Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Shipping Destination: United Kingdom
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Barebone PCs > MINIX > Minix NEO X8 Quad Core Cortex A9r4 Processor Octo Core Mali-450 GPU 1 x HDMI Quad Core Media Hub for Android

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 MINIX NEO 8
Pros: 5 Ghz wifi and the Android OS means you have alot of choices when it comes to streaming apps and that it works very well with no interference.
Cons: Stock launcher is non intuative and confusing. Hulu plays audio but video is a black screen. You need an air mouse remote if you plan to use hulu or netflix.
Other Thoughts: After changing the stock launcher which you cannot do with the stock remote (I had a USB mouse which I used) I found out the supplied XMBC app would not see my NFS Shares that my WDTV SMP saw just fine so I ditched it and went with Plex. Hulu will play audio and video on ads but once your presentation starts video goes black, lucky for me that it works great on phone, tablet and Xbox One. Get an Air Mouse because your gonna need it if you plan to use Hulu or Netflix.
Reviewed By:Inkrypted,9/14/2014 11:45:13 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Barebone PCs > CybertronPC > CybertronPC 5150 Escape TBB1244C AMD FX 4130 3.8GHz AMD Socket AM3+ ATI Radeon 3000 1 x HDMI Barebone

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4
Pros: Well constructed and performs as expected. Replaced hard drive with a 480 MB SSB unit and installed a video card. Now all segments of the Windows test are above 7.
Cons: Top case fan began making noise and vibrating so I replaced it with a spare from my parts bin. All's good now but I feel the original parts for this unit should have lasted more the twoo months.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/13/2014 11:43:06 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Barebone PCs > ASRock > ASRock M8 Mini ITX Gaming PC 4th Gen Intel Core i7/i5/i3/Xeon/Pentium/Celeron Intel Socket LGA1150 Intel Z87 1 x HDMI Barebone

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Nice attempt at an SFF gaming barebones, but not perfect
Pros: Cool looks and design. It has a "gamer" appearance which is subdued by the industrial look of the side panels and their use of aluminum. I like the use of a riser card for the GPU. That seems to be getting popular these days for achieving a thinner "console" appearance for SFF systems. The OLED dial is kind of cool, but also somewhat gimmicky. The fit and finish of the aluminum is great, the F/F of the steel interior is adequate as well. The motherboard is excellent in my experience. This is my first ASRock board and I'd have no issue going to them in the future. It's got a great selection of features and has been extremely stable. POSTs very quickly and has all the features you'd expect from the more expensive brands. The 450W power supply is also of high quality. It's an 80+ bronze FSP unit with a beefy +12v output. I originally put together a system using an i7 4771 along with a GTX 780 and the PSU handled it perfectly fine. This is actually beyond what ASRock recommends, but it ran without a hiccup for the few months I was using the 780. Don't let people tell you you need a 1KW unit for a high end GPU; as long as you're building a "normal" system (stock CPU, stock GPU, 1-2 drives, air cooling) you're more than okay with QUALITY lower wattage units. The high power consumption I saw from the wall was about 370W. Even assuming peak efficiency, that's only 325W DC output. Don't get me wrong, I wouldn't recommend overclocking on a system like that with this power supply. But for a stock system, it will be fine for just about any single GPU you could fit in here. On that note, the clearance for GPUs in quite good. You should have no problems cramming a high end card in here. Lastly, even though the case may look confusing, the paperwork is excellent and documents how to install your components without issue. Even the process of building in it is easier than expected.
Cons: Unfortunately, this barebones isn't all good. Even though the case itself has some high quality use of aluminum, it uses far too much plastic in its construction. This isn't a problem in and of itself, but the plastic tends to creak as the system's temperature changes which gives off a bit of a "cheap" impression when the barebones is anything but when you see the price. The price is another point. The price would probably be appropriate if say the PSU were 80+ gold, more use of aluminum, way less plastic, etc. Instead, it feels overpriced by perhaps as much as $100. You can build a similar system from the Silverstone RVZ01 case, ST45SF power supply, an ASRock Z87 / Z97 ITX board, and a laptop DVD drive for less than $350. Maybe even less than $300. Probably the single largest issue with the case in the utterly poor cooling. The four 70mm fans are not only loud, but they don't cool well either. Reversing the fan positions helps, but is tedious to accomplish and the results aren't dramatic. Even though you can fit high end components in here, the cooling is really only up to the task of dissipating maybe a total power draw of 150W. Higher than that, and you'll probably want to leave the side panel off to let the system breathe. It's a bit nit picky, but this case isn't that particularly small for an SFF rig either. It could easily shed a couple liters of volume while supporting the same hardware.
Other Thoughts: I'd like to see a version 2 of the M8 in the future. I think this is the base of a really great product. If the use of plastic were toned down and cooling significantly improved it could be totally worth the asking price. It could definitely use some vents on the side panel. If you wanted to cut your own 120mm fan mount on the side panel you may even be able to install a 120mm closed loop liquid cooler.
Reviewed By:GregSestero aka Mark,9/11/2014 7:01:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Barebone PCs > MINIX > Minix NEO X8-H Quad Core Cortex A9r4 Processor Octo Core Mali-450 GPU 1 x HDMI Quad Core Media Hub for Android

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 A Great Buy
Pros: Installation and operation is smooth .. Video & audio quality are great .Skype works like a charm . XBMC opens up access to number of VOD's. Air mouse is grate .. sometime we need to recalibrate . other wise computer mouse too works . specs say android 4.4 ... but I received android 4.2 (sic). build quality is great too .
Cons: Except the product delivered to me has android 4.2 ... Regular Remote is just waste ..we cannot work on android with ..very painful..
Reviewed By:N/A,9/8/2014 3:55:18 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Barebone PCs > Shuttle Computer > Shuttle SZ87R6 Intel Core i7 / i5 / i3 / Pentium (LGA1150) Intel Socket LGA1150 Intel Z87 1 x HDMI High-Performance Multi-Display & Video Wall Barebone

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: This is a nice little box that's actually pretty roomy inside, I've never run into any cooling issues and I run it pretty hard, but don't expect some kind of crazy cooling capacity -- CPU and video card idle at about 34C for me.

The drivers are fantastic and exactly what they should be, completely invisible. No garbage applications came with it that replace functionality present in the operating system, USB3 is the most reliable I've seen on the PC side of things, and I've never had any hiccups or bugs with any of them.

It's also pretty quiet, not "is it running?" quiet but quiet enough that you won't notice it unless you listen for it.

This thing is also crazy light! You would hardly know there was a computer in there, especially if you don't have a spinning-disk hard drive.
Cons: One thing I ran into, which is my own fault, is my video card's power connector is on the side instead of the end. This led to the hard drive/disk drive cage not fitting due to the added size of that power connector. Video card is an EVGA GeForce 660 SC -- planning on getting a new video card partially because of this.
Other Thoughts: I have no doubt that I will buy a Shuttle again when the time comes around for my next build. The compact size, overall quality, and amount of power you can pack into these is great.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/6/2014 11:14:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Barebone PCs > Shuttle Computer > Shuttle XH61V Intel Core i3 / i5 / i7 / Pentium / CeleronIntel Core i7 / i5 / i3 / Pentium (LGA1155) Intel Socket H2(LGA1155) Intel H61 none 1 x HDMI Barebone

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good Shuttle (Revised)
Pros: Small, seemingly powerful. I'm using it as a test bench to practice configuring Server 2012 Hyper-V. I installed 16 GB RAM at full 1600 MHz and a Core i7 3770s. Using two hard drives:
1) Kingston Hyper X SSD 120 GB for OS
2) Seagate Momentus XT 500 GB Hybrid drive for data and VM's.
Cons: I wish it could handle more RAM, 16 GB is still not enough. The compartment is cramped when attempting to install memory. So how about 32 GB Shuttle? Also no extra SATA cables with regular connectors. Since USB 3.0 is backward compatible they should've placed more of those, only two USB 3.0 ports.
Other Thoughts: In my first review of this I said that the unit shuts down when installing additional peripherals on any of the USB ports. This is no longer the case. It seems that the Shuttle's power draw spikes when installing peripherals and at the time it was connected to a faulty UPS. Apparently the UPS was not providing the extra current needed when the Shuttle's power draw spikes causing it to shut down abruptly. I recently bought a new UPS, then connected the extra peripherals and no shutdown and no more issues.
Reviewed By:obtrunco,9/6/2014 5:44:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Barebone PCs > JETWAY > JetWay HBJC371F35W-T40E-B AMD G-T40E APU (1.0GHz, dual core) AMD A50M (Hudson M1) AMD Radeon HD6250 Barebone

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 In my hasty bias I recant my 1 egg rating
Pros: cheap, duail gige interfaces, mSATA, pfsense works no problem
Cons: none really at this price point
Other Thoughts: I mistakenly interpreted a user failure as a dead unit. This unit does seem to be functional now and I will continue trusting it.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/5/2014 9:18:30 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Barebone PCs > MINIX > Minix NEO X8-H Quad Core Cortex A9r4 Processor Octo Core Mali-450 GPU 1 x HDMI Quad Core Media Hub for Android

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 HW excellent, Mouse twitchy, Firmware not there yet.
Pros: The base hardware (not counting the IR mouse or the Newegg provided bundled mouse) is solid and can perform.

If your plan is to view videos stored on your local network you will be satisfied, the colors and picture quality is really good. I had to use the wired connection for all but the most compressed video formats.
Cons: That big search engine company's "moive and tv play app" won't work, "Can't Fetch License (error 16)". The app tech support says 'call minix', Minix tech support today said "We've never heard of anyone trying that app, do you want a refund?".

The wireless mouse software gets stuck on one or the other end of the screen so often you'll need rehab therapy on your wrist in a month.

If your plan is to run xbmc's native cmyth PVR addon with mythtv, the strange long hangs when stopping a video and before any other screen comes up will drive you insane. Give up commercial flagging and use the upnp/dlna interface until the software works correctly.--- Which I think it will in a few months.

Watching that other online store vendor's prime instant videos was en epic fail as well.

The mouse / keyboard doesn't emulate the 'swiping' and 'touching' screen responses so all the apps that look for screen interfaces (lots of games) will just sit there on the welcome screen waiting for you to do something, while you click and point and mouse away like a crazy person to no effect.
Other Thoughts: Buy the logitech k440 wireless keyboard and all will be well.

If "Downloading and flashing updated ROM firmware using a windows computer" is scary to you, don't buy this until after November. They should have "over the air" upgrades avaiable by then.

I bought this thinking I would be owning the perfect 'cable cord cutting' set top box. And, I think it will be exactly that when paired with a free-to-air television / home movie file server backend. The firmware and the software isn't quite there but it will be. I wish I knew the purchase of movies they advertised apps would play -- won't.
Reviewed By:Harry C,9/4/2014 2:26:01 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Barebone PCs > JETWAY > JetWay HBJC371F35W-T40E-B AMD G-T40E APU (1.0GHz, dual core) AMD A50M (Hudson M1) AMD Radeon HD6250 Barebone

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 after 5 months of use...
Pros: cheap! dual gige interfaces! fanless!
Cons: jetway quality
Other Thoughts: One day this system started to degrade in performance until I could no longer access it, so I pulled power and it never powered on again. This is the second jetway atom based system which I have had meet an early end. This device was simply serving residential internet. The machine sat idle twiddling its thumbs most of 24/7, never any significant load, ever.

I have zotac and aopen atom systems which each individually have outlived my jetway systems' lives combined. This purchase was my "shame on me" for jetway. I will avoid their systems in the future.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/3/2014 5:26:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Barebone PCs > MSI > MSI Hetis H61 Ultra-E Intel Core i7 / i5 / i3 / Pentium (LGA1155) Intel Socket H2(LGA1155) Intel H61 Intel HD Graphics by CPU 1 x HDMI Barebone

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 I have to correct the other reviewers mistake...
Pros: It's a barebone system
Cons: You have to build it yourself, but that's why it's called a barebone, so I wouldn't really consider that a con unless you're expecting a out of the box working system such as the previous reviewer did.
Other Thoughts: The previous reviewer stated that this product arrived DOA and "I bought this machine and it didn't arrive with a processor". Although he said that his Tech Knowledge was very high, a barebone system means it's missing something and you must purchase other hardware to make it a complete system, as is this system. This system does not come with a processor, so if you expect to purchase it and have it working out of the box, you're going to be disappointed. Unfortunately the description/specs on this system do not make it easily clear what all is needed, however someone with a "high" tech knowledge can tell that at the very least this system needs a processor, memory, hard drive, operating system, and a optical drive if desired.
Reviewed By:Total PC,9/3/2014 9:37:28 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau