Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Switches > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-SG105 Unmanaged 5-Port Gigabit Desktop Switch, Metal Case, Power-Saving

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works Great
Pros: Works Great, Runs Cool
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: I had an old Netgear that was a 10/100. It got hit from a lightning strike that took out one of the ports. My HP has a 2 gbs networking card in it. I bought this and hooked it up. It auto senses speed and connected with the 1 gbs instantly. After it had been running for a couple of hours I felt of the case and the power supply. Both were cool to the touch. The old one and it's power supply was always very warm to the touch. This makes me believe that it is using less power than the old one.
I would recommend and I would buy this brand again as needed.
Reviewed By:jimmie57,3/29/2015 7:35:52 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Switches > SMC > SMC SMCFS1601P NA Unmanaged 16 Port Switch with 16 PoE

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great switch - PoE on all 16 ports
Pros: 1) BIGGEST PLUS - PoE on all 16 ports!
2) Unmanaged - plug and play - easy to setup
3) 2 small fans are not loud
4) Works as intended powering some IP phones
5) Great Price (got it for $160.00)
6) 200 Watts total power budget
Cons: Nothing to report so far.
Other Thoughts: Other thoughts
It is a great switch. I am quite surprised that no one has bought (or reviewed) this switch. I have it powering 6 IP phones and it works like a champ. I have had an SMC barricade router for 3 years that worked without issue - I only swapped it because it never had 5GHz support but SMC products have always been good me. The only thing to watch out for is if you you are rack-mounting it like I did, the screws for the rack-mount brackets are very tiny and could easily get lost.
Reviewed By:RICHARD O.,3/28/2015 2:50:38 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Switches > ZyXEL > ZyXEL GS1100-16 Unmanaged 16 Port Unmanaged Gigabit Rackmount Switch

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works Great !! Excellent Transfer Speeds !!
Pros: Does what it should, and does it Very Well. Excellent speeds, stable transfers, and fair cost.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Wish everything worked this well..
Reviewed By:N/A,3/28/2015 1:05:58 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Switches > Netgear Inc. > Netgear ProSAFE GS108Ev3 8-Port Gigabit Plus Switch (GS108E-300NAS)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Difference between ProSafe & ProSafe Plus
Pros: Works so far
Cons: None so far
Other Thoughts: In case buyers are confused about the difference between GS108 and GS108E (the Plus version), let me explain. The Plus switch is not an update, but rather a feature-enhanced version. If you do not need VLAN or QoS, you probably don't need the Plus version.

VLAN is a method of LAN segmentation in which a tag is added to data packets so that VLAN-aware devices can limit the distribution of those packets to only a subset of the ports. In effect, the switch can then act as it it was multiple switches, each on a different physical segment of the LAN.

The ports on the Plus switches can be configured to assign or remove the VLAN tags to maintain that virtual segmentation. (Generally, one also uses other devices, such as VLAN-aware routers and WiFi access points when implementing VLANs -- not just a single VLAN switch.)

QoS is a method of giving priority to certain types of data streams, particularly video streams and VoIP phone calls, where stutter-free presentation requires that the packets arrive in order and in a timely manner. By contrast, file transfers, Web surfing, printing, etc. do not benefit from such prioritization because the timing order of their packets does not observably affect performance.

Again, if you do not intend to use either of those features, there is little reason to get the Plus switch. (Unless, of course, you prefer the color of the housing.)
Reviewed By:N/A,3/27/2015 12:36:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Switches > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-SG1024D 10/100/1000Mbps Unmanaged 24-Port Gigabit Desktop/rackmountable Switch, Metal case, Power-Saving

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Quiet, works as expected
Pros: Lots of ports, low power, silent, rack mount brackets included. I plugged it in, connected ports, and it just worked. That is what I expect from a switch.
Cons: For desktop applications I would prefer wires on back and lights on front.
Other Thoughts: Bought this to replace a couple of smaller switches and provide room to expand. It uses 11 W with about 1/2 the ports filled according to my Kill-A-Watt. In fact, that is how much power it used when I plugged it in. I don't hear any fans. I don't run jumbo frames, so haven't tested that.
Reviewed By:ecf_in_md,3/27/2015 12:26:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Switches > Rosewill > Rosewill RC-415 – 10 / 100 / 1000 Mbps 5-Port Gigabit Green Ethernet Desktop Switch in Metal Enclosure - 3-Year Warranty

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Broadcast
Pros: It switches
Cons: Constantly sends out broadcasts. Not sure if this behavior is loop detection or not; but I do not like the added network traffic.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/27/2015 10:09:16 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Low and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Switches > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-SG1024D 10/100/1000Mbps Unmanaged 24-Port Gigabit Desktop/rackmountable Switch, Metal case, Power-Saving

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Solid Unmanged Switch
Pros: Working fine without a glitch.
No need for power reboots.
Cons: None so far.
Other Thoughts: I prefer the power plug to be in the the same side as the ports, but that's not a negative for me.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/27/2015 5:31:44 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Switches > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR 8 Port Gigabit Business-Class Desktop Switch - Lifetime Warranty (GS108)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Rock solid switch
Pros: This switch is rock solid, I have never had any problems with it. I have never had to reset it because it locked up. The physical construction is solid and won't break easily of something falls on it.
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: It's a simple switch, the only requirements I have are that it doesn't lock up constantly. This unit has not doe so yet, and the last one I had lasted about 6 years before it had at done it once.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/25/2015 7:48:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Switches > Netgear Inc. > Netgear ProSAFE GS110TP-200NAS (GS110TPv2) 8 Port PoE Smart Switch with 2 Gigabit Fiber SFP

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great 8 port PoE switch
Pros: This is a great switch.

8 port 802.3af PoE with total 46 watt PoE budget.
2 SFP ports.
Jumbo frame support.
VLAN support.
Fanless.
Cons: It is not rackmountable, even though it would be possible to create a shelf that scres onto the bottom of the switch.
Other Thoughts: Anyone who needs an 8-port PoE switch, or an 8-port switch with SFP ports, should consider this model.
Reviewed By:SOREN S.,3/24/2015 6:15:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Switches > ASUS > ASUS GX1005B V5 Unmanaged 5-Port 10/100 Desktop Switch with Green Network

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Switch
Pros: It does exactly what its supposed to do. I've had zero hiccups so far. The LED lights are smoked a little so they aren't as bright. It has a VIP port which will take top priority over the others if its in use. It also has 5 regular 10/100 ports. Size is about 6 in wide, 4 in deep, and 1.5 in tall. It does have mounts on the bottom for the wall. Doesn't get hot at all.
Cons: none so far
Reviewed By:Posiris,3/24/2015 7:31:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.