Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > ASUS > ASUS - MOTHERBOARDS 2-WAY SLI BRIDGE 2-WAY SLI BRIDGE COMPATIBLE

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 ASUS - MOTHERBOARDS 2-WAY SLI BRIDGE 2-WAY SLI BRIDGE COMPATIBLE
Pros: Nice brushed aluminum finish with illuminated ROG logo

2 Way-S 2 Way-M support is nice
Cons: Nothing
Other Thoughts: If you have 2 cards in SLI This will cover you as it supports 2Way-S and -M all that means is if your cards are sitting together or theirs a space between -[[- or -[-[-.
Reviewed By:Jessy N.,9/19/2016 10:50:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > DVDO, Inc. > DVDO DVDO G3-PRO Air3C-Pro Professional Wireless HD Adapter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works Well!
Pros: They work well over the short distance across my living room. Maybe 15 feet? I have not tried them at a longer distance. As long as someone doesn't stand directly in front of the transmitter or receiver then I have absolutely zero issues. HD Video and Voice looks as good as it would through am HDMI cable.
Cons: The receiver and transmitter need to be facing towards each other. They do seem to work as long as the are facing in the general direction of one another.
Other Thoughts: Yes
Reviewed By:Kevin T.,9/19/2016 8:35:56 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > Hauppauge > Hauppauge WinTV (HVR-1265) Hybrid TV Tuner w/ Video Recorder PCI-E x 1

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Its decent when it works
Pros: - has a remote
- easy to install
Cons: - when you change the channel it takes about 15 seconds (on average) for it to start playing....if it doesn't just crash
- crashes, hangs or just stops working
Other Thoughts: honestly I am not sure if there are really good tv cards out there. This one wasn't really worth the money. I would do more in-depth research and find one that is better.
Reviewed By:carey s.,9/18/2016 6:15:27 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > Google > Google Chromecast Streaming Media Player (2nd Gen) GA3A00093-A14Z01

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Product, Usefull.
Pros: Make your dumb tv, smart and easy to use.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:Samuel S.,9/17/2016 8:25:43 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > Google > Google Chromecast Streaming Media Player (2nd Gen) GA3A00093-A14Z01

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Faster than the V1 Chromecast and supports 5GHz wifi... but still has its limitations.
Pros: Steams everything smoothly (All Google Apps and Netflix)

- Small size

-Affordable

- This model has a bendy HDMI extension from the "puck like" body... good for getting to those hard to reach HDMI ports.
Cons: While not as terrible as the Chromecast V1... the V2 still buffers and stutters when trying to use Sling TV. Was banging my head against the wall trying to figure out who was at fault for the constant buffering and stuttering. Checked our internet speed with our ISP... 150 Mbps; not a problem. Checked our router... not an issue. Tried casting Sling TV from several different devices (My wife has a Nexus 5X... I have a Galaxy S7... we also have an iPad mini)... nope, same buffering on every single device.

Was finally at the end of my rope and was either just going to put up with the horrible Sling TV streaming or cancel it and sadly go back to the cable company... UNTIL I BOUGHT A ROKU 3. The difference is night and day... the Roku 3 is so much faster at doing everything and Sling TV is now as smooth as watching cable TV. If you are having streaming / connection issues when using Sling TV on a v1 or v2 Chromecast... DITCH IT AND GET A ROKU 3!!!
Other Thoughts: I still like all of my Chromecasts (two v1's and two v2's and one audio)... they are super affordable and do what you want MOST OF THE TIME, however they just stink when trying to use Sling TV. Get a Roku 3 if you plan on cutting the cord and using Sling TV to replace your cable channels.
Reviewed By:Sean B.,9/16/2016 8:33:40 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > Google > Google Chromecast HDMI Streaming Media Player (H2G2-42)

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Great streaming device... that won't play nice with Sling TV.
Pros: - Steams everything smoothly (All Google Apps and Netflix)

- Small size

-Affordable
Cons: Just flat out AWFUL when trying to use Sling TV. Was banging my head against the wall trying to figure out who was at fault for the constant buffering and stuttering. Checked our internet speed with our ISP... 150 Mbps; not a problem. Checked our router... not an issue. Bought and installed the wired ethernet adapter for the Chromecast to rule out wifi issues... nope, still stuttering. Tried casting Sling TV from several different devices (My wife has a Nexus 5X... I have a Galaxy S7... we also have an iPad mini)... nope, same buffering on every single device.

Was finally at the end of my rope and was either just going to put up with the horrible Sling TV streaming or cancel it and sadly go back to the cable company... UNTIL I BOUGHT A ROKU 3. The difference is night and day... the Roku 3 is so much faster at doing everything and Sling TV is now as smooth as watching cable TV. If you are having streaming / connection issues when using Sling TV on a v1 Chromecast... DITCH IT AND GET A ROKU 3!!!
Other Thoughts: I still like all of my Chromecasts (two v1's and two v2's and one audio)... they are super affordable and do what you want MOST OF THE TIME, however they just stink when trying to use Sling TV. Get a Roku 3 if you plan on cutting the cord and using Sling TV to replace your cable channels.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/15/2016 11:06:27 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > NVIDIA > NVIDIA® SHIELD™ - 4K Streaming. Advanced Gaming. Android TV.

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Nvidia Shield 3K Streaming Advanced Gaming Android TV
Pros: There are a nice variety of games available for this device but they are mostly outdated. The Nvidia Shield benchmarks higher than most tablets but falls quite short of traditional gaming laptops, PCs, and consoles. If you are in the market for something like a tablet slightly faster than other tablets or you don't have a smart TV this may work for you. However, keep reading my review under cons.
Cons: Nvidia Tegra processor is a low budget, underpowered, processor normally used on Nvidia's tablets and entry level laptops and is obviously not comparable to higher end processors for gaming. The maximum 3D resolution for this device while gaming is only 720p, so think back prior to 1080p. So, whether this device can stream Netflix to a 4K television is one thing, but definitely does not offer 4K gaming or even 1080p gaming. If you have a wide screen television, gaming at 720p will appear grainy or blocky on such a large screen. Also, the Nvidia Shield has issues with latency while online gaming via wifi particularly when the bandwidth is being used by other devices in your home, and you will experience a lag in frame rate as well as audio stuttering. Storage space is limited on this device and there is an option to purchase a 500GB add-in hard drive which realistically should come factory installed seeing that you will need it in the long run regardless. This device realistically only does what a smart TV already does concerning its ability to bring Netflix, Plex, and Vudu to your television, as well as what an Android OS on your phone already does all the same. The concept is cute, but seems to be an attempt to replace already existing technologies. Also, this is definitely not on the level of high end consoles such as Nintendo WiiU, Xbox One, or Playstation 4.
Other Thoughts: I would stick with a smart TV or a leading gaming console if it is within your budget. I am not an owner but I have used the device and I am somewhat disappointed in its performance.
Reviewed By:Bradley P.,9/15/2016 9:46:43 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > SiliconDust > SiliconDust HDRACK 8US - TECH3-8US-2X4, 8 Digital Enterprise Broadcasting Tuner box

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 It has serious issues, but does function.
Pros: If you manage to get it working, the does a wonderful job. The previous comments about the poor software are all true. I've had to keep an old software revision handy because the newer ones crashed even more than the old one.
Cons: The power supply common to the 4 internal boards is horrible. I've replaced them 4 times... exact same fault. I finally rewired the internals to use a couple 5v, 2A supplies (much higher quality) and have had no further issues.
if the unit loses power, I must manually switch the multicast from UDP to RDP. It simply does not save that settings.
Other Thoughts: If you have the bandwidth, these units will multicast HD flawlessly. I have 2 units multicasting 16 channels. If Silicondust had spent another $10 for a good power supply and a few hours fixing their software, they'd have a great product. As it is, I can not recommend it.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/14/2016 10:53:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > SiliconDust > SiliconDust HDTC-2US-M HDHomeRun EXTEND

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Product
Pros: Easy to setup. Just remember to hookup the hardware first. Then install the software. I am running it on a Raspberry Pi 3 with Kodi 16.1. You have to go to their Web site to do the channel scan. I have the cable hooked directly to it. IT gets all clear QAM channels no problem.
Cons: Not really a Con but, it would be nice to have the DVR software more readily available. I bought this item to get rid of the costly Cable TV DVR. I think I read somewhere that full function of the DVR software will come out sometime this fall.
Other Thoughts: I will probably buy another one when they come back in stock. It is great that all devices on my network can see it and use it.
Reviewed By:Daniel B.,9/12/2016 9:52:30 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > Roku > Roku 3 (4230R) Streaming Media Player With Voice Search (2015 model) - Certified Refurbished

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 REMOTE DOESNT LINK !
Pros: Three of them are working fine . Just one doesn't link up
Cons: Remote didn't work . Doesn't let me
Link no matter what I do.
Other Thoughts: Remote
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/8/2016 6:14:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.