Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Server Barebones > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO SYS-5018D-MF 1U Rackmount Server Barebone LGA 1150 Intel C222 Express PCH DDR3 1600

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent barebone system for running ESXi
Pros: - Perfect form-factor for my 18U rack enclosure
- Runs cool.
- Moderate noise level.
- Excellent power efficiency.
- USB on motherboard.
- PCI-e riser included.
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: This is my second SuperMicro server (I've a 5018A-TN4 as well) in 2 years and I am pretty satisfied with both of these.

My configuration includes 32GB of Crucial RAM and E3 1231 v3 processor. I use the on-board USB for OS installation and a 1TB green drive as my datastore.

I use this one as an ESXi host to run my development environment. Currently, I am running 5 VMs which includes, CentOS 7, Ubuntu 16.02, VMA and Windows 2008R2. No driver issues, No lag in performance at all. With the E31231 processor, this is a monster.
Reviewed By:Nishant S.,5/23/2016 11:56:51 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Barebones > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO SYS-5018A-FTN4 1U Rackmount Server Barebone FCBGA 1283 DDR3 1600/1333

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works as expected.
Pros: Using it as a PFSENSE router and pushing 300Mbps out and 40Mbps in as IPESC traffic and CPU is only at 9%. Some testing before I placed it in production I was able to push 950~ each way with only 40 - 50% CPU used so a good 1.5 Gbps router!
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: None
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/18/2016 3:20:44 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Barebones > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO SYS-5018A-FTN4 1U Rackmount Server Barebone FCBGA 1283 DDR3 1600/1333

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 No actual problems
Pros: IPMI, lots of ethernet ports, quiet, low power
Cons: Not so easy to find compatible memory. Ethernet ports were on the wrong side of the box for our application.
Other Thoughts: We used Kingston memory (Newegg Inv #137015908) and it worked fine. The bracket to install 2.5" drives is MCP-220-00044-0N. It looks like Newegg has started to mention these on the same page as the computer. That may be chance, but if it is policy, then that bodes well for Newegg customers.

The cooling arrangment appears to meet a concern that the disk drives might catch cold from a draft. There is a tiny fan on the CPU, and one in the power supply, but no baffles to direct air across the drives and CPU heat exchanger. I poked a bit of sponge in the box to prevent air from going to the exhaust fan without passing over any components. I expect that helped, but curiously the BIOS doesn't show any temp data.
Manufacturer Response:Thank you for your comment! Supermicro needs your comment to improve our quality and service. If you still have any question, feel free to contact us. Please see the below technical support contact information:

Phone: (408)503-8000
Hours: 9:00 a.m – 6:00 p.m. Pacific Time (Monday – Friday)

Email address: support@supermicro.com

You can also submit your issue online: https://webpr3.supermicro.com/Support/login.aspx?

Please do not hesitate to contact us if you have any question.

Thank you!
SM Technical Support

Reviewed By:Daniel F.,4/21/2016 2:54:34 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Barebones > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO SYS-6018R-MT 1U Rackmount Server Barebone Dual LGA 2011 Intel C612 DDR4 2133/1866/1600

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great barebone system for the price.
Pros: - Dual CPU and 8 x DDR4
- easy assembly
Cons: - None! But pay attention, this is 1PSU model, if you need two power feeds, just buy another model. SuperMicro has variety of 2PSU models as well.
Other Thoughts: Paired with Kingston KVR16R11D4K4/64I RAM (all 8 slots, 128 GB totally) and 2x Intel Xeon BX80644E52603V3 work amazingly well.
HDD bays are 3.5 make sure you have mounting kits 2.5 <-> 3.5 for SSDs.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/17/2016 8:41:55 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Barebones > Intel > Intel R1304RPOSHBN 1U Rack Server Barebone LGA 1150 Intel C224 DDR3 1600/1333

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Intel R1304RPOSHBN Server does not work with specified processor
Pros: Looks pretty
Cons: We bought this server 2 weeks ago and it is still not working. Does not even get to the BIOS screen. We bought the recommended processor Intel® Xeon® Processor E3-1226 v3, but we come to find out it requires BIOS 02.01.0002 or later. Not sure what BIOS version is installed, but we can't even get to the BIOS screen to find out with this processor plugged in.

Processor Compatibility for Intel® Server Board S1200RP Family:
http://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/support/boards-and-kits/000006943.html

We have the Intel® Xeon® Processor E3-1226 v3, which requires BIOS 02.01.0002 or later. I’ve placed an order for Intel® Pentium® Processor G3220, which has no BIOS requirement. This should allow us to boot the server to perform the necessary firmware update to allow the use of our E3 CPU.
Reviewed By:William W.,4/14/2016 9:03:02 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Barebones > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO SYS-5019S-L 1U Rackmount Server Barebone Single Socket H4 (LGA 1151) Intel C232 DDR4 2133/1866/1600

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Fantastic entry-level server!
Pros: Ordered this model based on the desire to optimize power consumption, noise, and heat management within my environment. The support for the latest Skylake Xeon E3 v5 CPUs, combined with flexible disk configuration options, an expansion slot, and up to 64GB of RAM makes for a home-friendly virtualization host. The SuperMicro IPMI/KVM solution offers all of the necessary functionality for setup and management without the expensive licenses normally associated with other brands/manufacturers. Unit fits flawlessly in standard 2 and 4 post racks. Exceptionally quiet compared to other 1U servers. Value proposition for case, motherboard, power supply and heatsink included with this kit cannot be beat!
Cons: Wasn't free.
Tight confines of this enclosure make some upgrades (e.g. adding the third fan) a bit challenging if you have "man hands".
Additional research required to ensure all necessary expansion options are possible. Drive cage and PCI-E riser are not included.
Other Thoughts: This was my first SuperMicro server purchase. In the realm of small virtualization footprints, the SYS-5019-L model met all of my requirements and then some. The KVM solution works very well for setup and troubleshooting. Basic, traditional BIOS functions as one would expect for server-class configurations. The lack of noise versus the server this unit replaced is worth the price of admission. You can put two or three of these together with a quad-port NIC for dedicated interfaces to an appropriate iSCSI NAS and have a fault tolerant solution for less than the cost of some other 1U solutions. Based on this positive experience, I'll be sticking with SuperMicro solutions for my FreeNAS build.

Setup I'm running consists of:
SuperMicro SYS-5019-L
Xeon E3 1230 v5
480 GB Crucial M550 SSD
64 GB Kingston ECC DDR4 RAM
Onboard dual-port i210 NIC + PCI-E i340-T NIC
Reviewed By:James R.,4/9/2016 11:29:56 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Barebones > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO SYS-5019S-ML 1U Rackmount Server Barebone LGA 1151 Intel C236 DDR4 2133/1866/1600

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great 1U system, legendary SuperMicro quality
Pros: I've deployed 4 of these systems and there's not much to say, they've been great. Once I found some memory and an SSD that worked well, I've used the same for each subsequent build and each machine goes together quicker than the last.
Cons: Memory can be picky, stick with SuperMicro certified memory to avoid any issues. Wish it had a mount for a 2.5" drive, but that's easy to add.
Other Thoughts: There is space next to the bottom of the motherboard for an SSD or two, but no mounts. I just drilled a few small holes (not necessary but nice to keep it from moving) and now I can run an SSD for my boot drive and two 3.5" HDDs in RAID-1 in a quiet and cool 1U system. I love these barebones, and will continue using them when applicable. With a Skylake CPU, 16GB or memory, one SSD and two HDDs, these barebones make for excelent NVR systems.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,3/24/2016 8:54:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Barebones > Intel > Intel R2312GZ4GC4 2U Rack Server Barebone Dual LGA 2011 Intel C602 DDR3 1600/1333

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 It's almost a bait and switch ...
Pros: Overall impression…. not good. It is a well built server rack mount chassis. This server and the other server lines from Intel have good potential if it were not for the VERY SERIOUS issues listed below.
Cons: Over the years Intel Server Group has been slowly removing the parts needed to actually get a server up a going. I’m not talking about CPUs, memory, and hard drives. I’m talking about REQUIRED COMPONENTS that Intel has been slowly removing from their servers in order to FORCE you to spend more money with them. Years ago, once you added your CPUS, memory, hard drives, and PCI cards, you could get the Intel server up and running. NOT ANY MORE. This server for example, has 12 hot-pluggable drive bays. But, only 4 of the drive bays actually work. That’s right … it has 12 drive bays, but only 4 work. In order to get another 4 drive bays to work, you have to purchase a tiny little plug called a “RAID KEY”. What does this little plug do? NOTHING. It simply proves that you have spent more money with Intel. It’s another $120 and is REQUIRED in order to get another 4 drive bays to function. This little “KEY” used to be pre-installed on the motherboard when you bought one of their servers. So … you must go back and buy another $120 gizmo to get up to 8 drive bays working. But, 4 of the 12 hot-pluggable drive bays STILL do not function. You have to buy two more Intel proprietary expansion cards to get them up and running too. Another $650. These parts also used to be included and pre-installed when you bought the server. SHAME ON YOU INTEL !!!
Oh, but it doesn’t stop there. In the latest servers from Intel, they now no longer include the PCI risers. So on the latest servers from Intel, the PCI risers don’t work either. Not without buying MORE proprietary parts in addition to the server from Intel. And, the newer Intel Servers also only include one power supply instead of two. And no mounting rails either. In previous years, Intel servers included both power supplies and rack mounting rails. This is Intel’s attempt to remain VISUALLY price competitive with other manufacturer’s servers on the market, but still gouge more money from us. The price has stayed roughly the same for the base chassis, but they have been slowly removing many of the required parts over the years.

Motherboard:
Seems to work ok. But definitely not up the performance it should be. The motherboard specs at Intel state this board supports 6Gb/s. Not true. All of the external drive bays actually only support up to 3Gb/s. Only 2 internal SATA ports actually support 6Gb/s.

Driver Support:
Absolutely terrible !!! The CD shipped with this server chassis is complete trash. Not even ONE of the drivers would install. The Intel Ethernet drivers on the CD errored out stating the no Intel Ethernet Drivers are installed on the system. The Chipset driver didn’t work at all. We used the chipset drivers from a previous Intel Server (R2312IP4LHPC) purchased a couple years ago to get this server functioning. Download those from Intel’s support site to get this server running. The RAID driver setup program errors out with a blank error dialog. We did get this server up and running by downloading drivers from Intel’s support web site. Not by downloading the drivers for THIS server chassis, but by downloading drivers for a previous Intel server chassis.

Removable drive bays:
They seem to work well. It's a good design that Intel has been using for many years. But … the screws that are used to hold the drives are cheap. So cheap that it is impossible to remove the screws without little bits of the metal flaking off the screws. I suggest you be careful with the screws and be sure to vacuum or clean the drive bays and screws off before reinserting the drive carriers back in the chassis. You don’t want the little bits of screw metal to be sucked in by the fans to your land on your motherboard, do you?
Other Thoughts: Intel servers may be ok for very large enterprise or data centers (who can negotiate better combined deals), but definitely not for medium or small businesses.

This will definitely be the VERY LAST Intel server we ever buy.
Reviewed By:Don Y.,3/23/2016 9:11:32 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Barebones > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO SYS-5038A-IL Mid-Tower Server Barebone LGA 1150 Intel C226 DDR3 1600

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Cheap barebones
Pros: Inexpensive base unit, decent case layout, good performance, lots of SATA ports.
Cons: The mainboard has VGA/DVI connectors on it, and the SuperMicro website has a VGA driver available for the system, which led me to believe that it had on-board video. Upon first boot, the system gave me a 5 short beep code that was not in the manual. Some research on Google revealed that it doesn't actually have on-board video, so I put in a cheap PCI-E card and got it going.

No driver disk. I downloaded the drivers from the SuperMicro site easily enough. but when I installed the USB3 drivers and rebooted, not a single USB port would work with the keyboard and mouse. I tried them all front and back and none of them worked. Reinstalled Windows 7 Pro 64 and left the USB3 off (don't need it anyway).
Other Thoughts: This is a decent barebones for the price, but the drivers were disappointing. Even after installing all of the files listed on the website (minus USB3), there are several devices in the device manager that need drivers. They are serial ports and "simple PCI" devices so not that important to me, but it feels incomplete.

Also I'm not sure why the mainboard has a VGA and a DVI port when there is no on-board video. Maybe there is some add-on component that enables them? The SuperMicro site is unclear on this.
Manufacturer Response:Thank you for your comment! Supermicro needs your comment to improve our quality and service. According to the specification, the video signal comes from the CPU which has built-in integrated graphic. About USB3 issue, Windows 7 needs a Service Pack 1 in order to make USB3 working properly with the driver. For driver missing, please download the full version driver CD from our version. If you need a hard copy of driver CD, feel free to contact our RMA Department. If you still have any question, feel free to contact us. Please see the below technical support contact information:

Phone: (408)503-8000
Hours: 9:00 a.m – 6:00 p.m. Pacific Time (Monday – Friday)

Email address: support@supermicro.com

You can also submit your issue online: https://webpr3.supermicro.com/Support/login.aspx?

Please do not hesitate to contact us if you have any question.

Thank you!
SM Technical Support

Reviewed By:Yurii h.,3/15/2016 6:22:10 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Barebones > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO SYS-5018D-MF 1U Rackmount Server Barebone LGA 1150 Intel C222 Express PCH DDR3 1600

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works perfectly for running Lutron lighting software
Pros: 1U height and slim depth makes this fit perfectly in any SRW Tripplite cabinet
Cons: Air duct was confusing on how they wanted it installed to get the best air flow over the CPU. No pictures, or instruction on how it was supposed to be installed
Other Thoughts: Using this chassis to run the Lutron lighting server software and everything runs great. Paired this chassis with a Xeon E3-1226 v3 CPU, 8GB of RAM and a WD black drive.
Reviewed By:David M.,3/10/2016 7:16:59 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.