipping due to it being 30+ days after they shipped the first defective unit.

After I realized returning it would be a nightmare yet again I bought a second controller and Arctic Silver Thermal Paste because I decided to switch that out on the CPU and upon opening the unit I discovered the inside was extremely dirty looking like a year or two of buildup (I am a A+ Certified repair tech) and what appeared to be cigarette tar. (I do not smoke)
Reviewed By:N/A,6/19/2015 10:25:44 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > PS3 Systems > PlayStation > Sony Playstation 3 (CECHA01) 60 GB Game Console Backward Compatible with 1 Dual Shock Controller

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Dirty, Broken Junk
Pros: Was cool for a few months because I could play all my old PS2 games (in theory, never did), which was why I got the backwards compatible unit. Have no interest getting a PS4 until the game library is bigger or they have a backward compatible model, so a backward compatible PS3 seemed the best option for me.
Cons: Loud and hot, as expected. Then crapped out on me after a few months of very light use. Like probably 45 hours over 3 months. Then one day after it sitting unused for a few weeks I got the YLOD and that's all she wrote.

Also, the unit came and was dirty and disgusting. That coupled with the fact it crapped out so quick makes me think they aren't exactly refurbishing these units, just re-selling old ones that still turn on.
Other Thoughts: 150 bucks on a brick, 150 on PS3 games and accessories. Should have known better than to trust an old, refurb of hardware that was prone to brick when new.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/11/2015 9:03:55 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > PS3 Systems > PlayStation > Sony Playstation 3 (CECHE01) 80 GB Game Console Backward Compatible with 1 Dual Shock Controller

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome!
Pros: Full HD 1080p when you use HDMI cables. Low cost.
Runs all my PS3 games perfect with no issues at all.
Cons: Comes with AV cables only (480p) :( Lucky I had a HDMI cable here. Only PS3 that are 20-60 Gb are fully PS2 compatible , 80 are PS2 emulated. I didn't know that till I ran PS2 games and some where glitchy . Do your research.
Other Thoughts: There was small amounts of dust, no big deal get a can of air. The units are in good condition. I am very happy, money well spent ..
Reviewed By:N/A,6/9/2015 9:46:19 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > PS3 Systems > PlayStation > Sony Playstation 3 (CECHA01) 60 GB Game Console Backward Compatible with 1 Dual Shock Controller

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Refurbished PS3
Pros: - Backwards compatible with PS2 games.
- Lots of PS3 titles available for bargain prices. Since PS3 games are on Blu-Ray discs, too-scratched-to-play games are rarer.
Cons: - My unit arrived with a defective controller. The lower right trigger acted like I was continuously tapping it.
- Kind of noisy/power-hungry compared to later PS3 models
- The HDMI output of PS2 and PS1 games isn't stretched to the full vertical resolution. It also displays a squished image when you attempt to have PS2 games displaye in widescreen via their in game menus. I think my PS2 slim does a better job of displaying the games. The PS3 can do some image filtering to reduce jagged lines, but the lack of proper stretching/scaling is annoying.
Other Thoughts: If you have any troubles with the unit, do not contact Sony. The product page currently lists Sony support, but you need to contact a different company that worked on the refurbs. After contacting Newegg support, I found this company is:
ASI/Ecom
714-731-7205
email: rma (at) ecom-direct.com
Reviewed By:AdamB,5/26/2015 1:38:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > PS3 Systems > PlayStation > Sony Playstation 3 (CECHA01) 60 GB Game Console Backward Compatible with 1 Dual Shock Controller

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Not worth time or hassle
Pros: PS/2 Compatible
Cons: Overheats/ freezes
Cost $30 to ship back to newegg.
Other Thoughts: Buy the 80g on newegg flash
Reviewed By:H454,5/24/2015 6:03:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > PS3 Systems > PlayStation > Sony Playstation 3 (CECHA01) 60 GB Game Console Backward Compatible with 1 Dual Shock Controller

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Be ready to be your own service tech.
Pros: This is the OG backwards compatible PS3 that will play your PS2 games via hardware not software emulation. Why pay to re-buy your PS2 games again and download them from Sony? Play them on this! Great option for another room with Netflix, PS2 and PS3 games while your main entertainment center has your newer PS4 gear. Enough hi-fiving… move on to the CONS.
Cons: Be ready to be your own service tech. I received one of these “refurbished” units and set it up. Unit was running super-hot. Since I made no real investment in the device and I figured it would be more hassle than it would be worth to exchange for what I believe to be a properly working device, I decided to do a tear down and see what was going on. Well, the unit was FILTHY!!! I don’t know who is “refurbishing” these units but they suck as life. If only New Egg would let me post a picture. The grime is the biggest contributor to the excessive heat followed by original Sony parts. My unit had the OG power supply ZSSR5391A (creates a LOT OF HEAT) and 19 blade fan (this is the preferred fan as opposed to the later models 15 blade fan.) Tips on the internet suggest to replace the PSU with the APS-231 (google it). Well I cleaned all the grime out and reassembled the PS3 with the ZSSR5391A PSU. Device ran much quieter and cooler. Still going to “upgrade” the PSU to the APS-231 to ensure a long running life as this is going to be the PS3 in the regular living room. Google these for more info and how to prolong the life of this OG PS3… “Avoid YLOD, 3 tips for a Cooler-Running PS3” at playstation.com and “PS Dev Wiki Power Supply” for everything you don’t need to know about PS3 power supply units.
Other Thoughts: Overall for $130. something dollars this was worth it. Plus I got to "play" electronics tech and take things apart. Kinda fun for me. If you are going to buy this don't expect it to last unless you are willing to put forth some effort. If you want something to be "clean" out of the box you may want to keep looking. Man, I really wish New Egg would let me post a pic of what I found in the "refurbished" heat sinks of this PS3.
Reviewed By:Nick,5/22/2015 11:07:48 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > PS3 Systems > PlayStation > Sony Playstation 3 (CECHA01) 60 GB Game Console Backward Compatible with 1 Dual Shock Controller

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 PS2 compatible PS3
Pros: best model for ps2 backwards compatibility hardware emulation works even with most demanding PS2 games no frame drops up-converts to 1080p with smoothing makes games look better.
Cons: first model so its huge and loud playing ps3 games. cpu gets hot fan kicks into high gear so keep in open and ventilated area
Other Thoughts: great for ps1 and ps2 collections in High Def
Reviewed By:sapperhajje,5/22/2015 8:44:48 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > PS3 Systems > PlayStation > Sony Playstation 3 (CECHA01) 60 GB Game Console Backward Compatible with 1 Dual Shock Controller

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3
Pros: 60GB PS3
Backwards Compatability
Cons: Refurb quality hit or miss
controller died in 2 weeks
Other Thoughts: Overall for the price you cant really complain as long as they last a year or more. But the small issues on first inspection dont leave you with a whole lot of confidence. Also i asked for info on who performed the refurbishment and never got a response MULTIPLE TIMES.
Reviewed By:EP,5/18/2015 12:23:52 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > PS3 Systems > PlayStation > Sony Playstation 3 (CECHA01) 60 GB Game Console Backward Compatible with 1 Dual Shock Controller

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Backwards compatible PS3
Pros: Work perfect and is great for the large ps2 collection I have. It seems like it shows all the signs of a proper refurb job.
Cons: none
Reviewed By:Shane5035,5/15/2015 1:34:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > PS3 Systems > PlayStation > Sony Playstation 3 (CECHA01) 60 GB Game Console Backward Compatible with 1 Dual Shock Controller

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4
Pros: Works as advertised. Plays PS2 games perfectly.
Cons: none as of yet
Reviewed By:N/A,5/14/2015 7:11:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.