Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Shipping Destination: United Kingdom
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > Western Digital > WD TV Live Media Player WDBHG70000NBK-HESN

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Excellent Product
Pros: Very Reliable it will play for many hours looped.
Great Price
Cons: Can be a little quirky after a few weeks of continuous play but restarting the unit usually fixes it right up. if not reformatting and copying back the USB drives contents will work.

Also it can overheat if you stack them on top of other players. or other devices.

Zoom setting does not stay when repeating.
Other Thoughts: I am sure there are lots of other Pros but my use has been very specific (for digital signage)
Reviewed By:Jay,9/16/2014 12:31:08 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > Ceton > Ceton InfiniTV 6 PCIe - 5205-DCT06IN-PCIE - Six-tuner Card for Watching Digital Cable TV on the PC, PCI-Express x1 Interface

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 This product eats Smartcards and your time.
Pros: 6 tuners would be nice if they ever worked.
Cons: After replacing 3 Smartcards, I decided to try the HDHomerun and after 15 minutes of fiddling with the HDHomerun Prime everything worked.

The Infinitv was a disaster from the box, I tried to set it up with their media center application on windows 8.1 Pro and every time I launch Media Center it says that the application failed to launch.

The InfiniTV acted like it worked with the smartcard and it would even say in the Diagnostic that everything was connected properly, but the chanels would not tune. I was on Forums, and Support. I called the cable company multiple times. I even reinstalled my operating system, and nothing would make it work. I updated the firmware, downgraded the firmware, I uninstalled, reinstalled... on and on. Every now and then if you remove a smart card, or if you upgrade the firmware the smartcard would stop working all together. So them it was a trip to the cable company for a replacement.

After 3 replaced smartcards, I decided to spend 115 on the HDHomerun Prime just to add another variable, and that proved it was the Ceton card that was an utter failure.

The HDHomerun did not need a tuner adapter to operate, everything just worked.
Reviewed By:sean,9/16/2014 9:19:41 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > Roku > Roku 1 Digital HD Streaming Media Player - Hulu, Netflix, Youtube, Pandora

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Buy!
Pros: Needed an inexpensive digital streaming device for my bedroom (because heaven forbid I get out of bed to watch Netflix, I mean, seriously). Picked up this refurbished Roku 1 to fulfill all of my binge watching desires and it has not disappointed. I was actually pretty surprised at how easily it set up - took about 10 minutes from start to finish, and that included creating a Roku account. Streaming quality is pretty good and the interface is super easy to use; even when you're really sleepy and just want to turn the darn thing off because you fell asleep whilst binge watching Doctor Who. The contraption itself is very small and unassuming, another positive surprise. Overall, this thing is pretty sweet. So sweet, in fact, I just purchased another one for my craft room. Because, you know, a girl can't just craft and NOT binge watch critically acclaimed dramas and sci-fi!
Cons: The only con I can think of is that you HAVE to create a Roku account and complete setup from a separate internet-having device. Not a huge deal given the fact that you can do it from a phone or ipad or, really, whatever interwebbing device you have around, but was kind of a pain.
Reviewed By:C-Flash,9/16/2014 6:54:15 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > Tablo > Tablo 4 Tuner DVR for HDTV Antennas SPVR4-01-NA

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Very good option for cutting the cable
Pros: Lower monthly/lifetime cost than Tivo
Subscription is per account and not per device like Tivo
No more cable bills
Excellent customer service
iPad app works amazingly
Cons: New device so the UI could use some work for usability and consistancy
Other Thoughts: I've been using this for about a month now and am generally happy with this device. It allows you to schedule recordings for OTA programs. We don't watch too much on cable so this will be a perfect replacement when it matures and gets the kinks worked out.

I've used it with the built-in browser with my LG Smart TV, laptop, Chromecast, Android tablet, and iPad. The iPad and laptop performance was incredible. Very fast loading for recordings, and live TV worked great. My TV's built in browser did not do very well, but I've come to find out it's because of the browser and not the Tablo. I'm planning on buying a Roku stick to use instead. I also wasn't impressed with the Chromecast performance. It seemed slow, although it didn't consistently crash, like the LG browser.

The company is very active on their support forums so it seems they are truly trying to improve their product. I'm hoping that it won't take long to hire the people needed to bring the features their customers would like and make the usability more seemless between the different interfaces.
Reviewed By:Chris,9/15/2014 9:00:27 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > Hauppauge > Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-950Q USB TV Tuner Stick/Hybrid Video Recorder with Remote Control

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good hardware, mediocre software
Pros: Scans in NTSC/ATSC/ClearQAM channels just fine. ATSC tuner sensitivity is equal to that of my TV. I use it with Windows Media Center to DVR shows from the antenna (primarily PBS).

I had the original 950 for a couple years, then when I fried it (shorted the antenna amplifier it was plugged into) I replaced it with the 950Q. It's served me reliably ever since.
Cons: Included software is pretty bad. I only use it for the composite in from the VCR to back up old tapes. WMC is faster at changing channels than the WinTV software.

The provided antenna is alright, but I'd recommend an actual antenna (even rabbit ears are better)

Because I have it on the 12" USB extension, sometimes it sags juuuust enough to disconnect from the rear USB port. It will NOT work if you plug it back in until you restart the computer (at least in Windows 7 x64).
Other Thoughts: Be sure you have hard drive space since it records the video/audio exactly as received. A 1080 ATSC broadcast is around 6-7GB per hour. My DVR folder is around 500GB so far.

Also, be sure you hold onto the install CD if you want to update the software (it may have been improved in the last year or two). I'm pretty sure you can install the drivers alone from their website, but updating WinTV requires having the old CD in the drive.

Using Windows Media Center you cannot capture video using the A/V connection, but that's how Microsoft designed WMC.
Reviewed By:kittyhas1000legs,9/15/2014 8:12:18 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > AVerMedia > AVerMedia LGP LiteGL-310

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Amazing Cheap Card!
Pros: -The Price!
Only costs $100
-User Friendly!
Coming from a person with a ton of tech knowledge it was pretty easy to set up I let a friend borrow it tho who has absolutely no tech knowledge what so ever and he had no issues with it :)
-Size!
Not to big but no to big of a card
Cons: Nothing really :) Ive owned this card for a month now and I have had absolutely no issues .. yet :)
Other Thoughts: If you are looking to record your gameplay either from PC,X Box,Or Playstation this card is amazing! If you are recording your PC this card takes a ton of load off your CPU and GPU without reducing quality at all!
Reviewed By:Fever,9/14/2014 11:19:27 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > SiliconDust > SiliconDust HDHomeRun PRIME - Three Digital Tuners, Anywhere on Your Network HDHR3-CC Ethernet Interface

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Excellent but with hiccups
Pros: Great video quality, small footprint, cheap, 3 tuners, decent software. Once set up and with a great set of routers, is excellent!
Cons: Takes some time to set up (cable company issues, Cox)
Other Thoughts: After setup and pairing 2 of these, I still am missing about 20-25 digital channels. Took about 6 m-cards and 4 TAs to set it up and get it to pair. Talked to Cox about the missing channels and they said that it has to be the HD homerun primes. Hopefully a firmware update will fix the issue.
Reviewed By:themyers,9/14/2014 6:29:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > AVerMedia > AVerMedia EzRecorder 130ER130 HDMI Interface

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 AVerMedia EzRecorder
Pros: All functions outside of recording a video stream work very well.
Cons: On my system the video recording did not work, I am returning it for a refund.
Reviewed By:gp5548,9/14/2014 8:15:49 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > iDeaUSA > iDeaUSA DTV001 iDeaTV Dual Core Android Computer Smart Stick

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 disappointing so far
Pros: super-cheap.
includes wireless keyboard/touchpad which use a dongle in the single USB connector
includes cables (although they're too short)
supports a USB hub to give you more ports (and the keyboard works when plugged into the hub).
The wireless keyboard/touchpad seemed to work OK when I plugged the dongle into my gentoo laptop running X11.
Cons: It never was able to connect to my wifi even when I moved it to within 4 feet. Other devices like android phone and tablet could use the wifi from the same location and farther.

Often a series of dialogs would pop up telling you various processes had crashed (e.g. GTasks and Picasa Tool, Facebook, Explorer, Picasa Uploader)

The "adb" tool does not recognize the device if you connect its usb charging cable to a laptop (robbing me of the ability to adb logcat for a better idea of what is going wrong).

The provided cables (9" HDMI, and 2'8" power) are unreasonably short. Most people will find themselves buying either a longer HDMI extension cord, longer charging cable, or an electrical extension cord.

power-cycling the unit appeared to make it forget the passwords for wifi.
Other Thoughts: I connected a USB storage stick, but was unable to figure out how to browse the media stored on it. The "ES File Explorer" app that was preinstalled would crash. The Gallery didn't list anything.

I'm not sure if the unit is desperately short of RAM, or if all the apps explode when they can't get on the network. I anticipate I will return this unit for exchange and if the replacement is similarly useless, I will ask for a refund.
Reviewed By:bob,9/13/2014 4:28:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > SiliconDust > SiliconDust HDHomeRun PRIME - Three Digital Tuners, Anywhere on Your Network HDHR3-CC Ethernet Interface

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works Great
Pros: Purchased this for MythTV. Works great on both Verizon Fios and Charter. Have not had a chance to try it on Comcast yet.
Cons: N/a
Other Thoughts: Charter does require the extra sdv device to be used with this item.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/12/2014 1:37:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau