Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Computers & Tablets > 
All Laptop Accessories > 
Internal SSDs > 
G.SKILL > 
Item#: 9SIA0AJ0ZG6781

G.SKILL Phoenix III FM-25S3-120GBP3 2.5" 120GB SATA III Internal 7mm Solid State Drive (SSD)

  • 2.5"
  • 120GB
  • SATA III
  • Pin It
  • Email this page
ICON Loading...

Learn more about the G.SKILL FM-25S3-120GBP3

Quick Info

Warranty

  • Limited Warranty period (parts): 2 years
  • Limited Warranty period (labor): 2 years


Customer Reviews of the G.SKILL FM-25S3-120GBP3

Do you own this product? Write a Review

ICON Loading...

Filter Results

Go
  • patrick l.
  • 4/2/2015 11:28:07 PM
  • Tech Level: Somewhat High
  • Ownership: more than 1 year
  • Verified Owner

2 out of 5 eggsIt died too soon.

Pros: fast and great while it lasted

Cons: failed after 2 and a half years

Other Thoughts: I'm going to try another brand, other hard drives ive had for a lot longer without any problems

Manufacturer Response:

.
Dear Customer

Glad to hear the SSD was working fast in your system. This is surely one of the best SSDs on the market especially for the price and performance. If you think there may be an issue with the drive, feel free to send it in for RMA exchange and a replacment should work better. Visit the G.Skill website for complete RMA procedure. For all further questions or concerns, please let us know.

Thank you
GSKILL SUPPORT

Quality and customer service are our top priorities.

Tech Support Email: ustech@gskillusa.com
RMA Dept Email: rma@gskillusa.com
G.Skill Forum: http://www.gskill.us/forum/

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

  • Jeremy M.
  • 1/29/2015 5:24:38 PM
  • Tech Level: High
  • Ownership: more than 1 year
  • Verified Owner

5 out of 5 eggsThis thing Rocks!!!

Pros: Bought this in 2013. Installed it in my netbook after signs of the stock HDD failing. Super cool. What noise? Still use it today. I got mine before everyone realized just what a gold mine these things were. I paid $104 for mine. Wish I had bought more when they were that cheap.

Cons: None

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

  • Marvin J.
  • 12/20/2014 4:20:59 PM
  • Tech Level: High
  • Ownership: more than 1 year
  • Verified Owner

5 out of 5 eggs

Pros: Purchased and installed 2 years ago. So far still running without issues.

Cons: A little on the slow side

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

  • Joseph S.
  • 6/23/2014 5:45:24 AM
  • Tech Level: Somewhat High
  • Ownership: more than 1 year
  • Verified Owner

4 out of 5 eggs18 months later

Pros: GsKill makes great products, no issues in 18 months. faster than my Seagate HDD i had.

Cons: Krystaldisk test show that this disk never readis half the rated speed. i get about 208mbs max in sata6.0 AHCI. Wish i had done more homewok and went Crucial or Samsung Evo and got more space and speed for the same price i paid.

Other Thoughts: Make sure you do your homework. 120gb at this price is not good. Look at Crucial samsung or Corsair.

Manufacturer Response:

.
Dear Customer

Thank you for your G.Skill purchase and review. Glad to hear the SSD is working well in your system. The G.Skill Phoenix III series SSD should perform much faster than 208MB/s, so please clone/back up the files, make sure you have the latest firmware and drivers for the SSD, wipe the drive with a secure erase program, then re-install the operating system and files to see if it performs better. The general range is 500MB/s, so if you do not experience this, feel free to send it in for RMA exchange to see if a replacement works better. You are backed by a 3 year manufacturer warranty, so you are protected from any defects such the SSD not performing as rated. G.Skill fully stands behind it's products and will make sure they run at full speed.

Thank you
GSKILL SUPPORT

Quality and customer service are our top priorities.

Tech Support Email: ustech@gskillusa.com
RMA Dept Email: rma@gskillusa.com
G.Skill Forum: http://www.gskill.us/forum/

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

  • Christopher S.
  • 5/20/2014 3:01:30 AM
  • Tech Level: Somewhat High
  • Ownership: more than 1 year
  • Verified Owner

5 out of 5 eggsIt's All Good

Pros: -Worked right out of the box.
-Superb speed, fully loads Windows 8.1 in 10 seconds from a cold boot.
-Comes with a 3.5" tray adapter if you don't have a 2.5" bay.

Cons: -None.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

  • Robert Y.
  • 2/23/2014 1:22:57 PM
  • Tech Level: Average
  • Ownership: more than 1 year
  • Verified Owner

1 out of 5 eggsG.Skill Phoenix III No-Go

Pros: Worked fine for a while.

Cons: After running for just over a year the SSD crashed and the drive was no longer recognized in Bios. Could not recover anything. RMA'd twice after the initial crash. The 1st RMA was the pretty much the same, not recognized in Bios. The 2nd RMA resulted in further frustrations as it is recognized in Bios but will not load Windows 7, or XP on it, regardless of any Bios settings.

Other Thoughts: This was my first experience with SSD. Not sure if I will want to endure these pains again in the future. If I do try another SSD, it will definitely not be G.Skill.

Manufacturer Response:

.
Dear Customer

We are sorry to hear you had such issues. For SSDs, make sure AHCI mode is enabled in BIOS/EFI. This allows the motherboard to recognize and utilize the RAM as an SSD. Otherwise, the SSD will be treated as a normal HDD and that can cause the drive to quickly become defective. With the solid state drive configured properly, the operating system should be fast and reliable. Should you continue to have problems, please feel free to contact the G.Skill technical support team. They will make sure your computer is operating smoothly.

Thank you
GSKILL SUPPORT

Quality and customer service are our top priorities.

Tech Support Email: ustech@gskillusa.com
RMA Dept Email: rma@gskillusa.com
G.Skill Forum: http://www.gskill.us/forum/

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

  • Robert R.
  • 1/24/2014 3:56:31 PM
  • Tech Level: High
  • Ownership: 1 month to 1 year

1 out of 5 eggsFlimsy Connectors

Pros: The drive was fast and stable.

Cons: The power and SATA connectors on it were flimsy and seemed kind of loose when I first hooked up the drive. Later on, I was moving the drive from one computer to another and when I took out the power cable, the power connector fell out of the drive. I have used many SSDs in the past and never had this happen before. Seems to me they should have soldered it better or secured those connectors.

I contacted G-SKILL RMA and they told me they cannot replace the drive so can't say I'm happy with wasting so much money on something that doesn't work anymore.

Other Thoughts: Good performance but poor build quality.

Manufacturer Response:

.
Dear Customer

Glad to hear the memory was working fast and stable in your computer. We are sorry to hear you had such issues. The connectors should not be easy to break off so it is strange you had this problem. Unfortunately the main requirement for RMA is that the item is not physically damaged, so in this particular case, we are unable to help. We hope a new drive will be much better. For any further questions or concerns, please feel free to contact us directly.

Thank you
GSKILL SUPPORT

Quality and customer service are our top priorities.

Tech Support Email: ustech@gskillusa.com
RMA Dept Email: rma@gskillusa.com
G.Skill Forum: http://www.gskill.us/forum/

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

  • ERIC K.
  • 12/29/2013 1:23:51 AM
  • Tech Level: Somewhat High
  • Ownership: more than 1 year
  • Verified Owner

5 out of 5 eggsmay need ssd optimization software

Pros: As stated by others, it is very fast, but may need system mechanic or some other freeware to "clean" drive.
It has resurrected a P7350 2008 dv7 Hp laptop from the grave. I use raid 0 I think or W7 premium on ssd and W7 on regular drive in "pagefile raid." I made sure to make the system drive the same size as the copy. Learned yesterday to use the system mechanic to make it even run faster than before. I also put my main games on the other partition of ssd. Now the internet is faster on that game called, "Neverwinter" or "Marvel Heroes." I can now reasonably average play it instead of having it lock up when playing the PVP's I thought I could only do PVE's and solo. When will Newegg give a price for Kaveri? So, I can let this dv7 puppy go and be just mobile dog and let the ssd shuttle between the Kaveri as the system of both.

Cons: none because this is better than before. not in geriatrics.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

  • Jeff B.
  • 12/17/2013 4:54:04 PM
  • Tech Level: Somewhat High
  • Ownership: 1 month to 1 year
  • Verified Owner

4 out of 5 eggsGood for OS drive

Pros: Speed is good.

Cons: None so far.

Other Thoughts: This drive is good for OS installation and a few programs. For a 120 GB drive there are likely better deals out there now. If I were to do it again I may have gone with a 240 GB drive so I could get all my programs on there and not run low on space. 120 GB goes quick!

Manufacturer Response:

.
Dear Customer

Thank you for your G.Skill purchase and review. Glad to hear you are enjoying the SSD drive. The speed of an SSD drive is not necessarily in the write and read MB/s, but it is in fact drastically lower random access time which is the main benefit and performance increase over HDD. This ability makes the SSD perfect for operating systems since programs constantly open/close, and files are retreived and used. Environments such as gaming, editing, and such will benefit greatly. 240GB is definitely a good size to fit all applications and purposes. In RAID, capacity and performance is doubled, so you may want to look into that if you want more capacity with even greater performance. For any further questions or concerns, please feel free to contact us directly.

Thank you
GSKILL SUPPORT

Quality and customer service are our top priorities.

Tech Support Email: ustech@gskillusa.com
RMA Dept Email: rma@gskillusa.com
G.Skill Forum: http://www.gskill.us/forum/

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

  • John D.
  • 12/11/2013 2:58:11 PM
  • Tech Level: High
  • Ownership: 1 day to 1 week
  • Verified Owner

5 out of 5 eggsWho likes 30 second complete reboots?

Pros: I'm not lying, from the final click on restart to sign in screen is just under 30 seconds. Easily set up and comes with a HDD to SDD mount.

Cons: SSD to GB price, but you gain so much speed I feel it's almost a wash.

Other Thoughts: SSDs will not yeild you noticable FPS, but that's not why I got them. I despised waiting 1.5 minutes for a BF4 map to load, or only being able to do 2ish things at a time.

When I was doing my installation I was able to browse the internet, download 2 games (1 from Origin, 1 from Steam) @ 8MBps (yes bytes not bits) and install drivers for other devices and have no noticable system lag. Loads BF4 in under a minute for the first map and all maps thereafter in roughly 20 seconds.

SSDs will be a great time saver and the controller on this one is a IO beast, especially for the price.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Compare Offers from All Sellers

Seller Name & Rating Offer Details  
ICON Loading...

More Buying Options

Are you an E-Blast Insider? Subscribe Newegg e-Blast
PayPal
Shop without retyping payment details. Secure shopping made faster.
Check out with PayPal.

Home
Home > 
Computers & Tablets > 
All Laptop Accessories > 
Internal SSDs > 
G.SKILL > 
Item#: 9SIA0AJ0ZG6781
Related Products
General Brand SAMSUNG Series 840 Pro Series Model ...
General Brand VisionTek Model 900613 Device Type Internal ...
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.