Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > Roku > Roku 3 (4230R) Streaming Media Player With Voice Search (2015 model) - Certified Refurbished

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 fine as long as it works
Pros: Can't beat the processor speed and ease of use.
Cons: I have had 2 refurbished R3s and both went DOA just outside of the warranty period. My advice- buy it new
Reviewed By:DONALD F.,5/5/2016 11:31:32 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > SiliconDust > SiliconDust HDHR4-2US HDHomeRun CONNECT 2-Tuner ATSC DLNA/UPnP Compatible Streaming Media Player for Cord Cutters

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Almost what I wanted, almost
Pros: The reception of ATSC channels with this tuner is the best I have ever used. Found all the channels in my area, and the HDHomeRun Software plays channels with very nice clarity. Software was fairly easy to install and configure. But,,,
Cons: No subtitles, closed cations with their HDHomeRun software. With poor hearing this is a deal breaker for me. And I tried NextPVR, Kodi, MediaPortal 1 and 2, all of which failed miserably.
Other Thoughts: A friend loaned me this device to try before I buy. Glad I got that chance because I would have been very disappointed with the lack of closed captions for tv shows. Had it not been for that one thing I would buy this tuner right away. I have been looking to replace my aging and no longer supported Pinnacle 800i. I also have a Happauge WinTV-HVR-1600 but that has very poor reception and their new WinTV8 software has super buggy subtitles, usually spewing out gibberish instead of text. Looks like my search continues.
Reviewed By:Russell F.,5/5/2016 11:21:46 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > AVerMedia > AVerMedia H837 Volar Hybrid Q

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent product for Montreal area
Pros: I opted for the Avermedia AverTV Volar Hybrid Q H837 mostly for the added function of the FM radio. There is a new driver on their website for this tuner, from April 2016, but from what I can tell it just has Win10 support, it is not a new one, just enhanced for Win10. I am located in Montreal area, I am not getting anything on analog TV but for ATSC I am getting Radio Canada and Canal Savoir with the mini antenna that is supplied and all the FM radio channels around. Both TV channels are in 720p and the image is crystal clear, and as a guy that has fiddled with TV tuners for at least 15 years, believe me when I say that I am blown out of the water by the quality this little tv tuner offers! It just seems that my current CPU ( C2D T7500@2.2GHz ) is a bit on the low side in terms of processing power for live ATSC HDTV as every 2-3 minutes I loose a second of TV transmission. My laptop is a Dell Precision M6300 with 4GB RAM and I upgraded the internal HDD with my trusty Crucial M4 128GB. The Media Center component of Win7 Ultimate is absolutely useless as is not capable of detecting ATSC or FM radio, I am relying on Aver Media's software package which is intuitive to use. And it gives you an option to record from the FM radio as well. The OTA ATSC HDTV recording is done at a rate of 2MB/s, while the FM radio recordings are done in .wav or .wma format, depending on what you choose in the settings. The split in the files that are recorded can be done at CD size 650MB or DVD size at 4.47GB.
Cons: For this price I would have expected to have come complete with the analog capture break-out cable as well.
Reviewed By:Marius P.,5/4/2016 2:13:27 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > NVIDIA > NVIDIA® SHIELD™ - 4K Streaming. Advanced Gaming. Android TV.

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Wanted to like it, but couldn't force myself to do so
Pros: -Fast and Snappy performance
-4k streaming
-Supports HDMI CEC
-TV remote can control the device (via HDMI CEC)
-Small/quiet
-Expandable storage via microSD card
-Can stream Steam games via GameStream
Cons: -Product I received was defective (see "Other" section)
-Controller is too bulky and the thumb-sticks are too close together
-Android TV operating system needs lots of work
-Price is about $100 too high
-Didn't come with a remote (you can purchase a very basic one separately for about $40 -- not worth it)
-Both USB ports were on the back (would have liked one on the front to make it easy to hook up another controller)
-The game streaming service would work "some" of the time, but one day it kept making my streaming PC restart/freeze
-HDMI cable that came with the device would not stream any 4k content. Had to buy an extra one to get 4k Netflix to work
Other Thoughts: Would I recommend this to someone else? Yes, if you have the money to spend and are in need of a 4k media streaming device, by all means, buy this product. However, it is pricey and the controller doesn't even come close to the Xbox 360 controller I already owned.
Now, the reason I gave this a 2/5 eggs? Well, after a week with the device of mostly daytime usage, one night I was watching a rather dark movie and saw a very noticeable split right in the middle of the screen. The left hand side was displaying proper colors, but the right hand side was very green and the image almost looked like it was playing at 480p, when the left hand side was displaying 4k. At first, I thought I would try different HDMI ports on both my home theater receiver AND TV, but that didn't solve the issue. I also tried multiple HDMI cables and was still having the issue. My TV was still in warranty so I had Sony send me a replacement, but nope, the issue was still present. At this point I knew it was the Shield. I tried a factory reset, tried changing a bunch of settings on both my new TV and Shield itself, but could not make the problem go away. Now, this wasn't an issue when it was hooked up to a 1080p HDMI port on another screen that I tested, but the reason I bought the Shield was to watch 4k content, to which it could not display.
Looks like I will stick with my HTPC and SteamLink for my streaming needs. I am returning this device for a refund.
Reviewed By:Tyler P.,5/4/2016 10:35:30 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > Elgato > Elgato Game Capture HD60 Pro, stream and record in 1080p60, superior low latency technology, H.264 hardware encoding, PCIe

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Looks Great works Great
Pros: Install's easy, works great it's simple to use. Software download is simple and easy as well. Steam setup is easy as well. The Elgato HD60 Pro is the best Elgato I've used.
Cons: I wish it hard a back plate but that doesn't effect its proformance any.
Reviewed By:Mary M.,5/3/2016 12:34:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > Elgato > Elgato Game Capture HD, Xbox and PlayStation High Definition Game Recorder for Mac and PC, Full HD 1080p

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Why didn't i just get this first!? (Read other comments)
Pros: -USB interface.
-Small and portable
-Can use a laptop to capture. (For the most part)
-Captures RCA right off the bat. No need for converters or any of that nonsense. It just captures RCA right of the box!
-Works on Mac.
-Actually captures PS3!
Cons: -Can be quite demanding on your pc. 50-70% on i7 4770k (according to task manager)
-Software can be a bit confusing but isn't too hard to figure out
-Built in editor is nothing to write home about.
Other Thoughts: I had purchased a little over a year ago the Avermedia Live Gamer HD (PCI-e Capture Card) and it had worked well until about a week ago. Any system it was plugged into would cause Windows (10) to bluescreen before it reached the Login Screen. So for a replacement i decide to get this and it so far it is a much better choice.

The biggest issues i encountered with the Avermedia that was fixed with the Elgato:

-Needed a desktop PC to capture with. Makes it a bit of a pain if you wanted to capture a game system in a different location. (ie playing Wiiu in one room with a smaller tv and wanting to play Xbox one in the living room. You get the idea)

- Capturing anything that was not HDMI. If you wanted to capture say a Nintendo 64 it was possible but not easy. I ended up buying 3 different RCA->HDMI converters before i found one that worked. And even that only worked if i plugged the HDMI into the input of the Xbox one. in other words N64- > HDMI Coverter -> Xbox One HDMI Input -> Capture Card. Man what a debacle.

- Audio Sync Issues. The Avermedia Live Gamer HD captured in a "Variable Frame Rate" Meaning if the game dipped below 30fps/60fps the capture card did as well. Using media info you could see a clip that had a max FPS of 30 and min of 12 fps. This means using Adobe Premiere to edit you would loose audio sync almost instantly. Using handbrake to render it at a constant Frame rate would correct this a little but i found it still tended to fall out of sync after about 20 min. Using the elgato i found it would loose sync after about an hour. Now that is much better! That being said! This problem was not apparent in Final Cut Pro on Mac and would keep in sync for a very long time with the Avermedia.

-Capturing PS3 is easy! For once. It's not HDMI so the quality isn't the absolute best but it works! HDCP made it difficult with the Avermedia.


Issues with the Elgato that the Avermedia solved.

-System demand. That little USB capture card kicks a PC's rear end when it comes to CPU usage. The PCI-e card makes system usage very low. (5-10% CPU Usage. Disk usage was very similar between the two) This makes it much harder to play a game and record/stream it on the same pc.

-The overall video quality was better on the Avermedia. Picture was more crisp (assuming due to larger bandwidth availability with the PCI bus.)

Overall i am very impressed with the Elgato. As nice as the quality was on the Avermedia the large backwards compatibility and the constant frame rate vs. the variable frame rate makes this the capture card for me! If you are someone who will be playing nothing but newer consoles that use HDMI (Xbox 360/One, Ps4, Wiiu, PC) then the Avermedia Live Gamer HD may be the better choice!

I will also be doing a comparison on my YouTube Channel Tee Stains if you would like to see a side by side comparison in video quality!
Reviewed By:Alex L.,5/1/2016 7:24:11 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > NVIDIA > NVIDIA® SHIELD™ Stand

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 The shield fits nicely on this and looks great.
Pros: It is weighted and It has a no slip base which works great because I hook up a second wired controller to my shield and even if you tug on the controller wire it does not budge.
Cons: Cant think of any.
Other Thoughts: I would recommend this if you use a wired controller on your shield.
Reviewed By:Daniel J.,5/1/2016 2:43:25 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > NVIDIA > NVIDIA® SHIELD™ Pro - 4K Streaming. Advanced Gaming. Android TV.

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 This is awesome and works great with my existing system
Pros: This is great, especially if you use Kodi, now I can ditch my netflix and cable tv and it streams my steam games from my NVIDIA gaming computer perfectly.
Cons: Cant think of anything bad.
Other Thoughts: My wife loves this.
Reviewed By:Daniel J.,5/1/2016 2:36:48 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > Western Digital > WD TV Live Media Player WDBHG70000NBK-HESN

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 My thoughts on WD live
Pros: This will do just about anything you would want out of a set top box whether that be viewing with local storage or streaming via a network or watching online videos through Netflix or your preferred streaming
service.
Cons: My only con with this would be navigating through the menus can be a slow process but that's a small thing for something this great.
Reviewed By:bradley s.,5/1/2016 1:21:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > Western Digital > WD WDBZKS0010BBK-NESN My Passport Cinema 4K UHD Movie Storage

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works as advertised
Pros: Works well with MGO (now Fandango). UHD w/HDR looks great on my 2014 HU9000 set.
Also great for MP4's, MKV's and personal storage.
Cons: Nothing really wrong with it once you learn how to properly configure and use it.
Other Thoughts: Following guidance in the MGO troubleshooting thread of the AVS forums. Got this working flawlessly on day one of availability last year from BB. Too many newbies jump on this assuming it's plug and play. It's not. You do have to be patient and understand how to go through the configuration and registration process. Also you must ensure your HU's serial number is displayed in the "contact samsung" portion of your TV's setup menu. You may need to go into the SM and even the ASM to get it all working properly and get the "two on us" free movies. Connected to your windows PC (uses NTFS, MAC won't work) you can delete the unwatched and unwanted pre-loaded movies to make room for those you do want.
Reviewed By:Thomas B.,5/1/2016 8:56:48 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.