Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Computer Hardware > 
Memory > 
Laptop Memory > 
G.SKILL > 
Item#: N82E16820231292

G.SKILL 4GB 200-Pin DDR2 SO-DIMM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Laptop Memory Model F2-6400CL6S-4GBSQ

  • DDR2 800 (PC2 6400)
  • Cas Latency 6
  • 1.8V
ICON Loading...

Adding more RAM is an easy way to improve your system performance; more memory often means responsive multitasking and faster program switching. The G.SKILL DDR2 memory delivers fast speed and low latency to address your daily needs in work and play, all without a hit on your wallet. Quality components and construction ensure stability and durability you can count on. Add this memory module to your system and watch the performance skyrocket.

  • newegg DDR2 800 The G.SKILL F2-6400CL6S-4GBSQ memory module is rated at 800MHz, and delivers up to 6.4GB/s bandwidth. It is an ideal choice to upgrade your laptop purchased several years ago.
  • newegg First-Class Quality Superior components, quality construction, and rigorous testing guarantee reliability and stability in challenging environments.

Learn more about the G.SKILL F2-6400CL6S-4GBSQ

Model

Brand
G.SKILL
Model
F2-6400CL6S-4GBSQ
Type
200-Pin DDR2 SO-DIMM

Tech Spec

Capacity
4GB
Speed
DDR2 800 (PC2 6400)
Cas Latency
6
Timing
6-6-6-18
Voltage
1.8V
ECC
No
Buffered/Registered
Unbuffered

Manufacturer Warranty

Parts
Lifetime limited
Labor
Lifetime limited

Quick Info

Warranty

  • Limited Warranty period (parts): Lifetime
  • Limited Warranty period (labor): Lifetime


Customer Reviews of the G.SKILL F2-6400CL6S-4GBSQ

Do you own this product? Write a Review

ICON Loading...

Filter Results

Go
  • David C.
  • 4/29/2011 4:22:55 PM
  • Tech Level: Somewhat High
  • Ownership: 1 month to 1 year
  • Verified Owner

5 out of 5 eggsSuitable for Dell Studio Laptops

Pros: Other than to say that this RAM is of good quality, works as advertised, and is a good value per dollar, perhaps the most important thing I can contribute is to vouch that this stuff is a match - specification-wise - with your Studio series Dell laptop. Plug and play baby, plug and play.

Cons: Zero.

Other Thoughts: Never open a computer without guidance. In this case, unplug, flip it, remove battery away from you, remove all screws from the periphery and the one in the center, and remove the panel. In the center, nearest you, are two identical little "daughter boards." They are one over the other and staggered. They are held in place by delicate white plastic fingers at the edges. GENTLY pry the fingers away from the card on top and tug it out. Slide your new card in its place; no need to touch the white fingers; they will glide out and around the new memory. Now you have 6GB instead of 4GB.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

  • Kent S.
  • 2/18/2011 3:03:31 PM
  • Tech Level: Average
  • Ownership: less than 1 day
  • Verified Owner

2 out of 5 eggsLive & Learn

Pros: Received it quick considering distance.Packaged very well.Newegg very helpful in getting it returned and refunded.So as to get on with purchasing what will work.

Cons: HP DV7Z AMD 780G.Removed same brand that was worked good but 2x2GB & SAME Specs.I bought 2x4GB. Installed professionaly,Restarted and did not work.Caps light flashed in patterns.Reinstalled old and worked fine.

Other Thoughts: For the record.These had 8 chip each side.Rumor has it bad for AMD 780G.I got Crucial 2x4GB from newegg that was pictured with 4 chips on site and received with 8 chips.Almost did'nt install but tried it.It works great,started up same,system recognizes 8193MB and it is running at 800MHz.I hope this helps future purchasers.

Manufacturer Response:

.
Dear Customer

We are sorry to hear the memory does not work properly. Unfortunately there is an issue with this model memory with the AMD 780G chipset. We will need to attain a model to determine what the issue may be. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.

Thank you
GSKILL SUPPORT

Quality and customer service are our top priorities.

Tech Support Email: ustech@gskillusa.com
RMA Dept Email: rma@gskillusa.com
G.Skill Forum: http://www.gskill.us/forum/

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

  • Anonymous
  • 1/19/2011 7:11:43 PM
  • Tech Level: High
  • Ownership: 1 month to 1 year
  • Verified Owner

5 out of 5 eggsG.Skill ALWAYS!!

Pros: Price, performance, compatibility

Cons: None

Other Thoughts: Got one of these to max out a Foxconn NT-330-I mini-book PC. Unlike other reviewers of the Foxconn, mine had no trouble booting right up and recognizing all 4GB of RAM.
I have two Foxconn mini-books with this RAM module and my current PC and my parents' PC are both running G.Skill RAM.
It's the right RAM for the job!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

  • Brandon C.
  • 12/14/2010 9:37:32 AM
  • Tech Level: High
  • Ownership: 1 day to 1 week
  • Verified Owner

5 out of 5 eggs100% Compatible with Dell Latitude D830 laptop

Pros: Installed two of these in a Dell Latitude D830 laptop...and works! 8 GB of RAM, baby!

Cons: POST takes about 10x longer the first time you start up the laptop with the new RAM. After that, it starts up normally.

Other Thoughts: Just make sure you have the latest BIOS flashed before you install the RAM. Otherwise, the most it will detect is 6 GB (one 4 GB DIMM, one 2 GB DIMM).

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

  • Doug C.
  • 12/8/2010 6:31:01 PM
  • Tech Level: Somewhat High
  • Ownership: less than 1 day
  • Verified Owner

1 out of 5 eggsWarrenty Memory Bad Also

Pros: I am not sure at this time there is pro's. When the first memory chip I recieved was bad I logged on and did a live chat with Veronica I do believe and she took care of me but now I can not find the live chat so I can be helped again.

Cons: This second memory chip that was to replace the bad one you sent me also bad. This is not good very frustrating to have to pay myself to return a bad memory chip to get the warrenty one and now it is also bad. Not winning any points with me.

Manufacturer Response:

.
Dear Customer

We are sorry to hear you are having such issues. The likeliness of two defective modules is very low. It is possible that the memory is not compatible with your laptop. Please contact our technical support department and we will be able to double check. If you have any further questions or issues, please don't hesitate to ask.

Thank you
GSKILL SUPPORT

Quality and customer service are our top priorities.

Tech Support Email: ustech@gskillusa.com
RMA Dept Email: rma@gskillusa.com
G.Skill Forum: http://www.gskill.us/forum/

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

  • Anonymous
  • 8/5/2010 11:15:25 AM
  • Tech Level: Somewhat High
  • Ownership: less than 1 day
  • Verified Owner

4 out of 5 eggsDo Your Homework!

Pros: Don't just listen blindly to these other guys. They didn't do their homework. Neither did I, unfortunately. Seems like lots of machines have RAM slots that will only allow the user to install 2GB, not 4. In my instance, the machine still booted (Asus 1201PN, Win7 32bit), but only recognized 2GB.

Cons: Gskill tends to be a little bit more pricey than other brands. They do have attentive customer service, and I have dealt with them on other products.

Other Thoughts: Fortunately for me, Newegg rocks, and helped me out. Seriously, though, guys... hit the old Internet Search Machine, and check out your machine's board to ensure that it's slot can accept the RAM. Don't just buy it, and come back here with consumer remorse, blaming a fine company because you don't know enough about your own technology.

Manufacturer Response:

.
Dear Customer

Thank you for your G.Skill purchase and review. Searching for compatibility can be difficult at times, especially if there is conflicting or minimal information. We test many setups and attain feedback for many users, so if you ever have any uncertainty or have absolutely no idea, simply contact us directly and we will be glad to guide you.

Thank you
GSKILL SUPPORT

Quality and customer service are our top priorities.

Tech Support Email: ustech@gskillusa.com
RMA Dept Email: rma@gskillusa.com
G.Skill Forum: http://www.gskill.us/forum/

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

  • Anonymous
  • 4/12/2010 4:08:46 AM
  • Tech Level: High
  • Ownership: less than 1 day
  • Verified Owner

1 out of 5 eggsG.SKILL 4GB 200-Pin DDR2 SO-DIMM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Laptop Memory

Pros: Came in a nice box...

Cons: I have a Toshiba Satellite A355D-S6887 and as soon as I inserted the stick of RAM into the laptop the laptop wouldn't even boot up. I even took out the old stick and left only the new stick in and yet, nothing. I flashed my BIOS and nothing. If you have the same laptop as mine please don't bother. Time to return and try a different brand.

Manufacturer Response:

.
Dear Customer

We apologize for the incovenience. Unfortunately, the AMD 780 chipset will require high density memory modules to operate 8GB. Currently, all G.Skill memory modules are low density, so the memory package you purchased will not work. If you have any further questions, please feel free to contact us directly.

Thank you
GSKILL SUPPORT

Quality and customer service are our top priorities.

Tech Support Email: ustech@gskillusa.com
RMA Dept Email: rma@gskillusa.com
G.Skill Forum: http://www.gskill.us/forum/

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

  • Robert S.
  • 4/10/2010 9:59:39 PM
  • Tech Level: High
  • Ownership: less than 1 day
  • Verified Owner

1 out of 5 eggsBlack Screen after install

Pros: got the memory quick; was excited to get it and swap out the 1gb stick with the 4gb, and leave the 2gb in

Cons: powered down the laptop, took out the battery and unplugged the power source; took out the 1gb stick, and got the 4gb stick in, started up the Toshiba Satellite L505-S5965 running Vista Business, and black screen - I'm wondering, "ok, what's up?" the laptop powers up but the os does not; switch stick locations - nada - black screen again; put the 1gb original stick in and viola it works: os boots up..........sad, but have to return it. I hope newegg can find me a 4gb stick to swap this one out -- I really need a 4gb stick

Other Thoughts: help

Manufacturer Response:

.
Dear Customer

We apologize for the incovenience. Unfortunately, the AMD 780 chipset will require high density memory modules to operate 8GB. Currently, all G.Skill memory modules are low density, so the memory package you purchased will not work.

Thank you
GSKILL SUPPORT

Quality and customer service are our top priorities.

Tech Support Email: ustech@gskillusa.com
RMA Dept Email: rma@gskillusa.com
G.Skill Forum: http://www.gskill.us/forum/

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

  • Guoruey W.
  • 4/8/2010 9:40:21 AM
  • Tech Level: High
  • Ownership: less than 1 day
  • Verified Owner

1 out of 5 eggsGateway compatibility issue?

Pros: Lowest price available...

Cons: Did not work in my Gateway 2027h laptop; after installing the new 4GB module, my computer can get it's power light to turn on, but then nothing else, it doesn't even make it to the BIOS screen...

Other Thoughts: I'm not sure if it's a compatibility issue, or if my laptop has been crippled by the manufacturer not to recognize 4GB of memory... I know the maximum specification is 2GB according to the manufacturer, but I've done this sort of thing many times before, maxing out the memory by just buying the largest modules out there on the market and installing them, despite the manufacturer's specifications, without incident (though sometimes I need a BIOS upgrade or something, but nothing major...). Not sure what happened here...

Manufacturer Response:

.
Dear Customer

We are sorry to hear you are having issues with your G.Skill memory package. Unfortunately not all laptops will be able to operate 4GB modules. We were unable to find a Gateway 2027h, but if you contact us with the correct model, we will be able to validate compatibility. If you have any further questions, please feel free to let us know.

Thank you
GSKILL SUPPORT

Quality and customer service are our top priorities.

Tech Support Email: ustech@gskillusa.com
RMA Dept Email: rma@gskillusa.com
G.Skill Forum: http://www.gskill.us/forum/

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

  • David Y.
  • 3/5/2010 6:05:25 PM
  • Tech Level: High
  • Ownership: less than 1 day
  • Verified Owner

5 out of 5 eggsWorked great

Pros: Worked great in my Acer Aspire 1410 bumped it up to 6 gigs.

Cons: After I ordered they raised the price so I won't be ordering a 2nd stick for awhile.

Other Thoughts: Seems the only people having problems are ones with certain models of HP, but that's HP not the rams fault.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

ICON Loading...
Are you an E-Blast Insider? Subscribe Newegg e-Blast
PayPal
Shop without retyping payment details. Secure shopping made faster.
Check out with PayPal.

Home
Home > 
Computer Hardware > 
Memory > 
Laptop Memory > 
G.SKILL > 
Item#: N82E16820231292
Related Products
DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Cas Latency 6 ...
DDR2 667 (PC2 5300) Timing 4 4 4 ...
Model Brand G.SKILL Model F2 6400CL6D 8GBMQ Type ...
Adding more RAM is an easy yet effective ...
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau