Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > Roku > Roku 3 Digital HD Streaming Media Player w/ Headphones Game Remote and HDMI Cable

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Cut the cord and purchased 3 - Excellent quality
Pros: We decided to cut the cord and stop paying Charter cable over $100 per month for HD service, and I have to say, Roku is amazing! I read most of the reviews online for the Roku 3 and shopped around, and found that Newegg had the best price per unit. When I received them, I did have a problem syncing the remotes to the set top boxes, but I followed the supplemental instructions included with the unit (and verified online) and all of them work. I like them so much that I also purchased a Roku stick, which isn't as fast, but works fine. My wife and I really thought that we would get bored just watching Netflix, Hulu, and A****n, but we have discovered channels that we never realized existed! Coupled with an Antennas Direct C-1 Clearstream antenna and we now have local HD programming in addition to the Roku content. Cutting the cord was the best financial decision we have made in a long time.
Cons: The batteries that came with the remotes were off-brands and a few were dead, so I ended up throwing them away and using my own batteries. This worked out OK because I had to pair the remotes with the set top box anyway.
Other Thoughts: I read a few of the complaints about remotes not pairing with the Roku 3 and initially, that was the case with 2 of my 3 units, but using fresh batteries and using the reset button worked for me. In comparison to the Chrome stick and A****n Fire Sticks, both of which I also own, the user interfaces of the Roku 3 and even the Roku stick, are far superior.
Reviewed By:elmayuga,1/23/2015 3:28:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > Ceton > Ceton InfiniTV 6 PCIe - 5205-DCT06IN-PCIE - Six-tuner Card for Watching Digital Cable TV on the PC, PCI-Express x1 Interface

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Totally Works and Completes The HTPC Experience!
Pros: - Quick and easy setup

- Excellent online support and documentation

- It just plain works
Cons: - None really, except the card was a little expensive (but worth it).
Other Thoughts: I called XFinity to request a Cable Card, explaining that I built out a new HTPC and would like to use it to tune cable TV.

XFinity scheduled a tech, who came out a couple of days later with a couple of CableCards in-hand.

I opened up my HTPC, popped in the Ceton card, installed the drivers, etc.

I went thru WMC's TV setup, and the XFinity Tech called in the 800 number and we talked to a Comcast person to activate the CableCard itself.

Everything was done within about 30mins.

Otherwise, I installed the My Channel Logos app to bling out WMC's EPG.

My friends are amazed that I have the ability to use my little Micro ATX HTPC as a cable box, DVR, streamer, Steam box, etc.

Ceton's card really completes the overall HTPC experience.

I know Ceton has the My Media Center mobile app, but it would be really cool if they made a full-fledged media center app similar to WMC, as Microsoft prolly won't support WMC at all much longer.

One minor thing - I'm working with Ceton's tech support to obtain an extra low-profile adapter for the card, as I'd like to migrate it over to a newer smaller, ITX-based HTPC that I'm setting up.
Reviewed By:jayTcold,1/23/2015 9:35:16 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > SolidRun > SolidRun Video Device CuBox-i2eX XBMC Media Player

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Network DLNA audio renderer
Pros: Just works, small and inexpensive (when on sale 70$).

Can play hi-res audio files through SPDIF output.
Cons: MicroSD card must be pulled out with tweezers. Will be better to have a spring-loaded card slot.
Other Thoughts: I use it as a network DLNA audio renderer:
- Put Volumio (open source Linux for audio playback) on a MicroSD card. Volumio is free and requires no setup.
- Connect Cubox to a WiFi router with an Ethernet cable. Cubox+Volumio can then be controlled by any device sharing the same WiFi router.
- Connect Cubox to a DAC via SPDIF (an AmazonBasics cable fits well).
- Connect DAC to an integrated stereo amplifier and speakers.
- There is no need to connect any keyboard, mouse or display to Cubox.

With BubbleUPnP on Android, I can play FLAC and MP3 files from a NAS (up to 24bit/192KHz), and stream internet radio.
Reviewed By:Bob,1/22/2015 4:25:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > Diamond Multimedia > DIAMOND TVW750USB ATI Theater HD 750 USB

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Cheap but a poor value
Pros: Inexpensive and installation is easy. Needs no third-party software if you're using Windows 7 with Windows Media Center. Just install the drivers and let WMC detect and control it.
Cons: Seemed to work fine at first. Very occasional use. I maybe got 12 hours of total TV watching time out of it before it died. It had intermittent reliability issues as time went on. Finally stopped working entirely. None of my computers will recognize that a USB device is plugged in and occasionally when it is recognized, it's "malfunctioning" according to Windows. Seemed to get rather warm so previous reviewers that were suggesting an overheating problem may be on to something. When it *was* working, reception was flaky on many channels with the supplied antenna. My office is just a few miles away from the antenna farm that most of the broadcast networks in my metro area broadcast from. I can look out of my office window and see the broadcast towers. Even so, this USB tuner struggled to receive channels. I had an easier time receiving the same channels at home, which was much further away suggesting the unit might have issues with strong signals or interference from reflected signals.
Other Thoughts: Pay more for better quality. You're not saving anything if what you buy winds up in the trash in a few months. I figured USB TV tuners had been around long enough that even the inexpensive ones were at least decent at this point. I was wrong. I only give 1 star/egg ratings to products that are designed poorly from the start and are destined to fail.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/22/2015 3:18:05 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > Tablo > Tablo SPVR4-01-NA 4 Tuner DVR for HDTV Antennas

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Tablo - Cut that cable! Save money on your TV Viewing.
Pros: *record HD over-the-air TV and play back anytime
*watch TV from you computer - Ipads - Tables
*easy set up
*Tablo is STILL being improved - young company that listens to it's customers and does it best to meet their needs
*GREAT for Cable and Satellite Cord Cutters!
Cons: I cannot complain much about my Tablo. The only thing my wife complains about is that there is NOT a clock on it's interface.

I wish the Tablo schedule would project further into the future... right now I can only see what is scheduled for about 24 hours in advance
Other Thoughts: We could no longer afford to pay DirecTV $90+ a month to watch the local channels and a few shows on other channels. Since we were addicted to the DVR functionality of the Satellite system, we were very worried that we would NOT sit down in time to watch our shows live. Sure we could get Hulu or one of the other services to watch those shows on OUR time... but then we would be spending MORE money. The plan was to cut the satellite cord and start using that money elsewhere.

I had already purchased a Roku 3 and an indoor (hang on the window) HD Antenna a few months before so the ONLY costs to move over to the Tablo was the purchase the Tablo itself and a compatible external harddrive. So for the same amount we would have paid in 3 -4 months worth of DirecTV bills we picked up the necessary hardware we needed for the Tablo. At this point, watching our favorite shows is a BREEZE, skipping commercials isn't quite as easy as DirecTV, but you catch on very quickly.. and what do I pay for TV service every month now? $4.99 for Tablo's Guide. I'm saving about $90 a month. It really was a no brainer for us to make this move.

Now if you are into all the specialty channels or the sports channels on cable/dish, then this move make not be a good one for you.

For what we are missing, we sure are enjoying the savings more.
Reviewed By:Ssaggio,1/22/2015 12:46:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > Tablo > Tablo SPVR2-01-NA Digital Video Recorder

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works Great
Pros: Easy setup and use.
Dual tuner for mutiple show recording.
Works with my Roku's.
Small and easy for remote setup.
Hooks to router and setup is a breeze.
Have router, disk drive, and antenna in bedroom closet so no mess for entertainment center.
Cons: Must buy hard drive, antenna.
Roku Chanel is being upgraded but current Roku chanel is not ideal.
Runs pretty warm.
Not all harddrives are compatable.
Monthly fee for guide.
Other Thoughts: This is great for cable cutters. Been using it for a while now and srteam my local chanels through the house.
Records smartly and playback is great quality.
Have had a couple hickups with live TV playback, but firmware releases are making it smoother.
I can't wait for the new upgrades to the Roku chanel. (Due 1st q 2015)
Currently have to log in using a laptop, or Ipad to change settings and see the live TV guide.
Even with the kinks being worked out, I use my Tablo daily. With Hulu and Netflix, I have more TV than I know what to do with.
Would recomend for cable cutters.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/21/2015 4:51:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > SiliconDust > SiliconDust HDHR4-2US HDHomeRun Connect 2-Tuner ATSC DLNA/UPnP Compatible Streaming Media Player

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Bummer
Pros: Worked good until it started locking up.
Cons: Sadly after 6 months the thing refuses to stop locking up. Tried to get a warranty from SiliconDust over their web support. They kept giving me excuses instead of replacing it.
Other Thoughts: I have owned the first gen unit for a few years and it still works. Wish this company would support it's warranty.
Reviewed By:Mort,1/21/2015 12:56:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > Hauppauge > Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-950Q(WinTV-HVR-955Q) USB TV Tuner Stick/Hybrid Video Recorder with Remote Control

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 love it
Pros: works great on my hp dv7 triple core phenom 2.2Ghz 8Gb memory and int. ATI video worked getting local digital channels with atenna they give you and with cable company. the usb adapter made it possible to digitalize old vhs movies from vcr to my pc lost disk and emailed company they mailed me new disk no problems remote control pretty chinsy and cheap
Cons: the remote
Reviewed By:JLSHUTE,1/20/2015 3:19:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > Diamond Multimedia > DIAMOND TVW750PCIE ATI Theater HD 750 Tuner Card

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Unit Stop working
Pros: When it worked it was great!
Cons: failed to work less 90 days, Opened a ticket diamond to get a replacement. Lets see if that happens.
Other Thoughts: Come with wrong installation cd also.
Reviewed By:freesky,1/19/2015 9:30:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > Western Digital > Western Digital WDBHG70000NBK-HESN 1080p WD TV Live Streaming Media Player with Wi-Fi (Black)

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Cutteo
Pros: Excellent in performing multi-format media. It seem to works with many format videos. So far, anything I put to play, it will play without flaws.
Cons: There is a blank moment into playing a media. The sound is there, but the picture is blank. It can happen during at any moment during the video; not sure if the unit is defected. My brother has one and he stated good, not blanks during movie or video.
Other Thoughts: I will contact seller for this issue, whether worth sending it back, such a hassle.
Reviewed By:Cutteo,1/19/2015 6:22:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.