Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Barebone PCs > MSI > MSI Aegis X-001BUS Supports Intel 6th Gen CPU (including K series processors) Intel Z170 Supports up to a two-slot design of graphics card up to a NVIDIA Geforce GTX 1080 (not Included) 1 x HDMI Barebone System

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 First in....just ordered
Pros: Surprisingly small at just under 15" of height. Low noise but this is dependent on the GPU you choose. If you go with the aftermarket GTX 1080's like MSI's Gaming X or ASUS Strix you will have a surprisingly quiet build. Two M.2 ports at Gen3 PCI-e x4 on the motherboard is a major plus. 8 USB 3.1 ports, one of them a Gen2 C and the rest Gen1. It looks ridiculously awesome. Seriously, it looks like a killer drone. Overall the thermals are very good. 4 DAYS LATER: Very happy with it. At normal load you can't hear the case. The most audible component is the EVGA GPU with ACX cooler and that is low noise relative to the reference GPU coolers. The pump/radiator noise level is barely detectable up close and there is zero grinding noise.
Cons: Motherboard, CPU cooler, and power supply are proprietary. That's the one major hang up some people won't be able to deal with. The motherboard on the Aegis-X units are specially fashioned versions of the mini-ITX Z170i. They are NOT the same motherboard! Another hangup is the need for SODIMM memory modules due to space restrictions, thankfully GSkill and Corsair make some good SODIMM modules. The same reason why the pump is proprietary.....very low profile. 4 DAYS LATER: Putting in the CPU, M.2 SSD and Memory DIMMs is a little more time consuming than an average case due to tight space constraints. All things considered MSI did a decent job with running the power and cables throughout.....they pretty much didn't have a choice.
Other Thoughts: Seems like MSI is very serious about this model/build. They are shipping them as both MSI barebones & MSI complete systems and boutique dealers will be selling these aplenty with their stamp on it. This will bode well for availability on proprietary components since word is they will also continue this line with new iterations so you can upgrade down the road.
Reviewed By:AJ R.,6/24/2016 2:48:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Barebone PCs > MSI > MSI Nightblade X2-001BUS Intel 6th Gen. Core i7 / i5 / i3 / Pentiuml / Celeron (Max. TDP: 95W) Intel Socket LGA1151 Intel Z170 Support up to a two-slot design of graphics card up to a GTX 980Ti, max 290mm length 1 x HDMI Barebone

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Horrible little machine
Pros: when it worked, things were great.for the short time it did.
Cons: first unit i ordered, was DOA out of the box, would never post
RMA'd and got a replacement, worked for a "month", rebooted one day and the unit looked like it was auto-updating the bios
the machine never booted again after that
had to RMA to MSI as i was past the 30 days
took over a month
got the "same" Machine back
booted to the desktop once, rebooted and did the exact same thing.
Other Thoughts: I would never ever in a million years recommend this unit to anyone
MSI RMA service is horrible, worst purchase i've ever made, $1600 by the time the thing was built, only worked for 1 month.
Manufacturer Response:Greetings Marc,
Thank you for sharing your experience with the MSI product. We certainly value your feedback and please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenient experience. If possible, please provide me with more details to the symptoms of your PC so we can better assist in help finding a solution. You can email us with further details at usreview@msi.com with details or please feel free to contact our technical support department directly at our toll free number 888-447-6564 from M to F, 5am to 7pm Pacific standard Time.

Thank you for choosing MSI!

Best Regards,
MSI Review Team | usreview@msi.com

Reviewed By:Marc W.,6/5/2016 9:06:30 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Barebone PCs > MSI > MSI Nightblade MI2-001BUS Intel 6th Gen CPU Intel Socket LGA1151 Intel B150 Support up to a two-slot design of graphics card up to GTX 970 1 x HDMI Barebone

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Buggy
Pros: -Its small
-easy to build everything is prebuilt, only need to install CPU, ram, Graphics card, hard drive
Cons: -Flimsy construction, feels kinda cheap, the cpu cooler heatpipes look like they are made from copper colored tinfoil
-First one came DOA, had to RMA for a second unit
-Second unit had a faulty MOBO, tried multiple cpu's ram etc. Could not get the BIOS to accept boot order, or take the updated BIOS. The UEFI was pixelated and very sluggish, would lock up and need a hard reset. Spent over an hour with MSI tech support to try and find a solution. Was determined to be another faulty MOBO. Second unit was sent back.
Other Thoughts: -I wouldnt suggest this unit to anyone, turned out to be nothing but a headache. In theory its a cool Idea, but MSI needs to really work on the quality control of the MOBO's in these units. I ended up going with a EVGA hadron Air case, with an ASUS ROG Pro Gaming MOBO for roughly the same price, quality is far superior in every single way and the EZ UEFI on the Asus MOBO's is just awesome.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Tyler,
Thank you for the feedback.There is “no” known issue with our MSI product and we use industry top components. If you have any question or concern regarding our MSI motherboard you purchased, Please do not hesitate to contact us directly by email at usreview@msi.com or to our toll free phone at 888-447-6564 M-F, 5AM to 7PM PST. We will be more than happy to assist you.

Thank you for choosing MSI.

Best Regards,
MSI Review Team | usreview@msi.com

Reviewed By:Tyler B.,5/12/2016 6:56:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Barebone PCs > MSI > MSI Nightblade X2-001BUS Intel 6th Gen. Core i7 / i5 / i3 / Pentiuml / Celeron (Max. TDP: 95W) Intel Socket LGA1151 Intel Z170 Support up to a two-slot design of graphics card up to a GTX 980Ti, max 290mm length 1 x HDMI Barebone

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Really great portable Lan box by MSI!!
Pros: Nice design
Small but sufficient power supply
Was nice to have mobo pre-installed
Sleeved cables.
Nice layout.
Cons: Not much of a con, the mobo requires a screw type cooler.
I installed a Corsair H60 liquid cooler. There is only only a total of two fan controllers on the mobo, so had to buy a fan splitter cable.
Other Thoughts: I would totally buy this again. Tight fit when everything goes in, however the Corsair H60 managed to fit. In order to fit I had to trim off some plastic on the side fan bracket. Be careful not to kink hoses putting everything back into box. This system is FAST! Changed fan on Corsair H60 to Noctura 3000 rpm black fan. Fan produces almost no noise. CPU temps at idle stay right at 19-20 degrees. What more could you ask for. Actually I have case fan unhooked until fan splitter arrives. Heat isn't an issue and you could probably get by on this setup with no case fan at all! Newegg service was great!

MSI Nightblade x2
Intel I5 6600K
Gskill 32 GB RAM 16x2
MSI Nvidia GTX 970 4GB
Samsung 950 Pro 512 GB
WD Black 7200 1TB
Corsair H60
Reviewed By:Will S.,4/28/2016 6:53:10 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Barebone PCs > ASRock > ASRock M8 Mini ITX Gaming PC 4th Gen Intel Core i7/i5/i3/Xeon/Pentium/Celeron Intel Socket LGA1150 Intel Z87 1 x HDMI Barebone

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Compact, Sturdy, Air flow is the hardest part.
Pros: -Great size, can fit a pretty huge video card
-decent power supply
-included motherboard is good
-includes wifi ac
-red led lights (that was a surprise)
-slot in dvd drive
-5 available sata ports (with space for 5 solid state drives)
Cons: -only 1 pcie (it's mini-itx_
-2 sodimm ddr3
-low overhead for coolers (stock intel cooler technically fits, but with the sidepanel on, severely limits airflow
-poor cooling
-front power button kinda stiff
-4th i series processors
Other Thoughts: I ordered mine may 2016. Seems to be old stock, but at least in mine, they swapped the direction of the bottom intake fan to push air out. Back bottom fan is set to pull air in which is not bad. Both top fans are set to push air out.

I used the noctua nh l9i. It's not the best cooler, but performs better than the intel stock cooler due to having more space overhead for air to circulate. Have to remove the motherboard in order to install.

The wifi card is suprisingly decent. good throughput over on my ac network.

If I were to change one thing, it'd be to possibly have a vent on the panel over the cpu sink.

Case arrived in good condition, dense pack foam was used.

besides the processor and ram, the possibility of upgrading your video card and adding more sdds is nice.

For what I paid 200, I feel like it was worth it.

i5 4590
gtx 970
mushkin eco 480gb
sandisk 240gb
2x8gb ddr3 sodimm
noctua nh-l9i
Reviewed By:Ben D.,4/22/2016 6:12:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Barebone PCs > MSI > MSI ProBox130 2M-007BUS Intel 4th gen. (Haswell, Max TDP: 84W) Core/Pentium Intel Socket LGA1150 Intel H81 Integrated Intel HD Graphic, Depend on CPU Supports Intel Dynamic Video Memory Technology (DVMT) Technology 1 x HDMI out Barebone Sys

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Eat this Box
Pros: 4x sata ports @ 6gbps, lots of fan connectors, sturdy metal case, easy flip internal drives install. Budget/office build worthy. Put in a cheapo SSD and it'll fly. HDMI. 80Bronze cert PSU, 2-year warranty.
Cons: DDR3 1333 ONLY.
A little larger than it needed to be vs internal components size so a tight fit for PointOfSale systems.
Onboard COM port hardware but NO SEREAL INTERFACE CONNECTOR from board to back.
Propitiatory CPU fan/heatsink, but dose the job. CPU fan is slightly noisy.
PCIEx16 Gen 2 MAX, no gen 3 setting in bios.
Would not install OS via USB drive no matter what boot setting/port/usbdrive, used the sata dvd drive and disc.
No real way to attach a laptop sized hard drive, typically an SSD, with more than one screw anywhere in the hard drive bay.
Other Thoughts: Newegg is the best as all of the other hardware ordered with this barebones system arrived the day after ordered, but this box took 10 DAYS to get here, UPS ground. The wait was irritating. The box was beat up pretty badly, scaring, dents, gashes, possibly used as a Skyrim shield. The corners were beat in and it was overall dirty. The internal foam padding was great and held up keeping the system intact. Update the bios on this thing via usb FIRST.
3x SATA power connectors.
MSI: Keep making these please, just include the serial port connector.
Reviewed By:Matt A.,4/12/2016 11:42:08 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Barebone PCs > ASRock > ASRock M8 Mini ITX Gaming PC 4th Gen Intel Core i7/i5/i3/Xeon/Pentium/Celeron Intel Socket LGA1150 Intel Z87 1 x HDMI Barebone

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great quility build and "nice" over all barebone
Pros: Its an awesome little box, its a 10 on the cool looks factor. It will actually
hold pretty good size 3.1"h cooler. Cool red lights on the inside. Low price.
Don't get infatuated because it's cheap, looks good and you think its gonna be
easy, while that works in other areas of your life does not hold true in this situation.
Its still 4 year old technology remember that. Includes hardware.
Cons: Your limited to a Nvidia card by the 450/35a on the 12 power supply (50a total).
To upgrade to the 650W SilverStone SX-SFX is about $125, sell the 450 for 50$ and
it's only 75$ upgrade. One side of that P/S should be open/caseless/mesh and
vented out side wall, its already against the front of the case. Its
vented internally (inside the case) which is a complete stooge move. Not enough
juice to run a R9 card, i don't care what the HCL says i know better.
Other Thoughts: I own 3 already, i bought 2 here and one "open box" on auction for less than a
stick of memory cost. I know what happened to that unit, it came all in pieces
in 2 boxes. More than likely because someone couldn't read the directions or figure
out how to put it back together. I been doing this a long time, i'm not afraid
to cut-bend-drill-force-modify anything, on the spot re-engineering is how
us professionals refer to it. I have more solutions than problems. I will be
cutting 1 side of the power supply open and venting it behind the front
panel-probably.

I bought a big nasty Zalman 125W+ cooler same time i ordered this. I now have 3 of
the 4 fans blowing in. My i7 is only 85W at stock speeds. Heat is not an issue in my unit.

Im gonna say i bet a lot of these are getting returned for the obvious reason
of it being more difficult that an average user can handle putting together.

I7-4790 non K, but OC's quite nicely in this BIOS with the added big cooler.
Nvidia GTX 980 (ref)
2 x 500 SSD raid 0 (SP S55 @ 1000+ Mbs)
2 x 8 GB of one of the SKH brands of memory (G-Skill, Kingston, Ballistx...?)

I will write a more detailed review at another time after i finish another one.
I just don't think this should get such a bad rap because of people's low frustration
tolerance or lack of experience. READ THE MANUAL.

I wont recommend this for a first time builder. For an advanced tech there is no real
difficult problems- only solutions.
Reviewed By:Andy B.,3/26/2016 11:07:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Barebone PCs > Foxconn > Foxconn SFF R20-A1 AMD E-350 APU (1.6GHz, Dual-Core) AMD A45 (Hudson D1) AMD Radeon HD6310 1 x HDMI Barebone

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great workstation
Pros: At this point I am going on 4 years of continued use on this little barebone. I used it as my business workstation, my playtime machine, development machine, virtual host, I found the TPM for it and have set it up...

This little box is still rocking nicely. I ran virtuals, I crunched world community grid projects and did real work too... Very happy with this purchase. For the other hardware that I included in my build check out my previous review date (2/3/2012)
Cons: None at all. The barebone was an awesome purchase.
Other Thoughts: I have since moved the motherboard and components to an Antec ISK300-150 and added a 2 port Intel gigabit adapter. The original case was still quite functional so I donated it to Goodwill.

This is a barebone and as such does not function until you add other components. If you picked the wrong SSD, or if you threw in another graphics card that overdrew from the power supply or if you went with the wrong memory (voltage) or if you didn't read the reviews ahead of time to learn that you needed to spend 5 bucks on a longer SATA cable... the problem lies in 1 place... and it is NOT with the barebone.
Reviewed By:James C.,3/26/2016 9:07:05 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Barebone PCs > ECS (EliteGroup) > ECS V20-BAT-J1900 Intel Bay Trail-D, J1900-series Barebone

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 specs still wrong
Pros: not a bad.. 19"...not the best screen. audio is ok.. but not loud.. baytrail.. seemed snappy runs win 10 or ubuntu with no issues..just dont go looking for drivers for the battery or touch ..lol
Cons: specs are still wrong.... no battery............. touch is not an option on this model
Other Thoughts: Posted : GMT 2016/03/17 17:15:02
Is this the model you purchased from Newegg?
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16856501016

Unfortunately, Newegg has incorrect specifications listed.
This model does not come with a battery or a touch screen.

None of the V20-BAT models come with a battery. Newegg takes the specification from our website but likely took the specifications from the V20S-BAT.
http://www.ecs.com.tw/ECSWebSite/Product/Product_Detail.aspx?CategoryID=12&TypeID=67&DetailID=1592&DetailName=Feature&MenuID=41&LanID=0

The V20S-BAT with battery is an optional feature. Currently Newegg is not selling the V20S-BAT.

Only certain models of the V20-BAT comes with touch screen. Currently Newegg is not selling the touch screen model.

We have asked Newegg to correct these specification on their website. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.
Reviewed By:joseph w.,3/24/2016 9:35:40 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Barebone PCs > Shuttle Computer > Shuttle SX58H7 Intel Core i7 (LGA1366) LGA1366 Intel X58 Barebone

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Quite Possibly the Best PC Ever
Pros: Still going VERY strong in 2016 from 2009
Can actually upgrade to 8GB DDR3 ram (x3 or x4) for 24GB or 32GB
Can Overclock even the i7-920 to 3.5GHz using stock cooler.
If no optical, can fit 2x 120mm Fans + Water Cooled Radiator for CPU (can overclock even higher)
Can upgrade to (now cheap) Xeon processors for awesome CPU / L3 cache speedups (2x i7-920)
Will support even the latest GPU cards (nVidia 960/970/980 etc) with stock 500W Power supply.
Beyond a doubt, the longest lived PC I've owned (I used to upgrade my PC every 18 months).
Supports both RAID0 (striping for speed) and RAID1 (mirroring for redudancy) - I used 2*250GB RAID0 drives for C:
Cons: Has many USB2.0 ports, but no USB3.0 (not that I have a use for them).
Stock cover for PC needs more ventilation to keep loaded PC cool (55C idle)
CPU Runs fairly hot if air overclocked (80C is well within CPU specs max is 100C)
No support for mSata/M.2 type SSD cards, but standard 2.5" SSDs deliver most of that.
Other Thoughts: This is my 4 Shuttle PC and I still love this brand, all of the Capacitors are solid metal (not Electrolytic) so they last about 5x as long as usual, meaning the PC will not go back from leaking caps. Unless I need another one, I will continue to ride my SX58H7 for even longer -- just amazing durability.
Reviewed By:TERJE B.,3/21/2016 7:25:17 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.