Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Shipping Destination: United Kingdom
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Server Barebones > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO SYS-5037C-I Pedestal Server Barebone LGA 1155 Intel C202 DDR3 1333/1066

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Worked for one boot, now dead
Pros: Nice case.
Cons: Put in single 4GB memory stick (Kingston KVR13N9S8H/4). Booted up once, everything seemed fine. On next boot, I got the six beeps indicated "no memory". Thought maybe it was picky about this memory, ordered Crucial CT51264BA160BJ). Same problem, no memory recognized. Now I'm 3 days from the return date, and it's not worth shipping 3-day express. Guess I'll try another motherboard.
Other Thoughts: Very disappointing for a Supermicro product; I've had great success with them in the past. Others have written about this board being memory-picky; my experience seems to indicate it's got some kind of fatal flaw there. Pick another server.
Reviewed By:N/A,10/21/2014 2:51:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Barebones > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO SYS-7046T-6F 4U Tower Server Barebone Intel 5520 Dual LGA 1366 Dual Intel Xeon 5600/5500 Series

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Really nice server!
Pros: Very nicely built all around. Great LSI raid support with desktop management software allowing setup of hot spares etc. Just an excellent server.
Cons: Doesn't come with second power supply.
Reviewed By:N/A,10/20/2014 8:44:32 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Barebones > ASUS > ASUS RS720Q-E8-RS12 2U Rackmount Server Barebone 2 x Socket R3 (LGA 2011-3) per Node Intel C612 PCH DDR4 2133/1866/1600/1333 RDIMM/LR-DIMM/NVDIMM

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 CUtting Edge Server
Pros: I absolutely love this server, it uses the most recent DDR4, and there are a lot of options in the E5-2600 V3 chips. The server is very very easy to put together and install. I love that I can run 4 servers out of one rack. Asus tech support has been very helpful in identifying part numbers needed. Take note: New egg ONLY has one compatible 16GB RAM stick for this server. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820148843

Additionally, you will need an ADAPTEC RAID card or something similar because this server only allows software raid. Make sure you get a low profile card that is no longer than five inches.

This server acts as 4 independent servers, with 4 independent installs and sets of hardware. NONE of the hardware or drives is meant as a redundant solution. Asus mistakenly misinformed me on this product. There is no hardware redundancy except for RAID.
Cons: The thing I had the most difficulty with this server was installing ESXI. Because of it's software RAID and it's need to have the Ethernet Adapter drivers written to the boot disc. If you plan on setting this box up for ESXI right away, know that there will be some ground work that needs to be done first. I had to order an Adaptec raid card, and rewrite the boot disc. Upon doing so this server runs over 54 virtual machines (all on just one node). I have two 16 core processors, and the most they have been taxed so far is 12%.

Finding RAM for this machine that is supported by ASUS is not easy.

This server acts as 4 independent servers, with 4 independent installs and sets of hardware. NONE of the hardware or drives is meant as a redundant solution. Asus mistakenly misinformed me on this product. There is no hardware redundancy except for RAID.
Other Thoughts: I love this server, although you have to boot any OS from USB, it works very very well. There is a considerable difference from this server to a super micro server my machines were on. I very highly recommend this server. However, make sure you have an IT professional look over all the parts to ensure compatibility.
Reviewed By:tjax,10/19/2014 4:51:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Barebones > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO SYS-6017R-TDF 1U Rackmount Server Barebone Dual LGA 2011 Intel C602 DDR3 1600/1333/1066/800

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome Product
Pros: Works as specified out of box
Ample space in the new server design
Cons: none so far
Reviewed By:Brycem,10/14/2014 4:17:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat Low and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Barebones > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO SYS-5018A-MLTN4 1U Rackmount Server Barebone (Black) FCBGA 1283 DDR3 1600/1333

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Usable bare bone, with two caveats
Pros: Extremely light comparing to other 1U chassis/bare bone. C2550 is adequate for NAS/basic web server/DNS server. Currently I'm one stick of 8GB Crucial ram to test in a pre-production environment. The C2550 will be mirrored with another E3 in the cabinet to provide HA. So far C2550 can handle the requests in the case of E3 failure, however the CPU usage does go up by quite a bit (Nginx + PHP-FPM + GraphickMagick for portfolios).
Cons: Though Supermicro claims that you can mount 4x2.5" with the cage MCP-220-00044-0N. Again, poor design by Supermicro's OEM manufacturer. The front panel connector is completely blocking the right side (behind the PSU). Only one screw can be used to mount the cage. But if are going to mount 2x3.5" or 1x3.5"+2x2.5", it is totally ok.

ALSO, PCIE-E RISER WAS NOT INCLUDED.

NO RACK MOUNT SCREWS WERE INCLUDED.
Other Thoughts: If you check the Supermicro website for manual (http://www.supermicro.com/manuals/superserver/1U/MNL-1581.pdf), it reads:

"The box the SuperServer 5018A-MLTN4 was shipped in should include two sets of
rail assemblies, six rail mounting brackets and the mounting screws you will need to
install the system into the rack. Follow the steps in the order given to complete the
installation process in a minimal amount of time. "

It suggests that you SHOULD have the rails. But it did not.
Reviewed By:N/A,10/11/2014 1:01:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Barebones > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO SYS-5018D-MF 1U Rackmount Server Barebone LGA 1150 Intel C222 Express PCH DDR3 1600

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Extremely compact 1U, but with a caveat
Pros: Bought it as a Newegg combo with 1xE3-1230V3, 1xWD Black 1TB, 1x16GB (2x8GB) Crucial DDR3L ECC. I bought another WD Black hopefully to setup a mirror to have redundancy. I also bought another 16GB kit because I will be running ZFS. Cooling is great. In the cabinet with 25C/60%, CPU is idling around 26C with the air shroud. Burning prime95 is aroung 75C, and both hard drives are around 35C when doing intensive task, I would say acceptable.
Cons: Only problem with mounting two 3.5" hard drives is that the mounting on the right is crowded with the cables from PSU and the front panel. You will need to cut the zip ties on the PSU cables and re-routed most of the cables in order to fit the the second hard drive.
Other Thoughts: Although the 1U body is light enough to be front-mounted only, I would recommend getting the a shelf and remove the front mount.
Reviewed By:N/A,10/8/2014 9:40:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Barebones > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO SYS-5017P-TLN4F 1U Rackmount Server System Intel QM77 DDR3 1333/1066/800

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Man
Pros: Easy installation
Cons: .
Other Thoughts: .
Reviewed By:Man,10/5/2014 3:40:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Barebones > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO SYS-1017R-MTF 1U Rackmount Server Barebone LGA 2011 Intel C602 DDR3 1600/1333/1066

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Rock solid
Pros: Just setup a hyper-v cluster with these and they have been 100% rock solid. Fans are very quiet, temps are low, and power draw for two of these running about 10 virtual machines is under 150 watts. Performance is excellent.
Cons: VERY minor, especially given the price point:
- No redundant power supply
- Could use extra USB ports
Reviewed By:N/A,9/29/2014 8:55:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Barebones > ASUS > ASUS RS100-E8-PI2 Server Barebone LGA 1150 Intel C224 DDR3 1600/1333

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent Server
Pros: Great server with lots of features like remote management and on board RAID.
Cons: For the price of this unit there should be none but the only think i can think about is that it does not have dual power supply units. Not like I expected at this price point.
Other Thoughts: Amazing brand and amazing box. Do not buy an i3 CPU as you will need to update the BIOS for those to work. A Xeon will work out the box.
Reviewed By:Cerberus,9/24/2014 1:10:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Barebones > ASUS > ASUS RS100-X7 1U Rackmount Server Barebone LGA 1155 Intel C202 DDR3 1600/1333/1066

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome low cost case!
Pros: I absolutely love these cases, they are about the most economical way to deploy CPU power that exists. They are not fancy, very basic but very functional. Have a cluster of these that whisper at idle and roar under load
Cons: Hard to get them these days.
Reviewed By:kanoa,9/23/2014 11:03:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau