Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search

D-Link DSP-W215 Wi-Fi Smart Plug, Thermal Protection, Energy Management

  • Turn Devices On/ Off with App/Schedule
  • Remote Control of Connected Devices w/ mydlink App
  • Easily Connect to Existing Wi-Fi w/ WPS Button
  • Thermal Protection & Energy Monitoring
  • iOS and Android
  • Email this page
ICON Loading...

 

 
 

D-Link DSP-W215 MyDlink Smart Plug

Overview


D-LinkD-Link

 
D-LinkD-Link


Control Your Devices
From Anywhere


Meet the MyDlink Wi-Fi Smart Plug (DSP-W215). It allows you to turn your devices on or off, wherever you are.


D-Link

Turn Devices On/Off with the Mobile App
Instantly turn devices on or off from your smartphone or tablet.

 
D-Link

Create On/Off Schedules for Your Devices
Set your devices to work for you whenever you want.

 
D-Link

Help Prevent Your Devices from Overheating
A thermal sensor will automatically turn off overheating appliances.

 
D-Link

Monitor Your Energy Use
Keep an eye on your energy usage and save a few bucks.

 

Video





Your Life can be a Lot
Easier with the Smart Plug

Turn things on and off from your smartphone or tablet using the mobile app. The app is easy to use and it'll send you customized notifications.

D-Link

Create On/Off Schedules for Your Devices

Your devices should work for you whenever you want them to, right? We agree -- and that's why we made the Smart Plug. You can set device schedules so that you walk into a brightly-lit home every day after work with your favorite song playing and the AC exactly where you want it.

 
D-Link

Really Easy Setup

Connect to an existing Wi-Fi network with a simple push of the Wi-Fi Protected Setup (WPS) button on the Smart Plug and on the router. It's hassle-free and gets you connected in minutes.

 

Let the Smart Plug Worry
About the Unexpected

Did you leave the electric blanket plugged in? How about the iron? Hey, don't stress. The Smart Plug has a built-in thermal sensor that will shut off your devices if the plug overheats.

D-Link

Save a Few Bucks on Your Next Energy Bill

Keep an eye on your energy use. Know what each device power consumption is. Monitor air conditioning usage in the summer or heat usage in the winter so you don't get a surprise at the end of the month.

 

What's in the Box

D-Link

Learn more about the D-Link DSP-W215

General

Brand
D-Link
Model
DSP-W215

Model

Type
Smart Plug
Color
White

Spec

App-Enabled
Yes
Specifications
IEEE 802.11n

System Capability
iOS 6 or later
Android 4.0 or later

Power Input: 100 to 125 V AC

Support Functions
Smart Remote Control
Push Notifications
Energy Use Statistics
Power Scheduling
Overheat Protection
Features
Control Your Devices from Anywhere

Easy to Setup, Easy to Use

Protect your Home and Devices

Stay Informed

Physical Specification

Dimensions
3.54" x 2.4" x 1.4 (H x W x D)
Weight
0.28lb

Quick Info

Warranty

  • Limited Warranty period (parts): 1 year
  • Limited Warranty period (labor): 1 year


Customer Reviews of the D-Link DSP-W215

Do you own this product? Write a Review

ICON Loading...

Filter Results

Go
  • Paul J.
  • 12/11/2014 9:38:03 AM
  • Tech Level: Somewhat High
  • Ownership: 1 day to 1 week
  • Verified Owner

4 out of 5 eggsW215

Pros: Once it is working, it works effectively.
The price is reasonable. Even with all the troubles, I might get another one like this.

Cons: I had to make a required phone call to D-Link and get the firmware on the device updated (my firmware was 1.00). I spent more than 2 hours to get this device to work.

These are the information that I compiled:
a. WPS doesn't work on my two routers, before or after the firmware update. It failed on different stages.
b. I got PIN is incorrect message and the firmware update fixed it. If you received the same message, call D-Link to assist.
c. The Manual option works for me. As stated on the screen, make sure you select the device WIFI (DSP***) before scanning for the device. I missed that information.

Other Thoughts: You can create schedules through the mobile app. However, I found the schedule function not user friendly. If you made a mistake, you might need to use a different schedule (4 in total) as the schedule may not be editable. The Basic has mandatary frequency option which will turn the device on and off between the time duration you setup.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

  • John N.
  • 9/18/2014 12:10:02 PM
  • Tech Level: Average
  • Ownership: 1 week to 1 month
  • Verified Owner

2 out of 5 eggsWorks when it wants to

Pros: Works okay over local wifi.

Cons: Doesn't work most of the time in different location.

Manufacturer Response:

We want to thank you for the feedback as we greatly value the review and we are sorry to hear that you are encountering issues with the product. Please make sure you have downloaded and installed the latest firmware. If that does not solve your problem we advise you to reset the device (by holding the WPS button for 10 seconds till the light turns red) and go through the set up process again. This time during the setup process make sure you follow these steps.

1) Sign into your mydlink account
2) Connect the smart plug to your router via WPS
3) Connect your mobile device to your WiFi

The problem you have mentioned is a common occurrence among users who do not sign into their mydlink account first. You can also refer to the user manual or quick install guide provided on www.support.dlink.com. If you are still having problems please give us a call at 1-877-453-5465 so one of our technical support reps will be able to assist you. Thank you for choosing D-Link.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

  • Anonymous
  • 8/17/2014 2:25:45 PM
  • Tech Level: Somewhat High
  • Ownership: 1 week to 1 month
  • Verified Owner

3 out of 5 eggsConnection time to the PLUG is too long!!

Pros: Once you pass the setup, it works as expected and provides good information.

Cons: Setup is very painful. The product is very expensive too. I have a great WiFi setup, but connection time to the plug is at least 20 seconds each time.

Other Thoughts: D-link must reduce the connection to the PLUG, it is really bad each time.

Manufacturer Response:

We appreciate the feedback as we truly value the input and we are sorry to hear that you are experiencing issues with the product. D-Link advises that you download and install the latest firmware from www.support.dlink.com. In addition, keep in mind the number and thickness of walls and ceilings, as well as the location of other objects that the wireless signals must pass through, may limit the range. Typical ranges vary depending on the types of materials and background RF (radio frequency) noise in your home or business. If you are still encountering problems feel free to contact us for assistance by calling 1-877-453-5465. Thank you for choosing D-Link.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

4 out of 5 eggsNifty device!

Pros: Nice user interface
Convenient!
Lot's of features & function

Cons: Setup is unnecessarily difficult
Should have a card in the box that says "UPDATE FIRMWARE" as the very first thing you do!
Online support is weak - "live chat" is an automated response system

Other Thoughts: I've been using home automation since x-10 in the DAK catalog (remember that??) I fully appreciate the direction this is going, with wifi connectivity and ability to control from a smart phone or tablet -- it's the bomb. I just wish the software and ecosystem were more ready, it seems like this product was really rushed to market without adequate testing.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

  • Gary P.
  • 8/1/2014 4:21:57 AM
  • Tech Level: High
  • Ownership: 1 month to 1 year

3 out of 5 eggsShaky install, weak Wi-Fi range

Pros: - easy to use mobile app
- compact size

Cons: - no physical button on device itself for turning something manually on/off - have to use the app

- shaky install as others have said. though i got a green light and registered at mydlink, i could not see the plug on my list of devices. took a support call 30 min to solve the issue after trying many things. finally works.

- biggest CON of all, weak wi-fi range. I have a highly rated consumer Wireless-N router in the 2nd floor bedroom. this plug could not get a signal down the stairs from that room, though my mobile phone, tablet, laptop, etc could. hell, i have a wireless flood monitor in the BASEMENT that can get a signal, yet this plug couldn't get one on the 1st floor.

Manufacturer Response:

We appreciate the feedback as we take the input into great consideration and we are sorry to hear that you encountered difficulties with the product. Please be advised that you can manually turn off the device connected to the smart plug by pressing the power button. D-Link also suggests that you make sure that the plug is not located near any home appliances such as microwaves, telephones, televisions, as these items can degrade the signal quality. If you need more assistance feel free to contact our technical support team by calling 1-877-453-5465. Thank you for choosing D-Link.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

  • Andrew B.
  • 7/26/2014 7:38:01 AM
  • Tech Level: High
  • Ownership: 1 day to 1 week
  • Verified Owner

4 out of 5 eggsGreat Product after Updates!

Pros: -Easy to use app
-Setup is simple:
1: plug into wall
2: install app
3: set up wifi
-Make life easier
-Shows overall energy use

Cons: If technologically challenged, you will be confused in the setup process.

Other Thoughts: After reading through comments on here with frustrated people I took a shot at this because the similar product by belkin(WeMo) really isn't much of a step up from reviews on that as well. Overall, follow the directions that the app says and you should be good to go.
Finding the app on the android market was a bit of a pain, but once you download it and get it running it will automatically detect a new wifi plug in your area(as long as it is plugged in). Setup through the app takes a minute or 2, it will detect the wifi plug, ask you to fill in a password then ask you for your wifi network that you use to connect to the internet, fill that in then that's it! Refer to my notes bellow to help better understand the "speed bumps" in the setup process.

Notes:
Registration:
You can always register through the website. But if you want to go through the app try this:
If you app wont let you register, give it a minute, there are background processes still running. If you have a newer phone and have waited approx. 3-5mins and it still doesn't work hit the back button/home button and reopen the app. If that doesn't work, CLOSE THE APP completely, no don't just hit the home button(back button) or whatever your phone has to leave application, go into your setting or app manager and stop the process.

App Won't connect to device:
Your app might not pick up the device at all after it's been setup. Frustrating? Yes I know, I was pretty bent out of shape when it didn't pick up the device immediately(the light should be green on the device and what ever you have plugged in should be on if you hit the on button). Guess what there are 2 things that need to be done. First, you need to restart the app again. Yes I know, it's crazy. After you start the app again, there should be a firmware update available for the device, that takes about 5-10 mins to install. After the install is complete it will take another 3-5 mins to go through the firmware update on the device. If you have something plugged into the device, it will be shut off then will turn back on once the firmware update is done. After that you should be able to select the device, if you cannot, restart the app.

I know this all sounds like a lot, but when in doubt restart the app. My total set up time was about 15 mins, not too bad from a wifi product. Overall great product, I would give it 5 eggs but the setup was not as seamless as it could be.

Manufacturer Response:

We appreciate the feedback greatly and want to thank you for being a D-Link customer. Please note that if you ever need any assistance, our support team can be reached by calling 1-877-453-5465.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

3 out of 5 eggsAtrocious setup, works OK after that

Pros: It works, and somewhat reliably. As long as you keep dlink's android app open in the background everything will be smooth. But if you close the app (or if it crashes), you'll have to wait a minute while it reestablishes a connection with the smart plug. Worse, if you decide to use your phone for something else during that minute while the connection is reestablished, it will NEVER reestablish a connection with the smart plug. You have to force close the app and relaunch it, being very careful not to switch away from it, if you ever want to connect to your smartplug again. Not good design.

On the plus side, actual commands are processed quickly. No need to suffer through X10 command lag; the commands are executed nearly instantaneously, though for some strange reason it takes 3-4 seconds for the app to register that the action is complete.

Includes options for automatic operation (on/off) of whatever you have plugged in, which is nice. Schedules can be customized. Also includes automatic off if the smartplug gets over temperature, but I'm not sure how that would be useful. If you're connected to an iron then the smartplug shouldn't be getting hot or it's already on fire. Seems like a marketing gimmick rather than an actually useful feature. More to the point, the room the smart plug is in is approximately 72F, while the smartplug reports that it's 96F.

Cons: Very difficult to set up. Nearly no documentation included, and the QR code they include bizarrely doesn't go to either app store but instead leads to a *marketing* page. Complete fail as far as ease of setup goes!

If you surf to the IP address of the smart plug its default page generates a literal 404. Nice.

Can only be set-up and controlled by smartphone app; no computer set-up or control is possible whatsoever.

Can only sign up for mydlink through smartphone app.

Other Thoughts: Once you puzzle out how exactly to get it set up it seems to work decently well. Haven't had the actual smartplug crash on me so far, which is more than I can say for my X10 devices!


I tried uploading a video review but newegg's video review uploader is broken (I asked). Search for it on youtube, it goes into much MUCH greater detail!

Manufacturer Response:

We want to thank you for the feedback as we greatly appreciate the input. Please make sure you have downloaded and installed the latest firmware on the smart plug. We will pass on the information you have provided to our Product Management team for consideration. If you ever encounter any issues with the product we advise you contact our technical support team for assistance by calling 1-877-453-5465. We thank you for being a D-Link customer.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

  • Joseph C.
  • 7/18/2014 10:16:07 PM
  • Tech Level: High
  • Ownership: 1 week to 1 month
  • Verified Owner

4 out of 5 eggsDoes What It Says

Pros: -Works like it says with no other dependencies
-Love the killowatthour meter
-Does not hog two outlets in the wall
-Mobile apps get updated with bugfixes (I got an update within days of installing the app with bugfixes)
-Intuitive UI for the scheduler and for the usage graphs (views by hour/day/month/year and set a max usage threshold.

Cons: -App is slow to connect to unit and sometimes it takes a few tries to find the devices
-Took a few tries to get it connected to WiFi and set up (I have a good understanding of networking.) Once it's configured, it's fine though.
-Cannot manage from D-Link website and it uses a java applet which will confuse novice users because browsers block java by default
-Must use mobile app to manage device. I wish I could connect to it on my LAN or via an API call
-Usage graphs are a little slow to load on the mobile app
-Can only use scheduler in 30 minute increments

Other Thoughts: I was deciding between this and the Belkin Wemo switch. The Belkin had too many negative reviews, so I chose this. In general, the reviews on Newegg were accurate.

If you need to remote control power on/off a device, I would recommend this product, even with all the cons I listed. It works.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

5 out of 5 eggsReally nice.

Pros: For me setting up the SmartPlug was a painless experience. I plugged it into the wall, and added a lamp that I wanted to control to it. I downloaded the D-Link SmartPlug app on my phone, it automatically turned on my wireless radio on my phone and found the D-Link SmartPlug and connected to it. I was then notified that there was a software update available, which I allowed to install, after that I selected my wireless network from a list, and input the password and I was done.

When you first setup the unit it asks you to choose from a list of pre populated names (like Lamp) or select a custom device to match what you have plugged in, this way when you run the app and have multiple devices it is easy to know what is what.

I could then use the app on my phone to turn off and on the lamp.
This device allows you to set a schedule to turn on and off at set times which can be difference for every day. I personally set my lamp to turn on in the morning M-F and turn off an hour later. It has worked flawlessly thus far for 2 weeks, and when I need more lighting I open the app on my phone and turn it on.

Before I was using this manual timer but it was terrible and rather unpredictable, this device is so worth it to me, it has saved me a lot of hassle.

I am able to turn off and on my lamp remotely through the D-Link App (I used my existing D-Link account), so you could use this to turn on and off various other appliances when away from the house. I did not have to manually set any firewall settings.
The app also lists the temperature and the current wattage being used by the device plugged in. The temperature sensor doesn't seem quite right, it seems to run a bit high for me but as it is inside the unit it is probably picking up little bit of heat the unit is making as well.

Cons: As I said above the temperature sensor seems to be inaccurate for judging room temperature, but more of the temperature inside of the device.
I do wish the unit was also smaller. I at least would probably be unable to fit two of them side by side in the same outlet.

Other Thoughts: Overall I am very satisfied with this product. The small cons are not enough to dock one egg off to me.

There is no web interface on this device which again is not a big deal but figured I would mention it.

Manufacturer Response:

We want to thank you for the feedback as we greatly appreciate the comments and we are happy to hear that you are satisfied with your purchase. If you ever run into any issues please contact our technical support team for assistance by calling 1-877-453-5465. Thank you for being a D-Link customer.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

4 out of 5 eggsNot a bad start to home automation.

Pros: Easy setup
Nice graphs for power use over time
Ability to set schedules
Check outlet temperature with ability to automatically turn off should the outlet exceed a set temperature.
Remembers WIFI settings if the unit is unplugged or looses power.
Able to set description and icon for type of item the plug powers.
Ability to set power usage warnings and cutoffs.

Cons: Came with outdated firmware
App software is a bit slow
Constantly reminded to log into mydlink if you haven't.

Other Thoughts: My unit had to go through a firmware update before i was even able to use it. While easy as joining it to the network then trying to access it through the phone application it was a slow update process.

Initial setup was smooth from an iPhone5 other than waiting for a response from the device while it joined the network.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Compare Offers from All Sellers

Seller Name & Rating Offer Details  
ICON Loading...

Send It As A Gift!

gift services details

More Buying Options

Are you an E-Blast Insider? Subscribe Newegg e-Blast
PayPal
Shop without retyping payment details. Secure shopping made faster.
Check out with PayPal.

Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.