Skip to: | | - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message. - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home > 
Office Solutions > 
Security Cameras & Surveillance > 
Smart Energy Saving & LED > 
D-Link > 
Item#: N82E16881103076

D-Link DSP-W215 Wi-Fi Smart Plug + Energy Monitoring, Turn On / Off Your Electronics from Anywhere

  • Turn devices on or off from your smartphone or tablet from anywhere and monitor energy use to save money on your next bill
  • Create on / off schedules for your devices
  • Easy setup. Designed to work with existing Wi-Fi networks (no additional hub required)
  • Use with other mydlink Home devices and the free mydlink Home app to create a smarter, more secure and more aware home
  • mydlink home app support for iPhone, iPad, Android and Windows phone
  • Works with any smartphone or tablet running Android 4.1 or higher or iOS 7.0 and higher
  • Electrical rating of 120V / 15A / 60Hz / 1800W (for indoor use)

ICON Loading...
  • Overview
  • Specifications
  • Warranty & Returns
  • Reviews



D-Link DSP-W215 MyDlink Smart Plug




Control Your Devices
From Anywhere

Meet the MyDlink Wi-Fi Smart Plug (DSP-W215). It allows you to turn your devices on or off, wherever you are.


Turn Devices On/Off with the Mobile App
Instantly turn devices on or off from your smartphone or tablet.


Create On/Off Schedules for Your Devices
Set your devices to work for you whenever you want.


Help Prevent Your Devices from Overheating
A thermal sensor will automatically turn off overheating appliances.


Monitor Your Energy Use
Keep an eye on your energy usage and save a few bucks.



Your Life can be a Lot
Easier with the Smart Plug

Turn things on and off from your smartphone or tablet using the mobile app. The app is easy to use and it'll send you customized notifications.


Create On/Off Schedules for Your Devices

Your devices should work for you whenever you want them to, right? We agree -- and that's why we made the Smart Plug. You can set device schedules so that you walk into a brightly-lit home every day after work with your favorite song playing and the AC exactly where you want it.


Really Easy Setup

Connect to an existing Wi-Fi network with a simple push of the Wi-Fi Protected Setup (WPS) button on the Smart Plug and on the router. It's hassle-free and gets you connected in minutes.


Let the Smart Plug Worry
About the Unexpected

Did you leave the electric blanket plugged in? How about the iron? Hey, don't stress. The Smart Plug has a built-in thermal sensor that will shut off your devices if the plug overheats.


Save a Few Bucks on Your Next Energy Bill

Keep an eye on your energy use. Know what each device power consumption is. Monitor air conditioning usage in the summer or heat usage in the winter so you don't get a surprise at the end of the month.


What's in the Box


Learn more about the D-Link DSP-W215




Smart Plug


IEEE 802.11n

System Capability
iOS 6 or later
Android 4.0 or later

Power Input: 100 to 125 V AC

Support Functions
Smart Remote Control
Push Notifications
Energy Use Statistics
Power Scheduling
Overheat Protection
Control Your Devices from Anywhere

Easy to Setup, Easy to Use

Protect your Home and Devices

Stay Informed

Physical Specification

3.54" x 2.4" x 1.4 (H x W x D)
Warranty, Returns, And Additional Information
  • Warranty
  • Limited Warranty period (parts): 1 year
  • Limited Warranty period (labor): 1 year
  • Read full details

Customer Reviews of the D-Link DSP-W215

Do you own this product? Write a Review

ICON Loading...

Filter Results

  • Paul R.
  • 12/8/2015 9:26:05 AM
  • Ownership: 1 week to 1 month

3 out of 5 eggsTo work you need to change AP Isolation setting

Pros: Really is cool to control a small window A/C unit during the summer and a Radiator heater during the winter remotely (or by schedule) and know that if something goes wrong the unit will shut appliance down if the plug gets too hot.

Cons: The temperature reported is a good 20 degrees higher Fahrenheit than the actual ambient temp around the device. So at rest with nothing plugged in the ambient room temp is 70 and the device shows 95. So don't expect this to show the temp of room it is in.

Other Thoughts: Almost all of the people reporting trouble getting this to work need to go and look at the WiFi settings of their wireless router. Everybody is getting the light to go solid green which means the device sees and has gotten on the local wireless network. You need to have AP Isolation turned OFF so that the application on the phone can find the device. Otherwise it will never be found by the phone application.

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

  • Michael S.
  • 6/16/2015 2:54:58 PM
  • Ownership: less than 1 day
  • Verified Owner

1 out of 5 eggsWEMO = JUNK

Pros: None

Cons: I am finding out with two Links 4 bulbs and a light switch that if you want to WAIST long periods of time get these products. I have worked at getting the links set up for two days on Ipad; and yes I did the resets, all to no avail. Now when I went back to my Iphone it lost all connections with no hardware viewing at all.

JUNK products, never again Belkin.

P.S. If you want support that's extra $$$$$'s

0 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

  • Jerry W.
  • 5/22/2015 9:44:32 AM
  • Ownership: 1 day to 1 week

1 out of 5 eggsGreat Device-Misleading Newegg Ad

Pros: Device was easily setup. Took approximately ten minutes.

Cons: Ad is very misleading (confusing). Promo banner appears to indicate you are getting two smart plugs for a special price when you are only receiving one. BEWARE. Customer service was polite and courteous, offering return with free shipping.

Manufacturer Response:

D-Link suggests that you contact your seller directly to resolve your issues regarding your purchase. Thank you for choosing D-Link.

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

  • Paul J.
  • 12/11/2014 9:38:03 AM
  • Ownership: 1 day to 1 week
  • Verified Owner

4 out of 5 eggsW215

Pros: Once it is working, it works effectively.
The price is reasonable. Even with all the troubles, I might get another one like this.

Cons: I had to make a required phone call to D-Link and get the firmware on the device updated (my firmware was 1.00). I spent more than 2 hours to get this device to work.

These are the information that I compiled:
a. WPS doesn't work on my two routers, before or after the firmware update. It failed on different stages.
b. I got PIN is incorrect message and the firmware update fixed it. If you received the same message, call D-Link to assist.
c. The Manual option works for me. As stated on the screen, make sure you select the device WIFI (DSP***) before scanning for the device. I missed that information.

Other Thoughts: You can create schedules through the mobile app. However, I found the schedule function not user friendly. If you made a mistake, you might need to use a different schedule (4 in total) as the schedule may not be editable. The Basic has mandatary frequency option which will turn the device on and off between the time duration you setup.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

  • John N.
  • 9/18/2014 12:10:02 PM
  • Ownership: 1 week to 1 month
  • Verified Owner

2 out of 5 eggsWorks when it wants to

Pros: Works okay over local wifi.

Cons: Doesn't work most of the time in different location.

Manufacturer Response:

We want to thank you for the feedback as we greatly value the review and we are sorry to hear that you are encountering issues with the product. Please make sure you have downloaded and installed the latest firmware. If that does not solve your problem we advise you to reset the device (by holding the WPS button for 10 seconds till the light turns red) and go through the set up process again. This time during the setup process make sure you follow these steps.

1) Sign into your mydlink account
2) Connect the smart plug to your router via WPS
3) Connect your mobile device to your WiFi

The problem you have mentioned is a common occurrence among users who do not sign into their mydlink account first. You can also refer to the user manual or quick install guide provided on If you are still having problems please give us a call at 1-877-453-5465 so one of our technical support reps will be able to assist you. Thank you for choosing D-Link.

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

  • Anonymous
  • 8/17/2014 2:25:45 PM
  • Ownership: 1 week to 1 month
  • Verified Owner

3 out of 5 eggsConnection time to the PLUG is too long!!

Pros: Once you pass the setup, it works as expected and provides good information.

Cons: Setup is very painful. The product is very expensive too. I have a great WiFi setup, but connection time to the plug is at least 20 seconds each time.

Other Thoughts: D-link must reduce the connection to the PLUG, it is really bad each time.

Manufacturer Response:

We appreciate the feedback as we truly value the input and we are sorry to hear that you are experiencing issues with the product. D-Link advises that you download and install the latest firmware from In addition, keep in mind the number and thickness of walls and ceilings, as well as the location of other objects that the wireless signals must pass through, may limit the range. Typical ranges vary depending on the types of materials and background RF (radio frequency) noise in your home or business. If you are still encountering problems feel free to contact us for assistance by calling 1-877-453-5465. Thank you for choosing D-Link.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

4 out of 5 eggsNifty device!

Pros: Nice user interface
Lot's of features & function

Cons: Setup is unnecessarily difficult
Should have a card in the box that says "UPDATE FIRMWARE" as the very first thing you do!
Online support is weak - "live chat" is an automated response system

Other Thoughts: I've been using home automation since x-10 in the DAK catalog (remember that??) I fully appreciate the direction this is going, with wifi connectivity and ability to control from a smart phone or tablet -- it's the bomb. I just wish the software and ecosystem were more ready, it seems like this product was really rushed to market without adequate testing.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

  • Gary P.
  • 8/1/2014 4:21:57 AM
  • Ownership: 1 month to 1 year

3 out of 5 eggsShaky install, weak Wi-Fi range

Pros: - easy to use mobile app
- compact size

Cons: - no physical button on device itself for turning something manually on/off - have to use the app

- shaky install as others have said. though i got a green light and registered at mydlink, i could not see the plug on my list of devices. took a support call 30 min to solve the issue after trying many things. finally works.

- biggest CON of all, weak wi-fi range. I have a highly rated consumer Wireless-N router in the 2nd floor bedroom. this plug could not get a signal down the stairs from that room, though my mobile phone, tablet, laptop, etc could. hell, i have a wireless flood monitor in the BASEMENT that can get a signal, yet this plug couldn't get one on the 1st floor.

Manufacturer Response:

We appreciate the feedback as we take the input into great consideration and we are sorry to hear that you encountered difficulties with the product. Please be advised that you can manually turn off the device connected to the smart plug by pressing the power button. D-Link also suggests that you make sure that the plug is not located near any home appliances such as microwaves, telephones, televisions, as these items can degrade the signal quality. If you need more assistance feel free to contact our technical support team by calling 1-877-453-5465. Thank you for choosing D-Link.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

  • Andrew B.
  • 7/26/2014 7:38:01 AM
  • Ownership: 1 day to 1 week
  • Verified Owner

4 out of 5 eggsGreat Product after Updates!

Pros: -Easy to use app
-Setup is simple:
1: plug into wall
2: install app
3: set up wifi
-Make life easier
-Shows overall energy use

Cons: If technologically challenged, you will be confused in the setup process.

Other Thoughts: After reading through comments on here with frustrated people I took a shot at this because the similar product by belkin(WeMo) really isn't much of a step up from reviews on that as well. Overall, follow the directions that the app says and you should be good to go.
Finding the app on the android market was a bit of a pain, but once you download it and get it running it will automatically detect a new wifi plug in your area(as long as it is plugged in). Setup through the app takes a minute or 2, it will detect the wifi plug, ask you to fill in a password then ask you for your wifi network that you use to connect to the internet, fill that in then that's it! Refer to my notes bellow to help better understand the "speed bumps" in the setup process.

You can always register through the website. But if you want to go through the app try this:
If you app wont let you register, give it a minute, there are background processes still running. If you have a newer phone and have waited approx. 3-5mins and it still doesn't work hit the back button/home button and reopen the app. If that doesn't work, CLOSE THE APP completely, no don't just hit the home button(back button) or whatever your phone has to leave application, go into your setting or app manager and stop the process.

App Won't connect to device:
Your app might not pick up the device at all after it's been setup. Frustrating? Yes I know, I was pretty bent out of shape when it didn't pick up the device immediately(the light should be green on the device and what ever you have plugged in should be on if you hit the on button). Guess what there are 2 things that need to be done. First, you need to restart the app again. Yes I know, it's crazy. After you start the app again, there should be a firmware update available for the device, that takes about 5-10 mins to install. After the install is complete it will take another 3-5 mins to go through the firmware update on the device. If you have something plugged into the device, it will be shut off then will turn back on once the firmware update is done. After that you should be able to select the device, if you cannot, restart the app.

I know this all sounds like a lot, but when in doubt restart the app. My total set up time was about 15 mins, not too bad from a wifi product. Overall great product, I would give it 5 eggs but the setup was not as seamless as it could be.

Manufacturer Response:

We appreciate the feedback greatly and want to thank you for being a D-Link customer. Please note that if you ever need any assistance, our support team can be reached by calling 1-877-453-5465.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

3 out of 5 eggsAtrocious setup, works OK after that

Pros: It works, and somewhat reliably. As long as you keep dlink's android app open in the background everything will be smooth. But if you close the app (or if it crashes), you'll have to wait a minute while it reestablishes a connection with the smart plug. Worse, if you decide to use your phone for something else during that minute while the connection is reestablished, it will NEVER reestablish a connection with the smart plug. You have to force close the app and relaunch it, being very careful not to switch away from it, if you ever want to connect to your smartplug again. Not good design.

On the plus side, actual commands are processed quickly. No need to suffer through X10 command lag; the commands are executed nearly instantaneously, though for some strange reason it takes 3-4 seconds for the app to register that the action is complete.

Includes options for automatic operation (on/off) of whatever you have plugged in, which is nice. Schedules can be customized. Also includes automatic off if the smartplug gets over temperature, but I'm not sure how that would be useful. If you're connected to an iron then the smartplug shouldn't be getting hot or it's already on fire. Seems like a marketing gimmick rather than an actually useful feature. More to the point, the room the smart plug is in is approximately 72F, while the smartplug reports that it's 96F.

Cons: Very difficult to set up. Nearly no documentation included, and the QR code they include bizarrely doesn't go to either app store but instead leads to a *marketing* page. Complete fail as far as ease of setup goes!

If you surf to the IP address of the smart plug its default page generates a literal 404. Nice.

Can only be set-up and controlled by smartphone app; no computer set-up or control is possible whatsoever.

Can only sign up for mydlink through smartphone app.

Other Thoughts: Once you puzzle out how exactly to get it set up it seems to work decently well. Haven't had the actual smartplug crash on me so far, which is more than I can say for my X10 devices!

I tried uploading a video review but newegg's video review uploader is broken (I asked). Search for it on youtube, it goes into much MUCH greater detail!

Manufacturer Response:

We want to thank you for the feedback as we greatly appreciate the input. Please make sure you have downloaded and installed the latest firmware on the smart plug. We will pass on the information you have provided to our Product Management team for consideration. If you ever encounter any issues with the product we advise you contact our technical support team for assistance by calling 1-877-453-5465. We thank you for being a D-Link customer.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Compare Offers from All Sellers newegg

Seller Name & Rating Offer Details  
ICON Loading...

Send It As A Gift!

gift services details
Selected Items

Best Service Sellers

Are you an E-Blast Insider? Subscribe Newegg e-Blast
Shop without retyping payment details. Secure shopping made faster.
Check out with PayPal.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.