Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > Intel > Intel NUC (Next Unit of Computing) BOXNUC6I5SYH 2 x 260Pin SO-DIMM Intel Iris graphics 540 1 x full-size HDMI 1.4b 1 x mini DisplayPort 1.2 Aluminum and Plastic Mini / Booksize Barebone System

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Tiny but snappy - once it's set up
Pros: - Small, easily hangs on a monitor
- Has room for an M.2 SSD + a 2.5" drive
- Plenty fast for most tasks
Cons: - Driver installation is a pain ... the Intel driver update utility insists on installing one driver at a time and rebooting ... all the while downloading the drivers every time. It also never seemed to recall that it had already installed the Intel graphics drivers and wanted to continually update them. It also wanted to install the NFC drivers even though NFC was disabled in the BIOS (the default setting), which caused the driver installation to fail (DUH!).
Other Thoughts: I had to knock of 2 eggs just for the driver installation issues. C'mon Intel ... other manufacturers are smart enough to do all of the installs in one shot. Why can't you? Even two rounds, with a reboot in between, would be reasonable. But going through the process every single time, insisting on a reboot between every driver, and re-downloading everything even though they had already been downloaded is positively unnecessary and, in this day and age, there's really no excuse for such a shoddy and amateurish process.
Plus, you absolutely have to have another machine available to make sure you can download the required drives as not even the Ethernet NIC is recognized by a fresh Windows10 installation.
Outside of that, so far, so good. It's a quick little machine that we have attached to the back of a monitor for the kids to use. It's nice and compact for the small space where we have it. Installation of the additional required hardware components was a breeze and I do really like the option for an extra 2.5" drive (even though we aren't using it now).
Reviewed By:James S.,5/25/2016 2:44:27 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE BRIX GB-BXi5-5575 (rev. 1.0) Intel HM87 2 x 204Pin SO-DIMM Intel Iris Pro 6200 Black BRIX Pro / Ultra Compact PC kit

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Compact and powerful
Pros: Very compact and powerful. We use this for our Kiosks for a naval museum where there isn't enough room for a desktop. This is a really cool concept and although I use these primarily for work, I may just get one for home use too.
Cons: Have to assemble HDD/SSD and RAM and install operating system and drivers. On the flip side, it is then very customizable. You can add the amount of RAM you need and a hard drive the size that you need.
Reviewed By:Michael T.,5/25/2016 7:03:44 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > Shuttle Computer > Shuttle XS36V4 Desktop Computer - Intel Celeron J1900 2 GHz - Slim PC

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Shuttle Support leaves a lot to be desired... UPDATE I did manage to get a hold of Erik at Shuttle for a new BIOS.
Pros: I can't tell. It won't boot to any sort of install setup I try. UPDATE It's a good running machine, very low power usage, and powerful for what it is.
Cons: This product will not boot. No matter what I try, it simply goes to a window that says:

EFI Shell version 2.31 [5.9]
Device mapping table

About 2 months of trying different combinations on the BIOS, no luck.

It will not boot to any style of device I might have, USB, preformatted hard drive, preformatted SSD, USB connected optical disk....

I just go round and round....

So, I contact Shuttle. No word. It's a shame. I figure it may work if I could get it flashed, but nothing from Shuttle, and their webpage for this product seems to be permanently down. I'll wait, of course. I have no other choice. Can I return a likely functioning unit that I cannot get flashed? UPDATE see other
Other Thoughts: UPDATE I did get this machine running on a newer BIOS with Slackware 14.1 with UEFI. The BIOS options are still a little thin. It is working, but my kernel version doesn't have a working driver for WiFi. However, that is my distro's issue and not the device. Will have to compile a new kernel, or go with Slackware-current.
Reviewed By:Gerald R.,5/25/2016 12:09:56 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > Intel > Intel NUC Skull Canyon NUC6i7KYK kit with 6th gen. Intel Core i7 processor, M.2 SSD Compatible, Dual DDR4 Memory Max 32GB with Intel Iris Pro graphics, Thunderbolt 3, No OS, Windows 10 Compatible

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Choice! Everything as expected or better. This is my first INTEL NUC kit.
Pros: -easy to set up
-nice and compact and portable
-can play graphically intensive games
-instruction on how to 3d print your own cover
-thunderbolt connection
-mostly easy driver installation from Intel
Cons: -not much
Other Thoughts: I tried to play a graphically intense game like the Witcher 3 on 40fps and it is not bad considering it is an integrated card. Of course, I can add an external graphics card like the Razor Core later. At 60fps or more, it starts to stutter. I did not overclock it.

As another reviewer said, you need to connect to the internet somehow after WIN 10 installation, as the drivers are not included. Just get the ethernet driver from another computer and then use the Intel website which auto detects all necessary drivers. Also, you should use Windows update to get the rest.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/24/2016 3:15:08 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE BRIX GB-BSi3H-6100 (rev. 1.0) 2 x 204Pin SO-DIMM Intel HD Graphics 520 Mini / Booksize Barebone System

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good efficient, light and quiet mini PC, but a pain to set up
Pros: - Displayport
- M.2 slot
- 2.5" 7mm/9mm HDD/SSD bay
- includes wifi and bluetooth module
Cons: A royal pain after installing fresh Windows (10), once you're finished installing Windows 10 you must download all the drivers off Gigabyte's site (or download it beforehand and store it on a flash stick) otherwise you'll run into some stability issues.
Other Thoughts: I picked this up for my wife to replace her old PC, she just plays Facebook games most of the time on it and it does the job for her, I threw in a Sandisk 128GB M.2 drive and 8GB Crucial DDR3L-1600 RAM and Windows 10 home and uses Microsoft Designer mouse and keyboard.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/24/2016 1:31:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > ECS (EliteGroup) > LIVA X 4GB/64GB Mini PC

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 CPU not as advertised
Pros: Loaded Ubuntu Server 16.04 via USB DVD drive, installed fine. Added Ubuntu desktop on top. Runs fine in both text and graphics mode. Silent, boots quickly.
Cons: CPU is advertised as "upgraded to 2.25GHz". I didn't notice a BIOS setting to change the CPU speed. According to Ubuntu, it is 1.58GHz.

It would not boot off an older USB 2.0 FLASH stick with DOS installed, but that might have been BIOS settings. The system went directly into BIOS setup rather than booting off the USB drive.
Other Thoughts: Do not buy until the CPU speed issue is reconciled. Which is it? 1.58GHz or 2.25GHz? Would have gotten 5 starts if it's CPU were 2.25GHz.
Reviewed By:Steve A.,5/24/2016 6:03:59 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > Kangaroo > Kangaroo Plus Mobile Mini PC, Intel Atom x5 Z8500, 4GB LPDDR3, 64GB eMMC, Finger Print Reader, Non OS, Windows 10 compatible

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Nice concept
Pros: Small, low power, New concept, support do reply to questions, 4 gb ram, 64 gig Nand flash, windows drivers.
Cons: No LAN Port "this need to be a must built-in", No Linux support for the moment, no DVI or VGA port not much performance on windows 10 and can not run windows 7.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun toy and can be used as a full time usable system, Main problem is the lack of development from Intel or OEM they just can't get the full power out of it without right drivers "API's"
Once full drivers support is ready this thing will shine in a Linux environment.I have noticed huge difference in performance when using Ubuntu over windows 10.
Reviewed By:syed a.,5/23/2016 5:13:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > MSI > MSI Aegis-001BUS, Intel b150 Chipset, Supports two slot graphics card up to GTX 980Ti, DDR4 SO-DIMM x 2 32GB Max, Supports Intel 6th Gen CPU, Gaming Barebone w/o OS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Overall a very good small power house machine
Pros: - It's very small, comparable to a mini tower. This is the primary reason I bought it.
- Aesthetically looks good but not the reason I bought it. It has only 5 LEDS positioned so that it doesn't directly glare out and bother you while on the computer.
- Motherboard is already on the higher end for non-overclock able boards.
- 600w power supply included, enough for a I5 6600 and a Radeon R9 390. The graphics card can be overclocked but that's a given.
- The graphics card is positioned vertically against the motherboard saving more space which I prefer as a pro. There is no way to save space unless you do so, this is done through a PCIE riser card built in to the case.
- Built in heat-sink and fan for CPU.
- 30 C for both CPU and GPU at 22 C for room temperature.
- This board supports the NVMe architecture. I was able to get 2067 Mbps on a Samsung 950 Pro without the magician software and without the Samsung NVMe controller. This is the last reason I chose buying this.
- There's a built in RAID controller.
- With that said on the M.2 NVMe card, there's still space for an SSD and two 3.5" drives. I'll possibly combine the two 3.5" drives for a RAID 1 backup configuration.
- There's a DVD drive, that's a surprise. Although, I could remove the DVD drive and put an adhesive on the DVD drive cover so that it stays in place. Then I will replace it with another SSD for a possible dual Raid 0 SSD and a RAID 1 3.5" drive combined configuration.
- Total weight is low but this is based on carrying it and not objectively weighing it.
Cons: - MSI used an 8 port PSU power connector for a 4 port power slot to power the motherboard. The clip is not locked because of this. They knew the board isn't upgradeable so I find this confusing.
- The power connector cable touches the copper heatsink of the CPU. This isn't good if this were an overclocked build.
- Intel Chipset B150 is bad news for overclocking enthusiasts. There's no space inside to do any custom cooling in the case.
- The angle makes it looks nice at the bottom but MSI could have saved more space on this case. They have an existing one available but I wanted to get the latest one.
- Motherboard is non upgradeable because of the heatsink. You have to find a similar motherboard with the same exact CPU location that is perfect to the lowest centimeter.
- CPU Cooler is non upgradeable. Unless you find a way to somehow forge a new heat sink smaller than 60 cm in height or route liquid cooling tubes outside the CPU.
- PSU looks like it is non upgradeable but replaceable. It also looks like one of the power supplies I work with on 1U Dell Poweredge Servers. Have not tried taking it out of the case to find out if it is an ISO standard.
There's a DVD drive…
Other Thoughts: Other purchased components:

Core I5 6600
Radeon 390
DDR4-2133 SODIMM
950 Pro NVMe

I wanted a high end stable and non-overclocked system and this barebones build fits the deal. The possibility of a dual RAID 0 SSD and RAID 1 3.5" backup spin drives configuration is something to look forward with this build.
Reviewed By:KENNETH S.,5/23/2016 6:42:49 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > ECS (EliteGroup) > LIVA X 2GB/32GB Mini PC

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Lasted me 8 months used very infrequently.
Pros: Small.
Cons: Lasted only short period of time. Went to turn it on yesterday (20th of May/2016, Purchased it in September/2015)

Blank screen. Nothing. It simply died on me.
Reviewed By:James P.,5/21/2016 10:31:49 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > ECS (EliteGroup) > LIVA X 2GB/32GB Mini PC

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Versatile product
Pros: I purchased a Crucial SSD (240GB) to add to this device. I have successfully installed Server 2016 and have been using it as a domain controller for a couple of weeks with no issues. Fast and quite and easy to setup and configure if you have basic tech skills.
Cons: More like wishes, would like to be able to add more memory, would be my only sore spot. And 32GB is small but this is about the same setup as my DELL tablet and i have windows 10 installed and it works fine for browsing and media playback.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/19/2016 2:48:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.