Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Seller#: 0UHZRBI9OPJNXW34F

PlatinumMicro.com Seller Profile 818-505-6853 Email This SellerEmail This Seller  See all products from PlatinumMicro.com See all products from PlatinumMicro.com

Platinum Micro Group, established in 2000 and located in Southern California, is a premium online retailer of computer components, consumer electronics, and other products. Since its inception, we have acquired a wealth of experience, knowledge, and formed relationships with several of the leading manufacturers including Seagate, Lacie, Western Digital, and Samsung. We continued to expand our e-commerce business in 2007 by adding other marketplaces. Currently, our product selection has grown expansively to include mobile accessories, access control equipment, and licensing products.

To rate this seller or report a problem, please use the link provided in the order confirmation email or the order history section located in your account settings.
Review Summary (1,979 Reviews ): Rating + 4
OverallLast 2 WeeksLast 6 Months
Excellent Rating + 5 1,350 Reviews
newegg
67%
Good Rating + 4 270 Reviews
newegg
14%
Average Rating + 3 109 Reviews
newegg
6%
Poor Rating + 2 61 Reviews
newegg
3%
Very Poor Rating + 1 189 Reviews
newegg
10%

Please Note: Egg-rating is based on total number of ratings submitted by customers, who have the option not to submit written reviews. Total number of ratings may exceed the number of written reviews and affect the overall Egg-rating.

Filter Results     apply changes
Reviewer Seller Review
Mark P.
Order Date : 7/14/2016

Rating + 1 VERY POOR

Before purchase I called them to confirm the Manufacturer Warranty status for the product I was purchasing (WD4002FYYZ). They put me on hold for some time while the party I was speaking to went someplace to verify the factory warranty status. When they came back they assured me that there would be a 5 year factory warranty as described for the product. I placed the order and when it arrived, I checked the manufacturer's web site (http://support.wdc.com/Warranty/warrantyStatus.aspx?lang=en) and entered the product serial number. The resulting information displayed said that there was no warranty since this was an "Out of Region" drive.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

Anonymous
Order Date : 6/21/2016

Rating + 5 Very helpful

Helped me out with an incorrectly ordered part (user error). Very fast and courteous service.

Thanks, guys!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Michael W.
Order Date : 6/21/2016

Rating + 2

Yes I would recommend this seller, fast fulfillment.
Shipping is what I'm disappointed with, package went out UPS then handed over to USPS witch added two days extra shipping time. I like packages to come UPS (not FedEx ground ) and letters to come USPS.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Matt L.
Order Date : 7/5/2016

Rating + 1 Paid a premium for new and got used!!! Avoid.

I purchased a GIGABYTE G1 Gaming GA-Z170X-Gaming 7 (rev. 1.0) LGA 1151 Intel Z170 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard due to Newegg not having any on hand from this retailer. Paid for brand new at a price of $232.89. When the item arrived it was in a brown box with good protection. I opened the box to find the Gigabyte MB box was very worn and no seal on it to prevent accidental opening. When I opened the box the first thing I saw was a owners manual for an Nvidia GTX Titan graphics card. I thought, why is this in there? My brother who was standing there asked if the card was in there also as a joke. I then pulled the actual owners manual out for the MB and it had been thumbed through, was bent up and had finger prints in it. Kind of dirty finger prints. I then removed the MB from its wrapper that the seal had been broken on and found scratches on the white and red MB shield cover. There were finger prints on the battery and you could tell it had been used. I am very disappointed with the seller and will avoid them at all costs. The only positive was I received it in a timely manner. I build and resale pc's and this was a specific build a guy wanted. I shot a couple of pics of the damage and he was willing to accept it although if it were me I would not. I am sure the scratches were caused by a fan heat sink since they are in relation to where the fins would be.
I will say this, the MB does run flawlessly and has a newly updated BIOS. I am sure there was an issue with it and it may have went back for testing and they updated it. Not really sure.
I will not be contacting PatinumMicro as the negative reviews for this company will probably not yield a good result. I will just give them a bad review and avoid them at all costs. Something told me to just go ahead and order it through Best Buy since they had them in stock and we are a Platinum rewards holder which meant any issue they ship me a new product no questions asked but I just placed the order through Newegg for convenience.
Newegg PLEASE DROP THIS SELLER!!!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

Patrick S.
Order Date : 5/17/2016

Rating + 4 Not what I needed, but the seller was professional about the return and refund

I ordered a pair of SAS drives from Platinum Micro, and then realized I needed straight SATA drives instead. Although I initially received no reply to a query about this through the Newegg site, an e-mail to the company resulted in prompt action to enable the return and a refund. Although it took an extra e-mail to get a response, they eventually acted very quickly and responsibly to process a refund for me. I would use this company again.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

James L.
Order Date : 6/12/2016

Rating + 5 Great Customer Service

Had issues with shipping where the product was shipped using UPS and later transferred to USPS for mail delivery. The item was miss-delivered during the process. Contacted Newegg and they referred me to PlatinumMicro's customer service rep., they were quick to respond and resolved my issues in a timely matter! Was very impressed on how quickly and effectively the situation was handled.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Will D.
Order Date : 5/26/2016

Rating + 3 Update after not receiving item

Email received from PlatinumMicro on 06.23.16 @ 14:15 stating a refund has been issued.

Original rating was 1 egg.
+3 eggs for acting on my *2nd* request very quickly.
-1 egg for not reading, or at least, not comprehending the request.

The 2nd request was for a *REPLACEMENT*, not a *REFUND*.

And while a refund is at least *something*, it's not what I wanted, nor what I asked for.
Not to mention, it took 7 emails to communicate/confirm that the shipping address they had on file {from the first delivery attempt} was the correct one & had not changed... Wait, scratch that... That's probably why I was issued a refund & not a replacement because it was "too much hassle" to check the original shipping address & compare it to the address I provided, *2 MORE TIMES* {which was the same address}.

It's true what is said, "You can't please everyone." because overall, I'm disappointed with the level of customer service provided. I do appreciate the quick response & the refund, however, is a little competence & effort too much to ask for?
______________________________________________________________________________________________
|I am leaving my original review below for posterity|
______________________________________________________________________________________________
From 6/17/2016 7:11:42 PM:
This is both my 2nd shipping issue request *AND* my 2nd time attempting to post this review...

For the record, I would never have agreed to this:

"As requested by the sender, UPS has transferred this shipment to the local post office for delivery to the final destination."

For the simple fact that the USPS is, imo, unreliable for items larger than most envelopes.

Furthermore, this "transfer of responsibility" took place on a THURSDAY:
1ZY34949YW70932122
"06/02/2016 at 11:07 A.M. Package transferred to post office"

Here's why that's relevant: The original estimated time of arrival was FRIDAY, JUNE 3RD.

I see no reason for the seller to have requested UPS to deliver it to an, again imo, unreliable delivery service when there was still a FULL DAY to have it delivered to the correct address by a trusted delivery service.

If I have to submit a 3RD shipping related request, it will be for a refund. However, if I am sent a proper replacement, I will edit this review in a more positive light.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Anonymous
Order Date : 6/15/2016

Rating + 1 We accidentally ordered from these people instead of newegg

stuff taking forever, says shipped but no tracking number.
Seller Response:Order was shipped the next day after you purchased the order. NewEgg should forward you an email for the tracking number.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Nicholas R.
Order Date : 6/6/2016

Rating + 5 Great Service

Only dealt with PlatinumMicro one time for one item, but they did exactly what I expected so I gave them the highest possible rating.

I thought about docking one point for not including the shipping number, but I was extremely impressed with how quickly they emailed me back when I asked them if tracking was included with my shipping. Not only did they provide me with the tracking number when they got back to me (an hours or two after I initiated my question), but they also told me exactly where my package was. They certainly did not need to take the extra few seconds to look up where my purchase was on its trip to my house, but it was greatly appreciated and those little things are what true service is about.

Anyone expecting a faster response time from an email is just being impatient, and yea, they could have included the tracking number sooner, but it didn't change the fact that they did exactly what they agreed to do when I bought from them.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Jason A.
Order Date : 5/24/2016

Rating + 5 Great Product!!!

It shipped really fast, I had it in like 3 days. It was packaged pretty well. I was actually surprised at how sturdy the product is. Plus the sliders are made out of rubber, which is a plus. I will only be using 3 of the controllers to start off with but I will always have a couple more if needed.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Filter Results     apply changes
Standard Return Policy
  • Return for refund within: 30 days
  • Return for replacement within: 30 days
  • Restocking Fee: 15.00%

    All products sold by Platinum Micro Inc. are brand new and carry the manufacturers full warranty.

    All products advertised as BULK or OEM are brand new and carry the manufacturers full warranty.

    "BULK" and "OEM" items do not come in a retail type of packaging, do not include hardware, accessories, cables, software, or literature. Unless otherwise noted.

    All products are shipped to the customer the exact same way that we receive them from the manufacturer.

    We do not accept returns on any item that have physical damage. The customer will have to file a warranty claim directly with the manufacturer.

    We do not accept returns on any Hard Drives, Solid State Drives, or Optical Drives that have damaged SATA connectors. The customer will have to file a warranty claim directly with the manufacturer.

    We are not responsible for physical damage or misuse of the product, damage or misuse of the product will automatically void the manufacturer warranty.

    Platinum Micro, Inc. offers a 30 day return/exchange policy, unless otherwise noted. The return/exchange policy begins on the customers purchase date.

    No returns or exchanges will be accepted after 30 days.

    Noted: Sales of Software, Thermal Compound, Thermal Paste, Thermal Grease, Thermal Adhesive, Thermal Epoxy, CPU Heatsink, VGA Heatsink, and items manufactured by Shuttle Computer Group are considered final. No returns, exchanges, or refunds. Please contact the manufacturer for warranty services.

    There is a restocking fee of 15% on all returns for refund. We charge this 15% restocking fee for all returns for refund to encourage customers to purchase products they intend to keep. We offer RMA replacement without any restocking fee to customers who have received a defective product.

    Shipping costs is non-refundable.

    Product exchanges can be accepted for defective items, the same exact item only. Product returns can be accepted for defective items only. Product returns for non-defective items will incur a 15% re-stocking fee, deducted from the refund amount.

    Platinum Micro, Inc. does not offer "Advanced Replacement" for the exchange of defective merchandise.

    Platinum Micro, Inc. does not pay the return shipping costs for defective merchandise.

    We are not responsible for product defects, because we do not manufacture the products we sell. Platinum Micro, Inc. will pay for shipping "Back to the customer" for exchange of defective items.

    All returns and exchanges must be accompanied with a Return Merchandise Authorization number (RMA number). Please contact us for a RMA number prior to sending your package. Platinum Micro, Inc. will not accept packages without prior authorization and a RMA number.

    Send return / exchange packages to:



    Platinum Micro Inc.
    Attn: (RMA Number)
    15815 Monte St.
    Ste. #F103
    Sylmar, CA 91342



    RMA numbers are valid for only 10 business days. Packages must be received by us within 10 business days after the RMA number has been issued. Packages received after 10 business days will not be accepted and the warranty period will be considered voided and cancelled.

    All packages being shipped to Platinum Micro, Inc. must have a valid tracking number that is with a major courier such as UPS, FEDEX, or USPS.

    RMA processing time is 5-7 business days once the package has been received.

Return Instruction
    1. Log onto your Newegg.com account and find your order in order history, click on 'Request RMA from Seller' Button next to the order information.
    2. On 'Compose Message Page', verify the order number you want to request return on the top of the page, choose 'RMA Inquiry' from the drop down menu, provide the item# (you can find on your order invoice e-mail) and the reason you want to return, and indicate you want to return for replacement or refund before click 'send message' button.
    3. Once our Customer Service Representatives receive your inquiry, it will take us 24 - 48 hours to respond to your inquiry.
    4. Once our Customer Service has verified your order information and approved for you to send the merchandise back to us, you will be provided with Return Merchandise Authorization (RMA) number for your return through e-mail. The e-mail contains RMA number, RMA details and important return shipping instruction. Read the instruction carefully before you ship your return merchandise back to us.
    5. We strongly recommend you return your item in the same or similar packaging as they were delivered to you with all the original parts, accessories and menu/documentation included (any missing parts or accessories may result your return being rejected or your refund/replacement being delayed). Re-using the package your item came in is acceptable, as long as the packaging is in good condition and all previous addresses, tracking information and labels are removed.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.