Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Computer Hardware > 
Hard Drives > 
Controllers / RAID Cards > 
Syba > 
Item#: N82E16816124048

SYBA SD-PEX40044 PCI-Express 2.0 SATA III (6.0Gb/s) RAID Caddy Controller Card

  • RAID 0/1
  • 2 x SATA 6.0Gb/s Internal Connectors
  • Up to 6Gb/s
ICON Loading...

Description: Low cost, high performance Raid Caddy gives user the flexibility to have two extra 2.5" HDD/SSD SATA storage at SATA III speed


Learn more about the Syba SD-PEX40044

Model

Brand
SYBA
Model
SD-PEX40044

Specifications

Type
SATA III (6.0Gb/s)
Internal Connectors
2 x SATA 6.0Gb/s
Interface
PCI-Express 2.0
Transfer Rate
Up to 6Gb/s
RAID
RAID 0/1
Operating Systems Supported
Windows 7
Vista 32/64-bit
Windows XP 32/64-bit
Windowns 2008 32/64-bit
Windows 2003 32/64-bit
Linux

Features

Features
Marvell 88SE9128 Chipset


Cost Effective:
No Heavy Metal Housing
No Built-in Power Supply
Takes Less Space

Maximum Performance: Integrated the Latest 6G (SATA III) Hard Disk Technology Interface

Minimum Wiring:
No Power Cable Needed
No Data Cable Needed

Compliant with Serial ATA AHCI (Advanced Host Controller Interface) Specification Rev 1.0

Compliant with PCI Express Base Spec. Revision 2.0 Backward Compatible to Revision 1.0a

Compliant with Serial ATA High Speed Serialized AT Attachment Spec. Revision 1.0a

Compliant with Serial ATA II Spec.

1-Lane 5.0 / 2.5Gbps PCI Express Bus

Serial ATA (SATA) Interface:
Supports SATA 3.0 (Up to 6Gbps)
Backward Compatible to SATA-II (3Gbps) and SATA-I (1.5Gbps) Specification
Supports Native Command Queue (NCQ) and Port Multiplier
Supports Hot Plugging on SATA Port
Supports RAID 0, 1

Packaging

Package Contents
PCI-Express SATA 6G Raid Caddy
Screws
LED Cable
Driver CD
User Manual

Quick Info

Warranty

  • Limited Warranty period (parts): Lifetime
  • Limited Warranty period (labor): 1 year


Customer Reviews of the Syba SD-PEX40044

Do you own this product? Write a Review

ICON Loading...

Filter Results

Go
  • donald b.
  • 6/19/2014 11:42:36 PM
  • Tech Level: Somewhat High
  • Ownership: more than 1 year

5 out of 5 eggsIt works w/Intel 1155 ATX - BOXDH77KC Motherboard

Pros: I installed this in a new windows 7 enterprise box that had limited sata ports before re-installing windows. On installation windows found the device and installed drivers for it, and it worked from the start. Motherboard is: Intel 1155 ATX - BOXDH77KC if that helps. 2 years later everything is still working fine. Drives used are 1 240 GB Sandisk ssd and 1 480 GB Samsung 840,

Cons: Of course, it does take up two slots, but the only other options would be to make the card twice as long but narrower. If you're out of sata ports and need more drives, hopefully you have a tower case that also has a MB that has enough slots. Of course you could always run a pci-e extension and mount this card off of the motherboard if absolutely necessary. Other than the width, no cons that I'm aware of.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

  • Hakan K.
  • 4/25/2014 7:43:21 PM
  • Tech Level: High
  • Ownership: more than 1 year
  • Verified Owner

5 out of 5 eggsWorks pretty good fore me

Pros: Saved me lots of room in my Supermicro case with a Supermicro MB. No problems. Using RAID 1. Using two Corsair SSDs and no problems so far

Cons: Driver is not recognized automatically by Windows. Won't deduct an egg for this, as this happens with HP, Dell, IBM cards, too. You have to present the driver when you install the OS and also get into Windows Recovery mode.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

  • Dylan H.
  • 4/21/2013 9:55:31 AM
  • Tech Level: High
  • Ownership: 1 month to 1 year

5 out of 5 eggs

Pros: Works as advertised. I'm currently using this to hold a boot drive for a Debian NAS. No special drivers were needed for the Debian installer to recognize the controller card, the card was completely transparent and the install went off without a hitch. Since I built this NAS a couple months ago it's been running 24/7, and I've had no problems with this controller card.

Cons: No cons

Other Thoughts: My motherboard has only four SATA ports and they're all filled with hard drives. If I can find a female-to-male SATA cable, I'm going to try and use this card to host another 3.5" drive mounted in my case.

There are also cables included that allow you to connect the controller to the activity LED of your case, which I thought was kind of neat.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

  • Scott J.
  • 10/7/2012 7:48:52 AM
  • Tech Level: High
  • Ownership: less than 1 day

1 out of 5 eggsKeep In Mind

Pros: Keep in mind, TRIM does not work on a RAID configuration, wo you may see slow writes. You should check a few things before you use this
1. Does my firmware perform some of the TRIM Functions
2. Does the drive manufacture have a tool to keep the drive clean of garbage build up
3. Are you running Win 7 vs XP

SSDs are different than Spinning Hard Drives in that when you delete a file, and the data is left on the drive it is just told it is gone, when you re-write to that space it has to be erased before you can write to that area of the flash memory. On a Hard Drive it just overwrites so there is no issue. The TRIM function is designed to have the drive erase the area when a file is deleted so that when you write to that area again it is ready to go. Since TRIM does not currently work on a RAID, you need to find a tool for the drive man, if available, or when you have come close to writing to most of the drive, use a utility to wipe the drive and start again. It all depends on the drives and their abilities when it cones to Raid.

Cons: TRIM does not support RAID

Manufacturer Response:

Dear Customer,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts.

Thank you for purchasing one of our products, and for leaving us your valuable feedback. We value all positive and negative feedback.

Feel free to contact us M-F 9AM-5PM at support@sybausa.com

Regards, SYBA CST 10162012

0 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

  • Jonathan S.
  • 10/6/2012 10:43:45 PM
  • Tech Level: High
  • Ownership: 1 week to 1 month

4 out of 5 eggsNo problem at all

Pros: Fast and easy setup...
Installed on a Windows 2003 for a database, improved speed and access time tremendously.... Raid 1 - Two 128gb Samsung SSD's.

Cons: None

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

  • Will A.
  • 10/6/2012 6:42:59 PM
  • Tech Level: Somewhat High
  • Ownership: 1 week to 1 month

2 out of 5 eggsoverheats

Pros: Convenient to have all 3 connectors and quiet with no fan.
Fast and good memory.

Cons: Overheats

Manufacturer Response:

Dear Customer,

We will pass this concern to our engineer. Maybe in the next version we will add a cooling fan to the card as you suggested.

Thank you for purchasing one of our products, and for leaving us your valuable feedback. We value all positive and negative feedback.

Feel free to contact us M-F 9AM-5PM at support@sybausa.com

Regards, SYBA CST 10162012

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

  • John D.
  • 8/22/2012 2:45:13 PM
  • Tech Level: High
  • Ownership: 1 week to 1 month
  • Verified Owner

1 out of 5 eggsThis one is a FAIL for me

Pros: Not DOA

Cons: Would not work in my system. Tried all available slots and all available combinations(ie on drive attached 2 drives attached no drive in each pci-e slot) had the same result reguardless. I locked up all USB devices ie keyboard and mouse and even tried a ps2 keyboard same result could not interact with the computer after posting with this card in the system.

Other Thoughts: I gave it the old college try but was unable to use my computer with this card installed. The card did post was not DOA but since it locked out all input devices this will be my first RMA. Maybe the manufacturer didn't check this on NVIDIA chipset mobos(just a possiblity don't know that to be a fact)

Manufacturer Response:

Dear Customer,

We are sorry that this product did not work for you. This unit does require driver installation. Did you install the driver and the card in a PCI-e x1 slot? If you did not, this might be the reason behind its behavior. We strongly suggest you contact us for further assistance.

Thank you for purchasing one of our products.

We value all positive and negative feedback. Our business depends on your satisfaction.

please feel free to contact us @ sybausa.com if you require further assistance.

Regards, SYBA CST 08292012

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

  • Jason R.
  • 3/30/2012 7:51:50 AM
  • Tech Level: High
  • Ownership: 1 day to 1 week
  • Verified Owner

2 out of 5 eggsDoes not deliver

Pros: It functions, gets it 1 star for that
No issue with MB or windows 2 star for that

Cons: It does not deliver the full 5 GB on the pcie 2.0.

I am getting 400mbs read from a 525 mbs mushkin chronos. That is acceptable for this type of controller.

The write speed is a joke, only get 175-190 mbs rather than anything close to the 400mbs on read.
If the write speed was even close to the read, I would be satisfied. I have tried numerous drivers for MB and Marvell, and MB tweaks, to no avail. I tried the ssd in a sata 3 MB, the write speed was well over 400mbs. So it is definitely this controller.

I get better write speed in Sata 2 on my MB.

Other Thoughts: Still on the fence if I will take the time to return this, after return shipping not sure if it is worth the hassle.

I would not recommend this product to anyone.

Manufacturer Response:

Dear customer,

This is one of our best sellers. The performance should not be this low. Please feel free to contact us for additional suggestions on how to fine tune the system setup and motherboard BIOS for the best performance.

We are also working on fine tuneing the driver for various motherboards on the market. Performance will be greatly improved upon the release of the next driver. Please check our website from time to time for driver updates.

The write speed will detreriorate through the RAID process, as the write must be to two seperate drives at once.

Our technical support team is available to help 9am-5pm M-F. Feel free to contact us during those business hours at support@sybausa.com

SYBA offers an on-line RMA form, the user can easily fill out the form and submit it for a quick RMA return and exchange. It is SYBA's policy to answer all customer inquiries within 24 hours (M-F)

As you may know we are more than happy to provide our customers with a hassle free exchange when a product is defective.

Thank you for purchasing one of our products, and for leaving us your valuable feedback. We value all positive and negative feedback.

Regards, SYBA CST 12212012

5 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

  • Michael M.
  • 3/27/2012 5:32:23 PM
  • Tech Level: High
  • Ownership: 1 week to 1 month
  • Verified Owner

2 out of 5 eggsMy kingdom for a decent Sata III controller!

Pros: Caddy is a nice idea, it's too bad Gigabyte's BIOS and the BIOS on this card don't play well together. Still looking for a Sata III controller with PCiEx4, 2 ports, doesn't have a BIOS that takes a near a minute to post and has decent performance. I'm sure I'm not alone :)

Cons: Not bootable with my Gigabyte x58-UD5 F13 with other RAID drives on ICH10R. Would boot if the only drive in the system. Performance with a Mushkin Chronos Dlx 240Gb SSD 3.3.2 FW was 300MB/s Write/430MB/s Read. Tried Marvel 91xx driver 1.2.0.1019 during install with other drives and still got Windows can not be installed to this drive, dreaded 0x8030024 error. Needs to be a drive earlier in the system.

Other Thoughts: While you can get around teh 0x80300024 error by disconnecting all other dirves which did allow the installation of Win7x64UltSP1, the drive would still not boot when the other drivers were added back to the system. Strange thing is the SSD was recognized in boot priority and selected as first. It just hangs after BIOS post however.

Manufacturer Response:

Dear customer,

In order to achive best performace for various motherboards and Windows versions, we are working on a driver update. The next driver released will be much better with compatibility and performance. Please check our website for dirver update

Our technical support team is available to help 9am-5pm M-F. Feel free to contact us during those business hours at support@sybausa.com

SYBA offers an on-line RMA form, the user can easily fill out the form and submit it for a quick RMA return and exchange. It is SYBA's policy to answer all customer inquiries within 24 hours (M-F)

As you may know we are more than happy to provide our customers with a hassle free exchange when a product is defective.

Thank you for purchasing one of our products, and for leaving us your valuable feedback. We value all positive and negative feedback.

Regards, SYBA CST 12212012

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

  • Richard D.
  • 3/23/2012 7:14:22 AM
  • Tech Level: High
  • Ownership: less than 1 day

1 out of 5 eggsPoor low end

Pros: Caddy but takes up 2 slots

Cons: this is the same card as the Koutech IO-PESA236

It didn’t do well with 1 SDD and adding a second drive resulted in heavy bottlenecking when both drives were used simultaneously and was slower then 1 drive, this is not a 5gb to SATA 3 6gb issue, it doesn’t meet the SATA 3 bandwidth with a PCIe 2.0 x2 also no TRIM or driver support.

My SATA 2 Mother Board controller was 40% faster.

Other Thoughts: My mother board SATA 2 controller was 40% faster

Manufacturer Response:

Dear Customer,
We are sorry to hear of the trouble with your recently purchased Syba product. In order to achieve maximum product performance, you must make sure you install this device using the provided instructions and drivers. We have tested this particular product at our headquarters and it has achieved proficient results. If you need help fine tuning the device, you can give us a call. Also, you did not state if you used the same HDs on the caddy and on your motherboard? what RAID type are you using?
We are truly sorry for any inconvenience caused to you. We pride ourselves in our customers' satisfaction, but we cannot fulfill this without proper communication.

Thank you again for purchasing our product. Our business depends on your satisfaction. Please do not hesitate to contact us at support@sybaUSA.com for our warranty service or further questions.

Regards, Syba Customer Service GR 033012

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

ICON Loading...
Are you an E-Blast Insider? Subscribe Newegg e-Blast
PayPal
Shop without retyping payment details. Secure shopping made faster.
Check out with PayPal.

Home
Home > 
Computer Hardware > 
Hard Drives > 
Controllers / RAID Cards > 
Syba > 
Item#: N82E16816124048
Related Products
RAID 0/1/0+1/5/50 1 x SFF 8087 mini SAS ...
2 x eSATA External Connectors Up to 6Gb/s ...
RAID 0/1/5/6/10/50/60 2 x SFF 8087 mini SAS ...
Model Brand SYBA Model SD MPE40056 Specifications Type ...
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau