Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > SSD / HDD Accessories > STARTECH > StarTech 25SAT22MSAT HDD Accessory

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 WoW
Pros: Im not sure why the other reviews are not a positive as mine i am never comfortable using a computer of any kind without Raid 1
with that said i tried this on HP Envy M6 my boot time was 36 seconds with the Toshiba sata drive it came with and wasn't terribly happy with that when i decided to try this i didnt expect that to change much i was wrong i implemented this with hopes of data redundancy only raid 1 and my boot time is 9 seconds now i think maybe it depends more on the speed of the drives installed if you want fast buy the fastest drives you can find i use samsung evo's and couldn't be happier this thing is scary quick
Cons: took a bit to find software to monitor the array that would work with it as startech has none for it Jmicron HW raid manager works with it great
Other Thoughts: buy the fastest drives you can find and you wont be disappointed also you need to set your raid up using USB on another computer and initialize them before you install them in your destination computer then install your OS and you wont be sorry you got it
Reviewed By:Anonymous,12/2/2016 3:32:22 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > SSD / HDD Accessories > CRU-DataPort > CRU-DataPort 10 Removable 6G SAS/SATA Drive Carrier (8441-7139-0500)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Fantastic product. Solves plenty of problems without introducing any.
Pros: Doesn't make you use your expensive drive's edge connector over and over. This carrier has it's own connector for insertions/removals.

Sturdy.

Drive manufacturers' diagnostics will detect and test drives correctly.

Great for offsite backups

Great for booting another OS rather than using a dual boot kludge. Just swap out the carrier with one having another drive with OS and you are ready to go.
Cons: None other than the classic "it's not free."
Reviewed By:Mark J.,12/1/2016 3:06:50 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > SSD / HDD Accessories > STARTECH > StarTech.com 5.25in Trayless Hot Swap Mobile Rack for 3.5in Hard Drive - Internal SATA Backplane Enclosure (HSB100SATBK)

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 short lived.
Pros: Easy to install, functioned as expected. For 9 months.
Cons: Failed. Machine wouldn't boot one day, couldn't find the disk. Removed disk from the device and connected it directly to the SATA cables that had been on the back. Machine proceeded to work flawlessly
Other Thoughts: The hot swap capability this device provides is something I need in my Home Office. Although I'm disappointed in the longevity of the product the functionality that it provides means I may buy it again. It worked perfectly until one day it didn't.
Reviewed By:Charles A.,11/30/2016 10:06:39 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > SSD / HDD Accessories > Orico > ORICO Aluminum 2.5 " & 3.5 " SATA or IDE HDD or SSD to 5.25 Bracket 2.5 to 5.25 or 3.5 to 5.25 Hard Drive Bay Converter Mounting Bracket Adapter -Black (AC52535-1S-V1)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 No information, no Installation instructions, no documentation
Pros: Really sturdy.
Cons: No information, no Installation instructions, no documentation. Couldn't find anything on the manufacturer's website, even tried a blanket search for some sort of installation guide. I get it that it's a really simple product, but even then, for less experienced users/techs such as myself, it's good to have some sort of documentation/instructions whether it is with the product or on the manufacturer's website. It has a tiny picture on the back of the box which it's so small, I can't even make it out. I am personally having trouble with the rubber washers with my 3.5 inch HDD
Other Thoughts: If anyone could provide some documentation or some sort of guide (with pictures/video preferably), I'd happy change/delete this review
Reviewed By:Anonymous,11/29/2016 6:27:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > SSD / HDD Accessories > BYTECC INC > BYTECC BRACKET-CD950 4 Channels Laptop Caddy Tray for SATA III HDD/SSD (SILVER)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome Laptop Must-Have
Pros: Do you use the optical drive in your laptop? Yeah, I don't either. I originally picked this up so I could install a second os on my system and for backups. I have used the caddy with ssds and hdds and it works great with both. The little rubber screw inserts reduce vibration and keep the drive snug in the caddy, and the transfer speeds are great. Screwless design is great and makes changing drives easy.

Hot swappable. Awesome product for anyone who enjoys fast transfer speeds and extra storage space.
Way cheaper than Brand Name caddy tray.
Cons: N/A. Why didn't I know about this sooner?
Other Thoughts: Caddy is not flush with rest of case (it is recessed about .5 in. on a latitude e64xx laptop), but since it's designed to fit all laptops this is a minor issue, and I think it actually makes it harder to remove the caddy by accident.
PAY ATTENTION TO YOUR BAY SIZE: this comes in 4 versions. Silver ones have no capacitors and have 9.5 mm and 12.7 mm heights. Black versions have capacitors (for "power stabilizing"? ? ? O.o ) and also come in 9.5 mm and 12.7 mm heights.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,11/29/2016 12:54:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > SSD / HDD Accessories > BYTECC INC > BYTECC Bracket-525 3.5" Drive/Device Transfer Bracket For 5.25" Drive Bay (Black)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 A Perfectly Fine Bracket
Pros: Good fit for mounted component and also into computer case.
Cons: None, really.
Other Thoughts: This bracket arrived in perfect condition with no damage. Needed to retrofit USB 3.0 capability into the wife's HP8000 CMT. The Tek Republic TIU 3000 3.5 inch USB 3.0 front panel unit fit perfectly into this bracket, with no gap, and the color and texture of this bracket matched the USB 3.0 unit and the HP case perfectly.
The plastic is slightly on the soft side, which is good for working it into shape. Had to insert the USB panel into this bracket from the front; it wouldn't line up properly when installed from the back. When inserted from the front, the screw holes lined up perfectly after a little bit of careful pushing, and the USB 3.0 unit was flush with the front of the bracket. I didn't really use the included screws, but instead used those included with the Tek Republic TIU 3000, which resulted in a solid mounting of the USB 3.0 front panel unit into this bracket as there are six usable screw holes.
Likewise used the custom HP screws for the exterior of the bracket to mount into the case. Once again, the plastic is soft enough for the HP screws to cut the threads. The bracket then fit perfectly into the slide rails on the HP case, and lined up with the other front panel components in the cage.
So with careful some workmanship, this bracket will do a fine job, and lends itself to some customization. It had to be perfect, since this was, after all, the wife's computer...
Reviewed By:Timothy Y.,11/29/2016 12:08:38 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > SSD / HDD Accessories > ICY DOCK > ICY DOCK MB153SP-B 3 in 2 SATA Internal Backplane Raid Cage Module

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good Product
Pros: First, it shipped quickly. Ordered Wed. before Thanksgiving and arrived the next Monday from 2000 miles away. Easily installed and seemingly sturdy. A bit difficult opening each tray the first time but no problem after that. Drives fit nicely into trays, trays go in easily and easy to close. Connection is solid and only time will tell if that holds up. First power up no problem with any of the trays or disk connections. Fan works and hot swapping is no problem.
Cons: It's hard to criticize something when it works well and has a price tag of $20 (after sale price & rebate) plus tax. Although not a problem, the power connectors have very little space around them for the fit. Care is needed to make sure you don't pinch a power cable sliding the unit in place. It would be nice if the specs gave dimensions especially because of the rear fan. I wasn't too concerned since the case used has adequate room except by the video card (way too close).
Other Thoughts: Very good product especially considering the price. Doesn't have power switches for the bays but I already knew that going in. Wish I had gotten one sooner.
Reviewed By:Stanley G.,11/28/2016 8:59:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > SSD / HDD Accessories > Rosewill > Rosewill RDRD-12001 - 2.5" or 3.5” HDD / SSD Drive Bracket For 5.25" Drive Bay, Black

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Pretty Good
Pros: pretty inexpensive and good for my Rockman fan controler
Cons: would be really worth it if it were metal when i original ordered it they did not send me the product only an envolope with some case screws that i ordered with this after an additional week i finally received it
Reviewed By:raul Q.,11/28/2016 8:50:18 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > SSD / HDD Accessories > ICY DOCK > ICY DOCK MB482SP-3B EZConvert Air Lite Top-Free Open Air 2.5" to 3.5" SATA Hard Drive or SSD Converter / Mounting Kit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Just what you need
Pros: Makes an SSD fit right into a standard rotational drive slot. Not fancy, just gets the job done. Highly recommended.
Cons: A few had SATA connector blocks that were a little misaligned. Be sure to loosen the screws holding the connector block before connecting the SSD. Then install the drive screws and re-tighten the connector block screws. Makes for a lot less stress on the SSD's connectors that way.
Reviewed By:Guy L.,11/28/2016 2:58:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > SSD / HDD Accessories > BYTECC INC > BYTECC BRACKET-120 Screw Less Design for 2.5" HDD/SSD to 3.5" Drive Bay

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Wouldnt recommend
Pros: Cheap
Cons: You get what you pay for. Very cheaply made breaks easy
Reviewed By:Cory B.,11/28/2016 10:58:18 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.