Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > Roku > Roku 3500R Streaming Stick (HDMI) with Remote Control

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Best stick out there!
Pros: Easy setup for either 1080 or 720p displays
Fantastic menu system (Much better than Firestick or Chromecast in my opinion)
Best remote response I've experienced when pausing/fast forwarding movies on Netflix or HBOGo.
Fantastic price
Cons: none at all
Other Thoughts: My samsung smart TV downstairs does not work anywhere near as smooth or ultra fast as this ROKU OS does - installed on this generic HDTV in my spare room. I am planning on purchasing another and using it in the Samsung, instead of the built-in Apps it uses.
Great picture and ultra-fast loading, even better than when I watch Netflix on my PC. It loads the correct resolution right away, instead of starting the videos in low res and slowly clearing/sharpening up.
Reviewed By:David Coppafeel,12/24/2014 2:19:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > SiliconDust > SiliconDust HDHR3-CC HDHomeRun PRIME - Three Digital Tuners, Anywhere on Your Network

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works Great
Pros: Can record digital/HD cable from Comcast. Can be installed anywhere in my house. Less equipment to rent from "big cable." Activation was easy compared to what I had read. www.comcast.net/activate , and I waited about 2-3 minutes and the cable card started scanning for channels.
Cons: took some getting used to with Seagate FAT+ and Sony DLNA tv. Teaching the wife and kids how to use.
Other Thoughts: I connected this with a HDHR4-2US and the WMC records on the antenna channels as priority leaving cable tv available to stream live. WMC states a limit of 4 tuners cable card and 4 tuners from antenna.
Note to Jon T. from RI: Cox cable will be dumping analog channels soon, you might want to reconsider trying the prime again. Here in CT Cox cable has given us the heads up as a business customer at my work.
Reviewed By:Craig S.,12/24/2014 9:19:35 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > Hauppauge > Hauppauge WinTV HVR-1250(HVR-1265) Hybrid TV Tuner w/ Video Recorder PCI-E x 1

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 HVR-1265/1250?????????????
Pros: The TV tuner card is not bad...it works.
Cons: This company is a JOKE, right? The Hauppauge sales rep told me they packaged the WinTV HVR-1265 tuner card in boxes that are labelled WinTV HVR-1250 because they don't want to reprint the old boxes with the new model. Oh yeah...no confusion there!!! The Newegg rep couldn't explain to me why the model on the box doesn't match the actual product.
Reviewed By:N/A,12/23/2014 3:25:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > iVIEW > iVIEW Streaming MiraDongle iVIEW-100MD Streaming from Android 4.2 Smartphone or Tablet to TV

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Not for most people
Pros: When you get connected there is very little lag
Cons: setting up the connection
very little android apps work correctly with it
Reviewed By:erm1974,12/23/2014 3:13:12 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > Ceton > Ceton InfiniTV 6 ETH – Six-Tuner CableCARD Ethernet Network Tuner for Win7 and Win8 PC 5504-DCT06EX-ETH

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Ceton InfiniTV 6 ETH
Pros: works great. I have tested recording 5 DRM movies at the same time and it works without issue. I have not had any issues with overheating.
Cons: n/a
Reviewed By:N/A,12/23/2014 8:25:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > Google > Google Chromecast HDMI Streaming Media Player (H2G2-42)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Simple, easy to use, powerful
Pros: Cheap (especially on sale!)
Easy to use
Works without problems
On its way to ubiquity - tons of new app support!
1:1 phone/tablet screen mirroring
Cons: Could use more app support, but it's getting there
Other Thoughts: This was my 3rd Chromecast purchase so far. I had gotten one for my parents when it first came out and it was so great I got myself one shortly thereafter. This purchase was for my friend for xmas ($25 on sale!).

I love chromecast. I use it with my phone or tablet and with the increasing app support it is the best streaming conduit I've ever used (way better than built in smart tv apps or casting). App support is getting larger and larger making me think that eventually everything will support chromecast. There is ever local file casting now (my favorite app is LocalCast, just use the 'experimental' option!).

I love that I dont need to use the TV remote control, everything is controlled by the phone/tablet app. because of this, the UI is great and connection is perfect! I use it for netflix, localcast, hbo go, showtime anytime and youtube mainly, but theres lots of new apps added all the time.
Reviewed By:postulio,12/22/2014 11:55:45 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > SolidRun > SolidRun Video Device CuBox-i4 Pro. V2 1.2GHz Quad Core Android Media Player

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great as a lightweight home server
Pros: I've been using a Raspberry Pi B+ as a home server to run a simple Node.js chat program I made with decent results. However, I wanted something more powerful that could handle additional tasks (nginx, MySQL, and other things I wanted to experiment with), so I researched other options. I was originally going to get a Beaglebone or a BananaPi, but then I found the Cubox and its sister, the Hummingboard. At the time I did my research (October 2014), the Cubox i4pro was hands-down the most powerful single-board-computer (it's basically a Hummingboard with a different form factor) on the market in this cost bracket.

SolidRun markets this box primarily as a media streaming device, and I'm sure it's fine at that, but it also makes a great lightweight server that can actually handle some pretty beefy tasks. The community support doesn't match the level of the Raspi, but it's still sufficient. I'm currently running a community-built image of Debian Wheezy in a headless setup with my filesystem on an SSD (which was easy enough to set up). There's also an active development community concerning distros of ArchLinux and Fedora available for the Cubox. The performance gains on my server over the Raspi are astronomical, and I couldn't be happier with my purchase.
Cons: * The microSD isn't spring-loaded, as others have said, which means that you need a tweezers to pull out the card. Once you've set up your Cubox, you shouldn't need to remove the card often, but it's still an annoying process.


* Although I enjoy tinkering and I thought the process of installing a Debian image was pretty straightforward, this is not a device that is ready to go right out of the box. if you've never messed with Linux before and you just want a media center that works immediately, you probably want to find another option.

* Onboard wifi does not support the wireless AC standard (at least, not as far as I can tell).
Other Thoughts: I don't use this box for its intended purpose (media streaming), so I can't comment on its ability to transcode video or anything like that.
Reviewed By:Chris,12/22/2014 8:40:10 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > SolidRun > SolidRun CUBOX-I4PRO Platform

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Perfect lightweight server
Pros: I've been using a Raspberry Pi as a home server to run a simple Node.js chat program I made with decent results. However, I wanted something more powerful that could handle additional tasks (nginx, MySQL, and other things I wanted to experiment with), so I researched. I was originally going to get a Beaglebone or a BananaPi, but then I found the Cubox and its sister, the Hummingboard. At the time I did my research (October 2014), the Cubox i4pro was hands-down the most powerful single-board-computer (it's basically a Hummingboard with a different form factor) on the market in this cost bracket.

SolidRun markets this box primarily as a media streaming device, and I'm sure it's fine at that, but it also makes a great lightweight server that can actually handle some pretty beefy tasks. The community support doesn't match the level of the Raspi, but it's still sufficient. I'm currently running a community-built image of Debian Wheezy in a headless setup with my filesystem on an SSD (which was easy enough to set up). There's also an active development community concerning distros of ArchLinux and Fedora available for the Cubox. The performance gains on my server over the Raspi are astronomical, and I couldn't be happier with my purchase.
Cons: * The microSD isn't spring-loaded, as others have said, which means that you need a tweezers to pull out the card. Once you've set up your Cubox, you shouldn't need to remove the card often, but it's still an annoying process.

* Without Newegg selling this item, the best option is ordering right from the company. Unfortunately for US customers, this involves shipping overseas (SolidRun is based in Israel) and a rather long delay. Hopefully Newegg gets some back in stock soon.

* Although I enjoy tinkering and I thought the process of installing a Debian image was pretty straightforward, this is not a device that is ready to go right out of the box. if you've never messed with Linux before and you just want a media center that works immediately, you probably want to find another option.

* Onboard wifi does not support the wireless AC standard (at least, not as far as I can tell).
Other Thoughts: I don't use this box for its intended purpose (media streaming), so I can't comment on its ability to transcode video or anything like that.
Reviewed By:Chris,12/22/2014 8:35:26 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > SAMSUNG > Samsung GX-SM530CF/XAA Smart Media Player

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Samsung GX_SM530CF
Pros: Small size; good interactive TV program guide; this is a step up from most cable company DTAs
Cons: Limited apps; can be controlled via HDMI interface if your TV has that capability but not by most universal IR remote controls (Logitech remotes can control this device)
Other Thoughts: This box does what it was designed to do. It is a cable box with streaming media capability. The interactive on-screen program guide is nice. It will not support on-demand functions. Samsung should market it more as a cable box replacement rather than a streaming player. I am surprised how unknown this product is.

App updates (more apps) would be good because app choices are pretty limited.

The retail price is too high. I purchased each of my units six months apart at clearance prices (less than $100) and I feel that price range would be more appealing to more consumers.
Reviewed By:N/A,12/22/2014 5:31:23 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > SiliconDust > SiliconDust HDHR4-2US HDHomeRun Connect 2-Tuner ATSC DLNA/UPnP Compatible Streaming Media Player

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 SiliconDust is a Quality Product
Pros: I already own one. I live in central Florida close enough rebroadcast antennas for all of the local stations that I can have an antenna in the attic of my two story home to protect the antenna from lightening and still get excellent signal quality. I'm able to get almost 50 channels, record them on my MythTV based LinHES DVR and not have to pay for cable TV.in my Den, Master Bathroom, and guest bedroom.

The setup of both HDHomeRun Boxes, four streams, was very easy in MythTV setup. I use Schedules Direct, $25/year, for my programming information and enjoy HD recorded shows for much less than the cost for a commercial DVR.

Would definitely buy Silicondust products again as they consistently make quality products seemingly immune from the driver changes of Operating System (OS) changes and updates.
Cons: none
Reviewed By:PKJunction,12/21/2014 8:12:34 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.