Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Powerline Networking > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR PLW1010 AV2 1000 Mbps Powerline with N300 Wireless Range Extender Kit, Powerline up to 1000 Mbps + Wireless speed up to 300 Mbps

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Ultimate Option For Big Houses
Pros: Solution, easy set up, outstanding speed.
Cons: Cost, Unable to use more then one, Cant use same network name, Netgear support is a joke!
Other Thoughts: The biggest unknown variable is how old your electric panel is. Seems as though if over 15 years this will NOT work. Units MUST be on same electric panel to function. Would be nice netgear if you could add more wireless units, lord knows I have tried.... so I guess if you have a modern house with 5000 ft of floor space with loft and stainless fixtures causing all kinds of dead spots would be nice to have a couple in use.

Other tgan that 1 bar dead spot now 5 bars pulling 80mb on air!!! Dropped my jaw and customers. Noted the wireless unit does get warm.
Reviewed By:z,6/22/2016 12:56:05 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Powerline Networking > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-PA2010KIT AV200 Nano Powerline Adapter Starter Kit, up to 200Mbps

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Very Simple Plug and Play, Effective.
Pros: -Worked in my mobile home, with probable cheaper wiring.
-Boosted my terrible chronic 500-700kbps wifi to 10 mbps, essentially giving me usable internet.
-Plug and play really is plug and play. Connect the wires and its online.
-Small
Cons: -Most homes I have seen only have 1 2 plug outlet, so losing one of those can be difficult especially with a sound system, desktop, dual or triple monitors, phone dock, etc. A single 5-7 outlet surge protector can get crowded. Easily worked around though.
Other Thoughts: I would definitely recommend this product to others that have bad internet.
Reviewed By:Brian L.,6/20/2016 9:56:44 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Powerline Networking > Netgear Inc. > Netgear Powerline AV 200Mbps Pass Thru + USB Port (XAUB2511)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Couldn't get it to work
Pros: Can't see any pros. Basically, the product did not work for me.
Cons: It was a fairly difficult task to get the hardware to join my network. I found the printed instructions included in the package to be unclear at best and misleading at worst. Try to locate the full user manual on the Netgear site. But setup turned out to be the easy part. We have four computers in the house -- a Windows desktop and laptop, and a Mac desktop and laptop. Of those, only the Windows desktop displayed the Airplay button in iTunes that allows you to connect to the speakers fed by the adapter -- and that one played even though the software kept insisting that no speakers were connected. None of the suggestions I found in online forums, including the popular "disable the active network's ipv6 connectivity" -- helped.
Other Thoughts: Not sure if Netgear or Apple is more responsible for this fiasco. But if you want to stream music from a computer to a hi-fi system using iTunes, be prepared for a struggle. I finally gave up and returned the hardware (at my cost).
Reviewed By:Arthur D.,6/16/2016 12:37:05 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Powerline Networking > Netgear Inc. > Netgear PLP1200-100PAS HomePlug AV2 MIMO AV1200 Powerline Gigabit Ethernet Adapter Kit with Pass-Thru, up to 1200Mbps

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Excited to try it, but not what I was hoping for
Pros: Bringing wired ethernet to rooms that didn't have it.
Cons: The speed is so inconsistent.
Connectivity issues overall.
Other Thoughts: The concept of this is great -- I have always wanted to try it. However, I have always had my doubts on whether or not it would actually work. After seeing an incredible sale on these, I picked up two packs (4 total), thinking that if they worked well enough, I would offer the extra pack to a friend. However, the speed has been inconsistent, and I expected that it might work even better in a newer home (my house was only 4 months old when I bought these), but that certainly was not the case.

For most general internet users, the speed and connectivity may be acceptable; for me, with my 4K HD streaming and online gaming, it was completely insufficient.

If you are a gamer like me, wireless is more consistent and stable than even these things. With my Netgear A6210 adapter I get way higher speeds and consistency. To be honest, with the A6210, I can honestly say for the first time that I don't feel the burning need to even have a wired connection anymore.
Reviewed By:Aaron F.,6/14/2016 9:19:14 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Powerline Networking > Netgear Inc. > Netgear XAVB5421-100PAS AV500 1-Port Essentials Edition Powerline Kit with Pass-Thru Outlet,up to 500Mbps

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 This product literally does not work at all.
Pros: It worked for one day and I had the same internet connection as if I was connected directly to my router.
Cons: Constantly drops connection at least 5-10 times a day.
I now get as low as ONE MEGABYTE/SEC download speed instead of the 35mb/sec I normally get.
Need to continuously plug-and replug it back to get it to work again.

Complete piece of junk, powerline networking still has a long ways to go.
Reviewed By:Mohanad B.,6/13/2016 11:00:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Powerline Networking > Netgear Inc. > Netgear XWNB5221-100PAS AV500 Power with N300 Wireless Range Extender Kit, Powerline up to 500Mbps + Wireless speed up to 300 Mbps – Essentials Edition

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 work as expected and stable. very happy
Pros: easy to setup
very stable
it provides one wired connection and extends the wireless network
Cons: none
Reviewed By:PENG Z.,6/13/2016 5:12:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Powerline Networking > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR PLW1010 AV2 1000 Mbps Powerline with N300 Wireless Range Extender Kit, Powerline up to 1000 Mbps + Wireless speed up to 300 Mbps

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 pleasantly surprised
Pros: Speed much better than expected. using testmy.net, got 30mbs down and 11mbs up. Service / router is 150mbs fios. A prior powerline ethernet setup was much slower. Was considering running cat5 in the the plaster and now will defer indefintely (big yay).
Cons: Print on back of the device was tiny, needed a magnifying glass to read.
Other Thoughts: Used in a NYC apartment. So was skeptical about wiring etc.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/12/2016 7:10:37 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Powerline Networking > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-PA4010KIT High-speed AV500 Nano Powerline Adapter Starter Kit, up to 500Mbps

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Thought it was a Decent system
Pros: Good speeds. Obviously if you're looking for gigabit these won't be good enough, but I don't have a problem with it.
These have saved me from running cables.
Cons: I have had to re-pair them multiple times, they don't seem to stay paired very well. They lose connection every few days to a couple weeks it seems. One of them is behind a large computer desk and so it's a huge hassle every time.
Occasionally, they will temporarily lose connection when the computer is not in use. After trying to use the internet, the connection will be reestablished after about 2 minutes.
Other Thoughts: I purchased 2 of these, and my observations seem to be true of all four I have in use. I'm still contemplating buying wireless adapters as they seem to have fewer connection issues...
Edit: After owning these for about 10 months, I have had to repair them 5 times which for some reason requires them to be on the same outlet or surge protector. Now, they won't pair at all. They have become completely useless. The temporary connection loss was annoying but not a deal breaker. Needing to be repaired every other month is very annoying. And now that they've stopped working at less than a year... there is no way I could recommend this to anyone.
Manufacturer Response:Dear James I.,

Thank you for reviewing our Powerline Adapter Kit, we appreciate your feedback.

Due to the symptoms you've described, we recommend using our Switch Power Save Tool to toggle the Power Saving feature off on your Powerline Adapters. The electrical equipment used in some homes may prevent the Power Saving feature from working properly, and disabling it is recommended in these situations.

You can download the tool here: http://www.tp-link.us/res/down/soft/SwitchPowerSaveTool.zip

Our Support Team would appreciate the opportunity to follow up with you in order to properly address this concern.

At your earliest convenience, please send an e-mail including your contact details along with a copy and paste of your review to our Support Team at the address below so we may have a Support Agent follow up with you for assistance.

Your case reference number is 160616-010634.

We thank you again for your feedback and certainly hope this experience will not discourage you from checking out more of our great networking products in the future.

Best Regards,

TP-LINK Support Team
(866) 225-8139
ussupportteam@tp-link.com

Reviewed By:James I.,6/10/2016 9:41:27 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Powerline Networking > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TPL-406E2K Powerline AV500 Nano Adapter Kit, up to 500 Mbps

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 great fix for my issues
Pros: So my sons computer for a reason I couldn't figure out was having latency issues connecting via wifi. We tried a couple of different ways to connect wirelessly and was he was still having issues. It got so bad he stopped playing Heroes and couldn't play Overwatch because a bad lag issues. I was told by a friend that this would solve my issues. I plugged this in and didn't add software, just plug and play and BAM! No more latency issues! Great product
Cons: None
Reviewed By:N/A,6/9/2016 10:29:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Powerline Networking > Netgear Inc. > Netgear XWNB5221-100PAS AV500 Power with N300 Wireless Range Extender Kit, Powerline up to 500Mbps + Wireless speed up to 300 Mbps – Essentials Edition

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 This is an amended review, post-installation; and again, because I found that it works with the TiVo Mini, which requires a hardwire network connection.
Pros: Inexpensive - turned out to be $20 after rebate. Newegg got it to me in a day.

****************

After a frustrating time setting it up, the thing works great. The instructions that came with it are kinda useless - the devices and lights on them do not behave the way the little pamphlet says they should.

Nonetheless, I got it working, although I have no real idea whether I managed to get a secure connection going or not. Not too worried about somebody breaking into my powerline network at the moment.

Works well with a TiVo Mini, a fussy little device that needs a solid hardwired network connection, and this thing provides it.
Cons: Truly horrid documentation. Seriously pathetic. It starts with the 2nd page of the Quick Start Guide, where the sizes of the two items are confusingly wrong, then goes on to the actual installation, where the pictures of which device connects to the router and which one to device that needs a hardware link show THE SAME BOX on both ends. How is that helpful, Netgear? It's just lazy to not have even checked that.

Then there's the full manual: there isn't one. The Netgear site does not have one. All I really needed to find out is if it was possible to turn of the wireless portion of this product, use it strictly wired, but it's IMPOSSIBLE to find that info anywhere.

Just a little more effort on Netgear's part with the documentation would have made things so much simpler for both the newbie and experienced geek.
Other Thoughts: At $20 after rebate, I'll play with it. At the original $60 price, I would have been livid at how badly this thing is documented. I'm usually a big Netgear fan. Their stuff works. I haven't hooked this up yet, so can't comment on performance, but they need to do a MUCH better job of documenting their stuff. There's such a thing as frustratingly too simple.

*********

The thing has been running for about 10 days now. It's providing Internet to a TiVo in a remote part of the house, and it's doing a fine job of it. No issues at all so far.

Here's what they don't tell you ANYWHERE: You can log into the thing from a browser using its assigned IP address, which you can get from your router. In my case, it was http://192.168.29.192. The login default user is admin, and I believe there is no password. From there you can do stuff like turn off wireless (which I did) and check and change setup parameters. I tried using Netgear's app on my phone and that turned out to be utterly worthless. I haven't installed their network utility on my desktop, and may not if things continue to work.

I changed the rating from two eggs to four, because it does seem to work consistently well.
Reviewed By:Robert K.,6/7/2016 10:23:48 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.