Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Computer Hardware > 
Hard Drives > 
Hard Drive Enclosures > 
Rosewill > 
Item#: N82E16817182280

Rosewill RDDO-13001 Rigid aluminum casing and internal plastic shield 2.5" & 3.5" Black SATA USB3.0 & eSATA Dual Bay Docking Station

  • 2.5" & 3.5"
  • USB3.0 & eSATA
  • Up to 4TB
  • Rigid aluminum casing and internal plastic shield
IronEgg
BUY WITH CONFIDENCE
This product qualifies for the Iron Egg guarantee. We'll match any qualifying competitor's price.
  • Email this page
ICON Loading...

Learn more about the Rosewill RDDO-13001

Model

Brand
Rosewill
Model
RDDO-13001

Spec

Color
Black
Size
2.5" & 3.5"
AC Adapter
Yes
Material
Rigid aluminum casing and internal plastic shield
Internal Interface
SATA
External Interface
USB3.0 & eSATA
Maximum Capacity (per Bay)
Up to 4TB
Fan
No

Compatibility

Operating Systems Supported
Windows XP / Vista / 7 / 8, Linux, Mac

Dimensions & Weight

Dimensions
5.9" x 4.25" x 2.42"
Weight
0.9 lbs.

Packaging

Package Contents
1. RDDO-13001 Unit
2. User Manual
3. USB 3.0 A to B Cable
4. eSATA cable
5. DC 12V 3A adapter

Quick Info

Warranty

  • Limited Warranty period (parts): 1 year
  • Limited Warranty period (labor): 1 year


Customer Reviews of the Rosewill RDDO-13001

Do you own this product? Write a Review

ICON Loading...

Filter Results

Go
  • Miguel A.
  • 12/10/2014 3:53:45 PM
  • Tech Level: High
  • Ownership: 1 month to 1 year
  • Verified Owner

1 out of 5 eggsDoes not work

Pros: Connected via usb 3.0 and esata to windows 7 x64, Vista x64, and Windows 8.1 x64. Sturdy. Nice eject buttons and front indicator lights.

Cons: Have not gotten my pc or laptops to work with the drives in either bay.

Other Thoughts: Piece of junk. No drivers. No online support.

Manufacturer Response:

Dear Valued Customer,
 
Thank you for contacting Rosewill Support.
We apologize for the inconvenience you are experiencing with our product.
We will gladly assist you with your problem.

These products are typical plug and play which means windows will find or use generic drivers from their internal database. For this to happen please check the following.

1. Make sure you have all windows updates downloaded and installed into your PC
2. Do a search using windows update to manually install drivers using Device manager
3. Verify the computer recognizes the device
4. Test the device
 
Thank you for choosing Rosewill.
If you have any further questions or concerns, please let us know by calling the number listed below.
 
Sincerely,
 
Rosewill Support
Call Center 1-800-575-9885
Monday - Friday 8AM - 5PM PST

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

  • David B.
  • 12/4/2014 11:14:17 AM
  • Tech Level: High
  • Ownership: 1 month to 1 year
  • Verified Owner

1 out of 5 eggsDisappointed

Pros: Good concept.. Decent price.

Cons: eSATA connection is non functional and connection using USB3.0 is constantly disconnecting after about 5 minutes making this device useless.
Using USB2.0 connection seems to be stable but of course I purchased this device for the USB 3 and eSATA connections of which neither work as advetised.

Other Thoughts: Look elsewhere for a product that will do the job.
This device deserves No stars.

Manufacturer Response:

Dear Valued Customer,
 
Thank you for contacting Rosewill Support.
We apologize for the inconvenience you are experiencing with our product.
We will gladly assist you with your problem.
 
Please try the following.
 
1. Power down the computer
2. Completely disconnect all the card reader cables going to the computer
a. USB 2.0/3.0
b. SATA Data
3. SATA/Molex Power
a. ETC
b. Wait 30 seconds
4. Reconnect all cables
5. Power on the computer
6. Additional Tests
a. Connect the card reader to a different USB header port on the motherboard
b. If the card reader requires power try using a different power connector from the power supply
c. If available, try installing the card reader onto a different system
 
If none of the options resolve your problem, please contact our support team.
 
Thank you for choosing Rosewill.
If you have any further questions or concerns, please let us know.
 
Sincerely,
 
Rosewill Support
Call Center 1-800-575-9885
Monday - Friday 8AM - 5PM PST

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

  • Diego S.
  • 11/22/2014 11:14:31 AM
  • Tech Level: Somewhat High
  • Ownership: 1 month to 1 year
  • Verified Owner

5 out of 5 eggsI love it!

Pros: I've had 1 or 2 drives running in it for 11 months now. Main use is for movies and music on my home network. But it does get the occasional move to different computer for backup and/or clean-up. I forget its not a system drive until I get a new, bigger drive.

Cons: None. Been working 24/7 for 11 months as a central movie and music library for a home network. No issues with installing on other computers. Never disconnects.

Other Thoughts: All my systems are WIn 7. Currently have a 2Tb and 1Tb 3.5" drives (WD).

Currently shopping for a 4Tb drive maybe two during this BLACK Month Sales...and YES it /they will go right in this wonderful unit.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

  • Marisa H.
  • 11/20/2014 7:15:46 PM
  • Tech Level: High
  • Ownership: 1 week to 1 month
  • Verified Owner

4 out of 5 eggsVery slick device

Pros: The speed is amazing. I am able to plug 2 hard drives in and see them separately. Drives stay cool.

Cons: Every now and then, the USB will drop out and windows has to find the drives again which is the reason i gave it 4 stars. More of just a temp pain. nothing major.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

4 out of 5 eggsGreat for the price

Pros: Works perfectly on USB

Cons: Only one drive on eSata.
Slow drive to drive copy over the USB ATA ATAPI Bridge.

Other Thoughts: Bought the open box one before I saw the new one. Stuck 2 2-gig Seagates into it and turned it on. Both drives popped up on the desktop right away. Like I said slow drive 1 to drive 2 copying. About 60 gigs in 30 minutes. Somewhat faster drive 1 or 2 to an internal sata. About 88 Gig in 11 minutes. The drives both sleep in USB mode when the computer is put to sleep. Which is great. Otherwise they spin and stay warm. For a little over $20 bucks I''m happy.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

  • Jay J.
  • 9/25/2014 3:15:59 PM
  • Tech Level: Somewhat High
  • Ownership: less than 1 day
  • Verified Owner

1 out of 5 eggsNot working within 10 minutes after plugging it in

Pros: None

Cons: - Stopped working within 10 minutes of plugging it in
- Drive blue light does not come up in any bay
- Tried USB 3.0, USB 2.0 connections on laptop, switched off and on, disconnected and reconnected cables and finally tried the drive in the other bay. No matter what, drive blue light does not come up in this Rosewill unit

Other Thoughts: I read in some other reviews that similar problems being faced by other customers too. It appears that there is some manufacturing or firmware defect in the unit.

Manufacturer Response:

Dear Valued Customer,
Thank you very much for purchasing this unit.
We strive to provide the most reliable and highest quality products to our customers.

If you are not fully satisfied with our product please contact us at the number below or one of the email addresses below to better assist you in resolving your problem.

Phone: 1- 800-575-9885
Email: rma@rosewill.com
Email2: techsupport@rosewill.com

We look forward to hearing from you.

Thanks,
Rosewill Customer Care

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

  • jonathan p.
  • 6/30/2014 10:47:24 PM
  • Tech Level: Somewhat High
  • Ownership: 1 month to 1 year
  • Verified Owner

2 out of 5 eggsi really want to like it

Pros: e-sata and usb 3.0
2x drives
solid construction
faster than 2.0

Cons: speeds are questionable
constantly disconnects

Other Thoughts: i really want to like this product...i really do...but it's constantly disappointing...i was looking for a solution for manually backing up drives and storing them outside my computer. this was the perfect solution...on paper...but almost every time i'm transferring more than just a few files the dock will disconnect and reconnect itself....

i wish i could return it...but i can't...so i guess i'll just continue to be disappointed

Manufacturer Response:

Dear Valued Customer,
Thank you very much for purchasing this unit.
We strive to provide the most reliable and highest quality products to our customers.

Please contact our support team to assist you with warranty options.

Phone: 1- 800-575-9885
Email: rma@rosewill.com
Email2: techsupport@rosewill.com

We look forward to hearing from you.

Thanks,
Rosewill Customer Care

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

  • Matthew G.
  • 6/16/2014 5:24:56 PM
  • Tech Level: High
  • Ownership: 1 month to 1 year
  • Verified Owner

1 out of 5 eggsIt is not the best solution

Pros: See other thoughts.
It looks good
Good build quality
Faster than usb 2.0
It usually works

Cons: See other thoughts.
Does NOT pass S.M.A.R.T data through.
Transfer speeds are pathetic even on esata.
Sometimes it doesn't detect the drive and I have to reboot my computer.
Its hard to seat the drives properly to make connection.
It apparently does not work well with 2 drives at once? Isn't that what its for?

Other Thoughts: I felt I had to re-post this review because for some reason Newegg set it to 5 eggs which is completely wrong. I'm not sure what happened there, but I would appreciate it if someone would remove the 5 egg review as it is invalid.

I got this drive dock to diagnose and restore drives for customers. I wish I had never gotten it. I can not see the smart data of the drives using the software I have been using for years.
And the transfer rates are horrible through both usb 3.0 and esata. I restored a image to a ssd for a customer and it was taking for ever with this dock, going at about 100 MBps. I connected the drive directly to my esata port with a simple cable and the drive was suddenly going at well over 400MBps.
And I am now afraid to connect 2 drives to it at once because I have read that not only do 2 drives not work with esata, they have problems even with usb 3.0.

Get the single drive version as I think the problem with this one is the extra circuitry inside it for 2 drives is the problem.
I have the usb 2.0 single drive version of this and it works perfectly, only problem is usb 2.0 is slow for restoring customers drives. That's why I wanted esata, but apparently this particular product is not the solution I need.

Manufacturer Response:

Dear Valued Customer,
Thank you very much for purchasing this unit.
We strive to provide the most reliable and highest quality products to our customers.

Chipset limitation only applies to SATA, through USB you can read and write to both drives at the same time.
Please contact our support team to assist you with warranty options.

Phone: 1- 800-575-9885
Email: rma@rosewill.com
Email2: techsupport@rosewill.com

We look forward to hearing from you.

Thanks,
Rosewill Customer Care

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

  • Matthew G.
  • 6/15/2014 1:24:10 PM
  • Tech Level: High
  • Ownership: 1 month to 1 year
  • Verified Owner

5 out of 5 eggsIt is not the best solution

Pros: It looks good
Good build quality
Faster than usb 2.0
It usually works

Cons: Does NOT pass S.M.A.R.T data through.
Transfer speeds are pathetic even on esata.
Sometimes it doesn't detect the drive and I have to reboot my computer.
Its hard to seat the drives properly to make connection.
It apparently does not work well with 2 drives at once? Isn't that what its for?

Other Thoughts: I got this drive dock to diagnose and restore drives for customers. I wish I had never gotten it. I can not see the smart data of the drives using the software I have been using for years.
And the transfer rates are horrible through both usb 3.0 and esata. I restored a image to a ssd for a customer and it was taking for ever with this dock, going at about 100 MBps. I connected the drive directly to my esata port with a simple cable and the drive was suddenly going at well over 400MBps.
And I am now afraid to connect 2 drives to it at once because I have read that not only do 2 drives not work with esata, they have problems even with usb 3.0.

Get the single drive version as I think the problem with this one is the extra circuitry inside it for 2 drives is the problem.
I have the usb 2.0 single drive version of this and it works perfectly, only problem is usb 2.0 is slow for restoring customers drives. That's why I wanted esata, but apparently this particular product is not the solution I need.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

  • James M.
  • 5/8/2014 12:29:38 PM
  • Tech Level: High
  • Ownership: 1 day to 1 week
  • Verified Owner

2 out of 5 eggsWon't Read Two Drives

Pros: Looks nice. Comes with eSata and USB 3.0 cables. Works well with one drive connected.

Cons: The unit will only read one drive at a time. I've tried various combinations of brand new and used 2.5" and 3.5" drives in it, and it will only ever read the first drive that is connected regardless of which port it is connected to. I bought three of these at once, and they all do the same thing.

Other Thoughts: If they had some kind of firmware update I could install to fix the problem I would give it a higher rating, but as it stands Rosewill is just selling disappointment. They typically make good products, otherwise. Son, I am disappoint.

Manufacturer Response:

Dear Valued Customer,
Thank you very much for purchasing this unit.
We strive to provide the most reliable and highest quality products to our customers.

Port multipler feature will not work with onboard eSATA ports. This is due to the fact that newer motherboards do not support this feature. The only alternative to try is using and add-on card with port multiplier support. Keep in mind we do not guarantee this is 100% compatible. Two read/write to two drives at once please use the USB 3.0 port.

If you are not fully satisfied with our product please contact us to better assist you in resolving your problem.

Phone: 1- 800-575-9885
Email: rma@rosewill.com
Email2: techsupport@rosewill.com

We look forward to hearing from you.

Thanks,
Rosewill Customer Care

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

ICON Loading...

Protect Your Investment!

    • (more options) read warranty details
Are you an E-Blast Insider? Subscribe Newegg e-Blast
PayPal
Shop without retyping payment details. Secure shopping made faster.
Check out with PayPal.

Home
Home > 
Computer Hardware > 
Hard Drives > 
Hard Drive Enclosures > 
Rosewill > 
Item#: N82E16817182280
Related Products
Smart Interactive Cloning feature 2 bay hard driver ...
Flexible dual size bays for 2.5" or 3.5" ...
SATA 3 HDD Duplicator + Docking Station with ...
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.