Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GCS1104 4-Port USB DVI KVMP Switch with Audio and Cables

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Sweet little KVM
Pros: This is a nice piece of hardware.; the quality of the device is high. Its compact but heavy and stays in place when you physically push a switch button. But why, my friend, use a button when you have hotkeys? Sweet, sweet hotkeys so easy to use.

iogear put some though into the usability of this KVM. The device can switch only the audio or only the monitor or only the keyboard/mouse... or switch all at once.. or switch combinations such as monitor and key/mouse but not the audio. And you don't need to cycle through all (un)available inputs; you can jump directly to a specific input, all without your hands ever leaving your keyboard. True flexibility.

The cables are good quality and fused together; my under-desk cable management got a lot simpler.

Setup was as easy as plugging everything in. No software with Win 7 Pro 64bit you just plug in and play on.
Cons: Cables aren't gold plated, but then you didn't pay for that, did you?

The only thin worth mentioning is you can't back the rear edge of the switch flush with the very edge of the desk as the rear cables lift the front edge up about 5 degrees. The solution is to pull it away from the edge about two inches; the cables relax, straighten out and the switch sits level, steady and firm.

Its pretty much a non-starter but thought you should know in case you have some crazy spec to meet. However, in this "not-really-a-con" you should also read good things about the quality of the cables themselves.
Other Thoughts: My workspace has a personal gaming machine, a work notebook (on a dock/replicator) and client notebooks rotating in and out. Am I able to jam soundcloud through one pc, and work on second? You betcha. Dropping a corporate notebook into the switch is so easy the client can do it themselves. (I know, I'm jaded.)

Update 2016... it finally died. 4 years of hardcore abuse and the internal connections at the power source died. Too complicated to dismantle and solder so I bought a new one (2 port this time as my needs are reduced). oh yeah.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/10/2016 7:51:42 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > LINKSKEY > LINKSKEY LDV-DM204AUSK 4-port Dual Monitor DVI/DVI USB Audio & Mic KVM Switch w/ Cables

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 An aggressively bad device
Pros: - none
Cons: - hotkeys do not work
- reports various erroneous resolutions to CPUs
- delivers black to displays
- forgets USB devices
- Legit sends power spikes down DVI cables hot enough to cause an SMC reset in Mac Pros
- Exquisitely sensitive to setup order
- in two solid days of futzing, I never once got it to function correctly
Other Thoughts: The other review for this product mentions a blown power supply. I figure he must have been wrong because how could that even have happened? Well, dear reader, Linkskey will force you to reassess what you believe is possible in bad product design. Despite buffered power from a UPS, despite Gefen DVI Detectives residing between the KVM and the CPU, Linkskey managed to throw my Mac Pro into SMC reset a half-dozen times in 24 hours. Which, obviously, is in the "so bad you have to see it to believe it" department. But set aside the "will destroy the rest of your gear" aspect of this device and you're still left with something that never comes close to performing the simple task of switching peripherals between computers. We aren't even talking audio breakaway or hotkeys (because none of that stuff works on an even rudimentary level) - we're talking "press the 2 button and not only will you not see computer #2, but when you switch back to #1 it will have forgotten what was there." If you read the reviews elsewhere, you'll see admonishments to "read the instructions" and things will work fine. The problem is deeper than that - if you follow the instructions *precisely* you will see sporadic, partial execution with occasional power spikes that will crush your CPU. If you just hook it up you will get an inert lump that plaintively beeps at you when you press buttons. This isn't rocket science, it's atrocious product design.

All I can figure is that Linkskey never bothered to test their product... or they bought from an OEM that ripped them off and they've been trying to fob them off for whatever they can get ever since. Maybe they had an intermodal full of these back in 2009 or so and they're sold so rarely that it's taken seven years for Newegg to sell two.

DON'T BE NUMBER 3.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/6/2016 5:16:25 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GCS42UW6 2-Port Compact USB VGA KVM with Built-in Cables

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works Good, Lasts Long Time
Pros: Arrived quickly, worked out of the box, no problems six months later.
Cons: None so far.
Reviewed By:John M.,2/6/2016 6:16:25 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GCS1644 4-Port Dual View Dual-Link DVI KVMP Switch with Audio

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Complete Failure
Pros: None
Cons: First unit was DOA. Replacement unit worked for 5 weeks and ports 1, 3 and 4 failed.
Manufacturer Response:Thank you for choosing IOGEAR and we apologize for the inconvenience. The GCS1644 is a very high selling KVM with a low failure rate. To better service you and understand your set up, please feel to contact our customer support at 1-866-946-4327 or email us: support@iogear.com. Once again, thank you for choosing IOGEAR.

Reviewed By:Gary T.,2/2/2016 4:00:11 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GCS632U 2-Port USB PLUS KVM Switch with Built-in KVM Cables and Audio Support

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Piece of junk
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Can only be switched by keyboard. Very slow to respond.
Manufacturer Response:Thank you for choosing IOGEAR and we apologize for the inconvenience. The GCS632U is our high selling emulated KVM with a very low failure rate. This is a starter level emulated KVM that is only hot key controlled. The response time is not slow unless you are using a non standard keyboard (104 key wired keyboard). This is because of the built in emulation. All IOGEAR keyboards including wireless will work with IOGEAR KVM's. IOGEAR makes a variety of KVM to suite almost all needs. To better service you and understand your set up, please feel to contact our customer support at 1-866-946-4327 or email us: support@iogear.com. Once again, thank you for choosing IOGEAR.

Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/31/2016 1:32:08 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > Cables To Go > C2G 52043 2-PORT VGA and USB Micro KVM with Audio

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Decent device
Pros: works well most of the time and easy to switch back and forth between computers.
Cons: can be buggy at times. occasionally will loose keyboard function and therefore function of the unit. both computers must be turned off in order to connect. can not hot swap a computer. You must switch to the main pc then turn off the add on. then unplug and reconnect. can get hairy at times
Reviewed By:Matthew B.,1/28/2016 2:12:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GCS634U MiniView USB KVM Switch with audio and cables

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Still working years later.
Pros: This is a great product for someone who wants to hook multiple computers to one monitor. I bought this back in 5/11/2013, and it is still working flawlessly.
Cons: N/A
Reviewed By:Marsha s.,1/20/2016 8:38:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > STARTECH > StarTech SV231USB 2 Port Professional USB KVM Switch Kit with Cables

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Does what it's supposed to
Pros: Easy set up and takes up little space on my desk.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Works great!
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/18/2016 3:25:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GCS22u 2-Port USB KVM Switch w/built-in cables

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Consider the companies support before buying
Pros: It is a great device when it works.
Cons: I bought this and it will switch over between monitors fine, but from the start it seemed to be touchy with doing the keyboard/mouse change. I thought maybe it was my setup somehow, but it just got worse even when I tried things to help. I contacted the company and they asked for the invoice in some kind of cryptic way. I sent that and after no response I asked about it all. I then got a response asking why they had my invoice but knew nothing about this. Not very impressive. I contacted egg to help and they ignore me. So just be warned what may happen if you have problems with this company.
Manufacturer Response:Thank you for choosing IOGEAR and we apologize for your experience. I have reviewed the emails you sent to IOGEAR support. The Technical rep worked with you to try and resolve the problem. When the problem was not resolved , We offered you a replacement with the Standard RMA statement we send to all IOGEAR customers. You replied with 14 links to Newegg, none of these were a valid receipt or proof or purchase we requested to honor the 3 year warranty. All we needed was a copy of your receipt to process your replacement. At the very bottom of your email the Newegg date was copied and pasted. This does not qualify as a valid receipt. Please reply back to IOGEAR support with a copy of your receipt and will be more than happy to process the replacement for you. The GCS22U is a very basic plug and play KVM with a very low failure rate. The GCS22U is one of IOGEARS highest selling non emulated KVM'S. Once again, thank you for choosing IOGEAR.

Reviewed By:Fred C.,1/17/2016 9:29:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GCS1794 4-Port HDMI Multimedia KVMP Switch with Audio

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent with a few minor drawbacks
Pros: • Well packaged with recyclable materials
• Sturdy and well-made housing on unit, stays put when pressing buttons on unit.
• Cables are high quality and flexible.
• Ports for cables are primarily on the back with audio ports and one USB on the front.
• Functionality is outstanding. Switching always works via buttons or hotkeys.
• Varied devices that it can control
• Takes up less space than competing products.
Cons: • Expensive, but the quality is worth it.
• Annoying beeping when switching devices is too loud. Had to turn it off. See other thoughts
• Manual is not complete and website does not help much.
• My laser pointer mouse did not work in the “mouse” USB port, which I have read is an issue for some mice. Moving to one of the other USB ports solved the problem. No issues.
Other Thoughts: • My setup. I have four HDMI devices plugged into this device: Desktop PC w/ Windows 10, Laptop w/ Windows 10, Sony PS4, and Microsoft Display Dock for my Windows Phone. All work flawlessly. Each device shares keyboard, mouse and one monitor.
• Switching between devices is easy with keyboard commands (ScrLk, Scrlk, 1-4)
• To turn off/on the beep: invoke Hotkey Setting Mode by pressing and holding CTRL, then pressing and releasing F12, then releasing CRTL then press the `b' key.
• I have used other competing products and they do not compare to this one for ease of use, quality, and reliability
Reviewed By:Timothy H.,1/16/2016 10:54:27 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.