Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Computer Hardware > 
Networking > 
Wired Networking > 
Wired Routers > 
D-Link > 
Item#: N82E16833127060

D-Link DGL-4100 Gigabit Gaming Router GamerLounge Broadband 1 x 10/100Mbps WAN Ports 4 x 10/100/1000Mbps LAN Ports

  • 4 Gigabit Ethernet Ports
  • Optimized Gaming Experience
  • Customizable Settings
ICON Loading...

Learn more about the D-Link DGL-4100

Model

Brand
D-Link
Model
DGL-4100

SPEC

Standards
IEEE 802.3, IEEE 802.3u
Speed
10/100/1000Mbps
WAN Ports
1 x 10/100Mbps
LAN Ports
4 x 10/100/1000Mbps
LEDs
Power, WAN, LAN
Dimensions
7.5" x 4.6" x 1.4"

Features

Features
Minimum System Requirements:
Cable or DSL Modem with Ethernet Port

To Change Default Settings:
PC with
1.2GHz Processor
256MB Memory
CD-ROM Drive
Ethernet Adapter with TCP/IP Protocol Installed
Windows XP/2000/Me or Mac OS X v10.3/v10.2/v10.1
Internet Explorer v6 or Netscape Navigator v7

Software Features:
GameFuel Priority – Technology
Up to 256 Firewall Port Configurations
Access Control Policies (Parental Controls)
Internal and External System Logging
Static/Dynamic Routing
Oversized NAT table
Email Alerts

Optimized Gaming Experience with GameFuel Technology
4 Gigabit Ethernet Ports
Customizable Settings for Games and Applications

Packaging

Package Contents
DGL-4100
Power Adapter
RJ45 Cable
Vertical Stand
Resource Disk
Quick Install Guide

Quick Info


Customer Reviews of the D-Link DGL-4100

Do you own this product? Write a Review

ICON Loading...

Filter Results

Go
  • Shane M.
  • 2/11/2013 7:49:11 PM
  • Tech Level: Somewhat High
  • Ownership: more than 1 year
  • Verified Owner

5 out of 5 eggsAmazing Router

Pros: Where to start, well it has been almost 3 years and have not had to reset this router due to a fault on it's part. It has so many options that are great for gamers. It automatically detects games and game systems and give bandwidth priority. I can be running torrents, wife watching shows on xbox and I can play online games with no issues. Great port forwarding and blazing local transfer speeds. By far the best router I have owned and will keep it until it dies.

Cons: None, always hated the unreliability and security of WiFi, cables are too easy to make, run and hide.

Other Thoughts: I love this thing so much I am getting an AP for wireless. It may be a dinosaur but it's a dang pack or Raptors.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

  • Gary P.
  • 1/30/2013 1:23:29 PM
  • Tech Level: Somewhat High
  • Ownership: more than 1 year
  • Verified Owner

2 out of 5 eggsold item

Pros: sometimes works

Cons: looses config, needs rebooting once a week

Other Thoughts: no firmware updates

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

  • William A.
  • 1/1/2013 8:33:10 PM
  • Tech Level: Somewhat High
  • Ownership: more than 1 year

5 out of 5 eggsReliable Router

Pros: I have been using this router for 3-4 years now and only recently have I considered replacing it. The gigabit ports required dlink to provide better components inside this router. Without wireless, they concentrated are wired throughput.

Cons: Power brick died and had to start using a different one. No firmware updates. No iPV6 support.

Other Thoughts: Too bad Dlink did not keep supporting this product and produce wired only routers for consumers.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

  • Tim C.
  • 10/9/2012 5:48:36 PM
  • Tech Level: Somewhat High
  • Ownership: more than 1 year
  • Verified Owner

4 out of 5 eggsSolid, dependable, will be in use for years

Pros: I bought this router several years ago to serve as the main gateway for my home network setup. I'd been using wireless routers in the past, but most had been unable to keep up with a 10m internet connection and wireless duties without requiring daily reboots, even using custom firmwares like DD-WRT. I also didn't like having to go straight from my router to a gigabit switch just to keep my whole network gigabit. I figured I could solve both problems by picking this up and turning my old router into a wireless AP.

Long story short, I am rather happy. The built-in gigabit is wonderful to have, and I've NEVER had to reboot this except when updating certain system settings (or fighting with uncooperative modems). This is particularly impressive since my internet has gotten a great deal faster; even downloading gigs worth of data for hours on end, the router NEVER falters, much less craps out and needs a reboot.

This thing has all the basic features I need in a router: port forwarding, port triggering, UPnP, and DynDns support. The built in QoS is nice too, although it uses some bizarre naming scheme (GamerFuel? Really?). It works well enough if you need it, at any rate.

I've also upgraded the wireless component of my network several times since, but because those are all separate APs now I never have to futz with the main router, only the AP. It's a nice little fringe benefit.

Final note, this thing has been in service for roughly 4 straight years and hasn't had any problems. That's freakin' reliable.

Cons: Sadly, this router is beginning to show its age, and actually has been for a while. The last firmware update was in 2007, not too long after the product was first launched. The current firmware is acceptable, don't get me wrong, but for such a solid machine it's tragic that newer features haven't been added in, features the hardware is more than capable of supporting.

As it is there is no support for IPv6, Dynamic DNS services OTHER than DynDns, proper VPN pass-through, newer QoS implementations like HFSC, and a handful of other things. Most of these are minor annoyances at the moment, but in time the lack of IPv6 support will be what makes me stop using this router at all. That is truly a shame, since the hardware speed - 100m WAN, 1G LAN - would otherwise allow it to stay relevant for much longer.

Oh yes, one other minor thing: the activity lights on this are ridiculously bright. Don't put this thing in the same room you sleep in, at least without some masking tape over it. Even then... BRIGHT.

Other Thoughts: These days I've gravitated towards using custom-built machines for my main gateway, pfSense/IPCop boxes and the like. I don't imagine I personally will be using this router much longer, although only because I've found a ridiculously overpowered alternative. Still, if my main gateway ever goes down for a while, I know what I'll be putting in its place until I can get the normal one up and running.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

  • keith h.
  • 1/10/2012 2:32:56 PM
  • Tech Level: Somewhat High
  • Ownership: 1 month to 1 year
  • Verified Owner

1 out of 5 eggsJUNK!!!

Pros: Nothing

Cons: VERy SLOW. Good only for one computer. I do not know how they claim this ia a gamer router.

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

  • Anonymous
  • 8/8/2011 7:27:30 PM
  • Tech Level: High
  • Ownership: 1 month to 1 year
  • Verified Owner

2 out of 5 eggsRouter bad, D-Link makes good on it

Pros: Feature rich and reasonably fast. I wanted a fast wired router to mount in the basement with the rest of the network hardware. I have a separate wired router on the 2nd floor.

Cons: This router has a problem dropping packets on the LAN ports. Ping this router indefinitely with larger (1300 byte) packets and it drops 1-2% consistently and shows RX errors on the statistics screen. It get's worse under load. RMA'd the first one. Second one showed same behavior. The dropped packets were hardly noticeable browsing the web, but killed VOIP quality and performance on my VPN connection to the office.

Other Thoughts: D-Link came through by replacing it with a brand new DIR-825. This thing works great, and though I didn't need the wireless, I may use the guest network feature for visitors. Way to go D-Link!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

  • Andrew R.
  • 6/28/2011 8:30:21 PM
  • Tech Level: Average
  • Ownership: 1 week to 1 month
  • Verified Owner

5 out of 5 eggsD-Link DGL-4100

Pros: Has functioned as advertised. Easy installation and setup.

Cons: None so far.

Other Thoughts: Though not used [by us], we would prefer U.S.-based telephone user help center.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

  • Anthony P.
  • 6/18/2011 8:24:14 AM
  • Tech Level: Somewhat High
  • Ownership: 1 month to 1 year
  • Verified Owner

1 out of 5 eggsAmended Review

Pros: It worked for 90 days +/- :( I'm reposting my review. Three weeks after I posted a 5 egg review, this router dropped my upload speed from 5 Mbps to about 400 Kbps. I spent two days on the horn with my ISP tech support (Bless them) to isolate the router as my source of trouble. Then the fun began. Here is the info that I have retained of my correspondence with D-Link tech support. If you buy one of these routers, BEWARE. They are defective and trying to get an RMA authorization from D-Link is like trying to get a refund from a used car salesman. Good luck. If you're bored and tired of getting taken advantage of over by defective product manufacturers that want to give you a month long run-around about an RMA, please feel free to email D-Link tech support at your leisure and let them know. I'm going to 100 times a day until they issue my RMA authorization.

Cons: D-Link Tech support:Dear D-Link Tech Support, Thank you for diagnosing my defective router so quickly and efficiently during my telephone support session on Friday June 17th. However, the RMA link that was provided to me did NOT work. When I filled out the attached survey and provided this information, someone at D-Link tech support decided to "assign" a DIFFERENT case ID and demanded that I reply ONLY to that one. I'm going to copy and paste all of the information I have retained of our correspondence regarding this defective product that you seem to be very intent on not honoring the warranty on. I'm also going to copy and paste all of this correspondence into my blog, since Newegg will edit. And I'm going to "remind" you good people at D-Link tech support several times a day, EVERY day, until I receive an RMA authorization for this piece of junk router that doesn't work. Thank you so much for ignoring my original email request for tech support, then over riding my phone tech

Other Thoughts: support.

THIS ROUTER IS DEFECTIVE AND D-LINK WILL NOT AUTHORIZE RMA's for it! DON'T BUY IT ... DON'T BUY IT ... DON'T BUY IT.

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

  • Eddy T.
  • 6/16/2011 1:38:15 PM
  • Tech Level: Somewhat High
  • Ownership: 1 month to 1 year
  • Verified Owner

4 out of 5 eggsD-Link Gaming Router

Pros: Speedy transfers. Definitely better than the 100Mb/s.

Cons: Price.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

  • Mark N.
  • 6/15/2011 10:22:42 AM
  • Tech Level: Somewhat High
  • Ownership: 1 month to 1 year
  • Verified Owner

5 out of 5 eggsProvides what it says

Pros: Does what it meant to do!

Cons: Nothing.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

ICON Loading...
Are you an E-Blast Insider? Subscribe Newegg e-Blast
PayPal
Shop without retyping payment details. Secure shopping made faster.
Check out with PayPal.

Home
Home > 
Computer Hardware > 
Networking > 
Wired Networking > 
Wired Routers > 
D-Link > 
Item#: N82E16833127060
Related Products
Model Brand TP LINK Model TL R860 SPEC ...
Model Brand D Link Model DGL 5500 Spec ...
2 Gigabit WAN ports 2 Gigabit LAN ports ...
Model Brand CISCO Model CISCO891 K9 SPEC Protocols ...
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau