Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Mini / Booksize Barebone PCs > ECS (EliteGroup) > Black ECS LIVA 32GB 2GB DDR3L RAM installed 32GB eMMC Storage

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 EASY PEAZY - WORKS GREAT
Pros: 1) works as advertised
2) fairly simple and straight forward
3) compact, lightweight, runs cool
Cons: no real cons at this time
Other Thoughts: The antennas are a micro sma, and they are pretty easy to seat in to place if you position the connector over that microscopic plugin and depress with a small flat-head screwdriver, use firm gentle pressure and rock slightly till you hear a click, then let go of the cable and see if it stayed in place.

Windows 8.1 loaded from the partitioning to the desktop in 12 minutes and this was adding the user account info etc.

I already had the drivers from the website pre-staged on the thumb drive, and copied the DC contents there too. Driver installation was also straight forward.

I installed all of the updates required and configured, wireless and BT work fine.

So far so good.
Reviewed By:Captain Morgan,12/24/2014 12:22:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mini / Booksize Barebone PCs > Intel > Intel DC3217IYE Intel QS77 2 x 204Pin SO-DIMM Intel HD Graphics 4000 Integrated by CPU Chassis: Aluminum and Plastic Black Next Unit of Computing Kit

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Pain in the keister
Pros: Compact. Visual bios. Great idea.
Cons: Do your research first, there are only a specific set of mSATA devices this will work with. it turns out that after 30 days of on and off troubleshooting, I couldn't return an mSATA that it turns out just won't work. It runs too hot. I sucked it up and bought a new mSATA that is confirmed to work. The NUC saw the new one but won't load Win7 on it. Loading from a USB stick that has an image on it i created off my DVD bought from MS. I'm now hip deep in trying to find just the right UEFI settings and hopefully get it to load windows. If I'd have known it was going to be such a hassle I would have bought something else, or given them a few years to put out a product not full of hangups.
Reviewed By:N/A,12/23/2014 7:32:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mini / Booksize Barebone PCs > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE GB-BXi5-4570R 2 x 204Pin SO-DIMM Intel Iris Pro graphics 5200 Mini-PC Barebone

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great System .. replaces AIO
Pros: This is small, so if size is a factor, it's great. Processor/graphics are better than the Intel NUC's. For a non hard-core gaming machine, it is great. I love that it has a VESA mount .. I have it mounted behind a 27" Monitor on my kitchen desk for the kids to use.

I put in a Samsung EVO 500GB drive & 16GB of Crucial CT2K8G3S160BM memory. Windows experience index is:
Processor - 7.4
Memory - 7.9
Graphics - 6.9
Gaming graphics - 6.9
Primary hard disk 7.9
Cons: You do have to read the on-line instructions on proper bios settings if you install anything other than Windows 8. I could live w/o the bright red color.
Other Thoughts: My 2010 Dell All-in-one is well past it's 3yr extended warranty. That unit required numerous trips from a service technician, so I was concerned about buying another one. I bought this instead & mounted it behind a 27" monitor .. it's just like an all in one, except the USB ports are a little harder to get to. Overall works great for my needs ... kids playing moderate games, steaming, MS Office.
Reviewed By:Mack2,12/23/2014 6:27:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mini / Booksize Barebone PCs > Intel > Intel NUC BOXD34010WYKH1 2 x 204Pin SO-DIMM Intel HD Graphics 4400 Integrated by CPU Mini / Booksize Barebone System

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Make sure you really want this!
Pros: - This unit is very well made, and easy for a beginner to set up
- The ultra small footprint is what you are paying for
- Perfect for HTPC, except the remote control issue
Cons: By the time you have added memory, a WiFi, and some disk solution, this is NOT an inexpensive choice for a media player. Capable, yes, but cheap, no.

I could not get the IR working under Linux, despite others having reported doing this. It is possible that mine is defective, but more likely the current BIOS is not compatible with the existing Linux solutions. Beware that setting up the IR is not straightforward.

The cardboard box makes you listen to the intel jingle while you are unpacking it. You read that right.

There is no SPDIF output
Other Thoughts: Intel seems to have invented their own BIOS for these, and those familiar with other "Standard" BIOS will want to get familiar with it.

Given that the integrated IR receiver was the deal clincher for me, I am not happy with the outcome here. Those running windows on it may be luckier, but I won't be buying any more of these.
Reviewed By:Dick,12/23/2014 2:27:54 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mini / Booksize Barebone PCs > OEM Production > OEM Production 2550L2D-MxPC Intel NM10 2 x 204Pin SO-DIMM Intel GMA 3650 Black Mini / Booksize Barebone System

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Sweet little box
Pros: Small. Comes with 4 rubber sticky-feet. 2 GB NICs. Quiet. $130 is a decent price.
Cons: Sometimes it takes a couple of tries to get into the BIOS. No system reset button.
Other Thoughts: Dropped a 60 gig SSD (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820226370) and 4 gig stick of RAM (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820226020) in this, both Mushkin. Using it for a firewall. I have been using Smoothwall for a few years not, but I wanted to try something new, so I loaded PFSense on it. Loaded the image onto a USB drive and it took like a charm. It's very fast, makes next to no noise, and does not have a bunch of little lights blinking at me all the time. I wanted something discreet, and this fits the bill perfectly.
Reviewed By:Jules,12/23/2014 10:06:32 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mini / Booksize Barebone PCs > Intel > Intel NUC Kit DCCP847DYE Intel QS77 2 x 204Pin Celeron 847 1.1GHz

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome!!
Pros: I love this little thing! Well, my grandma mostly. I got this little guy for her running Xubuntu 14.04. I love it because of it's size, it has the BEST BOX EVER (not even exaggerating, but this is subjective), it's silent, and very minimalistic. It was easy to install Linux too. No hassles, just install. Hardware installation was uber easy too and straight-forward.
Cons: No 3 prong power? Really? It'd probably cost you $0.30 and you could just charge us an extra $1-$2.
Other Thoughts: Aside from them leaving out a power cable, which, is silly, I love this little guy and I'll see about buying another. Perhaps doing an i3, it could make a great steam box for streaming games from my big rig and be a great media center for Netflix and such.

For day to day tasks, running lightweight Linux, probably any Linux, it works like a dream. This thing hardly stutters for just being a daily computer for the average user
Reviewed By:N/A,12/22/2014 9:46:01 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mini / Booksize Barebone PCs > Intel > Intel NUC BOXD34010WYKH1 2 x 204Pin SO-DIMM Intel HD Graphics 4400 Integrated by CPU Mini / Booksize Barebone System

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Solid HTPC
Pros: Small. To be honest this is the main reason I bought it instead of building a custom rig. Space was kind of at a premium.

As far as performance goes, it boots up really fast (with SDD), no problems with online streaming. It can stream full HD movies and the likes over network with no problem. I also use it as an old school game console emulator. thus far everything runs perfectly smooth and I have no complaints. I have a few various indie games off steam without a problem. I have even used their streaming service to successfully play tf2 on it. Haven't tried to run it natively so I can't comment there.
Cons: Ethernet drivers aren't natively supported by windows 7 so I had to download them on another computer and install them via flash drive. Oh well. Could be worse. Some people have complained about problem with driver support for windows 7. I haven't had any issues although to be fair the drivers were very recent so its possible the new drivers fixed their problem.

Only other complaint was the SSD was a little bit difficult to mount. The connector is buried and has to be installed blindly. First time I installed it the SATA connector wasn't fully seated an I had to take it apart and try again. It works fine now though.
Other Thoughts: running windows 7 Pro
samsung EVO 840 SSD
4GB G.SKILL DDR3 1600

Don't forget that this uses mini HDMI and not a standard HDMI cable.
Reviewed By:N/A,12/22/2014 9:28:29 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mini / Booksize Barebone PCs > Foxconn > Foxconn nT-iBT19 1 x 204Pin SO-DIMM Intel HD Graphics Integrated by CPU NanoPC Barebone

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Prices???
Pros: I have a Foxconn iBT18 which works great and cost me $99 in Nov. 2014. Now it is $119. The iBT19 (next step up) was $139 and now has been upped to $277 ? Whats going on??? customer RIP! Gave it a rating of one strictly on price.
Cons: Time for Newegg to get their prices organized! I was considering selling and installing them but NOT at these prices!
Reviewed By:Chris,12/22/2014 8:31:32 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product less than 1 day.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mini / Booksize Barebone PCs > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE GB-BXBT-2807 1 x 204Pin SO-DIMM Intel HD Graphics Integrated by CPU Mini-PC Barebone

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 dead on arrival
Pros: none
Cons: Does not start, blue light comes on, that's it.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Customer,

Thank you for your comments. We apologize for your difficulty with your GIGABYTE product. Please contact us at newegg-support@gigabyteusa.com with the case number 117338 in the e-mail subject line. We will provide personalized service and analysis to help solve your issue ASAP. If the matter is urgent, please send us your contact number, and we will contact you.


GIGABYTE VIP Support Team

Reviewed By:N/A,12/22/2014 2:27:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mini / Booksize Barebone PCs > ECS (EliteGroup) > Black ECS LIVA 32GB 2GB DDR3L RAM installed 32GB eMMC Storage

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 A great Linux frontend option
Pros: WiFi *does* work on Linux, but it takes some extra steps. Specifically, I needed to install the linux-firmware package to get the /lib/firmware/brcm/brcmfmac43241b4-sdio.bin file and then copy the NVRAM settings from /sys/lib/firmware/efi/efivars/nvram-(series of numbers) to /lib/firmware/brcm/brcmfmac43241b4-sdio.txt

Everything except Bluetooth is well-supported on recent kernel versions. HDMI (video+audio), VGA, analog audio, Ethernet, USB 2.0 and USB 3.0 and WiFi are all working well.

I did limited testing for HD playback but it was very smooth. Reports from other MythTV users indicate that it's been able to play everything they've thrown at it, including BluRay rips.

The low power of this system is really great. Holding my hand over it I can barely tell it's on! Plus with no fans it's absolutely silent, which makes it perfect for always-on use in a bedroom. And the holiday deal that Newegg is offering it at makes it a no-brainer! This is by far the best deal on a complete system I've ever seen.
Cons: Really it's hard to find much fault with this system. I guess it could have come with an integrated IR receiver, and some people wish for more USB ports, but personally I'm fine with a USB IR receiver--it gives me more flexibility about what to use and where to place the computer and the IR receiver. The DC power cord could have been longer, too.
Other Thoughts: I'm using this as a frontend for MythTV. Currently it's connected by WiFi, which has enough bandwidth to stream SD MPEG-2 recordings (~2 GB/hour), even with a pretty weak connection.

Note that this system seems to only support UEFI boot, so your install media (presumably a USB drive) needs to use that method. I had success creating one using SysRescueCD. The UEFI requirement also has implications for how you partiton and set up the internal storage.

Gentoo is a source-based distribution which means that generally all packages are compiled. This machine is no speed demon but it was totally fine compiling its own packages. Compiling and installing MythTV and all its dependencies (including mariadb, QT libraries and xorg) took probably about 6 hours. It might have taken 4 hours on my 2-year-old Sandy Bridge i3. Pretty impressive for only 5-10W total system power! I wrote up my experience installing Gentoo here: http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-p-7670034.html
Reviewed By:SiliconFiend,12/19/2014 8:38:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.