Skip to: | - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message. - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Home > 
Alex G.'s Profile > 
All Reviews
  • Find Reviews
  • Find

Showing Results: Most Recent

ORICO Aluminum Tool Free USB 3.0 2 Bay 3.5 inch SATA RAID External Enclosure Support 2x 6TB Drive - Black (9528RU3)
  • Verified Owner
  • Owned For: 1 month to 1 year

1 out of 5 eggs IT really need to red this before buying 08/24/2015

This review is from: ORICO Aluminum Tool Free USB 3.0 2 Bay 3.5 inch SATA RAID External Enclosure Support 2x 6TB Drive - Black (9528RU3)

Pros: The hard drives are easy to slide in and out. And that about covers the Pros.

Cons: Sit tight folks; because this is both irritating and funny at the same time. First off let me state that I'm a Sr. Systems and network analyst and system builder with over 5,000 custom-built servers and high-end computers under my belt. During my almost 30-year career I've run across many good products and a few that really got me wondering "who the heck came up with such a bad design?” Well, this ORICO 9528RU3 belongs to the ladder category. I setup this unit to run nightly backups on a customer’s server back in January 2015. 2 weeks ago (7 months after purchase) the customer calls me to report a very loud noise coming from the server’s backup enclosure. As I suspected the fan was the culprit. I blew compressed air on it from every accessible angle and then fired the unit up again: no luck. So I take a look at the back panel of this thing thinking “I can probably just remove the fan, dump a new one in and be done with it”. Boy was I wrong! Removing the fan requires disassembling the entire unit all the way to (and including) the main board. Since I could not see myself charging a full hour worth of labor to remove a cheap fan, I contacted Orico’s customer service via email (since their phone number is from Hong Kong). I gave them a detailed descrption of the issue, and then waited…and waited…and waited again. After 8 days I got tired of waiting, so I contacted Newegg to see if they had a different way of getting a hold of them and get them to honor the warranty. The days after I contacted Newegg, Orico suddenly decided to reply to my email (it must be magic). They stated that they would not replace the item under warranty if only the fan was busted. Needless to say I emailed back giving them a piece of my mind. The genius from Orico told me that I could EASILY replace the fan myself!!! I could not believe what I had just read! So for the heck of it I took it upon myself, without charging my customer, to try and get to the fan before even thinking of replacing it, and these are the actions that you are going to have to follow if you made the mistake of buying this unit: (1) remove all the visible screws ALL AROUND THE ENCLOSURE. (2) Try to slide the housing out so that you can access the internal mechanisms. (3) Realize that there’s got to be more screws hidden somewhere because the housing won’t come off. (4) Search for the additional hidden screws. (5) Find that one screw is hidden underneath the sticker that shows the RAID configuration for the PINs, which means you have to take a picture of that sticker and then peel it off. Needless to say the peeling doesn’t work as well as you would think: it tears in bits and pieces as you try to slowly pull it out in one piece. (6) try to slide the housing again and find out that there must be more hidden screws. (7) Peel the rubber pads off the 4 stands and find 4 more screws hidden underneath them. (8) Removed all 4 stands and pull housing out. *** continues in "other thoughts" below

Other Thoughts: (9) The housing is flimsy and bends easily, so careful not to apply too much force or you won’t get this thing back on later. (10) Slide internal frame away from back-plate which will require disconnecting a tiny 6-pin connector and tiny hands the size of a Chinese baby because it’s located in the ¼” space between the main board and the back-plate. (11) Get rid of the Chinese baby and finally slide the frame out. (12) Realize that you will not get to the fan until you completely remove the main board from the back-plate by removing 6 more screws and then gently disconnect the up-right portion of the main-board from the horizontal portion of the main board. (13) Congratulations!!! You are now able to access and replace the fan!!! Now it’s up to you to find the right size, shape and connector to make it compatible with this gigantic piece of junk that the Taiwanese market has gifted us with.

I did take pictures which unfortunately I cannot share on Neweeg, but I really wish I could to show to all of you fellow IT pros.

Newegg’s customer service is the one that really made the difference here; Ms. Vickie Sanora took the situation in her own hands and took care of the issue herself despite the unit being 7 months old and far beyond the Newegg warranty period. Kudos to Newegg and Vickie for providing such great customer service.

ASUS X99-DELUXE LGA 2011-v3 Intel X99 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard
  • Verified Owner
  • Owned For: 1 month to 1 year

5 out of 5 eggs Don't blame the board if you aren't able to configure it 02/23/2015

This review is from: ASUS X99-DELUXE LGA 2011-v3 Intel X99 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Pros: Where do I start? well, it's an ASUS. Unbeatable performance and stability. Tons of possible configurations, handles overclocking like no other brands, looks phenomenal, built tough and looks wicked in any side windows case. I've owned it since September 2014 and it's been nothing short of outstanding.

Cons: I'd like to use the "Cons" section to warn the potential customers of this board about the insanity of some of the reviews below mine. People with little or no knowledge of high-end hardware SHOULD NOT buy high-end equipment such as this one, and more importantly SHOULD NOT write reviews based on their incompetence. If this board doesn't work for you, it's because you don't know how to configure it. PERIOD! If you think the SATA connectors are in the wrong spot, it's because LIKE MANY WANNABES you don't know how to custom-build a system without having to wrestle wires everywhere. I upgraded the new BIOS to version 1401 2 weeks ago and it's rock solid. My system is overclocked to 4725 MHz and it doesn't even break a sweat. Once again: if you aren't a pro STOP WASTING EVERYONE'S TIME by writing non-sense aimed solely to alleviate your frustration. Unless you received a DOA you really have nothing to complain about.

Other Thoughts: I am a Sr. Systems and network analyst and have been a system builder for over 20 years. I have well over 3,000 machines under my belt and that's why I can't stand it when ignorance dares to speak up. Not only do I use this board on my main system, but I've custom-built and sold 16 machines since September 2014 with this very board. I've received nothing but stellar feedback from my customers. Do you think it's a coincidence? I highly doubt it.

Mushkin Enhanced Chronos 2.5
  • Verified Owner
  • Owned For: 1 month to 1 year

Pros: When it works, it's fast.

Cons: Unreliable!!!!! I ordered 2 of these units 1 month apart for 2 high-end custom-built systems. The first one started failing 6 days after the system was delivered (I should specify that I keep my custom-builds in test for 48 hours before I deliver them). No sign of instability at all during the test. 6 days later the system started freezing up randomly (not restarting itself) and showed pink horizontal stripes on the screens. The system became totally unresponsive forcing the user to manually shut down. The fact that I could never see it happen didn’t help of course, so I had to rely on the user’s description of the issue and try to troubleshoot “in the dark”. The symptoms were quite similar to those of a failing VGA card. Replaced VGA card first.... didn't make any difference. I turned my attention to the SSD; first I changed SATA3 port and cable; no dice. Then I put it on a SATA2 port with a new SATA2 cable; no difference. Then considering the oddity of the situation I cloned the SSD (which was a challenge since the drive kept freezing up during the cloning procedure), dumped the clone onto a Corsair SSD drive, fired up the system and the problem magically disappeared. The second system I built with this unit 1 month later failed after 48 hours but with a completely different error: the motherboard (ASUS P8Z77-M) would not even detect the drive anymore. I jiggled data and power cable repeatedly with the same result. Then all of a sudden after 8-10 restarts the SSD would get detected and the system would start. If I restarted Windows I would go back to square 1 with a "No bootable device found". After changing ports and cables I tried to get my own server to detect the SSD; it detected it only 1time out of 5 restarts. Newegg sent me a new identical SSD for this one and thank goodness it's been working since; however as a professional, 2 bad units out of 3 is something I don't want to deal with ever again. If you're willing to gamble this unit is fairly inexpensive and works fast, but is it really worth all of this time, frustration and 2 unhappy customers?

Other Thoughts: I've been custom building servers, laptops and high-end computers for 29 years now; I have well over 5,000 builds under my belt and this kind of issue is not something I am willing to put up with. The hours of troubleshooting and repair involved in addition to the customer's unhappiness really ticked me off. Fortunately my customers have been with me for so many years that they know this type of issue is beyond my control; the problem is that I expect the products that I recommend to live up to their name and reputation. This one OBVIOUSLY DOESN’T. Mushkin people: get it together. I don’t know what kind of nerve you have to put such and under-developed product on the market and expect customers to be your guinea-pig! As far as I’m concerned you’ve lost not only my company as a customer, but most people who will read this review.


Alex G.'s Profile

Display Name: Alex G.

Date Joined: 01/27/06

  • Reviews: 13
  • Helpfulness: 10
  • First Review: 02/11/09
  • Last Review: 08/24/15
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.