Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Business Projectors > CASIO > CASIO Green Slim XJ-A130 XGA 1024x768 2000 Lumens DLP Projector Mercury Free Light Source

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 It's fine, not great.
Pros: Small, light, bright for small footprint, long lamp life. Good throw distance and zoom capability
Cons: The focus on my unit is a bit off, some parts will be in full focus, others will be slightly off. This was not the way with a previous projector I had. Noisier than I would have wanted, especially when not using eco-mode, also, the XGA resolution is very outdated, even at time of purchase (2010).
Other Thoughts: This projector is fine, it is not great
Reviewed By:Molson01,1/29/2015 6:46:02 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Business Projectors > Acer America > Acer X1161P SVGA 800x600 2700 Lumens 3D Ready DLP Projector

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Real piece of junk
Pros: none
Cons: This projector barely had 15 hours on it and the "Fan Fail" warning comes up and Acer will not even talk to me about it. THEY SAY THEY DON'T SUPPORT PROJECTORS! STAY AWAY FROM ANYTHING THESE PEOPLE MAKE!
Reviewed By:N/A,1/28/2015 6:46:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Business Projectors > OPTOMA > Optoma DH1009 1920x1080p FHD 3200 ANSI Lumens, Dual HDMI, MHL & USB Inputs, Built-in speakers/Audio pass through, 3D Ready DLP Projector

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 You definitely get your money's worth
Pros: The 5 egg rating applies to a comparison of the other projectors in the same price range.

A friend of mine was looking for an inexpensive HP projector, and every once in a while Newegg has this on on sale for $530-550. He picked it up for $530 and I helped him install and set it up.

First off, the manufacturer was not pulling a Samsung and exaggerating the contrast ratio, it is 20,000:1 which is better than a lot of the Chinese 4k TVs people are buying these days. The contrast was also on par, if not noticably better than the Vivitek, which up until I saw this unit was my go-to inexpensive 1080p projector.

The 6 segment color wheel is fast and rainbow effect you get when moving your eyes disappears after a few minutes of viewing. Unlike with older DLP projectors most people wouldn't even notice it unless you pointed it out.

The image is very bright, even in the "Reference" mode, which offers best contrast. Patches of light on people's faces do not appear splotchy. Flesh tones push more toward the green end of the spectrum, which is to be expected on any DLP projector in this price range. Color convergence and uniformity are perfect, which is also normal for DLP. Black levels aren't bad, and for a projector this price the black level is exceptional. The projector has a surprisingly loud speaker, and more importantly an audio-out jack which is great for getting audio out of your HDMI device when you're setting up at a friend's house or on the road and don't want to bring a lot of gear. It has a real rubber button remote control - not those bubble-pack membrane remotes you see on cheaper electronics these days, and a nice, easy to use menu interface. Frequently used controls are on the top of the projector.

The lamp is rated at 6,000 hours and the projector has an "eco mode."

I haven't seen 3D on this projector, but it's DLP, so it should have minimal ghosting compared to LCD.
Cons: Inputs are on the right side of the projector, so the wires will be sticking out.

There is no composite, component, or S-Video input, so if you have older devices like a classic game console or a standard-def satellite receiver you'll need a decent HDMI-capable stereo receiver or a VGA box to upconvert.

This projector does not do a great job deinterlacing 1080i - in fact, I'm not sure it does it at all.
The fan on this projector is a bit loud. The decibel level listed in the technical specs is for the "eco mode."

When this projector loses HDMI sync it locks up - BADLY to the point you can't turn it off. You don't want to have to pull the power while it's hot - make sure you either keep your HDMI cables to 12' or less, or use Redmere repeater cables for longer runs.

Gripes that are going to apply to pretty much EVERY DLP projector in this price range:
The image is too green.
The image is not focused uniformly between the center and the perimeter of the image. (Fewer lens elements/cheaper lenses)
Loud fan
No lens shift
No motorized zoom or focus
No image processing when using low-quality sources
Other Thoughts: The prices on this projector vary wildly, but if you see it for $550 I highly recommend it. A lot of people seem to have outdated misconceptions when it comes to projectors these days. This projector has the contrast ratio you need to get the most out of your high definition movies and video games.
Reviewed By:Clay,1/24/2015 11:09:32 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Business Projectors > Vivitek > Vivitek Q5-WH 1280 x 720 Up to 500 Lumens HD Pico DLP Technology by Texas Instruments LED Pocket Projector 10,000:1

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Good Projector HORRIBLE Customer Service
Pros: * Very compact
* Good image
* Easy Setup
* Variety of connection options
Cons: * The item came with a broken power supply. I phoned them to get a replacement. They promptly forgot and I had to contact them again to get the replacement power supply sent to me.

* After a year, the internal storage memory failed

* I tried to contact customer service (using the email they provide on their website) 3 times - THREE TIMES,...
over 2 weeks and received NO RESPONSE.
Other Thoughts: I have the Qumi Q2 as well and decided to spring for the Q5 as it is incredibly portable and provides a good image in a shaded area.

If I had known that customer service was going to be this bad, I would have opted for one of the other competing projectors.

I really do want to like the Q5 and for awhile I did, but I highly recommend you AVOID this projector.due to product reliability and remarkably poor customer service.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/23/2015 4:55:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Business Projectors > AAXA Technologies Inc > AAXA P300 Pico/Micro Projector with LED, WXGA 1280x800 Resolution, 300 Lumens, Pocket Size, Media Player and HDMI, DLP Projector

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Very slick and super easy to use
Pros: Light weight
Unplug and Play - readily plays video and loops video
Fast charging
Credit card size remote control works just fine
Price
Works in a lit room
Impresses the hell out of people
Has a cool stand that does not have a cheap plastic screw - I don't know what that other reviewer was referring to.

I read the other reviews and I have to really wonder if the negative reviewers have any concept as to how amazing it is to have a battery operated, media reading (no external video source needed), 300 lumens DLP projector that fits in a jacket pocket - at any price - let alone for under 4 bills (I bought a refurb.). I frequently have to present my work to clients and to have the ability to just whip this tool out and instantly project my project deliverables on a blank wall without leaving behind any intellectual property is just amazing.
Cons: No carrying case (includes a small polybag but a micro fiber carrying bag would be awesome).
Black top shows finger prints like crazy
No fishing pole included
Other Thoughts: Dude, I love the look on people's faces when presenting AV - this technology is finally is as cool looking and self contained as it always should have been. I wish it came with a cool little carrying micro fiber bag that protected it.
Reviewed By:cboz,1/20/2015 10:32:45 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Business Projectors > ASUS > ASUS S1 854x480 WVGA 200 Lumens HDMI & MHL Inputs w/ Carrying Bag Short Throw Portable LED Projector

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great little inexpensive projector
Pros: Wasn't expecting to much as I picked this up for $259 on sale, I was pleasantly surprised. This little guy looks great at 10' away it's projecting 125" and is still clear enough for viewing with my chromecast connected in the bedroom. Loved the tripod mount and the fact it has a pretty decent and easy to use menu setup.
Cons: Only fault this guy has is it doesn't come with a remote and has no IR sensor to use a universal remote. Every time I want to use it I have to climb up and hit the power button. I knew this before buying so I'm not knocking off any eggs but a sensor to use a universal would have been great.
Other Thoughts: I use this in the bedroom and often fall asleep with it on. I'm glad to see when theres is no input recognized, it shuts down. So while theres no sleep timer built in to the projector it self, if I set my inputs sleep timer it shuts everything down.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/7/2015 5:58:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Business Projectors > BenQ > BenQ - MH680 - BenQ MH680 3D Ready DLP Projector - 1080p - HDTV - 16:9 - F/2.59 - 2.87 - SECAM, NTSC, PAL - 1920 x 1080

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 LOOKS BEAUTIFUL!!
Pros: Beautiful clear image, True 1080p resolution, Bright enough to see in a day light room, hooked up to my pc, cablebox and xbox all at the same time with no issues.
Cons: After 60-70 hours of use my bulb went out.. this is the only reason I am giving it 4/5 eggs.
Reviewed By:Loganwil2,1/5/2015 9:02:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Business Projectors > Acer America > Acer K132 1280x800 WXGA 600 ANSI Lumens 16:10 Aspect Ratio, HDMI/MHL Input, w/ Carrying Bag, Keystone Correction, 3D Ready – 120Hz Frame Sequential, Portable LED Projector

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Do NOT buy
Pros: Small
Cons: Does not focus
Other Thoughts: Do not purchase this item. You will not get your money back either.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/5/2015 10:46:08 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Business Projectors > AAXA Technologies Inc > AAXA LED Pico Projector with 80 Minute Battery Life, mini-HDMI, mini-VGA, 15,000 hour LED life, and media player

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great for presentations
Pros: We bought this for commercial presentations of prior work at trade show booths and lunch and learns. The setup is easy and the display was visible for all in the first instance we used it, a room about 20 feet deep. The projector was set up about eight feet from the wall. The speakers were decent, although I used the headphone jack to attach it to external speakers. For carrying with me, the size can't be beat.
Cons: It doesn't charge while being used, so be sure to get your full charge on before using it. There are multiple options for connecting to displays, but if you need speakers, make sure your HDMI plug doesn't cover the headphone jack (our adapter did). We ended up using a micro SD card instead of plugging it into our tablet.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/5/2015 9:27:08 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Business Projectors > ViewSonic > ViewSonic PJD7820HD 1920x1080 FHD 3000 ANSI Lumens, Up to 120Hz Refresh Rate, HDMI / Dual VGA Inputs, Auto Keystone Correction, 3 Year Warranty, 3D Ready DLP Projector

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 110" of Glory!
Pros: This thing is everything i wanted in a projector for the ~600$ range. It is very bright even on the ECO setting. Works well during the day or with very bright ambient light. I even shined a blindingly bright halogen desk lamp at the image(at ~100" sizing) and it was barely noticeable.

The throw is a tight range but good enough for my setup.

I am displaying on an orange peel textured beige wall, and neither has significant impact, there are numerous scuffs and holes in the wall which are not visible unless a mostly white image is displayed.
(i will be building a custom screen frame once i really fine tune and decide the sizing i want)



I have NOT tested the 3D yet, i will be doing that with 3Dvision soon, but if my mitsubishi 73" DLP history is any indicator, it will take a lot of tweaking to get it running proper.
Cons: The menu is satisfactory but could be arranged a little more intuitively (nitpicking).

More HDMI ports (i bought a 3x1 switch to compensate)



there is a simple 10-20$ fix ( im being generous here ViewSonic) that should be implemented:

There is ONE thumbscrew for adjustment, it is front center. THATS it.... it works fine for meetings and quick and dirty setup.

However, for a home theater arrangement it would be very helpful to have rear adjustable feet and also to have the same setup on the other side of the unit, i cannot mount the unit to my ceiling (apartment and all) so i flipped it upside down on a book case, and wedged a dvd case to produce proper elevation, if the rear adjustable feet were available i could have probably left it in the normal upright configuration.

This is not a dealbreaker, just a simple silly fix. 800$ technology brought down a peg by a 2$ plastic screw..... just silly
Other Thoughts: I still give this a 5 as none of the cons actually diminish the viewing experience, mostly they are setup issues or just components of the design that are not optimal.

The speakers are fine for down and dirty sound, but i imagine most people will have a 5.1 or better setup if they are purchasing this unit. It will get the job done without making your eardrums cry.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/2/2015 12:58:19 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.