Skip to: | - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message. - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home > 
Office Solutions > 
Security Cameras & Surveillance > 
IP / Network Cameras > 
D-Link > 
Item#: N82E16881103059

D-Link DCS-5020L Cloud Wireless IP Camera, 640X480 Resolution, Pan/Tilt, Night Vision, Wi-Fi Extender, Sound and Motion Detection, mydlink enabled

  • Wireless Camera
  • Cloud
  • 640 x 480 MAX Resolution
  • Pan and Tilt
  • Night Vision
  • Wi-Fi Extender Built-in
  • Sound and Motion Detection
  • Built-in microphone

ICON Loading...
  • Overview
  • Specifications
  • Warranty & Returns
  • Reviews

Learn more about the D-Link DCS-5020L

Warranty, Returns, And Additional Information
  • Warranty
  • Limited Warranty period (parts): 1 year
  • Limited Warranty period (labor): 1 year
  • Read full details

Customer Reviews of the D-Link DCS-5020L

Do you own this product? Write a Review

ICON Loading...

Filter Results

  • Robert P.
  • 4/19/2015 9:54:29 PM
  • Tech Level: Somewhat High
  • Ownership: 1 week to 1 month
  • Verified Owner

2 out of 5 eggsFind another Camera

Pros: Nice cameras, small enough to put anywhere, resolution is fine for my needs

Cons: Hard to get properly set up, Cannot get them to work remotely, NO TECH SUPPORT!

Other Thoughts: A friend of mine asked me to buy these specific cameras and install as his tech knowledge is limited. I buy from Newegg and they show up quickly.
If you do not have the Dlink cloud, then they are a pain to set up. After finally setting up all the cams, I get a confirmation with the set up wizard that all cams are registered with Dlink. I download the app and sure enough, all the cams show up when everything is on the same network.

Now, when logging into only 2 of the 3 cameras are shown on the site. Only 1 of the 2 cams are showing an image. Ive emails tech support twice and no response. Been about 3 weeks now and still no tech support. I posted a similar message on their blog and it got deleted and never answered.

Buyer beware! unless your in the same dwelling where the cams are being used, the whole thing is worthless!

I never liked Dlink products and this is just one more reason I dislike their products. Im waiting to see if Dlink will respond to this review and tell me to contact support like they did to everyone else. (guess what? I already did twice!)

Manufacturer Response:

We appreciate the input as we greatly value the review and we are sorry to hear that you are encountering issues with the product. Please make sure that you have downloaded and installed the latest firmware found on In addition, to contact our technical support team, we advise that you call the support line at 1-877-453-5465. Our agents are available 24/7 and an agent will be glad to assist you. Thank you for choosing D-Link.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

  • Anonymous
  • 3/30/2015 6:38:53 PM
  • Tech Level: High
  • Ownership: more than 1 year
  • Verified Owner

4 out of 5 eggsAwesome

Pros: Superb night vision, remote control from phone or PC, long wireless range, works as network extenders

Cons: Sometimes the color mode acts weird on two of my five cameras after switching night vision off

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

  • Ben S.
  • 8/26/2014 1:51:20 AM
  • Tech Level: Somewhat High
  • Ownership: 1 month to 1 year
  • Verified Owner

4 out of 5 eggsA Solid Start

Pros: Wide field of view, fairly high compatibility with viewing programs

Cons: Somewhat difficult to setup, slow response at times, repeater function is garbage

Other Thoughts: We got two of these to expand the range of our wifi and look in on our kids ( < 4 years old) when we want to. Getting these two cameras setup wasn't the easiest and we kept getting errors during the process. In the end we got it working and I can look in from work.

These also function poorly at distance (i.e. looking out an exterior window)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

  • Anonymous
  • 6/16/2014 4:09:56 PM
  • Tech Level: Average
  • Ownership: 1 day to 1 week

4 out of 5 eggsI love it for the price and reliability

Pros: Once you have it all set the iPhone app works almost flawlessly. Signing in an seconds. Controls are easy to use and very responsive. It sees very well in the dark.

Cons: There is some firmware that needs to be updated, but if you have any computer knowledge, you won't have much problem. People having issues just don't know what they're doing, or got a bad egg.

Other Thoughts: Price to feature ratio is very high on this cool little camera

Manufacturer Response:

We want to thank you for the feedback as we value the comments and are happy to hear that you are satisfied with your purchase. If you ever run into any problems please contact us by visiting or by calling 1-877-453-5465. We thank you for being a D-Link customer.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

  • Richard W.
  • 3/16/2014 11:24:35 AM
  • Tech Level: Average
  • Ownership: 1 month to 1 year
  • Verified Owner

4 out of 5 eggsVery good Camera

Pros: I like the camera. I bought two of it and the two of the 5222. I like the 5020 for ease of installation, sharpness of the picture and ability to use the features from my iPhone. the pan and tilt allows me to purchase less cameras then I currently have (ABS bought in 2009 - they are starting to die out now). Yes I would recommend the camera.

Cons: When I have to reset my wifi, I loose the cameras and have to plug one back into the router via cat 5/6, but then they all come back on.

Other Thoughts: I've played with the push notification based on sound and movement and finally just left one on - too many notifications. I haven't tried local recordings yet but that's next.

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

  • Kennard G.
  • 2/5/2014 8:39:15 AM
  • Tech Level: Average
  • Ownership: 1 week to 1 month
  • Verified Owner

4 out of 5 eggsDecent camera for the price

Pros: Camera's Infrared is pretty good. Image in the dark is very clear. Extended Network feature comes in handy for areas where there is poor wifi coverage. Using mydlink, camera is easy to setup and configure. Long power cord allows you to set this camera up pretty much wherever you wish except outdoors. It pans close to a 360 degree and pans up and down via controls.

Cons: Firmware setup may not go smoothly. You may need to download and manually install the firmware.
This is not necessarily a con but keep in mind if you do turn on the extended network feature, give this this "extended network" another name. If you don't then your broadcast SSID (assuming that your network name is not hidden) will show up twice, and you wont be able to tell the difference between the two.

You will have to access the camera via the ip address, in order to change the name of the extended network.
Open up your ms-dos prompt (for windows users) and type "arp -a" or "ipconfig/all"
Mac users can use terminal to get their ip, and seek out your camera ip or simply log into your router and look for the camera's ip address. Note that this ip address is dynamic. Unless you made it static, it will change depending on your router's assignment of ip numbers.
With a java plugin,web browsers Safari and Explorer and Chrome displays your images nicely. Java plugin is necessary, so if you have security concerns then you may want to consider another model.

Other Thoughts: Camera's control response could lag, not as inutitive when operating via the mydlink website. I bought two of these cameras to monitor my home internally.
Not sure if you get better control via static ip/port forwarding via dydns or no-ip. Hopefully may post on this setup, which i have not tried.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

  • Alex S.
  • 1/20/2014 12:30:48 PM
  • Tech Level: High
  • Ownership: 1 month to 1 year

1 out of 5 eggsSuck do not waste your money

Pros: None

Cons: I was hoping this was a good product but it’s a flop. The video is bad, The Iphone live feed worked for a day and stopped working and dlink will not email or call back for support. I work in IT so I know when I am doing when troubleshooting issues. The device over all is just a waste of money. I would keep looking for a better product.

Other Thoughts: Dont wast your money on this cam

Manufacturer Response:

We want to thank you for the feedback as we really do appreciate the input. We are sorry to hear that you encountered difficulties with the DCS-5020L and that you did not get a response from our support staff. Please make sure you have downloaded and installed the latest firmware. If that does not solve the problem please click on the link below and fill out the detailed form. By doing this our Technical Support team will be able to contact you directly and assist you with the issues you are experiencing.

We thank you for choosing D-Link and look forward to hearing from you soon.

0 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

  • Louis S.
  • 12/11/2013 5:02:00 PM
  • Tech Level: High
  • Ownership: 1 week to 1 month
  • Verified Owner

4 out of 5 eggsNice inexpensive security

Pros: This camera was very easy to set up. Compared to others I've purchased, where you actually had to go into the router and assign a port number and port forwarding, this "dlink" software is easy to work with. I was able to use the iPhone app with no problems (which is my preferred way to use, but for some reason, I could not get it to work on my computer. I signed up for an account on dlink, then, when trying to make it work, couldn't. No matter what I did, it would not work.
When I want to contact customer service, I usually use live chat, and if that's not there, then I'll email. I emailed "dlink" with my question, as to why I could not get it to work on my computer. Within 72 hours, I got a reply and they walked me through the steps in my "active X" controls, from my control panels internet security. That was all that it needed. So, great job "DLink!"....

Cons: It wasn't free!

Other Thoughts: I first purchased a "WanView" (I think that was the name of it), but never got it to work, because I didn't understand the tech info in the users manual. It was a wireless, IR camera for outdoor use. no support, it's from China where they must have had a tech writer, who also didn't understand English. So, frustrated, I bought anther from Newegg, this one. I worked with the "China" camera for over a week, it still doesn't work. I worked with this one for 20 minutes, it's up and running. The delay in my computer issues are documented above.. Great job "Dlink"!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

4 out of 5 eggsExcellent Camera - difficult to configure

Pros: Network Extender, this sure helps if you are putting it downstairs by your main entry to the house. I often sit outside where the signal strength is a bit minimal.

Night vision quality, it is very good, yes it’s limited to 25 feet, however this is really designed for in-house use. So if your room is longer than 25 feet, the focus starts to get off a little bit.

The microphone is very sensitive. It picks up on very small sounds.

The camera will tilt and pan in a lot of different ways. If you wall mount it flat on the wall, this camera can view the entire room with ease.

Can be accessed via IP address to the camera much like a router can for in house monitoring. Set up a VPN and the same would follow suit.

This comes with wall mounting templates inside of the package, so you don’t drill holes randomly. It has 2 different types of drywall screws. If you mount it directly, or if you mount it on the arm.

The D-View camera software is great, if you are looking to setup multiple cameras in the house and monitor them from a stationary computer. Or a secondary monitor off of your main computer. It allows quick switching between cameras and control on all of them.

The configuration software will allow for multiple user accounts on the device.

Cons: The camera will function inside the network. If you decide to remote access the software is not the easiest thing in the world to setup. If you are not familiar w/ networking etc., you may want to have someone come help you out. It does not take a lot of knowledge, but it can require port forwarding etc. from the router.

I downloaded the Dlink camera software for the android. It requires you have the IP address of your network. This is ok if you have a static IP, if not you'll want to look at Dynamic DNS software. There is settings inside of the camera configuration for Dynamic DNS as well.

The motion detection portion of this camera does not pan/tilt to center on where the motion is.

The recording options are very limited, however you can get third party software that is capable of recording the stream from the camera.

Other Thoughts: I don’t see much room to complain with the overall value of this camera for the price. If you are looking to have a 'baby monitor' even this will fit the job perfectly. Any tech savvy person can help you configure this to remote log in to check up on your child yourself if you put one at the babysitter's house.

I hope that D-Link can make the software a bit more streamlined to make the configuration easier. The instruction book that came with this was pretty minimal in regards to setup process. Since this is very complex to configure, I would probably use video tutorials online to help guide the setup process.

The network extender is not 'amazing' but it sure helps give you that extra boost.

I would highly recommend this product pending you have someone that can help with the network configuration if you are unfamiliar.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

  • Carmine J.
  • 10/29/2013 6:46:50 AM
  • Tech Level: High
  • Ownership: 1 week to 1 month

4 out of 5 eggsMany reports here incorrect

Pros: I like it!

Cons: For the price? None.

Other Thoughts: I'm here only to point out that many of these reports are incorrect when they say that the camera does not offer recording to local disk, scheduled recording, playback, and so on. You need to download and install "D-ViewCam" app from

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

Compare Offers from All Sellers

Seller Name & Rating Offer Details  
ICON Loading...

This product qualifies for Newegg's Price Match Guarantee. We'll match any qualifying competitor's price. Learn More

Send It As A Gift!

gift services details
Selected Items

Best Service Sellers

Are you an E-Blast Insider? Subscribe Newegg e-Blast
Shop without retyping payment details. Secure shopping made faster.
Check out with PayPal.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.