Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > SSD / HDD Accessories > Enermax > Enermax Mobile Rack EMK5201U3 - 5.25" drive bay designed for one 3.5 HDD/SSD + one 2.5" HDD/SSD + two USB 3.0 ports. SATA 6.0G (SATA III) hard drives compatible

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Very good, albeit a little cheap
Pros: Adds two trayless external hotswap bays and two USB 3.0 ports. Both hotswap bays can be used at the same time and if your motherboard supports it (you can enable it in the BIOS) the hotswap functionality.

This makes it wonderfully easy to create offline storage and backups. And if you use bitlocker, encrypted offline storage.
Cons: The first time I went to use the security key to lock the 3.5" bay door, it stripped the head of the lock. Some parts of the door and spring latch look and feel very cheap and it should be handled with care.
Other Thoughts: If I had a third USB 3.0 header, Id probably get another if and when this goes on sale. For its $60 price, I do wish it was made to last.
Reviewed By:AuTo,8/28/2015 2:15:10 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > SSD / HDD Accessories > BYTECC INC > BYTECC Bracket-35225 2.5 Inch HDD/SSD Mounting Kit For 3.5" Drive Bay or Enclosure

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Perfect
Pros: Works great - perfect for my needs. I love that it's plastic.
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: I love that's it lightweight & plenty strong. Perfect if you want to create a raid setup with two SSD's.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/28/2015 9:56:11 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > SSD / HDD Accessories > ICY DOCK > ICY DOCK EZ-Fit Lite MB290SP-B 2 x 2.5” to 3.5” Drive Bay SATA/IDE SSD/HDD Mounting Kit / Bracket / Adapter

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Does the job
Pros: - Cheap
- Many screw holes, so will fit pretty much anywhere
- Easy mount and dismount of drives
Cons: - Build is a bit flimsy (with only one drive installed, it's kinda bent)
- No vibration dampening for mechanical drives
- Screw holes are untapped, so you'll need to deploy some elbow grease
Other Thoughts: Definitely would buy again, but there's room for improvement.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/28/2015 9:50:51 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > SSD / HDD Accessories > Thermaltake > Thermaltake RC2300101A MAX-2533 5.25" (x2) Bay to 3.5" (x3) Bay Mobile Rack HDD Canister

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Slot 3 DOA
Pros: Would be nice, if the third slot worked. Good looking unit, and would suit my needs perfectly.
Cons: 1. Third slot is DOA, as listed in another review. I tried all of my SATA ports in my computer, and none of them worked with the third bay.

2. Installation instructions are vague. Had to research this on other websites about the dual SATA and Molex connectors. (I found out, through a rebranded product identical to this one, that you need one or the other, not both. That should be defined in the instructions.)
Other Thoughts: As a video editor, I need access to several drives at a time, and I also need to change out drives frequently, as I work with high amounts of 4K footage. Having a backplane is ideal for what I need to do, as the pricepoint on thunderbolt is still a little high.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/27/2015 5:51:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > SSD / HDD Accessories > ICY DOCK > ICY DOCK EZ-Fit Lite MB290SP-B 2 x 2.5” to 3.5” Drive Bay SATA/IDE SSD/HDD Mounting Kit / Bracket / Adapter

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 ICY DOCK EZ-Fit Lite MB290SP-B
Pros: Works great and fit in the space where I needed it to fit,
Cons: It would have been nice to include some self tapping 6-32 screws, since most disk drive and disk drive holders are set up for those screws. My disk holder uses some fairly long 6-32 screws mounted on shock mounts, so I had to buy a 6-32 screw tap to tap some holes in the bottom of the adapter to fit. The holes were in the right place, but had no threads.
Other Thoughts: This is a good sturdy mounting adapter, but be aware that you will probably have to do some threading of the holes in order to use it in most applications.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/27/2015 11:48:41 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > SSD / HDD Accessories > ICY DOCK > ICY DOCK EZ-Fit Lite MB290SP-B 2 x 2.5” to 3.5” Drive Bay SATA/IDE SSD/HDD Mounting Kit / Bracket / Adapter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great add on
Pros: Does what its intended to do. Can't say I had any problems with installation. Cheap
Cons: none.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/27/2015 10:49:57 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > SSD / HDD Accessories > Orico > ORICO AC52535-1S -BL Full Aluminum 5.25 to 3.5 or 5.25 to 2.5 SATA & IDE Hard Drive SSD Mounting Bracket Adapter Kit Bay Converter

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Nice, but careful with those threads!
Pros: Aluminum- Can't go wrong with aluminum, unless...
Cons: Aluminum- Threads cut in aluminum are weak. You WILL strip the threads if you aren't careful!
Other Thoughts: A tight fit, but it works as it should.

Do yourself a favor and buy some Lian-Li thumbscrews to use with this. Finger tighten only! Don't be tempted to use a screwdriver.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Valerie:

Thank you so much for choosing ORICO as your preferred choice, this is Lor from ORICO customer care team. Your kind feedback is the best encourage that keeps us moving forward and constantly improving our goods and services. My email address is lor@orico.com.cn, please feel free to contact me if you have any problem.

We looking forward to hear from you and purchase from ORICO again!

Best Regards
Lor

Reviewed By:4_degree,8/27/2015 9:46:32 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > SSD / HDD Accessories > BYTECC INC > BYTECC Bracket-35225 2.5 Inch HDD/SSD Mounting Kit For 3.5" Drive Bay or Enclosure

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: cheap and easy. it is perfect for what anyone would need it for.
Cons: none
Reviewed By:N/A,8/26/2015 12:42:19 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > SSD / HDD Accessories > ICY DOCK > ICY DOCK MB324SP-B ExpressCage 4x2.5" SAS/SATA HDD Hot Swap Mobile Rack comparable to tray-less design

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Perfect consumer drive tray
Pros: - Make your ssd's easily accessible
- Removable Fan with multiple speed settings including auto
- Tool free design, drives 'snap' securely into the plastic trays
- Makes those 5.25 bays actually useful
- No performance impact, speed is identical to directly attached drives.
- Individual IO drive LED lights
Cons: - Made of plastic, this could be considered a plus since it costs half the price of the tougharmor series which is geared towards commercial/enterprise. With that said typical home usage it should be durable.

- Will not fit enterprise SAS drives, but will fit standard SSD' and 2.5 standard consumer drives.
Other Thoughts: I've been thinking about getting a tougharmor bay for a while now, but it was tough to justify the cost. This new expresscage series is perfect for home users looking for the convenience without the durability of the metal trays and enclosure. The plastic seems pretty durable and should last a while as long as you don't toss the trays around.

It supposedly offers 'anti-vibration' and there is some metal around the top and sides, but I cannot comment on how good it is since I only have SSD's in the cage.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/22/2015 11:05:09 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > SSD / HDD Accessories > ICY DOCK > ICY DOCK MB998SP-B ToughArmor 8 x 2.5” SATA 6Gbps 7mm HDD / SSD Mobile Rack / Cage in 1 x 5.25” bay

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome product!
Pros: Fantastic product, built with quality in mind, and easy to use.
Cons: Price is a little steep, but it's the only 8-in-1 cage that I could find at the time.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/21/2015 9:18:25 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg International Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.