Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Server Barebones > TYAN > Tyan B7040G20Av4H Gt20A Dual Lga1356 500W 1U Rackmount Server Barebone System

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 defective backplane and drivers
Pros: dual cpu motherboard E5 at an affordable price
Cons: fans are way louder than most 1U systems
backplane doesnt have correct drivers so 3rd and 4th drive bays constantly flash
Other Thoughts: dont buy server barebones from "other sellers" just buy from newegg or welcome to a whole world of headaches and wasted time

what was meant to be a wonderful project turned into a nightmare and waste of time

never buying Tyan again.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/25/2015 12:52:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Barebones > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO SYS-7048R-TR 4U Rackmount Server Barebone Dual LGA 2011 Intel C612 DDR4 2133/1866/1600

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Best Deal
Pros: Total of 10 SATA ports on board. Economy price with enterprise quality and functionality! With optional rack mount kit which is very nice this is a great 4U server!
Cons: There are 2 Sata controllers that both support RAID mode. You have a maximum of 6 drives in a single Array on the 1st controller and only 4 on the other. If you want more you will have to invest in a GOOD RAID card. But honestly for the price this is freaking awesome!
Reviewed By:me,3/17/2015 11:12:46 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Barebones > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO SYS-5018D-MTF 1U Rackmount Server Barebone LGA 1150 Intel C224 Express PCH DDR3 1600

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works Well with FreeBSD 10.1
Pros: Works fine with FreeBSD 10.1R generic kernel: NICs are igb0 and em0.
Solid and stable so far.
Also compared with our similar 6 year old Super Micro servers, this one is much more quiet.
Comes with an 80+ Gold power supply.
Cons: None so far.
Other Thoughts: We bought three of them and they are all running well with no problems. CPUs are Xeon E3-1246 v3. As long as I check the load of our UPS, they are pretty energy efficient. Moreover, they are as quiet as recent desktop PCs. I like them so far.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/8/2015 10:52:28 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Barebones > ASUS > ASUS TS700-X7/PS4 5U Pedestal Server Barebone Dual LGA 2011 Intel C602-A PCH DDR3 1600/1333/1066/800

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Decent if you have older processors
Pros: Good MOBO layout with lots of space. Great HD chassis and system with separate but encased RAID backplane.
Cons: Even though it claims to support all Xeon E5-2600 series processors, it does not! Anything V3 and up simply won't fit, since the board notchings have changed. Anything V2 and up won't work until you upgrade the BIOS, which requires a V1 processor.

Power supply seems a little low for this system.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Valued Customer,

I certainly understand your concern with regards to the product that you have. I would like to personally assist you about this matter. Kindly email at customerloyalty@asus.com and place case # N150337478 in the subject line for a reference to your case.

ASUS Customer Loyalty is dedicated in helping you and all other ASUS customers.

Thank you for choosing ASUS.

Regards,
Ana
ASUS Customer Loyalty

Reviewed By:N/A,3/8/2015 10:45:13 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Barebones > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO SYS-5018A-TN4 1U Rackmount Server Barebone FCBGA 1283 DDR3 1600/1333

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Needs ECC-Unbuffered ram
Pros: Not sure yet...
Cons: FYI this required ECC-Unbuffered ram. Not that this is clearly marked in newegg's specs...
Reviewed By:N/A,3/5/2015 4:29:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Server Barebones > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO SYS-5018A-MHN4 1U Rackmount Server Barebone (Black) FCBGA 1283 DDR3 1600/1333

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Flexible Server
Pros: Easy to configure with readily available parts.
Quite.
Supports Linux.
Cons: No out of the box RAID support.
No dual power supply support.
Other Thoughts: I have two of these machines set up. One running CentOS-7 and acting as a L.A.M.P. server. The other set up as a time clock server Running Win7 Pro and MS SQL Server. Both installations were a breeze to set up. I only had to install RAM and HDD's and install the OS. SuperMicro does not have drivers that fully support Windows 7 Pro, but everything that I need is working, so I'm not overly concerned.
I like to run my servers with a RAID 1 (mirrored) set up, but there is no RAID support on the MoBo. I had to use software RAID on the CentOS install, but had to forgo the RAID on the Windows installation. Fortunately there are plenty of extra drive slots that can be used for backups etc...
Reviewed By:Unixmonkey,3/1/2015 6:13:38 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Barebones > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO SYS-5017C-MF 1U Rackmount Server Barebone LGA 1155 Intel C202 DDR3 1333/1066/800

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Bad network
Pros: Good price, good build.
Cons: One of the two mobo network ports is completely unusable in Linux. There's a known issue with that 82579LM chip and driver that causes the network card to go to sleep for 5 to 10 seconds every few minutes even if you disable power management. Not fun with VOIP traffic. DONT RUN LINUX on this box unless you want a big headache.
Other Thoughts: I wish I'd known before I ordered 3 of these, now I am having my remote office ship the server back so we can install an additional network card and disable the on-board em0.
Reviewed By:CyberMage,2/20/2015 9:44:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Barebones > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO SYS-5038ML-H12TRF 3U Rackmount Server Barebone (12 Nodes) LGA 1150 Intel C224 DDR3 1600/1333

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great High-Desity Solution
Pros: We run these in high desity, and are able to fit 120 servers per 47u rack easily! Amazing value! IPMI works great, have yet to have an issue with any of them. We go with the 1231v3 CPU & 1271v3 CPU's.
Cons: A bit more pricey than buying 12x single 1U servers.
Reviewed By:robby,2/14/2015 2:51:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Server Barebones > ASUS > ASUS TS500-E6/PS4 Pedestal Server Barebone Intel 5500 Dual LGA 1366 Dual Intel Xeon 5500 and 5600 Series

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Won't restart without power cycle
Pros: Great unit in general. Reasonable cost, good performance over all. RAID system works... always a plus....
Cons: Same /exact/ problem reported here by Albert M.. Warning light on front panel always comes on about a minute after power up. Stays on. Nothing tells us why. The monitoring software provided by ASUS literally shows random values on all voltage, temperature, and fan speed readings. No really... the values shown on the display just randomly change. We've cleaned it out completely (kept it clean in fact) but you still cant restart it (which is sort of bad for a windows server) without powering it entirely off and then back on. This means it can't be managed remotely.
Other Thoughts: Really wish ASUS would support prior equipment.
Manufacturer Response:Dear James,

I want to thank you for using our product and for making an effort posting this comment and review. I understand that you have a problem with the tower not restarting at all. I want to apologize for the inconvenience this issue has caused you. I want to help you with this issue. Well, the first thing that might be causing this is your memory card (RAM). Try to remove it and place it in another memory slot on the motherboard. If these step will not work, please email me at customerloyalty@asus.com and put case # N150368873 in the subject line for your reference.

I'm here to help you and all others with these issues, as our customer loyalty department dedicated to bringing a resolution to all issues related to our products.

Thank you for choosing ASUS.

Regards,
Mark
ASUS Customer Loyalty

Reviewed By:James Newton,2/11/2015 11:45:10 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Barebones > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO AS-2022G-URF 2U Rackmount Server Barebone Dual Socket G34 AMD SR5670 DDR3 1600/1333/1066

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome server, super fast, good deal
Pros: Good pricing
Reliable Hardware
AMD Chips (Better at multi-tasking).
Cons: None that I can think of except the onboard RAID is not very good.
Other Thoughts: I've built 3 of these for medical clinics, I got it with a RAID Card and ran ESXi with it. Server is super fast, doesn't skip a beat, and doesn't glitch out.

AMD chips provide very good multitasking for cheap.

Setting up a SSD RAID 10 I was able to get 1800MB/s in IO
Reviewed By:N/A,1/28/2015 3:47:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.