Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > MSI > MSI B85M-E45 LGA 1150 Intel B85 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Micro ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 No sign of life
Pros: None
Cons: DOA

Going back to Newegg for a replacement. Fingers crossed that one will work.
Reviewed By:Steven E.,7/27/2016 1:36:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS ROG STRIX X99 GAMING LGA 2011-v3 Intel X99 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great aesthetic, Great Performance, Great Price
Pros: I have had zero problems with this board despite seeing a lot of negative reviews about being DOA.
I paired this with intel's new 6850K and got overclocked to 4.3ghz with ease, I probably can push it a little further, but I'm happy with that result alone.

I was considering/waiting on getting the rampage V edition 10 mobo, which I think looks better than this one, but not really by much, not enough for the price difference or the boards features, so I decided the Strix would be good enough for what I do with gaming/workflow, and now that I've been using it for a while, I have no regrets.

RGB lighting that either some love or hate, although I don't understand the hate when you can match these lights to just about any types of builds...you don't need to do rainbow effects, you can just go static/breathing, something simple.
You can swap out to parts on the motherboard where the logos are with different colors, this may not matter to much as chances are some component like a fan or GPU will be blocking most of it, and although it seems cheap, it does not look that bad, and I immediately removed the orange installed one's for the silver one's--they really should have just left them bare to begin with so I would not have to use a blow dryer to heat it up to remove it which was a little difficult.

PCIE spacing that some have mentioned regarding 3-way SLI/crossfire only, is a little strange, but where things stand now, I would not recommend doing 3-way...if you're interested in more than 2 card setup, then go buy a different mobo that has the spacing that you require. 2-way SLI spacing is actually great on this board, gives nice room between two cards and I'm guessing a 60MM bridge would be the appropriate size to get if you go with 2-way.
Cons: Updating BIOS messed with my overclocks and made them unstable, which I have seen done in the past, but because the board is new, I'll give it some time to mature and hopefully later versions will improve things, not make them not work.
Other than that, I did not have any other problems with the board, you just need to read the features and see if this suits your needs and you should be good to go.
Other Thoughts: I would love to see an X99 board based on Asus Formula aesthetic with the solid structure armor, I would have spent more money than I did on this for something like that, which is what I previously used.
Reviewed By:Tianna K.,7/27/2016 1:08:10 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > MSI > MSI Z170A Gaming Pro Carbon LGA 1151 Intel Z170 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Don't buy for the lights.
Pros: Board works and does everything you would expect.
Cons: Mystic lights are not user friendly and do not work. Don'the buy for the lights.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/27/2016 10:12:00 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE G1 Gaming GA-Z170N-Gaming 5 (rev. 1.0) LGA 1151 Intel Z170 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 USB 3.0 Mini ITX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 So far so good but not without faults
Pros: Built with a i7 and a GTX 1080 and it's a screaming fast system in a small foot print. M.2 is a must.
Cons: Due to the board layout if you attempt to use this motherboard with a Silverstone ML07 you will only have access to 2 of the many SATA ports. All the ports that allow the SATA cable to be used are blocked by the PSU. Not even a right angle cable will work! The board also only has two fan headers. One for the processor and one for system fan. Since I'm running a VGA in a very hot environment (museum displays) I need more. I run 3 120MM fans in the ML07.
Other Thoughts: I've built a lot of Mini ITX systems and require M.2 for our applications. I am a bit worried about this board having the M.2 (Samsung 950 Pro 512gb) on the bottom side of the board due to potential overheat issues. It's also a TOTAL PITA to have to remove the board to swap the drive. I have a ton of ASRock MiniITX systems in the field and their layout allows for the drive to be mounted on top.
Reviewed By:Anthony B.,7/27/2016 9:47:59 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS ROG STRIX X99 GAMING LGA 2011-v3 Intel X99 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 THIS HAS BEEN THE BEST ASUS MOTHERBOARD I'VE USED YET!!!!
Pros: Everything functions as it should. Updated the bios before doing anything even before putting the OS on.
Aesthetic espcially with everything black.
Awesome RGB lighting control.
Plenty of fan headers
Great audio
Cons: None so far. I see a lot of people having issues with this board and I'm not sure why that is.
Other Thoughts: I've owned almost everyone of their z170 ROG motherboards even a custom loop on the Formula. https://pcpartpicker.com/b/4MzMnQ
This is by far my favorite motherboard yet.
Reviewed By:Jacob L.,7/27/2016 9:07:19 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS Z170-E LGA 1151 Intel Z170 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent so far
Pros: Very easy installation and most importantly all worked :) I only use this for office applications; I wanted a MB that could handle updated components over time and this seems to fit the bill at a reasonable price. Lots of capabilities I haven't exploited yet. UEFI has a lot of options for over-clockers (not important to me, but maybe for you). Has the capabilities to handle high power draw configurations. Only had it up and running for a week, so I'll have to wait and see how it stands up to the test of time.
Cons: Not really a "Con", just a small item to be aware of. I originally installed Windows 7. After upgrading to Windows 10, it lost network connectivity. Reinstalling the driver that came on the disk didn't help. However, ASUS has an updated driver on their site, you'll just need to get it before you upgrade.
Other Thoughts: As it stands today, I'd definitely recommend this board.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/27/2016 8:16:31 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASRock > ASRock H170A-X1 LGA 1151 Intel H170 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great budget board
Pros: Got this thing up and running in no time. Runs Windows 10 beautifully and I love the BIOS Dashboard that gives you all needed info at a glance. Look, you get what you pay for and for 78 dollars I couldn't be happier.
Cons: None so far.....no way of telling about longevity since this is a new build, but I have had very good luck with ASrock in the past.
Other Thoughts: This is surely not a gaming board or even an enthusiast board...... but for the money it will browse the web and run standard programs with the best of them.
Reviewed By:gary r.,7/27/2016 7:09:34 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASRock > ASRock H170M-ITX/DL LGA 1151 Intel H170 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Mini ITX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nice
Pros: Internet bios flash - You don't have to be running windows 10 NSA edition to stay up to date. You will need to use a FAT32 thumb drive to get that to work tho, but it's really easy.

BIOS based case and CPU fan speed controls - You can set them just like you'd set gpu fan speeds. It's really handy to help with keeping the fan noise under control.

BIOS Boot Manager - I scoffed at this at first but I really like it now. It allows for you to assign names to drives and then choose which drive to use to boot when the system is turned on. No longer have to deal with software boot loaders, I currently use it to switch between 2 SSD's, one with Win10 (for gaming only!) and one with Ubuntu MATE for actual computer use. I have plans to throw in a Win7 SSD at some point too and make it triple boot.

Intel NIC - They are all I use, all the time, in every machine. Realtek are ok, but I've had many randomly die that I don't rely on them. This board has 1 Intel and 1 Realtek. Why it's not just 2 Intel is beyond me, but I only really need 1 anyway.

Power consumption - Most ppl don't care, but I do cause I pay the bills. This board with 3 SSDs, no external GFX and I7 6700 uses less then 50 watts when stress testing the CPU :) The CPU scales all the way down to just a few watts (800mhz) when idle which is nice for power savings. With a GTX 670 in it I've had it go as high as 170 watts. Granted the GPU maxes long before the CPU so it's not at full bore. I'm easily running the whole system with a 500 watt PS even tho nvidia says they recommend 500 watt min for the card. I will be going to 1060 mini at some point in the future tho which uses even less power then my old 670.
Cons: Memory capatibility - I coupled this board with 32GB Gskill Aegis ram and was having some serious instability issues. The MB support 2133 ram and that's what I had. I found tho that I had to reduce the ram down to 1066 to make it stable which is a serious reduction in speed. I have noticed that there has been a lot of bios updates for ram compatibilty so I'm hoping this will be addressed in the future and I can switch the ram back to full speed.

Windows 7 compatibility - I get it, MS is trying to get rid of the best OS they have ever/will ever make. MB manufacturers shouldn't help them tho. There are USB 2.0 ports on the board but they don't work like normal ports so using them while doing a Win7 install is a pain. There is a BIOS option to help with that but it's a double-edged sword. Turning it on makes the mouse work, but will mess up a USB CDRom drive/thumb drive. In the end I wound up plugging in a SATA CD drive so I could get the OS installed.

Display port - Will just call this one a gripe since the board doesn't have one. I know it's a Mini-ITX but at this point in the game they should pretty much be on boards. Not having one was the only real negative I had when I was choosing this board. I'm running an external GFX so I have one, but at some point when I move to a new board I will be left without one.
Other Thoughts: I like this board. Like I said, it should have display port and they need to increase their RAM compatibility. Other then that, it's been working just fine for me. I haven't have any crashes or instability issues, outside of the RAM timing I mentioned. It's a good board :)
Reviewed By:Doug B.,7/27/2016 6:51:05 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > MSI > MSI MSI Gaming Z170A GAMING M5 LGA 1151 Intel Z170 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works well. No problems after a month of use
Pros: Graphical Bios setup was actually pretty cool and you maintain control of all system components. I run auto O.C. on everything but the control options are there for Dram timing etc..
Removable drive trays fit large and small drives so no need for a drive adapter for the SSD. Mounting locations are well laid out and instructions were very clear.
Cons: Ram slot #1 sits under my CoolMaster Hyper EVO CPU fan. Ram slots fit a bit too close to CPU mount. You have to install ram before mounting processor.
Other Thoughts: I had to remove and remount CPU fan to move ram from slot 1/2 to 2/4 because i failed to read instructions first. (I think I should lose an egg for that one.)
Reviewed By:Scott T.,7/27/2016 5:36:25 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS X99-E WS/USB 3.1 LGA 2011-v3 Intel X99 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 USB 3.0 CEB Intel Motherboard

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great MB but QCode 53 and didn't support Broadwell E CPUs
Pros: 40 PCIe lanes with the new Broadwell E CPUS > 6800!
Thunderbolt header on MB.
Nice Intel Gig NICs.
QCode and lots of MB leds and switches to help you.
Supports External eSATA drives.
Has USB 3.1 (type A only).
UEFI BIOS is great once you update it!
Cons: This MB is 2 years old now and seems to still ship with an OLD BIOS that does NOT support the new Broadwell E CPUs! The CPU has memory controllers and thus the MB doesn't recognize any DIMMs!
First MB was DOA and I had to return it to Newegg. Not having returned a MB before and because the stupid plastic socket 'cap' has NO INSTRUCTIONS on it, I tried to fit it inside the CPU clamp and probably bent some pins! The cap goes on the OUTSIDE of the clamp! Luckily I emailed service@newegg.com and explained what I had done and they were SUPER NICE about it and assured me that my RMA would be OK. And it was! Thankyou to Rella XXX.
Second MB was just fine, after I updated the BIOS to the latest version:
1. IF you have a 'new' Broadwell E CPU you MUST download the lastest BIOS from the ASUS support site here https://www.asus.com/Motherboards/X99E_WS/HelpDesk_CPU/ and then READ the MB manual !
2. Follow the instructions on the site, unzip and rename the .cap file as instructed (X99EU31.CAP worked for me). Copy it and the updater exe to the root of a (fat32 formatted) USB drive.
3. Updating the BIOS is a little risky I am NOT LIABLE if you follow my advice here and mess it up! With power to the MB (but not turned ON), insert the USB drive with the .cap file into the USB slot on the left just above the red external eSATA port. My IO backplate outlined it in WHITE (not green).
4. The MB manual is NOT helpful here. You don't need to go into the BIOS to update it! Simply press the 'BIOS' button leftmost on the back of the MB IO ports for 3 seconds. It will start blinking in blue and continue blinking for 3-5 minutes as it updates the MB BIOS. If it just lights up and stays on you've probably forgotten to rename the bios file or something is wrong with your USB drive. Wait until the blinking stops! DO NOT interrupt the process once it starts, leave it alone, be patient. :)
5. Remove the USB drive once the 'BIOS' button goes dark and power off and then on. It should now recognize your Broadwell E CPU and your memory stick installed in D1 DIMM slot (gray)! Now you're in business and you can start adding in your PCIe or M.2 cards and changing up the BIOS settings (1 at a time!) until you are overclocking and XMP-ing to your heart's content!
My Rig:
Broadwell E 6850K
Asus X99E WS
GSkill Trident 4x8 GB 3200 CAS 16.
OCX (Toshiba) 512GB NVMe RD 400 with Win10 64-bit OS ... installed in the onboard M.2 slot just fine
GTX 970 ...because nobody can afford to buy a 1080 from the scalpers :(
Reviewed By:Guy B.,7/26/2016 9:23:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.