Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > EVGA > EVGA H55V 111-CD-E630-TR LGA 1156 Intel H55 HDMI Micro ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great budget mobo, but has some issues...
Pros: Easy to set up
Simple and straight forward
HDMI out
Perfect mobo for my HTPC
Supports up to 16 GB of ram
Cons: Doesn't allow for much configuration or OCing, but didn't buy it for that - it's a simple budget board
Didn't come with a dozen krispy kremes
Other Thoughts: I bought this as my HTPC and to eventaully use with a 2nd display as a basic home PC. So far it's been great - no problems to report.

The quad-core i5's and i7's do not have integrated video and thus will not work with the onboard HDMI. Contrary to what has been said previously, the dual-core i5's (and of course the i3's) will use the onboard HDMI. Just make sure you do your research and know what you want beforehand.

I'm planning on upgrading to an i7 and a GTX 460 video card in the near future to boost the performance a bit.

Rosewill Challenger
EVGA H55V
Intel Core i3 540 3.06 GHz
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB DDR3 1333
WD Caviar Black 1 TB
Rosewill RV-2 700W


New info 6/2016 - I've had this MB for several years and it has served me well. When set up as a dual monitor PC/HTPC, the onboard video didn't deal with the load very well (it's just an i3, so I wasn't expecting much). But, I installed an EVGA GTX 460 and it has been great ever since.


My new problem is that it won't let me upgrade to a full 16 GB of RAM. It has been running on 8 GB of G.SKILL Ripjaws Series DDR3 1333 (two 4 GB DIMMs) since I originally built the PC. I purchased an additional 8 GB of the exact same RAM and it won't even boot into the BIOS with all 4 DIMMS installed. Is there any work around for this?


The BIOS is bone stock, which is fine. I'm not an overclocker. But to not be able to use the product to it's advertised capacity is pretty unfortunate. I'd prefer to not have to build a new PC just because my motherboard won't do what it is advertised to do.
Reviewed By:Robert S.,6/27/2016 3:58:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASRock > ASRock 775I65G R3.0 LGA 775 Intel 865G + ICH5 Micro ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 wrong OS
Pros: windows 7 running the machine fine with windows 7 stock drivers (except lan and ect.
Cons: when I tried to load the lan driver, it said I had to install windows xp to load these drivers.
also the audio drivers and vga drivers. they did not have a required operating system listed
on the specs sheet like they do on the G41M-VS motherboard by Asrock.
this is a internet only type machine and useless without a lan driver.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Jon,

Thank you for purchase and review.
Please visit link below for mainboard's support OS list and driver can be download.
Specification link under OS section: http://www.asrock.com/mb/Intel/775i65G%20R3.0/?cat=Specifications
Drivers download link: http://www.asrock.com/mb/Intel/775i65G%20R3.0/?cat=Download

If you have any technical support inquiry, please contact us at http://www.ASRock.com/Support/tsd.asp
We will assist you shortly.

Thank you

ASRock SUPPORT
Tech Support Email: http://www.ASRock.com/Support/tsd.asp

Reviewed By:jon l.,6/27/2016 12:31:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS Z170-E LGA 1151 Intel Z170 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 bent pins on arrival
Pros: Looks nice
Cons: Doesn't work, 2 cpu pins on motherboard were bent on arrival.
Other Thoughts: At closer look when going to put my cpu in, I see an irregular space where my cpu should go, at closer inspection with a magnifying glass it looks like 2 bent pins in like 2nd and 3rd row of gold pins where cpu goes. Called Asus they tell me to get a hold of the place where it was shipped from, I email them and they respond with contact Asus. So I call Asus back and they say they will repair it instead of sending me a replacement board and that might have to pay more money to get it replaced. not too happy with this since the pins are either broken or bent and not even due to me. 1st time I ever go to use Asus/ Intel stuff and so far not too impressed, hoping that getting a replacement won't cost me anything.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Valued ASUS Customer,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I'm sorry to hear about your difficulties and please accept our apologies for any inconvenient experience. All ASUS motherboards come with a CPU socket cover to prevent damage to the CPU socket. We appreciate your feedback on this matter and I will be letting the related department know about the issues you are experiencing. Have you already contacted your Place of Purchase for an exchange for a new motherboard? If your purchase is within 30 days, your retailer should honor there return policy. Please provide me with more details on this situation so we can take the appropriate steps to get this issues straightened out. If you need assistance with any technical questions or general inquiries, feel free to email me at cl-nestor@asus.com.

Thank you for choosing ASUS!

Best Regards,
-Nestor
ASUS Customer Loyalty - US Support

Reviewed By:shawn c.,6/27/2016 12:01:58 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS ROG STRIX X99 GAMING LGA 2011-v3 Intel X99 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Motherboard
Pros: -Posted fine out of the box
-Has enough RGB LED lights to look awesome but so much that it looks tacky
-Great BIOS, easy to use
-ASUS customer support are helpful and will stay with you until any problem you may have is fixed
Cons: -RAID instructions in the Manual is not the ASUS recommended way to set it up. You may need to call costemer support or use the ASUS "RAID Setup Guide" online.
-First PCI slot for graphics card may be blocked by some of the more larger CPU coolers.
Reviewed By:Pedro S.,6/27/2016 11:48:31 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > MSI > MSI MSI Gaming Z170A GAMING M9 ACK LGA 1151 Intel Z170 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Great looking board...has some problems though
Pros: It looks awesome when its all lit up. Goes great with Captain 360 water cooling loop, and overclocks like a beast. Right now Im pushing 4.6ghz @ 1.32v with 32gb GSkill RipJaw ram, and it plugs away with everything. 4.7 pushes it, but I didnt tweak anything to try to get it stable. I have an EVGA 1000w power supply which didnt like overclocking my old Asus Sabertooth z87, so I was amazed that it worked wonderfully on this board.
Cons: Right now, the ethernet controller doesnt see a cable plugged in, so Im stuck using Wi-fi only. Running BIOS 1.7, all drivers are updated...this ethernet controller is unsatisfactory. Nothing but red LED lights lit up in the back. Cable works fine on other computers of mine. Also a big gripe for me is the lack of USB ports on the rear panel. There's only 3 of them that I can actually use, but a high speed hub works well...between the 2 MFDs, throttle and joystick, rudder pedals, trackIR, mouse, keyboard, external backup drives and whatnot, 4 USB ports doesnt help a whole lot.
Other Thoughts: Have enough for an RMA...but I spent 8 hours installing this motherboard and tidying up the case only to find that issue might as well just keep it and get an aftermarket ethernet controller instead. But seriously, how did this sneak past QC?
Reviewed By:kevin u.,6/27/2016 10:52:36 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > MSI > MSI Z170-A PRO LGA 1151 Intel Z170 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Feature-packed, but cheap build quality
Pros: -Legacy boot options
-Feature rich bios
-For my build in particular, everything on the board was pretty conveniently located
-Cheap
-Overclocks well so far
Cons: -This is NOT a full ATX board. It fits ATX cases and such but it has 6 screw holes, not 9. It didn't help that the board bends pretty easily.
-24 pin connector is the tightest I've come across. I would wager that the latch was built about a millimeter too low. It felt like I was about to snap the board when I plugged it in and I'm still not sure if it's in right. I'm going to need to find something to hold it up while I try again.
-I received a board that has the ghost bios issue. Even if I shut down windows properly, it would boot by itself 5 seconds later. The fix was easy enough - Flashed the BIOS to the latest version, then went into the boot options and changed "Wake on BIOS" to "Wake on OS." Or something like that.
-UEFI BIOS is a little cluttered and hard to navigate
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/27/2016 9:45:20 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASRock > ASRock Z97 OC Formula LGA 1150 Intel Z97 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great product for Newbies and Pro's
Pros: ASRock is my favorite MOBO manufacturer:
-The BIOS is amazing! Feature rich, easy to use, well designed, and extremely powerful.
- Bench testing is a breeze, seriously, on board I/O button with DR.DEBUG and more.
- feature rich (thunderbolt, HDD saver, liquid resistant, spike protection, dehumidifier, etc).
-The OC options are insanely simple but extremely customizable.
Cons: -Killer networking LAN: Not necessarily a dig on ASRock but the driver installs the Killer networking app, I really only wanted the driver but it was a super simple fix (download the driver only and uninstall the app)
-Realtek Sound controller: Again not a dig on ASRock but Realtek is not the greatest when it comes to software, just uninstall the controller and install the basic driver.
-PCI & memory slots are a little bit close to the CPU socket, with a large fan things get cramped again easily fixed by going with a custom liquid cooling loop.
-Price: $250 is a pretty hefty ransom for a MOBO, but comparatively cheap based on the amount of features packed in.
Other Thoughts: -Would you recommend this product to other people?
Yes, ASRock boards are my first choice for MOBO’s this board is just another excuse to push my biased opinion.

-If given the choice, would you purchase this product again?
Without hesitation I would (and have) purchased this product again.

-If there is something about the product you could change, what would it be?
ASRock does a great job they have a tendency to use controllers such as Killer Networking and Realtek for some of their features, I am not a huge fan of these companies by any means but using these companies most likely helps ASRock keep their prices lower than competing manufacturers.

I have owned/used many MOBO’s in my life but ASRock will always be my go to for one reason. When I started out I tried a few brands, and 2010 I purchased an ASRock 880G Extreme3. That board lasted me 6 years without a single issue, the only reason I retired it was because I wanted to upgrade my CPU.

This time last year I had a few projects including a new build for myself. I was got this board on sale and was lucky enough that it came in when the hardware for the other builds came. Because of the onboard setting and DR.DEBUG I was able to identify around 10 DOA parts for 6 separate builds including other brand motherboards. Without this board I would have lost customers, this board helped me get through the mess and come out shinning. Because of this I will always be a lifelong ASRock fanboy.
Reviewed By:John S.,6/27/2016 9:42:02 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS Z170-A LGA 1151 Intel Z170 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great for Windows 10 and my 6700k
Pros: Great motherboard with lots of features for the price. Easy to use BIOS menu however BIOS is somewhat slow at times (I may try updating it.) overall veryimpressed with my purchase.
Cons: No onboard wifi, Drivers for at LEAST the ethernet need to be downloaded manually on another computer and run on this one after that the rest will download automatically on windows 10(for me at least)
Reviewed By:N/A,6/27/2016 8:37:12 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASRock > ASRock H97M Pro4 LGA 1150 Intel H97 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Micro ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Chip socket bracket will bend your pins over. Watch out!
Pros: Unknown, Never got to use the board. I've already requested an RMA with newegg. They better take this back.
Cons: The mechanics of the CPU bracket and the play in the socket allows the chip to slide on the way down when you secure it. The sliding and pressure combined bent the pins over and essentially making the board unusable.
Other Thoughts: Use at your own risk. I am unaccustomed to there being play in CPU sockets and I'm not sure why this design is available at all.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Michael,

We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you.
The mainboard's CPU socket meet or exceed industry standards.
For information about CPU installation guide, please visit at link " http://www.asrock.com/Support/QA/TSDQA-103.pdf ".
If you have any technical issues or warranty questions, please contact our Tech Support at http://www.ASRock.com/Support/tsd.asp
We will assist you shortly.

Thank you

ASRock SUPPORT
Tech Support Email: http://www.ASRock.com/Support/tsd.asp

Reviewed By:Michael P.,6/27/2016 7:46:59 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > MSI > MSI X99A SLI PLUS LGA 2011-v3 Intel X99 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good for the price
Pros: * Supports broadwell-E overclocking with the latest bios.
*Plenty of fan headers
*Plenty of PCIe slots
Cons: *the CPU Fan header does not power up the fans attached connected to the pump (I've tried with different AIO coolers that I have).
I'm guessing that it doesn't deliver enough voltage to power both the pump and the fans.
I won't knock off an egg for this issue because my chassis has a built-in fan controller anyway.
Other Thoughts: I got this with a i7 6850k bundle so I'm happy.
Reviewed By:Carlos S.,6/27/2016 7:45:15 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.