Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Add-On Cards > ASRock > ASRock Add-On Card Model Thunderbolt 2 AIC

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Worked great until windows 10 update
Pros: -Works in windows 7 and up to 8.1 (haven't tested it on 8.1 but there are drivers up to 8.1 so I assume it will)
-Fast speeds!
Cons: -Doesn't work in Windows 10 wish Asrock would have support for that.
Other Thoughts: Updated my computer to windows 10 and there are no drivers to get his card working. It seems like windows 10 does have support for Thunderbolt but only TB3 and not 2. Waiting on Asrock to give me help regarding this but it's been a while since I first asked so decided to ask again. Let's see if they respond on the second try.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Noritaka,

Thank you for purchase and review.
We do the test the card on Windows 10 Professional and its working normally.
Please check the Ddevice Manager/System Device to verify that Thunderbolt Controller is shown in there.
Download and install the TB software at link below.
Link: http://www.asrock.com/mb/spec/card.asp?Model=Thunderbolt 2 AIC&cat=Download

If you have any technical support inquiry, please contact us at http://www.ASRock.com/Support/tsd.asp
We will assist you shortly.

Thank you

ASRock Support
Tech Support Email: http://www.ASRock.com/Support/tsd.asp

Reviewed By:Noritaka S.,8/26/2016 8:18:02 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Add-On Cards > Vantec > VANTEC 4-Port SuperSpeed USB 3.0 PCIe Host Card w/ Internal 20-Pin Connector Model UGT-PC345

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Great way to convert from USB 2.0 to USB 3.0
Pros: - easy to install
- relatively cost effective
Cons: - Previous experience with product was good except for reliability is questionable, only lasting less than a year. Hopefully this replacement will lasting longer.
- Not sure how it is determine to have 4-ports? Obviously there are two ports on the back and then there is the power supply plug and another plug adapter to attach to a multi card reader...so maybe 3 ports but definitely not 4-ports
Other Thoughts: - Decision to purchase another host card was based on the fact this was the only card that would work with my internal multi-card reader
Reviewed By:Ronald S.,8/24/2016 10:15:11 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Add-On Cards > HooToo > HooToo HT-PC002 SuperSpeed USB 3.0 2-Port PCI-E Add-On Expansion Card with Internal USB 3.0 19-Pin Motherboard Male Header & 5V 4-Pin Molex Power Connector (VIA VL800 Chipset, Solid Capacitors)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Item works as it should.
Pros: Price, ease of install.
Cons: Nothing
Other Thoughts: No problems, works as it should. Running on a Windows 7 machine.
Reviewed By:Justin B.,8/24/2016 6:36:11 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Add-On Cards > Syba > SYBA USB 3.0 External 2-port, 19-pin Header PCI-e Card,IDE Power Feed, Low Profile Bracket Bundled Model SY-PEX20140

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works with Windows 10, but didn't with Windows 8.x
Pros: It seems to work as expected in an old computer running Windows 10. The motherboard is a series 4 Intel chipset with a Core 2 Quad processor. The header works with the front USB 3.0 port on the computer case.
Cons: Originally purchased in 2014 for my brother's computer. I specifically ordered a USB 3.0 port with a front USB 3.0 header to take advantage of the front port on the computer case, but every time Windows would start to boot with this add-on card installed, it would crash at the Windows loading screen. At some point several months later, I had to do a clean installation of Windows 8 on my brother's computer, so I tried this add-on again, but it Windows still crashed at the final stage of the setup when it was detecting hardware.

Because this add-on card wasn't working, I thought it was a compatibility issue between the card's chipset and the motherboard's chipset. We ended up ordering a cheaper USB 3.0 add-on card without front USB header that used a different chipset. The other USB 3.0 card worked without issue.
Other Thoughts: After the trouble installing this add-on card, I left it in the package for the past 2.5 years. I built my brother a brand new computer with integrated USB 3.0 about a year later, so the original computer that we purchased the add-on for has become a spare computer for testing Windows Insider builds. The computer is currently on the official Windows 10 anniversary update that was released on August 9, 2016, so I tried this add-on card again. To my surprise it is working without any issue. According to Device Manager, the chipset on this USB 3.0 controller is from Etron.
Reviewed By:Todd N.,8/23/2016 9:17:37 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Add-On Cards > Syba > SYBA 4 Port SATA III PCI-E 2.0 x1 Model SD-PEX40099

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 It Works
Pros: Using it on a mini Linux file server build to run a Raid 1+0 array. Installed it - it worked
Cons: none
Reviewed By:David F.,8/21/2016 3:12:34 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Add-On Cards > Vantec > VANTEC 4-Port SuperSpeed USB 3.0 PCIe Host Card Model UGT-PC341

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works perfectly with Windows 10
Pros: No drivers to set up. Plug and play using windows 10. Very fast USB 3.0 speed
Cons: Really nothing to report, they even provided a SATA power adaptor if you dont have a MOLEX available
Reviewed By:Dave B.,8/20/2016 6:17:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Add-On Cards > Silverstone > Silverstone PCI Express Card with Dual Internal 19pin USB 3.0 Connectors Model ECU01

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 works great once sata connection is tight
Pros: Installed in my i7 AsRock build to add 4 more usb 3 ports to front panel. R/W speeds are on spec and once I installed drivers windows recognized and plays well with this card but - the sata power supply slot/plug is VERY tight against the circuit board and MANY sata plugs are too thick to allow them to seat all the way into the socket. I dug thru my bins of parts until I found a thinner sata plug that fit. It was a molex to sata adapter & works well. Remember this supplies 2 internal - not external usb 3 ports, so you will need a front header or panel for this to work.
Cons: Sata power connection is very tight as discussed above.
Other Thoughts: Very nice card as long as you can work around the sata power supply connector
Reviewed By:Glenn,8/20/2016 9:11:39 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Add-On Cards > Vantec > VANTEC 4-Port SuperSpeed USB 3.0 PCIe Host Card w/ Internal 20-Pin Connector Model UGT-PC345

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 A solid USB 3.0 add-on card for a good price.
Pros: -Windows 10 recognizes the card automatically as you don't need to mess with drivers as you simply physically install the card into the PCI-E x1 slot and power up the computer and everything just works and maxes out the hard drives i tested on it through a external USB 3.0 docking station(see 'Other' below). it can't get any easier than that.

-Has capability of using front USB 3.0 ports if your case has them built-in to your case or you can get a add-on (search... "usb 3.0 front panel" on newegg) which plugs into this cards 20-pin connector and comes out the front of your case (which uses either a floppy drive slot or a regular DVD drive slot depending on what you need). the front panel option is roughly $10-20 on newegg if you want it.
Cons: -It uses up a power connector on your PSU (power supply) since, apparently, it can't get enough power from the motherboards PCI-E x1 slot. so in other words it will either take up a molex power connector from you PSU or, with the adapter that comes with the card, it will use a SATA power connection on your PSU which the adapter then converts back to the molex type that this USB 3.0 card uses. but this is only a mild con and not enough to lower my rating of the card.
Other Thoughts: -I bought this at the same time i got a ORICO 6518US3-V1-US docking station(supports up to 8TB hard drives), which is USB 3.0, and it maxes out my hard drives i tested in it. everything works perfect so far.

-I installed this in my ASUS P8H61-M LX motherboard.
Reviewed By:Mark S.,8/17/2016 1:25:57 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Add-On Cards > Rosewill > Rosewill RC-508 USB 3.0 PCI-E Express Card with 4 USB 3.0 Ports, Speed Up to 5.0 Gbps

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Quick, easy, and efficient!
Pros: Super easy, just plug and play with the included disk.

Took me all of 2 minutes to install 2 of them in my desktop, and 1 minute to run the device driver disk.
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: I will absolutely buy this again.

Now I HAVE USB PORTS FOR DAYS.
Reviewed By:Jordan H.,8/16/2016 12:12:14 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Add-On Cards > Syba > SYBA Combo USB 3.0 + SATA III 6Gbps, v2.0 PCI Express, x4 Slot Controller Card Model SD-PEX50055

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Got it to work on Windows 10 without reinstall/repair(?).
Pros: Works on Windows 10, in my PCIe2X16 slot, with Samsung EVO 850 as my bootable drive. My speeds were 285/273, now they are 405/376. That's a decent improvement for a x4 card that uses only 2 lanes. (Motherboard is Pegatron Truckee with X58 + ICH10R chipset). Good bang for the buck.
Cons: - Spent half a day trying to solve the INACCESSIBLE_BOOT_DEVICE error. Tried re-imaging the System from System Image backup, tried fixing MBR, BCD, bootsector, etc. (Not sure if it had any effect, probably none). Then connected the drive back into my Sata 2 port, and installed the SYBA drivers from drivers-download website as SYBA suggests in the manual, connected the drive back to the card and it booted!!! When I first connected the card, window installed some old generic SATA drivers from 2006.
- Boot times are like 5 seconds slower because the PCIe card needs to initialize (but afterward you really see the different in speed).
Other Thoughts: - Haven't the USB, since I don't have the floppy power cable.
Update: put in the Sata to Floppy adapter and tried out the USB. On one brand of USB drive I got 80/75 speed, on another I got 40/35 (USB 2speed), then installed the software that was on that drive and I got 105/105! So the speed is good, but I've noticed that I getting KERNEL_DATA_INPAGE_ERROR if the PC goes to sleep on its own.
Update: KERNEL_DATA_INPAGE_ERROR(Sometimes from KBDCLASS.SYS), CRITICAL_PROCESS_DIED (sometimes from VOLMGRX.SYS, CDROM.SYS) , DRIVER_POWER_STATE_ERROR persist even with the newest drivers directly from Asmedia (driver version 3.1.9.0). There's some driver incompatibility and it has to do with the sleep stages and power. Disabling the S3 sleep, and leaving just the S1, solves the issues, but then it uses more power and the fans are always running. The S3 works most of the time, and it seems to work better if I put the PC to sleep as opposed to the system doing it automatically. In fact, I have disabled sleep on the computer and created a Windows Task to put the PC to sleep-- for some reason it works best but not 100%. Really weird PC gremlins.
Another Update: Using hibernation instead of sleep resolves all errors. Really strange, as hibernation is usually frowned upon, but it seems to work flawlessly. So type "powercfg -h on" in the command prompt and you're done.
Reviewed By:Pavel P.,8/14/2016 2:42:10 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.