Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > ECS (EliteGroup) > Black ECS LIVA 2GB DDR3L RAM installed 32GB eMMC Storage

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Mythbuntu ECS Liva
Pros: Small, noiseless, streams HD video. Easy to setup with mythbuntu.

I was worried about using this as a standalone frontend for my mythtv setup, however, any worries were largely unfounded.
- HD recordings/videos/live TV work very nicely.
- VAAPI works with minimal extra configuration
- HDMI audio works no problem.
Cons: - definitely had a problem with xfsettingsd, and found that it was easiest to deal with the ugly fonts on the desktop and just disable it. If I didn't disable xfsettingsd, I would lose the picture whenever the monitor shut off.
- HDMI audio works, but I gave up on trying to have mythtv control volume.
- Couldn't get LIRC to work easily, so just got a flirc dongle instead.
- I never tried to get wifi or bluetooth working so I don't know if they do or don't
Other Thoughts: I would definitely recommend as a stand alone frontend. Just remember that you may need to tack on an extra $25 to order a FLIRC dongle if you are planning on using a remote control.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/6/2015 2:04:28 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE GB-BXi5-4570R 2 x 204Pin SO-DIMM Intel Iris Pro graphics 5200 Mini-PC Barebone

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 GB-4570R
Pros: Small but powerful unit. Sits behind monitor and does its job. Almost silent operation.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Got this for my wife and was very impressed with the performance, so much so that I paired it with a 29" LG 2560 x 1080 monitor. We'll be taking in on our vacations with a lot of media loaded on the 250GB mSATA drive and an additional 256 SSD. You need to bring your own evening entertainment to the hither lands of far eastern Maine.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/5/2015 7:39:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > ECS (EliteGroup) > Black ECS LIVA 2GB DDR3L RAM installed 32GB eMMC Storage

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 You get what you pay for!
Pros: Box is small and silent. Makes a great little Windows 8.1 "plug and forget" server.
Cons: As someone else mentioned, the antenna connectors suck. I destroyed mine after the third dis assembly, but I had planned to use a hard-wired network connection, so it did not matter to me. I ended up taking the bluetooth/wifi module out altogether.

The power switch would not work once the case was fully assembled. It's possible there should have been a "dimple" on the back of the plastic switch, but mine did not have one. I went into the BIOS and set it automatically power-up on power loss, so the switch is no longer an issue.
Other Thoughts: I would not mind the ability to plug in an external SD card. I have about 9GB left after installing my server application. We'll see how it does over the coming weeks/months.
Manufacturer Response:We are sorry to hear about the difficulties you had with the WiFi connections and the case power button. If you still have questions or concerns, please feel free to contact us and we will look into providing a solution for your issues.

I or any of my team members here at technical support will be able to help you.
Our hours are Mon-Fri 9am-6pm PST.

Thank you,
Andy
Phone# 1-510-456-9836
Email: andy_K@ecsusa.com

Reviewed By:N/A,7/5/2015 12:14:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > Shuttle Computer > Shuttle DS81 Intel H81 Slim PC Barebone - Retail

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Power in a small package
Pros: Good construction, very quiet, easy build, pick your CPU, plenty of connections. Makes a very capable mini-workstation.
Cons: Only niggle is no rear panel audio output, front only.
Other Thoughts: Loaded it with 16GB recommended Kingston memory, Intel 4690S i5 65W Haswell quad-core CPU and Samsung 850 EVO 500GB mSata SSD. Could have stepped up the CPU to the 4790S i7 but just couldn't justify the extra cost. Then installed Fedora 22 Workstation 64bitt.

This combination has made a really nice mini-computer. Easy to build, very quiet, solid construction and packs a lot of power in a book-size package. Highly recommended.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/3/2015 3:53:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > ECS (EliteGroup) > Black ECS LIVA 2GB DDR3L RAM installed 32GB eMMC Storage

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Update review
Pros: Low power, size, quiet, cost when on sale
Cons: Power issues on Micro USB connector. Yes, power consumption is low, but it's only working with the included wall wort. Can't get this working in car with 12V to 5V converters, or any other USB power. Guessing that USB connectors have too small wire and thus voltage drop. Would need surgical precision to attach alternate power leads to motherboard. Can't take advantage of low power as it is.
Other Thoughts: Could have been an "off-grid" star. Poor choice of Micro USB when it needs 3 amps to run. When it boots it fails with every 5V connection I've tried. While 3 amps is very low for a PC, it is very high for USB. So close yet so far. A 12V input would have been better, or a standard jack so that we're not locked into the USB problem.
Manufacturer Response:Thank you for your feedback. It is appreciated. We need your feedback in order to improve the quality of our products and service. The limitation of power design is 12V/3A based on Micro USB connector. If you still have any questions, please contact us and we can look into your previous case.

If you have any questions or concerns regarding this or any ECS products, please contact us. We are here to help.

I or any of my team members here at technical support will be able to help you.
Our hours are Mon-Fri 9am-6pm PST.

Thank you,
Andy
Phone# 1-510-456-9836
Email: andy_K@ecsusa.com

Reviewed By:N/A,7/3/2015 12:27:32 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > Intel > Intel NUC NUC5i3RYH, USB 3.0, Supports M.2 SSD card, Intel HD Graphics 5500, 2.5" Drive Support

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Utterly useless as an HTPC
Pros: Very easy to put together and set up, perfectly designed to serve as an HTPC, BUT there's a single FATAL flaw...
Cons: -USB 3 drivers are bad and don't work with wireless keyboards and mice making this utterly useless as an HTPC.
Other Thoughts: I've been in tech support for 20 years and have never before seen a product get so much right but ruin it with a single stupid driver software fail. Check the web you'll see numerous reports of this and I challenge you to find a fix. My iogear wireless HTPC keyboard and mouse work perfectly in safe mode, as soon as the USB3 drivers are loaded the roller ball mouse stops working. Removing or disabling the usb 3 hub/drivers leaves you without any keyboard or mouse support at all making this a very pretty, very compact, BRICK.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/3/2015 11:40:52 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > ECS (EliteGroup) > Black ECS LIVA 2GB DDR3L RAM installed 32GB eMMC Storage

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3
Pros: 1. Low price
2. Small size
Cons: No sound over HDMI connection with Ubuntu
Other Thoughts: I bought this box just to run Kodi. Installing Ubuntu 14.04.1 LTS and Kodi went smoothly without a hitch. Kodi runs fine, streaming 1080p movies with no issues. The only problem is there's no sound over HDMI connection to my TV.
Manufacturer Response:We are sorry to here about the issues you are having with your HDMI audio. HDMI audio with Ubuntu has been verified and should be no issue with Ubuntu. If you continue to have issues, please do contact us. We would like to work with you in finding a solution.

I or any of my team members here at technical support will be able to help you.
Our hours are Mon-Fri 9am-6pm PST.

Thank you,
Andy
Phone# 1-510-456-9836
Email: andy_K@ecsusa.com

Reviewed By:N/A,7/2/2015 11:02:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > Intel > Intel NUC NUC5i5RYK, USB 3.0, Supports M.2 SSD card, Intel HD Graphics 6000, Mini HDMI, Mini DisplayPort

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Worth it so far
Pros: Crazy fast boot time, easy setup and ridiculously small.
Cons: Not sure yet (see other)
Other Thoughts: Using this as a replacement HTPC to play .iso files off my NAS. All seems to run well except for 3D blu ray, which randomly display a bizarre warping image that breaks your brain. I'm working with Intel support to try and figure this out as it seems to be hardware or driver related (PowerDVD 14 and 15 both exhibit this anomaly). Otherwise, I really like this little box.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/2/2015 12:59:12 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > Foxconn > Foxconn Beema nT-ABM63 1 x 204Pin SO-DIMM AMD Radeon Graphic Support DX11.1 Mini / Booksize Barebone System

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great Little PC!
Pros: small size, mostly quiet fan, runs Widows 10 and all drivers are installed properly on first boot.
This is now my day-to-day Windows 10 PC as my "old" day-to-day PC is running Windows 8.1 Media Center and currently records and processes all my cable TV and video/movie management.
Even though there is a 80 watt difference between these two machines, in most applications I do not notice a difference in speed between them - both are equally responsive and while the Foxconn does use utilize more cpu performance for similar tasks, I don't notice or worry about it.
Cons: No deal-breakers and I would highly recommend this pc to anyone who needs a new computer to run Windows 10 in their home or office.
However, there is room for improvement:
It would be nice if the unit split the USB 2.0 and 3.0 ports between the front and back -- or just place the 3.0 ports on the back where I would connect my external HDD, etc.
The VESA mount dips below the screw holes and impeded the use of 2 of my monitors video ports (LG Ultrawide 29") four spacers approx. 3/4 inch in length rectified that issue and I am able to access all rear monitor ports -- this may not be an issue for others.
the Realtek RTL8188EE chip isn't very efficient and when transferring large files between my networked computers it can send my cpu utilization from 3% to 33%. Also, only supporting 802.11b/g/n is a little disappointing, but for the price of the pc, I'm not going to complain too much if at all.
As I have read from others, playing back 2160p video is choppy and I wouldn't recommend it, however, playing back 8900kbps 1920x808 6 channel video is smooth and of high quality -- CPU utilization is around 35% in WMP and 60% using the Windows 10 Movies and Video app.
"Casting" video over the network to my HDTV adds about 30% overhead which could be attributed to the network chip, but video and audio is still crisp and without stutter.
No new(er) bios/firmware available; bios only updatable with DOS "disk" as the Foxconn Windows utility is not compatible with this model pc.
Other Thoughts: I outfitted this unit with a 120GB OCZ SSD drive I already had laying around. I did invest in a fast 8GB 1866 memory module and CPU-Z reports that the system is utilizing the memory at 931.4 MHz which is right where I had hoped it would be.
In Windows 10x64 "balanced" power mode, the unit sits between 1.6 to 2.1 GHz depending on task(s). When it the frequency goes above 2.1 GHz the fan to begin to generate some whirring noise, but that's to be expected. That said, even with Windows set to High Performance, the APU rarely goes beyond 2.2GHz and never stays at 2.4GHz for longer than a few moments.
I will be purchasing two more of these units to run Windows 10 and replace some towers that were purchased running Vista and while they work well with 8.1, I'm going to swap them out for these less power hungry nano-pcs from Foxconn -- If Foxconn updates the model by mid-Aug (2015) I would consider the new model, but it would be hard to beat this unit at it's current or lower price.
I am a FAN!
CPU-Z 1.72.1 (May '15) seems to report all features and performance information properly for this apu/pc/
GPU-Z correctly reports that the system has a Radeon R4, but fails to correctly report the clock speed of the gpu portion of the apu.
The power light on the nano-pc only reflects the power on/off/sleep state(s) and does not reflect disk usage/access -- which is absent from this model.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/1/2015 6:05:01 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > ECS (EliteGroup) > Black ECS LIVA 2GB DDR3L RAM installed 32GB eMMC Storage

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Very nice with one caveat
Pros: Very small footprint, I was surprised at how small it was,
Seems relatively powerful enough to do most general computing activities,
low power consumption
Cons: I am running windows 10 on it and after getting all the drivers installed, all but the bluetooth was on the included disc that I transferred to a USB drive to load. I then used a hardwired connection to check windows for the bluetooth drivers which it found but the problem is that I connected a microsoft bluetooth keyboard and the connection is just spotty at best. I have to be close (10ft) to the computer and then it is still hit or miss. I have the bluetooth menu open and it shows that it is connected but still.

I have a feeling that it is unfortunately due to the antenna wire being bent when I was installing it. I can't confirm if that was the wireless or bluetooth one but my guess is the bluetooth.

I wish I could get a replacement antenna to test
Other Thoughts: with some minor tweaks this could be a really nice unit.
Manufacturer Response:Were are sorry to hear about the issue you are having with the blue tooth connection. If you haven't already, please contact us, so we can look into your issue and help get you a replacement antenna if necessary.

I or any of my team members here at technical support will be able to help you.
Our hours are Mon-Fri 9am-6pm PST.

Thank you,
Andy
Phone# 1-510-456-9836
Email: andy_K@ecsusa.com

Reviewed By:N/A,7/1/2015 8:30:58 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg International Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.