Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Black November
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search

NETGEAR NeoTV Max Streaming Player NTV300SL-100NAS

  • 10/100 Ethernet (RJ-45)
  • Remote Included
  • Email this page
ICON Loading...

Learn more about the Netgear Inc. NTV300SL-100NAS

Model

Brand
NETGEAR
Model
NTV300SL-100NAS

General

Type
Digital Media Streamer
Remote Control
Remote Included

Features

Features
Media playback from USB or DLNA storage devices

Remote control with keyboard,QWERTY remote control,iOS/Android remote app for ease of navigation

Wireless Display (Intel WiDi)

Works with virtually any TV

Up to 1080p HD streaming

Built-in wireless IEEE 802.11b/g/n,300 Mbps WiFi for a smooth wireless display experience

Easy on-screen setup guide

Ethernet port

HDMI video output

5.1 surround sound audio

VUDU 3D support

Specifications

Ports In
10/100 Ethernet (RJ-45)
Ports Out
1 x HDMI
1 x A/V out
Specifications
1 x Micro SD
1 x Power Port

System Requirements

System Requirements
Requires a PC with Intel WiDi for wireless display
Broadband Internet connection
Device with Internet browser for channel activation
TV with A/V input or HDMI input and cable

Packaging

Package Contents
NeoTV Streaming Player (NTV300SL)
Remote control with QWERTY keyboard
Two (2) CR2032 coin batteries
AV cable/RCA
Power adapter
Quick start guide
Note: HDMI cable not included

Quick Info

Warranty

  • Limited Warranty period (parts): 1 year
  • Limited Warranty period (labor): 1 year


Customer Reviews of the Netgear Inc. NTV300SL-100NAS

Do you own this product? Write a Review

ICON Loading...

Filter Results

Go
  • Darryl C.
  • 10/18/2014 12:20:49 PM
  • Tech Level: High
  • Ownership: more than 1 year
  • Verified Owner

5 out of 5 eggsI bought this box for one reason.

Pros: This device has a native SlingPlayer app, and it just works. I Sling my home TV to my sailboat, and that is my primary use case. I also use it for Netflix and to play the occasional local file, but those are secondary use cases.

Cons: The local file player is not great. It doesn't play many codecs, and if local files are your primary concern, this may not be the box for you.

Other Thoughts: I would buy this device again (and I have).

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

  • Brian B.
  • 5/20/2014 6:32:18 PM
  • Tech Level: High
  • Ownership: 1 week to 1 month
  • Verified Owner

5 out of 5 eggsNeo TV

Pros: Unit work flawlessly all the time, Have had 2 Roku players die on me and would never recommend anything but a Neo TV player.

Cons: None

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

  • Lois S.
  • 4/24/2014 11:17:57 AM
  • Tech Level: Average
  • Ownership: 1 month to 1 year
  • Verified Owner

2 out of 5 eggsSO disapponted...

Pros: I purchased this in January, has worked great with Netflix and Hulu Plus until recently. Now the box gets really hot and stops responding.

Cons: The WiDi has never worked correctly, the lag and constant picture pausing is just too irritating, it's impossible to watch any show on a streaming website. This was the main reason I purchased this instead of something else. And now the little box heats up and won't respond to commands - even just to rewind. SO disappointing!!!

Other Thoughts: I've been a loyal NetGear customer for several years... but now I'm not so sure.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

  • Eric B.
  • 2/10/2014 1:54:39 AM
  • Tech Level: Somewhat High
  • Ownership: 1 month to 1 year

1 out of 5 eggsWorst product ever

Pros: None. The product never worked. Was replaced twice (thus I went through 3 of them) and none of them worked.

Cons: Went through 3 of these, and none of them worked.

Other Thoughts: Do not bother with anything from Netgear. Their products don't work and their technical support is inept.

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

  • Tyrone J.
  • 12/9/2013 8:13:43 AM
  • Tech Level: Average
  • Ownership: 1 day to 1 week

1 out of 5 eggsDlna files support horrible

Pros: Decent price, Keyboards a plus, Nice layout

Cons: Plays FEW dlna streamed files.Sluggish app loading, sluggish stream loading, Local file support is lacking....laughable. Freezes a lot.

Other Thoughts: This wasn't my first choice, there are better media streamers available. I chose this device because most media streamers don't support wireless local file streaming. This device advertises dlna file compatibility. Turns out it rarely plays any file I throw at it with the exception of wma, and that was after updating to the latest firmware update More often than not, it the file doesn't play the device freezes (Think Windows the blue screen of death). The remote doesn't function at this point and your only choice is unplug/re-plug the device and hope the next file doesn't refreeze the device again. More than likely it will which can become very annoying. I also had trouble with fast forward rewind function.When I was lucky enough to get a file to play, I didn't have the ability to fast forward or rewind. Streaming local media was the only standout feature that sold me on the device when compared to competitors.
I didn't spend much time testing the other features, but I did test Netflix and Hulu :Plus.. Overall they performed OK. My only complaint is the sluggish feel between remote button presses, app load times and stream loading times.
I gave up on NETGEAR NeoTV Max Streaming Player because of lack of support for local file streaming. I returned it and bought a WDTV Live. It works like a charm. It played 90% of the files I tried. I don't transcode files personally. I download from wherever Google search leads me so I'm at the mercy of the original creator of the file. Most of the time everything works. WD provides an Adequate amount of apps, most of the big names excluding The big A steaming app, but more importantly this device feels very responsive, and it hasn't locked up. It costs more, but if local file streaming is what you're after WD does it well and its the only way to go for under $100

Manufacturer Response:

Hi The Truth,

We're sorry for the problems you had and would have loved the chance to help -- we'd like to learn more about the file types you were trying to stream to see if the problems could be resolved. We want to earn your business in the future and we're to help. You can reach us any time at newegg@netgear.com.

Regards,

NETGEAR Team

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

  • Timothy W.
  • 8/30/2013 8:37:28 AM
  • Tech Level: Somewhat High
  • Ownership: 1 month to 1 year
  • Verified Owner

2 out of 5 eggsAlmost good enough

Pros: Very small, full keyboard on remote, very easy setup, pretty versatile set of apps and a pretty fair price.

Cons: Wifi hardly ever stays connected (I got it because I didn't want to run wires all over the place). The remote almost never wants to unlock when I want to use the keyboard on the back and I just end up navigating the letters with the arrow button. Usually locks up in Netflix if you pause for more than a couple minutes.

Other Thoughts: I would be able to put up with the little annoying things that this box does if it weren't for the fact that the wireless ALWAYS cuts out. My wireless router is literally across the room from it and it still won't connect.

Manufacturer Response:

Hello,

We apologize for the problems you are having with it cutting out. You can contact our support team if you'd like-- they may have a solution for you.
support.netgear.com

Regards,

NETGEAR Team

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

  • Georgios C.
  • 8/28/2013 7:52:56 AM
  • Tech Level: Somewhat High
  • Ownership: 1 month to 1 year

4 out of 5 eggsNo bad

Pros: The advantage against its competitors is you can watch youtube and your own media.Easy setup and ofthen updates to fix bugs

Cons: It takes time to get used to the navigation, the control has to be unlocked every time you have to type,still haven't figure out how to work wi-di

Other Thoughts: Great device as a smart TV alternative. Far from perfect but it will do the job and worth the money

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

  • John R.
  • 6/30/2013 8:09:44 PM
  • Tech Level: High
  • Ownership: less than 1 day

1 out of 5 eggsNo Slingbox Love

Pros: Easy Setup, Auto Updates,HDMI and Composite Video,Microsd.

Cons: Bought for slingplayer ability, Didn't work correctly, Audio kept echoing and I couldnt get it to go away. No good for slingbox.
Remote was horrible, Missed button presses constantly.

Other Thoughts: Had very high hopes this could handle slingbox so I had a dedicated device I could travel with.

Manufacturer Response:

Hi J,

We are sorry that you are having problems with Slingbox. If you go to the interface menu there is a software upgrade avaiable that may help.

You can also contact our support team at support.netgear.com.

Regards,

NETGEAR Team

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

  • Anonymous
  • 4/25/2013 10:28:34 PM
  • Tech Level: Low
  • Ownership: 1 month to 1 year

5 out of 5 eggsEasy

Pros: The product was easy to install and the remote is extremely easy to use. Which is great because I'm technologically illiterate.

Cons: A bit slow.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

  • Noel D.
  • 2/19/2013 11:43:11 AM
  • Tech Level: High
  • Ownership: 1 day to 1 week

1 out of 5 eggsBeware! Widi does not work with Windows 8!!!

Pros: Great little box with all the features you could think of however I bought it for one reason, WiDi!

Cons: WiDi doesn't work at all, says incompatible with Windows 8. I checked with Netgear's forums and there is no fix although there may be one in the future. THe box is a paperweight until then.

Other Thoughts: I went with Netgear because my router and switch are both Netgear, however I regret buying this device.

Manufacturer Response:

Hi Noel,

We are currently working on addressing the Windows 8 compatibility issues with a future update -- we thank you for your patience! If you have any further questions or feedback, please feel free to get in touch with us at newegg@netgear.com.

Regards,

NETGEAR Team

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

ICON Loading...
Are you an E-Blast Insider? Subscribe Newegg e-Blast
PayPal
Shop without retyping payment details. Secure shopping made faster.
Check out with PayPal.

Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.