Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search

TP-LINK TL-WPS510U Pocket-Sized Wireless Print Server 802.11b / g USB 2.0

  • 802.11b / g
  • USB 2.0
  • Pin It
  • Email this page
ICON Loading...


Learn more about the TP-LINK TL-WPS510U

Model

Brand
TP-LINK
Model
TL-WPS510U

Spec

Network Connection
802.11b / g
Printer Connection
USB 2.0
Protocols
TCP/IP, LPD/LPR
Device Management
Windows-Based Setup Program(PSAdmin)
Web Management
Operating Systems Supported
Windows 2000/XP/2003/Vista,
Mac OS X 10.2 or above, Linux
Dimensions
2.6" x 1.6" x 0.7"
Weight
0.1 lbs.
Temperature
0° ~ 50° C (32° ~ 122° F)
Humidity
0 ~ 70%

Features

Features
Support LPD / LPR (Standard TCP/IP Printer Port)
Support DHCP Client
Supports POST (Power On Self Test)
Provides 64/128 bits WEP Encryption, WPA/WPA2/WPA-PSK/WPA2-PSK Wireless Security

Manufacturer Warranty

Parts
1 year limited
Labor
1 year limited

Quick Info

Warranty

  • Limited Warranty period (parts): 1 year
  • Limited Warranty period (labor): 1 year


Customer Reviews of the TP-LINK TL-WPS510U

Do you own this product? Write a Review

ICON Loading...

Filter Results

Go
  • Frederick L.
  • 1/17/2014 7:43:42 AM
  • Tech Level: Somewhat High
  • Ownership: 1 day to 1 week
  • Verified Owner

1 out of 5 eggsWorks with "non-GDI/CAPT"

Pros: None yet

Cons: The description fails to specify this device works with non-GDI/CAPT printers. Do a search to verify your printer is not one of the non supported printers. Many common low priced printers are in this category.

Other Thoughts: Of course Newegg has the best price, shipping, and service, but this restriction was not include in online description

Manufacturer Response:

Hello Customer,

Thank you for checking out our Adapter and we are sorry to see that this device hasn't worked out for you.

We do have a list of compatible products on our website at: http://www.tp-link.us/resources/document/TL-WPS510U_Compatibility_List_.pdf

This can help determine if your printer is indeed compatible.

We really hope that you will be able to check out more of our products in the future and find something that works out well for you.

If you have any issues or concerns then you can feel free to contact me directly at howard.he@tp-link.com.


Best Regards!

TP-LINK Support Team
support.usa@tp-link.com
(866) 225-8139
http://www.tp-link.com/us/support

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

  • doug b.
  • 10/2/2013 6:01:47 AM
  • Tech Level: Somewhat High
  • Ownership: 1 day to 1 week
  • Verified Owner

3 out of 5 eggssetup woes

Pros: It works.

Cons: The documentation is not complete.

Other Thoughts: In my case, I had different local ip addresses than the hardware's default so I could not go by the documentation entirely if I didn't change my router (I would not). I think that's why others said the documentation isn't good or that the setup is difficult. I would say having experience setting up wireless networks will help with this print server so you can deviate when the documentation doesn't apply. Now my print server works but as another reviewer mentioned, his print server would drop off the network for unknown reasons and I once had a trendnet wireless print server do the same thing so I am pinging this print server each day. I'm happy to report in about 15 hours, so far so good but I'm not ready to say okay. I think my old one might drop off once or twice a week so it might be a couple days before I discover the drop off. Unfortunately I can't update this review so pay attention to whether other reviewers mention about drop offs. In sum, I like the product thusfar but unless you have some knowledge of wireless networks or can get help, it could be a waste of money.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

  • Jaime C.
  • 8/30/2013 5:41:20 PM
  • Tech Level: Average
  • Ownership: 1 day to 1 week
  • Verified Owner

1 out of 5 eggsDifficult set up

Pros: None to say.

Cons: Set up is very difficult. I will not continue to use this I am returning it after only having it a few days.

Manufacturer Response:

Dear customer,
We apologize for any inconvenience caused.
Here we have a FAQ for your reference of setting up this print server.
http://www.tp-link.us/article/?faqid=242

If you need further help or want us call you back to assist you to set it up, please feel free to let me know.
My email is: howard.he@tp-link.com

Best Regards!

TP-LINK Support Team
support@tp-link.com
(866) 225-8139
http://www.tp-link.com/us/support
http://www.facebook.com/TPLINK

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

  • Benjamin T.
  • 12/19/2012 10:52:18 PM
  • Tech Level: High
  • Ownership: more than 1 year
  • Verified Owner

2 out of 5 eggsMeh

Pros: When it works it's fine, it's a print server and it seems to work with a lot of printers

Cons: After it has been on for a few days it freezes and the only way to get it back is power cycling. I don't print that much and it seems more a nuisance than it's worth to have to cycle power every time I want to print something. Even with the latest firmware it still has this problem.

Manufacturer Response:

Dear Customer,

We are sorry to hear about your TL-WPS510U print server freezing up. This is not usual behavior for this device, and if you have the latest firmware, there's most likely an issue with the hardware itself.

Please contact us if you would like to set up an RMA for a replacement device. We would gladly assist you with this and get you a working product as soon as possible.

We hope you continue to enjoy TP-LINK devices!

Best Regards!
marc.elliott@tp-link.com

TP-LINK Support Team
support@tp-link.com
(866)225-8139
http://www.tp-link.com/us/support
http://www.facebook.com/TPLINK

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

  • john c.
  • 7/6/2012 6:13:16 AM
  • Tech Level: Average
  • Ownership: 1 day to 1 week

5 out of 5 eggs

Pros: It works fine

Cons: Would have liked it better with a 6-inch cord.

Other Thoughts: tried setting it up on day-1, no go, did some reading from comments posted here on newegg, especially the one to follow the qick instal guide from manufactures website. Followed the guide and got it to work... i think it didn't work at first because of the security encription i had it set to wpa2-psk (tik), i changed it to (ccmp).

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

  • Anonymous
  • 3/26/2012 4:03:41 PM
  • Tech Level: High
  • Ownership: 1 day to 1 week

1 out of 5 eggsJunk

Pros: none I can't think of when they don't work.

Cons: I bought two of these to connect a Oki printer and a cannon for a customer.
After scratching my head for an hour wondering why nothing is working on EITHER printer, I call the tech support. The first guy I get was about usless and smug as they come. Then I called back and got one even worse. I couldn't understand a word she was saying and on top of mumbling, it sounded like she was standing 10 feet away from the phone. I kept telling her I can't hear her well and she would speak up just long enough to say in borken english, "im sorry" then right back to mumble . I gave up and hung up.

Also on the side of the box in microscopic letters it gives a web address to see if this pile of Doo will work with your printer. The link is dead. They don't even maintain their website well. So I have nothing good to say about TP-link, their support, or the products. I'm done. Wasted an entire afternoon with these fools just to find out 2 of the 3 printers I have are not supported.

Other Thoughts: Stop making junk that doesn't work.

Manufacturer Response:

Dear Customer,

This is Hannah from TP-LINK technical support Team.

I am sorry that our website has been updated recently. The link in the software has been updated since then.

I am sincerely sorry for the inconvenience caused by the product.

Would you please follow the guide below for a try?
http://www.tplink.com/en/article/?id=242

If you have any further problem, please feel free to contact me at hannah.luo@tp-link.com
or contact our technical support team at 866-225-8139. Thank you!

Best Regards
---------------------------------------------
Hannah Luo
Technical Support Engineer
http://www.tp-link.com/us/support
http://www.facebook.com/TP-LINK

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

  • Gabriel R.
  • 1/1/2010 9:11:47 AM
  • Tech Level: High
  • Ownership: 1 day to 1 week

4 out of 5 eggsSmall compact size wireless printer server

Pros: -Very small compact size
-Works great with Windows (XP) and Linux as well
-WPA works well, haven't tested the WPA2

Cons: -The level of technical documentation will not help somebody with existing wireless setup and no IP/wireless networking experience.
-USB connecting cable is very short, I would recommend to include a velcro tape for fixing the WPS to the printer.
-Although USB2.0 is supported it is not possible to get the printer status through the WPS to the PC. It is not an equivalent setup to a USB connected printer.

Other Thoughts: I have got the WPS running within an hour on 3 XP machines and a eeePC (linux). Using it with a Canon Pixma IP4000. I am still struggling to get it working from a Macbook (connectivity is OK, but the printer queue settings might not be correct). As other reviewer has mentioned it the initial setup has to be on a 192.168.0.0/24 network due to default factory settings. The easiest way is to use a windows laptop with Ad-Hoc wireless connection without the need to re-address your existing wireless access point. After the initial connection with the setup utility it is possible to change the network address as well as the SSID and encryption settings. Unfortunately this is not mentioned explicitly in the manual.
I have a continuous ink system with my inkjet, so when the printer is done, I can replace it for an entry model without wireless access, keeping my network print server in place.

It is a good product for somebody with wireless networking experience. I would recommend it.

Manufacturer Response:

Dear Customer, Thank you very much for your review.

Sorry for the inconvenience about the technical documentation. The documentation you mentioned should be probably the old version. We released a QIG v2.0 in the end of last year. The link is as follows:

http://www.tp-link.com/support/toDownload.asp?url=%2Fenglish%2Fsoft%2F2009121610213713%2Ezip

The incidental CD does not contain an instruction for Mac. We suggest you configure you Mac as per the instruction below:

http://www.tp-link.com/support/showfaq.asp?id=252

Thank you for choosing TP-LINK product. If there is any further problem, please feel free to contact TP-LINK support.

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

  • Anonymous
  • 8/28/2009 7:11:38 AM
  • Tech Level: High
  • Ownership: less than 1 day
  • Verified Owner

2 out of 5 eggshome use only

Pros: it's small and is perfect for personal printers.

Cons: the extension isn't made well so the contacts won't touch unless you cram paper in to make it fit - even then it's spotty. after i got it to work, i put the machine that originally set up the printer on the server to sleep - and viola! the printer disappears! i tried to use it on a brother laser color printer. truth is after spending about 4 hours of jacking with it i decided to just run an ethernet cable to the printer..luckily it was in the same room. don't get this if you're wanting to use it on a printer designed for networking just get it for your little deskjet or laser printer that's intended for one computer and it will make you very happy.

Other Thoughts: truth is there isn't a good market for wireless print servers i'd say if you're going to need it to be dependable make sure you actually need it. buy one for $160+ and don't waste your life trying to make something work because it's cheaper. cheaper with wifi print servers = useless parts and frustration.

Manufacturer Response:

Dear Dave, Thank you for your review.

Do you mean that the USB cable does not exactly fit the interface on the print server? If it does not feet, you can call the TP-LINK hotline and ask for an RMA number. We may replace it for you with a new one. We believe it's an accidental issue.

TL-WPS510U does support almost all non-hostbased printers, as long as the printer model is on the compatibility list.

There might be some small problem with the printer settings or operating system. The printer actually will not disapear due to the print server.

We suggest you check the install procedure as per the QIG below:

http://www.tp-link.com/support/toDownload.asp?url=%2Fenglish%2Fsoft%2F2009121610213713%2Ezip

If there is any further problem, please feel free to contact TP-LINK support at support@tp-link.com

We are sorry for any inconvenience caused.

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

  • Bryan W.
  • 8/26/2009 5:31:29 AM
  • Tech Level: High
  • Ownership: 1 week to 1 month

3 out of 5 eggsGood Product, Bad Instructions

Pros: Works very fast when configured properly

Cons: Install instructions provided with the device as well as tech supports version that they sent via email do not properly tell you how to configure this to work with an existing WiFi network.

Other Thoughts: It took me 4-5 hours over 2 days, with 3 or 4 emails to tech support as well as a phone call, to get this configured properly. In order to get this working correctly, your router gateway must be set to 192.168.0.1 because of the static IP the wireless print server has from the factory. If you have any other questions on how to set it up let me know.

Manufacturer Response:

Dear Bryan, Thank you for choosing TP-LINK product.

We feel sorry that our old version instruction did not help you well with the installation. There is a newer version of QIG available at the link below:

http://www.tp-link.com/support/toDownload.asp?url=%2Fenglish%2Fsoft%2F2009121610213713%2Ezip

With this QIG v2.0, you may feel much easier to get TL-WPS510U work with your existing Wireless network.

Because the default IP address of TL-WPS510U is 192.168.0.10, you just have to make sure it will be configured with in the same IP subnet with your wireless router, and make sure it will not conflict with other hosts.

If there is any further question, please feel free to contact TP-LINK support.

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

Compare Offers from All Sellers

Seller Name & Rating Offer Details  
ICON Loading...

Send It As A Gift!

gift services details

More Buying Options

Are you an E-Blast Insider? Subscribe Newegg e-Blast
PayPal
Shop without retyping payment details. Secure shopping made faster.
Check out with PayPal.

Related Products
Model Brand TP LINK Model TL WN8200ND Spec ...
TRENDnet's 1 Port Wireless N Multi Function USB ...
Model Brand TP LINK Model TL WR710N Spec ...
Model Brand TP LINK Model TL PS310U Spec ...
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau