Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search

BUFFALO LS-WV2.0TL/R1 2TB (2 x 1TB) LinkStation Pro Duo RAID 0/1 Network Storage

  • 2-Bay
  • Usage High read/write performance with RAID
  • 2TB (2 x 1TB)
  • 1.6 GHz processor Processor
  • 1 x 10/100/1000M
  • 1 x USB2.0
ICON Loading...

 

 


Learn more about the Buffalo Technology LS-WV2.0TL/R1

Quick Info

Warranty

  • Limited Warranty period (parts): 1 year
  • Limited Warranty period (labor): 1 year


Customer Reviews of the Buffalo Technology LS-WV2.0TL/R1

Do you own this product? Write a Review

ICON Loading...

Filter Results

Go
  • Michael T.
  • 6/4/2013 10:27:34 AM
  • Tech Level: Somewhat High
  • Ownership: 1 month to 1 year

4 out of 5 eggsGood choice for a basic, cheap NAS

Pros: * Duel Bay - Offers storage options

* RAID 0/1/JBOD - Flexible and helps keep my important data safe

* Up to 3TB drives - Enough redundant storage for backups and/or media (maybe 4TB now)

* Gigabit network - Almost obligatory

* USB port - I don't use it yet, but nice to have for adding storage or peripherals

* Setup - Fairly easy to setup the basics

* iTunes Server - Works (Forget DLNA media serving - iTunes w/Apple TV is a far superior solution)

* Free Cloud Service - Buffalo offers free cloud service thru their website which works (I have static IPs from Comcast and I think I can go directly to the box)

* IOS iPhone/iPad remote access apps - They work

* Backup - Good, cheap solution everyone should have

* Decent Styling - Won't look bad in public

* Price - One of the cheapest duel bay NAS boxes

* Name Brand - Buffalo has a focus on NAS

* Overall Value - Price, Features, Performance

Cons: * RAID 1 - Only problem with using the RAID 1 is that it won't tell you which drive went bad if you lose one. I'm not sure if you take them out and install them in desktop that the Windows will be able to read the propriety file system. Perhaps a good use of the USB port is to back it up! That kind of data redundancy wouldn't be a bad idea anyway.

* Propietary File System - Won't backup my servers, but seems fine for Windows desktops/laptops.

* 1 Year Warranty - Just get good drives and use RAID 1

* Construction - Case seems a bit flimsy, but works fine

* Documentation - A little on the light side

Other Thoughts: * Overall great, cheap, flexible NAS for the basics

* If you have enough basic networking experience to be considering a NAS unit in the first place, then you'll be able to set this one up and take advantage of most of the features people want - network storage, media, backup, even remote access.

* I haven't had to call techinical support so I can't comment. I haven't even had to goto the forums, just the manual and maybe some Youtube videos.

* Don't know about the DLNA problems people talk about because I've found iTunes/Apple TV to be the a far more refined superior solution. DLNA, while promising, does not offer a very good interface and is difficult to navigate a large media library.

* If you want a serious NAS for your home or small business, all you have to do is read the feedback on Newegg to find the one - everyone knows which brand I'm talking about - they're great I'm sure. Only problem is that you'll spend a fortune (before you even buy the drives)!. If you're smart enough to go that route, you'd be looking at a free open source solution to plop on an old PC. If you're rich enough to go that route, you'd probably be better off with a Windows Server 2012 Essentials setup (a combination of the old Windows Home Server and Small Business Server in an updated Windows Server 2012 foundation with a nice Windows 8 wrapper).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

  • Peter W.
  • 9/14/2012 11:28:28 AM
  • Tech Level: High
  • Ownership: 1 day to 1 week
  • Verified Owner

2 out of 5 eggsNot fully compatible with OS X 10.7+

Pros: Seems like a perfectly acceptable all-in-one solution for a PC-based office.

Cons: Lousy customer support. It may be Apple who broke compatibility, but Lion and later doesn't fully work with Time machine, file acessibility, etc. non-functional on this box. Don't buy if you want to use on a recent Mac network. You can expect frustration from Buffalo tech support.

Other Thoughts: Newegg RMA rulz.

Manufacturer Response:

Stradlin, please send me an email so I can help trouble shoot. We updated our firmware a while back to provide full compatibility with Lion for some time. You can grab the updated firm ware here.
http://www.buffalotech.com/support-and-downloads/downloads

thanks!
Marco
newegg@buffalotech.com

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

  • William L.
  • 9/11/2012 4:56:32 PM
  • Tech Level: Somewhat High
  • Ownership: more than 1 year

4 out of 5 eggsNice run so far

Pros: Have owned since May 2011. Skeptical b/c saw bad reviews but price and features motivated to buy. I have criticisms, but don't regret my purchase and would consider another because I think its still a good bang for ones buck (in fact almost bought two refurbs recently but gone too fast). I have never had a major problem. Relatively trouble-free, it is a surprisingly quick, virtually silent, very compact machine that just goes about its business. Mine sits in the open on desk in our main living area. People think its a large pencil sharpener.

Cons: Dust easily clogs small vents. GUI interface is slow via wireless, forces admin relog too quickly, is not intuitive and can be buggy. I doubt anyone with average network skills, or new to a NAS could get this up & running on their own. Media server still won't work even though I reported bug several months ago (it thinks firmware / DTCP is updating). Getting web access running was very, very difficult & time consuming due to poor documentation & support too quickly blaming router (although admittedly router partly to blame). Overall, documentation on most features is poorly written, spotty, and frequently outdated. File transfers and backups between disks is acceptable but slower than I would like.

Other Thoughts: Cannot comment on RAID b/c don't use. Store mainly media. Created shared DB for family and archival photos using PicasaStarter (recommended). Easily streams 1080p videos with 7.1 surround simultaneously to multiple PCs either via wireless or ethernet no problem, even if another application like bit torrent or a sync back-up is running in the background. Also works great to share large files, videos and pictures, remotely with extended family members.

Manufacturer Response:

Buckfifty, thanks for the objective review. I just wanted to make a suggestion. I see that you are not using a raid 1 to mirror your drives. This is perfectly ok if you have your data stored in other locations. Like other PC's in the house. If for some reason you are using this unit as your only storage device and it is not in raid 1, I suggest you purchase a 2TB USB drive and have it plugged into the back of your linkstation. You will be able to set up scheduled backups to the USB drive which will protect your data if for some reason one of the hard drives in your LinkStation fails.

thanks
marco
newegg@buffalotech.com

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

  • Mansoor A.
  • 1/12/2012 9:03:57 AM
  • Tech Level: Somewhat High
  • Ownership: 1 month to 1 year

1 out of 5 eggsStay Away

Pros: Ethernet connection, bit torrent client.

Cons: Very very slow, useless advertised 1-GB Ethernet connection (3MB/s) which is slower the USB 1.1 (12MB/s)
It failed twice in one year of light use.

Other Thoughts: I didn't buy the product from newegg. The reason I'm reviewing it is to warn prospect buyer about it.

it is not worth the money. I'm not satisfied with this unit.

0 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

  • Benjamin B.
  • 7/23/2011 10:44:26 AM
  • Tech Level: Somewhat High
  • Ownership: 1 month to 1 year
  • Verified Owner

4 out of 5 eggsWorks fine

Pros: Raid 1 storage, reasonable transfer rates, uncomplicated installation, works as a print server

Cons: 1. comes with raid 0 set up, lengthy to reformat to raid 1
2. no bi-directional printer information (i.e. paper jams, etc)

Other Thoughts: The set-up was not difficult for me despite only being somewhat familiar with networking. The manual was clear enough to figure out. My suspicion is that the some of the negative comments come from people who are too sophisticated (recognize the limitations of the device that I don't) or not sophisticated enough.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

  • Robert C.
  • 7/16/2011 7:38:33 PM
  • Tech Level: High
  • Ownership: 1 month to 1 year

1 out of 5 eggsPRODUCT IS SPOTTY AND TECH SUPPORT IS SHADY.

Pros: Fast

Cons: Firmware, tech support, reliability, OS support

Other Thoughts: I received the NAS and set it up in RAID 1. Got all my info on it and used it for streaming to my TV thru PS3. I was very happy with the NAS until one day I get a message that my drives were offline. I ran diagnostics on the NAS and disk 1 came online. I did a reset and disk 2 would not come online. I checked for new firmware and tried that. I was still not able to add disk 2 back into the array. I called tech support and was told I should replace the drive since my data was not being protected. I told them it was 2 months old. Now they wanted me to run a bunch of test and did not want to send a drive out for the system. All of the sudden they felt the drive was ok even though at the beginning it was recommended to replace. After a couple of hours troubleshooting I was finally given an RMA # for a new drive. I sent in the bad drive and received a new drive 2 weeks later. I put the drive in the drive in the NAS and it will not let me add it to the system. I call tech support and they h

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

  • Dan W.
  • 6/24/2011 4:40:11 PM
  • Tech Level: High
  • Ownership: 1 week to 1 month
  • Verified Owner

4 out of 5 eggsGreat Tech Support

Pros: Replaceable Hard Drives; Patient, well-informed, helpful tech support

Cons: Out of the box an error occurred.

Other Thoughts: Previous LinkStation product had a hard disk error that degraded the RAID 1 array. Unfortunately, the molded plastic housing on the LS-WSXL appliance precludes hard drive replacement, so I bought a 2nd LS appliance. This time, though, I selected an LS which has replaceable hard disks. Out of the box, an error was reported. It was a spurious error: the report said the fan failed. The fan worked fine. Nothing I did reset the error message or diagnostic light, and I could not give the new LS to my user along with error messages, so I called tech support. 55 minutes later a solution was found. If you have the need to update firmware for a situation like this, here are a few caveats: 1) I couldn't get the WebUI on the LS to download/install the firmware update, so I downloaded/unzipped using another Internet connected PC, 2) Tech support's genius suggestion: connect LS directley to PC via network cable before attempting firmware upgrade. The unzipped firmware has a stand-alone installer.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

  • George R.
  • 5/22/2011 12:45:52 PM
  • Tech Level: Average
  • Ownership: 1 week to 1 month
  • Verified Owner

2 out of 5 eggsGood drive but...

Pros: Speedy drives, good for attaching printer to USB port on LinkStation, works with all PC's on my network (Windows 7, Windows XP, Windows Vista), outstanding Buffalo Tech Support.

Cons: One of the drives failed after 2 1/2 weeks, Buffalo replacement drive failed after 8 days, entire LinkStation replaced with refurbished unit from Buffalo Technology, refurbished unit failed after one day with corrupted firmware (Buffalo Tech Support guided me through a 2 1/2 hour reload of updated firmware without a complaint).

Other Thoughts: I had a LinkStation single drive for 5 years and loved it. Buffalo Tech Support is excellent at diagnosing the problems. The major issue is each time the drive or the entire unit was replaced they charged me $30 for "advanced replacement" (they send the replacement out immediately and you return the non-functioning unit with their return label). The original LinkStation Pro Duo was warranted for 1 year, the replacement refurbished unit is warranted for only 90 days.

Manufacturer Response:

Geo3543, please contact me. since you owned the device less than 30 days the initial RMA should have been through Newegg. typically 1st 30days is handled by Newegg and the remaining time is handled by Buffalo (hence the refurb unit was shipped). I can help clean this up for you and get a new unit in your hands and get the warranty back to a year.

thanks
Marco
marcor@buffalotech.com

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

  • Mike M.
  • 1/29/2011 7:02:57 PM
  • Tech Level: Average
  • Ownership: 1 day to 1 week
  • Verified Owner

3 out of 5 eggsnot bad

Pros: work as it should, more space, raid 1 to prevent data lose.

Cons: building Raid aray are take litle bit long, web access are too slow, and poor manual. all cons = -1 egg.

Other Thoughts: I end up to call buffalo for help because of the poor manual, and the tech support(the guy I talk to) help me like he is working free(unpaid). I ask him a question "do I have to reboot ?" and he said "I can end the call if you don't want to", and after he helping me he just hang up without saying good bye. = -1 egg.

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

  • Anonymous
  • 1/16/2011 11:56:34 PM
  • Tech Level: Average
  • Ownership: 1 week to 1 month
  • Verified Owner

4 out of 5 eggsGood Product - Buy one

Pros: Setup was quick and easy despite my total ignorance about networking stuff. Win 7 Explorer seems happy moving files to/from the NAS, creating folders, etc. Very happy with the speed. Some manufactures' claims are extremely optimistic, but this delivered what Buffalo claims: actual file xfrs from NAS to my PC at 70+ MB/sec. I can snap through a folder full of pictures on NAS (~3 MB jpegs) almost as fast as my local RAID0 -- on my laptop, the vid card is slower than the file xfr. Writing to the NAS was a bit slower (tested at ~50 MB/sec). I wanted the FTP capability. That was similarly easy for me to setup. My friends in South America have no trouble connecting. And Buffalo tech support is good (I didn't need them on this, but have phoned them previously for other thhings). Quick to get a live human who lives in the USA and knows what they are talking about.

Cons: Web admin interface could be cleaner and should offer more context help for novices like me (hence minus one egg). The user account access restriction stuff is too messy, especially since the FTP uses a different restriction set which intersects with regular restrictions in less-than-intuitive manner. Other setup/config stuff is also not clean and only sort of intuitive. On FTP setup, the help docs are quick to push off any router config issues as "your router ain't our problem and we are not going to say anything to help you". Why not give me a hint or two?!? What's a port? (maybe I'm just too ignorant) File transfer speed from my USB drive to NAS drive was VERY slow -- <5 MB/sec. This USB drive normally runs at 30 MB/sec to my PCs. Don't know why is was so slow. Config for HTTP not obvious. All the functional pieces are there and work, but Buffalo needs to get it all cleaned up, straightened out, and wrapped up in a nice little package.

Other Thoughts: My setup is at home with 2 to 4 PCs connected with the Win 7 'homegroup' thing. NAS plugged into my DLINK 655 router. Wanted NAS to 1) run FTP for pictures, etc, with folks in foreign lands; 2) put Picasa database and files so wife can play with Picasa from any computer; 3) general storage accessible from anywhere on network.

Manufacturer Response:

IDontHaveANickname, thanks for the in depth review. The USB portion was slow because you probably initiated the file transfer from a wireless connection. Any transfers from a USB drive that are initiated from a PC will result in the data traveling from the USB drive through the NAS to your PC then back to the NAS. You were probably on a wifi connection when you initiated the drag drop of your file so you had a bottle neck which resulted in a slow transfer. To bypass this, the LinkStation has a Direct Copy feature which will dump USB Media content directly into a pre-specified folder. It is easy to set up and much faster. email me if you have further questions

thanks
Marco
marcor@buffalotech.com

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

ICON Loading...
Are you an E-Blast Insider? Subscribe Newegg e-Blast
PayPal
Shop without retyping payment details. Secure shopping made faster.
Check out with PayPal.

Related Products
General Brand BUFFALO Model LS QV12TL/R5 Standards IEEE802.3ab ...
TeraStation Pro Rackmount WSS Storage Server provides a ...
  TeraStation™ 5600 TeraStation™ 5600 is a high ...
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau