Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Intel Motherboards > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK LGA 1150 Intel Z97 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: works great with my new I7 4690k. just upgraded my system with this and the I7. still using xfx he 6950, gskill ripjaws 2x4g 1600 ram. I use a noctua after market site cooler and temps stay very reasonable. I've seen peaks of ~70c on one or two cores for very brief moments while under load. but at idle stays around 30c. so no issues with the i7 overheating for me as others have experienced. very happy so far with this mb
Cons: none
Reviewed By:N/A,12/24/2014 12:12:52 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASRock > ASRock Z97 Extreme4 LGA 1150 Intel Z97 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Awesome, until its not
Pros: Feature rich
Reasonably priced
Good reviews from Toms Hardware
On board diagnostic screen with CMOS clear, Reset and Power buttons.
Cons: A design flaw turns it into a paperweight
Other Thoughts: I'd give it a 5 if it weren't for the power issue. I upgraded my existing computer to:
this mobo
i7 4770k Proc
vertex 3 SSD
GSKill Ripjaw X Ram
Antec EA-750 PSU
and some existing storage drives.

The system usually stays on so I've never noticed any power stability issues. I have had a few restarts but figured it was a power outage.

Anyway i restart the thing and now it won't power on. I did some Googling and found that its a fairly common issue (with multiple Reddit threads) where it doesn't power on and the LDO gets super hot. PSU, surge protectors and other components are fine. It seems that ASRock has a design flaw or a bad component supplier. I'll update once I get a response from them on the replacement.
Reviewed By:N/A,12/24/2014 12:04:08 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS Z97-A LGA 1150 Intel Z97 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works great
Pros: It works, and overclocks my cpu/gpu with no issue
Cons: Was a struggle getting this to sit into a NZXT H440, not sure if it was the case or MOBO's fault hpwever
Other Thoughts: Buying a motherboard is scary because so many of them have horrible reviews mixed in with good ones. I was terrified of getting a DOA motherboard and luckily I did not. My first boot was unsuccessful, but it just one of the ram sticks (minor heart attack)
Reviewed By:N/A,12/24/2014 11:05:37 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE GA-G1.Sniper Z97 LGA 1150 Intel Z97 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 GIGABYTE GA-G1.Sniper Z97 LGA 1150 Intel Z97 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard
Pros: Definitely has plenty of bells and whistles for a mobo in this price range. I love the look of board as well.
Cons: I may change my rating if there are no problems with the board over the next few months. The reason I gave this board such a low rating is because the size of the board should not be listed as ATX. I realize it was an error on my part to not notice the board was a little smaller, but to make it small enough to not have the right 3 mounting holes for support just baffles me.

In the long run, will not having that edge of the board supported matter? Probably not, but extreme care should be taken while installing the 24 pin power cable as not not flex the board too much.
Other Thoughts: I have a 2+ year old Gigabyte board in my own rig and it has never had an issue, and I hate leaving a bad rating because of the size, but to me this is something that would have swayed me away from purchasing this particular board. I did learn a lesson with this purchase; Always, and I mean always, check the size of an item versus what it is actually listed as.
Reviewed By:N/A,12/24/2014 9:53:11 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS MAXIMUS VI FORMULA LGA 1150 Intel Z87 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX gaming board with double-sided ROG Armor, 23C-degrees cooler CrossChill and 120dB SNR, 600ohm audio

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Out of Box RAID Support Problem
Pros: Great out of the box board except for one potentially major issue...
Cons: Getting RAID setup took me hours. Yes, it literally took me hours. The BIOS doesn't contain RAID drivers. The DVD that came with the board didn't load the drivers like Asus said they would, so after spending some quality time at Asus' support site and reading the owner's manual 10 times I had to get a floppy drive to load the drivers. (YES, THE MANUAL ACTUALLY SAYS THAT YOU NEED A FLOPPY DRIVE STRAIGHT OUT OF 1990 TO CREATE A RAID DRIVER DISK.) So I ordered a floppy drive, and even then it didn't work like the manual stated. I don't understand how I bought an $80 budget motherboard almost eight years ago that had better out of the box RAID support than this $300+ board.
Other Thoughts: Eventually I found the drivers on Intel's site (no help from Asus), put them on a floppy, and got it to work.
Reviewed By:N/A,12/24/2014 9:38:29 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS Z97-E LGA 1150 Intel Z97 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Board!
Pros: Very reliable motherboard! I purchased this board for $100 on black Friday and I had some pretty high expectations considering it is an Asus motherboard. They definitely delivered on this one! It has great features and considering I got it for a great deal, I am very pleased!
Cons: None!
Other Thoughts: I have got nothing else to say; I love this board!
Reviewed By:redjordan9,12/24/2014 9:34:20 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASRock > ASRock H97M-ITX/ac LGA 1150 Intel H97 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Mini ITX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Most definitely the best Mini ITX Motherboard
Pros: What can I say, this thing is probably the best motherboard for the money in the Mini ITX form factor. I started to use this board a few months ago and it is super simple to setup, a wide compatibility of Intel processors from a Celeron to i7, and it has a built in Wireless AC which the add-in cards alone are price 1/3 of this boards price.
Cons: For what I use it for, nothing
Other Thoughts: I have built about 15 computers using this board. I was stuck on an integrated solution for the longest time with Celeron Quad-Core chips and AMD A4's. After doing extensive research with those, I discovered that I could build the same unit for around the same cost with an i3 processor and this board. I have not had one single issue with any of the 15 that were built and installation of Windows is a breeze. Turn on Ultra-Fast boot mode after installing Windows 8.1 and the speed is only described by one word...WOW!
Reviewed By:STEVEN P.,12/24/2014 9:32:37 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASRock > ASRock H97 Anniversary LGA 1150 Intel H97 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 works well, except ...
Pros: good performance, low price
Cons: does not resume from standby or hibernate (very inconvenient)
Other Thoughts: Trouble report submitted to ASRock - response pending:

Does not resume from sleep/standby (S3) or hibernation (S4).
Windows Restart and power-on boot are OK.
Problems occur on new install of Windows 7 and ASRock drivers.
Symptoms (standby): system powers off, power LED blinks as expected. At power-on, fans spin briefly (<1 second), stop briefly (1-5 seconds), then fans and disks start again but power LED continues to blink. No boot activity, no keyboard lights, no BIOS screen, no response to keys, reset button, etc. It will power off by holding power button for 5 seconds. Trying power-up again repeats these behaviors. CMOS clear or power-supply off is required for successful boot, but Windows 7 reports improper shutdown.
Symptoms (hibernate): after Windows shuts down, system does not power off, but immediately begins the fan off/fan on behaviors as with standby.
RAM burned in 20 hours with no errors detected by MemTest86 5.1 or Windows Memory Diagnostic extended tests. All Windows activities seem normal, except Sleep and Hibernate.

Configuration:
ASRock H97 Anniversary
Intel i3-4160
8GB G.Skill Rip Jaws F3-12800CL7D-4GBRM
Samsung 840EVO SSD (120GB)
2x Samsung HD080JH (75GB)
NVIDIA Quadro NVS 420
Zalman ZM-600HP
Windows 7 SP1 (64bit), all drivers seem to be up-to-date.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Valued ASRock Customer

We sincerely apologize that you having difficulty sleep and hibernation mode.
Please turn the power off, clear the CMOS.
Load BIOS default.
Remove all external devices including printer, external HDD, etc. and see if it's solve the issue.
If you have any technical support inquiry, please contact us at http://www.ASRock.com/support/tsd.asp. We will assist you shortly.

Thank you

ASRock SUPPORT
Tech Support Email: http://www.ASRock.com/support/tsd.asp

Reviewed By:antitachyon particle,12/24/2014 9:28:21 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASRock > ASRock Fatal1ty X99X Killer LGA 2011-v3 Intel X99 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Stop Bad Mouthing Board
Pros: Someone who does not know what he is talking about has been bad mouthing this board. This is a fine board. I only posted this because I am tired of seeing people who clearly do not know what they are talking about giving negative reviews about Newegg Products, their Vendors, and their Customer Service.

See Cons...
Cons: The board not doing 3-Way SLI is due to his CPU the i7-5820k. The i7-5820k only has 28-Lanes not 40! In order to do 3-Way SLI you MUST have a 40 Lane CPU, on ANY Motherboard. In other words, you need to spend the extra $200 (at a minimum) for the i7-5930k.

For someone who has been building high end systems for 15-20 years (one review of Chris M. said 15, another he said 20), he seems to have no idea how to look up hardware specs and properly pick hardware based on his wants/needs.

Before I built my $3.5k system I thoroughly researched ALL components to ensure they would work the way I wanted. I looked at the CPU specs, the MB specs, the Video Card specs...etc. I went to the websites of the Hardware Manufacturer and downloaded the manuals and read them cover to cover to ENSURE all components would work they way I wanted.

Chirs M. just because you failed to do this simple task DO NOT blame ASRock or Newegg for your failures. DO NOT try to build a high end gaming system on the cheap and then complain when it does not work. If you wanted 3-Way SLI at 16x you needed to buy the i7-5930k and a $400-$500 Motherboard - doesn't matter who makes it.

A true high-end gaming system that works as needed/intended is listed below. Better luck next time Chris M. Maybe you will learn from this experience, but I doubt it. You will just continue to blame everyone but yourself.
Other Thoughts: Full System Specs:

CPU: Intel i7-5930k
MB: ASRock X99X Killer Fatal1ty
RAM: GSkill RipJaws (4 x 4GB) DDR4-2666Mhz
GPU: (2) MSI Gaming Edition GTX 980's - SLI
PSU: EVGA 1000P2 - 1000Watt Full-Modular Platinum
Boot Disk: Crucial Ultra M.2 512GB SSD
Storage Disk: (2) Seagate 1TB 7200RPM HDD's in RAID 0
Back Up Disk: (1) Seagate 4TB/8GB 7200RPM Hybrid Drive
Optical Drive: LG Blu-Ray Re-Writer
Corsair Vengeance C70 Mid-Tower Gaming Case
Corsair H80i CPU Cooler
(5) Corsair AF120 120mm Red LED Case Fans
(2) Corsair SP120 120mm Static Pressure Red LED Case Fan
(2) Corsair AF140 140mm Red LED Case Fans

3D Mark FireStrike Score: 18154, FireStrike Extreme Score: 9634

Newegg I understand your Guidelines, but please post this. The truth needs to be told...
Reviewed By:N/A,12/24/2014 9:04:50 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE GA-Z97X-SLI LGA 1150 Intel Z97 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Bad Motherboard/DOA
Pros: good looking design
Cons: Even with overall high good reviews, should have read all the bad reviews regard this board. Brand new build, having power cycling issues as reported by other users. Why so many bad DOA motherboards by gigabyte. Previously I have used asus motherboard, and had good luck on the first try, but this time I went with a different motherboard manufacture.
Reviewed By:N/A,12/24/2014 8:41:15 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.