Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Seller#: 0UHZRBI9OPJNXW34F

PlatinumMicro.com Seller Profile 818-505-6853 Email This SellerEmail This Seller  See all products from PlatinumMicro.com See all products from PlatinumMicro.com

Platinum Micro Group, established in 2000 and located in Southern California, is a premium online retailer of computer components, consumer electronics, and other products. Since its inception, we have acquired a wealth of experience, knowledge, and formed relationships with several of the leading manufacturers including Seagate, Lacie, Western Digital, and Samsung. We continued to expand our e-commerce business in 2007 by adding other marketplaces. Currently, our product selection has grown expansively to include mobile accessories, access control equipment, and licensing products.

To rate this seller or report a problem, please use the link provided in the order confirmation email or the order history section located in your account settings.
Review Summary (2,166 Reviews ): Rating + 4
OverallLast 2 WeeksLast 6 Months
Excellent Rating + 5 1,473 Reviews
newegg
69%
Good Rating + 4 313 Reviews
newegg
14%
Average Rating + 3 116 Reviews
newegg
5%
Poor Rating + 2 67 Reviews
newegg
3%
Very Poor Rating + 1 197 Reviews
newegg
9%

Please Note: Egg-rating is based on total number of ratings submitted by customers, who have the option not to submit written reviews. Total number of ratings may exceed the number of written reviews and affect the overall Egg-rating.

Filter Results     apply changes
Reviewer Seller Review
Caleb H.
Order Date : 9/17/2016

Rating + 2 Messed up my shipping address

SUMMARY:
Package couldn't be delivered, was returned, and refunded.

THE GOOD:
When I called the seller, I was connected with a representative almost immediately and they quickly issued me a refund, which I did appreciate. No issues here at all.

THE BAD:
I ordered a ARCTIC Freezer Xtreme Rev. 2 CPU Cooler along with components to build two systems, and upgrade two others. This seller took longer than any other seller to charge my credit card and to actually ship my order out. Then, I received everything else I ordered in the same purchase, except the CPU cooler from this seller. They shipped it UPS SurePost, and when it was handed over to the USPS for final delivery the USPS was unable to deliver the package as addressed. The USPS returned the shipment the moment there was an issue; as is the USPS way.

THE UGLY:
I ordered the CPU cooler as an upgrade to one of my systems, along with several other components. Because it was addressed poorly and returned, I ordered the cooler again (this time from a different E-commerce site). Unfortunately this has delayed me completing my build for more than a week. So for now I just get to look at the parts that will someday make an awesome system as they sit on a table unused. And that makes me a sad panda.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Benjamin J.
Order Date : 8/14/2016

Rating + 1 Dissatisfied

No. I would not recommend. I ordered the product on Monday night. It was not shipped until a day after the other products were shipped and it did not arrive until the Monday after the other products I ordered. This caused my computer build to be delayed by a week.
Seller Response:Order date: 08/15/2016 12:21:18
Shipment date: 08-16-16

We are shipping from California to IL

it takes 4-5 business days for the package to be delivered

Thank you.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Victor P.
Order Date : 8/1/2016

Rating + 2 Wrong connectors

It was not made clear to me that the product came in two forms with different connectors connecting to different controllers. As a consequence I accidentally ordered the wrong kind. They have allowed me to return them (at a 10% restocking charge) but have not facilitated getting replacements. So technically their behavior has been correct, but nevertheless it's been a very frustrating experience for me.
Seller Response:Exchanges can only be made for the exact same item ordered.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Iskandar H.
Order Date : 8/21/2016

Rating + 1 No communications, a message from Newegg saying it was shipped, but NO TRACKING NUMBER. I use a mail forwarding service and must have a tracking number.

In in the future I must be more careful not to use 3rd part vendors through Newegg or stop using Newegg altogether. I've never not had a tracking number when an item's been shipped. Either the vendor saving money by not getting tracking (big mistake for orders in the hundreds of dollars) or then poorly managed. Either way won't do business with them again.
Seller Response:Tracking information is available for you to view in your order history.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

Samuel J.
Order Date : 8/10/2016

Rating + 5 Excellent Service

Fast shipping, will buy again. Thanks!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Anonymous
Order Date : 7/28/2016

Rating + 4

Ordered a hard drive from PlatinumMicro.com. The moisture barrier bag for the hard drive had a small puncture in it, like somebody stabbed it. It wasn't damaged during shipping since the package was completely stuffed. Other that that, the order was just fine.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Jeremy J.
Order Date : 7/18/2016

Rating + 1 NO RESPONSE AFTER A WEEK

RECEIVED A DOA MOBO, E-MAILED SELLER AND AFTER 1 WEEK STILL NO REPONSE.
Seller Response:All emails have been replied, please check your junk or spam inbox.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Anonymous
Order Date : 7/5/2016

Rating + 1 Paid a premium for new and got used!!! Avoid.

I purchased a GIGABYTE G1 Gaming GA-Z170X-Gaming 7 (rev. 1.0) LGA 1151 Intel Z170 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard due to Newegg not having any on hand from this retailer. Paid for brand new at a price of $232.89. When the item arrived it was in a brown box with good protection. I opened the box to find the Gigabyte MB box was very worn and no seal on it to prevent accidental opening. When I opened the box the first thing I saw was a owners manual for an Nvidia GTX Titan graphics card. I thought, why is this in there? My brother who was standing there asked if the card was in there also as a joke. I then pulled the actual owners manual out for the MB and it had been thumbed through, was bent up and had finger prints in it. Kind of dirty finger prints. I then removed the MB from its wrapper that the seal had been broken on and found scratches on the white and red MB shield cover. There were finger prints on the battery and you could tell it had been used. I am very disappointed with the seller and will avoid them at all costs. The only positive was I received it in a timely manner. I build and resale pc's and this was a specific build a guy wanted. I shot a couple of pics of the damage and he was willing to accept it although if it were me I would not. I am sure the scratches were caused by a fan heat sink since they are in relation to where the fins would be.
I will say this, the MB does run flawlessly and has a newly updated BIOS. I am sure there was an issue with it and it may have went back for testing and they updated it. Not really sure.
I will not be contacting PatinumMicro as the negative reviews for this company will probably not yield a good result. I will just give them a bad review and avoid them at all costs. Something told me to just go ahead and order it through Best Buy since they had them in stock and we are a Platinum rewards holder which meant any issue they ship me a new product no questions asked but I just placed the order through Newegg for convenience.
Newegg PLEASE DROP THIS SELLER!!!!!

Just to add to this..... I did contact them. The only thing they had to say was that the board was new. It was not. I told them I wanted an exchange, they said only if it was defective. I told them it was. They said to return it (at my own expense) and if it tested bad they would exchange it. It is damaged, not defective. They also wanted a return label from me at my additional expense. They would not exchange, refund or replace something they sold me as new. Unacceptable. Newegg you should be ashamed for promoting these guys. Ten years and thousands of dollars from me into your pockets. Also I am still waiting on my thermal paste Newegg you never sent me or replied to my email regarding my order number 254192044. I don't know why we waist our time with these reviews. The only people that read them are purchasers. Maybe if we give enough bad reviews from these poor venders they will go out of business.
Seller Response:Sorry that you did not take delivery of the item in a brand new condition. We will gladly accept a return.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

Justin V.
Order Date : 7/2/2016

Rating + 4

Product came from across the country quite quickly on a Free Shipping deal. However, they are very slow at updating the processing status on Newegg and nearly forced me to cancel my order because I was worried by how many negative reviews they had gotten. Aside from being slow at letting their customer know where the purchase progress is at, the item arrived quick and works great.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Mark P.
Order Date : 7/14/2016

Rating + 1 VERY POOR

Before purchase I called them to confirm the Manufacturer Warranty status for the product I was purchasing (WD4002FYYZ). They put me on hold for some time while the party I was speaking to went someplace to verify the factory warranty status. When they came back they assured me that there would be a 5 year factory warranty as described for the product. I placed the order and when it arrived, I checked the manufacturer's web site (http://support.wdc.com/Warranty/warrantyStatus.aspx?lang=en) and entered the product serial number. The resulting information displayed said that there was no warranty since this was an "Out of Region" drive.
Seller Response:We will gladly accept a return on your order for a full refund or for an exchange.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

Filter Results     apply changes
Standard Return Policy
  • Return for refund within: 30 days
  • Return for replacement within: 30 days
  • Restocking Fee: 15.00%

Used Item Return Policy
  • Return for refund within: 30 days
  • Return for replacement within: 30 days
  • Restocking Fee: 15.00%

    All products sold by Platinum Micro Inc. are brand new and carry the manufacturers full warranty.

    All products advertised as BULK or OEM are brand new and carry the manufacturers full warranty.

    "BULK" and "OEM" items do not come in a retail type of packaging, do not include hardware, accessories, cables, software, or literature. Unless otherwise noted.

    All products are shipped to the customer the exact same way that we receive them from the manufacturer.

    We do not accept returns on any item that have physical damage. The customer will have to file a warranty claim directly with the manufacturer.

    We do not accept returns on any Hard Drives, Solid State Drives, or Optical Drives that have damaged SATA connectors. The customer will have to file a warranty claim directly with the manufacturer.

    We are not responsible for physical damage or misuse of the product, damage or misuse of the product will automatically void the manufacturer warranty.

    Platinum Micro, Inc. offers a 30 day return/exchange policy, unless otherwise noted. The return/exchange policy begins on the customers purchase date.

    No returns or exchanges will be accepted after 30 days.

    Noted: Sales of Software, Thermal Compound, Thermal Paste, Thermal Grease, Thermal Adhesive, Thermal Epoxy, CPU Heatsink, VGA Heatsink, and items manufactured by Shuttle Computer Group are considered final. No returns, exchanges, or refunds. Please contact the manufacturer for warranty services.

    There is a restocking fee of 15% on all returns for refund. We charge this 15% restocking fee for all returns for refund to encourage customers to purchase products they intend to keep. We offer RMA replacement without any restocking fee to customers who have received a defective product.

    Shipping costs is non-refundable.

    Product exchanges can be accepted for defective items, the same exact item only. Product returns can be accepted for defective items only. Product returns for non-defective items will incur a 15% re-stocking fee, deducted from the refund amount.

    Platinum Micro, Inc. does not offer "Advanced Replacement" for the exchange of defective merchandise.

    Platinum Micro, Inc. does not pay the return shipping costs for defective merchandise.

    We are not responsible for product defects, because we do not manufacture the products we sell. Platinum Micro, Inc. will pay for shipping "Back to the customer" for exchange of defective items.

    All returns and exchanges must be accompanied with a Return Merchandise Authorization number (RMA number). Please contact us for a RMA number prior to sending your package. Platinum Micro, Inc. will not accept packages without prior authorization and a RMA number.

    Send return / exchange packages to:



    Platinum Micro Inc.
    Attn: (RMA Number)
    15815 Monte St.
    Ste. #F103
    Sylmar, CA 91342



    RMA numbers are valid for only 10 business days. Packages must be received by us within 10 business days after the RMA number has been issued. Packages received after 10 business days will not be accepted and the warranty period will be considered voided and cancelled.

    All packages being shipped to Platinum Micro, Inc. must have a valid tracking number that is with a major courier such as UPS, FEDEX, or USPS.

    RMA processing time is 5-7 business days once the package has been received.

Return Instruction
    1. Log onto your Newegg.com account and find your order in order history, click on 'Request RMA from Seller' Button next to the order information.
    2. On 'Compose Message Page', verify the order number you want to request return on the top of the page, choose 'RMA Inquiry' from the drop down menu, provide the item# (you can find on your order invoice e-mail) and the reason you want to return, and indicate you want to return for replacement or refund before click 'send message' button.
    3. Once our Customer Service Representatives receive your inquiry, it will take us 24 - 48 hours to respond to your inquiry.
    4. Once our Customer Service has verified your order information and approved for you to send the merchandise back to us, you will be provided with Return Merchandise Authorization (RMA) number for your return through e-mail. The e-mail contains RMA number, RMA details and important return shipping instruction. Read the instruction carefully before you ship your return merchandise back to us.
    5. We strongly recommend you return your item in the same or similar packaging as they were delivered to you with all the original parts, accessories and menu/documentation included (any missing parts or accessories may result your return being rejected or your refund/replacement being delayed). Re-using the package your item came in is acceptable, as long as the packaging is in good condition and all previous addresses, tracking information and labels are removed.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.