Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > Google > Google Chromecast Streaming Media Player (2nd Gen) GA3A00093-A14Z01

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Not a Verified owner but I have multiple of these chromecasts
Pros: It works, easily. Not much to set up.
Cons: Sometime's in chrome the netflix cast button disappears like magic, only to reappear a few days later with no explanation as to where it went. I just wish it would tell me before it leaves home...
Other Thoughts: Anyways, someone below says that it cannot play movies even though the salesperson said it could.

Now listen closely. It CAN play movies. All you have to do is open chrome, and with the chromecast extension installed drag the movie file you want to play into the address bar in chrome. Chrome will begin playing the movie, now just pause it and press the cast button. Tada! Movie streaming natively from your PC to chromecast.

That wasn't so hard was it?
Reviewed By:Dan H.,2/10/2016 7:27:21 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > Hauppauge > Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-2250(WinTV-HVR-2255) Media Center Kit Dual TV Tuner w/ IR Remote PCI-E x 1

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nice TV Tuner
Pros: Works with Windows Media Center and can use with Windows 10 using propriety software when my Windows 7 PC's die.
Cons: Remote control will not work on other brand cards, cannot mix (mine was an Avermedia HD Duet)
Reviewed By:Gregg P.,2/8/2016 1:07:08 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > Google > Google Chromecast Streaming Media Player (2nd Gen) GA3A00093-A14Z01

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Stocking Stuffers
Pros: New design allows for better Wifi access
Turns your TV into a Smart TV
SUPER CHEAP media center
Cons: No customizability
Must be paired with smartphone
Not a standalone system
Annoying to set back up if you change your WiFi name
Other Thoughts: I have owned these in the past and liked it enough to buy a few for friends and family for Christmas. There are almost always promotions, like 2 for $50 or a $10 gift card, etc. If you want to enhance your TV for cheap, this is easily the way to go.
Reviewed By:Walter H.,2/8/2016 1:00:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > Ceton > Ceton InfiniTV 6 ETH – Six-Tuner CableCARD Ethernet Network Tuner for Win7 and Win8 PC 5504-DCT06EX-ETH

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 My Own DVR
Pros: Now you can break out of the cable company's DVR and expand your recording capacity to however much you want - with 6 tuners non-the-less.

I've got this as the only tuner in my house and use it between 2 PCs.

It works great I actually forgot what it looked like because I've got it in my data closet and I rarely open it.
Cons: It took a little finessing to get it working the way I like it. It initially appeared as a 6-tuner, then I set up a second PC to use it but then it said there weren't any available tuners for the first PC. I then removed and then re-added it to the first PC and it appeared as a 4-tuner. After cycling power/rebooting everything it got added correctly.

Died after 18 months.
Other Thoughts: I've got a dedicated Win8 Pro system for my Media Center PC and a wired GBit network (with non-cheap hardware) in my home. I've got a SSD for my system drive, so I have a super-fast boot, and use a standard HDD for my recordings.

Every 3 months or so I will have to cycle power on the Ceton because my PC will say there were no tuners available. Everything in my house is on a UPS so there are no unexpected power cycles.

I also do not use the beta firmware, but make sure to update this device before you set anything else up - super easy using the Ceton Diagnostics software.
Reviewed By:Matthew G.,2/8/2016 9:58:09 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > Hauppauge > Hauppauge 1578 Digital TV Tuner for Xbox One

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Take your Over-The-Air to the next level
Pros: Easy setup
Xbox One's OneGuide is a welcome addition to our TV viewing experience
Cons: None that I've encountered
Other Thoughts: I use this in tandem with my Mohu Leaf powered antenna
Reviewed By:Brian F.,2/8/2016 6:39:28 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > Roku > Roku 3500R Streaming Stick - Certified Refurbished

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great little streamers
Pros: Easy set up. Jitter free playback. Just works
Cons: None found
Other Thoughts: Bought 2 of these over 1 year ago and both still perform flawlessly even after heavy daily usage.
Reviewed By:Brian G.,2/7/2016 6:40:37 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > Google > Google Chromecast Streaming Media Player (2nd Gen) GA3A00093-A14Z01

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Check router compatibility chart before buying
Pros: I now know my router advanced settings pages much better
Cons: It still won't connect/work
Other Thoughts: Hours of playing with configuration pages to get this beauty to work and nothing. Apparently there is a list of routers that don't work with this Chromecast or need significant tweeks to make compatible. Check before you buy: https://support.google.com/chromecast/table/6207416?hl=en If your router does not work in default settings you may have a frustrating experience getting it to work. I am using an Actiontec from Fios and was not able to connect to my network.
Reviewed By:Thomas D.,2/7/2016 9:39:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > Google > Google Chromecast Streaming Media Player (2nd Gen) GA3A00093-A14Z01

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Product. And you can stream downloaded movies
Pros: It can do almost(keyword) anything you want. Especially if download the Chrome add-on, Video Stream, you can steam downloaded movies or whatever.
Also It's great for guests as they can access it from their phones and control it.
Also 5Ghz
Cons: Not many that I have found
Reviewed By:Alexander A.,2/7/2016 6:55:02 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > Channel Master > Channel Master CM-7500TB1 DVR+ (1TB)

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Extremely thin DVR
Pros: 1. Very small DVR
2. Screen quality is excellent
3. Features were excellent
4. This DVR allowed me to cancel cable TV and saved >$100 a month. Payback is approximately 3 months.
Cons: 1. WiFI interface required a pricey USB thumb drive from Channel Master.
2. Advertised automatic commercial skip. This is a manual process.
3. There are a few extra steps to delete a recorded show versus cable.
4. The remote control does not totally control the TV. IE; power and volume
Other Thoughts: I would purchase again because of the cost savings, but I would recommend:

1. Automatic commercial skipping.
2. Have a Built-in WiFi device so a separate USB is not required.
3. Fix the remote control to work with all functions, especially power on and volume. (Sharp TV)
Reviewed By:Grady J.,2/7/2016 4:52:36 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > NZXT > NZXT AC-DOKOM-M1 DOKO PC Streaming Device

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Not Bad overall, but could stand improvement.
Pros: Compact, sleek aluminum construction. Has multiple inputs and HDMI output for FULL 1080p picture. Once setup you can access anything on your PC and use any hardware (internal or external drives connected to your PC). Sound output is great (having access to my full music library is awesome).
Cons: Only outputs at 30 fps. If you mainly want to browse websites, look at photos its fine. Movies/video is Full 1080p but looks choppy due to the frame rate. I would imagine game play would be the same. In order to use a mouse/keyboard or other usb devices (such as flash drives and portable hard drives) you must connect them to the DOKOM device then go back to your computer and manually tell it to search/install drivers which is somewhat inconvenient.
Other Thoughts: Would like to have at least 60 fps video output. Also, if you were able to connect use usb devices without manually searching drivers it would be nice. I purchased the DOKOM because I was curious and it was on sale and I liked the idea of using my powerhouse of a PC without moving it. I don't know that I would purchase it again knowing its shortcomings.
Reviewed By:Brady B.,2/7/2016 3:44:26 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.