Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • | Wish List
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Retro Video Game Console > hyperkin > Hyperkin NES Portable System FC Mobile II (Black)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Memory Lane!!!
Pros: Plays my old NES games perfectly! Wireless controllers communicate well with console and the portable option is handy as well. I get to play my old video games with my kids. More of a novelty than anything else, but entertaining none the less.
Cons: Zap gun doesn't work on flatscreen. Disappointing, but not enough to take an egg. Good reason to keep that old tube around for a while longer if you're a Duck Hunt fan. Otherwise, everything works well. Playing some Zela as we speak!!
Other Thoughts: I can't believe I'm the first to review this product. Anyone with an ounce of love for the nostalgics that go along with retro video games should jump on this! If you love your old NES games like I do you'll love this item.
Reviewed By:J-Bolt,3/29/2014 7:51:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Retro Video Game Console > AtGames > AtGames Sega Genesis Ultimate Portable Game Player with 80 games

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great for Retro Gamers
Pros: Good build quality, it does not feel "cheap".

Great selection of built in Sega Genesis games.

Solid emulation. Smooth with no real noticeable slowdowns, artifacts, or hiccups.

Good video quality on the LCD screen as well as out to a TV if you have the proper cable to do so. Nice and bright and easy to see in most all lighting situations. Though it can suffer in direct sunlight, this is true with a large number of portable devices.

Good battery life and easy USB charging.

Comfortable in the hands and easy to play.

Ability to add your own ROMs via SD card.

Simple and easy to navigate menu.

Overall this is just a fantastic little handheld from AtGames. I got mine as a gift last Christmas and it's still going strong even after heavy use.

This is a great item for any fan of retro gaming, while hardcore Genesis purists may find flaws in it's emulation, the same can be said for all emulation. For the rest of us it's a great way to take a piece of your childhood gaming memories with you on the go since it's really not possible to drag our Genesis consoles with us everywhere we go, as much as we might love to do so.
Cons: This may be a great device, but it's not without it's flaws, they were simply not enough for me to remove any eggs. To be honest there is really only one real gripe I have with the unit.

Sound quality. The built in speaker can start to distort and sound very "tinny" at high volume. While you can alleviate this by turning it down, it can still struggle at times with the Genesis sound pallet.

However once you plug in a pair of ear buds or headphones, our output to TV, the sound quality is just as good as the video emulation. So I highly recommend using headphones or ear buds.

The fault is with the built in speaker.

The "bonus" games are pretty much junk, see other thoughts.
Other Thoughts: Sorry Newegg, I got this as a gift last Christmas and I do not believe it was available on here at that time. Now that it is however, this is where I am leaving my review.

The built in "bonus" games are pretty much the same run of the mill cheap low quality titles you expect to find in most portable devices with built in games. They are nothing special, and while a few of them can be great as time killers, they are pretty much just there as a filler to drive the game count on the box up.

The official Genesis games are of course the real deal, and there are a lot of great classics to play and enjoy.

Adding your own games via the SD card is one of this units best features in my opinion. While it does work well, not all ROMs will load and you will have to experiment a bit to find what games or ROMs work and what ones do not.

If you're a hardcore retro gamer like myself, this device makes a great addition to any collection. Having mine for over a year now I can honestly say I am very pleased with it.
Reviewed By:Strider,1/29/2014 2:05:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Retro Video Game Console > hyperkin > Hyperkin SNES/ NES/ Genesis RetroN 3 Gaming Console (Vector Red)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Hyperkin RetroN 3
Pros: Its great so far. Its like the complete retro packege!
Cons: wish there was a hdmi for high def tvs.
Other Thoughts: i would recommend this to my freinds.
Reviewed By:CreamSoda,1/7/2014 10:43:15 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Retro Video Game Console > On the Edge Marketing > Cocktail Arcade Machine 60 in 1 Retro Classic Games Includes 2 Benches Includes Pacman Donkey Kong Galaga Frogger Space Invaders Centipede & Much More - Brand New Commerical Grade w/ 1 Year Warranty

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: We love this arcade machine. Not only was it the best priced one we could find, it also included the stools. The seller was great to work with and accommodated our special shipping requirements. We would definitely recommend this product to friends and family.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:N/A,12/31/2013 2:10:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat Low and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Retro Video Game Console > hyperkin > Hyperkin NES RetroN 1 Gaming System (FC Super Loader) (Black)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Back to the Future
Pros: Very inexpensive 3rd party console to play NES games. Easy to use. Works Great! Able to use original NES controllers and peripherals.
Cons: At first you think the game just sits in the console loosely and flimsy, but you have to almost force it in to engage. It still works fine.
Other Thoughts: Would recommend to anyone that has trouble using the original system.
Reviewed By:N/A,12/30/2013 7:23:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Retro Video Game Console > hyperkin > Hyperkin NES RetroN 1 Gaming System (FC Super Loader) (Red/White)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works Well
Pros: Played all of my NES games without issue. Was able to use my old controllers (including gun for duck hunt).
Cons: No eject button makes pulling cartridges out somewhat of a pain.
Reviewed By:N/A,12/27/2013 5:20:21 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Retro Video Game Console > hyperkin > Hyperkin SNES/NES RetroN 2 Gaming Console (Gray)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Snes/nes console
Pros: This machine plays not only nes but snes games! All of my games were going to waste as I was out looking for working snes original consoles but this solved that problem! It runs rather well, using both of the old controllers that I still have and all!
Cons: The snes games don't sit properly/play properly the way they sit, I have to wedge something to push them slightly forward to get them to work. It's not a big deal just something slightly annoying.
Reviewed By:Olarnder,10/27/2013 8:47:06 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Retro Video Game Console > hyperkin > Hyperkin SNES/ NES/ Genesis RetroN 3 Gaming Console (Vector Red)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Dust off your old games.
Pros: Ports to use original NES/SNES/Genesis controllers. Compact. S-video available.
Cons: Not all games are supported. Sunset Riders for Genesis does not work. The included wireless controllers feel cheap and have a response lag. The NES port is a bit wobbly, while the Genesis port is so tight I feel like it's going to grind the copper off game cartridges. Graphics are a SLIGHT bit less sharp than using the real consoles.
Other Thoughts: Although there are some cons, the price and ability to play all your old games again is worth it. Make sure you clean all your old game cartridges with alcohol and q-tips so you are not just putting dirt/grime in to a new system.
Reviewed By:user159279063,10/16/2013 11:31:21 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Retro Video Game Console > hyperkin > Hyperkin SNES/NES/Genesis RetroN 3 Gaming Console (Charcoal Gray)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Neato
Pros: This nifty little unit plays three different game carts. Gotta admit thats pretty neat. Immediately reduced the amount of retro game units (and plugs). Worked well with all my old carts.
Cons: The wireless controllers hold something to be desired. Not the best range. I would certainly recommend just plugging in the retro controllers.
Other Thoughts: I'd recommend it if you want to revisit your retro game carts, but don't want several consoles all plugged in at once.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/21/2013 7:12:11 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Retro Video Game Console > AtGames > AtGames Atari Flashback 4 Classic Game Console with 75 games

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Fantastic Little Retro Atari Console
Pros: This is a great little unit, packed with a lot of great classic Atari 2600 games. The most popular titles of the day for many people.

It can hook up to any TV with standard AV or component inputs. (For component, plug the yellow video cable into the green "Y/V" jack on your TV).

The wireless controllers work quite well, however the are IR, this means the signal to the unit can be blocked or lost if something comes between you and the unit, or if you point the controller too far away from the console, this is the limitation of IR. However, in the positions most people play and hold these controllers, they work just fine.

The controllers are powered by 2 AAA batteries, even though I have never actually timed it out, quality batteries will last a long time. In the 6+ months I have had the unit, with moderate playtime with friends, I have only had to replace the batteries in both controllers once. When I decide to play alone, I use a wired controller.

That being said, you can also use classic Atari 2600 wired controllers, as well as the controllers that came with the units predecessors, the Atari Flashback 2 and 3. I have the original Flashback as well, but I have never tried those controllers on any of the newer units since they were not standard controllers, and I much prefer the standard ones over those included with the original Flashback. I can attest however that the other controllers do indeed work perfectly.

Having 4 controller is nice, 2 wired and 2 wireless, for games like Warlords where 4 people can play at once. Though it's NOT required since many of the games are 1 and 2 player, and even Warlords can be enjoyed by 1 to 4 players, your opponents will simply be controlled by the game itself in the case of this game. Some games are designed for 2 players, such as Combat, and using only the included IR controllers works great.

Both the unit and the controllers are built well, they do not feel "cheap". The unit itself is very lite in weight, not a problem, but something to note of you are using wired controllers at a distance, or over around a lot while playing using wired controllers.

The buttons also seem to be good quality, I have yet to have one fail on me, on any of the units that I own.

The games themselves play great, there are no issues, you will feel as though you have traveled back in time and relive some of those great Atari 2600 memories.
Cons: You can not use your classic Atari 2600 cartridges on this unit. However, there really is no need for such functionality on a device like this, since the target audience is not really classic game collectors.

Chances are, if you have a decent collection of Atari cartridges, you likely own a working console to play them on.

Also, the games included were most of the popular titles for the Atari 2600, so this is not really a con since you don't need the cartridges anyway.

If you don't have a classic Atari 2600, and you do have a collection of cartridges you wish to play, you can find them pretty cheap on popular auction sites.
Other Thoughts: I did not buy my unit from Newegg, sorry about, but it was not available at the time. I picked mine up at a local retailer around Christmas.

I am a collector of classic consoles and games, and I really do enjoy these "modern" plug and play style devices that allow you to play some of the best classic games from your childhood without having to own the old consoles. This Atari Flashback 4 is no exception.

This would be perfect for anyone looking for that old school Atari experience, without having to buy the old clunky console and track down all the games you want to play. You can just hook this right up to your TV and start playing.

My youngest child (12) also gets a kick out of playing the games dad player at her age. We have had a lot of fun playing many of them together, right alongside all the other "modern" games we play. So it's not only great for the retro gamer, but the retro gamer family as well.

Kudos to AtGames for a great product that I have been enjoying for months, and to Newegg for carrying it. Be sure to check out Joanne's overview video on the Newegg TV YouTube Channel if it's not already in the item description.

Remember to keep calm and game on! =)
Reviewed By:Strider,8/9/2013 3:45:37 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau