Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Computers & Tablets > 
All Laptop Accessories > 
Internal SSDs > 
OCZ Technology > 
Item#: 9SIA4HG1K49148

OCZ Vertex 2 OCZSSD2-2VTXE120G 2.5" 115GB SATA II MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

  • 2.5"
  • 115GB
  • SATA II
  • Email this page
ICON Loading...

Based on a cutting-edge new architecture, Vertex 2 Solid State Drives deliver unprecedented performance while maintaining an affordable storage solution for early adopters looking to update their systems with the latest technology. OCZ designed the Vertex 2 to excel in both sequential and random read/write rates to take your PC or notebook productivity to the next level, featuring superb 4KB random writes up to 50,000 IOPS to give a performance edge over the previous generation. Using the latest controller technology, Vertex 2 not only provides a faster, more responsive PC experience, but promotes cooler, quieter, and more energy efficient conditions compared to traditional mechanical hard drives. Built with SATA 3Gb/s, the Vertex 2 Series easily integrates into today’s mobile and desktop platforms and features TRIM support to optimize performance over the drive’s lifespan as the ultimate Windows7 notebook or desktop upgrade. 

  • newegg SSD Storage Technology Unlike traditional hard disk drives, SSDs have no moving parts, resulting in a quiet, cool, highly reliable storage solution that also offers faster application loading and system responsiveness. And for laptops and netbooks, the lower power needs of SSD’s translate to extended battery life. Higher performance with more durability means you can be truly mobile with confidence.
  • newegg Better Performance Built with MLC NAND flash and the latest generation SandForce SF1200 controller featuring award winning DuraClass Technology, the OCZ Vertex 2 120GB SSD delivers industry-leading SSD reliability, performance, and power efficiency, with maximum read speed up to 285 MB/s and maximum write speed up to 275 MB/s, plus incredible random 4K write performance of 50,000 IOPS.
  • newegg TRIM Support The OCZ Vertex 2 Series SSD’s offer native TRIM support than can be enabled in Windows 7. Designed to maintain the performance of SSD at an optimal level over the lifetime of the drive, TRIM functions by actively deleting invalid data from the SSD’s memory cells to ensure that write operations perform at full speed. Since a memory block must be erased before it can be re-programmed, TRIM improves performance by pro-actively erasing pages containing invalid data, allowing the SSD to write new data without first having to perform a time-consuming erase command.

Learn more about the OCZ Technology OCZSSD2-2VTXE120G

Quick Info

Warranty

  • Limited Warranty period (parts): 3 years
  • Limited Warranty period (labor): 3 years


Customer Reviews of the OCZ Technology OCZSSD2-2VTXE120G

Do you own this product? Write a Review

ICON Loading...

Filter Results

Go
  • Khiem V.
  • 6/16/2010 6:11:07 PM
  • Tech Level: Somewhat High
  • Ownership: less than 1 day

1 out of 5 eggsUh wrong read/write specs?

Pros: It looks decent

Cons: Uhh.. I'm using crystal mark and I'm getting reads of 190 - 210
and write speeds of 130?

and it says on the box that it's 285 mb read / 275mb write with 250 sustained? I don't think so

Other Thoughts: If there is some kinda firmware I was supposed to download or anything at least they could have told you on the box somewhere. I'm returning this for my money back worst SSD I've ever used, going back to my intel

Manufacturer Response:

Hello, we are sorry that you are having difficulties. We will be happy to assist you with any questions that you may have on our SSD support forums at the link below. Please pay us a visit.
Thank you

4 out of 23 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

  • Anonymous
  • 6/10/2010 12:11:51 PM
  • Tech Level: Average
  • Ownership: 1 day to 1 week

1 out of 5 eggsLemon?

Pros: Expected to be fastest Drive on a market.

Cons: Top Read Speed i can get form it 127.2 min and 140.6 max MB/Sec according to HD tune. after upgrading to FW 1.10 it got even worse. 105 MB/Sec Read and never go over 100 MB/sec Write. Not 270-280 expected Will RMA and see if replace meant do any better.

Other Thoughts: I did not bougt it from NewEgg - was sold out here.

Manufacturer Response:

Hello, we are sorry that you are having problems. We will be happy to assist you with troubleshooting, and advise you of any changes that can be made to increase performance on our support forums at the link below.
Thank you

5 out of 26 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

  • Ian W.
  • 12/13/2010 5:46:00 PM
  • Tech Level: High
  • Ownership: 1 day to 1 week
  • Verified Owner

1 out of 5 eggsDO NOT BUY!

Pros: umm ... none?

Cons: I'm really disappointed with the number of issues I'm having with this drive to start.

First, I swap my dell drive out of the laptop and plug in the vertex 2 and it doesn't recognize it. After multiple ctl+alt+del, then it finally for some unknown reason recognizes it.

Second, the firmware updates didn't work for me and many users are reporting the firmware updates aren't actually resolving issues.

Third, when I shutdown the bios no longer recognizes the vertex 2.

Other Thoughts: I'm going to deal with the manufacturer and RMA, but I'm also going to order another drive by another manufacturer (Intel/Kingston/Crucial) to replace the vertex 2 since it's basically useless.

Manufacturer Response:

Hello, we are very sorry that you are having problems. If you have not yet visited our support forums, please do so and post in the Flash/SSD section for assistance. If you have been directed by our staff to apply for an RMA, please either RMA with Newegg, or visit the 2nd link below and create a support ticket. Thank you

4 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

  • Chris S.
  • 1/7/2011 11:19:46 AM
  • Tech Level: High
  • Ownership: 1 month to 1 year
  • Verified Owner

1 out of 5 eggsBeware!!!!!!

Pros: Fast, decent price.

Cons: I purchased 21 of these through two vendors (newegg and dell). Two of these have failed in less than 3 months. Yes, that would be a 10% failure rate so far. When I tried to warranty the item, they ignored all of the information I put in the initial trouble ticket, delayed the RMA by requiring redundant, useless info and arguing as to whether it was purchased at an authorized retailer despite the fact that both resellers are listed on THEIR site. Each email was followed by 24-36 hours of silence from them. Bottom line, my experience in the first 3 months is 10% failure rate, and 2-3 weeks delay in warranty service. Beware!!!!

Manufacturer Response:

Hello, we are very sorry for the problem. Our support system does require customer documentation, and we will always try to troubleshoot issues. We did not mean to upset you by asking you to respond. We are also sorry for the misunderstanding. Thank you

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

  • Michael S.
  • 12/3/2010 8:42:15 AM
  • Tech Level: High
  • Ownership: 1 week to 1 month
  • Verified Owner

1 out of 5 eggsPoor Customer Service & NO Rebate

Pros: Fast Drive
Easy to install

Cons: Denied Rebate.
Poor Customer Services when calling OCZ.
Will NOT be buying an OCZ product ever again!!!
Read other reviews on customer service & rebates.
You've been warned.

Other Thoughts: I read dozens of complaints on OCZ's rebate process & hoped I'd avoid it. I was wrong.
After triple checking the rebate requirements from their site, and having my wife double check I had everything in order, they still denied my rebate. Calling the rebate center was a joke, it sounded like one old lady sitting in her home answering calls. She had very poor knowledge of the rebate status, and gave me incoorect information for OCZ's website.

Manufacturer Response:

Hello, we are sorry that you have had rebate difficulties. We use a dedicated rebate house for all processing, and we aplogize that they were not as helpful as you the should have been. Please email our internal rebate desk at rebates@ocztechnology.com and include your full name, address, product, and date and place of purchase. We will see that all valid rebate claims are paid. Thank you

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

  • Yawen H.
  • 1/13/2011 1:10:20 AM
  • Tech Level: High
  • Ownership: more than 1 year
  • Verified Owner

1 out of 5 eggsNot very reliable for long term use

Pros: Quite fast when it was working

Cons: My drive stopped working after 3 months, very painful since I don't have a way to retrieve my data from hard drive now. Sent email to support@ocztechnology.com twice but no response from them, very disappointed at the quality and support. I will suggest people not to buy OCZ

Manufacturer Response:

Hello, we are very sorry for the problem. We respond to all support tickets, so possibly you have a spam filter issue blocking our responses. Please call (408) 733-8400, ext 406 and we will be happy to assist you. Thank you

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

  • Sam R.
  • 1/16/2011 11:52:14 PM
  • Tech Level: High
  • Ownership: 1 week to 1 month
  • Verified Owner

1 out of 5 eggsDied in less than a month

Pros: All the pros the other reviews say.

Cons: See below.

Other Thoughts: Bought this on 12/21/10. Failed today less than one month later (1/16/11). BIOS thinks there are no drives installed. Tried it in both laptop bays. Put in my old 80GB spinning drive and works again. Sending it back with RMA tomorrow.

Anyone thinking of buying this should add up all the failure reviews on this site (about 10 of them). Seems like about 10% of them are dying in the first month.

Manufacturer Response:

Hello, we are very sorry for the problem and the inconvenience. We are confident that your replacement drive will work out fine for you. If we can be of any assistance, please visit our support forums at the link below. Thank you

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

  • Will C.
  • 12/28/2010 7:29:34 PM
  • Tech Level: High
  • Ownership: 1 month to 1 year
  • Verified Owner

1 out of 5 eggsFailed after 2 months

Pros: Fast

Cons: Failed after 2 months

Other Thoughts: This was my first SSD. It worked for about two months and failed. Sent back for replacement and OCZ sent me a bad drive. I wish I can get my money back. I'm very disappointed with OCZ and will never buy another drive from them.

Manufacturer Response:

Hello, we are sorry for the unusual difficulties. Please visit the link below and create a support ticket so we may assist you with a replacement drive. We care about our customers and want you to have the best experience possible. Thank you

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

  • Jonathan S.
  • 1/14/2011 10:02:47 AM
  • Tech Level: High
  • Ownership: more than 1 year
  • Verified Owner

1 out of 5 eggsSevere Problems

Pros: Price point, Speed.

Cons: Reliability. We purchased 5 of these drives in 01/10 for a RAID 10 array for one of our servers. So far 3 of 5 have failed. I am about to RMA my 3rd and most recent failure.

Other Thoughts: OCZ has been good about sending us replacement drives. The replacements are actually a different model as well...

Manufacturer Response:

Hello, we are very sorry that you have had difficulties. Our support staff will be happy to assist you with a replacement drive. Please visit the link below and create support ticket. Thank you

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

  • Robert K.
  • 1/15/2011 11:03:54 AM
  • Tech Level: Somewhat High
  • Ownership: less than 1 day
  • Verified Owner

1 out of 5 eggsDrive Failed After Windows Install

Pros: - Fast
- Recognized immediately by BIOS

Cons: - Failed upon a driver install/reboot after Windows Installation (BIOS no longer recognized drive in bay)

Other Thoughts: Waiting on RMA... These are supposed to be more durable than an HDD, But it seems there are still a few production issues. Hopefully this was just an oddity and not a common occurance... I would like to rely on this as my main laptop drive.

Manufacturer Response:

Hello, we aplogize for the issue, and are confident that your replacement drive will work out fine for you. If we can be of any assistance in the future, please visit the link below and post in our support forums. Thank you

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

ICON Loading...
Are you an E-Blast Insider? Subscribe Newegg e-Blast
PayPal
Shop without retyping payment details. Secure shopping made faster.
Check out with PayPal.

Home
Home > 
Computers & Tablets > 
All Laptop Accessories > 
Internal SSDs > 
OCZ Technology > 
Item#: 9SIA4HG1K49148
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.