Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Server Barebones > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO SYS-5038A-I Mid-Tower Server Barebone LGA 2011 Intel C612 2133/1866/1600/1333MHz ECC DDR4 SDRAM 72-bit, 288-pin (RDIMM/LRDIMM) / 284-pin gold-plated DIMMs

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 No Boot
Pros: Shipped fast easy to install CPU, RAM, CD/DVD, not to big for a server.
Cons: Boots to black screen and then 5 beeps. Supermicro support says bad CPU's but I have two brand new CPU's and it does it with both. I can't imagine I have two one brand new right out of the sealed box are both bad? Supermicro support was helpful and quick in responses so 3 stars I typically like supermicro servers.
Other Thoughts: I pulled the CMOS battery, tried two different brand new Xeon CPU's...turns on then 5 beeps. Not sure what I'm doing wrong or why it would not boot. Also anyone looking at this server it does not have a video port be sure to purchase a video card and this one shipped with NO heat sink fan. Supermicro typically ships them with a heat sink? Not sure why this one didn't get one?
Reviewed By:N/A,8/4/2015 5:55:54 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Barebones > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO SYS-5015A-EHF-D525 1U Intel Atom D525 Dual Gigabit LAN w/ IPMI Server Barebone

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great little server
Pros: I have been running pfSense on this server for awhile now and it's been great. I have had no problems and it has been running 24/7 since I got it. I averages 35c and is pretty quite.

Setting it up was pretty easy except I had to buy a bracket to hold two drives.
Cons: Bracket required to hold two drives.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/1/2015 8:36:02 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Barebones > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO AS-2022G-URF4+ 2U Rackmount Server Barebone Dual Socket G34 AMD SR5690 DDR3 1600/1333/1066

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great server for the money
Pros: When coupled with the pricing on Opteron processors, this makes one very cost-effective server.
Cons: Need to buy special trays for 2.5" disks.
Other Thoughts: I needed to get enough power the develop a highly threaded cpu intensive application. I also needed to go into my own pocket to do it. For under $5000 I was able to get a server with 24 Cores (not hyperthreads), 128Gb main memory, 30Tb enterprise SATA hard disk and 480Gb enterprise SSD. As a free bonus, Newegg threw in an end-of-lifed but highly functional Adaptec RAID controller. I now have a remote manageable full blown server for under 5K, and it works flawlessly.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/12/2015 9:02:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Barebones > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO SYS-6027R-TRF 2U Rackmount Server Barebone Dual LGA 2011 Intel C602 DDR3 1600/1333/1066/800

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Exelent product from SM !
Pros: I ordered four of these for Data center.
Cons: Very simple install rails.
Other Thoughts: A lots of airflow, PCI-E slots, IPMI,
Overall an excellent and versatile chassis for a lot of uses.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/2/2015 11:36:59 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Barebones > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO SYS-5018D-MTF 1U Rackmount Server Barebone LGA 1150 Intel C224 Express PCH DDR3 1600

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Reliable and Good Value
Pros: Most SuperMicro servers come with IPMI (IP KVM) which is a great tool and a built in cost saver. When compared to the big name competitors (i.e. Dell, HP, etc.) the cost savings are substantial. We have been using strictly SuperMicro for the last 3-4 years and we have not been disappointed yet.
Cons: Does NOT have the LSI controller that comes with the higher end servers which can present a problem when building the RAID. Though it technically supports RAID 5, we had to setup to RAID 1 arrays in order for the controller to keep up. This is my only gripe, and one that I have made known to SuperMicro directly. You can purchase a separate controller, however, in addition to the cost of the machine and still save money in the end.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/2/2015 4:22:31 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Barebones > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO SYS-6017R-WRF 1U Rackmount Server Barebone Dual LGA 2011 Intel C602 DDR3 1600/1333/1066/800

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Perfect Hyper-V Cluser Server
Pros: First and foremost the ability to view/access the entire boot process including BIOS and RAID configuration via the IPMI java console is priceless. Dell requires iDRAC Enterprise for the same features at a cost of $100s.

The mother board is perfect for upgrading as we have built out two servers for our cluster with the 1 proc and 64Gb of RAM and have the ability to upgrade as demand increases.
Cons: Super Micro requires that both power supplies are powered or it beeps. When configuring the server in an office environment this generates excess noise that really isn't needed when setting up the server.

Also still working out how to properly configure the "watchdog" feature as everything I enable it via the BIOS the server reboots 5 min later.
Other Thoughts: As a smaller IT firm building out our datacenter, these servers have worked well and will allow for future growth.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/31/2015 2:34:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Barebones > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO SSG-6037R-E1R16L 3U Rackmount Server Barebone Dual LGA 2011 Intel C602J DDR3 1866/1600/1333/1066/800

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Very nice
Pros: This has got a lot of options to it. I like it for the air flow and growth that it can take on. We have this stacked up with.
2x Xeon 2.8 10 core CPU
512 MB DDR III ram
LSI Mega RAID 9280
2 x Intel 1tb SSD PCI HHD.
10gb Fiber
42TB HHD storage
Server 2012 R2 Datacenter
Nvidia grid k2.
Cons: Hot swap front bays are not SSD friendly. Top cover is a little flimsy, easy bent. I just hate on server to date, Are just hard to Flash the BIOS. Desktop are so much easier to do BIOS upgrades.
Other Thoughts: We have had this almost a year now (July of 2014) I have not had one problem on this system. This is our main server and runs 24-7. I will be looking to supermircro for more builds down the road. Very happy.
Reviewed By:TheUtahITGuy,5/27/2015 10:08:31 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Barebones > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO SYS-5015A-EHF-D525 1U Intel Atom D525 Dual Gigabit LAN w/ IPMI Server Barebone

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great for pfSense and more...
Pros: 1. Extremely efficient
2. Intel NICs
3. Does support 8Gb of RAM
4. IPMI
5. Great chassis.
Cons: 1. Heats up quickly if kept in a rack.
2. Power supply fan can be noisy for some people.
Other Thoughts: In general, I love SuperMicro servers for their value as compared to other vendors. I have their Atom C2000 based server as well and they are great. This was no exception. It's perfect for a custom solution such as firewalls, infrastructure servers etc.

Note that this server gets really hot upto 90 degrees (CPU) if kept in an enclosure. There is an easy and perfect solution. Install a Fractal FD-FAN-SSR2-40. In fact, I installed 2 of these and now the temprature is 59 degrees for the CPU and 50 degrees for the system.

Also, it supports upto 8gb ram - 4gx2. You cannot install 4g+2g. That is, both the slots should be installed with same capacity memory. I was unable to find a 800mhz ddr3 memory so I used 1066mhz and it works.

I also added a Intel gigabit NIC card to serve as DMZ.

I am running VMware which hosts pfSense and 2 other light weight Linux servers for authentication. With 4 logical CPUs assigned, pfSense took the load perfectly. Even with 4 devices playing high def videos simultaneously. The CPU usage peaked at 40%.

I am very satisfied with the product. However, SuperMicro should include the 2.5" SSD mounts and a fan in this configuration as standard. These are cheap components and would save a lot of time and from inconvenience.
Reviewed By:Nis,5/23/2015 11:28:52 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Server Barebones > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO SYS-5018A-MLTN4 1U Rackmount Server Barebone (Black) FCBGA 1283 DDR3 1600/1333

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Pleasant short depth 1u
Pros: Short depth, quiet, straightforward design. no fru-fru, accepts lots more memory than earlier SM Atom based designs.
Cons: no front panel i/o
Other Thoughts: We are using this as a web server (apache under FreeBSD) and have had no troubles.. I was pleasantly surprised that it accepted a pair of random Crucible memory sticks. Other Supermicro systems have been limited to difficult to obtain memory.

No rails are included, or necessary. No riser card is included. The mount for 2.5" drives is the same as earlier SM 1us - MCP-220-00044-0N but the fit is a little tight.

Still no documentation for the IPMI. In the end we decided not to turn the IPMI on, largely because updating the IPMI firmware would require a reboot, and we didn't want to have to bring down the system just because a vulnerability in the IPMI was announced.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/13/2015 6:43:29 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Barebones > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO SYS-5017A-EF 1U Rackmount Server Barebone FCBGA 1283 DDR3 1333/1066/800

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Memory Requirements
Pros: Cheap, dual-LAN, room for 2.5" drives and mount point for 3.5".
Cons: 204-pin ECC 1.35v unbuffered memory; the issue being the voltage is not listed in the newegg specifications and that's pretty important; more importantly newegg does not sell 204-pin ECC 1.35v unbuffered memory.

Ordered 2 of these and the first one had the memory clip break almost instantly. So that one gets an RMA.
Other Thoughts: Board is a supermicro X9SBAA-F; docs are at http://www.supermicro.com/support/resources/

Mostly posting this review to let folks know about the memory you need. I've not gotten the system up yet (I'm waiting on the right memory).
Reviewed By:Jeff,5/8/2015 3:56:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg International Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.