Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Server Barebones > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO SYS-5018D-MTF 1U Rackmount Server Barebone LGA 1150 Intel C224 Express PCH DDR3 1600

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Junk
Pros: It turns on!
Cons: I bought this Sept of 2015 and it took for ever to install windows server 2008 on it. SuperMicro doesn't have drivers for the second network adapter. In fact finding drivers was nearly impossible. However, after searching the internet I found what I needed to function. I now need to reinstall the 64bit version of the OS and here we go again. Now after installing the drivers I have found once I restart the computer I get an error saying it cannot connect to "Group Policy Service Client" and it will connect find every 5th or 6th reboot. Still no driver for the •Intel® i217LM adapter. This has been my only SuperMiro Server and it will be my last. I have built Tyan and never had one problem!
Other Thoughts: I would not recommend this product to anyone
Manufacturer Response:We are sincerely apologize the issue you are experiencing with your motherboard. According to Intel, the driver of Intel i217-LM is only available for Windows Server 2008 R2 or newer OS. If you still have any question, feel free to contact our Technical Support. Please see the below technical support contact information:

Phone: (408)503-8000
Hours: 9:00 a.m – 6:00 p.m. Pacific Time (Monday – Friday)

Email address: support@supermicro.com

You can also submit your issue online: https://webpr3.supermicro.com/Support/login.aspx?

Please do not hesitate to contact us if you have any question.

Thank you!

SM Technical Support

Reviewed By:Wayne J.,7/27/2016 4:29:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Barebones > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO SYS-7048R-TR 4U Rackmount Server Barebone Dual LGA 2011 Intel C612 DDR4 2133/1866/1600

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 AMAZING NUMA SUPPORT
Pros: For a server that supports 2 CPU's the price/benefit cannot be beat - NUMA ALL THE WAY!
Includes redundant power supplies!
Tested with Server 2012 Essentials & Hyper-V, clocks at 95% of Host CPU speed.
Fans are fast and breezy for the wattage this unit burns.
Nicely molded air diverters to concentrate airflow over heatsinks and RAM!
Overall A+
Cons: NADA!
Other Thoughts: Consider investing in a workstation graphics card for superior Hyper-V & RemoteFX support
Need to install two different (primary & secondary) RAID drivers to get both controllers running in tandem - iatastorS in order to get dual raid running on this sucker. But once you do, boy oh boy SSD primary's raid 1+0 and secondary raid 1+0 is solid!
Reviewed By:Matthew P.,7/25/2016 8:28:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Barebones > SuperMicro > Supermicro SYS-5028D-TN4T Mini Tower Server wtih X10SDV-TLN4F Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works well.
Pros: Easy to setup, IPMI, works seamlessly with Linux.
Cons: IPMI does not give power consumption
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/14/2016 12:13:05 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Barebones > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO SYS-5018D-MF 1U Rackmount Server Barebone LGA 1150 Intel C222 Express PCH DDR3 1600

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent barebone system for running ESXi
Pros: - Perfect form-factor for my 18U rack enclosure
- Runs cool.
- Moderate noise level.
- Excellent power efficiency.
- USB on motherboard.
- PCI-e riser included.
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: This is my second SuperMicro server (I've a 5018A-TN4 as well) in 2 years and I am pretty satisfied with both of these.

My configuration includes 32GB of Crucial RAM and E3 1231 v3 processor. I use the on-board USB for OS installation and a 1TB green drive as my datastore.

I use this one as an ESXi host to run my development environment. Currently, I am running 5 VMs which includes, CentOS 7, Ubuntu 16.02, VMA and Windows 2008R2. No driver issues, No lag in performance at all. With the E31231 processor, this is a monster.
Reviewed By:Nishant S.,5/23/2016 11:56:51 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Barebones > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO SYS-5018A-FTN4 1U Rackmount Server Barebone FCBGA 1283 DDR3 1600/1333

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works as expected.
Pros: Using it as a PFSENSE router and pushing 300Mbps out and 40Mbps in as IPESC traffic and CPU is only at 9%. Some testing before I placed it in production I was able to push 950~ each way with only 40 - 50% CPU used so a good 1.5 Gbps router!
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: None
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/18/2016 3:20:44 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Barebones > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO SYS-5018A-FTN4 1U Rackmount Server Barebone FCBGA 1283 DDR3 1600/1333

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 No actual problems
Pros: IPMI, lots of ethernet ports, quiet, low power
Cons: Not so easy to find compatible memory. Ethernet ports were on the wrong side of the box for our application.
Other Thoughts: We used Kingston memory (Newegg Inv #137015908) and it worked fine. The bracket to install 2.5" drives is MCP-220-00044-0N. It looks like Newegg has started to mention these on the same page as the computer. That may be chance, but if it is policy, then that bodes well for Newegg customers.

The cooling arrangment appears to meet a concern that the disk drives might catch cold from a draft. There is a tiny fan on the CPU, and one in the power supply, but no baffles to direct air across the drives and CPU heat exchanger. I poked a bit of sponge in the box to prevent air from going to the exhaust fan without passing over any components. I expect that helped, but curiously the BIOS doesn't show any temp data.
Manufacturer Response:Thank you for your comment! Supermicro needs your comment to improve our quality and service. If you still have any question, feel free to contact us. Please see the below technical support contact information:

Phone: (408)503-8000
Hours: 9:00 a.m – 6:00 p.m. Pacific Time (Monday – Friday)

Email address: support@supermicro.com

You can also submit your issue online: https://webpr3.supermicro.com/Support/login.aspx?

Please do not hesitate to contact us if you have any question.

Thank you!
SM Technical Support

Reviewed By:Daniel F.,4/21/2016 2:54:34 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Barebones > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO SYS-6018R-MT 1U Rackmount Server Barebone Dual LGA 2011 Intel C612 DDR4 2133/1866/1600

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great barebone system for the price.
Pros: - Dual CPU and 8 x DDR4
- easy assembly
Cons: - None! But pay attention, this is 1PSU model, if you need two power feeds, just buy another model. SuperMicro has variety of 2PSU models as well.
Other Thoughts: Paired with Kingston KVR16R11D4K4/64I RAM (all 8 slots, 128 GB totally) and 2x Intel Xeon BX80644E52603V3 work amazingly well.
HDD bays are 3.5 make sure you have mounting kits 2.5 <-> 3.5 for SSDs.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/17/2016 8:41:55 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Barebones > Intel > Intel R1304RPOSHBN 1U Rack Server Barebone LGA 1150 Intel C224 DDR3 1600/1333

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Intel R1304RPOSHBN Server does not work with specified processor
Pros: Looks pretty
Cons: We bought this server 2 weeks ago and it is still not working. Does not even get to the BIOS screen. We bought the recommended processor Intel® Xeon® Processor E3-1226 v3, but we come to find out it requires BIOS 02.01.0002 or later. Not sure what BIOS version is installed, but we can't even get to the BIOS screen to find out with this processor plugged in.

Processor Compatibility for Intel® Server Board S1200RP Family:
http://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/support/boards-and-kits/000006943.html

We have the Intel® Xeon® Processor E3-1226 v3, which requires BIOS 02.01.0002 or later. I’ve placed an order for Intel® Pentium® Processor G3220, which has no BIOS requirement. This should allow us to boot the server to perform the necessary firmware update to allow the use of our E3 CPU.
Reviewed By:William W.,4/14/2016 9:03:02 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Barebones > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO SYS-5019S-L 1U Rackmount Server Barebone Single Socket H4 (LGA 1151) Intel C232 DDR4 2133/1866/1600

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Fantastic entry-level server!
Pros: Ordered this model based on the desire to optimize power consumption, noise, and heat management within my environment. The support for the latest Skylake Xeon E3 v5 CPUs, combined with flexible disk configuration options, an expansion slot, and up to 64GB of RAM makes for a home-friendly virtualization host. The SuperMicro IPMI/KVM solution offers all of the necessary functionality for setup and management without the expensive licenses normally associated with other brands/manufacturers. Unit fits flawlessly in standard 2 and 4 post racks. Exceptionally quiet compared to other 1U servers. Value proposition for case, motherboard, power supply and heatsink included with this kit cannot be beat!
Cons: Wasn't free.
Tight confines of this enclosure make some upgrades (e.g. adding the third fan) a bit challenging if you have "man hands".
Additional research required to ensure all necessary expansion options are possible. Drive cage and PCI-E riser are not included.
Other Thoughts: This was my first SuperMicro server purchase. In the realm of small virtualization footprints, the SYS-5019-L model met all of my requirements and then some. The KVM solution works very well for setup and troubleshooting. Basic, traditional BIOS functions as one would expect for server-class configurations. The lack of noise versus the server this unit replaced is worth the price of admission. You can put two or three of these together with a quad-port NIC for dedicated interfaces to an appropriate iSCSI NAS and have a fault tolerant solution for less than the cost of some other 1U solutions. Based on this positive experience, I'll be sticking with SuperMicro solutions for my FreeNAS build.

Setup I'm running consists of:
SuperMicro SYS-5019-L
Xeon E3 1230 v5
480 GB Crucial M550 SSD
64 GB Kingston ECC DDR4 RAM
Onboard dual-port i210 NIC + PCI-E i340-T NIC
Reviewed By:James R.,4/9/2016 11:29:56 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Barebones > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO SYS-5019S-ML 1U Rackmount Server Barebone LGA 1151 Intel C236 DDR4 2133/1866/1600

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great 1U system, legendary SuperMicro quality
Pros: I've deployed 4 of these systems and there's not much to say, they've been great. Once I found some memory and an SSD that worked well, I've used the same for each subsequent build and each machine goes together quicker than the last.
Cons: Memory can be picky, stick with SuperMicro certified memory to avoid any issues. Wish it had a mount for a 2.5" drive, but that's easy to add.
Other Thoughts: There is space next to the bottom of the motherboard for an SSD or two, but no mounts. I just drilled a few small holes (not necessary but nice to keep it from moving) and now I can run an SSD for my boot drive and two 3.5" HDDs in RAID-1 in a quiet and cool 1U system. I love these barebones, and will continue using them when applicable. With a Skylake CPU, 16GB or memory, one SSD and two HDDs, these barebones make for excelent NVR systems.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,3/24/2016 8:54:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.