Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Mini / Booksize Barebone PCs > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE BRIX GB-BXi7-4770R 2 x 204Pin Intel Iris Pro graphics 5200 Mini-PC Barebone

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Fast and small, but noisy.
Pros: Fast. I'm using this machine as a Plex transcode box. Depending on the content the transcode speed has been up to 25 X, which is great.

Small. It's coffee mug size.
Cons: Loud. In normal usage, it's fine, but the second that you start to tax the CPU you hear the tiny fan spin up to VERY audible levels. This thing sits inside of my media cabinet, which may not have the best ventilation, but even when moved outside it's loud. Next time, make something three inches taller and include a better cooling system.
Other Thoughts: This is great if you need something small with a lot of CPU horsepower, but can also hide it in a basement somewhere...
Reviewed By:N/A,1/27/2015 11:55:55 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mini / Booksize Barebone PCs > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE BRIX Gaming GB-BXA8G-8890 AMD Bolton M3 2 x 204Pin SO-DIMM AMD Radeon R9 M275X Mini-PC Barebone

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 It does some cool stuff
Pros: First off I didn't get this from Newegg I bought it on CL for $250 with a hard drive and 2gb ram already attached which at that price point it's FANTASTIC

I knew not to expect much after reading reviews but I'm very surprised at the power to size ratio.

This isn't a gaming PC in the sense of a traditional play anything tower, but that being said for the size of smaller then a gamecube it puts out some serious power! It plays WoW on high LoL flawlessly, Borderlands 2 on medium at 1440x900 with playable fps, and Skyrim on high with minor hickups and a few HD texture packs and a few other visual mods.

Some games don't like it at all.

for an HTPC it's amazing plays any video on 1080p flawlessly
and gets good enough Wifi.

I'm going to update it to 8gb of ram and go from there and hope this little cube lasts me a while.
Cons: It's hot and not silent. It runs hot, but in a cool room I personally haven't noticed throttling... yet... it might be and I'm just not noticing or not pushing it hard enough. It can get kind very hot and loudish at full gaming. I'm going to be looking for thermal workarounds such as adding two fans on the outsides to push in more air and exhaust more out, or making a new box for it to keep it smallish, but much more thermally sound.
Other Thoughts: It's cool. It's tiny. It does more then you would think something this size would do. If there are ever invaders you could throw it at them and it would hurt like a brick.
Reviewed By:Lucidkev,1/26/2015 3:37:44 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mini / Booksize Barebone PCs > Foxconn > Foxconn nT-iBT19 1 x 204Pin SO-DIMM Intel HD Graphics Integrated by CPU NanoPC Barebone

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good HTPC
Pros: small, quiet, cheap, fast enough.
The 2.5" hard drive and mSATA slot can be used at the same time.
The driver thumb drive is writable, so you can put any driver's it's missing on it.
Cons: Documentation was a little lacking.
Window 7 drivers had to be downloaded from the web.
Other Thoughts: I had to switch the voltage jumper to get it to work with my low voltage F3-1600C9S-8GRSL RAM. The manual's pictures give no references that match the actual board, so I couldn't figure out which pin was "1". I had no video output at all from the HDMI port until I did. I didn't have a VGA cable to check with.

I got this very important tidbit from a FOXCONN response to an iBT18 review "For Win7, you need to set CSM support = enable & OS select = Win7 otherwise you cannot install Win7." The Windows installer would fail to load with a red bar across the top of the screen, until i did this.

The iBT18 reviews also let me know you can't install Windows 7 from the USB 3.0 ports

Very happy with the final built. Built in CIR and a USB 3.0 Port on the back would have made this perfect.
Reviewed By:Dave D.,1/25/2015 6:17:25 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mini / Booksize Barebone PCs > ASRock > ASRock VisionX 420D-8G1T88 Intel H87 2 x 204Pin SO-DIMM AMD Radeon R9 M270X Barebone

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 good luck getting a response from ASR
Pros: I have 3 of these machines - 2 work perfectly
Cons: 1 of my 3 machines won't boot if the top shield inside the case is fastened down. If you leave out the screws it boots fine, but the video crashes if you bump it and you have to reboot the machine. I've sent two technical requests to ASR through their website sine Dec-14 with no response.
Other Thoughts: If you need 2 great machines, but 3 and hope for the best...
Manufacturer Response:Dear Valued ASRock Customer

Sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused you.
We will be more than happy to resolved issue that you have.
Please contact us with detail problem description at 909-590-8308 or http://www.ASRock.com/support/tsd.asp. We will assist you shortly.

Thank you

ASRock SUPPORT
Tech Support Email: http://www.ASRock.com/support/tsd.asp

Reviewed By:Ed S,1/24/2015 10:35:32 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mini / Booksize Barebone PCs > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE GB-BXi3-4010 2 x 204Pin SO-DIMM Intel HD Graphics 4400 Integrated by CPU Mini-PC Barebone

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Utterly awesome!
Pros: First pro: size. It makes the Mac Mini look like a ship's anchor! I go to an art school where most people blindly follow the cult of Mac, and it's fun to be able to point at their gigantic Mac Minis they use for art installations, and say "still using those old behemoths?

Second pro: performance. I use this to run art installations, usually running programs written in Processing, which sometimes have a bit of a performance overhead, since they use Java. I was able to run an installation that pulled data from a webcam using computer vision libraries, amplitude information from a microphone, and then threw GPU accelerated 2D visuals on the screen. The CPU usage never exceeded about 30%, which really is quite good considering everything going on. Haven't tried it with 3D yet, but it seems to be moderately capable in this department.

I also draw on it using Inkscape, which doesn't slow down until I get maybe 3500 nodes on the screen, which is pretty respectable.

The only time it showed its limitations was really when it played Shadowrun: Dragonfall for Linux. The game was playable, but could be better. However, it's my opinion that this game isn't as optimized as it could be, considering it lagged a bit on a 6-core overclocked AMD Phenom II with a Radeon R7 260X.

Third Pro: stylish and quiet. Frankly, I think the design is not only smaller than the Mac Mini, but more stylish. Unlike many stylish PCs, it's not even derivative of Apple stuff. The polished black plexiglass top is as nice as it looks in the pictures, the black aluminum on the sides has a nice silver bevel cut into the edge. The black aluminum sides also have a nice, apparently durable flat powdercoat. Oh, and it's quiet. Mostly, you hardly hear it. If the CPU usage clears maybe 30-40%, it's possible to hear the fan, but this is only a problem if you are in a virtually silent room. In my installations, you can't hear the fan if there's even a little background noise (like chatter, or the ventilation system).

Fourth pro: regular HDMI port. No buying special mini HDMI cables like the Intel NUC, or any of that mini DisplayPort bogosity. Just plug in your HDMI cable and go. Does HDMI audio out, and regular headphone jack out too.

Fifth pro: works great with Linux. No problems with installation or hardware recognition. Runs very smoothly. I don't think it's ever crashed since installing Linux (Mint KDE) in November. By that I mean I've had a few programs crash (mostly Inkscape), but never a total freeze that required reboot. No, I tell a lie, the other day it inexplicably froze on boot, but these things happen with any machine.
Cons: If there's a con, it's POSSIBLY the wifi card. Sometimes I have problems with the wifi dropping, though this has become more rare. It seems to happen mostly when I'm on an encrypted network at some distance from the router. There is talk this may be the fault of how Linux works with encrypted Wifi in general, as this is not the only machine to report these issues. Hasn't happened in a few weeks, but I've been using it much closer to the router. I will point out in its favor this is likely a Linux issue, as I tried a USB wifi dongle that had the same problems. So if you're running Windows, you'll most likely be fine. I also found that sharing the Wifi connection from my table via bluetooth was a viable option for basic web browsing and music streaming, but insufficient for Netflix (which works *directly* through Chrome with Linux now, FYI!) or torrent downloads.

The other con, and this is a nitpick, is that if you wall mount it (which works great!), the power cable has to slightly sit on top of the HDMI cable. It doesn't cause it to stick out from the case or anything but that could've been done better.
Other Thoughts: My life feels more fulfilled since getting this little thing.
Reviewed By:Zedmaster,1/24/2015 8:04:10 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mini / Booksize Barebone PCs > ECS (EliteGroup) > White ECS LIVA 64GB 2GB DDR3L RAM installed 64GB eMMC Storage

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Second One
Pros: Silent
Tiny
Low power
Cons: Linux Compatibility
Locked onto windows 8.1 or Ubuntu
Other Thoughts: TRhis is my second ECS Lva my first was the 32GB version which I quickly realised was way too small for my use case. I use both as WMC PCs (I won't call them HTPCs). For this specific use case these are fantastic. I can't comment on WiFi performance as I wire everything I can. (They both run through "Gigabit" AV2 Homeplugs).
My units run Windows 8.1 with Windows Media Center, Plex and Kodi as the main applications in use. I cannot complain especially at the price I got these units on sale.
Reviewed By:Slo Mo,1/23/2015 4:14:27 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mini / Booksize Barebone PCs > Intel > Intel BOXDN2820FYKH0 1 x 204Pin SO-DIMM Intel HD Graphics Integrated by CPU Mini / Booksize Barebone System

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Nice for HTPC
Pros: Hardware video decode, Front USB 3.0, quiet, small, built-in IR receiver, standard 2.5 SATA HD, excellent performance for a 7.5 W TDP
Cons: Shipping BIOS is outdated, can't get WiFi card to authenticate to old Netgear AP under Ubuntu 14.04, UEFI boot is wonky with Ubuntu
Other Thoughts: The BIOS screen res is incompatible with many TVs. Works fine with PC monitor. BIOS update fixes that though. Under Ubuntu, finds my Netgear WG102 AP, but will not authenticate using WPA2 and will not connect. Won't even connect when I change to open AP. Can't seem to get fresh Ubuntu EFI install to work, but non-EFI works fine.
Reviewed By:Jaybus,1/23/2015 11:00:02 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mini / Booksize Barebone PCs > ZOTAC > Zotac ZBOXNXS-AD11-U AMD A50M (Hudson M1) 1 x 204Pin SO-DIMM AMD Radeon HD 6320 Mini / Booksize Barebone System

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent little HTPC
Pros: Comes with a lot of little things you would normally have to buy separately - a USB wireless adapter, an infrared receiver, a MCE remote.
Cons: Doesn't come with hard drive or RAM.
Other Thoughts: I am booting from a USB stick because I picked this unit up on sale for $80 and I couldn't bring myself to spend almost that much just for an mSATA drive. I am running openelec via the USB2 port and it is PLENTY fast and responsive. An amazing value when compared to rPI or Cubox which are around the same price but MUCH less powerful than the E-450 APU in this thing
Reviewed By:ben,1/22/2015 6:34:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mini / Booksize Barebone PCs > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE GB-BXBT-2807 1 x 204Pin SO-DIMM Intel HD Graphics Integrated by CPU Mini-PC Barebone

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Machine builder
Pros: Can't evaluate as it does not have a complete power supply
Cons: Does not have a complete power supply, no way to plug it into an outlet.
Other Thoughts: A complete power supply would be nice.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Customer,

Thank you for your comments. We apologize for your difficulty with your GIGABYTE product. Please contact us at newegg-support@gigabyteusa.com with the case number 118332 in the e-mail subject line. We will provide personalized service and analysis to help solve your issue ASAP. If the matter is urgent, please send us your contact number, and we will contact you.

GIGABYTE VIP Support Team

Reviewed By:Andy,1/21/2015 2:27:28 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Mini / Booksize Barebone PCs > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE GB-BXBT-2807 1 x 204Pin SO-DIMM Intel HD Graphics Integrated by CPU Mini-PC Barebone

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nice little box for the money
Pros: Low cost, Low power consumption (<10watts at full load), small form factor, silent fanless design.. Adequate performance for most tasks except hard-core gaming. Supports 2 displays.
Cons: Only 1 USB3 port (out of 3 total).
Have to change a BIOS setting to get it to run Windows 7 or Linux.
Documentation is sparse
Other Thoughts: Use the *EXACT* RAM specified, If you don't use LOW VOLTAGE (1.35V) PC-1333 RAM, it won't turn on. Put in the right RAM and it will. Both the voltage and the speed have to be exactly correct. I suspect that a large number of the "DOA" claims and "1" ratings are from people who simply did not buy the right RAM.

It has no problems with 8GB if it is the correct speed and voltage.
Reviewed By:JT,1/21/2015 7:59:46 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.