Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Seller#: 0UHZRBI9OPJNXW34F

PlatinumMicro.com Seller Profile 818-505-6853 Email This SellerEmail This Seller  See all products from PlatinumMicro.com See all products from PlatinumMicro.com

Platinum Micro Group, established in 2000 and located in Southern California, is a premium online retailer of computer components, consumer electronics, and other products. Since its inception, we have acquired a wealth of experience, knowledge, and formed relationships with several of the leading manufacturers including Seagate, Lacie, Western Digital, and Samsung. We continued to expand our e-commerce business in 2007 by adding other marketplaces. Currently, our product selection has grown expansively to include mobile accessories, access control equipment, and licensing products.

To rate this seller or report a problem, please use the link provided in the order confirmation email or the order history section located in your account settings.
Review Summary (1,637 Reviews ): Rating + 4
OverallLast 2 WeeksLast 6 Months
Excellent Rating + 5 1,091 Reviews
newegg
66%
Good Rating + 4 231 Reviews
newegg
14%
Average Rating + 3 93 Reviews
newegg
6%
Poor Rating + 2 62 Reviews
newegg
4%
Very Poor Rating + 1 160 Reviews
newegg
10%

Please Note: Egg-rating is based on total number of ratings submitted by customers, who have the option not to submit written reviews. Total number of ratings may exceed the number of written reviews and affect the overall Egg-rating.

Filter Results     apply changes
Reviewer Seller Review
Eric B.
Order Date : 4/22/2016

Rating + 3 Samsung V-Nand SSD 850 EVO purchase through Newegg

Shipping was slower than I am accustomed to with Newegg. Wish It was quicker.
Ive been ordering computer parts and the like from Newegg for over ten years, and this one item took longer than any other item Ive ever purchased. Most times, even with standard shipping, I receive my order in 3-4 days, not 7-9.
I am also a little dissapointed with the packaging. The order was over 100.00, and while there are no moving parts in this component, I would have assumed that a small box, and packing peanuts would have been applicable. Instead I got it in a bubble mailer. Luckily, the box that the item is in isn't crushed, or damaged in any way.
I haven't installed, or checked the item to ensure its functional, but I am optimistic that it will be just fine.
Beyond that, its just another day at the office. Newegg is by far the best online superstore for computer parts, and accessories on the internet. Keep up the good work, folks.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Anonymous
Order Date : 4/22/2016

Rating + 5 Excellent price and service

PlatinumMicro not only provided excellent price and service when ordering, but was very quick in responding to my RMA request and offered no complaint even though the return was do to an oversight on my part. I would highly recommend them and will purchase from them in the future.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Eric S.
Order Date : 4/19/2016

Rating + 1 BEWARE! Does not respond to RMA requests for faulty products!

Very simple. I was shipped a product that did not function. Requested an RMA twice. The first time the seller tried to further communication outside of newegg then ceased to respond. The second RMA request they just didn't respond at all. Opened a problem report with newegg and awaiting a response. Probably will stick to eb** and ama*** for 3rd parties from now on.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

patrick a.
Order Date : 4/16/2016

Rating + 5 good dealing

got everything I ordered and in a timely manner, I will buy from this seller again

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Mr. T.
Order Date : 4/24/2016

Rating + 2

No.
Slow Shipping

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Brian L.
Order Date : 4/9/2016

Rating + 5 Good Price, Fast Shipping

I want to share my interaction with PlatinumMicro ordering a pair of WD Re 4TB drives. After I placed my order I checked their reviews here and saw a few comments about slow shipping and processing and I got a bit concerned. Below is a timeline of my order:
Order placed: Saturday 4/9, A.M, 15 minutes later, payment authorized.
Payment Charged: Monday 4/11, P.M. (released to PlatinumMicro at this point)
Order Shipped (from CA): Tuesday 4/12, A.M. (Standard 5-7 business day shipping)
Order Arrived: Friday 4/15 (3 business days, original UPS estimate was Saturday 4/16)

So unlike some other experiences posted here, PlatinumMicro shipped very quickly and the package arrived ahead of schedule.

The WD hard drives are brand new, in factory sealed pouches, and have a Mfg. Date of 15 FEB 2016 so they're certainly brand new.

HDDs were packaged in a small cardboard box with your standard plastic HDD bracing cups on either end. One corner was crushed a bit during shipping but nothing concerning. They folded a bubble envelope in half and used it to support the two drives inside the box and hold them in place.

Overall, I had a great shopping experience with PlatinumMicro and would consider doing business again.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Joshua K.
Order Date : 4/2/2016

Rating + 1 This Seller needs to check their products

They need to check their equipment before shipping out, I did not order cardboard and nails for my SSD drives
Seller Response:All items sold are brand new factory sealed from the manufacture.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

Michael G.
Order Date : 3/27/2016

Rating + 5 Smooth Transaction - Everything AOK+

Product was received well packaged and in good order. It was exactly as described and pictured. I have had this SSD - Solid State Drive looked over and evaluated as to it's condition and performance abilities and it has passed all inspections and internal tests. It is now installed and is working perfectly. I would recommend this seller to all potential buyers.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Timothy G.
Order Date : 3/18/2016

Rating + 5 Not all HDDs are the same

This vendor made certain we got exactly what we ordered and it was in perfect condition. The price was fair and we received the drive in a timely manner. We'll be back as our needs arise. :-)

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Robert M.
Order Date : 2/26/2016

Rating + 1 Extremely Dissatisfied

It's weird to be writing a review like this, because I'm very understanding and usually easy as heck to please. I know people have jobs getting the parts I ordered out to me, and I understand that sometimes that job doesn't go as smoothly as everyone would like. This situation, however, goes beyond all understanding: It's been over a month since I ordered my hard drive, and I still have not seen it.

They claim PayPal altered my shipping address, that they used the address that PayPal provided rather than the new address I've had on file (and that I double-checked before ordering) for well over a month. See, if it were me, I'd trust my customer to enter the correct information, rather than trust PayPal to have more current information, but maybe I'm crazy.

So anyway, drive gets shipped to my old address, is undeliverable (of course), and gets sent back. Well, STARTS to get sent back. As of today, it still hasn't made its way back to the seller. Tracking information updated on March 4th when it was undeliverable and being sent back to the sender. Because PlatinumMicro apparently have no interest in getting their product back (and in turn shipping me a replacement), there wasn't another tracking update until April 1st.

It's now April 5th, and I've ordered a replacement drive from elsewhere. And because this drive was for a client, I'm not only eating my labor cost at this point, I'm eating the cost of two hard drives. Thanks, PlatinumMicro!!

I've been in email contact with both Newegg and PlatinumMicro. Newegg was very apologetic, but ultimately couldn't do anything about my issue, so they got me in touch with PlatinumMicro's email support, which is an absolute joke. See below:

*****

Support Team <spt@platinummicro.com>
Mar 24 (12 days ago)

to me
Tracking Number 92748926998177513031503485

Track here ups.com // it was actually USPS

Please see tracking.

Please verify your shipping address.

Thank you.

Robert M. <*my email*@gmail.com>
Mar 25 (11 days ago)

to Support
The tracking information states that the last activity was March 4, and that USPS were contacting you (the sender) for assistance. This does me no good, as I already attempted pickup today at my post office, and they did not have the package. They advised that it "looks like" the package was shipped back on March 4, the same day it arrived and was undeliverable.

If Newegg did not supply my correct shipping address, it's as follows:

Robert M.
500 My Street #1
Mytown, TX 77777

I'd appreciate a replacement being shipped out if at all possible while you wait to receive the returned package. My client has already waited for three weeks, and has been calling me daily.

Please reply to this message if you need any further information.

Thank you.

*****

And then nothing until a week later when they sent this:

*****

----- From: <PlatinumMicro.com> To: <Robert M> -----

Hello,

Thank you for contacting Platinum Micro.

How can we assist you?

Please advise.

*****

After all that, after I clearly spelled out how they can help me, they send me an email as though they've never talked to me before. It left me 100% speechless for a good two minutes before I started on the email asking for a refund.

By the way, I'd like to echo the sentiment of another recent reviewer. The reason I primarily use Newegg is because they are fast and have great customer service. However, when I order a part from their website, I expect it to come from them, not whoever PlatinumMicro is. Come ON, Newegg!

TL;DR: Do NOT order from these guys unless you enjoy waiting a long time, and in the event of any issues, dealing with a customer service team with the collective memory of a goldfish.
Seller Response:Hello, you will need to contact Neweggs billing department directly for assistance. Merchant Services are handled by Newegg.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

Filter Results     apply changes
Standard Return Policy
  • Return for refund within: 30 days
  • Return for replacement within: 30 days
  • Restocking Fee: 15.00%

    All products sold by Platinum Micro Inc. are brand new and carry the manufacturers full warranty.

    All products advertised as BULK or OEM are brand new and carry the manufacturers full warranty.

    "BULK" and "OEM" items do not come in a retail type of packaging, do not include hardware, accessories, cables, software, or literature. Unless otherwise noted.

    All products are shipped to the customer the exact same way that we receive them from the manufacturer.

    We do not accept returns on any item that have physical damage. The customer will have to file a warranty claim directly with the manufacturer.

    We do not accept returns on any Hard Drives, Solid State Drives, or Optical Drives that have damaged SATA connectors. The customer will have to file a warranty claim directly with the manufacturer.

    We are not responsible for physical damage or misuse of the product, damage or misuse of the product will automatically void the manufacturer warranty.

    Platinum Micro, Inc. offers a 30 day return/exchange policy, unless otherwise noted. The return/exchange policy begins on the customers purchase date.

    No returns or exchanges will be accepted after 30 days.

    Noted: Sales of Software, Thermal Compound, Thermal Paste, Thermal Grease, Thermal Adhesive, Thermal Epoxy, CPU Heatsink, VGA Heatsink, and items manufactured by Shuttle Computer Group are considered final. No returns, exchanges, or refunds. Please contact the manufacturer for warranty services.

    There is a restocking fee of 15% on all returns for refund. We charge this 15% restocking fee for all returns for refund to encourage customers to purchase products they intend to keep. We offer RMA replacement without any restocking fee to customers who have received a defective product.

    Shipping costs is non-refundable.

    Product exchanges can be accepted for defective items, the same exact item only. Product returns can be accepted for defective items only. Product returns for non-defective items will incur a 15% re-stocking fee, deducted from the refund amount.

    Platinum Micro, Inc. does not offer "Advanced Replacement" for the exchange of defective merchandise.

    Platinum Micro, Inc. does not pay the return shipping costs for defective merchandise.

    We are not responsible for product defects, because we do not manufacture the products we sell. Platinum Micro, Inc. will pay for shipping "Back to the customer" for exchange of defective items.

    All returns and exchanges must be accompanied with a Return Merchandise Authorization number (RMA number). Please contact us for a RMA number prior to sending your package. Platinum Micro, Inc. will not accept packages without prior authorization and a RMA number.

    Send return / exchange packages to:



    Platinum Micro Inc.
    Attn: (RMA Number)
    15815 Monte St.
    Ste. #F103
    Sylmar, CA 91342



    RMA numbers are valid for only 10 business days. Packages must be received by us within 10 business days after the RMA number has been issued. Packages received after 10 business days will not be accepted and the warranty period will be considered voided and cancelled.

    All packages being shipped to Platinum Micro, Inc. must have a valid tracking number that is with a major courier such as UPS, FEDEX, or USPS.

    RMA processing time is 5-7 business days once the package has been received.

Return Instruction
    1. Log onto your Newegg.com account and find your order in order history, click on 'Request RMA from Seller' Button next to the order information.
    2. On 'Compose Message Page', verify the order number you want to request return on the top of the page, choose 'RMA Inquiry' from the drop down menu, provide the item# (you can find on your order invoice e-mail) and the reason you want to return, and indicate you want to return for replacement or refund before click 'send message' button.
    3. Once our Customer Service Representatives receive your inquiry, it will take us 24 - 48 hours to respond to your inquiry.
    4. Once our Customer Service has verified your order information and approved for you to send the merchandise back to us, you will be provided with Return Merchandise Authorization (RMA) number for your return through e-mail. The e-mail contains RMA number, RMA details and important return shipping instruction. Read the instruction carefully before you ship your return merchandise back to us.
    5. We strongly recommend you return your item in the same or similar packaging as they were delivered to you with all the original parts, accessories and menu/documentation included (any missing parts or accessories may result your return being rejected or your refund/replacement being delayed). Re-using the package your item came in is acceptable, as long as the packaging is in good condition and all previous addresses, tracking information and labels are removed.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.