Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Shipping Destination: United Kingdom
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Barebone PCs > Shuttle Computer > Shuttle XH81 Intel Core i7 / i5 / i3 / Pentium / Celeron 65W Intel H81 1 x HDMI Barebone system

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 NOISY Fans, Nice Case, Quick to Assemble
Pros: The XH81 comes with the quality construction that's known with the XH61V that I've had for some time. The support for Haswell made this unit worth waiting for. However... if they don't fix the cons, this is likely my last Shuttle.
Cons: I'm writing this review next to a noisy XH81. It is loud; even at a cold idle. It is un-Shuttle like. I contacted Shuttle Support and they confirmed that the fan speed on their lab's XH81 also runs at 2600 RPM. Then, they went on to explain that maybe my fan is blocked or the fan size dictates the high RPM. But their fan speed and my fan speed is the same 2600 RPM.

Here's my case for them to go fix this so other customers don't have to be annoyed:
Every Shuttle I've owned over the last decade has had an RPM of approx 1200 for the setting "Ultra-Low" and are quiet as a result.
Comparing the Fan Speed settings for XH61V vs XH81:
Ultra-Low Speed: XH61V:1200RPM XH81:2600RPM!
Low Speed: XH61V: 2400RPM XH81: 2600RPM

The XH81's Ultra-Low and Low Fan Speeds are the same! BIOS bug? Likely.

Based on that pattern, I would think that ShuttlePC Engineering back in Taiwan should made changes to their BIOS code to restore the proper Ultra-Low speed for the XH81 to 1200RPM. And thus, restore faith in their customers.

Other thoughts...
I've observed the CPU temperature through a range of workloads and also confirmed that heat is transferring through the heatpipes as designed.
Other Thoughts: If you're having trouble with the USB3.0 drivers you download from Shuttle's driver page, it's because they packaged the wrong thing in the zip file. Shuttle Support pointed me to getting the USB3.0 drivers from the DS81 download page.
Reviewed By:ShuttleUser,9/27/2014 5:24:00 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Barebone PCs > Shuttle Computer > Shuttle XH81 Intel Core i7 / i5 / i3 / Pentium / Celeron 65W Intel H81 1 x HDMI Barebone system

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Noisy Fan and BIOS Bug?
Pros: Having had the great XH61V, I was really looking forward to the XH81 for the expected build quality and Haswell support.
The XH81 has the same high quality construction and ease of installing component while maintaining a small form factor.
Cons: To my dismay, the XH81 is much noisier than the XH61V. I called Shuttle Support and had to strongly suggest they escalate what could be a BIOS issue.

On the XH61V, the fan's Smart and Ultra-Low Speed runs at 1300 RPM. At Low Speed, the fan spins at 2400 RPM.

On the noisy XH81, Smart and Ultra-Low runs at 2400 RPM while Low runs slightly higher at 2600 RPM. The support Tech at Shuttle also confirmed that his XH81 runs at 2400-2600 RPM. The Tech thought 2400 RPM was normal. In the 10 years of owning many Shuttles, 1100 RPM is normal for Ultra-Low speed.

The CPU temps are roughly the same. It's not blocked fan nor is it the lack of thermal paste. I would have think a little adjustment to the BIOS code would correct Ultra-Low back down to 1300 RPM where one can barely hear it.

A message to Taiwan Engineering: Please fix this quickly. I would like to not have to return this or place it far away in a closet like a PC from 1990.

On another note, don't waste your time troubleshooting USB3.0 missing drivers: The XH81 USB3.0 Driver download from ShuttlePC has been erroneously zipped with the wrong installer. That installer does not provide drivers for USB3.0. Instead, go to the DS81 download page to get the USB3.0 driver.
Other Thoughts: Terribly disappointed in ShuttlePC's lackluster commitment to quality control and user experience.

Inside the XH81:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819116988

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820239390

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820147318
Reviewed By:LongTimeShuttleFan,9/26/2014 7:35:52 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Barebone PCs > Shuttle Computer > Shuttle SH87R6 Intel 4th Generation Core i3/i5/i7 Intel Socket LGA1150 Intel H87 1 x HDMI Barebone

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Shuttle is not taking responsibility for defect
Pros: Easy to setup, nice look, reliable barebones kit. We have been using Shuttle Mini ITX barebones kits for several years now in our DVR/NVR server builds.
Cons: Shuttle tech support had to send us a replacement part in the mail because the DVD burner would not eject when the button was pressed. The piece was received yesterday, but it did not fix the problem. After calling them yet again, they said that's how the button is supposed to work and look... that you have to push the button in rather hard to get the DVD to open/close. Sounds like Shuttle does not want to admit that we have a faulty unit. I have had other Shuttle barebones kits in the past that did not have this problem.
Other Thoughts: I don't understand why Shuttle does not claim responsibility for this and just resolve this issue somehow instead of saying that this is how it's supposed to be.
Reviewed By:eDigitalDeals.net,9/26/2014 6:07:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Barebone PCs > CybertronPC > CybertronPC 5150 Escape TBB1244C AMD FX 4130 3.8GHz AMD Socket AM3+ ATI Radeon 3000 1 x HDMI Barebone

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 One Great Computer
Pros: It is fast. It has quality parts installed. The case is a really good and solid case. I have built up other barebones systems, but this one was easy and the pre-assembly done prior to shipping it to me was very neat, the wires were very well organized and all parts were secure. I also like the fact that it came with three fans installed, besides the cpu fan. This provides great air circulation and I also like the visible fan monitors.
Cons: I haven't really come across any cons, but just so you won't think that I work for Newegg or Cybertron, I guess I should have at least one. When I find it I will come back and add it to my review.
Other Thoughts: I am disabled and had it not been for computers, I am not sure I would have made it through everything. I had some computer knowledge and having that knowledge prodded me to learn more. I have a loving wife and family, but my wife worked full time and my family was busy with their own lives, so I had to have something to keep me alert and my brain challenged.
Reviewed By:heavy,9/23/2014 3:33:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Barebone PCs > MSI > MSI Nightblade Z97-017BUS (936-B07911-017) Intel Core i7 / i5 / i3 / Pentium (LGA1150) Intel Socket LGA1150 Intel Z97 2 x HDMI Barebone

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Awesome Rig
Pros: Comes just as advertised with everything you need in an ITX format barebones system. It does fit full sized graphics card with ease. Only thing to watch for is making sure your cpu heatsink isn't going to cover your ram slots and prevent you from placing ram there. Most water cooling solutions will have no problem though.
Cons: Check other thoughts
Other Thoughts: So, I had to rma my first order for this item because the one I received only had the nightblade itself in the box. It arrived without the styrofoam surrounding the system and none of the other peripherals. If you are ordering this I recommend asking newegg to ship it in a newegg box or even as a gift. Otherwise they will ship it in it's box making it an easy target to be vandalized on way to you.
Reviewed By:zioalca,9/21/2014 8:28:43 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Barebone PCs > MINIX > Minix NEO X8 Quad Core Cortex A9r4 Processor Octo Core Mali-450 GPU 1 x HDMI Quad Core Media Hub for Android

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 MINIX NEO 8
Pros: 5 Ghz wifi and the Android OS means you have alot of choices when it comes to streaming apps and that it works very well with no interference.
Cons: Stock launcher is non intuative and confusing. Hulu plays audio but video is a black screen. You need an air mouse remote if you plan to use hulu or netflix.
Other Thoughts: After changing the stock launcher which you cannot do with the stock remote (I had a USB mouse which I used) I found out the supplied XMBC app would not see my NFS Shares that my WDTV SMP saw just fine so I ditched it and went with Plex. Hulu will play audio and video on ads but once your presentation starts video goes black, lucky for me that it works great on phone, tablet and Xbox One. Get an Air Mouse because your gonna need it if you plan to use Hulu or Netflix.
Reviewed By:Inkrypted,9/14/2014 11:45:13 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Barebone PCs > CybertronPC > CybertronPC 5150 Escape TBB1244C AMD FX 4130 3.8GHz AMD Socket AM3+ ATI Radeon 3000 1 x HDMI Barebone

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4
Pros: Well constructed and performs as expected. Replaced hard drive with a 480 MB SSB unit and installed a video card. Now all segments of the Windows test are above 7.
Cons: Top case fan began making noise and vibrating so I replaced it with a spare from my parts bin. All's good now but I feel the original parts for this unit should have lasted more the twoo months.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/13/2014 11:43:06 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Barebone PCs > ASRock > ASRock M8 Mini ITX Gaming PC 4th Gen Intel Core i7/i5/i3/Xeon/Pentium/Celeron Intel Socket LGA1150 Intel Z87 1 x HDMI Barebone

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Nice attempt at an SFF gaming barebones, but not perfect
Pros: Cool looks and design. It has a "gamer" appearance which is subdued by the industrial look of the side panels and their use of aluminum. I like the use of a riser card for the GPU. That seems to be getting popular these days for achieving a thinner "console" appearance for SFF systems. The OLED dial is kind of cool, but also somewhat gimmicky. The fit and finish of the aluminum is great, the F/F of the steel interior is adequate as well. The motherboard is excellent in my experience. This is my first ASRock board and I'd have no issue going to them in the future. It's got a great selection of features and has been extremely stable. POSTs very quickly and has all the features you'd expect from the more expensive brands. The 450W power supply is also of high quality. It's an 80+ bronze FSP unit with a beefy +12v output. I originally put together a system using an i7 4771 along with a GTX 780 and the PSU handled it perfectly fine. This is actually beyond what ASRock recommends, but it ran without a hiccup for the few months I was using the 780. Don't let people tell you you need a 1KW unit for a high end GPU; as long as you're building a "normal" system (stock CPU, stock GPU, 1-2 drives, air cooling) you're more than okay with QUALITY lower wattage units. The high power consumption I saw from the wall was about 370W. Even assuming peak efficiency, that's only 325W DC output. Don't get me wrong, I wouldn't recommend overclocking on a system like that with this power supply. But for a stock system, it will be fine for just about any single GPU you could fit in here. On that note, the clearance for GPUs in quite good. You should have no problems cramming a high end card in here. Lastly, even though the case may look confusing, the paperwork is excellent and documents how to install your components without issue. Even the process of building in it is easier than expected.
Cons: Unfortunately, this barebones isn't all good. Even though the case itself has some high quality use of aluminum, it uses far too much plastic in its construction. This isn't a problem in and of itself, but the plastic tends to creak as the system's temperature changes which gives off a bit of a "cheap" impression when the barebones is anything but when you see the price. The price is another point. The price would probably be appropriate if say the PSU were 80+ gold, more use of aluminum, way less plastic, etc. Instead, it feels overpriced by perhaps as much as $100. You can build a similar system from the Silverstone RVZ01 case, ST45SF power supply, an ASRock Z87 / Z97 ITX board, and a laptop DVD drive for less than $350. Maybe even less than $300. Probably the single largest issue with the case in the utterly poor cooling. The four 70mm fans are not only loud, but they don't cool well either. Reversing the fan positions helps, but is tedious to accomplish and the results aren't dramatic. Even though you can fit high end components in here, the cooling is really only up to the task of dissipating maybe a total power draw of 150W. Higher than that, and you'll probably want to leave the side panel off to let the system breathe. It's a bit nit picky, but this case isn't that particularly small for an SFF rig either. It could easily shed a couple liters of volume while supporting the same hardware.
Other Thoughts: I'd like to see a version 2 of the M8 in the future. I think this is the base of a really great product. If the use of plastic were toned down and cooling significantly improved it could be totally worth the asking price. It could definitely use some vents on the side panel. If you wanted to cut your own 120mm fan mount on the side panel you may even be able to install a 120mm closed loop liquid cooler.
Reviewed By:GregSestero aka Mark,9/11/2014 7:01:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Barebone PCs > MINIX > Minix NEO X8-H Quad Core Cortex A9r4 Processor Octo Core Mali-450 GPU 1 x HDMI Quad Core Media Hub for Android

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 A Great Buy
Pros: Installation and operation is smooth .. Video & audio quality are great .Skype works like a charm . XBMC opens up access to number of VOD's. Air mouse is grate .. sometime we need to recalibrate . other wise computer mouse too works . specs say android 4.4 ... but I received android 4.2 (sic). build quality is great too .
Cons: Except the product delivered to me has android 4.2 ... Regular Remote is just waste ..we cannot work on android with ..very painful..
Reviewed By:N/A,9/8/2014 3:55:18 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Barebone PCs > Shuttle Computer > Shuttle SZ87R6 Intel Core i7 / i5 / i3 / Pentium (LGA1150) Intel Socket LGA1150 Intel Z87 1 x HDMI High-Performance Multi-Display & Video Wall Barebone

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: This is a nice little box that's actually pretty roomy inside, I've never run into any cooling issues and I run it pretty hard, but don't expect some kind of crazy cooling capacity -- CPU and video card idle at about 34C for me.

The drivers are fantastic and exactly what they should be, completely invisible. No garbage applications came with it that replace functionality present in the operating system, USB3 is the most reliable I've seen on the PC side of things, and I've never had any hiccups or bugs with any of them.

It's also pretty quiet, not "is it running?" quiet but quiet enough that you won't notice it unless you listen for it.

This thing is also crazy light! You would hardly know there was a computer in there, especially if you don't have a spinning-disk hard drive.
Cons: One thing I ran into, which is my own fault, is my video card's power connector is on the side instead of the end. This led to the hard drive/disk drive cage not fitting due to the added size of that power connector. Video card is an EVGA GeForce 660 SC -- planning on getting a new video card partially because of this.
Other Thoughts: I have no doubt that I will buy a Shuttle again when the time comes around for my next build. The compact size, overall quality, and amount of power you can pack into these is great.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/6/2014 11:14:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau