Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Nintendo Wii U Systems > Nintendo > Nintendo Mario Kart 8 Wii U 32GB Deluxe Edition

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Terrible Product and Customer Support
Pros: Lightweight/Portable
GamePad/GamePad features
Can use old gen (Wii) accessories
Cons: eShop is terrible/Bad game selection
Bad customer service
Consoles plagues by "rare" error code since release
Other Thoughts: Frankly, I cannot recommend anyone to purchase a Wii U due to my current experience as a Wii U owner. I ordered the Wii U 11/29/15 and got it sent back for repair on 12/29/15. Based on the limited time I had with it, I was quickly impressed by the gamepad and its features. The gamepad affords some portability in the sense that you don't need a T.V. to play the Wii U. I found myself moving the Wii U from room to room with relative ease as the system itself is very lightweight. The gamepad also doubles as a remote for the T.V. which you can use to turn off/on. My brother also previously owned a Wii so I was able to use his Wiimotes to play with my nephews. Still the gamepad is not perfect as you might find it cumbersome depending on the type of game you are playing or the amount of time you plan on playing. The LCD screen is also not as clear/crisp of a display as you will find in some top brand cellphones.

As I looked through the eShop and online for games I notices a lack on quality games. Most of the top, popular titles are launch by Nintendo themselves (Super Mario Games, Splatoon, Smash, etc) and sport a $60 price tag. Sometimes sales can go as low as $35 if you're looking for these titles but that's all based on luck. The eShop is just terrible as most categories only show a limited amount of games and the filtering categories are lacking. It seems there are just as much or more virtual console games (NES, SNES, Wii, etc) than there are Wii U titles.
Now the obvious problem I have with the console is the fact that it broke down on me in less than a month. My issue came about while playing the installed Mario Kart 8 (MK8). As I was watching a replay of the track I beat, the Wii U crashed and produced and error code: 160-0103. I was able to reboot the system multiple times but when trying to launch MK8 it would produce the same error code. I decided to boot up another game (Minecraft: Wii U Edition) only to have the system produce the same error code again. However, this time around it stopped booting up making me unable to even reach the home screen.

I called Nintendo Support whose service was mediocre at best. The tech who took care of me (His name was: Luis) did try to assist but I found myself having to repeat information often. In addition, he took my name wrong and was about to ship the console to the incorrect address which I had to call back to correct (another tech took that call). Luis placed my repair request as an “Out of Warranty” console. While it seems they are not charging me (yet?) they were going to make me handle the shipping and handling cost which I refused to do on the basis of how it was already inconvenient enough to have to send the console in for repair. The status of my Wii U is still set as “due in” even though UPS tracking states the package has already arrive at the facility.

I bought the Wii U hoping its game library and features would set itself apart from "next gen" consoles like the PS4 or XBOX One but this turned out to be a bad investment. My old NES still works fine which makes buying Virtual Console games and the Wii U laughable when it comes to quality.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/4/2016 10:14:44 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

3 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Nintendo Wii U Systems > Nintendo > Nintendo Wii U Skylanders Swap Force Bundle

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great newegg seller
Pros: Item is new and works as expected. I was nervous buying from a 3rd party seller but the price was right and I had a visa discount on top of that. I purchased late Saturday night and the item was shipped early Monday and on its way. I really respect a seller that will ship their products quickly. I will be bookmarking Beach Audio and purchasing from them again. Thanks.
Cons: none
Reviewed By:Anonymous,8/12/2015 7:46:12 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Nintendo Wii U Systems > Nintendo > Nintendo Wii U Deluxe Set: Super Mario 3D World and Nintendo Land Bundle - 32 GB (Black)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 would rather have this then a 300$ PC
Pros: 1080P
most games use 60fps
SUPER SMAAAAAAAAASH BROS!!!!!!~annoucer on super smash bros
other great games
the e shope is easy to use
you can download games for the NES SNES GBA N64 and DS (there are not free)
game pad is awesome
nintendo land is all right
Cons: not a quad core...actually a tri core AMD
some may call you a noob or something for not being PC master race
super mario 3D world is a terrible game that makes mario look bad WAY to easy and nothing like other 3D mario games like super mario galaxy or super mario 64
Other Thoughts: i actually dont own this...i got a referbished white one and got both the games and a hard drive about half a tb large stores lots of games...i didnt review it because i couldnt find it...i thought the wii u looked terrible and was a waste...but i was able to get one for just 80 dollars so i decided to try it...i never regreted it i thought i might use it every once i a while but it is super fun and has more cores the my PC (its from 2007)...cant wait for splatoon planning to get it the moment it comes out!
Reviewed By:somebody,5/11/2015 12:06:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Nintendo Wii U Systems > Nintendo > Nintendo Wii U Deluxe Set: Super Mario 3D World and Nintendo Land Bundle - 32 GB (Black)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Love it
Pros: Works great, incredibly reliable. Touchpad game controller was something that I had concerns about, but it works flawlessly. Imported my old Wii content without a hitch, have all my old games running perfectly fine. Very user friendly.
Cons: The whole dual screen with the touch pad controller and the TV can take a little getting used to. That said after a very short period it becomes rather second nature and the whole setup is intuitive.
Other Thoughts: There is another review on here in regards to the console, backwards compatibility and so forth. Unlike that user, I have had no issues with the games for the Wii U nor any shortage of titles on it that are fun and immersive.

The other perk with the system I would see -is- its backwards compatibility. All Wii games that I've tried with the Wii U work just fine, the system has a feature to import all your data from one console over onto it.

With its virtual console, you can get and play quite a few of games from older generations of consoles. At first this list seemed rather short but as time has gone on that list has increased considerably as more and more titles get pushed onto it.

Overall;

If you enjoy Nintendo games there is little reason not to get the Wii U. While admitted you won't find -all- of your old games on the virtual console / Nintendo store a good chunk of them are there. Considering I'm primarily a PC gamer it is somewhat unique for me to credit a console as heavily as I am this one.
Reviewed By:Michael S,3/11/2015 4:35:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Nintendo Wii U Systems > Nintendo > Nintendo Wii U Deluxe Set: Super Mario 3D World and Nintendo Land Bundle - 32 GB (Black)

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Very disappointed
Pros: Works
Cons: I got this so that i could just get the older games (Including the wii, gamecube and further back) from the nintendo store, so i wouldn't have to keep track of game discs ect. Well it turns out the wii store is terrible. It only has a very select few games. For example, it only has mario cart 8, (that is the Wii u one.) So purchasing this so i wouldn't have to keep track of old game discs is not effective at all.

In addition to that it is not reverse compatible with game cube games...
Other Thoughts: Just a word of advice to all game console makers. If you want to be known as a consule with no games, just follow the example set by nintendo with the wii u. Don't build in reverse compatibility and limit the number of games on your store to only the newest games

I mean seriously if your are not reverse compatible, please allow the games to be purchased on the store...

If i could take this console back i would. To bad i bought it at game stop and not newegg...
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/18/2015 3:44:44 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
3 out of 25 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Nintendo Wii U Systems > Nintendo > The Legend of Zelda: Wind Waker HD Wii U Deluxe Set

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good console
Pros: No problem so far, over a year with the console. The gamepad is great.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: If you love nintendo you must get it, you got you eshop or buy from the store. Fun games for family and friends, loving the game pad because no need of always using the pc, it isnt only for gaming can also use to watch websites, youtube, netflix
Reviewed By:BlueZheo,11/27/2014 10:13:11 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Nintendo Wii U Systems > Nintendo > Nintendo Wii U ZombiU Deluxe Set

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 great for family and kids
Pros: It great for family and kids.
Wii U GamePad controller really sturdy and function after often drop on the floor when kids play. Fun to play some game but bit lack expand more games.
Cons: limit games library.
Wii U GamePad controller have short battery hours.
not much hardcore games.
Other Thoughts: I would recommend get deluxe WII U console that have 32GB onboard for bit ease when add some download games. After that you will need buy external usb storage if you tend to do heavy download games.

I do own ps3 and Wii U console even near future purchase PS4. both have pros and cons but still great to play. PC still superior but when come with family and people who play together then console.
Reviewed By:Snowx7,8/31/2014 6:45:29 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Nintendo Wii U Systems > Nintendo > Nintendo Wii U Skylanders Swap Force Bundle

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Gift
Pros: The kids love it!!! The video chat is great. The kids love chatting with friends and drawing faces on them while they chat.
Cons: No fault of the product but not enough controllers.....
Other Thoughts: My entire order did not arrive but Newegg was great and quickly fulfilled the order. I have ordered several big ticket items and have not had any problems thus far :)
Reviewed By:Sandles,6/3/2014 6:06:12 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Nintendo Wii U Systems > Nintendo > Nintendo Wii U Nintendoland, New Super Mario Bros Wii U and ZombiU Bundle White White

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 My kids love this!!!
Pros: Finally, a Nintendo console that can do 1080p! I tried playing my Skyward Sword (when the kids aren't using it, which is rare :P) and it finally looks good on a 1080p TV; seeing as the original Wii was only able to do 480p/720p (?). Having a 4 player co-op game like New Mario Bros. was a great idea; and the knowledge of being able to use Wiimotes to play 4 people and the Wii U tablet-controller adds a 5th player who can play the role of either helper or destroyer and manipulate elements on the game screen :D
Cons: The Wii U hybrid tablet-controller seems bulky and there's a higher risk of damage if dropped as opposed to the smaller, sleeker Wiimotes, otherwise no complaints here!
Other Thoughts: My kids play together, they get along playing with it, and there's no need for sharing or taking turns. One happy pappy here :)
Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/25/2014 12:30:10 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Nintendo Wii U Systems > Nintendo > Nintendo Wii U Skylanders Swap Force Bundle

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Next Gen Gaming System for Casual and Hardcore gamers
Pros: Wii U is one of the greatest gaming consoles ever created by nintendo . its main attraction is the gamepad which allows for great game play experience. It is the cheapest next gen gaming console ( its deluxe system is only for 299) Its very family friendly and comes with great titles like Mario, Zelda and pickmin. I had it for an year now and i have been enjoying it since day one. I am a call of duty fan and i never thought that a nintendo gaming console is good for FPS games but turns out I was WRONG; call of duty is so fun on Wii U With the game pad or With the Pro controller (sold seperately)
Cons: The gamepads battery life is short but With few accessories like Uboost from nyko and the high capacity battery from nintendo, I think you will be fine
Other Thoughts: Wii U is very powerfull not like devs say , people think that Wii U is much Weaker in terms of performance compared to ps4 and xbox one but thats wrong. After my analysis of the Wii U system I was able find out that Wii U can do 1.4 teraflops which is very near to the xbox one and Ps4 and to be quite honest I think its even more powerfull than both systems. If you dont believe me then check a game called project cars , it shows how graphically powerfull is Wii U.
Reviewed By:Mahmood Hardware,4/21/2014 7:48:11 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.