Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > AMD Motherboards > Biostar > BIOSTAR Hi-Fi A88W 3D FM2+ / FM2 AMD A88X (Bolton D4) 8 x SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 HDMI ATX AMD Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Makes for an excellent build
Pros: Very nice looking board, has the features I was looking for to replace a Biostar T45 Power motherboard that was killed by a static bomb.
Affordable price.
Every thing fit on the board nicely, no problems.
Plays nicely on Linux Mint 17 Rebecca.
Cons: Can't find any so far.
Other Thoughts: Decided to build myself a new computer and chose this motherboard along with:
1. Motherboard - Biostar Hi-Fi A88W 3D
2. CPU - AMD A10 5800K
3. CPU cooler -Gelid Slim Hero, with a custom mount for a Noctura NF12 PWM fan
4. Graphics/video card - EVGA GeForce GTX 750sc 1GB DDR5 pci express 3.0
5. Ram - G.SKILL ARES Series 16GB (4 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 2133 Model F3-2133C11D-8GA0
6. Case - Deepcool KENDOMEN 5FAN
7. Power supply - XFX XTR550 550 watt
8. Hard drive WD Black 1T from my old computer directly with all my programs, files etc. Just popped it in, fired the new build up and BINGO everything ran fine, just had to update the video card driver.

I bought this motherboard after countless research and the fact Mike had good luck running Linux on his. And the fact I have had a Biostar board before that never gave me problems until I gave it a static bomb blast. 6 years on that board. Now I had an excuse to build a new PC.

PC temps as I am typing:
ACPITZ 35C
CPU 26C
Video card 27C

Audio sound thru my headphones and or Harmon/Kardon speakers is superb.
Reviewed By:RoadToad,5/6/2015 2:21:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > AMD Motherboards > MSI > MSI 970 Gaming AM3+ AMD 970 6 x SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Defective
Pros: Very cheap board, and it looks wicked.
Cons: Installed everything and pc worked for less than a day. I wasn't using it for a short time less than an hour and when I tried to move the mouse and get a game installed it was in a standby like mode even though I had turned the settings off so it would never go into hibernation/sleep/stand-by and it also wouldn't turn off using the power button on the case even after holding it down. I had to shut it down using the psu and then it wouldn't post afterward.
Reviewed By:Mitchell,5/6/2015 1:25:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > AMD Motherboards > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE GA-F2A88XN-WIFI FM2+ / FM2 AMD A88X (Bolton D4) 4 x SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 HDMI Mini ITX AMD Motherboard

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Nice ITX not sure if it's the best
Pros: Looks good, and easy to work with physically.
Cons: Bios is a stubborn pile of substitute word for a brown substance that falls from a cavity on the FM2 / FM2 + sockets. Does the job, but the Asrock and Asus bios is much more thorough and easy to manipulate the components that rely on this layer of software.
Other Thoughts: Stubborn bios. Doable, but man... it's no where near optimal. GYB needs better software engineers.
Reviewed By:MauserMan,5/6/2015 1:21:09 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > AMD Motherboards > ASRock > ASRock 970M Pro3 AM3+/AM3 AMD 970 + AMD SB950 6 x SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Micro ATX AMD Motherboard

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 I just want to play GTA V
Pros: It's all black and cheap. It has usb 3.0 header on-board.
Cons: I'm using it with an 8350 and have three 60mm fans, two on the vrm's and one on the norhtbridge. At stock clocks it will not play games at a constant fps. I had to manually overclock the FBS to 220 from the automatic 195 to play at a constant framerate.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/6/2015 12:03:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > AMD Motherboards > ASRock > ASRock FM2A88M PRO3+ Socket FM2+ 95W / FM2 100W AMD A88X (Bolton D4) 8 x SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 HDMI Micro ATX AMD Motherboard

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 complete trash
Pros: nothing
Cons: I bought this board to put into an HDTV box, didn't need bells and whistles to run Hulu or SlingTV so it fit the bill. However, it ran for two weeks and then suddenly it stopped working and wouldn't post. Turns out I was having the arc "bug" where bolts of lightning were being thrown just like some folks have reported.
Other Thoughts: I would send it back, but the shipping and time would cost more than it is worth.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Valued ASRock Customer

Sorry to hear that the mainboard has malfunctioned which’s due to nature of electronic product, it could happen.
Please trouble shoot the mainboard whether the issue is resolved.

• Turn the power off, clear the CMOS.
• Test with single memory module, switching another memory if problem still persist.
• Test with onboard video (CPU with APU or test with VGA card).
• Connect the monitor.
• Turn on the power to check if its post.

If you have any technical Support inquiry, please contact us at http://www.ASRock.com/Support/tsd.asp. We will assist you shortly.

Thank you

ASRock Support
Tech Support Email: http://www.ASRock.com/Support/tsd.asp

Reviewed By:N/A,5/6/2015 10:42:49 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > AMD Motherboards > MSI > MSI 970A-G43 AM3+ AMD 970 + SB950 6 x SATA 6Gb/s ports by AMD SB950 - Supports storage and data transfers at up to 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Works great until it doesn't.
Pros: It had all the features I was interested in at the time of purchase, at a good price, and ran just how I expected it to, for about 3 months...
Cons: The 5V rails on this went bad and started mucking everything up in my system. If you have one of these boards and your system starts randomly freezing for a couple seconds at a time, use some monitoring software like HWMonitor to see if your voltage rails are bad. It's what happened to me.
Other Thoughts: After only 3 months of service this motherboard bought the farm. Before this, I was an ASUS customer. I will be replacing this board with an ASUS one.
Reviewed By:Dalton,5/6/2015 10:34:31 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > AMD Motherboards > ASRock > ASRock FM2A88X-ITX+ FM2+ / FM2 AMD A88X (Bolton D4) 6 x SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 HDMI Mini ITX AMD Motherboard

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 unsure as to problem
Pros: all the features you could need
Cons: performance degrades over 48 hours until a reboot
Other Thoughts: 4 identical builds all 16gb ddr3 2400 all kaveri 7850k all ssd's boot and data. some intel ssd, some corsair, some Samsung, but in each system identical boot and data drives. all these itx's slow down after 48 hours. ATXMB same chipset same manufacturer does not. need to reboot every 48. I have a 6800k at home on a 85x chipset runs for weeks at a time no performance hit but these start to visibly lag. looking at the expense of building tax's just moving all the hardware over to new case and mb as this is unacceptable.
Reviewed By:draegosian,5/6/2015 10:13:06 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > AMD Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS A88XM-E FM2+ AMD A88X (Bolton D4) 6 x SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 HDMI Micro ATX AMD Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Right as Rain
Pros: Installed an A6-5400. Used an older Thermaltake box and a new Thermaltake PS. Plugged it in, pushed the on button and it was off to the races. The box is silent, but the processor, graphics, and sound stand up to my wife's needs. She loves it. You can't beat the ASUS boards and the AMD GPU's for the price.
Cons: NONE
Other Thoughts: I had one mechanical problem with the box. The on button could not reach the switch on the chassis. The easy fix was the nozzle from an aerosol spray can of air. I cut it down to what seemed (without measuring) about two milimeters. I inserted into the hole in the original bar coming out of the switch and then pushed the case back together. It is NOT glued in place. If ever I have to pull the front off that box, I'll have to remember the little addition I installed to start the motherboard rolling. No big woof!
Reviewed By:Tony,5/6/2015 9:53:48 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > AMD Motherboards > Universal abit USA > ABIT AN52 AM2 NVIDIA nForce 520 MCP ATX AMD Motherboard

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Can't Boot from USB?
Pros: Longevity and ECC RAM Support
Cons: I can't figure out the BIOS settings to get this board to boot from USB.

Please email ucdscott at gmail if you know how.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/6/2015 9:10:19 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > AMD Motherboards > ASRock > ASRock 970 PRO3 R2.0 AM3+ AMD 970 6 x SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard with UEFI BIOS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 this board rocks
Pros: I love this board it has so many options, and the 3 5x express is bad to the bone, I have always used Asuse or gigabyte boards, but I thought I would try this one, and it totally blows the comptetions off the maps, and yes it runs the AMD 6 core Cpus with any issues.
Cons: none
Reviewed By:Missterwild,5/6/2015 8:23:07 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg International Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.