Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Wireless Adapters > ASUS > ASUS PCE-N15 Wireless Adapter IEEE 802.11b/g/n PCI Express 300/300Mbps Transfer/Receive Rate 64-bit WEP, 128-bit WEP, WPA2-PSK, WPA-PSK, WPS support

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Item Works... kinda
Pros: Item did work and connected to the internet
Cons: Item was not even close to being able to reach the 300mb download speed.
Other Thoughts: I would spend the extra money and buy one that is able to use the 5mhz frequency and has a better download speed. That is what I did and it was well worth the extra 30-40 bucks
Reviewed By:N/A,9/1/2015 3:39:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Adapters > EDIMAX > Edimax EW-7711ULC AC433 Wireless USB Adapter for PC/Laptop, Nano Size to Plug it & Forget it, Upgrade for Faster Performance, Support Windows XP/Vista/7/8/8.1 (5GHz Band Only)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Updated driver
Pros: Still trying it out
Cons: Still trying it out
Other Thoughts: Just wanted to post this link to updated drivers. The chipset in the device is a Ralink chipset and the device comes with a mini-CD with 2013 drivers. Mediatek bought Ralink and the updated drivers appear to be working well (I just installed them in Win7 Pro x64)

Since NewEgg won't let me post the link, go to Mediatek and find the 2015 drivers for the USB devices - USB(RT2870 / RT2770 / ...)
Reviewed By:N/A,9/1/2015 2:28:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Adapters > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-WDN4800 Dual Band Wireless N900 PCI Express Adapter, 2.4GHz 450Mbps/5GHz 450Mbps, IEEE 802.1a/b/g/n, WEP/WPA/WPA2

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Gets the job done
Pros: Cost effective. For what you pay for it, you really can't beat it. My rig is set up in the opposite corner of the house away from the router and i have FULL signal, and am streaming video in 1080p while downloading video games. Happier than a pig in....a buffet line
Cons: I paid $40something dollars. I got more than what I paid for.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/1/2015 2:27:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Adapters > Intel > Intel 3160 Dual Band Wireless-AC 3160 Plus Bluetooth IEEE 802.11ac Mini PCI Express 433 Mbps Wireless Data Rates

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 So far, so good
Pros: Easy to install and gave me the speed and 5ghz I needed to cut through local clutter. I have this installed on an older Asus K52F, replacing an older Intel adapter.
Cons: Unfortunately, this one did not work on my wife's even older HP G72-B60US. Gonna have to return one of the 2 I ordered and find something else. Bigger hassle, though, was that the software and drivers would not automatically remove and/or update the current Intel drivers on my Asus. I had to manually rip everything out and then start over. Not hard, just a pain.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/1/2015 1:48:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Adapters > STARTECH > StarTech.com PCI Express Wireless N Adapter - 300 Mbps PCIe 802.11 b/g/n Network Adapter Card - 2T2R 2.2 dBi

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 No hassle wireless solution.
Pros: I've bought two of these now for use with Dell Optiplex small form factor computers that don't include a wireless card.

The package includes a CD with drivers and an extra bracket for small form factor enclosures. The bracket has screw-in sockets for two small unidirectional antennas, also included.

Plug in the card in a PCI express socket, install the driver, and go. No problems connecting, no dropouts, no compatibility issues with Windows 7.

Easy solution for boxes that don't come with built-in WiFi.
Cons: None.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/1/2015 12:56:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Adapters > Rosewill > Rosewill RNX-AC1200UBE - Dual Band Wireless AC1200 Adapter - IEEE 802.11AC a / b / g / n, Up to 867 Mbps (5.0 GHz) + 300 Mbps (2.4 GHz) Data Rates, USB 3.0 Interface

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 I expected better. Disappointment
Pros: This device worked right out of the box.

The device works with Windows 10. this device is no faster than the 4 yr old Wi-Fi card in the laptop.

I have an EA9200 router and wanted to utilize the 5ghz AC so I bought this hoping that my Wi-Fi HD streaming would improve.
It's the same as it was before.

The range is better than the internal Wi-Fi card.
Cons: The driver's were outdated on the CD. Had to go online and download them before I could install this USB device.
Reviewed By:Anfeldt24,8/31/2015 10:33:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Adapters > TP-LINK > TP-Link Archer T2UH AC600 High Gain Wireless Dual Band USB Adapter

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good despite annoyances
Pros: This things works! In fact it works rather well. I normally don't bother to use any type of USB networking device. I make sure to either purchase my mobile devices with adequate integrated wireless connectivity or I go the PCI-E route for desktops needing wireless connectivity (although many motherboards today have it onboard now too). For a desktop needing wireless AC, this is a pretty decent solution however, as it is easily up and running within minutes and avoids all the fanfare of installing a PCI-E card and the like.

So I tested this on my daughter's computer, which is the only machine in our house that isn't a laptop that connects using WiFi. I also happens to be located across the entire length of the house, whereas the majority of other WiFi devices are usually much closer to the router.

Let's just say it worked really well. There are a few if any devices that ever hit their advertised theoretical speeds and this one is no different. This is because of a few reasons, some of which I'll share later, but ultimately because no device does due to real-world conditions and overhead. So I could list some numbers of transfer speeds, but I don't feel as though they provide much context. So instead I'll explain why this device did well. When I compare it to any other USB network adapter I've ever used or tested, it did anywhere from 2-3 times better in terms of transfer speeds. I did some gaming with it (albeit some what light gaming) and it was fine there also. It had strong connection despite it's somewhat poor location. I was able to use both 2.4GHz and 5GHz bands equally as well. So it's the best right?

It was good sure. But it's numbers were no better than the PCI-E AC900 Wireless Adapter I already had installed in the same machine. You might be thinking "Well why would it be better? It's advertised as an AC600 and you are comparing it to a AC900 device". And that's totally logical. It's just that if the PCI-E AC900 does no better, then there are other factors at play that are probably limiting both devices and sharing the numbers is a bit misleading. I do feel comfortable stating however that it did perform as well as the better more expensive solution. This is why I feel comfortable recommending this as a good affordable solution for a desktop machine that needs Wireless AC.
Cons: So the obvious issue with this device is simply this. It's a USB 2.0 device. USB 2.0 is only capable of up to 480Mbps. They are stating the wireless technology is capable of 600Mbps. So there you go, it could never actually ever do the advertised speeds. So we can hold that against them.

However, as I explained in the Pros section, it's unlikely it matters. Sure they are being very truthful in how they are describing and marketing their device. But at least in the scenario I tested the device in, a better PCI-E AC900 wireless adapter performed similarily.

I do feel that it should support USB 3.0 though. It just should regardless of any real world arguments and I'm a little dissapointed that it doesn't.

Here is another thing I didn't care for with the device. It's long and unweildly. I first was going to spend my time testing this using a laptop and then after trying it thought to myself, "Who would really be using this thing in a very mobile situation?". It was constantly in the way and thought I was going to catch it on stuff as I moved around. When I finally felt comfortable using it with my laptop I was sitting at the kitchen table with my laptop in a relatively static position. This is why I decided to stop using the device with my laptop and instead focus on using it with a desktop. I'm not saying it is a bad fit for laptops, for any laptop that doesn't already have AC, this will work, but it might limit your mobility a bit or at least make you be a little more careful. Granted the length and need for the large antenna is part of the technology that makes it work well, but if they ever figure out how to minimize the technology and keep the effectiveness, this device is going to seem a bit dated.
Other Thoughts: Again I'd like to state that I think this is a good device. I think it's most appropriate application is using it for a desktop machine that needs a higher bandwidth connection and is easy and quick to install. An older machine that doesn't have any open PCI-E slots is probably a good canidate.

Video streaming (Netflix, A-VOD, Hulu, HBO, etc...)and gaming (TF2 is what I tested it with) all worked great for me. I got slightly better signal strength and lower latency using the 2.4GHz band. This was probably due to my poor location from the router. Despite that 5GHz worked fine.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/31/2015 10:22:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Adapters > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-WN725N Nano Wireless N150 Adapter, 150Mbps, IEEE 802.11b/g/n, WEP, WPA/WPA2

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 bad wifi
Pros: very slow .drop all the time dont buy .trash
Cons: very slow .drop all the time dont buy .trash waist time and money.return
Reviewed By:N/A,8/31/2015 7:56:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Adapters > Rosewill > Rosewill RNX-N150UBEv2, Wireless N150 Wi-Fi Adapter, IEEE802.11b/g/n, Up to 150Mbps Wireless Data Rates, USB2.0 Interface, 1 x 2dBi Detachable High Gain Antennas, Win 8.1 Support

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Cheap and it works great!
Pros: It's cheap and it works great!
Cons: none!
Other Thoughts: I bought this for my mother in~laws 8 year old PC that's running Windows 7. And it works perfect!
Reviewed By:N/A,8/31/2015 4:59:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Adapters > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-WN881ND Wireless N300 PCI Express Adapter, 300Mbps, w/WPS Button, IEEE 802.1b/g/n, 64/128 bit WEP, WPA/WPA2

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Weak signal strength
Pros: It will get you connected, but that's about it.
Cons: Very weak signal strength. Even when my pc was within 10-15 feet of my wireless router I still would only get 4/5 bars at best. Any further than that and the signal strength would drop drastically to the point I couldn't hold a connection. Not to mention, with the weak strength, it also brought my transfer speeds to a crawl.
Other Thoughts: I could not recommend this adapter. It states that it's an 802.1 N, but it doesn't pick up on the 5GHz range. So it's no better than a b/g card.

I ended up switching it out for another wireless card and got much better signal strength. The new one isn't worth mentioning since it doesn't pick up on the 5GHz range either, but I get full signal everywhere in my house. So I know for sure this TP-LINK wireless card was at fault.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/31/2015 12:32:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg International Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.