Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Office Solutions > 
Security Cameras & Surveillance > 
CCTV / Analog Cameras > 
EDIMAX > 
Item#: N82E16881117003

EDIMAX IC-7010PTn Wireless 802.11n Motorized Pan/Tilt Internet IP Camera With H.264, Night Vision and Smart iCatch Feature to View Real Time Screen From Your iPhone / Smart Phone

Sold and Shipped by Newegg

  • Wireless Camera
  • MT9M112 1.3M Pixels CMOS Sensor

ICON Loading...
  • Specifications
  • Warranty & Returns
  • Reviews

Learn more about the EDIMAX IC-7010PTn

Warranty, Returns, And Additional Information
  • Warranty
  • Limited Warranty period (parts): 2 years
  • Limited Warranty period (labor): 2 years
  • Read full details

Customer Reviews of the EDIMAX IC-7010PTn

Do you own this product? Write a Review

ICON Loading...

Filter Results

Go
  • Linsey K.
  • 3/19/2013 11:24:30 AM
  • Ownership: more than 1 year
  • Verified Owner

1 out of 5 eggsedimax ic-7010ptn

Pros: When I first got the camera, it worked great for 3 months.

Cons: I made the mistake of trying to update the firmware. After the upgrade, it would no longer work wirelessly and it would only work for a short time using an ethernet connection. I contacted Edimax with no response. I decided to check and see if there were any new firmware updates. There are so I decided to try again. Now it won't even boot up. So after almost 2 years ownership, it probably only worked for 3 months and now I can't get a response from Edimax.

Other Thoughts: From the customer service I received, I would probably not recommend buying an Edimax product.

Manufacturer Response:

Dear Customer,

We are sorry for the difficulty you are experiencing.

We have two years warranty for our products. You can visit our USA site at http://us.edimax.com Tech Support and fill out the RMA Request Form. Our RMA staff will assist you.

For further assistance, please contact our tech support at 408-496-1105 or write an email to " support@edimax.us ". Our tech support team will assist you with any issues. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you.

Best regards,
Edimax Tech Support Team

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

  • Gregory R.
  • 6/18/2012 2:39:16 PM
  • Ownership: 1 month to 1 year
  • Verified Owner

1 out of 5 eggsFalse advertising

Pros: Looks cool

Cons: Advertised that it could be viewed and controlled via android smartphone but it never worked. I tried third party apps with no luck either. If I wanted to pay for a static IP address it might have worked. Anyway its moot now, it died after only 4 months and is apparently a paper weight now.

Other Thoughts: I wish I had not wasted $150 on this camera

Manufacturer Response:

Dear Customer,

We are sorry for the difficulty you are experiencing.
We appreciate your feedback and would like to help you solve the problem.

Usually IC-7010PTn is located in a local network and it uses a private IP address like 192.168.x.x. We recommend to assign a fixed private IP address on IC-7010PTn because in your router you need to forward video ports to IC-7010PTn so that you can remote view the IC-7010PTn. Using a fixed private IP address on IC-7010PTn is recommended. You do not need to purchase a static Public IP address from your internet provider.

We have a FAQ on USA site at Edimax.us about how to remote access Edimax IP Camera.

For further assistance, please contact our tech support at 408-496-1105 or write an email to " support@edimax.us ". Our tech support team will assist you with any issues. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you.

Best regards,
Edimax Tech Support Team

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

  • Kenneth H.
  • 4/3/2012 9:06:37 PM
  • Ownership: 1 week to 1 month
  • Verified Owner

5 out of 5 eggsI've got to stand up for this GREAT camera!

Pros: Higher resolution at 1280x1024 than the 640x480 models (it may not be hi-def, but far superior and much larger image)
Very silent Pan/Tilt. Adjustable speeds and increments
Has time/date stamp plus you can display camera name (unlike D-Link)
Camera name can be long and used to describe location in time/date stamp
FTP file names can overwrite (unlike TrendNet)
Wireless works great from 120 ft!
Reds, blues, and yellows are good

Cons: Video barrel distortion. Vertical lines bow out
Greens are grey for outdoor viewing due to IR light
Camera setup can be complicated, but all IR cams are too

Other Thoughts: Look, all IP cams can get negative comments because they are not simple to set up. And depending on the router used, or the ISP, set up can vary. It's not unique with Edimax.

But for what I want, this camera is superior to all the others in this price range! It's been running fine wirelessly about 120 ft from the router (and two stories down in an office building), 24 hours a day for a week so far. I'm using it to post road conditions and sending jpg files every 10 minutes to an ftp site where the photos are posted at their web site. No problems at all so far.

I love that it has a time/date stamp and can show a "camera name". We use the camera name to show the web site name as a trade mark for others that want to share the road views. Very few wireless IP cameras can do that.

I've used Trendnet and D-Link cameras and this one is much better. Trendnet does have time/date stamp, but can't overwrite ftp files. Instead it creates file name after filename which is a real p

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

  • Brian J.
  • 3/13/2012 12:21:27 AM
  • Ownership: 1 week to 1 month
  • Verified Owner

5 out of 5 eggsWorks for me--baby cam

Pros: -Easy setup
-Great WiFi communication with router
-IR night vision is more than adequate
-Picture quality is great for my use

Cons: None for the price and ease of setup!

Other Thoughts: Optical zoom would be awesome, but that'd bump the price up quite a bit. Bottom line is if you need a good IP Camera that you're not trying to get 1080p out of or look 50feet across your yard at your neighbors with night vision then this one should fit the bill!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

  • Jason G.
  • 3/8/2012 6:46:35 PM
  • Ownership: 1 month to 1 year
  • Verified Owner

4 out of 5 eggs

Pros: Very nice IP Camera with Night Vision, Pan/Tilt and recording options. Setup was a little difficult for file saving, but I guess that would be my fault for being rusty on FTP shares. Once I set up my FTP shares and enabled the services to automatically start (in case of restarts) it worked great.

Cons: Plan on wiring this guy! I could not get the wireless to connect to my Cisco Linksys E3000 Wireless router by all 4 methods (Self PinCode from camera, Configure via Push Button, Configure via PinCode or Self PinCode from router). I honestly didn't plan on trusting the wireless for something so important anyway, but would have been nice to have it on for duplication (wired and wireless).

Other Thoughts: It does the job I bought it for!

Manufacturer Response:

Dear Customer,

We are sorry that the wireless function of your IC-7010PTn IP camera is not functioning correctly now. We appreciate your feedback and would like to help you solve the problem.
Please contact our tech support at 408-988-6092 or write an email to " support@edimax.us ".
Our tech support team will assist you with the issues you are facing.
We look forward to the opportunity to serve you.

Best regards,
Edimax Tech Support Team

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

  • Steven M.
  • 3/8/2012 9:45:08 AM
  • Ownership: 1 week to 1 month
  • Verified Owner

4 out of 5 eggsI'm Happy

Pros: I'm not a techie so, on top of the reasonable price, the fact that I could set this sucker up says something. I'll admit, I did need to contact tech support, but it turned out it was for an issue I had with my LAN, not the camera and they were VERY helpful.

The picture quality during the day is great. I'm using it in my barn to monitor my animals during lambing. I can see them clearly and can even tell if one of them is breathing heavily and can tell which sheep is which, so anyone who says the picture quality on this camera is bad is nuts.

I did put a better antenna on it, but that was only because my barn is about 350 feet from my house and as anyone who knows anything about wireless, that's a pretty good stretch for a standard wireless connection. With a 7 dbi antenna on it, I get fine picture quality.

Oh, and there is also the fact that it has 2 way sound. The sound is a bit choppy though. I'm hoping a 14 dbi antenna will fix that though.

Cons: As I said, setup was difficult for me as a non-techie, but I managed to get it to work and their tech support was very responsive.

Night vision is limited to about 15-20 feet with the IR LEDs, but no surprise there.

Other Thoughts: Great little camera. I might even get another to monitor the lambing pens that this one can't see into.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

  • James C.
  • 3/3/2012 6:36:51 AM
  • Ownership: 1 day to 1 week
  • Verified Owner

1 out of 5 eggsYou won't be satisfied

Pros: * "mechanical" features - pan/tilt performance was good
* voice capabilities, local recording on DHCP
* Camera software (accessible by LAN) - generally intuitive and complete, reasonable options, h264 compression capability.

Cons: * Picture quality - VERY poor. Color is essentially B/W with shades of pink (with IR on - it is B/W as would be expected). Mfgr basically confirms that this is inherent in the design of low-cost video with IR capabilities.
* Picture quality - clarity is very poor. Don't think you're going to get HD - 1024x768 is just a larger size image of the same poor quality/pixel density as cheap junk picture.
* Manual focus - focus isn't stable to start with, so what good is manual focus if you are viewing remotely?
* No internet access - the only reason I purchased the camera was to remotely monitor dog kennel when traveling. There is no software that streams the video so you can pick it up. The only way is to access the camera directly through IP address; however, this is only possible if your LAN has a public IP address. The internet provider I use does not provide a public IP address to client routers (for security purposes).
* typically cheap plastic construction

Other Thoughts: Picture quality is unbelievably poor - you will not be satisfied. I have experience with a couple other similar cameras, and while these are all relatively low picture quality, the Edimax is noticeably unacceptable. Although I might have lived with the poor focus, image sharpness is also very low and seems to drift. There is absolutely no warning that to view remotely you need a public IP for your LAN router (there is no video streaming software) - I don't know how common this is, but my internet provider doesn't provide public IP. So - it doesn't work buddy! So, I can't comment on how remote access would work in a situation where you could access the camera IP. Bottom line - I'm returning the junk.

Manufacturer Response:

Dear Customer,

We appreciate your feedback and we are sorry for the difficulty you had experienced.
We feel regretted that the model you purchased does not support Infrared Cut Filter (ICR) feature. Without ICR feature, the picture will have color shading effect under exposure of sunlight or equivalent to sunlight. But the resolution and the focus will not be effected. The IP cams with night vision function but without ICR feature will face the same color shading issue. Current this model does not have ICR feature. Our next advanced model will support ICR feature to eliminate this problem.

Regarding live view through internet without fixed IP, you still can do it by setting up the port forwarding function in IP cam and your router. Then register a name at any free dynamic dns service provider you may google to find. Then you can achieve live view through internet without fixed IP. All the steps you may find at www.edimax.us tech support. Soon Edimax will have IP cams support new plug-n-view feature using cloud technology to let users have live view without the hassle of setting port forwarding and dynamic dns name.

Again we appreciate your feedback and sorry for the difficulty you have.
If there is anything we still can do for you, please contact us at 408-988-6092 or write an email to " support@edimax.us ".
We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again soon.

Best regards,
Edimax Tech Support Team

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

  • TIMothy M.
  • 2/11/2012 3:27:23 PM
  • Ownership: 1 day to 1 week
  • Verified Owner

1 out of 5 eggsPoor quality color and noisy image

Pros: I can return it for a refund.

Cons: I purchased this thinking the image quality would be superior due to the higher resolution but the camera has terrible color balance and the image is very noisy due to the software cranking up the gain on the camera in order to attempt to improve lower light image. This results in a very poor quality, noisy image. My $99 Foscam 640x 480 camera has significantly better image quality and color balance.

Other Thoughts: I am returning it for a refund.

Manufacturer Response:

Dear Customer,

We are sorry for the difficulty you are experiencing.
We appreciate your feedback and would like to help you solve the problem.

There is a focus ring aroung the lens of the camera. You can turn the focus ring to adjust the focus of the lens. That may help you get a better image.

Please contact our tech support at 408-496-1105 or write an email to " support@edimax.us ". Our tech support team will assist you with any issues.
We look forward to the opportunity to serve you.

Best regards,
Edimax Tech Support Team

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

  • Daniel K.
  • 2/2/2012 3:23:05 PM
  • Ownership: more than 1 year
  • Verified Owner

3 out of 5 eggsGreat as a Baby cam

Pros: I own several of these for almost a year and I've been mostly happy. One of them is used as a baby cam and it's been doing its job admirably paired with Android & Windows apps on a cellphone. For the price I have not found any other IP camera that would have all these features, but there will be other options available this year.

Cons: IRs (LEDs) initially bright, but lose brightness within a few days of use making the night capability limited to about 5 feet. All my 3 cameras exhibit this where IRs are unevenly lit. Company replaced 3 of these already and same result, so I decided there is nothing they can do and I'll just have to live with it.

Wireless has been flaky as several people mentioned even when the camera next to router. I am using RT-56N router. I've switched to using Powerline adapter and now get much stable connection now.

Quality is not quite HD despite the resolution

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

  • Peter T.
  • 1/25/2012 7:56:59 PM
  • Ownership: 1 week to 1 month
  • Verified Owner

4 out of 5 eggsReally good IPcam under $150

Pros: Good price on sale @ $150 w/ free shipping
Wireless 300n
Sdcard
Audio
Fast, clean, web GUI

Cons: Need more Adjustment for motion capture
Pane and tilt need more interval
need to improve camera sensor true resolution
need to improve fps(this the same for all low budget Hi-res camera)
Like all IPCam this don't give more info in each setting, it more trial and error

Other Thoughts: I have and owned Foscam, Trendnet, Compro, Asante, and now Edimax IP Camera. The best video qualities would go to the Asante, it seem to be closed to the 720p resolution. I use this edimax pointing out to a window, so the night vision is useless for me, but it show decent black and white videos. The Edimax would be more under 720 quality sensor and not the 1080 resolution the company listed. But the GUI surpass all the brands listed in speed and ease of use. The layout is simple and not too complicated. Sdcard works great, but I also use ftp to nas. Ftp was a little tricky to get it working you have to know the name convention to the saved to folder. Wireless work for my Dlink Dir655 N router. From 40 feet away with clear path, it maintain excellent connection signal. I think it worth $150.
It seem like all brands IPcam lack one thing or the other. This one is getting closed to all around best ipcam that I have it. Time will tell if it stay running will and more firmware support

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

ICON Loading...
Selected Items
Are you an E-Blast Insider? Subscribe Newegg e-Blast
PayPal
Shop without retyping payment details. Secure shopping made faster.
Check out with PayPal.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.